(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

babylon

sorry to hear abt your colleague. It's the same with my SIL when we found out that she got brain tumor. Life is indeed unpredictable. Will pray for her.

Re: JG
Potato chips - I haven't let Charmaine try those yet. BUT I have let her try French fries (without salt of cos) and sad to say, she loves them....

SY,
Oh dear! Hope that JH's rashes will get better. I think he's the same as Charmaine - sensitive skin. One mosquito bite can turn into a big blot. I have actually put lemongrass in the room and sometimes we would paste the mosquito patch on Charmaine's clothes as well.

Flo,

I think you should really speak to Dr Khor to get referral fee. : )

Babylon,

Oh dear... will pray for your colleague.

CL,
Why did you do the cancer markers? I did them before too but that's when I had this big compartmentalised cycst and had to do the cancer markers to test for the possibility of the cycst being cancerous.

Cookie,
Hang on there! Will pray for your hubby's quick recovery.

SL / SY / FLO

Re: Dr Khor
Yah have to admit she's good and personal. Ashley had fever again last Mon & Tues and thought the temp was not as high compared to previous times (38.7 highest recorded this time), still she developed FITS again for the 3RD TIME in 6 months. I was puzzled why the Fits again cos I even told mum to insert suppository before she left home with Ashley to prevent sudden surge of temp. It happened in the taxi just before mum was about to reach Paragon where I was meeting them. Dr Khor assesed Ashley and though she do not suspect anything major, she put up a referral for us to see a Neurologist at Mt E just to do a check up. What we like abt her was that she dun only give you the name and ask you to make an apt, but she wrote personally to the Dr detaiing Ashley's hospitalisation and history of FITs. She also made sure we are kept in the loop in her emails and letters to the Dr. She also make follow up calls after each visit and very prompt in her reply to emails. HB is also very happy to have her as Ashley's PD.

Ashley is fine now and we'll be bringing Ashley to see the Neurologist tomorrow morning so pray that everything's gonna be fine.

chilles
I didn't receive the PM but I saw a ATM transfer in my account so I guessed it must be either you or Sunny but I thought it should be you cuz u sent me an email asking for my account number

Cookie/Tabbi;

Really not easy with No. 1 still so young. I read both your posts and think 'aiyo, story of my life too'. I was breastfeeding Gabby just now and Rory came up to me and wants to lie on the breastfeeding cushion too :\

I really thank God for my mum, and I hate to think how I'll have to cope when she leaves in October. Hopefully, Gabby settles into a routine soon cos she's like a permanent attachment to my boobs now.

It's nice to have an outlet in the form of this forum and even better still, knowing there are mummies here in similar situation - makes me feel less alone.

Clare;
Hope it's nothing major with Ashley, keep us posted. Keeping my fingers crossed for you.

Re: Caning

Mamachan;
Do you find that the cane works? Sometimes I smack Rory cos he keeps pulling books off the bookshelf and throws them on the floor. But it seems to have no effect on him *sigh.

Clare
Sorry to hear about Ashley.. hope you will be able to find out more or the root cause of the fits. Having read so many good feedback abt Dr Khor.. I'm sure you guys are in good hands.

CassCl/Tabbi
Lets jia you to get thru this stage... I was msning with Esther and encourging each other..haha..

Re:Caning
Casscl
Same here.. Kae like to throw/feed everythign to the dogs, from her toys to our handphone etc. both my hb and myself has cane her for her action. She cry for a while but forget abt it and continue trying.
Somehow.. I decide not to cane anymore since it's not working.

mashy
I was from a girl's school and we were overtly well-prepared for the oncoming of menses. In fact, when my menses came, I was very calm and well prepared and had lots of Laurier samples to use. All I did was to call my mum to tell her that my menses came, went to my room, whip out a pad and wear it. I still remember I felt like I've suddenly become a "big girl" then. Haha.

