(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

hunniepot, can't wait to hear abt Amanda's 1st day at CC!

I have the same dilemma as you. What if he enjoys CC? I brought him for a mini orientation last wk, and he seems to be very comfortable with the place, was running all around, playing with the toys and eating the cakes that the school served to the new parents/kids. He thinks the CC is just another place for him to play play, and mummy will bring him home soon. But what if after 2 wks, he is ok, settling down very well, then what? Do I still withdraw him? Anyway, we'll know the answer in a couple of wks.

As for quitting my job, I think it will be fairer to my office for me to quit altogether, and not extend my no-pay leave again. Will discuss with them on how best to deal with this, but I'm pretty scared that my admin boss will be p*ssed off.

Eating out - I thought Aiden is already very jia lat cos he drops his food (especially rice) all around and cannot sit still in the high chair. End up me and hb always have to eat one after another and it'll just defeat the purpose of eating out altogether cos we want to have a peaceful and easy dinner by eating out. I really hope for you that Amanda will outgrow her food/cutlery throwing stunts soon. Maybe going to the CC will change that?

Aiden liked to hit his head when he is angry/frustrated. We will always give a stern warning to him not to hit his head, and so far, it has worked. Now he will attempt to hit his head lightly and look at us, and we will glare at him, and he'll stop altogether.

hunniepot,
I also want to hear about Amanda's 1st day at CC. Do update us leh. Actually I was thinking of putting KJ in childcare since he was born. My planning was wait until he is more settle in childcare, dun fall sick so often, then I go out and work. Looks like all my planning is not going to happen.

I am thinking to put him in a 2 hour per day type of playgroup now. I have not do any research yet. I will wait until he is 3 years old then I will decide what to do then. Look like I got to stay at home for another year. My market value is dropping like crazy and I dun think anyone want to employ me now.

Eating out,
Actually, we have been eating out a lot. We will put KJ bowl of food in between us and we will eat together. Maybe after my hubby feed him one mouthful, the next mouthful I will feed. In this way, all of us will finish all the food at the same time.

Eating out:
Draik, you have a better hubby, as least he take turn help you to feed KJ. Mine not...normally i will having same dish with my girl, and im the one feeding her. So, i must be quick, my girl like to feed fast. If slow, she will scream. As for my hubby, he will enjoy his dish till the end.

Hunnie,
yeah...me also waiting for your valuable posting regards Amanda in CC. Is another guide to me when i send my girl to CC next coming Monday. STRESSSS...

Hi tanwawas & Draik,

Today is supposed to be the 2nd day, but both Amanda and I woke up at 930 am! Was raining cats and dogs just now, so decided to either go later after the kid's nap time

Hmm, guess it is ok, there are positives too..

But I wasnt very pleased with the following:

They had outdoor play, and there is this 18 mths old toddler who kept crying non stop (she came from the nursery class) and she kept sticking to me.. and this other parent too. (it made me think, why is she sticking to strangers and not the teachers, as there were 4 of them?)I then carried her and Amanda also wanted me to carry her.. think I didnt carry A properly and she ended up vomiting over my clothes and her clothes with ribena and some milk she drank earlier.. I wanted to change her out of the clothes immediately but this teacher told me that they will start showering them in 5 mins so I waited, it was a good 25 mins b4 they started showering everyone and they showered A the last out of 10 kids! So she was walking ard with vomit on her clothes for almost 40 mins... and no one cared to changed her.. it is already like that when I am ard, what if I am not ard? There are also some minor issues not worth mentioning...

Positives are, the older kids seemed to enjoy themselves very much, they were delighted when the teachers sang the nursery rhymes and they mimick the actions.. laughing and all, but the younger ones do seem more distracted..

This other girl, abt our tot's age, was like protecting A, so cute! She seemed delighted whenever she sees A and she will like follow her ard, passed her the crayons, hugged her and kissed her, so the best part abt CC is that they will learn to develop their social skills very well, learn to care and share... in my opinion, but I still feel it is best to send them to CC when they are slightly older, maybe around 2.5 yrs

But overall, I feel it is still an OK place to send our tots to.. of course no one can match our own standards perfectly.. I am lucky that my parents are willing to help me look after, so I will delay it.. think they will adapt well lar.. but the first few weeks will be tough as they will keep crying.. like waht petite said, have to harden our hearts and walk away

Draik,
>Look like I got to stay at home for another year. My market value is dropping like crazy and I dun think anyone want to employ me now.
I always tell dh that by the time I can return to society, i can only be a cleaning aunty in foodcourt liao.

