(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi bbloh,

I'm impressed w the bus
so nice..will try to do something w R..was on mc for the past few days..having flu w fever
doc gave me 3 days to rest at home...this time really listened to doc n did not go back office coz really cant tahan...

Agree tat confinement should be done properly. coz i already have medical history n after R, condition deteriorated ..have been falling sick veri often. but seriously dun think can afford to hire a confinement lady coz have to pay for a lot of expenses, currently dun have much savings...n w 2 more coming, dun dare to waste $$ on myself. think i will just have to try to rest as and when possible..

but really thanks for all your concern

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
I don't really like arts too and my artworks are also very jia-lat! For the Fire Engine, I only painted the box red, cut and pasted all the shapes to be used as windows, wheels, etc. DH is the one who drew all the details. I feel that it's a good way to train my patience, and to "impress" DS. haha!

lh_jyc,
Hope you're feeling better now.

People always mention that confinement is the best time to nurse mothers back to health. Many 2nd-time mothers grab this opportunity when their health suffers after the first birth or didn't do their first confinement properly.

IMO, I feel that it's a good chance for you to recuperate, since your condition deteriorated after R's birth. <font color="ff0000">Money can be earned, but once health suffers, no amount of money can bring it back.</font> Of course, there are other ways to do confinement properly, eat well, rest well, with good support from relatives or friends (not necessary must hire CL). But with 2 babies, 1 tot &amp; 1 DH to take care, you may not have sufficient rest.

Just my 2-cent thought.

Last but not least, if you're doing your own confinement and are preparing the meals, do check these websites for recipes / schedules if you have not done so previously.

http://www.makantime.com/confine1.htm (with detailed schedules)
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/confinementrecipes.html
http://kuali.com/recipes/advresults.asp?c=53
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/recipes/confinement/default.asp
http://www.mymomsbest.com/chinese-confinement-food-recipes.htm
http://ruth.thelim.com/?cat=3
http://www.chineseconfinementfoods.com/
http://yummyconfinementfood.blogspot.com/

bbloh,
haha, my dh is worst than me..he will say, go buy one at Toyrus..i think i still to impressing ds with my food skills bah. Art, leave to the teachers.

CL is really expensive these day, sigh, esp for twins or triplets. A person i know was being quote for $2700 for taking care of 2 babies plus the mother. But she is expecting triplets! So the mil will have to stay over to help out as well.

So, MONDAY LUNCH ONZ hor....

ivy
my cousin says malacca boring leh...see how, we may switch to genting eventually. More fun for N! Can swim in their indoor heated pool too.

ya, clementi central no air con, super hot leh. But i'm fine if the rest dun mind. Heee how to enjoy myself when N is ard? No lah, will ask helper to fetch her home on that day instead.

bbloh
maybe cos boys like cars so much so E gets really excited over them. So satisfying when u see him enjoying rite? N doesn't really like craft work so far but she loves to paint &amp; draw.

Lunch on Monday (13 Oct)
Venue: IMM

1. Ivy
2. SS1
3. bbloh - ON!
4. Cheri
5. milo?

Come and join us lah, i promise a surprise for all who turn up.

Or have good news with #2? *grin*

milo,
Can you make it?

ss1,
Possible to give me a ride if you drive? Is it troublesome for you since you have 2 car seats?</font>

Wo ho! Ivy, wat surprise is that?? Now I thk the list of ppl who wanna join lunch may go up coz of wat u said! #2??

bbloh,
Was thking of taking bus actually, but drive la if more ppl going. I pick u up from Blk EA ?

Cheri,
U want a ride?

Trip:
May go Penang in end Dec. Driving there.

bbloh,
have tried introducing her new food.She does eat grapes For apples, she'll chew and spitted out. She is currently undergoing therapy. Hope it helps.

Cheri,
this is my concern too. To be able to eat proper when she starts school.Certainly dun want her to ended up like that poor boy.Luckily the teacher managed to dislodged the food...

On a lighter note... my gal have been sending her little brother to the naughty corner lately.She'll go.. didi nvr finish milk, go stand naughty corner. And her lil bro will just go stand there! LOL..

littletot
wat kinda therapy is she undergoing? u hv another child? how old is ur boy? she must hv felt so good when her lil bro listened to her hehehe

sheri
yes, i wan a ride too! let me know the time. thankie!

end dec as in xmas? wat's nice in penang? for adults as well as for kids? what is ur itinerary like?

