(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hitting hand & caning
I stopped using the cane cuz I think I used too much strength with it even though it felt light to me cuz it left red marks on her legs even after the whole day. As for hitting hand, I really hit hard until it left red marks on her hands to get the message through. In fact, she'll comment pain pain but I still feel very heart pain but I'm a firm believer of strict discipline.

saying sorry
Sometimes she say, sometimes, she needs some prompting to say it but, I think the important lesson to learn is to let her know she's done something wrong, she gets her punishment (they must understand why are they being punished), she apologises, then end it with a kiss and hug (gotta let her know that mummy still loves her even though she's been naughty). Learnt this technique from Super Nanny (but she don't believe in hitting though).

queen : cod liver oil
yes, thats the correct one.

strict discipline : I don't believe that caning is the only way to instill in strict discipline. A child has to learn to be good from within himself and not because of fear. I too believe in discipline and in setting a right sense of moral values to our youngsters.

.ky.

sl
thanks for the method to do steam rice.
my gal is still using her pointing skills, doesn't like to speak up.

RE: Caning
My mum once hit Jamie with balloon stick and left a mark there. I so heart pain but still put a strong front and tell my mum good job. Normally I will explain what's wrong before I cane and I will ask her to say sorry. Although I think she doesn't know what is sorry.

Mamachan, think I got to upgrade to real cane like u already then she knows I mean what I say.

Mashy,
Happy Belated Birthday!!

RE: Speech
So many of them is at least speaking up already. My gal's pronounciation is not very clear, but the sound is there. Her best communicating skills is pointing. Only my mum and me can understand what she wants.

Sysac,
we went Hua Hin for our honeymoon, yes, the car journey there is abit of a problem, but we indulged ourselves and got a merc van from Bangkok airport, the price was about 1/3 more exp than normal car rental, so it was totally luxurious with leather seats that stretch out totally and tons of space for just the two of us! The driver was driving at 180km/hour but the vehicle is super solid, we reached Hua hin in 2 hours haha! Hua Hin is very much like Phuket, but without alot of the commericality that you see in Phuket, and tons of cheap cheap spa treatments!

Sl,
S is starting to inmidate us when we say things, I think they are picking up words pretty fast now...

Denmy,
wow, Declan is a big boy! S only just upgraded to L size, haha!

Cl,
was just at Ikea yesterday, and saw the red cushions, heehee!

MamaPanda
Ha! Daren's way of saying sorry is to hug and kiss us. Tried and still is teaching him to say sorry when he's in the wrong. But after the cane incident and he's settled from crying, we would end it with a hug and kiss and say that we still love Daren even though what he did was wrong. I guess as they grow older, the methods of disciplining will start to evolve again. Read somewhere about when they are older and not receptive to the former discipline methods, have to use the "Taking away privileges" style of discipline...ah well, we'll grow and go along with them as they grow older.

Mashy
Happy Belated Bday!

Sysac
I also have alot of places in mind that I would like to visit too. But am grounded for the time being =P wait till studies are over.

Speech
They are still proficient in pointing out what they want to communicate at this stage I guess. Daren too would point, if not he will hold you by the hand and lead you to the things he wants or wants you to do with him. He speaks a few key words like ball (play with him), cracker (he wants to eat what we're eating), milk milk, water, ti-ti (for auntie), nanana (deciphered as I want that), no more to indicate that he's done pooing or his food ran out or he had enough. Other than that, he will imitate us when we speak like a parrot like throw, shoot, keep... but nowadays, he's been babbling away in his "African" language. hehehe

SL
Kae also prefer pointing. She is still with single wording and not like some very advance todd here can say 2 words.
She just say what pleasing to her like her soft toy turtle, bear, apple, where?
For Please, Thank you and sorry she is using signing.
But I'm not too worry.. believe they will develop at their own pace ba.

Sl
JH also likes pointing. but nowadays he is starting to 'talk' more. a lot of gibberish though and it is really funny.

just now i wanted to take a pic of him to send to Dr Khor and he smiled so brightly until i laughed.

