(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

kk,
heat pad is abt $1.50 for pocket type (2 pcs) or in a box of 10pcs@ OG.. v expensive.
You can buy from those winter stores..

kk,

anything more than 8 hours hor is a torture to me thus this will means many places cannot go liao. hubby ask me to choose between europe and us, i chose the later cos exchange rate better mah so can spend at ease :p

true true... we have to learn and let go. now that my mum is young and fit, better grab the chance now!

Talking abt all your travels and all makes me really miss NZ. I havent been back there since i graduated

I miss the Disneyland at Anaheim and Italy too! Italy is so romantic! Too bad i din go for the Gondola rides as it was the rainy season and that day i visited Venice, it was flooded! Hai wondering when can i start to travel again. I went to Korea during the beginning of winter in Dec last year. Was 5 mths preggy then. Almost died when the cold winds blew!! Can still shiver at the thought of it. I thought since i survived winter in NZ, Korea shouldnt be much of a prob but, i was very wrong!

KK, touring South Island is worth it. North Island is more city-life like. South Island is v scenic! So u will be going for the Milford Sound cruise? Which parts of South will u be touring? I guess Christchurch and Queenstown? Queenstown is such a romantic place!

Yeah u should go for the Mt Cook Heli ride and the Jetboats. If u are adventurous type u shd go for the wide-water rafting, bungee, tandem gliding etc etc...

Annie, I guess when u say NZ is dangerous, u shdbe referring to the North Island. South Island is super safe! Many a times we even forgot to lock our flat's front and back door the entire night keke... Its generally peaceful and quiet save for some drunk students who'll throw empty beer bottles in their stupor.

Ino, your princess not the slimmest lah. My boi...hai is the slimmest. His weight is barely 6kg at 5.5months and his height is 66cm. The thing is now, he refuses to drink milk from bottle! Only wants me to latch him on n my supply is dropping!!! So now me intro more solids hoping to boost his weight.

If he drinks milk from bottle at least i can give some formula to boost his weight.

milo,

i find long flight a torture too! But then, who knows, i may be flying off to further countries next year onwards when run out of places to go in dec. But hor, dec everywhere also cold, sian leh!

fairysnowberry,

Yah, definitely going to milford sound cruise since so many good comments on it!

Hmmm, yup, going to christchurch, queenstown, fox glacier, mt cook and dunedin too

Hi KK,

Oh Dunedin is the place where i studied and lived! V few tours cover Dunedin as its a small town only. If got chance u must go Portebello and buy Happy Hens! That's considered one of the 'TU CHAN' of NZ and its only found in Dunedin. If your tour doesnt cover Portebello, then u can buy it at a shop up the Octagon. Yr tour guide should know where. But Portebello route is v scenic and the Happy Hens factory is an interesting place to visit.

Oh up Otago Penisula also got the blue-eyed or yellow-eyed penguins. Is this part of your itineary?

Hi fates/milo/lh_jyc/annie

Thanks for all your concern ...

Darius is re-admitted to Mount Alvernia Hospital yestersday and seems like the docs in KKH have made a wrong dignosis... he is actually having bacteria infection instead of virual infection ... he was immediately warded to Mount alvernia after we brought him to his PD for a second opinion ...

I really cry buckets in the hospital .... the doc had a hard time finding his vein to administer the antibiotic and glucose drips ... can see all the needle holes on his little hands and feet .... they finally manged to locate a vein but his little leg swell up so badly due to liquid leakage and they have to stop the drip immediately ... they managed to find another vein on the other feet this morning and he is back on drip again ... they are currently running all the test on him ... but results will only be out in the few days time.... now we can only wait n pray n trying our best to ease his pain n discomfort ...

fairysnowberry,

What are exactly happy hens? Heehee..

Oh, yes, we are dropping by octagon
But no, not penguins.. we are only going to some highlight spots there and also cadbury factory

YUMMY! CHOCOLATES, HERE I COME!

taurus,
OMG! Hope that your bb is ok.. any latest news? Is your Darius much better after the correct medicine given since he was diagnoised wrongly at the 1st place.. can understand how you feel.. :~(
You better take great care of yourself, else how to take care your dear prince..

Fairysnowberry,
I guess time really catch up fast, last time when i studied in Sydney in 1996, like you said, the main door never locked also no one will enter..

kk,
Chocolates hor.. yummy but heaty.. cant eat these days since i have been lack of sleep every night..

Hi Annie,

Thye have diagnosed that he had bacteria infection but they have yet to identify wat bacteria ... the results will only be out in a few days time ... they are giving him a general antibiotic now to cover him and also put him on drip as he is dehydrated .... really hope that his fever will subside soon and he can be discharged from hospital soon ... me n hubby is currently staying in the hospital with him ....

