(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

trying to re-type my lost posting yesterday ... was trying to clarify why I use CGW over VPost. It started cos I wanted a book and it's very ex in singapore but very cheap in Amazon Marketplace (2nd hand bk), and Amazon Marketplace doesn't ship to singapore, so I've to choose VPost or CGW. And after surfing around, I've got a few merchants to buy stuff from and with VPost, there's a holding charge of $10+/week if not all your packages are in after 14 days from receipt of first package. I thot there would be delay as there are numerous merchants I'm dealing with, so I choose CGW which has no holding charges. But what's lousy abt CGW is if your order is very complex (like mine), u can't talk to them to check on status. Somehow I find they have no proactivity and I'm doing all the work to see if the packages are in and what's missing, etc. I'm not sure how good is VPost Customer Service like but I'm not very happy with CGW's. They only have a chat function and their replies are slow and shows lacking in information. I sure hope the book that started me doing this is worth it.

But if your order is just from Amazon and/or simple, CGW should serve the need. Yes, probably the reason for poor usage is limitation of cards and a registration process (that cause delays esp when u need to put in the order now and get everything done).

.ky.

Queen, it's quite ex hor? I think may be due to small class size too, only 6 to 8 max per class.

Re: Blood group
My blood group is same as Kirsten's, B+. She has mild jaundice for the first month and we didn't sun her much at that time because it was monsoon period. It just went away on its own.

Tracy
So Qiao! You also AB+? Same here! My hb is B+, so I thought Daren would either be AB+, B+ or A+, so turns out he is B+.

SY
JH could likely be either B+ or O+. Depends on yours and hb's blood phenotype. When I gave birth in KKH, they didn't do blood testing for Daren, but I donated his cord blood to SCBB and a friend of mine is working there whom I approached to volunteer to donate the cord blood, so she helped me find out.

Blood group type
I think the worst case scenario is either mother or baby has got a "minus" sign behind the blood type also known as Rhesus Negative and the other has got Rhesus positive, makes the pregnancy very high-risk and gynae will have to always monitor the pregnancy. This only occurs in hb and wife where one party has a '-' and the other a '+' i.e. A- and B+.

mamachan

KKH doesn't do blood testing?

They seemed to be really behind in terms of service and it's getting more expensive.

Check out this news article abt a lady who delivered in KKH. Her consultation fees are $80 per visit! Mine is a pte gynae and her consultation fees are only $50 after the first time fee of $80. And they did a crappy job for her. So poor thing, gotta go thru so much becoz of a crappy dr & system.

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,138547-1187042340,00.html?

mamachan,

ya what u said about the "minus" is very true. my gynae was just telling me the other day after my detailed scan. Clariss is AB+ which is made up from me B+ and my hubby A+. I wonder what blood group my 2nd daughter will be.

Valerie,
good luck for your scan. actually some people was telling me that most of the time if it's a boy, then the likelihood that he will be opening his legs and "flashing" is very high, most mummies with boys know their gender quite early during the pregnancy, heehee. But no matter what gender, I am sure as long as the baby is healthy and active, we will be very happy. my baby was sucking her thumb and pulling it out when I did the scan on sat. so funny to see the action.

Cookie,
cheer up and dun worry. I believe it's all in the hormones that make us teary. although we all know this, we still can't really control our tears. I keep telling my hubby that I am not going to be "me" during my confinement and I want him to give in to me as much as possible. heehee! the last time he was questioning me so much whether is clariss hungry or not, really feel like giving him a few slaps when he asked that. trust your motherly instincts to do the right thing and don't listen to those negative comments.