CassCL
The cane is effective for Daren. I think it's how hard you hit. My gf whose gal is older than my boy by 2 months, she shared that she used the cane but it didn't work, I asked how hard you hit, when I saw her demo on her own thigh...I was thinking,"No Wonder..."
Now, don't get me wrong, I don't believe in hitting with many strokes, mine is just one hard, swift stroke (can hear the fwoop sound) on Daren's fat thigh. It was pain enough to make him scared. It even left a mark for a day! I was heart-pain of course but I told him very firmly that No means No... it took awhile for him to register, but nowadays when he does something undesirable, I will go in a firm tone, "Daren...You want Mr Cane to beat you?" and he'll freeze and look at me and look at the cane and then walk off without "committing the act".
End of the day, it's up to individual parents and your parenting methods. I have to keep to my word as in when I said I will cane if they do it a 2nd time round, I must mean what I say. So Daren knows that my words hold water... Of course I dun wish to become a monster mother with a caning tendency....have to apply the cane when you are not angry.

I got my hubby to sign up for fruits actually, but Tabs, if you wanna bring fruits, it's ok, maybe I'll bring jelly or agar agar then...

Gerald - biscuits
Aden - sausages
aiden - potato chips
charmaine - sandwiches
Melody - popcorn
Tabby - fruits
Elizabeth - juices
Edgar - biscuits (maybe the gerber stars)
Lisa - fruits (watermelon)
Shannon - Jelly

smacking & caning
I have caned Ariene before but it hurts me too much when I see the red mark on her thigh afterward. Also, when Ariene sees the cane, she'll cry Noo.. pain pain.. so heartache.. so I asked my maid to "hide" the cane from me so I cant use it on her anymore. Now, I just use my hand to smack her hand when she does something wrong. It gets the message across for my case. Few days ago, she took the crayola crayon and started leaving signatures of her masterpieces everywhere - sofa, chair, wall, door, table. I took her to each & every place that she shouldn't scribble on, point to the scribbling, very sternly tell her "NO, we don't draw here" and smack her hand, then show her the sketch book and tell her "Yes, that's right we draw here". All the while, she knows she's done wrong and her head hung low down. Towards the end, she was dropping tears and she said "Sorry mummy" and gave me a hug. After that, I asked her to get a damp cloth and clean up her mess. Now, if she forgets and tries to draw elsewhere, I'll give her a stern NO and she'll go get her sketch book and say "Draw here".

Payment updates
Sunny - $57.60
Aileen - paid
krissie - paid
chickenlittle - paid
tabbiseus - paid
wenyl - paid
Chilles - paid
flo - paid

Sunny, do u have my account numbers? You've never joined my sprees before, so I don't think u got my account numbers right?

re caning
we do use the cane but it's only hb who does that. usualyl JH knows when i really mean it and will stopp it. he will give me this really pitiful look...

clare
oh dear, hope can find the cause of ashley's fits. sounds so poor thing....

i agree Dr Khor is very personal and she takes pride in her job. can really see how much she enjoy her job

sl,
hee i think Flo can claim referral fee too!

cookie, tabby, cass
jia you jia you, sounds like a really tough job with number 2 but it will pass right? when we had number 1, we also feel that it is very tough and wonder when things will get better. must really learn from all the experienced mummies next time.

Yuki - Tks for the info. Am looking at so many places

Babylon - My prayers are with your colleague. My mum was diagnosed with 4th stage breast cancer last yr. She removed one breast & underwent 4 session of chemo. She has recovered and is on 1/2 yrly check-up & mammogram for the next 5 yrs. It was a very trying time for everyone emotionally, mentally & physically. Experiencing the time with my mum, I encourage a strong support group for your colleague. It really helps!

Mamapanda,
Can I check with you whether the Nordic Cod Liver Oil which you have received looked like the below:
945546.jpg

Cos the bottles which I have received are labelled as Omega-3 Supplement instead of 100% Arctic Cod Liver Oil. I wrote to LV and they re-sent the bottles and the new bottles are still labelled as Omega-3 Supplement! I'm so pissed! I checked the Nordic Naturals website and I cannot find this Omega-3 Supplement under the Children's DHA. Though I compared ingredients and nutrition label on the bottles with that of the Cod Liver Oil stated on the website, they are exactly the same.

queen
eh...I went to check my bottle, the short write up on the bottle, it mentioned comes from "100% Artic Cod" so that's why they have the gold-standard printed label, etc etc. Cod Liver Oil is rich in omega-3 so I guess it's not wrong for them to put as Omega-3 supplement bah...

SY,
Aiyo....its really hard to tell and restrict them when it itch. My boy once also had this dunno wat bite and the whole area got so swollen. I guess the construction site wld breed mosquitoes. Very sim tia when they couldnt control and scratch so much.