H bbloh,

did asked around the rates for the CL, its really exp and when they heard that I'm having twins, they quoted higher somemore not incl of food. w the maid and daily expenses
i also agree w my hub

Yestd n today, my maid ended up crying. yestd was becoz she so slow (took 2hrs to ba 3 bunches of veg, my mil scolded her and today, she again took 2 hrs to sweep the floor
hub raised his voice n when my prev maid called back n talked to her, she cried coz she tot we getting our prev maid back n going to send her home...

wah bian..i dunno how. on one hand sympathise w her (she not dunwan to do but super slow) but on the other, she so slow in doing things that i dun think she can cope when the babies come...as at now, i still need to help her do her chores until my hub also scolded me

RE holiday venue
so envious ..would love to join u guys but mabbe next year liaoz. Genting is a good place for our kids. R enjoyed his trip when i brought him there early this yr. Suprisingly he preferred the rides @outdoor theme park more than the indoor theme park. They even got the clowns who will entertain the kids with balloons etc...

Littletot,
Heee...think ur girl is imitating u
my son also does that to his cousins...scold them when they naughty and the tone and wordings sounds veri much like us.

Btw, anyone knows what package (ie allowance, air-ticket, gratuity) is usually offered to pple who r sent for long term (ie 1-2 yrs) overseas stint? Can share? Really imp to me.

I am feeling so sad and depressed. K started sch in early sept. Jus one week and he came down with flu and cough then dunno wat happened, whole mouth ulcers and was admitted to hosp.

After 3 weeks rest, finally recovered, went back to sch on mon and came back with flu and cough on friday again

Really am very very tired. Always tot his immune was not bad, didnt expect to be like tat. What makes it worst is he refuse to take med. No matter wat beverages i add into, coax or scold him all no use. Thus making it even more diff for me.

Now wondering shld i withdraw him out from school but next year when he starts, its gonna be like tat again?

Is it the school problem or K's problem or shld i find a sch tat is non a/c. Can anyone offer me some help. Am so lost alr

cheri,
she is undergoing speech therapy.More on correcting her eating and chewing problem.

My boy is coming 16mths now. She's like a commando.. Always didi do this, do that!

lh_jyc,
yes... sounded alot like me :p .

Milo,
K so poor thing *sayang*. Is he taking any vitamins to boost immunity?

Is he the only student that is down with the mouth ulcers?

Hi milo,

It's norm for kids to fall sick when they first go to school. R also like this the first time, ended up my fil went to the school n withdrew him.

Is ur school air-conditioned? if yes, it is easier for him to get it from the other kids who r sick.. can try to give him Vit C but hor...

milo,
X missed sch 3 occasions for fever, cough and flu liao...His sch is non-aircon leh..
Its really part and parcel of going to sch. But amazingly, he is fine with med. My trick is to give him 1 gummy bear suck in the mouth then come my two syringe of med..haha..dunno how long this trick will work but gotta try everything we can.
Vit C might help but its really have to let them build up the immune system. Prob it will take 2-3mths to really be stronger.

joyce,
ya, CL for twin rates are higher..Perhaps you shld really consider changing to a more experienced maid. Now less than 1 mth, you can still get refund for the insurance paid on this maid!
Alternatively, you might want to send her back before you pop then get a CL while waiting for another replacement maid? That will free you 1-2mths of the salary of maid...
If not, perhaps, you really have to "train" her day and nite till she buck up before you popped.

littletot,
what does the speech therapy do?
My son eat and chew well but he is not talking well! Single words still and things like thomas, he will say ah-bas..i prob will wait till 3yo before sending him for assessment.....

I remember you had a maid not too long ago. You've fired her? How do you manage your weekday dinners now? As in, do you cook, cater, or eat out after you've fetched X?

milo,
I symphathise with you. E also refused to take med. Usually, I only managed to feed him *at most* once or twice a day (supposed to be thrice daily). These are what I've tried and "succeeded":

1) Distract him while hiding the syringe behind me. Ask him to open his mouth to "check his teeth" and quickly administer the med.

2) Breastfeed him while DH quickly inject the med into his mouth (he's usually crying at this time).

3) E loves yoghurt so I'll mix the med into the yoghurt and add fruits to cover-up the med's taste. (I find kid's med to be very sweet). This is the most fuss-free method for E.

4) E likes soup so sometimes I'll add a little into his soup (but he usually notice the difference in taste and will not finish the soup).