Mamachan
i also teach JH the same way to say sorry. When i tell him to say sorry, he will come and sayang us.

re caning
i m not too fond of that method cos my parents never used the cane on us but hb believes that it works.

thanks gals for your well wishes!

Re: Saying sorry
My boy still doesn't talk much let alone say sorry. He doesn't come and sayang us either. sigh. He's still talking in an unknown language. Lately he only started saying 'mum mum' for food.

cookie
Kae is the youngest here. So her development is actually very good already. In fact very much better than my boy who is 1 mth older than her.

Aileen
Mel used to see Dr YY Yip too, like u said make appt = no appt cos still have to wait min 1 hr. I switched to Dr Khor when she was turning 5 mth old. One good thing is that Dr Khor will spread her appt, so most of the time I don't have to wait (cos she see patient strictly by appt only). Even if there's walk in case, the wait time is like max 20 min cos she will give priority to those tat make appt so long as u turn up by your appt time. Actually do u know that you can request for your own PD when u deliver? I've requested for one that was recommended by my colic but end up Mel had to be admitted to NICU so have to see Dr YY Yip in the end. I think perhaps you can call up Dr Khor to check if she can check on the bb upon delivery since she's with the Mt E group.

Mashy
Happy Belated Birthday!

SY
Glad to hear that JH is feeling better...heehee I was just chatting with hb yesterday on the big collection of patients' photos that Dr Khor kept. I suppose she asked u to take a pic to show her the rashes?

SY/Denmy/SL
Ya I was surprise that Mel knows is nap time. She has been quite guai at bed time last few nites too, maybe cos hb back late and not around to "distract" her....haha. Keeping my fingers crossed that will last.

halo mummies...

being extremely tired out recently wf the assignment and also bad headaches... weather so not good lately!

Re : Caning
i also use balloon stick and now when celeste sees it coming, she will quiet down or sit properly while telling me : put back put back! i try not to cane her too, but sometimes the soft approach just doesnt work! and as the blood boils farther, the cane gota show its existence liao... i guess its ok to cane and discipline but only when necessary.

sunny,
re: split red lentils
I've never cooked it in the slow cooker, so not sure abt that. I've always cooked it in a pot. And it becomes soft and powdery after 15 mins. In fact, I cook Annabel Karmel's Lovely Lentils. Will sautee onion, celery, carrots, etc. then add the lentils last.

mashy
happy belated birthday!

flo
could i have Dr Khor's contact. wanna stand by good PD contact.

mel so guai. my gal hor, when we told her it's time to sleep or whether she's tired, she will nod her head, then she will hold our hand to go to the room together. nowadays, she refused to sleep alone..... sigh...

denmy
wow... that's fast. hmmm... i should try your method myself then convince my mil to use it. thanks!

re: confinement lady
went to feb 08 thread, realised that some CL charge more than $3k, and even $4k during CNY. faint.... so ex!

Re: Japan

anyone has recommendations on the cheap and convenient hotels in tokyo?

I;m so frustrated. After booking my room, they said that my boy is counted as 1 person, so i've to book a triple room (which is unavailable) or an additional single room. Crazy!

long flight
Some of u have brought your babies on long trips before right? Can I ask where did ur baby sit? How does baby sit on your lap during take-off and landing? I hope Ariene can tahan the long 19h flight to norway man... long flight.. if she starts wailing on board, I dunno wad to do to entertain her since we cant bring portable electronic devices on board or can we? If can, I'll bring the life-saving portable DVD player.