I think I did fairly well for my interview just now but think the boss's boss was a bit concerned about my maternity leave. I told them that I know that i will not be entitled to ML since I will only have less than 180 days with the company but I hope that the company will consider giving part of it. i think the boss's boss is not really concerned about the money but more about the time I will be away for ML if it was really given to me. they will get back to me by end of the week. I think I will stand a very good chance if I am not pregnant but nevertheless, i already tried my best and I have nothing to lose with the other offer on hand. heehee!

mashy_brainz,
I read about the article from the new paper. ya, it's really quite scary. she actually asked for a senior consultant if I am not wrong, that's why it's so expensive. they go by their title for the charges but because she choose a B2 class, she couldn't use the gynae that she choose.
BTW, the same thing happened to me when I delivered clariss. my placenta didn't come out on it's own after the jab at the thigh. my gynae really looked quite worried. he was telling me and my hubby that he may need to pushed me to the operating theatre to have a c-section to remove my placenta if it still doesn't come out. then he asked for gloves that is up to the elbow. I almost fainted when he asked for that because I wasn't on epidural and what he intended to do was to manually use his hand to fish it out. yucks! I think my legs are going soft again. he did that and I only use the gas as the pain killer. the placenta was in pieces but all the pieces are there and I didn't have excessive bleeding. I am glad that I chose a experience gynae. he was so confident. phew! I hope my placenta will come out in a piece this time round.

mongs
When will u be coming to collect ur feeding pillow ah? You'll need it 4 ur princess right? or you're waiting for ON stuff to arrive then collect together? ON stuff should be here bet thurs to sat cuz CGW sent email to me to tell me I can expect to receive it 4-6BD yesterday.

mongs,
Most likely AB+ for your #2 too. My dad and mum are A+ and B+ and both my sis and I are AB+.
I remember in younger days, we only know our blood type when we do blood test at pri 6. My sis was telling me I surely O+ and O+ is weaker, not like her AB+. Hahaha, my sis lurves to make up stories to me last time, and being the younger one, I tend to believe her!

I remember she once told me the Cenotaph Memorial at City Hall was a beheading equipment used during WWII...and i believed her. Was so afraid of that place when I was young. :p

cookie
don't feel to sad.. i know how you feel.. tabby was also admitted to kKH for phototherapy.. and one of the nurse was very rude during admission and i don't normally flare up or lose my temper, but i was very angry and started pulling rank and insisted on complaining on her poor attitude.. i asked for her name and was all up in arms to complain and make her life miserable .. when even the amah bringing us to the ward told me to give her chance... i must have really been hormonal cos even my hb got a shock!

I really missed tabby then and would cry. Aiyor those days... no milk also cry, too tired also cry... no reason also cry.. most shocking was i was watching tv and something sad was showing (mind u a cartoon) and i was sobbing... by then my hubby was very surprise and just hugged me..

RE: playgroup
i'm all in for the food decorating thingy cos tabby missed the last class... she loves playing with her food now..

Queen
do you want me to pay you now? or with all the shipping charges for the gap spree?

anyone else wans cb calendular, aloevera cream or sambucol? my LV spree #9 can take in 1 last item b4 i close it.

mamapanda

yah, a lot of pp still don't believe that KKH is expensive unless you're a subsidized patient. I've made comparisons before to choose hospital and discovered that Mt A and TMC are comparatively cheaper than KKH! And not to mention that their service is far more superior compared to KKH. Felt that KKH is like a conveyor belt delivery centre after I visited my SIL who delivered at KKH. They don't treat you like human beings lor. That's why I insisted on going either TMC or Mt A then. I also advised my other SIL to go TMC/Mt A when they were thinking of going KKH coz they were afraid of complications.

Cookie

hee..i was looking for a kaelyn look alike but your boi looks quite different. Glad you like the website. I love changing pictures now and then. For fun, I even put his daddy's picture in to entertain Aidan.

