(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Ivy/mummies,

I asked such question to Ivy coz I also have a late announcement here..Really sorry that.. I do not have the intention to hide or not sharing with u all, it just a matter of timing..i mean the right time...in fact, i wanted to tell u all when we last met (our kid 2 yr old celebration) in the gathering, but that time everybody seemed like v busy ler..ok talk too much nonsense.

I also "already" engaged with my 2"nd" son- Louis

haha..he is 12 mths old exactly..

There was 1 long period i didn't access to this thread coz my bb still little n need my care, really tired.

He was Sep 2007 bb,16 mths gap to his elder brother...when i was pregnant tht time, i felt shy shy ler, so fast with 2nd one.. then none of ur hav the plan to hav 2nd,so i just kept myseld quite lor

<font color="0000ff">Race C,
So your DS2 is about the same age as littletot's DS (2nd child). I remembered she had mentioned that her DH wants a "pig" baby, so gotta give up breastfeeding when V was still very young. Anyway, belated congrats to you!

Ivy,
You're also good in hiding secrets hor. So, the rice is cooked even when we're messaging about TTC, etc. Anyway, it's great news! ^_^

Haven't "seen" fates for some time. Is she overseas now?</font>

<font color="0000ff">How to stop kid from screaming without reasons? E has been screaming (for fun) at the top of his voice, esp. in public. Feels so embarrassed since other people are watching us, and we couldn't stop his screams. He'd also started coughing 2 days ago and screaming made it worse. No words, threats, etc. can stop him. Any suggestions?</font>

bbloh,

really? how come i dunno,never c her thread talking abt his boy ler .. i thought Joyce is the fastest MTB for twin

Ivy,
U must eat n rest well hor

race,
wah, thats very nice to have close gap. But i cannot handle it cos will have two screaming tots at my feet. Dun need to feel shy lah. Its just us that din felt confident to have 2nd kid so soon.

bbloh,
haha...ya lo, gotta pretend cos was a terrible 1st term, puking like no body's business.

My son is scare of being sold off to gurang guni...or rather mummy being sold off..So when he scream loudly for fun, i will tell him, oh no, you are attracting the gurang guni, mummy is going to be sold off...sob sob..
Then he stop! haha...

bbloh
maybe it's just a phase he's going thru...enjoy listening to his own screaming voice, perhaps? just be firm &amp; tell him it's not nice to scream, disturbing others etc. I feel, sometimes, drawing too much attn to their misbehavior kinda make them wanna do it more?

milo66
i usually get her dha oil from the lucky vitamin sprees in this forum, much cheaper than buying from vitakids...it's in liquid form though &amp; i mix it wif a bit of fresh milk for her to consume. It's quite oily &amp; fishy though so not sure if other tots will like it. Think it comes in capsule form too.

http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/51281

her vit c, i buy direct from GNC here. Sorry, brand label oredi torn so can't read the brand now haaha...Think this is not so impt if ur child takes fruits &amp; veg daily.

ivy
ya, she still has swim class on sun mornings.

raceC
iyo, u so shy to hv ur #2..should hv brot him along durin the party at anna's place mah hahah

ivy
hahah mummies can indeed b so creative when it comes to taming our tots...any trick goes yeah? so long as it works heheeh...*wink wink @ Humpty Dumpty* kekeke

cheri,
ya, me like the humpty story..might want to get it so that he dun throw his toys.
me bad hor, older generation use policemen, i use gurang guni...
He will run to me when he hear the gurang guni horn these days...
that sat, i told hb, "rem to sell to gurang guni when he is here".(i am referring to the old newspaper) But X was playing with his toys and ran to me saying NO NO..haha..i guess the impact is great on him!

Show ur his look
He can walk unassisted n v steady liao.
1790469.jpg

race,
he started so young on thomas the train? influenced by gor gor huh...haha...

Mmm...i agreed that its great joy to have the kids..but siong for mummies. But alot of things get easier as it become routine..haha..

Race C,
Wah! Gong Xi leh.. so late then share such great wonderful good news. Little kiddos are so wonderful to brighten everyone life...