I have just bgt the pigeon diapers... I must say that the quality is comparable to Pampers premium .... but seems tt pigeon is slightly more ex than pampers ... I paid S$26.90 for 68 pcs of pampers and S$22.90 for 48 pcs of pigeon diapers ... wat i like abt pigeon is they have the urine indicator ..pamper premium only have urine indicator for the newborn

Annie,

I used to be addicted to chocolates during pregnancy. MUST stock up on chocolates then. And it was also christmas season, so much choices in the supermarket haha... cannot resist.

But after delivery, ok leh, not much temptation, but then will still buy some put in the fridge, ready to take anytime

So we can try pigeon diaper then? But if like taurus say, more expensive, then maybe won't try afterall.

Dear Taurus,

KKH so lousy huh? Sue them for wrong diagnosis!

So sad to hear about the ordeal Darius is going through

If I'm you, I will cry buckets too...
Take care my friend....once Darius is ok, we bring him go gai gai again k? May he has a speedy recovery.

fairysnowberry,

I also studied in Dunedin leh. Lots of fond memories in NZ indeed. Such a heaven on earth place lor. Really sad when it was time to leave.

kk,

Dunedin is much influenced by Scottish heritage. Some says you can see a glimpse of Scotland there. There are also places to see royal albatross, fur seals, penguins etc. But the weather there is pretty cold. I went to the Cadburry factory too... got to eat as much chocolate as possible on the spot...he he. me a chocolate maniac. Not only craving for it during pregnancy but now still eating almost everyday. It shows in my weight. Sigh..

have not posted for a long time as I went on hols with my family. Si'en enjoyed the hols as she was often wide eyed looking around....

kk
You a HOD? Involved in stat. plan?? Hmmm... I am still contemplating if I want to go back to work next year. Hopeless... I am still thinking of taking no pay leave for another year. But have not made up my mind yet....

Teething
Si'en still shows no sign of teething. Not drooling like nuts at all. In fact, no drooling yet. I think she will teeth at around 8 months like her brother.

Update
Mummy's nick: gabby
BB: Si'en
DOB: 18 May 2006
Weight: 7.8
Height: 64
Milk: BM

Milo,
Which part of US you going to? Hmmm...after CNY still considered winter, West Coast and Florida might be warmer, but freezing cold here at the Northeast.

Wen and Fairysnowberry,
Dunedin was one of my favorite cities, though I only stayed about 2 days there during my trip. I remembered that all the hotels in Dunedin was full that time due to convocation, so we had to book a place in Octago Peninsula. We spent the night in a converted schoolbus overlooking the Peninsula. Woke up in the morning and saw seagulls in the water. Very quaint experience.

KK,
Forgot to tell u that though it is summer in NZ, it might still be cold and windy, especially when you go very south to Dunedin. I went in early Dec and my friends brought only sleeveless and shorts. In the end, my friend had to buy a jacket in Queenstown. So pack a jacket, and long sleeves.

CP,

Oops, i dun have long sleeves. I have more sleeveless tops. Think got to give spag strap a miss liao! SOB!

Will be bringing windbreaker along. Should be ok ya?

gabby's mum,

HAHAHAHA!! HOD!!! I think long long maybe will have lor haha..

No lah, whole school involved leh.. ur school dun have ah? It will be held at downtown east somemore.

kk,

Dunedin can still be quite cold still in summer. Always go out with a windbreaker/jacket even when it is sunny. The weather can change in the matter of minutes plus like CP said, can be windy lor. Think generally, if you are going south, spag strap is out lor. Maybe good to pack something warmer too if you are going out at night. I think the day-time temperature when I was there barely pass 20 degrees.. Normally still around 16-18 degrees on a summer day. So expect it to be colder at night.

hi CP,

i be covering the west coast including Las Vegas, San F and LA. was thinking of self driving but US seems very BIG ah.. from 1 state to another takes abt 7-8 drive, scare too xiong for hubby since i cant drive

it must be so nice to live in US hor..keke so many nice bb clothes and toys!

