(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

ivy,
Forget to say, Jiayou, hope to hear good news from you.. best that bb age are close...maybe can share textbook when schooling.

Lh_jyc,
Yappee.. you have 4mths m.leave for yr coming bbs. heheh.. not sure when effective, better to be fast as one gf is due sept 11.. hopefully, she can enjoy such benefit.

<font color="0000ff">Thing to share</font>

Last nite, I witnessed one middle aged man scolded a lady in front of him, as she allowed one ang mo to cut her quence to pay fast; given reason that she was alone with 2 toddlers and one needs to go toilet urgently. He gave such harsh scolding till the lady apologised to him more than once. Since, I was behind this man ( number 3 in the quence), I asked him, didn't you heard the angmo lady's reason.. he kept quiet. Hb stated I am kpo.. I wonder why can't people be more helpful when come in mummy alone with toddlers?

The extra mth of maternity leave is definitely good but I wish that they give daddy more paternity leave ...mabbe a split like 14 wks for mummy and 2 weeks for daddy...hee...

Hi ivy,

yup so waiting for the news..update me if you know, k

Agreed...if pple likes kids, they will generally have one, even if no benefits but the benefits do help to make our life easier lor, as at now, already have diff finding help 4 looking after young children and affordable n good CC..

re govt...just to share some of us also work from home even during maternity. its not because we are forced to do it....think it depends on the officers. just that like what PM said, we have to prioritise..the benefits are there but sometimes staff also have to weigh and see...its more like we give n take

peisei, not good in explaining myself.

come join the Govt if u wants a pro-family environment but must be prepared of some frustrations

hee.. think there are lots of vacancies these days

Ivy,
hmm.. govt can only enforce @ its own govt board, for private, based on mom, still rely on employer's decision. Govt can only encourage. What's concern me the most is the hidden problems.. more private co will opt for contract based.

annie,
wun concern you liao lah..cos you wun be affected mah...

Joyce,
ya, myself hate govt jobs cos of all the red tapes etc. I also worked during my maternity leave last round, it was ok lah. Since infant eat and slp most of the time and we all have confinement ladies mah. You are right, its a matter of give and take. And ppl always think the moon is rounder over the other side mah. Get them to go over then they understand the problem.
Ha, let me refresh the cna more often to see if there are 1st hand news on the press conference. Hope it will be in time for you, else ask your babies to tahan a bit longer? keke...

hello mummies!

Long time no see/hear/chat. Wow all the hypes abt the PM rally... its generally good news for mums-to-be.. just hope the govt can quickly come up with the LAW to subsidise parents on their children pre-schools! *Ariel's sch fees is burning a big hole in my pocket!*

By the way... i realised that my girl likes to clench her fist.. any of ur todds doing this as well?

<font color="0000ff">Woah! So much musings about the ND Rally huh? Let's hope for more detailed goodies to be released today.</font>

ivy,
Definitely concern, like i stated, the hidden problems and not only my co react this way... I wont be surprise more private hire contract staffs than getting permanent.

Agreed with you that nb bb only eat n sleep most of the time. Thats y complaint why
crazy boss must enforce to take all m. leave in one shot, cant take few days and spread over th e given period of 6mths (initial) and now 1 year meh? anyway, all depend what kind of employer.

Somehow, if the couple likes to have kids, whether having all these benefits won't affect them. Just add extra tokens. Gong xi all mtbs

sponge,
the press conference for the subsidy is today! haha...Ariel haven start sch till sept wor, where got burn hole yet? Its your shopping lah, that one no subsidy from govt leh. keke..

clenching fist,
nope, X dun do that. In wat circumstances does Ariel do that?

sponge,
Err, govt said hired more qualified teachers.. i thought its add on cost.. anyway, more tax rebates for working ma and subsidy on putting our little 1 in cc.

Hi Sponge!!!! Really long time no see/chat/hear with you here! Which school is Ariel going?
In what circumstances does she clench her fist? Anger?

<u>Child-care leave</u>

Lazy to check website, but can we take this leave annually? I thought it's for new-born....

fate,
There is one week unpaid leave for bb <2 yrs old, haha.. our may bb don't entitle. More bb bonus for newly mum (ie 1st bb). *really time difference, my parent &amp; parent in law kena fine for having my brother (no. 3).

eileen,
childcare leave is annual one leh, till kid is 7yrs old...you mean you lugi your 2 extra days this and last yr?!haha..

Ivy,

Keeping my fingers cross on what will come out from the press conference today! Aiyo with her expensive sch fees i must curb on my shoppings liao leh..IF ONLY govt can subsidise on online sprees..

Heyee Eileen!! heh heh miss me?? Yes you can take the childcare leave annually lor.. *i'm going to echo Ivy here*.. don't tell me you didnt take the childcare leave for the past 2 years??

Ariel is going to learning vision in Sept lor..