Ivy,
I saw you near the kopitam there, didnt call you cause I was in the rush.

Cheri / Ivy,

RE: gurang guni

K loves to open the door whenever someone knock @ our door. Hence, I told him outside a lot of bad people will bring k away.<font color="0000ff">bad impact on k, bad teaching method</font> These days whenever he heard gurang guni bell sound / see him coming, he will close the door and shout..

ivy,

both of their characters quite diff,this 1 yr toddler loves everything- books,eat,play,shop,toys..he can understand our instructions since 10 mths- eg "pass me the book/handkerchief/banana/sit down/car/throw the ball/sleep,body parts-eye/nose/ear/hand/leg/hair, etc", able to say "baba,car,ball, apple,star,dudu(pacifier),kakak(call maid),lat lat(spicy),book , bird"

For which Edison is so much lagged behind when he was 1 yr old. The fact is we (HB &amp;me)didn't know tht baby can understand at such young time, all these are my maid's bonus..she is the one who teach my bb&amp; proved to us..

no wonder u asked the confinement's rate, i think ard 2k, must book fast.

race,
your cl good?

actually bb can understand but its a matter of their output to us. X can understand what we say or ask him to do. But he haven give me proper talking yet...not even 2-3 words sentences.

Ivy,
Dun worry lar,those great scientist/ physicist also late talker.
Edison oso can't speak correctly.

my mom did confinement 4 me..saved me a lot

ivy,
congrats ^-^
take good care of yourself and the baby. try to eat nutrious food. not too much kopitiam

race,
my 2nd also only 19mths gap. very tiring and stressful at the beginning. but now i see that they can play together... and "quarrel" too. wendy (no. 1) always wants to have/hold what elina (no. 2) is having/holding. very noisy household here ^-^

Congrats to both ivy and RaceC!

Wah sey Ivy... u hor..quiet quiet hor.. muahahahahh! Very happy for you leh!

milo,

Hope Kaeden is on the road to recovery now. Don't worry too much k.. *sayang*

Re: Medicine

I guess my girl is the only todd in this thread who enjoys eating her medicine.. Probably because I instill in her from a very young age that medicine = 'sweet sweet'...anyway since all the kids medicines are so sweet so technically speaking I'm not lying hahah! In fact A loves her medicine so much that she wants to eat them even when she's not sick! tsk tsk..

Ivy,
.Every session,i'll needed to bring her lunch to see if there's improvement on her chewing.There is a special toothbrush that i needed to use on her every day.Supposed to stimulate her on her chewing. Kids that dun chew, dun speak well.

Was at the clinic today.According to the doc, our kids age should be speaking in sentences. But if they very good in their motor skill, sometimes abit delayed in speech is ok.Boys generally slower then gals when comes to speech.

Bbloh,
so hard to get her to try new things.. to the extend of chocolates, chips...but she just refuses to put into her mouth.But i do see some improvement..slowly . I guess certain things cannot rush..Am looking forward to the day i can have a meal outside with her

cheri,
yes it's planned.Both V and her lil bro are very close. They'll look for each other when the other is not ard.V will also say, go find didi.Where is didi

RaceC,
my boy is jun 07 baby.13mths difference
Bbloh, u have super good memory! Can remember bout me giving up BF
!

sponge,
my gal's med is also = sweet sweet to her.She'll pick up the bottle and say, this bottle not yet.She wanna eat them all!

Hi littletot,

funny, my boy is opposite. think its becoz the mummy is talkative...esp when carrying him was holding 2 portfolios and both need to yak non-stop maybe that explains why he sama sama

If chew=>to speak better, can give them the chewable vitamin? Kids seem to like this.