As for jaundice, Aidan was also admitted to Mt A for a few days. Being a 1st time mum, I was very heartpain, and was there for most of the day :p I feel the nurses there are quite good..haha...maybe because I was there most of the time, so they are under stress too:p

MAshy/MamaPanda
eh....I delivered at KKH and I had quite a pleasant experience in my case. Of course back then when my hb was still with SPF (his scheme was pre-1994) and we had I think up to 40% (or could be 60%) subsidy. We chose Dr John Tee and I was really safe in his hands and I like the fact that he made swift and fast decisions when Daren's heartbeat kept going down per contraction and from the labour ward. Perhaps God was really good to me that I had the best team players attending to me, from the lower ranking nurses, to the mid-wives, to the anaesthetist (she held my hand to keep me warm when I was freezing cold on the operating table for Emergency C-sect!!).

I think even though my hb is now with private sector, I would still go back to KKH, despite the cut-throat pricing, good thing my hb's company allows spouse/child to make specialist claims up to $600 per dependent.

I suspect this young mother who delivered, didn't really do her homework to ask around. Dr John Tee is the Senior Consultant, in fact, Head of O & G dept in KKH if I'm not wrong, so she paid a higher price for consultations (suspect via the Private Suite) while saved on the hospitalization part. She could have went via Clinic A to see Dr John Tee and then towards nearing delivery, make the decision of opting for the private care by the gynae during delivery.

mongs
Your #2 might be AB again, or could be A, B or AB and even O...as mentioned, really depends on your phenotype. If you and hb's phenotype is purely just Bb and Aa (known as homozygous)respectively, then chances are #2 will be AB+ like Clariss, if you are Ao and hb Bo (known as heterozygous), then #2 can have either of your blood type or similar to Clariss. =) Hope I'm not being too scientific here... some trivia info =P

Cookie,
I cried buckets too when JW had to be admitted for jaundice. On top of it my hb quarrelled with the nurse coz she was also quite rough with JW.and she actually drop him into the cot and we heard a pop sound. I think he actually slipped out of her gripnot that she meant to do it on purpose. But wat upset us was that she denied it and raised her voice at us when we requested that she be more careful next time. I was so worried that she would take it out on my boy after we left that I kept pulling my hb back from quarelling more.so I know what you mean by the nurses sometime seems to be not so gentle with bb.

Hope kyler jaundice gets better soon and then he can go home!

mamachan
i dun think i know JH's blood group. i also delivered at KKH.

mashy
i agree that KKH is not cheap. but my experience not too bad so i probably will go back there...

SH
the nurse was so terrible....cannot even comfort the parents a bit...

mongs
hope you get the job u want!

Hey cookie - Take care. Cephas was in & out of NUH thrice for jaundice. As he was premature, small & jaundice level was high, he had to be admitted each time after the blood test. I was commuting btwn home & NUH 2x a day for 10 days aft giving birth. By the time he was home, confinement was almost over
Fortunately, his level was stabilised & he came home a week b4 X'mas.

Mashy/Mamapanda,
Err.. sorry to disagree but I delivered at a restructured hospital too - SGH. My experience was really very pleasant from the first appt to discharge. I paid $80 for consultation too but my delivery charges are very low - all from hubby's CPF - no need to top with cash. I stayed in A class ward some more. Only have 2 complaints - the so-called lactation consultant cannot make it - Yen Peng at KKH was much, much better. The second one - waiting time to see my gynae was super long. But his assistant nurse is very nice, she would always "warn" the pregnant mummies is the wait is very, very long and ask us to go eat something first.

Speaking of nurses, the nurses at SGH were great too. Gentle with the baby and they responded to the babies quite promptly if the babies are crying. Maybe because there are so few babies at SGH that the ratio is almost 1 nurse to 2 babies when I was there. When Charmaine was discharged, there's only 1 other baby left in the nursery and there were 2 nurses on duty....

was doing a bit of reading up about post natal massage but I get a bit confused from the info that was posted in the other threads. then I became a bit suspicious because there will be posts that are posted by people who have very few post numbers. anyway, has anyone of you used Mdm Rokiah before? It seems like her charges are not cheap but there is a lot of good reviews about her skills. just want to do a bit more research before I decide. I used a lady called Rose but I didn't quite enjoyed it. maybe because I was worried the whole time that clariss will be hungry. I only did the massage once and didn't ask Rose to come back after that. Tabbie recommended Auntie Su which I am also considering.

