(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff"><u>Sengkang Sports and Recreation Centre</u>
Except for adult slides which are really great additions, the rest of the facilities can also be found at Jurong West Sports and Recreation Centre. Think the swimming complexes near Chinese Garden and Choa Chu Kang also have similar pools. I know the one at CCK even has jacuzzi pool.

Ivy,
Thanks for sending me the doctor's contacts.

Cheri,
Which type of Mustela cream you find is good? You have the exact name?
http://www.mustela.com/en/main.htm#/baby-products/baby-care/baby-care

fates,
Do you mean we can use the Cetaphil soap as an eczema cream? Will it leave a soapy feeling behind? Can it be used on a long-term basis?</font>

joyce,
i gave bbloh the contact via msn liao, here it for you:
Dr Chan
Blk 212 Hougang St 21
Tel:62882340

You ask anna lo, he is my saviour wor...my super duper bad rotten skin was cured by him...after spending on so much money on all other lousy docs. and he is not exp also, he is actually a normal GP but good in skin problems.

Hi Ivy,

Thanks for the contacts. Will pass it to my sil

<font color="0000ff">Handy tips</font>

<u>Bed Sheets</u>
After drying sheets, put both sheets and one pillowcase in the other pillow case. Fold neatly in a square. Next time you change sheets, you just take the one pillow case and all the sheets and pillow case are inside. No need to look for matches.

<u>Reheat Pizza</u>
Heat up leftover pizza in a non-stick skillet on top of the stove, set heat to med-low and heat till warm. This keeps the crust crispy. No soggy micro pizza. I saw this on the cooking channel and it really works.

<u>Reheating refrigerated bread</u>
To warm biscuits, pancakes, or muffins that were refrigerated, place them in a microwave with a cup of water. The increased moisture will keep the food moist and help it reheat faster.

<u>Broken Glass</u>
Use a dry cotton ball to pick up little broken pieces of glass - the fibers catch ones you can't see!

<u>Easier thank you's</u>
When you throw a bridal/baby shower, buy a pack of thank you cards for the guest of honor. During the party, pass out the envelopes and have everyone put their address on one. When the bride/new mother sends the thank you's, they're all addressed!

<u>Name tag</u>
If you purchase a new bike for your child, place their picture inside the handle bar before lacing the grips on. If the bike is stolen and later recovered, remove the grip and there is your proof who owns the bike.

<u>Flexible vacuum</u>
To get something out of a heat register or under the fridge add an empty paper towel roll or empty gift wrap roll to your vacuum. It can be bent or flattened to get in narrow openings.

<u>Reducing Static Cling</u>
Pin a small safety pin to the seam of your slip and you will not have a clingy skirt or dress. Same thing works with slacks that cling when wearing panty hose. Place pin in seam of slacks and -- voila -- static is gone.

<u>Measuring Cups</u>
Before you pour sticky substances into a measuring cup, fill it with hot water. Dump out the hot water, but don't dry the cup. Next, add your ingredient, such as peanut butter, and watch how easily it comes right out.

<u>Foggy Windshield?</u>
Hate foggy windshields? Buy a chalkboard eraser and keep it in the glove box of your car. When the windows fog, rub with the eraser! Works better than a cloth!

<u>Reopening envelope</u>
If you seal an envelope and then realize you forgot to include something inside, just place your sealed envelope in the freezer for an hour or two. Voila! It unseals easily.

<u>Conditioner</u>
Use your hair conditioner to shave your legs. It's a lot cheaper than shaving cream and leaves your legs really smooth. It's also a great way to use up the conditioner you bought but didn't like when you tried it in your hair...

<u>Good-bye Fruit Flies</u>
To get rid of pesky fruit flies, take a small glass fill it 1/2 with Apple Cider Vinegar and 2 drops of dishwashing liquid, mix well.. You will find those flies drawn to the cup and gone forever!

<u>Get Rid of Ants</u>
Put small piles of cornmeal where you see ants. They eat it, take it 'home,' &amp; can't digest it so it kills them. It may take a week or so, esp. if it rains, but it works &amp; you don't have the worry about pets or small children being harmed!

<u>Take baby powder to the beach</u>
Keep a small bottle of baby powder in your beach bag. When you're ready to leave the beach sprinkle yourself and kids with the powder and the sand will slide right off your skin.

bbloh,

Thanks for the handy tips.
Yes, there is one near Chinese garden, i been there once.You can see it if you take west side mrt

bbloh,

Moving forward, I guess all modern swimming pools will have those kids' slides/playground. Btw SK swimming pool has jacuzzi pool too! I am not crazy about jacuzzi, so gave it a miss....and ya it's crowded also la.