So happy...we can share tips on kids again

maybe soon we can start another list

thanks mummies...

ya, the first 3mths was very siong, bad ms, hb travelling lots, struck with cannot make it maids that made me more angry plus a active toddler...survived it all hence now can share the good news.

sponge,
how is ariel in sch? I was peeking at X today and managed to talk to teacher in one corner (cos the morning teacher and nite teacher is diff) and realised he been crying alot longer in the morning these few days. Prob is due to his cough and having to be fed medicine by the teachers.

joyce,
ha, my memory must have failed me hence the courage to have another kid. It will be a challenge to handle the newborn plus the tod. I already book the infant care plc at xavier sch..hope things work out smoothly.

littletot,
i think got improvement, just need patience on us. Last nite, he wanted his toy. So i told him, repeat after me, "i want train", he can say it quite well...so i conclude he prob know how to speak, just being lazy. I am going to pretend i dunno what he wants from now one and start asking him to be my parrot! Hope this help to kick start his talking!

for SAHM there is a $150 subsidy for our kids on 1/2 or full day childcare. Only found out yesterday
. Some cost savings for us

Ivy,
good to know that there's improvement. I sort of force V to speak too.. pretended that i dont know what she wants

How much r u paying for CC? i reserved a place for R n starting next Jan. So exp even after $300 subsidy is abt $670/mth for full day

Things r getting more n more exp liaoz

my usual clique,
dun be angry i keep secret so long hor...will announce big big here when i know the gender..haha..
start saving for the baby shower pressie!
muacks to all...

littletot,

My girl same same as yours! Hahaha.. Its a blessing really.. I wld rather them eat more 'sweet sweet' then don't want to eat at all.

Yo Ivy,

Ariel is adapting well in sch...so its a huge relief for us. Don't worry about X crying longer.. you could be right lor.. maybe he's sick now so not in the mood for sch?

joyce,

Ariel's cc fee is 600+ too.

Hi Ivy and Sponge,

No la, mine not branded school lei..its learning ladder or something. went there to take a look. ok ok lor...

Yoy...now in 31 wks and have gained 16kg...scary hor..last wk, bbies weight only 1.5k each which means that the rest of the 13 kg is w me

now even have diff walking..

joyce,
learning ladder opp canadian sch huh? Its a branded sch lah..haha...got ppl rave abt the curriculum leh!
And it got direct admission into the canadian sch if you want to send R there later. hee...
Hence the price lo.

hi Ivy,

congrats on 2nd baby!

i salute all working mothers with more than 1 baby. i stop 'production' liao. handling 1 active toddler boy is already a headache and i dun want to go through confinement and the 1st year of continuous feeding and diaper changing. of course some will say i am selfish and my poor boy will be lonely but i believe with exposing him to right environment and company, he will grow up a fine young man

Ivy

Congrats.so happy for you. Pls take care of urself.

Just wanna find out how much milk is your toddler drinking every night> My gal still wakes up for her milk in the middle of the night. Takan me.

anastasia
**hi 5** ur views! i'm oso stopping at 1 :p

firefly
my ger is drinking 180 ml twice a day &amp; 240 ml at nite for her last feed. She sleeps thru so no nite feedings.

joyce
where do u stay? near me? cos LL is near my place leh...or u mean the other LL branches..think school house by the bay or sthg is under them too.

firefly,
thanks! My son is drinking 180ml for his last feed at ard 8.30pm. He also slp thru since 11mths old..Other than some nitemares here and there, no waking up liao.

anastasia,
my hb have the same tots as you cos he is a only child...my thinking was at least 2..very siong but prob just for that 1st yr bah...Pray hard hard that i survive hor..haha..cos i got not much family network to fall back on.

lh_jyc,
The price is alright, err.. depend you opt for branded school or normal one.

anastasia / Cheri,

You arent alone. I also stop @ 1.
Due to poor health,still seeing sinseh. Said me being selfish, due to I suffering giddiness whenever K came back to sleep with me over the weekend ie 3 nites. (lousy habit that I awake everytime when I heard K make some noise). K is still @ my ma place Mon - Thur. I visit him everyday, play with him for an hour and rush home to do household chore, Wed i stay 3hr &amp; bring him home on Friday evening.
I count lucky enough tat after 2yrs + of herb intake, my buddy can come, else I still puke, migraine attrack, giddiness and whole body feeling numbness due to v poor blood circulation.