ky,

Thks for the explanation. I didn't know that Amazon marketplace cannot ship direct.... Hmmm.. if I were to get something from the Amazon marketplace only, can go through vpost right? Shipping direct from Amazon quite slow leh. I got an email confirmation from them this morning. Apparently the estimated arrival date of my books is 31 Aug the earliest...

re: KK

Hmm i may be the the best person to comment abt KK and private hospital(TMC) since i delivered in both.

overall i think KK services is good from being in the labour ward to the op theatre and back to my room. b4 i am given the epid...the anaesthetist explained to me what he is gg to do and the nurses gave me a pillow to hug and ask me to hold her hand and squeeze it should i feel pain. i felt so assuring. but when i did it in TMC, there is no nurse comforting me.

In KK, they blow hot air when i was shivering after the epi...in TMC, no hot air at all.

In KK, the anaesthetist use a ice block to test on my body to check on the numbness b4 doctor operate on me. In TMC, after epi the op begins immediately.

Although 1 thg i must comment abt KK is that they did not give hb the baby bonus envelope and also no mittens or booties and their baby bag is so ugly and their confinement food is yucky compared to TMC.

But of coz, overall is still having the bb out safe and sound and must be in good hands of the expert. so i now tell ppl, want to deliver, go KK esp after wat happen to the lady in Raffles hosp. The nurse in KK told me if she delivered in KK, may not be tat bad since all the experts are all in KK.

Blood Type
Ha ha today is talking about blood. My family Daddy A+, Mummy B+, Sis AB+ and Me O+. Kids and hb both B+ and only me O+. Alamak noone can donate me blood if I need. Aiyo

Placenta
Actually I never see my placenta at all. But I am sure it is being removed liao

mongs - coz i got subsidy if i deliver in govt hospital. Pay only 15% of delivery fees. the bill has yet to come...so not sure how much need to fork out yet. my previous gynae does not operate in KK so no choice have to chg gynae.

I didn't see my placenta either but my gynae is very cautious, the MO didn't even dare to discharge me when I was apparently well already. All of them said the same thing, he must give the approval first. Must be he very fierce lah....

Queen,
I use ice bricks in my fridge-to-go now to maintain but think not much effect. Actually I only use it to transport EBM to my mum's place or my mil's place usually. But my medela cooler bag gave way a week ago so I used it to transport EBM from office to home. Since the freezer in my office is so small - just nice for my ice brick, no place for the fridge-to-go, I just put the fridge-to-go in the open. Only then I realise that it's not effective liao. Even with the ice brick, it's not cool. Think the medela cooler bag better but I don't want to buy one cos not sure how long more I am going to express.

SSF,
oic, u just joined the civil service? my hubby is a teacher and bf my gynae went pte, we were seeing him at kkh, save a bit of money. but he decided to go pte and we decided to follow him so went to delivered at gleneagles. think this time I will choose mt A. cheaper than gleneagles.

CL, u are so funny, u would have bleed to death if it wasn't remove. they won't show the mummies, they will ask the hubbies to see. the nurse kept asking my hubby to see the broken pics that she had managed to pieced tog but my hubby refused, just glimpsed and quickly look away. so yucky!

SSF,
I think it really depends bah, I was in TMC same time as you but different floors. There was a nurse holding me and talking to me when epi was administered. Before the op, the anaestheist checked by prodding me several times and asking me questions before confirming that we can proceed with the op.

