(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Yoz,

cannot rem who was the one who wanted to get the ultrascan machine at home. Read the papers today and there is one crazy couple who really did that! Its Tom Cruise and the wife!! Really siao liao.

Hi milo ..

Wow so envy .. your hubby so nice ..take 2 weeks leave to stay with you .. initially my hubby tell me that he will be outstationed for 2 weeks during my due date and I was so upset with him until he promised to postphone his trip till after my delivery ... which means that he will not be ard during my confinement month ... but I compromise coz I think it s impt to have him ard during the birth of our BB ... after that I think I should be able to cope with the help of my mum and maid ...

Congrats Taurus!!!!!!!!!

You are looking forward to a PRINCE huh? Great news!!

fates, the epidural cost $500 at ESH. The laughing gas also got charge, i didn't know it, n was playing with it even b4 my contraction pain was unbearable, n shocked to c my hospital bill. I think they calculate by the amount used. It didn't have any effect on me at all, but made me feel giddy n nauseous instead. Don't worry about the stitching, if really painful, there is another type of painkiller jab called pedithine, which is injected on the thigh.

Hi fates,

Thanks thanks!! so the gender predicator not accurate for me ... and everyone ard me actually predict that I am having a gal also ... was very happy when gyane tell us that I am expecting a prince ....8)

I love crab too, beside that also prawn, lobster... the seafood etc.. Now, can only eat steam fish.. not even those poision sause..
Anyone eat fry ginger with pig liver, my colleague stated v.nutrition and good for bb. I had twice last week. 1 time by putting boiled hot water on it. V delicious. dun eat so much cos high chorestol.

taurus,

Congrats on having a prince! How to make BB more coorperative? I am gog for my checkup and scan later this afternoon. Today is week 16 liao, hope that BB will be nice to me and tell me the sex.

Congrats Taurus!

kekekekke.....that day was the boss's B'day. And she happened to be there. Thats why, I got the card. Also I had bought some clothings from their other branch few months back and recognized the sales person who has been posted to this branch that I went.
Dont be angry ok.

Hi Poohy, hahahaha there's someone to share the same sentiments as me. Its quite tiring hor. I read from another forum of an advise that the gynae gave a new mummy. To bring the baby out during the daytime so that baby wld feel the sun shining, and will feel uncomfortable and will be awake. Then at night its dark, will sleep longer. And it worked for her. Think of using the same technique for this baby when baby is born.

I feel a bit of uncomfort at my right side of the rib. Think its the baby, kicking the side of the ribs

Hi amie ~ huh!? I thought the laughing gas is free! Heee....my SIL said the laughing gas no use at all, but I read forums and some mummies just depend on that....weird...:p

Hanor the gender predictor just for fun only I reckon

I also a seafood lover , especially crabs ... but since pregnancy I also lost my craving for crabs ..... doesnt appeal to me anymore ... 8( ...

Hi Annie,

I read somewhere that we should cut down on the intake of liver ... cannot rememebr the reason why ...will try to go through my pregnancy book for the reason ...

Hi ivy,

keke ...no special tactics lah ... jsut keep telling BB to be guai guai lor ... open leg big big for gynae to see ...so that daddy n mummy can start to deco the room and buy the BB stuff after noeing the gender ... but I feel that BB usually more active in the morning and afternoon ...so easier to see the gender ...the last time i went is nite time ...maybe BB veri tired liao so the leg close and cannot see .... 8)

fates, i thought its free too, thats y i played with it. No use for me too, but maybe some ppl can tahan pain very well, thats y works for them. Depends on individuals lah. You know, even the pedithine also didn't hv any effect on me.. thats y ended up my hubby requested for epidural on my behalf, after seeing me suffer the pain. Too bad in the end i was pushed in for c-section n I requested for GA.. imagine my whole body full of painkiller by then! My hospital + baby bill shot up to about $6k.

