(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

milo,

Ivy has a point, in Chinese culture not like Western. Western like to use their parents/grandparents name.

I hv a friend whose 'ba zhi' is clash with his dad n the family does not allow him to call his dad 'dad' but got to call 'uncle' something like tat. Initially take me a while to realise that man is his dad.

twinkle,

yah loh. there are such cases. That's why our family dun believe in these. Quite funny to call your dad, uncle..poor kid.

ivy / twinkle,

ic... didnt know abt that. shall not use then tonight check with hubby on jiaxi, see he like or not

Wow ...you gals really fast ley.... first is shopping for BB stuff .... now already naming BB liao ....

Me still very lazy ..... dunnoe where to start from .....

Already received 2 bagful of BB clothings from friends .... so I guess wont be buying much BB clothings.... maybe 1 or 2 sets ..since BB will outgrow very fast...

hello.. good afternoon frds

Hi Ivy

I've asked my sis to out for prices in SG. Found that Avent stuff are quite X in SG so i'll get it from London. Prices is abt 30SG dollars different. Hey anyone keen in meeting up in Jan? kekeke...

We are also thinking of getting fortune teller to pick names for us.
As for Ang Mo names will choose from webbie. Most probably will go bb Kaelyn.

what do u think of these 2 names for a galgal?
1) Ariel
2) Lavera
*my fren says Lavera sounds like Ginvera

nana,

a meeting up sounds good. But Jan is quite tight as its the CNY and i have a one week off site meeting.
How long you are back for? Maybe we can do something early Feb?

Avent stuff is cheaper in London? How abt the warranty? International?

Sponge,

i vote for Ariel.

IVY,
the name is too tradition.. i doubt your son will like it by the time he become adult.
sorry for saying too bland.. just a suggestion..

Hi Ivy

I'll be gng back London on 10th Feb. Can oso plan in Feb ;) Jus wondering how u girls look like hehe.. Think it is good to meet since we've been chatting on the post

Avent ISis sterilizer is 50GBP..I've asked my sis to check it is about 170-189SG in various places. I'm waiting for sales hoping tt it will drop slightly lower. Oh yes.. you give me a wink.. Will check the warranty before buying. thnks

Sponge..
I'll also vote Ariel

Hi sponges,

I vote for Ariel .

Hi nana,
first 2 weeks of Feb , i m in workshop deploying a new system and working round the clock i suppose
348761.gif

Once the date is fixed, i will to try to attend.

hi Ivy,
thanks for your vote! Now i have 1 Ariel 0 Lavera hehe

hi little nana,
I dun mind meeting up in Jan
Avent cheaper in Ldon? for every item or some only?

TWINKLE,
not like tat leh.. the fortune teller will give u a list of names that suitable for your baby.. in term of the time and date, he or she comes to this world. from there, you choose one of them.. quite a long long list..

Annie,

yes fortune teller will give a list of name. But i believe every parent will like to bring out the character of the child. Fortune teller is based on the birth time and date but the charactistic of the child the parent shld know what they want and belief.

ivy,
try to call your son a english name, easy to name and choose..
As for chinese name, best to get a fortune teller to "count" after he is born.. cos the time and date is critial to decide the name..
i believe so, cos my parent anyhow give me my chinese name.. i alway fell sick when i was young.. when my friend's mum count my name, stated that the surname and the name are crack..
When i went oversea to study, i was v v healthy, i dun have gastric problem and migraine didnt attrack for 3 years..
From there, i realise becos no one noe my chinese name..

However, when i am back to s'pore, even through my chinese name has changed, my old friends still call me my old name as they already used to it.. i tend to get fall sick easily..
My friend's son also the same case, they don't believe,however,his wife gave a try. She changed her son name and everything run smooth.. luckily, she changed his name when he was only 3 years old..
I mean i didnt mean that to curse anyone.. Its just a suggestion.. precaution better than curse..

twinkle,
its up to individual.. for me, i choose a english name with own character that my baby have.. oso i presume..cos i still duno him, in term of his character and hobbies and likes..
As for chinese name, i would go for health.. no conflict against family members and oso a smoother path for him.. i mean as a parent, thats my dream.. thats y, i would go for the list that the fortune teller give..

ivy,

dun worry too. i think kaiwei is a nice name. as long as its not laifu / laibao, shld be good enough. u and hubby like can liao, cant please everyone

hi matched_gal,
Actually hor, i also dunno whats the meaning for Ariel.. hahaha~ I guess my hub & i wun mind so much for the english name's meaning, but we will place more emphasis on the chinese name's.