Dunno why only at palm. GP only said sensitive...

RE : Caning
I dont use cane but use hand. But my boy very thick skin, sometimes no respond even though turned red. When I raised my hand, he wld act cute. I wld beat and tell him why he kena beaten. Sometimes i think he understands as he stopped watever nonsense but at times, he ignored me. If i beat, must let him hv "feeling" or it doesnt hv much effect. I bought a wooden spoon recently as it has a bigger surface area. Hv some pain but guess wldnt be as painful as cane. I scared when I'm so angry wld cane hard.

Aileen,
Haha.. think Edgar was caught by surprise, that's why didn't retaliate.

Yuen, SY,
My maid's bday was beginning of this month. We bought her a cake and gave her a surprise by coming out from our bedroom with a litted cake, bday present(purse) and a $100 ang pao. She was very touched to see the cake as she told us that she has never had a bday cake in her whole life before. And of course we were quite shocked to hear that.

Cookie
Sounds like youre overload, take care ya

Ive collected the stuff from Queen, let me know when your hb wanna pick up the stuff

Clare
Is Ashley feeling better now? Dont worry, shes in Dr Khors good hands. Ive gotten the stuff from Queen, is your hb working tom?

SL/SY
Heehee, if I get referral fee, I can be her manager full time
Jokes aside, Dr Khor has never failed to impress all the frens Ive recommended to her so far. Frankly, shes one of the most dedicated doc Ive seen, so passionate about her jobthats why Ive no qualm about recommending her to anyone

CL
I was told not to waste $$ on cancer marker test cos its not very effective in detecting cancer in the early stage

Babylon
Hope your colleague has a miracle

Re: Cane or hand
Read somewhere it's better to use cane/ruler/balloon stick to beat so as to differentiate between sayang (which uses hand) and beating.

Thanks for all your feedback on your toddler's eating habits, especially sleepingdeer's 4 points. Will remember them by heart. And guess what happened today? Our fren actually fed himself dinner which was some sauteed onion, cauliflower, butter beans and garbanzo beans with tomato, served with steam rice and a grilled drumstick!!!! We didn't even lift a finger trying to feed him. Was I overjoyed or what!?! What we did differently this time was to deliberately include him into our dinning table by turning his hi-chair towards us. We also ask our helper to sit away from Keenan and eat with us like normal instead of facing him (confrontational)and trying to 'force-feed' him. And he had a plate filled with rice and sauce and drumstick on the side. The veg dish is served separately in another bowl. I guess all these little changes made him feel like an adult, just like one of us, that's y he happily chomped down his food.

O, and I forgot to add that he had a super long nap today and woke up like 5.30pm. So he actually missed his mid afternoon milk feed. Guess that's why he was hungry by dinner time too. Hmm.. that makes me wonder if our toddlers are taking too many milk feeds... is this also why they cannot take in anymore solids?

Sunny, Cookie,
Try using split red lentils. They cook faster than the brown ones. I normally get mine from Origins in NTUC/ Cold Storage.

Krissie, CL
re: teachers day
Ethan is (or rather I am) baking cookies for his teachers.

Mamachan,
Daren is heavy!! But cannot tell hor? Think he must have lots of muscles. Keenan is tall but only weighs 12kg+. Haha, his little brother catching up with him soon, he is 8.3kg now. He's much fatter than Ethan and Keenan when they were 4mths old. O yes btw, Keenan and Declan can share nappies liao!!!!! They both can wear Pampers L size!! OMG!

Denmy
Yes, Daren has got muscles! Haha he runs around all day at home with his beloved ball, kicking the ball like soccer playing basketball and even sitting on the ball with good balance like we adults on the gym ball! My friends thought we subjected him to weight training when they saw his arms taut when carrying his toys around! Declan is BIG!!!! Wearing L size diapers already?? So fast!

Flo
Yah, I mentioned before that we should avoid using hands to beat/smack as hands are meant to love and hug our children while the cane should be used for disciplining so as to differentiate the cane from us as though it is a person itself. Imagine when we always use hand to smack then one day when we were to raise our hands forward to sayang, the poor child will duck away thinking he's gonna get smacked again. But different folks, different strokes.

