(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Want to check if any May babies who sometimes skip nap all together. My girl had been skipping some naps for the past week (about twice in a week). By the time I get home from work, she is looking very tired. Knocked out at 7.30pm..... Wondering if it is harmful to her health. Any idea?

<font color="0000ff">For me, I can live without TV though my DH is a TV buff. I seldom watch TV and that includes my son too.

Annie,
You're very loaded hor! Waiting for Keane to destroy your "quite x" LCD TV?! I'm still using my 8.5 yo 21" CRT type at home and have actually had it repaired once several years ago!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Joyfulmom,

Your girl is still not as "bad" as my boy. He has been skipping naps on weekdays (everyday) when I'm working. He'll be very tired when I reach home and will want me to carry him to the bedroom to sleep. He'll usually fall asleep pretty soon after that.

*I think* not having day naps is not very good for them as they need the rest to replenish their energy and bodily functions. But as they grow older and become more active, their nap time will also reduce.</font>

bbloh,
I am not loaded,just that all my furnitures are super low height to prevent my bunnies hiding.. never plan to have a bb through.. tats y i stated waiting k to destory.. he basically can reach, used toy to hit on e tv screen.. regardless how many times i cane him..
Unless i change tv console & other furnitures.. sigh! My friend only paid $1.5k for e same brand LCD Tv and bigger size just 1/2 yr apart..

Pardon me if i m wrong, CRT also v x with clear resso.. def long life...

annie,
CRT these days very cheap...less than $200 can get a big big one! You very loaded leh, want K to destroy for you then get a new one...haha...

Joyfulmon,
my son will skip naps on weekends cos he want us to play with him and bring him out. But for weekdays, his caregiver will make sure he nap at least once, although only 1hr max these days.
But since your girl slp so early without her nap, as long as total got 12-13 hrs, then shld suffice.( read from somewhere).

Ivy,

What brand is your TV huh? Gotta avoid buying the same brand

LCD TV so cheap now, if your repair really cost you $2k, you can ask them to keep it..or you can bring to Annie's house and let K play? Hee hee hee!

Naps

My boy seldom skip his afternoon nap, and if he does, he'll usually sleep v v early and that is bad for me!! Cos he'll wake up super duper early! BTW my boy have not really sleep through.....out of 7 nights, he'll wake up at least 3 nights to drink his milk. His usually naps 1.5 - 2hrs in the afternoons.

<font color="ff0000">CHANGE of DATE & TIMING</font>

<font color="0000ff">Received a call from MF of the change. So here's the update:

<font color="aa00aa">Magic Fiddler <u>Music Together</u> Trial class</font>

Date: 8 Dec 2007 (SAT)
Time: 10.15 am - 11am (45 mins)
Amt: $30
Location: 402 Orchard Road, #04-03/04 Delfi Orchard, Singapore 238876
Class size: 5 - 6

Pls put your nick here if you're interested:

1) bbloh
5)
6)

and send me a PM of the following for registration:

Name of Child:
Contact no.:

For more info, http://www.magicfiddler.com/frames.html</font>

Hi Bbloh

Hub having exams until 8 Dec
possible to change one week later? kekeke know u sure wanna box me

Hi Ivy,

If repairs cost more than $500, support the idea of sending ur tv to annie's hse. hee! can share what brand u bought?

my old old bulky one still working fine
am also tempted to buy those slim lcd types but..think save $$$$$$

Ivy,
CRT so cheap?? *Faint* my gf bot @ $3k 2 yrs back, said v high reso..
No choice lar, k can even press e on / off button... even can climb up to e tv console to shake e tv.. sigh*.. i bot @ $3999 for a 29inch, and my friend only bot @ $1500 for a 34 inch.. just becos of e 1/2 yr gap..

<font color="0000ff">bbloh</font>,
Can change to other date, i can't make it on 8 Dec. Sorry

lhjyc
mmi has one at railway mall ah? how's the feedback? got website for it? i brot her to a montessori trial once but not really that impressed actually...

i'm thinking of signing up for gymboree membership though...bring her for free play there...my ger is kinda clumsy type so thot it will be a safe n clean environment for her to play.

Sorry for the delay about...ZOOPHONICS!

They don't practise trial coz 1 lesson can't see much result. So here are the charges:

Monthly Fee: $100 (either 4 or 5 times a month)

For the one at Sin Ming, the classes for our kids are Sundays 9.45am or 11am, 1 hour duration.

Anyone keen?

tv is philips! dun buy...bad customer service too...

ss1,
Mmm...no trials? My fren went for 1 ley. If no trials, i think i wl wait n c if x adapt to his class in Jan before i commit something new. Thks for checking!

Cheri,
gymnoboree got charge freeplay by hr too..its $15 per hr if you are not member.

Joyce,
good idea! annie, if my tv no hope, then i pass to k to play! 34inch also! haha

SS1, the zoophonics at sing ming have trial leh..i booked the trial but din attend eventually..withdrawing my gal from GUG too next term and wil be attending something else.