Annie, I also read that we should cut down on liver or kidneys coz of high vit A content. And if u really 1 2 eat abit, must make sure they are thoroughly cooked, not half cooked hor.

Dear fates,
According to my gfs who are experienced through the natural delivery. stated that u wont feel anything when they sew.. hehe

Dear taurau,
congulation! how envy u.. i oso want to have a boy...

oh Annie, i think i'm the one supposed to give u the confinement nanny's contact. aiya, i forgot to dig out the number, very very forgetful nowadays, will do it tonight.

The birth control method recommended by your gynae sounds better than the tubal ligation. I'll go n find out more about that

Amie,
Thanks for your infor. Yap, Vitamin A cannot take too much.. a bit can. Cos too much vit A stated to damage baby brain but vit A oso good.

My gyne gave me multi vitamins pills oso consists of vit. A but bcos of heatiness, i didnt take ..

hehe.. thanks for your kind reminder. Yap. 1st i boil the water till boiled then i put in the pig liver and cook for 8mins. A bit hard to bite but no choice.. to play safe.

I had the jab to prevent hept A & B two years ago. Last for 19 years. Better play safe dont eat those clams food for this period..

glad to hear that its manageable doing confirnement at night on our own. saw on other threads that mummy facing prob coping after confinement nanny left that why i kinda worry abt it.

yasmin,

actually hor, i doubt that my hubby will wake up to help me with the night feed also. most prob he wont even hear the cries of bb. my dogs was barking like mad in the middle of the night and he still can say he hear nothing

all 2nd time mummies,

guess when the time come, may need to trouble all the experiences mummy here for some advise and help

annie,

haha he is so nice to take 2 weeks leave is because of his 2 dogs lah. i told him there is no way i can manage 2 dogs and a bb by myself so either they off to boarding school or he help out lor.

taurus,

CONGRATS! so happy for u! hope i be able to see the gender of my bb on my next visit. shld be abt 16 weeks then. my hubby will be on overseas detachment for 6 weeks during my 2nd trimester. already feeling sad abt it. agree with you that it is very impt for hubby to be present during delivery time.

u be delivering at mt A also right? for ur triple test, u did it at ur gynae's clinic or at the lab huh?

ivy,

keep us update on ur checkup later hor.

Oh ! Amie,
It was you.. hahah.. has to admit that tend to be forgetful during pregancy. My colleague stated will get worst after deliver.
Ok! give you my email address :[email protected].
I have the leaflet at home, maybe, you give me your address then i mail to you one copy. The method is best for control those who oso suffer heavy period flow and the tummy crump that i used to have mthly...

Hi milo,

I should be delivering at Mt A but will confirm after the hospital visit in 2 weeks time .... I did the triple test at gyane clinic and they send the blood sample to the lab to test .... got my results the next day ....

Hi taurus,
mt A is v good, i been there twice to visit my colleague when she laboured.
Recently, my childhood friend's sis oso deliver at mt A, i found the nurses there are quite gentle compare to others.
The foods in the canteen is quite delicious, thats y i choose to go there. (crazy thought, If i have to go for c-section, cant even eat).

my triple blood test will be done in the clinic and they will send to the lab but for the detailed scanning has to go to tmc and make appointment by ourselves. Gyne will only write a letter.

milo,
initially, i oso plan to buy a sheptland sheep dog next year (have to save $, $1.6k for pure breed).
2 bad! i have to give up this dream for time being. My hubby oso insist to give away my bunny away if the baby arrive :~(
Up till today, i alway quarrel with him when he said he wants to give away. I had it since its was only barely 3 mths. now already 1 1/2 years old. My bunny live in the one of the bedroom. master room has convert to study room and walk in wardrobe and hack the next room as our bedroom. No choice, if the baby arrive, the bunny has to let go..

Guys! they will only do for their beloved hobby. .. same for my hubby.. Milo, your EDD is later than my date... heheh.. maybe i can tell u whether painful or not.. when the time comes

I found the following infor.

