(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL</font>

So fast and its February... Counting down to my boy's second bday...

Anyone have any plans to share?

Hope everyone enjoys the cny break.. def long break for me.

However, I have few questions to like to ask every mummies here..

k puked few rounds within these few days. I wonder is it due to <font color="0000ff">overeat</font>? Will toddler throw out due to <font color="0000ff">overeat</font>?

I noticed most of the time, every printed media paper indicate "meat, fish &amp; seafood.<font color="ff0000">Is fish consider seafood?</font> my mother in law was angry when i didnt allow her to feed k with dried scallop. she argued that fish is also seafood, is it true?

Pardon me for being sotong. :p

good morning!
drag myself to work after the long holidays..
how is everyone's cny? This year is very busy for me, busy saying " no no..cannot eat, last one liao, no, this one cannot drink..." the relatives very dense..everyone wan to feed X the new year goodies and i am the bad mummy who keep saying no no..
in the end, he still manage lapis, tarts and prawn rolls! Pray he dun get sick.

annie,

whats wrong with seafood? K is allergic? Fish is consider seafood but its safer than the shell seafood.
We been using dried scallop for X porridge since he is 4mths old, he will also eat the fresh ones if we have it in the vegs. What was your concerns?

A Very Healthy and Prosperous Rat Year to all mummies and their tots!

Annie, it is possible overeating can cause K to puke. i saw it happened to my nephew before. fish is considered seafood but we dun feed our tots deep sea fish fish which has high mercury content. i also dun let my boy eat scallops, prawns, sotongs, all shell fish and of course no sashimi. although i think the sashimi served by the jap restaurants are fresh, i still dun take the risk and let him eat.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">A Happy Lunar New Year to all parents and kids!</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">My boy was extremely clingy to me these few days - I don't even have the time to eat without asking daddy or others to distract him! My arms are also tired from all the carrying - he refused to let others carry him and also disallow mummy to sit down to rest when we went to River Hongbao! He has also not been eating well but loves to eat Mandarin oranges - always take one to us and said "妈咪 or 爹地,开开" (i.e. "Mummy or daddy, open, open"). LOL!</font>

Annie, I also have been giving R dried scallop for soup since he started taking solids. think around 6 mths ba... as for puke, yes they tend to be merlion if they overeat

Hi ivy...me still dreaming of striking toto so tat no need to work...hee...maybe the coming 10 million draw. haha

Hi bloh...
mine is the opposite, he sticks to daddy n refuses to let me carry unless daddy is not around..even bite me once when i insist on carrying him...hmmmm

Re River Hongbao..sotong mummy went to esplanade n saw nothing...tot this year dun have celebration sooo ended up shopping at marina..keke

joyce,
ya hor..the Hongbao toto! must go and buy then have a chance to stay at home!

bbloh,
mandarin oranges are consider heaty. So i only give X 1 pc so far..haha..

i have to be kiasi lah..if he is sick, i will be very siong.

Joyce,

Finally i found my kaki! I wanted to go to the River Hongbao also.. Went there on Sat... but see nothing! Only the Huayi festival.

Ended up went MS to shop.. On my way hm then see the place. Alamak!

ivy, we sama sama....me also keep saying 'NONO, cannt give this and that' to my relatives ! But C ate some 瓜子 given by her granduncle and some bites of BA kua.

milo66, the River hongbao is the one near to esplande?? i went on sat too at around 10pm...so crowded and smelly that less than 5 mins, we went back....one stall selling smelly tofu....cant stand the smell !!

annie, dried scallop shld be ok lar. me been using that to make soup for my gals and porridge. if u dnt know whether ur boy allergy ant, then jst put abit and try on him 1st lor.

Pooh,

no leh.. i think the river hongbao is opposite raffles city tat side.. the one at esplanade is the huayi festival.

Milo66...

haaa! tat's exactly what happened to me too!!! my hub and maid all gave me the stare when we drove past the real place

Ivy,

Ya...keeping my fingers crossed. keke maybe we can gang up to buy our bbies birth date...all mummies in this thread retire together..YEAH!!!

seee...still dreaming in the afternoon

Joyce...

*WAKIE WAKIE* Haha so early u start to dream liao :p actually i also been dreaming la... but wait till neck long long!

Littletot,

Pre-N for 3 years old? I started looking ard but couldnt find any good one ard my area
U? Any plans?