Cetaphil - It's not soapy at all. Use it as a lotion

bbloh
the mustela cream N uses is the same range as ur link but none of the 7 pdts...will post the exact pdt name later.

fates
ya, a thermal suit will be good if they need to get in &amp; out of the water or change pools...is the one they sell at kiddy palace good? they r so ex though compared to normal swim suits.

joyce
i think it's abt exposure. The more u avoid bringing him, the longer it will take for him to overcome the fear. But most impt, when he's there, dun force him...if he's just comfy sitting on the mat, let him be. Slowly, he'll be enthused to join in. Maybe not this time but few more times?

cheri...

Back last fri.. Tired ya. Especially long hual flight with kaelyn... she slept 6hrs out of 19hrs flight. Anyway it was a fun trip even thought it was tiring for us. I've added u in my MSN... hehee...

Hihi!
So this weekend is SK swimming pool is it? Sat or Sun? Got a bday party to go...on Sat I thk?

bbloh,
Thanks for the tips. I like the baby powder one best! ;)

Ivy,
My Meiji in already? Can bring along during meetup? I'm so stressed, look horrible nowadays!

Joyce,
How r u ah?

nana
talk abt long flight man! we're going to quebec first so i really dun dare imagine now. Luckily staying the nite in LA b4 taking the flight to Quebec.

sheri
why u so stressed? work ah? how's isabel's motion sickness now?

cheri

R u taking direct flight from SG to LA?? Prepare more colouring books, sticker books, puzzles or her fav games to keep her entertain lor. If can bring ur own DVD player with her fav show!!! Kaelyn dun like those cartoons on flight... they're showing BEN ten, kungfu panda, power puff,cartoon network...

Hi Cheri,

eee..lost track how many mths I'm into liaoz...just that my size is getting bigger n bigger
just ask nana or milo lor

now maidless for a week liaoz..wah dunno how pple can cope. got to rush home from work and then bring him home, then clean him and put him to sleep but i am really lucky to have a good fil, he helps a lot, even helps to carry my boy home and let me bath bf he leaves

nana
yes, direct flight to LA. Ya, i'm keeping aside some of these fav toys of hers now so that when i whip them out on the plane, they will be like new to her hahha..hopefully can keep her occupied. my hb will b bringing his laptop along for work so she can watch her fav vcds from it.

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
When are you flying off and how long is your vacation?

Any good sales or private BP coming up?
Heard that Philips is having their warehouse sale next weekend.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
Are you hinting that you've "striked lottery" with #2? If yes, congratulations!

Maybe you can call up Philips to check?</font>

bbloh,
son need new bottles also mah! u so sensitive wor...keke.

Tired, no mood to work, cos got more interesting stuff:
1) Will Singapore get a Olympic medal? We will know by 6pm today! If they crush out the Koreans, then will have a silver medal at least!
But hor, even since the Asian games, i think hard lah, SG always bow to pressure at the crucial moment, i think too much pressure liao.

2) NDP rally on Sun!
Wonder what are the new incentives for pro-family. Let's all share our wish list here?
me want:
1) Longer childcare leave ( 2 days not enuff for bonding!)
2) Longer maternity leave ( since i will stop at two so i still have chance to enjoy)
3) More baby bonus ( same reason as pt 2)
4) More childcare subsidy
5) Free education up to 12yrs old!

<font color="0000ff">ICIC. keke ...
Never thought of that as DS don't use milk bottles anymore ever since he refused to take EBM. For milk intake, he only feeds directly.

I heard that AVENT now have BpA-free bottles. So, even if these bottles are available at the sale, don't know if they're old stocks or not.

<u>Olympics</u>
I hope SG will at least get a medal (any colour will do) as the athletes actually work very hard already.

<u>NDP Rally</u>
I second all your wishes! PLUS

6) Longer paternity leave (I actually envy DH very much when he went back to work 2 days after DS' birth. That time, I can't imagine myself taking care of a newborn. I feel so helpless and even has mild post-natal depression)

7) Free pre-natal and post-natal care for couples TTC, during pregnancy and after birth

8) Better healthcare support &amp; follow-up

For points 7 &amp; 8, my ex-colleague who's a non-Canadian citizen or PR, gave birth in Canada last year and all the charges (hospitalisation, gynae &amp; PD's fees) are FREE! After she's discharged from the hospital, there's even a nurse (who's assigned to a certain area), following with her progress, check if everything is well with her and the baby, and advocate breastfeeding.