Eh! How come like that? I purposely asked for trial coz not sure how the kid will respond/behave and the lady told me no trial...

Pooh,
How much is the trial? BTW, where do u live? Are u volunteering your place for the homebased playgroup?

Talking abt naps...

Ah K is a faithful follower of Uncle Zhou Gong but dunno wat is wrong with him recently!!!

Nowaday he practically dun sleep lor. Kept passing me the TV & DVD remote to ask me switch them on. My poor TV has been working hard the past few days

ss1
interested in zoophonics but sin ming too far from my place...may go n check out the one in Bukit Timah soon...anyone knows where is it exactly? Beauty World?

ivy
ya, i know abt the charges...i thot membership is more worth leh...pay $50 which includes a free trial worth $34 n then for free play in future only $8 per hour...i like the outlet in Vivo a lot...good place for me to shop etc oso..hahha

pooh
u r withdrawing ur ger from GUG so where will u be going then? i'm oso currently sourcing so share share leh

hi SS1, the trial is $25. the sch fees is pretty affordable too. $100 per mth . each lesson is 1 hr. u spoke to katherine??

YEs, i can open up my home for homebased playgroup. when are u starting one?? im residing at toa payoh. BTW, wat kind of hmebased playgroup u are organising? mummies who are keen to join can take turns to organise an activity ?? i dnt mind to volunteer to do flashcards..done quite a fair bit of material for my elder gal when she was attending shichida.

Cheri, i putting my no2 to shichida. My elder gal was there for abt 3 yrs and find that is gd..my hubby believe in right brain stimulation ... i joined gymboree membership also..went to vivo branch quite often.. there pretty new and clean ..keke

Qoosan,
BJG only left one branch at bt batok. can refer to this : http://www.bjg.com.sg/contact.htm
BJG is whole brain approach.
btw, u organising some spree har??

pooh
i'm interested to join the playgroup at ur place too...is it a weekday one? i'm staying in Bt timah, not too far if take cab to ur place...i dun mind doing circle time (songs n movement!) hahah...

i've been curious abt shicida but too bad the venues r all not good for me...i checked out bjg cos of their whole brain approach thing but too bad they only do enrichment for weekends which r family time for me...btw wat's the diff btw whole brain n rt brain approaches ah? where else or wat else can we do if we wan to do some rt brain stuff wif our tots?

let's go gymboree vivo tog then? r u sahm? some mummies n i from the sahm thread r going this tues aftn abt 4 pm...wanna join us?

cheri
mayb will share wif you abt shichida if we meet up. this tues cannt lar, me going for a family studio shoot.
YES, me SAHM. 'serving' 2 xiao jie..hahaha. u are mother of two also??

pooh
iya, tues cannot wasted haha..nvm we arrange again ok? i plan to bring my ger there often hehe

me sahm till 2009 go back to work...mother of 1 only...thank god! hahah

ivy,
Wah, thanks.. i read from newspp, stated e 34 inch Samsung LCD selling $899 @ sintex.. latest model.

SS1,
I like to go for the trial if you are organising.Not sure work for k, k sure run around, screaming instead of guai guai sitting there.. :p

Pooh,
Ya, I spoke to CAtherine at Zoophonics Sin Ming. Strange leh... Will call her again. (Annie, stay tuned!)

I think you gave your feedback at the homebased playgroup thread which I started. That one is more formal, like a once or twice a week 2 hour program. I'm starting the program with my boy's playgroup teacher who is very good with the 2-3 year old. She doesn't want to continue with the school already, but a few of the mummies with kids under her thought she's too good to give up the career because of bad school management. Since I'm doing part time enrichment teaching, so trying to explore partnering with her and do homebased program.

Like I said, the homebased is hopefully for kids around the same neighbourhood so that the kids and mothers don't have to travel far for classes. I just find travelling 2-hour (round trip) with kids to attend a one hour program is such a waste of time and tiring!! :p

Anyway, maybe we can also form regular informal playgroup. We can take turns to host, then I can do my program, you do the flash card, someone else do other things... This one no need to pay as long as each one contribute some activities! Wanna start?

May babies Playgroup:
1) SS1 - Isabel (Upper Thomson)
5)

ss1
i dun mind joining though i dun stay v near u guys as i'll just treat it as a playdate haha...i guess after the 1 hour session, we can hang out at each other's place for a while to let the tots play n mummies chat as well...

oso, wat's the standard we expect of one another if we do certain segments ah? sorry cos i just joined this thread..sekali all of u mummies r trained in certain areas n i blur blur dunno hahah...anyway, i'm keen so am putting my name down first.

