(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SH
no lah. read from the forum abt doing the play dough and since nothing much to do at home, thought of doing that with JH.

SY

I also made playdough over the weekend. Quite a failure.
The dough was lumpy coz i didn't dissolve every part properly and coz i used microwave oven, some parts became hard.

did anyone see the article? the boss of the co killed himself over the toy recall. so poor thing. his fren was the one who sold him the fake paint that contained lead

SY,
where's the article?? He killed himself? Poor thing...must hv been under lots of stress!

Btw, my girl is also cleanliness freak like JH. Haha...she likes to pick up dirt in the house and throw it away in the dustbin.

RE: PLAYGROUP
I'll PM you all my address. For others who'd like to join us, let me know so i can PM u my address too.
Btw i invited my fren who stays in Bt P to join us too. She's a homemaker with a 14 mth-old daughter. Hope u all dun mind!

ky,
I'm fine with either painting or drawing. I'm totally hopeless at art&craft so can you lead that section? My drawing is so terrible that Janelle thinks my banana is a moon, and my bird is a duck, etc etc
The only art materials i have are mahjong paper and crayola crayons. Would appreciate if you could bring the rest! Or perhaps the rest can chip in too, when we've decided on what exactly to do

Mamapanda,
Are u taking leave on Thurs to come for playgroup? Btw can u find the CD? If not i may have to borrow one...don't have any other CDs with action songs!

tabbiesus,
Would Thaddeus be coming too?

durianlover
Most likely I'm asking Ela to bring Ariene over. I'm trying to conserve leave as we're planning to go to Norway for 3 weeks in Dec to spend christmas and new year. Cross fingers hb can go.. really looking forward to it. I'll ask Ela bring the CD over.

mamapanda
oic
can i ask u a few more questions abt CGW? For all transactions, it has to be done via Amex card/POSB/DBS card as well or only shipping to be done via these cards?

So when i want to order, i must also enter all the purchases in CGW website?

SY
They only accept these 3 cards.

Actually, u can just lump the items together and enter the final qty. EG, elmo DVD 3qty, children songs VCD 5qty, etc

Cookie
Kyler is such an alert bb

Mongs
Congrats on having another girl

Queen,
My niece is also a very picky eater and is on the small side, so PD recommend her to take Pedisure.

SL
Mel is getting fussy these days too, always refuse to open her mouth. Will need to force the food into her mouth, if it taste ok, then will open her mouth to finish. Shes totally opp of Charmaine, likes only veg and hates meat.

CL
Haha, I totally agree. This the first time Mel will guai guai sit down and finish her art and craft lesson, even refuse to leave the table after shes done.

Durianlover,
Basically get some plain cookie/biscuit and let them decorate with chocolate and vanilla cream, just like how we decorate a cake with icing.

durianlover

what do you need.. i got lots of paints for finger painting if you guys don't mind the mess...

I also got some paper plates if you want to make some masks...

Nope, won't' be bringing thad cos i will die just trying to juggle both children alone.. Plus, tabby is very awkward nowadays cos anytime can have jealous tantrum...

Mamapanda
just transferred S$26.46 to you
Transaction Reference 1309029515

SY
i can't open your attachement, will try again later.. i'm ok with taking out the book..

wow so many pages of Archive...

As Kyler looks pretty yellow so This morning decide to brough forward the PD appt, Thank God we went today, Kyler jaundice turn out to be very high and PD has to admit him for photo treatment.
Tho I was "kinda prepared" but when I know I really have to leave him there.. I just couldnt control my tears. Poor boy.
Hope the jaundice will drop and be discharged on Wed.

Cheng
Thanks for the link.. it's soooo cute!

Cookie
I understand how you feel. When I was mentally prepared for Charmaine to be admitted for Jaundice, when I was on my way out from hospital. I received a call saying that she is transferred to ICU to monitor her heart beat as she was turning purple when she cries. I also started crying non stop and could hardly talked to my hb to update him. And for Aden he is also admitted, I told myself I will take the opportunity to rest while he is in hospital but still feel very bad. Actually we are also very emotional after giving birth. The nurse told my hb to be prepared as I may cry for nothing. For my 2 kids as per PD, 80% sure kenna jaundice with blood type B and mummy O. So realli nothing to be worried about. Take care.

Weekday Playgroup
So tempted to join the playgroup leh. Ha ha maybe "MC". Hee Hee.

