(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi taurus: thks for the explanation. u done the test already? by v-scan again huh? aiyo i very scare of vscan liao, when can i upgrade to abdominal scan...

Hi twinkle-starry,

Hahah...I think we same same "pang tang" cannot say .... kekek... say already MS come back again ...

Actually the test for down sydrome is optional .... u can even choose not going for the DS blood test.. tts if you will still deliver the BB no matter what happens ... coz I understand that some religion do not encourage abortion ...

Me same age as u.... will be delivering 3 weeks before I turn 32 ... hubby and I decide to go for all the tests ...

Hi Taurus,

I heard that V-scan will be use in some of the weeks. not sure which one. so far I hv not done V-scan since I m preggie.

Twinkle,

i think you reach the stage that it gets better, thats why its on and off...

As wat Dr Lee says, week 12 is no magical number that will make ms go away. But it shld be better as near to week 12.

***cross fingers for all of us!****

Hi milo,

My last two visit at wk 8 and wk 10 is by the ab scan ... will be doing the NT scan during my next visit in 2 weeks time ...

twinkle,

next time you see Dr Lee, ask him loh...I actually dun wish to do v-scan at all...Very scary...
Actually i think i am very lucky, 5th week already can see the sac using abnominal scan..
So i hope our gynae will not use v-scan at all.

Ivy,
so far in wk 10 i m using ab scan. i also dun really feel comfortable doing V-scan. I did alot of v-scan when i see him every 3 mths with my old problem. so scared each time .

Twinkle,

then must really ask him abt it!!!! I super scare liao..

2nd time mummies, any one totally skip v-scan for the whole pregnancy?

Ivy, I've never done v scan thru out my 1st pregnancy. Now this one also didn't do any v scan so far, n I think not necessary since can already c on abdominal scan. I only had v scan b4 my 1st pregnancy when i requested for checkup + pap smear.

Er...wat's the different types of scans (ab, v, NT)?

Hi milim,
I'm on folic (1x a day) and turinal (2x a day) too. My last visit to gynae was wk 5 and from the scan, we could only see a "ring" (that's what my gynae called it), think it's the sac.

I'm wk 7 now and going back again tmr to listen for my baby's heartbeat

Hi Milo,

Keke... just go n find out more abt NT scan ... kekek..the actual term should be nuchal translucency ... here goes :-

What is nuchal translucency?
This is a collection of fluid under the skin at the back of a baby's neck at 10-14 weeks that can be measured using ultrasound. All babies have some fluid, but in many babies with Down's syndrome, the nuchal translucency (NT) is increased.

An NT scan is a method of assessing whether your baby is likely to have Down's syndrome. It's a screening test. A screening test can only estimate the risk of your baby having Down's, as opposed to a diagnostic test, such as CVS or amniocentesis, which will give you a definite diagnosis (but also carries a small risk of miscarriage).

The NT scan can't tell for certain whether your baby is affected. However, it can help you decide whether or not to have a diagnostic test.

When can I have the test?
NT scans are usually performed from 11 to 13 weeks + 6 days of pregnancy. Before 11 weeks the scan is technically difficult because the baby is so tiny and, after 14 weeks, excess fluid may be absorbed by the baby's developing lymphatic system.

How is it done?
The main part of the test involves an ultrasound scan. The scan is usually done through your tummy, but depending on the position of your baby and your womb, sometimes it's necessary to perform a vaginal scan, which will give better views. There is no risk to you or your baby and it should not be too uncomfortable.

To accurately date your pregnancy, the sonographer will measure your baby from the top of its head to the bottom of the spine. She will then measure the width of the NT. The skin will appear as a white line, and the fluid under the skin will look black. Your baby fits nicely on the screen at this stage, and you will be able to see the head and spine, limbs, hands and feet. Some major abnormalities may be excluded at this scan, but it's recommended you also have a detailed scan at 20 weeks.

It's a good idea to take your partner or a friend with you, to share the experience and be with you when you get the result.

What is a normal measurement?
An NT measurement of up to 2.0mm is normal at about 11 weeks, and up to about 2.8mm by 13 weeks and 6 days. This is because the NT normally grows in proportion to the growth of the baby.

hey bin,

finally found someone same as me taking turinal. Me too take same dosage as your. Is yr gyname from Eastern Specialist? Wondering is it only one gynae like to give this. But I cant see my sac at week 5 yet.. hope to see it the next visit next week

milim, i'm also taking turinal (3x a day coz i got spotting), my gynae is from Eastern Specialist too.

Hi milim,

My gynae is CH Koh in Toa Payoh. Maybe my gynae thinks that I might not be producing enough progestogen, thus gimme turinal. It's suppose to reduce risk of miscarriage.

Btw, I have not experience any MS. U?

Hi Amie,
Mine is Dr Heng. Yours?? How many weeks are u already? Got scan any sac? Strange, Dr Heng never put me on preg test kit, she just trust my own test kit. Hopefully I am really preg.. getting worried again..