As lh_jyc mentioned, kids fall sick more often after they've started schooling. Depending on the flu trend, E sometimes has bouts &amp; recovery of flu / cough back to back. So, I think if K's recent case is not considered serious and/or not as serious as the previous one, just let him take a few days off schooling and recuperate. There's no need to quit school. * Just my personal opinion.*

littletot,
V is a great help in helping you to discipline her didi uh? As for chewing food, while she's seeing a therapist, perhaps you can also introduce more variety of food of different chunkiness to her. Make them attractive, so she's more willing to try. Does she like fruit yoghurt or apple pie?

ss1,
Terima kersih! Let me know what time to meet ya.</font>

bbloh,
i fired 2 maids in 4 mths...haha...
maids standard these days really cannot make it..and i am not the fussy kind. Just need them to clean and take care of son. Dun even need to cook hor...

my dinners these days are taken care by kopitiam. Son have his 3 meals in sch so not too bad. Was thinking of tingkat but its too saltish and the food will be cold by the time i hit home. I may start to cook a simple one dish meal later on when i am too sick of kopitiam food.

Of cos, some days i am pampered by "someone here" with homecook food and entertainment for xavier..haha...muacks to that person.

joyce
we'll be spending our xmas in genting this year...looking forward to it as the last time,she was still too young to go to the outdoor theme parks. Only could ride the carousel &amp; not much else.

milo
my ger's cc is air con but so far,she has been ok. Do u give any supplements? i'm really not sure wat is it that helps my ger but probably a combination of factors...she's on goat milk at nite, takes the children's dha cod liver oil &amp; vit c daily &amp; i give her lots of fruits everyday. Luckily, she loves almost all types of fruits (apples, dragonfruit, peaches, plums, papaya, kiwis,strawberries, bananas etc). I try to avoid giving her oranges &amp; grapes though. She used to get coughs but after a mth of being on singulair, it stopped. Now once i hear her coughing, i'll start her on the ventolin inhaler &amp; within 2-3 days, it goes away. Heard from my pd that the inhaler is supposed to be lower dosage than giving them liquid ventolin syrup. I've given her other cough syrups to help but they dun seem that effective on her.

littletot
wow, u had ur #2 really fast...was it planned? but so fun when they r so close in age &amp; can play tog.

bbloh
N used to hate medicine too; would put up a crying fit each time we try to syringe her (takes 2 persons to feed her everytime) but somehow as she grows older, she doesn't mind it. maybe medicine is sweet hahaha

milo,
OMG! Sayang K and also u &amp; yr hb. Hmm.. personally view, air con is easier to spread germs.. our kiddos only build up 60% of adult immune system; < 3 yo ( stated in the the bb programme on channel 8)
Another factor might be the daily routine imposed by the cc and new environment that may stress our kiddo and may need time to adapt...
Err..Maybe you observe few more weeks before you make any decision.

Cheri &amp; bbloh,

K hates western medicine. Even those syrup is sweet, I presume those 4mths intake made him hate of it.However, he is alright for chinese herb in powder form.
K is currently down with tummy flu. He asked us to bring him to see sinseh on saturday night. I was shocked to hear "kang zhong yi" from his mouth.

Milo,
Oops, I am really sorry. 3hr..hmm..have to give K eat more fruits and some vitamin supplement.

Ivy,
No lar.. K just recognise the medical hall cos I alway pay my visit there, plus I alway told him clinic - western doc, medical hall / medical clinic - chinese sinseh.

Hi milo,

Just remembered something, my son initially refused to take med. then i threaten him that if he no eat, will have to bring him back to hospital, he usually will take coz he so traumatised by the hospitalisation. Sometimes i also cajoled him by promising to give him the vitamin sweet (those chewable n sweet thingy). For this treat, he will give in...try and see if it works for K

Hi Ivy,
can try neo garden if you want tingkat. heard its not bad. i tried the catering so far so good
not too salty..

Ya, maids cant make it la. mine cant cook, cant do housework, cant even iron clothes...teaching her now. she cried and asked us not to send her back
think i give her another 2 weeks to try it out, if not, i cant help it liaoz. at least she seems willing to learn

Hi Cheri,
Envious...keke dunno how long i have to wait for the next hols..

Hi Ivy,

R your boy's motor skills good? coz i noticed that if their motor skills r good, their speech not so good, vis versa..

my boy good in talking and singing but his motor skills veri bad, he cant walk up n down stairs if no one handing his hands..also diff in jumping..

Re talking, mabbe can try exposing him to more music and songs?

Thanks all! Me feeling much better today liao.

Have withdrawn him from school for the time being. Let him rest well before starting again next year.

I bought nordic fish oil gel form, he didnt like. Now waiting for him to recover liao then add the oil into his milk/food.