Mashy
In japan is like that counted by per head one. That is why we alway smuggle in. Ha ha my company book a room for me. I check in then later bring my hb and girl up as guest. See if you want to do that or not. If you stay in Tokyo all quite exp one. I stayed at yotsuya , http://www.tokyustay.co.jp/e/index.html. Can cook, downstairs got supermarket, walk a bit further got JPY99 shop open 24 hours. Need help for Japan itinerary ? ha ha

Mamapanda
The flight got TV mah, you taking SQ ? SQ got ha ha hi 5. The other time I took NW, Charmaine screened all the cartoons during her return flight. I saw mummies carrying the baby on lap. or just let the baby lie on mummy and daddy's lap.

mamapanda,
u can bring portable dvd player on board. we did that and it's indeed a life saver for long haul. we didn't get an extra seat for edgar but we were lucky the flight was full. so he could have a whole seat to himself. else we just put him on our lap. but most of the time, he's standing, walking up and down. cannot sit still other than sleeping time.

flo,
ok thanks for the info. i shall try to call dr khor to enquire.

re: chicken
I heard from my fren that Fairprice is selling a homone-free chicken called Sakura Chicken. It's selling for 6.90 and its size is smaller than the usual ones: no homones mah.

CL

Been there twice before already. So more or less know how to get ard. My budget very tight lah, coz we have to pay it ourselves. Hahaha. Found a few hotels, like Sakura and Toyoko Inn, but dunno whether they'll let my boy in or not leh. sigh.

Aileen,

Let us know if she can do that... good info to store away for future use. : )

Denmy,
that's good news! I am more a chicken than pork person but have been cutting down on chicken over the past few years... now can eat chicken again.

Flo
ha, u r right. in fact she asked me to bring a pic of him without rashes. She kept that photo...

mamapanda
when we brought JH to sydney, he slept for about half the flight. the rest of the time we played with him. he was quite alright. think the portable DVD idea quite good.

denmy
u really expert at cooking. wat are some of the easy recipes? i dun wan to buy too many things in order to cook some thing for JH cos hb says the fridge is too full of his stuff.

share something funny. i brought JH to church 2 weeks back and we learnt this song abt prayers. so now he will tell me he wan to pray and when i say Amen, he will go 'AM'..quite funny

SL,

I just called Dr Khor's clinic and enquired with the nurse. Basically after discharging from hospital, if bb has no complication or medical condition then can bring to her for check up 3-5days upon discharge.

mashy brainz,
I didn't book tokyo hotels as I went with a tour group but just to let you know the hotels in tokyo don't really have double bed so ask for a twin room because if you want to have a double bed room, they will give you a super single bed which is very cram for the 3 of you. we thought we want clariss to sleep with us in the middle but end up we always have very small beds. very tiring everynight coz she will wake up because our slight movement disturbed her.

babylon,

its really sad to hear that..life is so unpredictable ya...so we must always appreciate what we have..lets pray that it will not be too suffering for her

denmy,

wa, the food u cook for keenan always make me feel so bad about not doing more for renee...its sounds sooo good and delicious...maybe one day u should conduct a class on all your recipes

May,

renee also still not talking much..only mama , papa, ball and isaac..which is his uncle's name.

mashy,

happy belated birthday!

chickenlittle
We're taking KLM. SQ don't fly to Norway. Other flight have a 8hr transit. Only KLM transits 4hr at amsterdam, which is still acceptable for us. The total flight time will be a long 19hours! This time, we'll be spending 3.5weeks there and we'll be flying to london for a short getaway while we're there. It costs only 46euro to fly to london from norway. We'll bring her to see London Bridge and sing the London Bridge song. Haha! Anyway, we're also taking the chance to check out Norway as we're considering staying there long term. If it works out, we'll go for citizenship after 7years.

Mashy - Happy Belated BD!

Bottle Tree Village - Yep, drove there once after running with Cephas at Sembawabg Park. The trees were brought in from Australia. Apparently, my colleague's HB is a co-owner of the place.

Sleepingdeer - Wow, what a F1 ride you had to Hua Hin
I went to Phuket for my honeymoon. We stayed at a one-bedroom apt at Laguna Phuket for a wk. We cld hop ard the 5 hotels & use the facilities there. We rented a Toyota Vios & drove the entire coastal area one day. We then rented a modped (scooter) after returning the car. HB taught me to ride at the carpark outside our room. After that, we took off to the nearby areas which we didn't explore the previous day. I came back chao tao from the tanning, swimming, snorkeling & the scooter rides! But the spa sessions at Angsana Spa were the best!

