(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

littletot
today went JG for her make up class..cos of the HFMD outbreak nationwide, they hv stopped all communal playing ie. sandplay, waterplay & swimming till further notice.

bbloh
yes, they hv outdoor play too. If in evans outlet, u get to hv sandplay, waterplay, swimming & playground (one type each week).

Diff classes sequence slightly diff so that they dun all clash outdoor or at the wash basins at the same time. In N's class, they:

- start wif 20 mins free play first (this is very good for N cos she takes time to warm up)
- followed by circle time (songs & movt)
- art & craft (2 activities per lesson)
- flash card reading (1 vocab term per week)
- circle time again
- skit/puppetry by teachers
- outdoor play
- snack time
- circle time again finally.

R u keen on sending E?

fates
the toysrus puzzles look v advanced..will bear that in mind when she's into more pieces.

lh_jyc n cheri,
am not sure when will they implement no make up class cos she only say gonna remove it very soon...

annie n fates,
thanks for your well wishes

littletot,

how is V? feeling better already?

class was alright but dun have water/sand play anymore. only playground.

actually quite worried abt the rising cases of hfmd, abit hesistent to send him for class last week but guess cant avoid every lesson.

u take care also hor cos its very tiring on the mummy when our kids are sick. hope to see u in class this sat

Hi fates,

No la, even w/o these, i still cant save. i hopeless in managing finance one

Littletot,
Hope V is better. lots of kids falling sick these days. u take care too ;p

Morning all!

joyce...I don't save regularly too, but I do put a small monthly sum to J's account. If got extra then will save every cent loh

Morning mummies and kids!!!

Cheri,
The JG looks interesting, is it 1.5hrs or 2 hrs? How come got one more circle time in the middle or program?

jh_jyc, bbloh, Cheri
I went for Babies Inc open house during Zach's time. Quite impressive, and they have a big room for gymboree & kindermusik. But quite ex lor... :p

Road trip to Malaysia:
I just came back from KL over the weekend. Somehow saw a lot of single vehicle accident this trip. I think the road is slippery. Quite stressed while on the road thinking of what happened to the family...

Savings:
For both kids, I buy insurance as savings for them. I think it's good to have protection cum savings for the kids since young. Anyway, don't buy endowment policy hoh coz it's high cost and low returns! Sigh, speaking from experience of my parents la...

BTW, POSB has a My savings which gives higher interest rate. It's a regular savings account with a fixed monthly fund transfer from existing POSB account. No tie in period and can withdraw over the counter. Maybe you all can consider that. Once in a while got freebies for opening account too!

lh_jyc,
i also don't save much after giving to both mummies..but i try to transfer some to k's saving a/c. didnt buy any insurance for k.. haha.. k cant be insured for life. P insurance co offer wide range of saving a/c that give certain amount back after a certain period of time...i personally think its gd start for trying to save. :p

Hi SS1

Can share how much babies inc is charging now?

Re monthly fixed deposit, heard ocbc's rate is higher but got 2 years tie in period ;p

ok! i determined to start saving from today...keke
will have forced monthly savings...every little counts ya!

Haha i also started to save for Kaeden's future pocket money by putting all 50 cents and 1 coins into the piggy bank...

At the rate i am spending, diff to save ah but have to control abit else later loither on the street during old age :p

Milo
Haha! U spent K's $ in spree hah?? You... >(

lh_jyc
I dunno how much Babies Inc is charging now coz I went there years ago...

Annie
The one that you mentioned is Endowment if I'm not wrong. That one not worth it coz only give minimal return after m any years.

SS1,
hmm.. not endownment.. its saving. Yap, endowment is really not worth.

lh_jyc,
Jia you..saving a bit day by day sure make a big some after decade.We still have 18yrs to save for their uni fee...haha.

Endowment plan
thou give minimal returns but i look at it this way, if u put the saving in bank, it doesnt give any protection at all leh..but wif endowment, it protects the policy holder who is paying for the premium..if the payer sayorana, the premium is waive and the child still gets the $ when the policy matures

Annie, endowment not savings meh...wat plan is that?? btw, y K cant be insured?? can lar...jst that ur premium will be slightly higher than normal due to his heart problem and usually they will exclude his heart problem

Pooh,
Endowment is one type insurance like saving...but the return not good like SS1 stated.

As for k, whats the point i buy insurance that exclude all the related (emergency or not) due to the heart condition that stir it, organs like kidney and lungs all involved... haha... pointless..