Chenoa,
don't give up on looking. It truly depends on what you want to look for.

My mom gives up for 3 of us till I was 16yrs old that she was back to society. She was doing totally what she used to do; yet each job she did, was a learning one.

In fact, so long one reminds positive and humble, one can go anywhere.

I just came across Children's Cancer Foundation's website on Fund Raising events going on and so decided to spread some words around for us who are buying Xmas toys of our dear ones or friends.

<font color="0000ff">Toys 'R' Us Christmas Charity Gift Wrap</font>
When & Where?
All 7 Toys 'R' Us stores
1 - 28 Dec 07

What About?
Toys 'R' Us will be giving complimentary gift wrapping service to their customers during this festive season. Customers are welcome to put in any amount of donation in the donation box beside the wrapping counter after their gifts are being wrapped by Toys 'R' Us staff. All proceeds will be channelled to CCF.

On behalf of the CCF beneficiaries, we want to thank Toys 'R' Us for supporting our cause and helping to raise awareness of childhood cancer.

<font color="0000ff">Mothercare Growth Chart</font>

When & Where?
All 8 Mothercare outlets
1 December 2007 - 1 January 2008

What About?
Mothercare (S) Pte Ltd will be printing limted edition Growth Chart and customers will be encouraged to make a minimum $2 donation to receive this Growth Chart.

On behalf of the CCF beneficiaries, we want to thank Mothercare for supporting our cause and helping to raise awareness of childhood cancer.

For mommies who are interested to hire maids; probably want to watch "U Channel's Thursday you hui zi suo".

Think it is at 8pm.

chenoa,
I was thinking that I will be a cashier working at Cold Storage maybe. So sad.

Koalarie,
If I quited for 16 years I think this is not way for me to get back to my job. I think I have forgotten some many things regarding my job scope already. They are using dunno which version for their software and I dun even know if I know how to use them. Even one of my friend in my job scope said that I dun need to go back anymore. *cry*

Anyway, I dun really like my job.
but that is the only way I can get more money than other job.

hunniepot,
I guess that is one of the way kids get sick in childcare. I have went to the childcare centre next to my block. When I was asking one of the teachers some questions, I heard one K1 or K2 kid vomitting sound. I turn around and saw one teacher screamed at him,"IF YOU WANT TO VOMIT, GO TO THE TOILET TO VOMIT". After that, I have got second thoughts about childcare.

Went down for Amanda's 2nd dat at childcare this morning.. reached at 1030 am as we both woke up at 930 am... what happened today made me convinced that my decision to withdraw her from childcare is correct..

This boy (think ard the same age or at the most 24 mths) lunged forward and bite Amanda twice near both eyes... lousy mummy I was.. the first time he did that I thought he was kissing her.. as A didnt cry and I didnt noticed any teeth marks, the 2nd time he did that, A cried very badly (and somemore I was holding her), it just happened way too fast.. and the other parent who was there earlier, said that the boy bit another boy on the face earlier, and the wound bled.. A wasnt clinging onto any of the teachers, she didnt snatch any toys from him, she didnt even go near him.. and yet she kena bitten by the boy.. not once but twice! The teachers said, he only does that to newcomers.. and maybe those who snatch or fight over toys with him... the teacher apologised saying they were short handed that day.. (and the ratio that day is 3 is to 11 kids! normally is 4 teachers to 11 kids) to me that is not an excuse at all.. I immediately applied zam buk to her bite, otherwise it would have been worse.. it was pretty swollen and red initially, and is much better now.. but the trauma I experienced is still there.. watching my own kid kena bitten for no reason at all..

Read thru the link that Mrs Ho posted earlier abt kids getting bitten in CC, didnt realised it would happened to A so quickly.. and somemore that boy has been with them since infant care at 3 mths old.. so what type of discipline did he really go thru I wonder?