Mamachan - Yes, know what you mean. I can list so many destinations in 5 mins. Need to factor them into my breaks. Break in Oct is one week. Next break is in Feb 08 (CNY week) and longest break is in May 08.

esther
haven seen u post for some time! how are u doing?

mamapanda
wow, norway citizenship? any reason u r considering that area? it's realyl cheap to fly to london from norway

sysac
i also stayed there for my honeymoon but mine was the cheaper one at allanmanda. went to the different resorts to see and look and i went to angsana too!

<font color="ff0000">LAST CALL FOR ON SPREE - 30USD MORE TO GO!! </font>
Still can squeeze in another 30USD of orders. Spree must close by tomorrow cuz 10% off and free shipping code expires tomorrow 11pm.

sy,
2 of my husband's friends who married Norwegian wives work there too. The quality of life and social benefits are much better than here, not to mention the pay. The pay is 3-4times more than what we can get here. But, of course, the tax there is also high and the cost of living there is also high, but, all in all, its a much better place to live in. The gov really takes care of her citizens there. Strictly 9-5pm working hours everyday. Its against the law to work more than 8h a day there.

SY - Wow wee! Nice place rite? It was a pampering week for us at the spa
we had nice seafood for dinner every nite at the beach behind Dusit Laguna. Made friends with the owner of the seafood joint until he invivted us to go fishing with him one morning. We didn't catch many and ended up snorkeling in the crystal clear water.

mamapanda
yeah i remember watching a show on norway. really good benefits there.

sysac
yeah i like phuket. nice place to relax....and nice seafood too!

Any of you have good contacts for confinement nanny starting from end Dec to early Jan? (coz i could give birth anytime from end Dec onwards) Am urgently looking for one now coz my MIL can't do confinement for me anymore. But i'm not sure how a CL works...do u think it's too much of me if i were to request for a CL who can:-

1) cook confinement food for me and separate meals for toddler
2) do housework
3) take care of newborn
4) take care of toddler when i'm tending to newborn?

i also hope to have a CL who's not too strict with confinement rules (coz i don't follow them) and who's pro-breastfeeding. Hope i don't sound too demanding

And do all CLs stay at your house for that one month? Or they come only during the day?? Quite suaku about it.

If any of you have contacts or recommendations, pls let me know! Thanks in advance!!
Much appreciated!

Durianlover
Re: CL
CL will normally take care of mommy n newborn which including bathing, changing diaper, cooking and washing clothes of both mommy and bb. They generally don't do general housework and take care of older toddler.

Mamapanda,
Any reason why you want to give up being a Singaporean? Was it more of push factors or pull factors? I was born a Malaysian but bred in Singapore. I gave up my Malaysian citizenship willingly on my own accord when I turned 21 (my parents are still S'pore PR, they do not intend to give up being Malaysians) because I do not feel like a Malaysian at all. I feel no sense of belonging in Malaysia because all my best friends and now husband & child are here in Singapore. I was raised through the Singapore system and fully assimilated into the Singapore culture. While there are plenty of things to complain about the way of life here, but ultimately it is the sense of belonging that made me take up the Singapore citizenship. I have friends who reside in Europe, US and Australia and heard about all the good things of staying in the country yet none of them ever considered being a citizen there (most are PRs though) because they always tell me that their family, friends and roots are here in Singapore. They may not return to Singapore to settle but will never give up being a Singaporean.

Mashy
Happy belated Bday

Mamapanda
Is norway the place that has a 1 year maternity leave? So shiok...

Cookie
lentil recipe is in annabel karmel's book, my book is at my mom's place.. i keep forgetting to bring it back cos so busy these few days, i have no internet at mom's place so u see most time I log in is early am...
i found this for you on the webby
http://www.celiactravel.com/blog/2006/10/lovely-lentils-another-gluten-free.html
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/babyfoodlentilrecipes.htm

Denmy
Wah so good can feed by himself.. so lucky you...
my girl will be feeding the floor not herself...

Queen
Have you started work yet? How is it?