Afterall to me, insurance company is doing biz. hahah..

milo,
teach k to save lah. My X is well trained. He will ask for coins when he sees them and tong into his coin bank...so i must not let him see my coins! These days ah ma give him 20c for kiddy rides, he will sometimes save it rather than tong into kiddy rides!
Its getting full now, must buy a new one very soon.

Mysavings @ POSB,
Joyce, yes thats a forced saving kind of thing. You can link it with your salary account then it will auto transfer your pre-determined amt every mth.

Pooh I agreed with you! Endowment, though lower returns when compared to ILP, is still higher than bank's pathetic interest rate! It provides protection for the payor too. J has both endowment (for studies) and protection plans.

Which bank's FD gives the highest returns?

ivy,

ah k finally master the tonging liao but its into kiddy ride. must get a plastic piggy bank for him to practice tonging. help mummy to save some money :p

i do agree that endowment is not that attractive..there are other options that offer protection cum savings that you can insure yourself and make your kid as the beneficiary..So when you say sayonara before time, your kid's is taken care of financially.

milo,
can upgrade K to tonging into piggy bank..these days plastic piggy bank is expensive too. My sis found a big and nice metal can from those $2 shop..a bit like those donation cans but have nice cartoons. hee...next time come over and donate some coins hor..only $1 coin is accepted.

ivy,

muahahahah... u invite us then we come over la...

entrance fees :p

cheri,

sorry but are u the one who recommend the mummy and me dvd? jus wanna thank you for the nice recommendation. ah k loves the dvd and its really nice. me and ah lau enjoy it

ss1
the JG playclub program is 2 hours...ermm i've never asked them why so many times circle time but my guess is circle time is one that kids enjoy & is the best way to regroup after activities, gather all ard & most importantly keep the kids engaged. N will always calm down & enjoy herself no matter if she's crying or being cranky. I love this arrangement!

milo
he loves it? that's great! My ger has been watching since she's before 1 year old. Now she still loves it. Does K try to hug or kiss u like the kids' in the show while watching the dvd? Mine does! hehehe

joyce
no, i din go for the Babies Inc open house...ya, think it's like at least 1k per mth for fees...but some think it's worth it cos they include Kindermusik, gym etc in their curriculum then save $, no need to go for such enrichment!

pooh
i got the GALT lacing cards from a shop in HV today while i was having lunch there...it's a box of 6 cards rite? paid $15 plus for it...think more ex than the shop in Thomson but iya, din wanna travel there...heheh i'm the kind that if i c sthg nice, dun like to wait unless the savings is superb! keke...thanks for the rec anyway! hope N will love it. I hope to let her do it when we r outside...keeps her occupied while we eat etc.

cheri,

haha he didnt attempt to hug me but he started calling me mama not long after watching the show
but hor, daddy also mama, grandpa also mama... keke hubby was so sore how come no dvd titled daddy and me wor...

milo n lh_jyc,
at least there's some improvement after using the inhealers.Am keeping my fingerscrossed!

like to chk what toothpaste are your using for your lil tots? Which brand? Btw how many teeth does you lil one has now? Just counted V's.She has 14 nia.

littletot
i'm using oral b fluoride free toothpaste for my ger...bot from States. but i've realized my ger's teeth getting a lil yellowish compared to beginning when they were really white. So now i'm letting her practise spitting boiled water when she brushes so that i can hopefully progress to using fluoride kids toothpaste for her duly...think the fluoride content does help to keep teeth white.

she only has 14 too...the rest taking forever to erupt hahah

milo
keke tell ur hb at least got papa representation in some of the songs mah...got daddies singing & dancing wif the kids leh

cheri,
just started her on Kodomo kids toothpaste.But, sometimes she forgets and swallowed some. Dunno whether to switch her back to First Teeth.

Which DVD are you n milo talking about?

littletot
ya that's my worry too that's why dun dare let her use yet...ur ger spits well oredi?

Mummy & Me dvds...

hehe i still using first teeth cos its so difficult to brush kaeden teeth. cannot imagine still have to ask him to spit out the toothpaste!

Hi Cheri,

Using the first teeth currently.
R always swallows it n will tell me good
"faintz"
oh...he only got 10 teeth, he has always been slow in growing his teeth n usually it will come in 4s

Hi littletot,
Glad that she is better. today newspaper reported that HFM is on the rise...need to be more careful when we bring them out liaoz...

Good morning mummies,

Anyone toilet trained liaoz? R refused not to wear his diapers....kicks up a tantrum everytime we try...hiaz...he crazy abt his mummy poko..

joyce,
maybe R is ready for toilet train? My son is starting to pull down his pants, think i will try toilet training once he settled down well with the new maid...

Milo,
wat dvd? bo recommend! Burn one copy over lah..think this week or next week i will be at BP again..hee...