Ivy,

It's branded? me dunno lei..i applied for LL n MMI n kinderland but only LL reverted so i grabbed lor..went to register then see the price faintzzzz

Hi Cheri,
Its opp Ten mile junction. I stay near there

Re no of kids..
actually i also prefer 1, coz if only one I can give him the best of everything. already dun spend much time w him liaoz. soon have to split the time among 3 + the fact that i kindof workaholic. but oh well....sometimes if its urs, its meant to be urs...whatever come will take it
just have to wish me luck lor..

joyce,
LL, MMI, KL, all the prices are about there leh...in fact, i think KL is almost 1k before sub also..So your 3 choice same price range one lah..Good that LL have a slot for R.

Ivy,

i think you should still try and get full time domestic help. i know the kind of frustrations you face if maid is incompetent but perhaps can close one eye on certain things? my mum and me had problems with previous indonesian maid and current one is also not that good.

think of the quality time you get to spend with X and his sibling in future. not to mention you and husband can get more rest after work and on weekends.

hi Firefly,

does your girl eat rice for dinner and does she empty her bottle at the midnight feed? my son usually have 2 bottles after dinner. last bottle is about 210ml between midnight to 1am when he drinks while sleeping. next bottle is at about 7.45am when he wakes up to prepare for playgroup.

<font color="0000ff">Cheri &amp; ss1,
TELC will be taken over by Cherie Hearts. Got the info from CH's website:</font>

<font color="ff0000">Opening Soon!</font>
The Experiential Learning Centre Pte Ltd

(Clementi)
461 Clementi Road,
Room 2.02/03 SIM University,
Singapore 599491

<font color="0000ff">Mummies,
Check out Cherie Hearts' Island-wide Open House from 13 - 18 Oct 2008 if you're keen.</font>

Ivy,

U not going to get maid even with no 2 coming? its tiring lei...now w my bloated state, doing simple tasks like (bath R and bend down, wash clothes etc) are taxing plus u sama sama like me, hub most of time not around...

also like my hub says, he dun feel safe whenever he goes overseas n i alone w R at home in my preg state..now even w my maid, he dun still dun like the idea coz my maid still new n blur...

joyce,
yup, no maids for me...ha, my hb never say he worried abt me leh..perhaps he see me so used to doing everything liao.

Housework, i dun care at all, leave to part time maid on weekends, other times, just close 1 eye.

Clothes arh, you got a dryer? Me just throw the whole basket in washer then dump into dryer.haha..Save me time and energy..

Now training X to do clean up for me..like he spill something, i will just pass him cloth and say pls clean up and pass mama the cloth back.

Weekdays, X's routine are taken care of by cc (including the nite shower). Weekends, i will go my sis or mum house to rot lo..haha...

So if your hub confirmed to be outstation for long while? If so, i think you can think abt moving to your mil/mum house to stay bah. More xin ku for you cos you have twins..I shld do fine. Plus told hb to cut down on travelling next yr during the baby's first few mths.

Hi Ivy,

Nope dun have dryer, so imagine i still have to hang clothes to dry after wash...it was ok at the beginning stage but when i came into 3rd tri and my stomach grew, now simple things i also need to struggle...so be prepared

nah, my hub outstation is still not confirmed yet. neg on the package but he still required to travel for trips, sometimes short sometimes one week lor..how to ask him to cut down...it's his career ma...if the outstation materialise, dunno whether he around to see the birth of the twins
dun think i will shift to my mum's place to stay, my mum dun like to look after kids, a little bit, she will fall sick...most likely to my mil...dunno whether it will affect our relationship thu..now we get along well but if stay together.....

joyce,
if your maid still cannot make it, get a dryer for clothes, a robot vaccum cleaner for cleaning, a magic pot for cooking 1 dish meals. Haha...mavels of technology these days!

Fyi, my prev maid spoilt the following :-
i) cooker
ii) vaccum cleaner
iii) fan
iv) iron
v) the gas vaccum above the cooker (forgot the name for this)

etc...the others i 4got liaoz

joyce,
haha....you gotta spend a lot replacing these items.

Oh ya, now you mentioned iron. I have a steam iron too! Haha...easier to iron mah, faster also..See, harness on technology and forget abt the troublesome maids.