1096127.jpg

hunniepot,
Sorry to hear this incident, hope Amanda is fine now...just wonder whether my girl will get bit when she go CC. Haiz..worryyy.

Hunnie,

aiyo, your CC experience really makes me think twice of sending Enya to CC. Her daddy keeps telling me to quickly send her there so that she will be more independent. But I really can't bare to let her go.

U better keep a lookout on Amanda this few days. Hope that the incident wouldn't happen again.

Hey Hunniepot,

So sorry that happened! That really heart wrenching!
These things do happen sometimes in childcare... there are bound to be a bully in a class. Before sending our children to cc, must teach them that they must shout, run away and tell a teacher or someone of authority if they are bullied.

There was a bully in Ruixiang's sat D'story club class too. He would often push Ruixiang, and once kick a huge ball (as big as Ruixiang) at him, making him fall over twice. I was so mad that I just screamed 'stop kicking'! :p Zhongjie felt that I should not have done that in front of the boy and the boy's father, saying that I am in no position to discipline or scold the boy. But hey, that's my child leh...he can't defend himself yet so I have to do it :p He also happened to be the one who always snatches Ruixiang's toys.

They have to learn to deal with these people eventually when they are older, but I think they can't do that effectively for now yet...

Hunnipot
I'm surprised dear Amanda kena bitten just on 2nd day! Really can imagine your horror being there with her yet she kena bitten. You must be very disturbed by it.

Actually your CC ratio 4:11 seems to be good. When I was scouting around 2 CCs recently, the ratio I meet was 2:12 or 4:16. My very first impression is that there is no way the teachers or assistants able to devote their attention on our young toddlers. I meant, how can it compare to 1:1 at home. Our kids, being the youngest in the group at this tender age are the ones that may need the most attention, since they are starting to learn many new life skills.

I will never forget the scene when I tour around the kiddo toilet, I saw a little boy, prob ard 2+, alone in the toilet. He was pulling the toilet paper, which falls onto the ground. Apparently, he wanted to wipe his buttocks after his poo poo, but dunno how to tear off the paper. When we came by, he looked so lost and confused. My heart immediately sank at that moment. The administrator who were around with me immediately said she go and get the teacher in to help him. But what I know is that there suppose to be a teacher assistant around to help the kids with such stuff like toilet training. My mum who was around with me also commented how can let a kid alone in the toilet like this. I was very very upset from that incident. I always heard of ppl saying go CC good, b'coz they can do toilet training. But for me, I would rather do it personally at home with dd no matter how tiring and hardwork this is now.

Hunnipot,
Really feel sorry for your poor Amanda. The teacher explanation were not convincing. It feel like they are just trying to tell you it is a small matter.

Ruixiangmom,
I felt that you are doing the correct thing. I found myself scolding other people kids when my son get bully too. I dun care what other people think. I cannot just stand there and do nothing when my son cannot defend or even tell me what happen. Actually, I felt that by reacting the correct way when my son is being bully, I am also teaching my son how to react when things happen.

By the way, for those of you staying at Sengkang or P21, any good part time maid you can recommend? I need someone to do my housework and ironing once per week during weekdays only. My present one comes to my house when she is free only and she is hardly free. I want to sack her when I find a new helper.

Thanks for your concern
Actually I went again today is to try it out if Amanda will eventually be able to adapt to the environment, I might place her there for half day if she ends up enjoying herself.. no more going back there after today.. maybe only when she is older, able to defend herself and able to articulate well.. like what terrier said, our kids being the youngest, will need more attention, and will tend to be at the losing end when it comes to bullying..

Tracy,

My hubby was looking forward to childcare, thinking it is a good opportunity for Amanda to be more independent, to eat well thru peer pressure.. etc.. but I wasnt so optimistic, he was fuming mad when I mms the above pics to him when he was at work.. and now he agrees with me that, maybe now she is still too young to go into childcare.. this is my opinion only lar.. for those of you, whose kids are already in childcare or are going in soon, dont worry too much, every place is different.. and each child adapts differently..