Toothpaste:
still using First Teeth. X brush himself but not well..no choice cos he refused to let us touch his toothbrush, insisting that he can do it. haha.

Cheri,
Sob sob.. I can't add you in my msn? i tried twice still don't have yr name appear...

hehe.. unable to count k's teeth, cos he is shy. He is v helpful to 'brush" himself cos can eat toothpaste.Currently using same brand as littletot. (Kodomo kids toothpaste)Sometime, allows mummy to help him to brush.. still swallow toothpaste.

littletot,
Great to hear that!! x my finger, wish speedy recovery & take care of yrself.

Just brought D for his MMR vaccination 2 weeks back and D suffered quite a few side effects from the vaccination. The worst is the febrile seizure which happens 1 in 1000 cases of MMR. Now really makes me worried on the 2nd dose of MMR required at 6 yrs. Motherhood is really an endless worrying journey ...

Btw, how do you encourage your little ones to brush their teeth ... mine simply refuse to brush his teeth so I just wrap my finger in a piece of towel and clean for him. So far he only got 10 teeth ... the 1st came out only after 13 months ..

Cheri - where can I get the Mummy & me DVDs??

Regarding toilet training, we have been trying to train D when he is 15 mths but not much results so we didnt really force it on him ... but over the last few weeks, my mum try not letting him wear diapers and to our surprise, he will say "she she" and "uh uh" whenever he needs to use the potty.

Hi Bling,

Welcome to the May thread!! I participated in quite a few of your beauty product BP. Wow .. didnt know that you are already a mother of 3 ... do try to join us in the May Babies BD bash

Hi Ivy,
dun think he is. He still insists that we let him wear his diaper

Hi Taurus,

Re MMR,
ooh no. did you ask doc whether can prevent the side effects?

Re brushing teeth,
I brought R to the toilet to see me brushing my teeth and also showed him one video of barney brushing...then guide him to brush, he receptive after all these

cant use the cloth method these days coz he will bite...naughty rascal

milo
actually it's not to spit out the toothpaste now but to practise the action of spitting out water...when they actually use the fluoride toothpaste, will rinse their mouth & spit out the water tog wif the toothpaste mah.

my ger was oso v resistant to brushing all these while. But after we got her a high stool from ikea to let her stand at the basin to brush like an adult, she loves to brush now...i will usually let her brush herself then tell her, "Ok, time for mummy to check!" keke then quickly take over to brush all over for her again...followed by spitting out the boiled water (her fav now!)

re toilet train
my ger is almost tt for pee oredi. We started training for poo when she was b4 one year old but pee only abt 19 mths old...think i read somewhere from 18 mths onwards, they start to be able to dev control of their bladder muscles.

now she will not wear diapers at home but just shorts. I bot the jshopper training pants but found them too thick & take long time to dry. Now even when she's in her highchair midway thru her meals, playing wif her toys or watching tv, she'll say 'shee shee' or walk to stand next to the potty to wait for us to pull her shorts down. Sometimes i'm so engrossed wif sthg else & din hear or notice her standing at the potty, she'll tap me on my arm & say shee shee again! hahahaha

Of course, in the initial month of training, lots of accident spills or she dun wanna sit in her potty. but i nvr scold, just encourage or remind her. Gave her fav stickers to her when she pees in the potty too. I stopped my maid from forcing/dragging N to the potty (guess maid feels easier to force then she dun need to clean up mess) cos i wan her to go cos she needs to not cos we force her...force might backfire cos she may hate the potty after that.

Question now is when do i hv the courage to let her go diaperless even when we r out? Imagine having to search for toilet everytime she wan to pee...plus dirty toilets

re mummy & me dvds
dun think these dvds can copy cos they r code-protected like the leap frog ones...unless u know or hv the software to break the code...

mummy & me can order from amazon...my fren managed to buy from Laserflair in SG b4...can call them to see which outlet sells as not all do.

annie
cannot msn me? why ah? a few of the mummies here could leh...

cheri,

icic.. haha i learnt something new

i am currently trying to toilet train kaeden by letting him wear shorts (w/o diaper) and ask him to tell me if he wanna peepee... some accidents here and there but its a gd try.

think more effective if i m a sahm cos my mum not really very pro-tt him. we only have the weekend to do it and most of the time we are out.. sigh.. really must put more effort into it

milo
u r rite...if only tt on weekends will be tough...why is ur mum not keen? she's scared more work cos messy huh? hehehe i always thot the older folks r the ones who r pro tt & nagging us to do it...my mum & grannny always say they tt us much younger than most kids r tted now...