Re: Clenching fist

Ariel loves to clench her fist.. not in anger.. but i think its more out of habit. U see.. she has to have her Lego figurines whereever she go. She takes them to bathe..sleep..etc. So by and by..her fist always remains clenched..as if she is still holding the Lego.. very worrying leh..

<font color="0000ff">sponge,
Think it's a passing phase since it's more of a habit for her. Not to worry too much. Which LV branch are you sending her?</font>

Ivy, sponge

You guessed it right!!! I never take any child care leaves last year!!!! This year haven't finish leh.......sotong me! Stupid company also never remind me.

LV so ex? Full day cc or?

fates,
quick, scream at your HR..haha...2 days wasted last yr. Must take this yr 2 days by Dec, cos cannot bring over one.
Next yr dun forget, its 6 days!

bbloh,
I'm sending Ariel to LV @ Republic Poly.. really hope her clenching fist habit will fade over time..

fates,
You can still take ur childcare leave this year.. quickly go apply! hahaha.. LV is quite exp lor.. after subsidy we still need to fork out $800 per mth! -_-"

Ivy,
hahah..from a HR point of view hor.. if staff nvr take their childcare leave..its too bad lor.. its the staff's entitlement but if they nvr use then.. cannot blame co la!

ivy,
I thought the current 2 days is counting from eg k is born in may, so is from 2 May 2008( K birthday) - May 1 2009. (As calendar yr irrespective of the date of birth of the child up to the calendar year in which the child reaches his / her 7th birthday(capped @ 14days). - Extract from Information booklet for Employers?

Does it mean i need to clear the 2 days within this year as the new 6days implement next year onward? Err.. co has the right to give 1 day since the calendar year is end 1st May 2009?

lh_jyc,
Ya, but at least govt is giving $5000 rebate on tax for those bb born in this yr; this rule didnt set up in last round.

By the way, can you get 25% tax rebate for 3 kids? Thats a lot, can do great shopping..

sponge,
Another $150 on top of the existing $300 subsidy + 15% tax rebate on top of existing 5% tax rebate for working mum.. can do more shopping for you.

annie,
where you read and get your information? The cc leave is per calender year, ie 1st Jan to 31st Dec regardless when your son is born...Maybe thats your company ruling..i dunno wor.
and where got existing $300 subsidy? Read before you start telling everyone leh...

Joyce,
*pat pat* heard got mummies gog to petition. Maybe got hope?

<font color="0000ff">my_dodo77,
Your DDs look so adorable. Is this pix taken recently?

Annie,
For my company, the 2-day childcare leave applies per calendar year, i.e. from Jan to Dec. So, it doesn't matter when the kids are born. I used up both days of childcare leave for DS' vaccination in the very first year (i.e. from May to Dec 2006).

BTW, Calendar year means 12 months from "Jan to Dec" as it's the year reflected in the Calendar. It's not related to the child's birthdate, Financial Year (FY) or Academic Year (AY).</font>

bbloh,
ya lo, same for my company. I think Annie's company is more special lah...they got their own laws.

my_dodo77,
you still in NZ?

Hi Ivy,

I joined the petition too but not hopeful thu..u know la, they will surely say whatever the implementation date, there are pple who will not benefit

initially not so upset but reading all the threads yestd...got more n more upset..keke

Annie,
I dun earn much, so tax rebute dun affect me a lot..keke

Ivy,
No lar. It is <u>inside the Information booklet for Employers pg 13</u>. I photocopied this page that time when co secretary showed me. Sigh* my co strictly taking words by words... On the other hand, I clear my last 2 days (if the new rule didn't implement) when <font color="0000ff">K reachs 1 day before 8yrs old ie 1 May 2014</font>(where everyone out there end @ 31 Dec 2013).

Hah.. I am waiting for the co secetary to tell me after she finds out.

Well, i just realised my co is smart to "save 1 day payout" since people tends to quit after taking profit sharing (my co gives up during cny period). *Sigh*

Ivy,
Oh ya, SORRY MUMMIES, its on top of existing <u>$150</u> totally $300 subsidy; pardon me, i am too over joy for the $300 subsidy.

lh_jyc,
With yr twins arriving, you &amp; yr hb can enjoy the PTR.

Sharing this joke

<font color="ff0000">"An illegitimate child"</font> born to your family on or after 1 January 2008 and the natural parents are legally before the child reaches 6 years old - extract from website. - i doubt the original wife will be happy to know if exist.

joyce,
ya lo, quite hard for govt to change dates cos they cannot please everyone mah. But just odd that why this time they take so long to implement? Maybe becos they really just want to target at the die die dun want to give birth ppl.