So i guess it depends on the nurses on duty and the anaestheist at that moment.

ehhh
I've been in civil service the last 6 years but as far as I know, civil service do not cover in-patient bills anymore. As for outpatient, yes, you can claim 85% but subject to a max of $350 per year only. Also, not too sure abt this one but I think I remembered asking my AM last time, if you went to a senior consultant in KKH without a referral letter, you're considered private patient, ie, you can only claim $10 per visit. Mongs, which scheme is your hb under? From my understanding, only those who joined the service almost 20years ago have hospitalisation coverage. Otherwise, the general subsidy is applicable to all Singaporeans, which, makes KK cheap. This is because they "claim" the "subsidy" from our govt. If u look at the full price KK charges before subsidy, their pricing is exhorbitant, not forgetting this is tax payer's money.

hi, anyone knows anything abt Amazon Prime? I've Mamapanda?

Hi SL, I think though Amazon gave a conservative date, their stuff usually arrived much earlier than EDD ... the Amazon Marketplace merchants would use std shipping and that means 4 to 14 days and we are supposed to allow up to 3 wks for them to ship ... within USA. that's worse.

.ky.

mamapanda,
My hubby taught for only 4 years. Heehee. Ya, it's only outpatient. as spouse of my hubby, I need to pay 40% from his $350 per year. the rest is borne by the govt. We really use till the last dollar from the $350. plus 60% by govt so there is some savings there. If I choose to give birth and choose my gynae, I will be treated as pte patient so you are right to say that there is no difference unless I choose the subsidised ward during the stay in KKH. I think my understanding is right, correct?

Wah wah so many postings i can't even keep up!

cookie,
Poor Kyler! Must be painful for u to see him in hospital...hang on in there, am sure he'd be fine in no time! Keep praying for him!

RE: dizziness
Any of u experienced dizziness during ur pregnancies? I almost fainted twice already...first time was pretty scary coz i was alone with Janelle at Greenridge shopping centre and started to see stars...then she started to run off...and i couldn't find her coz i was seeing stars. Thank God i found her in the end! 2nd time was today. Dunno why i keep feeling faint...don't remember it happening the first time round i was pregnant! Or is it my specs are too old that's why i keep feeling dizzy when i wear glasses?? Hmm...

RE: PLaygroup
I'm all on for the ideas - be it art & craft or the cookie decoration thingy. I've also got finger paint and we can let the kids play with that - mess-free somemore

CL,
if it's not too inconvenient, could u bring the cookie stuff? If not, then nvm, i'm sure we've got lots of other stuff to keep our little ones occupied too!

Can i suggest that if it's not too difficult, that you all bring whatever you think might be useful for the art & craft session during playgroup? If not, i'm sure we can make do with the fingerpaint that i already have. Or play-doh.

RE: Lunch?
Any of you want me to prepare porridge lunch for your darlings, since i'm preparing for Janelle too? Do let me know! Can also feed them at my place before heading home, if you prefer.

RE: PLAYGROUP
Pls indicate whether you would like lunch for your darlings!

Date: 16 Aug, Thursday
Proposed time: 10:00 - 11:30am
Venue: Bukit Panjang, Jelapang Rd

1. durianlover - thurs ok, lunch
2. Rachel - thurs ok
3. mamapanda - ok
4. tabbiesus : ok
5. ky - Thu ok
6. sleepingdeer - ok, lunch

durianlover,
how many weeks pregnant are you? u are not anemic, are you? were you hungry, tired or sick when u feel like fainting? we are producing more blood for the baby so a good source of iron is important. I am 21 weeks pregnant and I don't have this prob. rest more and see your gynae to get some supplements if necessary.

durianlover
U sure u're not anaemic? Its a sign of anaemia or GD. Better go back to your gynae for a check of your blood pressure, blood sugar level and blood count. I had fainting spells too in the past due to my anaemia but being preggy cured me of my anaemia cuz my body produced more blood when preggy.

lunch
Ariene has a problem with porridge nowadays leh.. Maybe just a small amount (1/8 to 1/4 bowl?) for her to try try new tastes? I'll ask Ela to cook her meal as well. Nowadays she likes pork chop, beef steak, grilled fish & rice. I think she's getting alittle sick of pasta already.