Hi Cheri,

Thanks! I will try your method and see if it works. D dun seems to like the taste of the First teeth toothpaste. Any other better recommendations?

Ih_jyc,

I did ask PD when she is administering the MMR on any side effects and she say NO maybe just mild fever not more than 38.5 degree ... I even ask her if he will get rashes or the fake measles and she just say No. I called up the clinic to enquire after D had the febrile seizure and PD just say that she will note it down in his records. I call up a few more times to ask about his rashes and fever and felt like a paranoid mummy.

I think our tots like to be treated like an adult and will try to mimic our actions. Last nite, my DS insist on standing and peeing into the toilet bowl instead of his potty.

<font color="0000ff"><u>Museum Toddlers Program by National Museum of Singapore</u>

It's a play-based learning experience for children aged 18 to 36 months, running every Sunday from April to Dec 2008.
Timing: 1.30 - 2.30pm &amp; 3 - 4pm

Cost of Programme
$25 per workshop (1 adult and 1 toddler)
Heard that there's a 10% discount for Mothercare VIP card members as well. I'm not sure about it though.

More information available here: http://www.nationalmuseum.sg/home.html</font>

bbloh
i saw that b4 but the timings damn jialat...nap time...i dun dare bring cos scared cranky hahah

taurus
my ger oso din like First Teeth that's why i scouted ard for other brands...my hb managed to buy the oral b ones from US..i still hv actually...i sell u? it's fluoride free &amp; can be swallowed...fruity flavour i think...i must go check again later.

re monkey see monkey do
yes yes! my ger was like that too..yest, she was kicking ball ard in the living room wif hb...both sweating like pigs! He just absentmindedly lifted his shirt up to wipe sweat from his forehead...b4 i could stop him, N did that too! Omg! I've been reminding him everytime he says the shi% word too...she'll probably pick up from him in no time hahaha

Cheri,
Wah!! thanks for the sharing of toilet training. Your gal is smart and so sweet. haha.. k will knee down acting like he wants but he poo n pee e actual next to the potty...haha really make my mum goes mad all the time. (like a dog).

hmm.. i don't know leh, i added few times liao. Paiseh, pls add me [email protected] I think should be the different version of the msn that stir the problem. thanks thanks

taurus,
OMG, pls take care of yrself too. Wish yr DS speedy recovery. Indeed endless worrying and this conti till we say <font color="0000ff">sayonana</font> :p

<font color="0000ff">Anyone wanna get the Mommy &amp; Me DVDs from Amazon? It's eligible for "4-for-3 promotion", i.e. Buy 4 get 1 FREE!
We can combine our orders in multiples of 4 to take advantage of the promotion. There are 2 titles available:

* Mommy &amp; Me - Playgroup Favorites (2003)

* Mommy &amp; Me - More Playgroup Favorites (2003)

Price: USD 9.99 each (excluding shipping charges from US to SG.)

Cheri,
Any idea, what's the difference between the 2 titles?

milo,
May I know where you've bought yours? Which title is it?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
Yes, I'm interested in JG and the program sounds interesting. But, I'm wondering if a 2-hour session too long for DS.

Has anyone tried Pat's Schoolhouse?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Any comments on the Baby Gourmet series DVD? I saw them at Popular Bookshop and am tempted to buy them. Yum yum ...</font>

Hi BBloh,

Count me in, please get both titles for me thanks! Do let me know if you need payment in advance or after DVDs arrived as I be traveling this Friday till end of next week.

Milo and myself attended the trial at Pat's schoolhouse and personally I dun quite like it as I find the programs abit messy like trying to do too many things in one session and the teacher like not so organize ... half the time my DS is "loitering" around the classroom and the only part he enjoys is the playing of instruments but before he can grasp it ... the teacher is already collecting it back 8(

cheri,

ya lor, my mum scare lay chey but i guess its tiring for her to look after kaeden as he is really active. now thinking of sending him to childcare. still deciding... haha

bbloh,

agree with taurus. didnt have a gd impression of pat's but could be we chose the wrong branch. its highly recommended in the forum thus was disppointed at the trial.

cheri,
my ger can spit quite well now.Showed her a few times then ask her to follow.Nowadays she'll make me rinse my mouth together with her..

lh_jyc,
my ger loves her First Teeth.Will eat her toothpaste and even asked for refills!!

Have not gotten ard to toilet train her yet.Will do so when she gets better.Further more my helper just had her appendix removed last wk.

Taurus,
i let V watch me brush.After a few times i handed her a tooth brush to *brush* together with mummy.But like cheri, after a while will tell her it's mummy's turn to brush her teeth and she'll pass me her toothbrush