BTW, the famous pediatrician - Dr Jack Newman, who'd run several breastfeeding clinics, first set up such clinic in Canada! His website has lotsa breastfeeding articles and videos. He'll even answer your queries thru e-mails. I did that before.
http://drjacknewman.com/</font>

bbloh,
pt6 arh, no use for me cos dh is not too hands on, he dun even dare to hold newborn till x was 3mths old!(he say he might break X's neck, hahaha) So more paternity leave means more time for him to watch tv and read newspapers, bad idea!

pt7&amp;8 is good to have but i think hard lo. Then it will mean more tax on us. Or more ERP gantries! haha...( actually my wish list for free education will also might also mean more tax to pay in order to support it).

ivy,
Same here, no mood to work since it's TGIF. My wish list is that all the kids can get foc dental consulation + related dental problems. eg wisdom tooth extraction, alightment, crowning, root canal. Thats costy..

Yap, agreed free education = higher tax. Anyway, like our government alway highlight that we cannot follow western countries style... will make us not working hard for our own living, hmm.. thats why our cpf drag to 80yrs old &amp; above.

Maybe more annual leave from 14 days to 28 days, like europe country, having summer holiday.. :p

annie,
why do kids need such complicated dental services?! Kids dun need to remove wisdom tooth, kids by right shld not need to do root canal, crowning unless is real bad accidents. And accidents are covered under sch insurance or personal insurance.

I think the onus is on the parents to teach proper dental practise to the kids rather than hoping the govt pay for your kids and your own laziness wor.

As for alignment, aka braces, its already subsidised at the NDC and all polyclinics.

oh ya, adding on.

Dental services like polishing and cleaning is already provided FOC for all primary students. Sec sch students, i know got dental bus that go ard to service them.

CPF drag till 80 yrs and above? How come?! Where is that news?

Ha, more annual leave, join stat board lah. They have 21 days, adding one day each yr till 28 or even more...
So this is not a valid wish cos we are a competitive market, if you think your company give you 14days too little, then jump to competitor lah or best is go work for govt. Longer leave, more predictable bonus, more pro family practices....

eee ivy,

Gov now offers 18 days VL per year for grad

althu generally more pro-family, it also depends on your boss n also the culture..keke

ivy,
braces is foc in western countries leh.thats why all sec students doing... Hmm..

Dont need govt board to get 28days.. big firms have like telephone co, airline...

Well with the gd scheme of getting back own cpf @80yrs old and above, isnt another way of telling us to work harder, else no $ 2 cover medical bill.. many of the drugs cant use medisave to pay..

braces are greatly subsidize for all sch students in SG too. Western countries have sales tax of 8-21% and personal income tax up to 40%, do you want all these in return for free braces for our kids? I rather co-payment, which work out great now.

bbloh
i'm flying off early sep, 3 weeks hol! yippee! but hor, maybe after i'm back, i'll die from exhaustion. In SG, i still hv a helper but over there, hb working in the days mostly, i'll b 24/7 wif my ger...hopefully i wun go crazy hahahh...good chance for me to see if migration works for us.

so who won? i caught snapshots of one set where korea won by slim margin...is that the 2nd set?

ivy
heheh my wishlist arhhh...some form of appreciation for sahms lah! tangible form best keke...ml &amp; baby bonus all not my pasar anymore cos i'm stopping at 1...but i still wish well for all my jie mei out there hehe

ivy,
i also hope that I don't need to work that long. but come to think that our govt highlight that singaporean can live that long.. not surprise that the retirement wont extend longer as time goes by. Since now they already encourage us to take our mthly allowance in order to survive till 80yrs old.

One old folk that i know already 80yrs old, yet becos govt hosp stated her eye is classified as serious case so can't use her son's mediasave to deduct...

my mil also cant use our cpf mediasave to pay for her partial mthly medical bill just becos her illness is so serious yet not under the classified section and becos of that, she can't afford to get the expensive medicine that cost $6per pill, 1 daily requirement 6 of them. Ended up the current medicine doesnt work for her, she still have to bear the pain.

Regarding sales tax, currently @ 7%, will go higher just matter of time. same goes to personal tax.. we have so many new pr and immigrants here..

we have smart govt thats why our property alway go high with "heaven figure amount".. thats why we have to work hard for all the basic we need...