Vitamin A is commonly known as the anti-infective vitamin, because it is required for normal functioning of the immune system (4). The skin and mucosal cells (cells that line the airways, digestive tract, and urinary tract) function as a barrier and form the body's first line of defense against infection. Retinol and its metabolites are required to maintain the integrity and function of these cells (5). Vitamin A and retinoic acid (RA) play a central role in the development and differentiation of white blood cells, such as lymphocytes that play critical roles in the immune response. Activation of T-lymphocytes, the major regulatory cells of the immune system.Additionally, vitamin A appears to facilitate the mobilization of iron from storage sites to the developing red blood cell for incorporation into hemoglobin, the oxygen carrier in red blood cells

However, Important excess of vitamin A will be harmful for baby causing blindness.

The Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA)

The RDA for vitamin A was revised by the Food and Nutrition Board (FNB) of the Institute of Medicine in 2001. The latest RDA is based on the amount needed to ensure adequate stores of vitamin A in the body to support normal reproductive function, immune function, gene expression, and vision (18).

Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA) for Vitamin A as Preformed Vitamin A (Retinol)

Life Stage Age Males: mcg/day (IU/day) Females: mcg/day (IU/day)
Infants 0-6 months 400 (1333 IU) 400 (1333 IU)
Infants 7-12 months 500 (1667 IU) 500 (1667 IU)
Children 1-3 years 300 (1000 IU) 300 (1000 IU)
Children 4-8 years 400 (1333 IU) 400 (1333 IU)
Children 9-13 years 600 (2000 IU) 600 (2000 IU)
Adolescents 14-18 years 900 (3000 IU) 700 (2333 IU)
Adults 19 years and older 900 (3000 IU) 700 (2333 IU)
Pregnancy 18 years and younger - 750 (2500 IU)
Pregnancy 19-years and older - 770 (2567 IU)
Breastfeeding 18 years and younger - 1,200 (4000 IU)
Breastfeeding 19-years and older - 1,300 (4333 IU)

hopeful the above information can help.

Food Serving Vitamin A, RAE
Vitamin A, IU Retinol, mcg Retinol, IU
Cod liver oil 1 teaspoon 1,350 mcg 4,500 IU 1,350 mcg 4,500 IU
Fortified breakfast cereals 1 serving 150-230 mcg 500-767 IU 150-230 mcg 500-767 IU
Egg 1 large 91 mcg 303 IU 89 mcg 296 IU
Butter 1 tablespoon 97 mcg 323 IU 95 mcg 317 IU
Whole milk 1 cup (8 fl ounces) 68 mcg 227 IU 68 mcg 227 IU
2% fat milk (vitamin A added) 1 cup (8 fl ounces) 134 mcg 447 IU 134 mcg 447 IU
Nonfat milk (vitamin A added) 1 cup (8 fl ounces) 149 mcg 500 IU 149 mcg 500 IU
Sweet potato 1/2 cup, mashed 959 mcg 3,196 IU 0 0
Carrot (raw) 1/2 cup, chopped 385 mcg 1,283 IU 0 0
Cantaloupe 1/2 medium melon 466 mcg 1,555 IU 0 0
Spinach 1/2 cup, cooked 472 mcg 1,572 IU 0 0
Squash, butternut 1/2 cup, cooked 572 mcg 1,906 IU 0 0

Dear gals,
B'cos of our pregancy, forming of new blood cells and increase of oxygen is a need for our unborn babies inside the tummy.
If you take multi -vitamins that your gynes gave, ps check whether have vitamin A or not, if so, pls make sure dun eat above food.

Like me, i have multi-vitamin but i only take 1s in a week, i m still fine with carrot, spinach and the milk powder.

All vits are good for the body and main to benefit difference parts of our body, however excess of consume will create problems..