May babies Playgroup:
1) SS1 - Isabel (Upper Thomson)
2) Nikki - Cheri (Toh Yi Drive)
5)

shld we do a lunch on the 22nd Dec ( SAT ) at Globetrotters? Say 12pm? Haven seen the tods for a while!
1) Ivy
2) milo
5)

Ivy, mst call and book hor coz sat is rather packed there.let me know if wan to book. btw, i have disc card.hehehe

shall we do some christmas gift exchange?? mayb we can put the no. of pax so is easier to determine the booking of tables?

annie, globetrotters is at level 3/4 of united sq,near toyrus.

1) Ivy
2) milo
3) Taurus aka maymummy
4) Annie
5) Pooh - 2 kiddos and 2 adults

Globetrotter Lunch

1) Ivy
2) milo
3) Taurus aka maymummy
4) Annie
6) gabby- 2 kids and 2 adults (Tentative)

Maybe we can do a mini celebration for xmas. every kid brings a toy??? hehe... more like every mummy prepare 1 for xchange??

little nana,
nap time can change a bit or you go out earlier and nap in the stroller loh. Then you can eat in peace as well!

Choose lunch time cos dinner sure a lot of family functions gog on since its Xmas period.

Come lah!

Cheri,
Join us in the next outing lo and share with us your taiwan trip!

Gabby,
Ya, we can do a xmas gift exchange...Budget $15 each?

<font color="0000ff"><u>Lunch gathering on 22 Dec (Sat) at noon</u>
12pm is also my boy's nap time. So won't be joining too. Pls go ahead and enjoy yourselves.

<font color="aa00aa">Magic Fiddler <u>Music Together</u> Trial class</font>

I've changed the date with Catherine from Magic Fiddler for the trial class. In fact, they have the class at 10.15am daily (not sure if there's classes on Sunday though), so you can just give Catherine a call and pop by for the trial if you can't make it on the date stated below.

Date: 15 Dec 2007 (SAT) - <font color="ff0000">Note the change of date</font>

1) bbloh
5)
6)

and send me a PM of the following for registration:

Name of Child:
Contact no.:

For more info, http://www.magicfiddler.com/frames.html</font>

re: globetrotters gathering

shall we finalised the date and time and venue by this weekend so that i can do the booking?

Ivy, one gift per family or per kid?? goin for xmas shopping ...HOHOHO

Wld love to join the lunch at Globetrotters too but can only join at ard 1 plus coz i'm having exams that day!!! urgh!

1) Ivy
2) milo
3) Taurus aka maymummy
4) Annie
6) gabby- 2 kids and 2 adults (Tentative)
7) Ino - 1 babe and 2 adults

Love to join the lunch but cant as R has to attend lessons. Enjoy yourselves

Hi bbloh,

Have pm-ed u the details. Thanks for making the arrangements.

Date: 15 Dec 2007 (SAT) - Note the change of date

1) bbloh
2) Joyce
5)
6)

Hi Qoosan,

Went to peek into the other class last weekend, but hor...dun recognise u la...post a pic of ur bb? this weekend i gatecrash again.

Btw, are u going to continue w the BJG? I still considering. ...I will be sending R to the MMI enrichment class in Jan 08 so thinking whether to continue w BJG. U?

<font color="0000ff">My friend's son is also attending BJG on Sat. The teacher's name is April. Think it's the same class as Qoosan's kid. She'll not be continuing as she mentioned that the fees had increased from $300+ to $400+ (too $$$). In addition, she's enrolling him in Talent Plus playgroup next month, which she said also provide similar programs as BJG.

Ih-jyc,
Which branch are you sending Rayne to? Is it daily or weekend classes?</font>

re: globetrotters

Let you girls know if I can make it or not ok? Might have a prior appointment

Hi joyce,

Which MMI branch you sending R to?

<font color="0000ff">Has anyone visited Jurong Bird Park recently? Planning to bring DS there over the weekends.</font>

bbloh
yes, i brot my ger there last mth n signed up for the family membership too...less stuff to c than the zoo but i feel good enuff for them since they can't last that long anyway...she loves the waterfall area but i've yet to let her feed the birds...heard there's one section that u can do that..we only explored a part of the bird park n she was tired (hahaha! or was it us?)

re classes
wat classes do rite/whole brain approach besides shicida n bjg? i've checked out both but not really suitable due to timing, location etc.

Just brought 2 kids to Jacob Balla Garden, they love it!! Reached there around 8.45am and there was around 5 cars only, so good! They really love the water play area and Isabel refused to go home! :p Swing over to Botanic Swan lake there for a picnic and it was so breezy and nice. Hmm...enjoying life!

ss1
i was at Children's Garden this morning too! was there from 9 plus to almost 11 am...could i hv met u there? hahaha

my ger loves it there too...plays wif sand, waters plants n yes, i had to drag her out of the water play area too...pity though that they took away the shower area...funny...i asked the staff n they said it was unsightly to shower the kids there cos naked...asked us to go toilet to wash them up instead..but there's no shower cubicle in the toilet leh...funny funny.