2. Rachel - thurs ok
3. mamapanda - ok , small bit to try try only
4. tabbiesus : ok
5. ky - Thu ok

durianlover/mongs,

i am anaemic..as well as Thalassemia carrier..for faining spell is very common to me. I m already so use to it. Just need to be extra careful. Worst of all, everytime during menses or after..i felt very tired.

Durianlover
Will get it for you all tomorrow. Drop it off your place on my way back from work. May not make it for the playgroup on Thur.

I have dizzy spell during first pregnancy. It could be your blood pressure. Have it checked.

CL,
Just remembered, my hb saw you and your family having dinner at the coffeeshop near our place on Saturday evening at Punggol. He doesn't know your name, so he jus told me the hb is the photography at the scrapbook openhouse and I knew who liao.

Ya ya Tracy,
We were there. After going to my fren's place at 174, he was still hungry so when we drove past and saw that Crab Master. He stopped there for makan. But very disappointing. Anyone who is on for crab bee hoon should go for the one at Don Chicken Pie, my hb have been eating that for the past 2 weeks, $14.80 is very value for money and taste good.

Hi durianlover

Thanks for offering but i need to rush off at 11.30 to pump so i don't think i can stay for lunch.

Btw,do you mind if i drop by a little earlier? THey are fogging my mom's place tomorrow morning and my mom wants me out of the house by 9am.. so will get to your place by 9.30?

2. Rachel - thurs ok
4. tabbiesus : ok no need lunch
5. ky - Thu ok

RE: blood group
my hub is a+ and i'm B+, so both our children are AB+, and when i was a kid, i used to think that AB+ was really rare and special!

tracy
U say u're coming to my dad's place this sat to collect ur loot is it? wad abt wenylis loot? Are u collecting hers for her too? Ur loot are already waiting in Hougang hiding in my wardrobe :p My mum tends to complain if I start leaving bags and boxes in the room so gotta hide it. Hee.

chickenlittle
I tot Crab Master was very good? We love the salted egg crab there leh. Really unique and tasty. Their black pepper crab and chilli crab is also very nice leh.

hey, I just found a website that sells calendular cream cheap if we buy bulk : http://www.lifesvigor.com/

Buy 3 or more for $7.70 each
Buy 6 or more for $7.46 each
Buy 12 or more for $7.15 each

Maybe in 2 months time when our supply is lower, I'll organise another calendular cream spree from this website. Free shipping for orders above $100 and below 10lbs too.

mamapanda ... I've got free trial for a mth... trying to seeif there's any tiny print that I don't spot.

playgroup :
durianlover ... thanks for offering. I too need to rush home b4 going out again, so can't stay back for lunch.

2. Rachel - thurs ok
4. tabbiesus : ok no need lunch
5. ky - Thu ok no need lunch

durianlover,
i experience dizziness during my 1st pregnancy as well. mine was quite bad, i can't even queue up to buy my own lunch or hail a cab. if i'm walking, it's not too bad, but i can't be on my toes for too long either. my gynae said it's alright and common. i fainted once during that pregnancy and a few close shaves. fortunately this pregnancy i didn't experience it. it's really alot of an inconvenience.

CL,
Thanks! We contact each other again tmr via HP.

mongs, mamapanda, babylon, CL,
No leh, i don't think i'm anaemic. Never had any history of it. Gynae did say my blood pressure is on the low side...perhaps that's why. I'll check with him again when i see him next tue. I think i'm 19 weeks pregnant now...actually i kind of forget how many weeks i am...2nd pregnancy i really don't bother so much abt it as compared to 1st!

RE: Playgroup
tabbiesus & all,
Sure no prob! Feel free to come earlier. Actually we'd be up from 8am onwards so u can come anytime after 8am
If everyone comes earlier then we can also start on time at 10am...considering how long it takes to get the kids all settled down!

Btw, my place is kind of small and no aircon. Hopefully with 6 adults + 6 kids it'll be alright!