I can go search search then tell u again.. hee

wow. realised that this thread is nt moving during weekends...but now...so fast lei

any1 start to buy nursing dress (pyjamas)?? i have 3 pcs of the front button type from mothercare last time but now seems like mothercare selling veri expensive for the same type of nursing dress tough its reali veri comfortable...hope to find similar nursing dress but not so expensive..any1 can share?

milo,

yup yup, you are right! I love to call my BB "XO" next time. It will be fun to tease him. Maybe i can joke with him that Daddy and Mummy had too much XO, then why had him! haha...so fun.
( which is not the truth lah, i allergic to alcohol)

sponge,
hehe, u very cute ;p

pooh,
i've been using my hubby's big t-shirts for sleep - duno where to get nice & comfy pyjamas. Do u noe how much are the ones @ mothercare?

matched gal/pooh,

I saw in Mothercare yday it is selling @$42 before discount. i think HSBC got 10% discount.
a bit ex hor?

ivy,

haha u can try telling ur boy that.. i cant wait to know my bb gender, been hoping to call baby by name. now bb here bb there, sound funny. when u going for ur detailed scan? mine is on 30 dec, my new's year day gift

Hi Sponge, do you know the meaning of the names? Lavera sounds very unique. Ariel sounds very light-hearted.
So envious, already choosing names for your baby. Me still dont know baby's sex....think if gal, Crisabel and boy, Darren.

Matched gal,
if you dun mind abt the cheap one, can try the carrefour. i brought two but still not up to the stage to wear it.. i found comfortable and suitable to wear at home..

annie

oh i c, thanks... okie, i go carrefour hv a luk ;)

twinkle,

tink there muz b cheaper ones ard... actually was tinking, pyjamas always put in washing machine so often. If buy too ex ones, and if they wear out soon, may not b that worth it... Actually most important must be comfortable to wear leh...

hi matched gal

its $42 per pc. last time when i bought (2 yrs back) its only $47 for 2 pcs. and i swear by it that it is reali veri veri comfortable !!

pooh,

arh... how come the price inflate so high?(!)... Tink muz wait till got mothercare sale then can buy ah. Last month i got a few tops all on sale, got more than 50% off leh... ;) But din manage to see the pyjamas...

hmm.. tats expensive..
give a try on carrefour, if you just go there to shop, try on n see how you feel.. quite presentable outlook...
there got few sizes... xs, s and m and l

hi sponge,

Ariel means "Lion of God". hmm...wonder what that means too...

For me, i tink i will go to fortune teller but we already settled on one which is En(1) Yi(2). So fortune teller will most prob just change the characters lor...

For english names, we have phoebe, chloe and natalie. my hubby was rooting for phoebe which means "bright shining one"...while i was rooting for natalie or chloe...i try not to get complicated names, lest my parents have difficulty pronouncing it....hehehe...but i kinda of also like the meaning for phoebe...

hi matched gal

me also got a shocked too when i went there last weekend. tot buy a few more pcs coz its comfortable and convenient to breastfeed as it has button in front... well, when i buy two yrs back, they only have plain ones but now , the design is stripes type (if i rember correctly). regrett that i din buy more the last time...coz i have been wearing it to sleep even now...

Gd morning gals,
Its tuesday, cant imagine ck tang got so crowded yesterday.. i still have to go there this evening to get my things.. left there for wrapping..
PP r so rude.. they dun even bother about pregant woman :~( like me.. just knocked me, one gal chit chat till she just stepped on my slipper.. i almost fell.. cant even bother to say sorry.. luckily, her man is polite..
heheh.. xmas is round the corner.. i m looking forward..

Hi ladies! Morning!!

Wow...thinking about names already huh? I still dunno the gender yet, will only find out during detail scan in Jan.

Sponge:
I vote for Ariel! Very sweet...the little mermaid!

Little Nana:
When r u coming back? Maybe we can have 2 meet ups? 1 in Jan for those who can't make it in Feb, then another one in Feb? Haha! Very greedy hoh? But it's true lah, nowadays we're like friends chatting all the time, but dunno how each other look like. May have bumped into some in the street or during check up and still dunno. So how? I'll bring my Zach during the meet up if I can make it.

Eh?! Double posting leh...sorry!

Gummie:
U with SGH? Which doctor? I do my check up at SGH general clinic under subsidized rate, so no fixed gynae for now.

calling for sponge!

hehe finally got cheap air tix to bkk!! can check with you whether you got experience any discomfort on the plane? gynae say its ok to travel but hubby jus cant help worrying...sigh..hope he dun deprive me from having fun again :p

Wah! bkk, my dream to go..but my hubby dun like bkk.. think can shop for bb things there.. v v cheap..heard that they noe how to speak hokkien oso.