Denmy
Oh wow, Declan is a little sumo

RE:Nap
My mom was telling me that Mel will automatically take her nap in the afternoon these days. She'll just give her pacificer and bolster and tell her to 'sui jiao'. Mel will then go into the room and lie on her mattress and nap on her own. Was on leave on Mon and around 2+, Mel just took her pacifier and hug her teddy bear and climb into her cot and within 15 min she was zzzzzz. Am hoping one nite she'll surprise me by going to bed on her own...haha

Sysac,
We went to Hua Hin a few years back. The resort and beach was nice but the 3-4 hr drive there from BKK was a nightmare!! When we reached The Evason, it was like 11pm and Ethan puked onto their nice red sofa!!! :p

Queen,
I checked mine. It's exactly the same as yours in the pic. It has Omega-3 Supplement written at the bottom. I got mine via Slinky.

RE: Caning
I dunno if Jamie is thick skin or what. Whenever we cane her with balloon stick. She will only rub and keep quiet, and carry on with her wrong act. Really hope that she know it is painful and cry. But she dun do that. I am worried that it will be difficult to educate her next time.

New Mummies,
It is really difficult to cope with #1 still at this age. Must JIA YOU!!

Denmy,
Wow, ur #3 is really big size! Good job!

Denmy - Tat's the reason it's preventing me from going to Hua Hin. I cannot stand sitting in the car/bus for so long. Anyway, I am a crazy Gemini when it comes to holidays. Have lots of destinations in mind, plans, etc. Then cannot decide until it drives me crazy! Haha...

Denmy
Thanks on the tips on Lentils..
Err.. any recipe to share on how to cook Lentils? I believe I have never tried Lentils before(!)

Wowo your little Declan can wear L size already! Good job on BF!

Mamachan / Denmy,
Thanks for verifying the Nordic Naturals. I wrote to Nordic and they confirmed that the product is theirs but did not explain why the cod liver oil is labelled as Omega-3 Supplement instead of 100% Arctic Cod Liver Oil as shown on their website. At least now I know that the product is authentic.

Cookie,
I have extras of the Nordic cod liver oil because of the reshipment. Do you want to have a bottle?

Denmy,
Declan is doing very well on your BM! Good job!
Does he look like Ethan and Keenan?

SY,
Hope JH's rashes are fading!

Mamapanda,
Ariene can say quite a few things liao... so fast. Isaac just know 'please' only and it sounds like 'piss'.

Re. milk feeds & nap / Sleep
Isaac is also rejecting at least 1 milk feed per day, either the afternoon or bedtime milk feed. Have thrown away so many bottles of milk, all the time I'm thinking that there are babies starving in Africa and Isaac is rejecting his milk! Sigh... so nowadays, I will ask whether he wants milk first. But sometimes, he will say still 'nen-nen' and I'll make the milk and then he refused to drink! Really makes me fume!
He sitll nap twice a day, at 10am for about 40 mns to an hour and at about 3.30pm for 1 to 1.5 hours. He's very needy when it comes to sleeping, he can never fall asleep on his own. He needs me to lie beside him in the day and at night needs both me and hubby. So up till now we haven't been able to get him to sleep in his own room. Tried a few nights and he will wake up in the middle of the night and walk to our room crying.

Went to Bottle Tree Park last night for dinner to celebrate my birthday. It's a really nice place near Yishun Ave 1. It has a large pond for fishing, children's playground, and of course the bottle trees! They looked really funny. Hahaha. The food at the restaurant is so-so but think we will go back again to take a walk at the park. The whole place is so kampong-looking.

Re: Nordic Cod liver oil and multi vits

Think they really help to make my boy stronger. Last week, he had a cough, he took only 3 days to recover!
Previously, it would have developed into bronchitis. But now, he recovered much faster without any complications. Think they really helped.

Denmy
Ha ha impressive with Declan's weight. Good job. Ha ha for me I oso never bake except for home economics in secondary school. Now have to bake for Charmaine. Just got the ingredients yesterday. Will do it tonight. Hope it turns out well.