Su,

I would have done the same thing if I were you! My hubby is the opposite of Zhongjie.. he will 'get even' with those who bullied our little one.. like this time at kiddy palace.. Amanda just kay po, wanted to play with this toy car that this 3-4 yr old boy was playing with, and the boy scolded Amanda and said those were boy boy's stuffs and she shouldnt touch it, so my hubby purposely touched the toy and the boy shouted at him, then he even carried Amanda and used her hands to touch the car several times b4 he walked off..

terrier,

Actually, the CC's ratio is about 1:5 or 1:6, cos I think on the day that I first went, there were 2 newcomers, so they deployed more teachers to help out.. thus, the ratio was 4:11 on monday.. today is actually 2:11 (after thinking it through carefully) what I was trying to say is, that with such a low teacher to student ratio, such incidents could happen so frequently (3 times in just a short morning).. wouldnt it be tougher to control the kids if the ratio is higher?

Hunniepot,

ha ha, your hubby's really good leh, will try and get even. I think my husband is not the confrontative type, which is not really good. After the incident I mentioned above at the D'story club, we even had a huge quarrel and he said that I was not gracious, and that they are just playing. My goodness. *rolled eyes*.

I agree with you that not all cc are like this, and all children react differently to CC, so those already sending their children to cc should not worry if your child is well settled and happy. It really depends on the child.

My experience at D'story club was not good, hence I took Ruixiang out. I think some teachers had unrealistic expectations of children who are as young as ours. Ruixiang was 'punished' on many occasions just because he could not sit still and was wandering around the class (he was the youngest in the class). He would get to turn the story book's page last, he would get goodies from the teacher last, etc. I don't think that's good for his self esteem, and anyway, I don't think children should be stereotyped at such a young age. They are just children, and for a while only. Let them be! Not that they are being naughty in the real sense of the word. I don't want his curousity to be quelled.

Yesterday, my colleague who is a grandma asked why I leave Ruixiang at home with his FIL and my maid... he won't get to learn anything (her grandchild is in childcare). I was upset cos I make sure my helper do activities with him everyday, and have my fil bring him out everyday, I think that will be adequate for his learning until he's slightly older around 2.5 years old when he will go for half day playgroup. Time spent at home can be meaningful too.

Hi Su,

Actually seeing what they do at childcare, it is not as if we cant do it at home with our kids as well.. more of singing songs, doing those actions, drawing with crayons and chalks, going to the playground, water play, doing art and crafts (like what we do at shichida at the end of the lessons now) these are things that we can easily duplicate at home.. and doesnt take much effort at all.. getting the kids to help out with making muffins etc.. so dont get too bothered with comments that others make.. agree that children should be allowed to be children and not be penalised.. hey our kids are so well behaved in shichida, and WT doesnt steoreotype them... which is good

Hey just remembered, confirm this week's class has been changed to sat 6 pm.. see you then

Hi Hunniepot,

Yah, I think so too! We do these stuff at home already anyway! The only difference is that there are other little ones around. Am trying to make up for Ruixiang's lack of a social life by asking his cousins to come over, and occasionally go over to my neighbour's place where there are 2 boys who like Ruixiang v much

I think that's one good thing about Shichida... no one will judge, and cannot use the word 'no' in the class! :D See you at class!

Do u tink the pic is real? Look scary hor.

1098269.jpg

{Quote from email}
i took this picture myself while on the way home with my cousin, spotted
something flew from a nearby school across the road and landed on a tree
when we stop at the traffic junction...
told my cousin to ride slowly as we make a right turn n i snap a pic with
my O2 Atom...if u're curious where exactly i took this pic...well...it's
at Blk 846! Tampines St 82...yes..just a few
blocks away from my place...n the time..it's just 11+...strangely the
playground is where teens like to hangout in large group but that nite is
a 'Silent Nite' so to speak....when dis pic was
taken u're wondering...it's wednesday nite...yes on d 21st...just a few
days ago...

make ur own asumption...i saw wat i saw n my cam dun lie it's no trick
photography...it's 100% genuine

{Unquote}

Hunniepot,

My goodness. I can feel for you as a parent when seeing the pic of Amanda's bite. That's y CC is never an option if I ever returned back to work. Hopefully Amanda will not be badly tramatised by this biting incident

Juz to share abit of my "good news". I might be returning to work in near future s well.:p My mum will be looking after Reanne while I am at work. If not, I will definitely not be able to work without worry.