Congrats Taurus! U've given me a ray of hope! Cos the predictor works for all my colleagues except my 1st birth so my heart sank thinking it cld be dat accurate in my 2nd delivery case then, at least now it has proven otherwise...hope mine's oppo again :p
("bad mommy" exclaimed on behalf of BB in tummy)

hi Juzmaine,

Hahah .... I also have tt kind of feeling when all predictor predicts tt I am having a GAL ... felt so bad if baby is really a gal and can sense it .... and most ppl ard me also predict tt I will be having a GAL ... even though hubby and I got strong feeling tt its a BOY .... so we felt so relieved when gynae point at the "little Birdie" on the screen and say ...you are expecting a BB Boy !!!!

Actually hubby prefers GAL but we feel that littel princess should come later .... like tt more cute mah ... youngest little princess and the big Gor gor can dote on her .... sure be spoilt rotten by hubby .... 8)

Thanks annie! I guess we should just eat in moderation ya? Too much or too little of anything is harmful I reckon? :p

Wow amie, your hospital bill so ex huh! Guess cos' its c-sect right?

POOH,
Just read your msg, you also have bloated tummy, same as me.
I have bloated tummy b4 my period is nearby, will get off after period come. Now, i have to wait till May... :~(
Try to avoid eating windy food like laska, masi loma, food that has coconut inside.
Drink warm water, thats what i 2. i oso apply medicial oil only my tummy (e one that can use for infant). My chinese doc stated fine to use that one.
I still feel cold especially hands n legs these days... wondering maybe my poor blood circulation causing it.. or maybe i m too weak..

hi Juzmaine,

Have not choose the name yet ... will start choosing the English names first and the chinese name maybe after BB born ..then get those "professional" to use his "ba zhi" to come out with a few names for us to choose ...

Hi ydnic,

I am currently in my wk 18 ... should be able to see the gender in wk 16 but tt time my BB leg close together so not able to see ... so u hoping for a prince or princess??

Taurus,Me in week 15 this week.Went for a scan at 14wks n 5days...gynae says can't c anything yet so might be a girl.Cant confirm yet. But heard if its a prince shd c something sticking out.I hope for a prince...but hubby hope for a princess.

hi ydnic,

Dun worry lah ... coz when I go for my scanning during wk 12 ... hubby tot he saw something sticking out ...and when we ask our gyane ...she says tt before wk 16 ... usually BB looks more like a gal ...what my hubby saw maybe the umbilical cord ...hahah ... we were so disappointed and hoping to see the gender at wk 16 and finally only managed to see during wk 18 ...so dun worry ...still got chance tt yours maybe a prince ....

Taurus, really? But my gynae has already imprint the logo its a girl on my film sheet...hehe...u r making me happy.I hope so too its a prince.cos my gynae c and observe for so long before telling us maybe its a girl cos she c nothing while i can oni c a big buttock with two legs.

So when your say BB open leg big big its reali stretching the leg out or normal curl in oni?

Juzmaine,
Thanks a million! I have tried. quite sad. stated it's a GAL.. i hate it... : ~(

But quite confusing, stated the conceive dated should be 1st Aug, i had period on that day. B4 and after 1 week didnt have sex.. how to get conceive? cant understand..

hi ydnic,

hahah ... cant really see coz I only see BB jumping up n down and gyane also take a long time to scan inorder not to mistook the umbilical cord for the "little birdie" .... but I think is normal curl in only .... never really stretch the leg big big for gyane to scan lah ... if BB really tt obedient ...I jio super happy liao ...kekek ...

Haha okok...yeah...at week 12 BB was very cooperative and active but at week 15 she wasnot active kept still in one position. Gynae oso added some colors in...to differentiate the cord with the others...too chim already.
Anyway, already half disappointed. hehe.