Ivy,
some places called it pre-nursery for 3 yr old, nuserey for 4 yr old.

milo,
i wanted Nanyang. But chances are very slim cos they only take in 60 tots per yr. Criteria same as Primary 1 enrollment!

Hi milo...

I keen...maybe we can organise one at the Gymboree etc and engage a photographer and those balloon specialist for the party????

heee....

Combined Birthday Celebrations

Wonderful ideas to kill many birds with 1 stone! Ha. What about places with free gym play like the one at Delta or Explorer kids at Downtown East. Its quite fun as I have brought my kids down to these places before

CNY and Food

Mic tried spicy food and she turned beetroot red. She quietly drank water after. When the adults asked if she still wanted, she said 'Spicy dont want!' Made the adults laugh!!!

I am lucky that Mic does not fancy CNY goodies much. She would put things in her mouth then spit it out!!! only weakness is chocolates which I tried to hide!!

Annie

Dried scallop on its own very difficult for young tods to digest as its high in protein. If taken in small portion with porridge I think its fine.

Tods do throw up when they overeat. Mic puked 2x during CNY and scared the adults. BUt my hubby and I just reacted in calm manner as she always thow up when she overeats!!! But it helped as others stopped giving her junk!

Littletot,

Sama sama! I heard NY is really good although i dun quite understand how N1 and N2 can be taught in Mandarin. Nonetheless, i have put Kaeden on the waiting list liao :p me super kiasu but no harm lah

Joyce,

Me and Ivy were thinking to have something like tat also. A place where our kids can have fun!

<font color="0000ff">milo,
Wa! Good spirit eh? Breaking free from your torture (aka CORS work) very very soon ya.

Where is Nanyang? Is it near CCK?

Combined birthday celebration is a very good idea! Where &amp; when?

Ivy,
I know Mandarin oranges are heaty so we try to restrict to half an orange at one time. He refuses his favourite fruits like apple, kiwi leh. However, he takes a liking to plums. Are plums heaty or cooling?</font>

Hi milo,

Changing job or retiring?

Re the combined party, why not have it in mid may (ie 17 May) ? or on May day, 1 May...

Mummies...if you are interested, pls add your names in...we can then brainstorm later on the celebration details..

Combined birthday party
1) Joyce

gabby,
the thing with X is he take all food! Spicy things like curry chix and the sambal prawn roll, he take it like an adult! A bit cough cough now, monitoring him.

Milo,
you are as bad as my hubby! He also wanted Nanyang and want me to put on waitlist now. But its so far leh...for a young kid to travel so far for classes, its so mean.
Anyway, any charges for waitlist? Maybe we will work harded to buy a house in the BT area then X can go NY kiddy then NY primary! haha...

Bbloh,
wat kind of plums? The reddish purple kind? Think its quite neutral? X recently discovered peaches and he can finish one by himself!

May babies 2nd Birthday celebrations.
Put your name down if keen. Choose between May 1st and May 17th.

1) Joyce
2) Milo
3) Ivy (May 17th)
5)

Milo,
huh? u quit? Is it really for another bb? hehhe :p i cant imagine without own financial support. :p

Ivy,
Yap, dried scallop does make the porridge tasty but regardless dried or fresh scallop, its "DU" thats why i don't allow k to eat. My Mil loves 2 &amp; mad when i forbidden.

pooh,
Same here... my auntie kept repeat "let them eat". K v helpful on the goodies, he stood there, kept putting them into his mouth.. he even noes who will open the candies for him.. sigh.. greedy pig.

milo &amp; lh_jyc,

Hopefully this link help to ease your disappointment:

http://www.singaporesights.com/festivals/chinese-new-year-2008/singapore-river-hongbao-2008

annie,
scallop is "DU" aka poisonous? Dun think its that harmful lah, we have so many babies eating it and no problem. K is coming to 2yrs, dun need be so paranoid, unless his PD instruct you.

I am also keen on the May bb 2nd B'day Celebrations, can i let you all know when the dates closer? Kind of busy and still not sure all my appointments fix on when.. :p

<font color="0000ff">milo,
Oh! Are you referring to Nanyang Kindergarten located at Coronation Rd (not Corporation Rd le). This is the URL http://www.nanyangkindergarten.com/home.html

Ivy,
From the FAQ, there's no need to make payment to be placed on their waiting list. But the class size is very small - only 15 students for Pre-Nursery (3 yo) class.