Hi Bin,
I thought is same gynae.. hee.. I know its to protect preg one lor.. So far I have not experience any MS. Maybe I still early izzit?

Hi milim,

I'm wif Dr Heng too
1st one also delivered by her. I'm 8 weeks now. Got ms

Think ur own test kit should be accurate enough. Is the line clear or faint? But as long as got line most likely pregnant liao. She didn't test on me too, went directly to do ultrasound scan n can c sac... that was around 5th week. When is your next appt?

amie,

u mean u 5th week only can use abdominal scan and can see the sac liao ah ? I hope I dun need to use v scan too..

gab_mummy,

i prob wont postpone cos i need to confirm my pregnancy... my company has a x-ray coming and if preggie, cant x-ray rite ?

yes poohy, can c sac on my 1st scan at 5 weeks but very very small n cannot c heart beat. Maybe bcos this is my 2nd pregnancy, tats y grow big faster? tummy too elastic liao, its now like 4 mths preg compared to my 1st preg though i'm only 8weeks

Oh, cannot do xray when u r preg!

Hi milim,

No worries yet...actually based on my LMP i'm supposed to be 11 wks now! But gynae said looking at the sac i'm only 5 wks. May be due to irregular period. Think some ladies here hv MS even before they know they're pregnant.

Hi Poohy,

Think you'd hv to inform the radiographer that you're pregnant. They hv a shield for preggie to wear. But think generally x-ray is discouraged.

Hi amie,

wow u r like 4 mths liao. me 1st child and now i think my tummy is growing since wk 8. now in wk 10. everyone is asking me whether am i preggie? I am plump and yet it has started to show that early

hi amie,

My next appt is next Sat on 15/10. I looking forward already!! So far I got no MS no much symtoms except for some cramps sometime.. Hopefully my bb still less than 5 weeks, thats why cant see sac.. although she say me is 5weeks...

milim, i think Dr Heng calculated according to your LMP. Once she can c the sac from the scan, she will then b able to measure n give u the estimated week n delivery date. The ms that I hv is nausea thru out the day, n i vomitted a few times at nite these few days. Very uncomfortable n i sip on 7-up if really cannot tahan. I know its not good, but it does make me feel better, i try not to drink too much, just take sips whenever i feel nauseous.

Hi to all mummys here... Don't know weather to start a new thread for june 06 or i join here...

i had a princess by the name of Geraldine she was born on 230305.Nw she is 6mths plus.

And now i am preggy with my second bb... as counted frm my LMP nw i should be 5weeks and 6days so my edd will be 050606.
Goin for scaning on 131005 hopefully can hear bb heartbeat.

Any mummys here seeing DR Adrain b woodworth frm seng kang THOMSON Womens clinic..

hi hi..

All MTB, after MIA for two days I'm back again!!! Went to OB ytd and my bb is 9 wks old. Din hve ultra sound and blood test. Will be having all neccesarily test on 15th wks..

hi all, can pls help? i am so worried

went to the night safari last night and got myself a mosquito patch to use cause of the outbreak of dengue fever. wat an idiot of me to paste it on my belt! didnt know the the smell can penetrate through belt and skit and touches my skin on my belly! didnt feel anything jus that worry cause afterall its chemical mah.

the box say safe to use non toxic so i went to check the ingred. its contain citronella oil and on the nets it say that though its is not toxic but preggy are to avoid it so now how? i so worried that it will harm my bb. pls advice. thks

himilo66

hmmm.... i am also using the patch with the citronella oil... I thought that if its safe for young babies it should be okay for us.... now i am worried...okay, why dont we call out obs together before we panic... will keep you posted

hi gabby's mum,

i called my gynae though its the nurse that speaks to me. i told her abt using the patch and the info i found on the net abt the oil. she say they will not recommend preggy to use that and since no rashes and all shld be fine. ask me to bring the box down on my next visit which is a mth time leh. still find unsettle. ant news on your side?

Hi milo

called obs and he said to check with the pharmacy we bought it from but I found out that Citronella is an essential oil from the citronella plant leaves. but other types are not made from citronella... hmmm now a bit worried. He said to stop if in doubt.

Found this infor from baby centre

Question: Is it safe to use insect repellent during pregnancy?
BabyCentre Editorial Team: It depends on the type you choose. Use caution with any product that contains the chemical diethyl-3-methyl benzamide (DEET), which is often found in topical mosquito repellents. A certain amount of the chemical is absorbed through the skin into your bloodstream. In large doses, it can make you seriously ill. DEET has been shown to increase the risk for birth defects in chicks, but not in rats or rabbits.

Unfortunately, not much information is available on the possible harmful effects in human pregnancies. One study carried out in Thailand in 2001 showed no adverse effects to either mother or baby in women who used moderate amounts in the second and third trimesters. However, because DEET is considered toxic in high enough doses, it is still generally recommended that pregnant women either avoid using repellents containing DEET or use them only in small amounts.

If you're looking for a more natural alternative, try using something with citronella oil in it. Citronella oil comes from a type of grass and is considered safe for pregnant women.

Then again we cannot use the citronella oil as an essential oil as warned by other web site.