Annie,
wah, your company still have such booklet. Heng, that does not apply to anyone of us here...We just go by calender year.

annie,
why you overjoy by the $300 subsidy? I tot you always say childcare no good and your son dun need cos is well taken care by your parents? Changing your mind again?

bbloh,
thanks. yes, the pic was taken few days ago. everyday, wendy will ask me/hubby to take her pic. and if elina is around, she will tell her to be still for the pose

they're really a handful, though.

ivy,
not nz. i'm in melbourne. cold... brrrr... today's max only 12 degrees

yalor...think they are only encouraging new babies, those already preg, preg already ma so no need..keke...makes economical sense to them also. they can get to save quite a lot of $$$ for already preg mummies

ivy,
Mostly. K is so handful for us to handle. Grandparent over-spoilt him. 1. gd eg.Until now, my ma still doesnt want to let k learn feeding himself.(k learns when we are around). I also want him to learn sharing toys instead of pushing or beating each others.

Ok for the cc leave, still give 2days as stated.

lh_jyc,
Maybe like my colleague stated, govt is waiting to see how jialat US economy falling by end of this yr since more banks than expected predicted are filing close, best to be conservative @ this stage. I came across this word commonly used in recent economy reports even appear in Europe...

annie,
so K is gog to a childcare soon? Which one?
very affordable now if you choose those non branded one. I came across some centres that cost abt $330 affter $150 subsidy, so if with the new additonal subsidy, you only need to pay less than $200! lesser than wat you paying ur parents leh.

i feel its perfectly fine for grandparents to spoilt the kids as long as the parents are still there to teach them the right things. So you dun have to be so paranoid lah.
Ask the mummies here, which grandparents dun spoilt our kids? haha...

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Sharing this joke

<font color="ff0000">"An illegitimate child"</font> born to your family on or after 1 January 2008 and the natural parents are legally before the child reaches 6 years old - extract from website. - i doubt the original wife will be happy to know if exist.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

<font color="0000ff">Annie,
Seriously hor, I don't think it's a joke. It simply implies that "if an unmarried couple have child(ren), they have to register their marriage before (I think) the first child(ren) [since it may be multiple birth] is/are 6 yo to enjoy the benefits. This is because, nowadays, many couples co-habit even before marriage and some of them do not see the need to register their marriages just to give their partners or child(ren) legitimacy (spelling?).

It's never implied that the husband or wife may have an affair and have a child out of wedlock. That is another story.

my_dodo77,
Wendy really know how to compose herself in front of the camera, even encouraging mei mei to do so. So "guai". I seldom have a clear picture of DS. He always look away or turn his head vigorously when he catches me with the camera. It's getting difficult to handle him!</font>

bbloh,
Hmm.. seriously i never think of that? Cos why would you address illegitimate child for couple just arent marryin usual daily life? Pardon me cos i nvb address my friend's kid in such way.
Yap, i just look in hubby being unfaithful to wife..
Hmm.. thats why i stated the wife wont be happy...
However by all means,I hold no intention or plan to hurting anyone in any sense.

<font color="0000ff">Here's the definition of <u>illegitimate</u></font>

"In common law, legitimacy is the status of a child that is born to parents who are legally married to one another, or that is born shortly after the parents' marriage ends through divorce. The opposite of legitimacy is the status of being "illegitimate" — born to a woman and a man who are not married to one another."

<font color="0000ff">Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Illegitimate

Hope this helps.</font>

ivy,
I am not pananoid, beside those that I msn you, I really dont want K to be like my colleague's son.

Yes,every grandparents spoilt grandkids but to what certain level is <u>fully rely on whether parents cut want to cut the line at</u>.

annie,
you watched too much drama and think that illegitimate kid must be due to affairs lah.

When govt use this word, they meant by law.
So by the law, your fren kid will be illegitimate if his parents are just living together and not registered.

Bbloh,
ya, our society is too much influenced by the western culture. Think govt want to reverse that by encourgaing more young couples to get married rather than just co-habit. Cos co habit does not count to the statistics.
Already amongst my uni mates, a number of them dun wan to get tied down by a pc of paper. Hence not married and also no kids! Headache for our govt hor..haha.

bbloh,
Thanks. I know the real meaning. Like i stated, I really focus on "hb having outside kid" view. <font color="0000ff">Sorry, I watched too much drama liao!! </font>Hmm.. in any term if offend you or others, <font color="ff0000">I really apologise</font>.

Why need make such attractive benefit for such? Yes, normally, lots of benefit to get legal tie (ROM)? Dont you feel its the couple freedom / choice? Afterall, all grown adults, whether affected by western culture or not, its all the freedom of your choice. However, with this new rule, its just indirectly seduction couple to get tie for their little one... (MY PERSONAL VIEW, NO OTHER INTENTION HOR)

<font color="0000ff">Annie,
Nah, I'm not offended. It's good that you raised it up as some other people may have the same misconception as well.

Even PM Lee agrees that it's a private matter. The govt cannot force everyone to get married and bear children and that's why he said that the govt can only "facilitate" to boost up birth rates.

Everyone is free to make their own choice. If you're comfy with the govt's policy, then accept it and take advantage of it. If not, then "hack care" lor, but gotta bear in mind what other people think or say behind your back as Asians are generally still quite conservative.

BTW, are you pro or against this policy? U sounded so negative.</font>