The plum he likes is the reddish-purple colour type coz it's sweet!</font>

annie,
cannot let us know when the dates are closer..Cos we will have to collect payment from the mummies who confirm joining us...Celebration need costings for the venue, food, photographer etc...

We will prob wait for 1 week for everyone to decide to join and which date, then we source for the format and collect payment.

bbloh,
15 per class huh? aiyo, like that very hard hor?
Let me call and see how.haha...

milo,
forgot your last qns..No daily class for X till he is 3yrs old..haha...Me scared liao, he can learn at home too rather than go class and get sick.

<font color="0000ff">Annie,
If you wanna be "safe", maybe you can try wild scallops instead of dried types? Think it's not so contaminated right? You can get frozen ones from some organic shops. Taste Original (located at Blk 721, Clementi West St 2, #01-122) carries it. I think some high-end supermarkets may have them as well. It's not cheap though but taste good.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
Is Xavier still attending weekend classes at WC? I went for a trial 2 weeks ago and I quite like it but my DH said too far le. Ethan clinged on tightly to me at the beginning but got "smitten" during the story-telling session!</font>

Joyce,

Retiring for 3 days nia then starting work on Monday liao since hub not in town. Meaningless for me to stay at hm :p

Ivy,

Dun have to pay to be on the waiting list but i can forsee a LONG wait.. Anyway just put for fun lor. BT hse hor is my ah lau dream also but guess forget la, dun wan to slog all my life :p

Bbloh,

Yup, paisay..its coronation road

bbloh,
back on waitlist for weekend WC cos we stopped in JAN for the cc. Will see how in end march when we are back fr TW, whether to go WC or JG.

You stay in Jurong rite? Hubby driving, so not that far lah, can continue if E likes it.

Milo,
Opps.. paiseh.. wrong interception.. Yap, indeed boring to stay @ home.. i rather take leave 2 go holiday.

Do u organise RL bp? I like to order.. by e way, whats yr email add?

Ivy,
Oh dear.. I try to give a firm answer whether can attend .. when is the dateline? Yappee.. looking forward to see our little one playing together.

<font color="0000ff">U may want to attend this:</font>

We're really excited that we have finally set-up a studio! We offer parent-and-child music &amp; movement and play programes, which focus on newborns and toddlers up to 3 years old.

We are running a series of <font size="+1">free</font> music &amp; movement demonstrations to celebrate the studio opening and would love to have you and your family visit us. Hope you can make it for this family-time session:

Date: Saturday, 16th Feb 2008
Time: 10 -10:45am
Venue: TANGLIN SHOPPING CENTRE #03-24
(between St. Regis &amp; Orchard Parade Hotel - NOT TANGLIN MALL !)
19 Tanglin Road
Tel : 6887 5123 / Mok's Mb: 9737 2008

We are keeping each group small, max of 8 children per session. Would appreciate it if interested parents can email me their child's name, dob, parent's name, contact and email address so that I can reserve them a place.

Mok's e-mail addr: [email protected]

hey,
so our May group, who else started school on a daily basis?

i am starting to think again...haha..think better not. but when i read ppl gog for daily sch, i so worried abt my X missing out some stuff. Ha, think i must buck up more during weekend and also tell my mum less of barney on weekdays!
Barney play 3 times a day and its the same DVD!!!

Gong Xi Fa Cai everyone!! Happy REN RI!

May babies 2nd Birthday celebrations.

1) Joyce
2) Milo
3) Ivy (May 17th)
4) Fates (May 1st)
5)

Hey bbloh! I am interested in this kampong thingy~

Hi all! Gong Xi Fa Cai!

ay babies 2nd Birthday celebrations.

1) Joyce
2) Milo
3) Ivy (May 17th)
4) Fates (May 1st)
5) SS1 (Either one is fine)

bbloh &amp; fates,
wanna go for the trial together?

Ivy,
Isabel went for daily 2-hour plagroup end of last year together with Zach. She loved it! But we didn't let her go this year coz sometimes she wakes up extremely early (5-6 am) and wanna nap around 9 plus. I'm planning to send her after she turns 2 and hopefully she's not an early bird by then.

sheri,
isabel and zach age gap so big and they were in the same class?
i dunno leh...very sian of him getting sick after gog to classes so now very much a TV kid..

when is the trial? if got ppl chio, i go also lo. haha..free rite?