(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

bbloh,
its raining in the whole island...heng i was praying hard hard it dun rain till son get inside the cc...
He is gog to have a party on the 30th at cc for CD. And 2nd Oct was a make up holiday for the sch teachers..So he is gog to have 2 days without sch! haha...think we prob rot at home unless have fun ideas?

ivy
want to come and play with my 2 babies on 2 Oct.... i also worry about them doing nothing at home and causing a havoc!!!

parents vs school responsibility
I totally agree that parents should be the pri teacher in sex education and sexuality. Sometimes, I wonder when things go wrong with sex and sexuality, was it that the parents did not teach? Anyway, we need to teach what is inline with the culture/religious teaching of the child not leave it to a generic line of thought as envisioned by MOE..

btw, i heard from my cousin that the students should be from siglap sec... she's from the school (hahaha)

gabby, sounds a good idea..Gab no sch on 2nd as well? Dunno if he still like playing with X.

I noted X will pout very often these days when he is being snatch of the things he is playing. He totally not the attack kind, ppl snatch he will try to hug tighter...if the person succeed, he will pout and tears threaten to come down...Poor boy, dunno to teach him to fight back or not...he is too mild...

poor east side sec with green uniform...all under suspect now.haha...

gabby,
Personally i feel parents and school should educate Sex education in more fully and positive way.. its really prom more curiousity if the kiddo know 1/2 of it...

Don't know about others, my parents are conservative type.Luckily, my dad's friend lent him two documentary programmes on Sex and Abortion and we whole family watched when we were v young. From there, I learnt that abortion is tough and painful experience to go through, hence, educated me to be more responsible on myself. Don't know work on others, but at least work on my sibilings too.

we're back! my ger is still recovering from her jet lag; think it will take a couple of nites b4 she can sleep thru again...she woke at 2 am last nite & refused to sleep again till 5 plus!

SG is so hot!

Annie,
X not like K wor....he dun cry. He only pout and sad face like want to cry but wun cry one.

Gab,
2nd Oct, ONZ....sms you later.

Ivy,
Oh.. X is brave, sayang sayang. hmm.. k cry for attention lar. u noe he is loud speaker especially when crying..

More items are found with tainted with melamine... At last, e A is doing work to check.. but isn't thats a bit late.. hmm better than none.

annie,
dun complain abt our AVA lah....cannot say they only do work when things happened. There are tons of chemicals out there, you cannot expect AVA to check every food for every chemical ( if you know the process of checking...), it will take years for all the food stuff to be check.
Then you can forget abt eating liao...

Ivy,
Of cos i roughly know, i do have 2 friends working inside.. due to the recent issue, they do work ot also. However, i speak e general..

bbloh
most pics in my hb's laptop & he's away for biz trip now...will post once i've sorted them out. So funny...my ger woke again at 2 am last nite...she stood up in bed suddenly & told me "Mummy, I wanna go see parade again. Let's go Disneyland now!" hahah it was another few hours b4 she went back to zzz again!

whoa, Cheri!
Welcome back!
Didn't see N in sch last few days, still trying to overcome jet lag? Next Tues got Children's Day celebration in school. Not sure if parents can join tho.

Joyce,
Cheer up!

sheri
she will be going back to sch tmr...wanted to bring her on fri but the heavy downpour made it tough for me to call for a cab so decided to let her stay in. Dun think parents r invited for the tues party leh...email din mention at all. Do they hv sch on 1 oct, wed? cos i know some ccs r closed that day.

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
1 Oct 2008 is a PH (Hari Raya Puasa) so all CCCs are closed.

ss1,
Your kids are also in TELC? Or, you're teaching there?</font>

bbloh
gee hb told me 2 oct is the PH! jialat, after hol, we all lost our time dimension hahhaha...so is 2nd oct a hol for ccs as well...i better check wif her teachers later when i pick her up.

ss1 is working in SIM now so both her kids attend TELC too...her subsidized rates for cc r sooo attractive..make me so envy keke.

cheri,
ya lo, Xavier's cc is also closed for 2nd Oct...cos they supposed to close for 1st then 1st clash with Raya holiday, so 2nd is make up holiday for the teachers.

ss1,
see, everyone is gog to apply for a post in SIM liao...the sub rates plus the govt sub is making your kids education so so affordable! Can have another kid liao.

<font color="0000ff">RE: Left handed</font>
Anyone can advise how to teach left handed? My k is super crazy left handed... hb everytime made k to change to right handed but k will use back after short time. We worry how to teach him handwritting as both of us are right handed. My niece also facing the same problem.

Cheri,
Most of the civil .. get such benefit.. my gf and colleague's wife are nurse also entitle such.. so good deal. hehe

annie
not all civil servants leh...at least i know pri sch teachers dun hv haahah...think it's only if ur company has a cc in it, then maybe the company will subsidize.

Hi Annie,

Yup...actually civil servants dun have much benefits...even our chalet rates are exp unlike mnc firms who usually have good welfare benefits. of coz most of the sme cant match lor so cant compare lor. For CC, its usually subsidised when the company have one in their premises...
btw, nurses are not civil servants

Good morning ladies...