Ivy,
pop in to say hello to you.

Anyway, regarding your question on V-scan. I didn't do any for my last pregnancy and this time round as well. My gynae didn't ask me to do and I think it's not necessary as well.

Ivy,
maybe it's just minor bruising- I don't recall getting any bruising. There was one test in my 1st pregnancy, where they took several vials I-forgot-when to test for lots of stuff (diabetes etc)... that was very alarming for me cos I'm needle-phobic. But no bruising either.

My gynae did v-scan for 1st pregnancy cos I went to her too early- cldn't even scan anything. 2nd appt v-scan again cos tummy scan cldn't pick up. Nothing alarming abt v-scan really.

This time round I'm gonna wait til mid-next wk for 1st scan.

Hi Ivy,

I did get a patch of blue black after the blood test .... it takes around one week to go off .... some ppl say that it depends on the skill of the person drawing the blood for us.... not sure how true... coz I tot m gynae did quite a good job...didnt really feel much pain ... so was shocked when I see the blue black .... but I guess nothing alarming lah ... 8)

Hey gals

I am also taking turinal. 1X a day. And folic and pyridoxine. Anyone can enlighten me what is pyridoxine for? :p
My 1st pregnancy i didnt take, though same dr.
Heard its meant for early pregnancy. My dr from Mt E, dont thk under eastern.

btw, my 1st pregnancy I didnt do any V-scan at all. For my first visit at 4-5 wks, dr only do abdominal scan for me and can see sac, but must keept urine inside lor. Luckily no v scan, cos i am always very tensed and will scream :p

For my 1st pregancy , towards EDD, dr only out his finger to check dilation, I already scream :p he said u sure take epidural :p

Hi Eve,

I am also taking pyridoxine together wth folica acid ...

Vitamin B6 - pyridoxine - is required for

Pyridoxine is required for the balancing of hormonal changes in women as well as assisting the immune system and the growth of new cells. It is also used in the processing and metabolism of proteins, fats and carbohydrates, while assisting with controlling your mood as well as your behavior. Pyridoxine might also be of benefit for children with learning difficulties, as well as assisting in the prevention of dandruff, eczema and psoriasis.

It assists in the balancing of sodium and potassium as well promotes red blood cell production. It is further involved in the nucleic acids RNA as well as DNA. It is further linked to cancer immunity and fights the formation of the toxic chemical homocysteine, which is detrimental to the heart muscle.

Women in particular may suffer from pre-menstrual fluid retention, severe period pains, emotional PMS symptoms, premenstrual acne and nausea in early pregnancy. Mood swings, depression as well as loss of sexual drive is sometimes noted when pyridoxine is in short supply and the person is on hormone replacement therapy or on birth control pills.

hi gabby's mum,

thks for the info! i was looking at my own insect repellent and it did not say tt it's not suitable for pregnant ladies, so i have been using it on my legs and hands. Din noe about the chemical portion on DEET. From the report, they didn't even quantify what they meant by "small" amt...sigh... so aren't we at a loss now? wanna protect against dengue but cannot...

Taurus

Thanks for enlightening!

Although I have put on 1kg, it seems like everyone can see the 'difference' in me, either i am fatter, looks more tired, etc...sian.
They will 'suspect' and ask if i am preggy.

hi mother_of_a_princess,

congrats on your 2nd baby! i should be confirming Dr. Adrian Woodworth during my visit this Friday. was your princess delivered by him?

i visited him twice and feel comfortable with him.

Hi Eve,

not sure how many weeks are u. Depend on individual i think , i m into wk 11 this week and pls has been asking me or my boss already.
I belong to the plump category and it is still getting obvious real fast.

Hi Eve,

I look super "lup chek" untidy since pregnancy ... last time can never leave house without makeup and will coordinate my clothings....but now look like a typical aunty ... dun bother to put on make up and even go out with my super thick n 'tu tu" glasses ...but just cannot be bother .... sometimes HB will just start at me and laugh for the drastic change ... but anyway ... all my colleagues, friends n relatives noe that I am pregnant..

haha taurus, same as me, i have been weearing the same few pieces of clothes recently cause most of them cant fit liao and its too early to start on maternity. hubby also laugh at me at my sudden change in appearance but wat to do, wear so nice ended up also look like zombie walking ard.

hi gabby's mum, thks for the info. with that at least can fang xin for the time being. dun think i dare to anyhow use anything already

Hi taurus/milo,

look like we need to hv a few pieces of new clothing. i hv 2 skirts and i bought 1 new draw string skirt . that is all i can wear to work. I m trying to schedule my mtgs within the 3 days so the rest i can be at home.

Weekends, me on bermudas and feel so comfortable and so relax .

Hi starry/milo,

Yah ... really limited clothings to wear ... last time I seldom repeat my clothings within the month but now... every week same clothings ...

As I used to be a XS or S ... so most of my clothings all quite hugging and small size.... so cannot even fit into my shorts n tee shirt now... have to change the whole wardrobe... already start to buy maternity wear ... 8(