BBlim
Congrats to you!. Good for u that your mum can help u.

Today, I just had a conflict with my mum over DS yet again. My mum fed DS chocolate without my knowledge while I was in the toilet. She claimed that DS was fussing her while she was ironing clothes. I am so upset with her feeding her grandson all these sorts of junk. She always claim that DS is hungry and thereby gives food. That time when he was only 6 months old, she fed him with cake, that drove me very mad.

When he was still a baby, everytime he cries, she also said he's hungry and kept prompting me to feed milk, until one time he puked. I'm so stressed now b'coz going to pop soon, and I have to undergo all these from her again.

Dunno if I have been over-protective over my boy, until I stress myself out like this. Sigh....

hunni, ok thanks for the info on LV. Now I think twice to send my gal there. Anyway LV at gentle rd doesn't have half day class coz I asked before so you might want to try another.

Su, what activities u ask ur maid to do with ruixiang? Get some ideas...

Geee....for now I might consider no pay leave for awhile but then as all of u said, prospects not as good when u go back especially when I know my next posting out is to higher job scope but that would be after I deliver no.2...what a delimma about staying home.

bblim,

Congrats! Where would you be working at? Same place as me? ;) The foto is very scary, hubby was out for wedding dinner just now, and I didnt dare to turn off the lights.. until he came back.. sure it is not been tampered with?

Same here.. I will be able to go back into the workforce feeling at ease, knowing that my parents will be able to help out with Amanda, if not, I dont think I will want to return to the workforce so soon

Hi babe,

LV does have half day class, this other boy who had his first day on Monday is on half day too.. I will put my plans on CC on hold till Amanda is at least 3 years old...

Quite jalat, On Amanda's first day, she had 5 extremely red mosquito bites on her arms and legs. noticed other kids had the same bites too... 2nd day, kena bitten.. and now she is down with running nose and fever.. noticed this other toddler in her class who had very bad running nose.. guess Amanda might have gotten it from her

terrier,

Amanda has been eating adult food since a few weeks back, she has tried chocolate cakes as well, I wouldnt have let her try these food had she not been such a fussy eater..

Terrier,

Thanks! Hmmm, my mum is oso feeding my gal with whatever we eat. Guess I am quite lax abt the food intake since Reanne is really into adult food esp now when she is older. But I have yet to give her chocolate. Cakes yes and abit of non-gassy drinks as well if she asks for. Had juz fed her with a piece of homecooked sweet-sour pork for today's dinner.:p

Hunniepot,
Thanks as well. I am oso not sure ler. Dat's y i posted here to hear your opinions lor. Definitely not the same as you. Will be at tanjong pagar. But not finalised yet.
Btw have u wean Amanda off? How did you manage to do it?

Strawberry,
You can't tell huh. Like that better ler. Sometimes, ignorance is better.
*Hint* Look what is on the tree.

bblim

No.. I havent managed to wean her off yet.. you leh? And she still needs to suck suck b4 she sleeps every night.. when would u be starting work? Has been 2 years 3 months since I stopped working.. quite sian to go back to work.. but bo bian

Does Reanne drink FM now? I am trying goat's milk now.. failed to get her to accept FM and fresh milk.. though she doesnt mind the dutch lady UHT chocolate milk for juniors.. but doesnt drink very much too.. she only drinks ribena with peach now...

Hunnie,
Wow, BINGO ler. Heng, I am not the only one who can spot it. Spooky hor. Scary to discuss it at such hour.

I oso have not. Trying hard to cut down on her latching but failed. She wanted it more frequent now after I started looking for jobs. Tink she can sense it ler. At least your case is better than mine. Reanne still need to latch thru out the nite, every morning, afternoon nap and before sleep at nite. I now headache abt the engorgement.