Mashy
Yes I went last weekend after class. Very nice and both Charmaine and Aden had fun in the water. Hb caught 12 fishes , each day some will die, now only left 3. Dunno how many will survive today

Queen
Re: Nordic Cod liver oil
I think they change the packaging cos the earlier batch I've gotten from mamapanda has the wording 100% Arctic cod liver oil but the new batch is just Omega-3 Supplement. If you look at the ingredient it says 100% Arctic Cod Liver Oil

Sorry mummies, anyone staying near CCK or bukit panjang has got this ikea cushion ? Need it for a team building event in office tomorrow

945808.jpg

Huh mashy

You never feed the fish ? My hb feeds everyday leh. I think all these fish sure got heartattack because everyday kenna tramatize

mamapanda
sorry that i haven't asked you to pm me your a/c number, please pm me, i try to trf to you asap... so sick these few days... i am wondering when my MS will totally go away....

clare
hope the doc at Mt E could find the root cause of the fits. take care.

flo,
hearing so much good things about Dr Khor makes me wants to try her out too. I would like to use her for my #2. I can't stand the waiting time at Dr YY Yip's clinic. Make appointment = no appt. always gotta wait so long! but when is a good time to switch to her. i mean immediately after edgar is born or after a few initial appointments. coz i think after discharging from hospital, there is a follow-up within a few days right? sorry don't know if u are the right person to ask this question. but tot maybe urself or some other mummies can answer my query. tia!!

thanks for the well wishes. JH slept quite well last night. i say it's really money well spent!

flo
wow, mel is such a good girl. will know that it's nap time.

denmy,
keenan's dinner sounds so delicious!! how do u find time to cook such nice food for him? u r inspiring me to cook nicer food for JH. currently it is just porridge, porridge and more porridge.

CL
i think my sis has the pillow. let me go and check,

Denmy
where do you get all these interesting stuff like butter beans etc? are they soft enough for them to eat? JH doesn't like to chew.

re hitting our todds,
i tried hitting edgar on his palm using my hands but it has totally no effect at all. instead he just look at me straight in my eye, don't know what's going thru his little mind. more like he's puzzled why i hit him. for him, scolding him is enuff to make him cry but that doesn't stop him from committing his mistakes. so now, i just try to avoid the situation for him to commit his mistake. for eg, he loves pouring water out of his cup or tilting the water bottle upside down to see the water drip. so i just make sure i'm around to jaga when he does that and stop him before he's going to commit the mistake. am i being to lenient?? but i tried scolding and hitting him, just doesn't work!!! he must be a stubborn capricorn!!

re: hitting our todd
i haven't used cane yet. using hands... i think very minimal, can't recall when was the last time i used my hand to punish my gal. so far, i only raised my voice in strict tone whenever my gal did not listen to me after 2 or 3 nags. whenever, i started my 1st question, 'What did mummy say?' she will stop the action and follow the instruction, sometimes with cries/complaints.

denmy
i used the split red lentils, but after 2 hrs of cooking in slow cooker, it's still quite crunchy. is that normal? or it should be very nua?
and got to ask a stupid qn, how to prepare steam rice i.e. how much water to put in? and steam how long?

mashy
happy belated birthday. what is there to eat at bottle tree park? I thot of bringing Ger there one of these days.
He can take rice with our dishes.

Denmy
ya, your dinner for Keenan is so delicious. Wow.. Declan is so big liao.. ah, u gv me an idea. Maybe I'll go see if i can pick up small packets of cookies for his teachers for teacher's day celebration tom. Else, will be flowers loh.

Mashy,

Happy Belated BD!

Flo/Clare/SY,
Ya, have to say that Dr Khor's dedication is what makes us decide to keep going to her instead of our previous PD whose subspeciality is actually in lungs which is great for charmaine's main problem - coughing. But I think she's a bit don't-care-don't-care...

Aileen,
You won't regret going to Dr Khor - so far, I haven't. : )

Sunny,
For steaming rice, I usually put less water than I would put in the rice cooker. For rice cooker, it's 1 part water 1 part grains, for steaming, I would reduce it to 1 part grains to 3/4 part water.

Flo,
Mel's such a good girl! Sad to say, I am still nursing charmaine to sleep...

Mamapanda,

Ariene's guai and smart!

SY,
Glad that JH's feeling better! : ) It's really bad when they itch and yet can't control not to scratch.

Re: Speech
I wonder how's the speech development of the tods here? Charmaine still prefers to use her pointing skills rather than speech. The only 4 phrases that she would initiate are "milk, milk" (when she wants to nurse), "please" (whenever she wants sth and we don't give her, she will keep going "please" until we give her), "xie xie" (which she will say whenever pple give her sth she wants) and "no more" (when her fav food run out). Otherwise, she can parrot us but she won't never say, just point.