It's Tuesday n tomolo is HOLs...goodie goodie

lh_jyc &amp; Cheri,

I didn't know that. Few friends of mine are also teachers get such benefits. As for civil servants mostly those sign on &amp; those govt sponsor 1 do get a lot of benefits.. err.. @ least those my friends are. Thanks for highlighting.

Cheri,

Wah! great pics leh
Thanks for sharing..

cherie,

hehe so nice the pics. esp the one in disneyland. u spent 2 days there?

finally tomolo is ph... yeah!

annie
ur frens who r teachers get cc benefits for their kids? wat kinda teachers r they? probably not moe teachers?

milo
yeah, we stayed at an inn that is just 5 mins walk from the entrance &amp; we bot 2 day passes for Disneyland...we wanted to take it slow &amp; let her enjoy the place thoroughly...was good for letting her nap at hotel room too while we rested. We would then go back after her nap to Disneyland to catch the nite parade &amp; take more rides...fabulous arrangement for us. We din really explore other parts of LA though cos hb &amp; I hv been there b4 &amp; other places like Universal Studio etc r not really suitable for her age.

annie
think for left handers, u hv to teach him how to position the paper b4 he starts writing...they dun put the paper straight to write like rite-handers...i rem reading that somewhere...maybe u can read up online...i'm sure there will be many other tips. Left handers r supposed to be very creative &amp; smart, i heard.

cheri,

can share which inn u stayed at anaheim? for the last trip, we booked anahenim plaza hotel but was thinking got any even nearer to disneyland or not

milo
we stayed in park vue inn...we took a room wif a jacuzzi &amp; it was the last room on the ground level. She had loads of fun in the jacuzzi...we showered in it even heheh...The inn was clean, not too noisy, big carpark. Our only grouse are the thin walls &amp; the creaky beds hahah...luckily, our next room is not the noisy kind at nite so our sleep was not disturbed but we could hear their tv set on. There's a very nice family restaurant I-hop next to Park Vue Inn...we had many of our meals there...yummy food &amp; good service.

annie
it's normal for their pics to be illegible to us now...but it means a lot to them. When N points out her drawings to me, heheh, though i dun understand wat she's drawing, i'll still nod my head &amp; go wow, that's a bird! it's really flying v high, isn't it? that will instantly put a smile to her face. Now she can draw a face &amp; fill in the eyes, nose &amp; mouth herself. Will even tell me if it's a sad or happy face.

Alamak...
had a fall while rushing back to office after a meeting
so malu, all the pple there staring at me. now seated at my desk n dare not go out for lunch...stomach turning

Hi Cheri,
Nice pics can see that u guys r enjoying urself..re drawing..everytime i ask R what he is drawing, he will either say 1515(wasted loads of my $$ on 4D..hee) or macdonalds or Hi 5

joyce
oh dear! fall? r u feeling alrite now...better go c ur gynae if u feel anything amiss k?

heheh 1515...maybe he's aspiring to be the next royston tan...direct movies wif numerals as title keke

Hi Cheri,

okie except that my ego is affected...
yippee...finally cleared my stuff. going home now. ta ta

Happy Children Day tomolo

sorry to disturb,i am looking for the 6 panel Haenim Play yard please PM me your price, condition and age of the play yard and collection place.

<font color="0000ff">How was everyone's Children's Day? We brought DS to HortPark and the weather was good - not too sunny and was breezy at times. Took a break at carpark B at Kent Ridge Park and saw some crew from "The Contender" (is it a TV series coz I seldom watch TV nowadays?) setting up their tools there. DH intends to go again this weekend, but we'll be exploring either more of the Kent Ridge Park area, or the Alexandra Arch (or Mount Faber).

Has anyone been to Hay Goat's Farm? When is the milking / feeding time?</font>

bbloh
we went to the zoo &amp; we got to feed elephants for the first time! perfect weather for an outing! sheri &amp; I r thinking of going esplanade this weekend...wanna join us? think they hv some free events going on cos of Chrn's Day celebn.

we hv been to hay dairy's for the milking...u can check the site for the milking time. Feeding time is ongoing, i think, cos the public just walks into where the goats r housed &amp; feed them wif the hay. N din dare to! hahaah honestly i found the goats v ugly looking esp so upclose :p)

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
Feeding elephants? N is bold. I bet E wouldn't even dare to be close to elephants which are so huge as compared to him. haha!

Esplanade is having the Octoburst event.
Which day and what time are you planning to meet?

These programs look interesting:

*Octoburst 2008: NAFA Young Talents
2.15 - 2.45pm (Concourse) - FOC

* Octoburst 2008: Mouse and Cookie
3.15 - 3.45pm (Concourse) - FOC

* Octoburst 2008: The Lion and the Mouse
4.15 - 4.45 pm (Concourse) - FOC

Check here for more programs!