Yes, I make 60ml FM for her in the morning but she seldom finishes it. Have oso tried replacing the afternoon session with FM. *Sigh* As usual, she dun drink. She has no problem with fresh milk, uht milk except FM.

bblim,
Yah, it is scary. I tried not to talk about it. Feel like taking the picture to another forum where there are a few girls that have the ability to see if the "thing" is real a not. But I think I will do it tomorrow. Now dun even dare to stroll up the page.

terrier,
I understand how you feel. I can actually put KJ with my mom and employ a maid then go back to work as well. But I cannot imagine the stress from my mom I am going to get if I do this. I need to reduce seeing my mom too often now because when we see each other too often, we get all the tension. We hardly talk to each other last Tuesday because I think I have offended her. But I still dunno which part I have offend her. Too tired to check with her, can't be bother.

hunniepot,
Since Amanda is having a running nose and fever, she did not go to school today?

bblim,
Same same. KJ also latch on whenever he want. I have to wake up several time at night just to let him latch on again. Lucky it is for a while only. If we are outside and he want to latch on, I will tell him we will go and find the nursing room. He understand what I am saying and he will wait patiently for a nursing room to appear. When he sees one, he will give out a very cunning laugh. If I told him "no milk", he will fuss and point to my chest again and again until I agreed.

Lucky, we did not use the word,"neh neh". Since he do not know how to pronounce the word,"milk", he will not scream for milk when we are outside.

Dun mind me intruding here
So scary to see the pic especially at this moment!

bblim
Bored, so chanced upon this thread. How have you been? So long nebber catch up with u n R. Good that ya mum can help you to take care of her. But oso sad that it is going to be difficult to meet both of u.

Hiaz...seems that I'm really being too paranoid after knowing your experience on feeding...

BBlim, since your mum going to help u take care of R, maybe you can first get her to take care of her alone for a few hours first. Let R get use without u around, and would accept other forms of milk without latching. She now latch on so many times a day, she would need a long time to loose each latch on one by one. If you are with her while trying to wean her, then maybe you got to keep telling her. At their age now, they can understand what you are talking. You just got to be firm on your stand.

You really got to start now, else, it may be too disruptive for her when u just suddenly out of house whole day working. It's going to take quite a while to wean her.

Draik

Thanks! It's comforting to know that someone also share the same woes as me. I am actually always in conflict with my mum in terms of how to take care of my boy. There's always something that I thought she did incorrect whenever I was not around. She actually meant to come over to accompany me while hubby now overseas. But yet, create more upset to me. But I must also be thankful that she forgives easily.

It's really tough on how to close 1 eye and not bother with those issues. Maybe my expectations have been too high. I always feel that now I devote all my time and energy, trying so hard to take care and bring up my kid in a good way, don't like the way another person just "spoil" it like that.

Sigh, do anyone of u have similar thoughts too?

pebblestone,
Din expect to see u here. Dun be sad ok, we can still catch up with each other at Vista point anytime except working hours since we are juz blocks away.

Terrier,
Thanks for sharing. I will try it out. Yes, my mum does help me look after her at times only when we have functions/ dinners to attend, but not dat often. However, I have been preparing her mentally by telling her everyday that I will be working soon and she will juz shake her head n say "NO". And she really will "bully" me ler. Can whine non-stop if I refuse to let her latch. Then after latching for mayb 10mins, she will point to the door and pull my hand, insisting we go out to the living room. Then when we are outside for like 10-20mins, she will bug me to go into the bedroom to latch her again. This cycle goes on until I cannot take it n blow my top. Then she gets the msg n will not bug me until a longer time. So in a way, I am really glad to break free from this by going back to work. Juz yesterday I scolded her and told her that luckily I am working soon so no need to see her tantrums anymore. And she replied a loud and commanding
nono.gif

terrier,
Sometime I told myself to take things easy lor. My husband also feed junk food to KJ. Lucky KJ do not have a sweet tooth and will reject chocolate and sweet stuff. But he love french fries and nuggets and if my mom know that he has been eating these, she will scream. I am caught in between. Force to lie to my mom and try to tell my hubby not to feed him with these stuffs. I am still learning to close one eye, hard to close also must close or else life get pretty upset.

My mom is an ultra sensitive person. She can tell me because of something I have said, she kept thinking about it until cannot sleep for a few nights. I used to care how she feel so much until it affect me. I am trying to learn how to dun care now. I know I am very bad but I think it is good for me to learn how to get go.