I've a pair of tickets to the show "The Rainbow Fish"

Date: 20 Sep (Sat)
Time: 11am
Venue: Alliance Francaise Theatre
Duration: 55min
No. of tickets: $2
Standard price: $19 excluding $2 booking fee
Selling price: $36.20 including $2 booking fee (got it at a discount using OCBC card)
Seating: First row at the side

* Suitable for 2 yrs and abv

I've to give up because I've something on on that day.

More info http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&amp;dt.action=process&amp;dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&amp;dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&amp;dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&amp;dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&amp;dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&amp;contentCode=rainbow0908

Let me know if you're interested. Free postage (including sistic receipt)

Hi Ivy,

Any of your wishes materialised? din watched the rally last nite. Was watching the match.
caught a few oly matches over the past few days..really think for badminton and table tennis, the diff b/n the 1st and 2nd are huge. China players really deserve the gold. they are good...but am glad we got Silver too

Cheri...woh..good luck.
I maidless for 2 weekends liaoz..find it really veri tiring and hor my stomach keeps on getting into the way..GggrrGrr but hor kindof like the privacy,
guess one cant have the cake n eat it...

hub may be posted overseas also..if so dunno whether i can cope or not...keke

lh_Jyc,
I only watch the chinese version... only remembered the golden sentence 'shd ensure sporean be able to earn enough to support themselves through the inflation.....

So did the PM announce any incentives in the chinese or malay version? I only heard about .. ... what's with two children below age 35?

Looking forward to the English version today!

BTW ivy,

Did you go to the swimming pool on Sat?

fates,
hmm.. already stated give us for the GST &amp; duno what package, that given to us in july and one is coming oct.

HB brought us there with my sis &amp; her family in the morning after I much persuade ...

Thought he's gonna have some more incentives for mums &amp; mums-to-be....not talking about this GST thingy :p

Amount too small.

fates,
we went on sat, it was fun!

Incentives,
bo leh, looking forward to his tonite speech. Any insider news? those who went to the rally last nite will noe....

joyce,
i think if yr hb post overseas, you better move in with ur il or back with your parents, else how to cope with 3 kids?!

fates,
we were there at 8am then leave at 10am, no rain wor.

PM rally,
not bad leh, most of my wishlist fulfilled. Haha..just waiting for the details now.
Here is a gist, more details by WKS soon.

1) either parent six days of child care leave in a year
2) parents can look forward to having a one-week unpaid infant care leave per year, until the child turns two
3)Plans are also in the pipeline to increase the length of maternity leave to 16 weeks, with the additional four weeks also to be paid for by the government. PM Lee has suggested that women need not use up all their weeks of leave at the beginning.
4)Monetary incentives, such as an improved baby bonus for first-time parents and more tax incentives to encourage mothers to work, are also in the works.
5)parents can expect more subsidies for each of their children attending pre-schools.
6)PM Lee promised to offer financial support to lower the costs of IVF.

**These measures will cost the government an estimated additional $700 million. Currently, the government spends $1.6 billion a year to encourage pro-creation, or about 0.6 per cent of GDP.

cheri,
i think hard to give some rewards for sahm cos wat govt wants are super mum, have more kids and yet must work! haha...
But you can still enjoy the more subsidies for N's preschool fees lah.

Annie,
see, even if you dun have 2nd one, you still benefit with the more tax incentives and additional childcare leave! You add 6 to 14 of your annual leave, you get 20 liao!

50% more growth dividends cash from 1st OCT.

haha...this rally not bad, lots of give away. Just dunno wat they will take from us in return, more ERPs?

Good morning Ivy,

Yep, heard the news last evening too.
Now waiting for WKS's press conference on the effective date for implementation
hopefully i eligible

Btw you jia you lor!!!!

keke

ivy,
Yap, hopefully boss will listen. Else, one memo from the top change everything. I only know for sure my young boss will only hire contract based.
Especially, one yr to clear the 4mths, also really rely on boss.. gd eg was that my co secretary worked at home even on her 3mths maternity leave (as boss doesnt want any remain leave to clear within the 6mths allowance stated by govt).

Such benefits mostly go well with govt board.

Heheh.. funny eg.. how can u only spend $74 per yr on ERP and a net saving of $54.. i think only those who seldom rarely driving on erp days.

Annie,
govt law wor, your boss can dun listen meh? Then complain your company to MOM lah..Aiya but wun concern you liao since you stop at 1. So dun need to be kpo lo..

Joyce,
the press conference is TODAY!

Overall, i still think that it will just help those who want to have kids, but still not attractive to those who dun want kids. UNLESS the baby bonus is increased to huge amt! haha...