------------
A blog to share with entries on the infant formula, parenting and such:
http://blog.sina.com.cn/weewitch</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi bbloh, the milking time only happen in the morning abt 9am at Hay dairies...i go there very often actually. haha.

feeding of the alfafa hays is all days long, $2 per pack, only feed the male goats, the mama goats are very precious and produce milk, owner doesn't open the mummy goats to public.
mummy goats only show up during milking time in the morning.</font>

<font color="0000ff">leejen,
U go very often? It's not very near to your place right? Does your family like goat's milk? Which flavour is more acceptable for 1st trial?</font>

bbloh
N initially din dare to feed ponies but after a few exposures, she was ok. I've realized it's impt for us not to stop bringing them cos they r scared nor pressure them too much. I always tell myself the trip is not wasted even if she doesn't dare to cos each exposure may mean her receptiveness may be slightly increased. She's still fearful but if we encourage &amp; do it wif her, she can be persuaded nowadays. We're thinking of going on a farm stay hol next

i've realized the esplanade events r in the aftn leh..naptime

N is a lover of any milk (any brand, any flavour) so she was perfectly fine wif the hay dairy plain flavoured one. But i think the choc one masked the smell &amp; taste most. I can't stand the plain one hehhe

Qianhu is also a good place to bring young children to. They got a place for feeding of kois and catching guppies

Can try

<font color="0000ff">We visited Hay Dairies Goat Farm and Henderson Waves over the weekends. It was fun!

leejen,
The milking sessions start from 9am - 11am. The mother goats were milked one batch after another. We went to the viewing bay too and *I* had fun feeding the goats (DS dare not do it). haha!

lh_jyc,
Thanks! We'll seek out Qianhu soon.

Any other farms to recommend?</font>

bbloh
we like Farmart...can't rem issit lim chu kang or chua chu kang or watever lah...think there's a website. can feed goat, rabbit, tortoise etc. not a very big place though. think most farms in sg r quite small. there's one in pasir ris too but i dun really like as they r too sanitized to me, using feed rather than real carrots for the rabbits, for instance.

working mummies,
Have your HR credit the extra childcare leave for you?
I just check out MOM site and was told that it will be pro-rated as 3 days in total for 2008 calender year...
BUT, if your company is able to give 6 days, govt will still pay for the additional 3 days!!! So i am writing to my HR to ask them to be pro family and consider giving that additional 3 days since govt pay then take it lah!

Any company so nice to auto give 6 days? Share with us, maybe we shld consider job hopping there!

Annie:
Your company more special, cos it go by your son birth mth aka anniversay year as stated by MOM site..calculation for that very luan, so you go MOM site to read bah....

ha, working for so many years, this yr is the 1st time i am so calculative about leave...
No choice cos not much left already...only abt 2-3 days for the rest of the yr!
Wat to do, son sick,i take leave, son go sch, i take leave, sch close i also take leave, son skip sch, also i take leave! haha..thats how my leave are all used up!

Ivy,
Sigh,doesnt mean anything! cos until now they still dont acknowledge the new rule unless they see the regislation pass which mom stated they will get pass only after end of oct 2008 &amp; fully by end dec 2008. And even if they follow when they see the documents sent by mom, whose know whats their next move? Once switch, I kena nothing left.

Ivy,
Yap, you have a problem for this issue since x is schooling now, v jialat for you.

annie,
i dun understand what you meant..anyway, the legistration is in effect already. Is how your and your HR work out things....

Ivy,
This is how my co do, no HR, since its just a chinese local firm with so many elderly working here for >25yrs... they dont qualifiy for such cc leave. Sigh!!!

This is how mom replied me.

<font color="0000ff">Dear Ms Quah,

We refer to your email dated 30 Sept 08.

Before the legislation takes effect, employers are encouraged to voluntarily grant the additional employer-paid childcare leave to their employees. After October 08 when the legislation takes effect until 31 Dec 08, employers will be required to do so.

The legislation is likely to take effect on 31 Oct 08.

For information on the recently announced enhanced Marriage &amp; Parenthood package in Aug 2008 (e.g. maternity leave, childcare leave, infant care leave, etc), you may wish to refer to the Marriage &amp; Parenthood website (www.family.gov.sg/MnP), the Ministry of Manpower website (www.mom.gov.sg/MnP) or contact the toll-free hotline, 1800 233 2229.</font>

Annie,
i think you din understand the sentence...
It meant in legistration in Oct..Anyway, you can claim for 1 extra day based on the FAQ that i saw on MOM site. But if your HR refused then you write to MOM to complain lo..

My employee who is covered under the Employment Act and I have previously worked out for Childcare Leave to be taken during the anniversary year of the child's birthday (i.e. birthday to birthday) prior to 17 August 08, how do I take this into consideration when calculating how many days of Childcare Leave my employee is entitled to between 17 August 08 and 31 December 08?

Irrespective of the relevant period arrangement worked out between the employer and employee prior to 17 August 08, employees will receive 3 days of pro-rated employer-paid Childcare Leave from 17 August 08 to 31 December 08, which is inclusive of the 2-day Childcare Leave that he/she is entitled to under the Employment Act.

From 1 January 2009, the full 6 days of enhanced Childcare Leave, in any relevant period agreed between the employer and employee, could re-commence. In any case, the total number of Childcare Leave that can be taken over 7 years in respect of any child should not exceed 42 days.