Any recommendation for vit c? will try my best to boost his immunity before starting him again. This period is really nothing but nightmare but glad its gonna be over soon

joyce,
i tried neo before..still too saltish for my taste.
You are right, he is good in his motor skills. No prob with walking, climbing and jumping...I just gotta wait patiently...

Your maid arh, give her another 2 weeks since you haven pop..but anna did say her maid after 2yrs still slow! (upgrade from extreme slow, to very slow and then slow..haha)

cheri, sheri, bbloh,
was good to meet up for lunch just now, relaxing chats with mummies without the kiddos!

we will do it next in sim or nus....when milo rejoin her old plc..haha...

Cheri,
let us know how much to tt you.

yup yup, would like to join u girl next time

me been absent from work too long, cannot take long lunch. now serving my notice period.. hehe

lh_jyc,
Err..My k only learnt to climb stairs in June. In fact, my ma trained him. Until now only speak few words. "Pain, see doc, pa pa, ma ma, grand ma n grand pa, milk" etc. ( am not worry abt k's speech, i spoke when i was 4yrs old).
Hb's friend whose stay @ same block, actually trained his two sons when they were 9mths old (few mths older than K). Personally view, its all rely whether parent want to "release hand a bit" to let our kiddos learn. For my hb, he carried k up automatically when he sees stairs even when k wants to try on earlier this year.

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
My boy is like R! Gotta climb up/down stairways with aid and dunno how to jump with both feet off the ground. He's quite clumpsy - got 2 big bumps on his forehead from last few days. Ouch!

Ivy, ss1 &amp; Cheri,
Nice meeting you over lunch. The chat is good but the food is too oily for my liking. Feel very drowsy now ...

Ivy,
My guess is good ar?

milo,
Glad that you're feeling better. Join us next time for the lunch makan session. Maybe next month?

Any plan for the next few weekends? We visited Hay Dairies Goat's Farm again last Sat. E still dare not feed the goats.</font>

milo,
just to share mine....

to boost my wendy's immunity (she's also going to childcare twice a week, from 9am to 5pm), i've been giving her Scott's Emulsion, fish oil with orange flavor. everyday. took a while (few months) to see the result.
she used to be down with cough/flu almost all the time. but i think because of both the exposure and the fish oil help to boost her immunity.

here, her doctor also said that it's an avoidable phase. if she doesn't get all the sickness now, she'll get it when she starts school (kindy at 3 yrs old).

Hi bbloh,

Yup! u describing R. He can sing a lot of songs and talk back to me but he cant walk properly. keeps falling down. also cant seem to co-ordinate himself well...

Ya Ivy,
what is the surprise...dun keep us guessing lei

ivy, bbloh, sheri
it was great meeting up, thank you for accompanying this sahm for lunch keke...but did u realize, almost thru out the entire meal, our conversations somehow r still centred on our kiddos! hahhah

bbloh &amp; joyce
yeah, i agree wif the motor vs oral skills part...N is oso pretty clumsy though we let her walk the stairs, she can jump wif both feet off ground etc...but somehow, at the most unexpected moments, she'll tumble hahahah. Used to it oso...

re next outing
shall we go palawan beach &amp; let the kids do sand &amp; waterplay? quite fun there leh...

Wah! Really can faint, according to my co secretary, she stated she called MOM, the lady told her <font color="0000ff">its company decision whether to give the 6 days leave</font>.

Sigh!! There goes my childcare leave liao. When the legistration will pass? Don't tell me, like my male colleague stated becos of the recent issue, hold back the new scheme.

joyce,
haha...you must join in our next meet-up to know more..

Cheri,
beach sounds good. But must be in the morning...is N still having swim class on sundays?

annie,
huh? dream? haha..no lah..what dream....
Having 2nd kid is not a dream lah, its a plan.

ya, thanks for your well wishes, i am into my 17th weeks now.

Hi Ivy,

So EDD is in Feb/Mar? Boy or girl? know liaoz?
pardon me, althu 2nd preg me still those blurz sotong type

annie,
when did you see me? i haven see you for a long time liao lo..

joyce,
mar..gender, dunno yet. Ha, its not so secret to those who have been meeting me lah. Just that with all the bad m/s, no mood to announce it LOUD, plus pantang mah...
Given alot of hints here and there in this thread liao. Anemic was also the other problem discovered in this preg. Now everyday popping pills.

race c,
thanks...haha..ya. thats y telling the mummies must meet up often then more fun mah.

Hey all,
any GOOD CL to recommend? Exploring my options now.