US is very very fun! I enjoyed myself there the last time too

Going Las Vegas huh? Bring more $$$$ to gamble too :p

kk,
can give pigeon diapers a try.Like Taurus i like the urine indicator.I think pigeon can hold more urine then pampers premuim.Normally my ger use 4-5 pcs/day for pigeon n pampers 5-6 pcs. So if 1 pc less its bout 30cents cheaper.

milo,
If u have time in Vegas, do catch the show "O" by Cirque Du Soleil at Bellagio. It is one of the best selling shows there. N factory outlet there as well

Ivy,

Ya, same as pooh, wanna know the price before discount. Me interested
Anyway need to get the gates sooner or later when bb starts crawling and running around.

pooh and kk,

i am only testing the response first before committing to anything. At least if i know the number of mummies who are interested in the gates, then i will go and bargain for the price...( my target is to be at least 20% cheaper than kiddypalace loh)

Milo,
Those are really fun places. We didn't gamble at the casinos in Vegas, but there was so much to do and see. SF is nice too. Be sure to catch a bowl of clam chowder at Fisherman's Wharf. I'm still thinking about it even today, yummy! I suppose your tour covers factory outlet too? Sure shop till siao!

ivy

does it means that i can get any model of the gates tat i wan?? or is tere a specific model? i need 2 know b4 i put up my name. coz one or two model is not suitable for me to use

It's been a LONG time since I last posted on and visited this thread.

Hello to all mummies!

Recently, when we touch our baby, he felt feverish in the mornings and at night when he's sleeping. It seems alright in the day. He also coughs and sneezes sometimes. Is it a symptom of flu as he still seems active as before?

He also fusses and cries a lot these days, always wanting attention. It might be due to teething though.

For usage of cameras in other countries where the temperatures may be rather different from Singapore's, do read up the camera manual for its specifications to ensure optimum performance. Some cameras cannot be used in places where it's too hot or cold.

Ivy,
oh! dear, i got it even before expecting. Was intend to use to restrict my dog.Brought @ kiddy palace somemore.. haha..

kk,
too high sugar content.. still trying to lost 10kg leh... haha..

Taurus,
Be strong dear.. Darius needs you.. take care..

keane starts to damage toys.. he broke two toys, torn 1 hand from this green caterpilla that can sing "twinkle little star" and move around with clapping hand, mouth and eyes can open and close with lights... (suppose to teach bb to clap hand and putting both hands together)... the other one is a green frog that hands and legs can move around when its on and able to drive around also.. basically, i like it so much also..but keane torn 1 arm n leg apart .. sigh!
my ma said that keane basically took the toys shake and repeat throwing on the floor.. bet that he must sees his cousin doing so.. (my niece @ 1yrs old).. faint..
i brought 3 new fisher toys recently all priced @ $99.90, pray hard that he wont destory them..

Forget to add on, i complaint to my colleagues about keane's behaviour. They stated NORMALLY N SMALL MATTER. One of my colleague stated that his own son @ 2.5yrs old torn his sofa (those rubber type) apart.. Hence, until today, he still doesnt dare to change a new one.. according to him, his son already destroyed his 3 handphones so far.. faint!

annie

are u sure 2.5yr old can tore the sofa apart??? even me also cannt tore a rubber sofa apart leh..how can it be? the boy use a scissor or knife isz??

POOH,
Shd be using scissor or sharp object lar.. else how to tear.. hee.. gd question.. wait i ask my colleage.. :p

Wait.. possible, if my colleague brought those cheap cheap type of man made rubber sofa.. cos my parent had one b4.. "sit only few months" the joint parts all torn by itself.. already switch to wooden type..

I guess i have to be careful my own sofa, cloth type.. anyway, i already instructed my ma to punish keane if he still throw his toys and tear them apart.. sometime, very hard to get parents to listen to us as they tend to spoil and protective to their grandkids..

oh.... hope he recovers by tomolo ....keeping my fingers cross for u else u loogi one lesson.

can help me inform Tracy? I forgot to save the numbers into my card. think all my phone nos will disappear

i inform her on this sunday class liao..sigh.. also hope he recover fast fast. so heart pain to see him like that

Ya... when they r sick and coughing until face red red, really veri "sim ta" hor. btw, try not to let him sleep in aircon room as it will make him cough even more...

Hi Wen,

U studied in Otago too?? Wow such a coincidence. Which yr were u there? I was there from 1999 to 2000. Hmmm...did u join the SG club there? Maybe we know each other? :p

Hi Ivy,

Instead of the gate, how about considering a playyard for our babies? I saw a pic of it in June's thread and it looks good!

Hihi KK,

Happy Hens are clay hens figurines. They are v nice. U can buy the whole family and it comes w a nice hen coop too :=)

The hens sold in Octagon are slightly more ex than those sold at the Happy Hens factory at Portebello.

Yeah windbreakers and thick sweaters should do. I love the cool weather in Dunedin :=)

Hihi CP, yeah Dunedin is such a beautiful place right? Cant wait to go back there. Feel like bringing my son there next Summer.

fairysnowberry,

That's cute! haha.. roughly the price?

Guess we all need the cool weather overseas.. singapore simply too hot. Luckily we still get the rain recently, so not so bad.

fates,

ya, i saw the playyard. But need a bigger space ( ok for my house but my mum side cant). So the gate is for my mum's kitchen...