RE: disciplining
I've tried gently squeezing the hand to a firm smack on the hand to a light smack with balloon stick... sometimes tabby takes it as a joke and starts laughing.. so i gave up smacking but sometimes i guess when i'm tired with bb and her bad behaviour, it can be quite instinctive to want to smack.. I try to talk to her instead... she will now whine and cry.. i'm trying to stop her from screaming by telling her to ask nicely. She has taken to saying things like "ask mommy" or "ask porpor" and things like "gimme this one please"

RE: speech
I think some of you in JG class can see that tabby's speech is pretty advanced.. you can have a mini conversation with her now cos she can speak in simple sentences..
today we made some snack for her and we were saying its so yummy and she said to us " so delicious" and she will say things like " be careful, don't fall down" and "gimme this one" and " cannot open, its mommy's" She knows most of her animals, shapes, colors and sometimes appears to even know how to count (low nos) cos sometimes dunno if its luck or what when we ask her how many of a thing there is she will occasionally get it right. Of course with regards to jealousy she will say "put down baby". She doesn't know the concept of me and you yet so she will say, "carry you" when she wants to be carried.

KY
My son's passport is ready for collection, which are the days you were saying is better to go down? I really don't want to fight the school holiday crowd esp since my son is going to be travelling soon.

I was really brave today and travelled with son and daughter alone to and from my place to my mom's... with me driving.. halfway thro, son started crying, and girl started screaming for toy.. and i nearly had a heart attack, one eye on the road, partially screaming at road hogs and partially trying to calm everyone else... so crazy...

RE: work
I'm going back to work next week... feel so sad.. i've never been so happy staying at home.. really wish I didn't have to work cos I don't feel appreciated in my field and I dunno if i've lost the drive but I really don't feel the motivation anymore, I would really be happy to be a SAHM... I just need to work to provide for my children and support my shopping sprees and BP

for those who use angel wipes

I just received email from Steven re:eek:ffer.. is his offer cheaper or Phoebe's offer cheaper? now i'm confused liao...

Hmm... what do u gals think... who to order from?

tabbie
looks like they are competitor? I havent call any one of them yet but my supply are running low now.
hmm.. Steven has been quite prompt in his service. since he is cheaper and we have past experience with him.. why not order from him.
U checked with him why is he cheaper?
btw can u fwd his email to me?

Tabbie,
I laugh when I saw ur post saying Tabby is feeding the floor. Haha.. then Jamie is feeding her table also.

Esther,
Nice to see ur post. How's your #2? Renee coping well with him?

cookie

I don't have your email add... can pm me then i forward you, anyone else want to daily wipes email, pm me ur email cos its got some attachment.. dunno if i can just copy n paste the whole email here.

mommies

do your bbs dream? i think tabby has dreams cos she will speak in her sleep and sometimes when she wakes up she starts saying weird things like this morning she woke up saying " UGLY SPIDER!" she wasn't scared and then she started singing itsy busy spider... last night she was watching barney and there was a big stuffed spider that came out for the song itsy bitsy spider. So funny.. i think she was dreaming about it.

tabbie
you are very brave to bring a bb and a toddler out alone! i wonder if i have the courage to do so next time.

queen
didn't know you were a m'sian last time. i don't intend to give up my m'sian citizenship, 'cos my parents and lots of friends are there. and i stayed there till i got my A'level. so, still got feeling towards my home country.

durianlover
i pm you my CL's contact. she's pro-bf and quite flexible in terms of her cooking recipe and confinement rules can be 'discussed'. :p last round, she help me on some housework e.g. sweeping flr. and after the full mth celebration, she helped us to clean up the house. i think to take care of the toddler, you might wanna check with her when you call her. most of the time, her daughter will pick up the call. You can check with her if her mum is available for the month you wanna engage her. The CL's daughter is so-called overall in charge of booking when she's away at another mummy's house.
Not sure if she's booked, call and try.

tabbiesus,
yes, I believe they all dream but now they are able to articulate out what they have dreamt. Clariss stirred in her sleep a couple of nights before saying "water", it was very clear. perhaps, she was asking for water to drink. very funny.
sometimes, she played too hard in the daytime and had nightmares and she will wake up crying.