Yo Annie, me predicted a gal too..but my 1st one is a gal but predictor stated boy leh, dat's Y I hope it'll be oppo loh.

sama sama! my conceived date as estimated is 1st Aug too and me hving menses too, confused rite? but since gynae calculated my weeks, and when I count back, it's really tis date loh...eh, then rightfully our EDD shld be the same!

Hmm.. Juzmaine,
i have a hobby to record down my sexual intercouse date and menus date on a small calendar.. so i m quite rite of the date.. either the conceive date should be july 17 or aug 15 or around there.. but not tat so far away. can sperm stay so long in the womb..

Yoz gals,

me din post yesterday cos was KO by the time i come back...so tired to get out of house with a stiff neck and toothache!

BB is growing well, and i did my triple test too. But doc say its too hard to see the gender cos BB's position is side facing us, also at week 16, it may be too early. He say to try to see again next visit ( 3 weeks time!). I will also be going to TMC to do the detailed scanning on week 20 and the gynae clinic will be making appt for me.

Fates,
Update for me, the EDD change to 18th May liao. Seems that BB is growing bigger these days. =)

Hey gals,
i got a problem. My tooth is giving me problem and dentist confirmed that i have to do a root canal treatment. But to do that, i definitly need to jab LA. Although dentist and gynae both say should be ok, i am worried. Cos i done a search on the net and realised that no research have been done on administrating LA in pregnancy!! How? Any one done it before? I am in two minds abt it. Want to go cos i cannot eat properly and talk and slp cos when the lower teeth hit the infected tooth, it will be pain like mad! But hesitate to go cos i dunno if it will affect BB, if it does, i will never forgive myself!

Sigh, my teeth always give me problems and seems that i need to bump up on calcium intake now.

Hi Ivy,

Okie will update the chart for ya

So your baby is not cooperating huh? hehehhe
Since your gynae said no prob, I guess you can just go ahead with the root canal............................if you're in pain and you can't eat well, baby might not get the nutrients so if i'm you, I will do it.

hi ivy

i'm almst in the same suitation as u. my lower wisdom tooth is giving me problem...its growing and sometimes if i eat too 'heaty' food and cause pain....sian.... wanted to extract but trying to endure as long as possible...coz me also afraid that will affect my bb..

pooh,

i tot i will have less problem since i already got rid of my wisdom tooth before i got married. Was praying hard that other teeth will be okie for me till delivery, sigh..

Did you ask your dentist abt LA too? The last time i took out my wisdom tooth, i have 4 tubes of LA! This time for root canal, will prob need 2 tubes.

Fates,
The gynae say "should be ok', thats why i am not confident to go ahead. Now hubby making me drink lots of milk so that at least bb gets all the nutrients that it needs even when mummy cannot eat much.

Good Morning Ivy and Pooh.

I had wisdom tooth problem when I was carrying my boy. I was only 2 months preggie, which means still in 1st trimester. My tooth gave me so much of problem, that I cld not even open my mouth, it was that bad.
I went to NUH, he is a speacialist. And he extracted my tooth, with 4 jabs of LA. 3 the first try to extract than still can feel the pain came the last one. I did not have any complications bcos of the LA. So ladies, dont worry!
Even my sis-in-law had extracted her tooth during her pregnancy, nothing happened to baby.
Its very impt to extract it as soon as possible b4 an infection sets in. Cos the virus cld get into the blood stream and cos harm to baby, this was told to me by the dentist and my gynae.

Yesterday I had a great time at Orchard. Went to Taka with my son and hubby. Had lots of fun looking at toys and christmas decors. Walked quite abit too. Feel very alert today.

yasmin,

thanks for sharing your experience. I think the inflamation have subside a lot today for the poor tooth. I shall wait and see if it comes back again. If it does, then i will go ahead with the treatment and the LA!

hi yasmin

thanks for ur assurance !! since now my wisdom tooth is nt giving me any problem, i shall extract it after my delivery.....at the same time, can help me to shed off my fats coz i usuali will nt have any appeitite after the extraction..hehehe