Scary Pix:
i also can't see anything, thought was the long black colour one (ghost). But after showing my HB this, and told me tat, then i realize. Blur me...

Hey Babe,

Now that I have a maid at home, I actually think Ruixiang's life is better than when he was with the nanny. Cos the nanny did not work for money and is quite well off, so I dare not asked her to do too much with Ruixiang, in case she decided not to look after him since it's so much trouble. He also did not get to go out much :p With maid, it's different, she will do as I want (to do minimum 3 activities from the books per day), and FIL will also ensure that she does it. hiak hiak

I have bought some books from Amazon (there is a spree ongoing now, you might want to join) that gives me activity ideas, and also, there are many websites out there that allow you to print out templates for art, etc, that you can do with them at home. I print it out at the office :p shh!

The books I use:

2000 best games and activities
http://www.amazon.com/000-Best-Games-Activities-2E/dp/1402204140/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1196387646&sr=8-1

The Toddler Busy Book
http://www.amazon.com/Toddlers-Busy-Book-Trish-Kuffner/dp/0671317741/ref=pd_sim_b_title_7

First Art : Art Experiences for Toddlers and Twos
http://www.amazon.com/First-Art-Experiences-Toddlers-Twos/dp/0876592221/ref=pd_sim_b_title_10

Some good websites:
http://www.toddlertoddler.com/
http://www.uptoten.com/kids/coloringpage-mainindex.html

Other mommies, do you have other resources to share too?

bblim & draik,

Same leh... I latch my girl on multiple times at night, and whenever she wants to.. and if I dont give it to her, she will either happily self service or throw herself against the bed, roll on the floor, make herself look so distrssed until I have to give in, and even after I give in, she will give me the super angry and agonising look while latching on.. dont know why my girl will say "Ah Bah Yi" whenever she wants to latch on..

terrier,

Same same, it is not only between me and my mum, it is between me and both my parents. They come over everyday to help look after Amanda, to help keep me company and they also want to play with Amanda, so it kind of created alot of tension between the 3 of us for a long time.. my dad is a very untidy person, and he will mess up the place, like leave the newspapers on the bed, leave the cup or the food wrapper all over the place etc.. or he will carry her without wearing his shirt.. or feed her rubbish.. or he will speak to her in English and though his spoken english is not bad, but i have noticed some of the prounication is wrong, so I tried asking him to just speak to her in either Mandarin and cantonese and he refused to listen.. my hubby isnt used to such untidiness so I try my best to clean up after him and Amanda b4 my hubby comes home.. that created alot of stress for me for I simply dont have the time.. tried telling him nicely and he threw his top several times, and threatened not to come to my place ever again, or he will jusr sit in his car the whole afternoon as he said he feels very restricted in my house (this cannot do, that cannot do?) and my mum is a little blur and slow when it comes to Amanda (but she is much better now).. but now that it is confirmed that I will be leaving Amanda in their hands once I return to work, guess I just need to close 1 eye.. cos this is the best available option for me as childcare is out of the question at this stage..

draik,

No eh.. withdrawing her from childcare liao.. might as well take back the money instead of dragging it on.. going to go down later as they take a long time to reply to their emails

bblim,
got a feeling its something scary but dun wanna face the facts esp when i saw this at 12AM!!!! send some jitters down my spine whn i went to bed after.... haha... ya like draik now dun dare to scroll up... hahaaa..... anyw your camera v gd ah...

i guess these things are all over la... when i was in HKG oso kena disturbed (2x) so.... but i din see la...

hunnie
ive decided not to put gab in childcare.. cos got maid and family at hm to accomodate her.. i feel so poor thing lor if send her to sch now its gg to be like forever gg to sch liao.. sending her to shichida instead once a week to learn and mingle... think tats beta... i noe she feels v lonely...

strawberry,

Same! I feel so heart pain for the younger kids I saw in childcare.. esp the 18 mths old ones.. they look so helpless, unable to talk.. and just kept crying.. I will instead check out the kiddyabc playgroup just below my house, to get her to interact with other kids.. yeah.. Amanda and Ruixiang also enjoy their shichida class very much.. wanted to withdraw initially but decided to carry on.. since she likes it.. yours jan intake?