Want me to get the stuff for the "Cookie Art" ? I can pass to KY or drop it off at your place. Of course the mummies attending must be ok to allow their little ones eat a little bit of choco, vanilla and etc.

cookie - awww...dun be sad. Kyler will be back soon in your arms. meanwhile, seek this opportunity to rest and express more milk for his return. Btw, didnt your hospital check for jaudice before discharging Kyler? KK did a test and although not high still ask us to go to polyclinic for a test the next day. and it was like 139 reading. then doc ask us to sun him and yesterday we brought him again and it went down to 119. doc says normal shld be less than 100. so bringing him over this sat for a last checkup hopefully. Does dr sim do the jaudice test? we are not sure so we brought him to polyclinic and it was fast so not too bad.

SY,
Many colleagues actually encourage me to have #2 but a senior did say "ya hor, got to wait until probation is over." So I guess they might mind if I am pregnant during probation lor.

Queen,
I passed the stuff to ur bro already. Sorry for delaying. Luckily this time round the hat fits Jamie.

Cookie - must be very 'xin suan'... but dun worry, Kyler will be home soon. like what SSF said, rest well during tis period... i rem the last time when celeste needed to do jaundice check at day 7 ( cos she looks rather yellow ), i aldy cried non stop... i tink i will cry til i faint there if she needs to admit! so u are aldy stronger than i am!!! Which hospital did u deliver at? i be headin to Mt A tonite to see my fren who just delivered, if u r there, mabbie can pop by to say Hi...

Mongs,
Congratz on another gal! Can save on buying new clothes! It's such a waste to not pass down the lovely girl clothes we all bot for our #1, which I'm sure we bought tonns of!

Flo,
Sama sama, nowadays Meg seems to prefer milk over solids in the evenings. Afternoon still ok, she can still take cereal or porridge. Come evening, most of the time I will need to press the spoon with porridge against her lips for her to taste first. If she likes, she will open her mouth and continue to eat. Sometimes she doesn't like, she will tell me, 'eat rice'...and I end up having to finish the porridge! She's got this thing for milk these days. Eg. last night, took abit of noodles, 830pm ask for milk, drank 180ml. 930pm drank another 150ml. And milk powder prices have gone up....:S

Cookie,
i remember I was crying for nothing one week after giving birth. Don't wori bout the jaundice, Meg had jaundice for about 2mths! PD said its breastmilk jaundice. It eventually went away on its own.

Cookie / SSF,
Don't worry about the jaundice. Most probably BM jaundice which is harmless. As long as you get the PD to check and you monitor closely, your boys should be fine. Can understand how you feel... Isaac was admitted to KK for 2 nights for photo-therapy as well and I cried and cried cos cannot bear to leave him and see him naked lying in the crib. On the other hand, I was kind of relieved that I have 2 nights to rest without having to tend to baby, but I still wake up faithfully to pump every 3 hours at night. Do continue pumping and bring your precious BM to the hospital for the nurse to feed. Also, during visiting hours, try to latch your boy on, even if he may not need to feed. It will make you feel better and give your boy some TLC. And also, be prepared for the jaundice to last for a while even after discharge. Isaac had it for more than 1 month and had to go to the polyclinic to do blood test every Sat, but the jaundice eventually resolved on it's own. There is no need to supplement with FM.

May,
Thanks for bringing the stuff over. I would say wait till probation is over before planning for 2nd one. Just in case... and you do not want to give any excuse for your boss or colleagues to pick on you because of preggy.

denmy
yah lor, poor guy. actually we wouldn't know whether the cardboard filling thing is fake or not. wd the chinese govt admit it's real?

re toy recall
i just saw on the web that mattel going to have a second toy recall...scary

cookie
oh dear, dun be too sad, look on the bright side, at least u guys went early.

hope kyler can be discharged soon!

babylon
hmm, strange, i emailed u twice already. will PM u as well then.

tabby
flo also cannot open the attachment. will try sending again tonight cos its' in my PC not my laptop.

CL
i also feel like going for playgroup but hard leh..got dept meeting

Tracy
wow, Meg sure drank a lot of milk last night.....

May
maybe it is better to wait for your probation to be over then. i know some companies dun really mind.

HI Mongs
Congrats!! a baby gal.. yes like Tracy say how nice we can pass down all the pretty clothes!

God Child
Kyler is in Mt A but I dunno if I will be there tonight. I gng over soon aft I finish with my pumping.
I tempted to cry and cry.. hahah but my hb look very worry so I hold back. Think later I will cry and cry again when I'm at Mt A. Somemore I see the nurse at the nursery not very gentle to bb.
1 of the bb cry very hard after mummy left, then the nurse try to pacify her after a while become impatient then turn out the bb still hungry despite mummy just nurse her.

Tracy
ya I was very teary afer delivery last round too. this time seems better maybe cos it's 2nd child so mot so up tight.
wow jaundice for 2 mth is a long time.. I'm sure the it wasnt serious la.

SSF
Kyler was already under the light for 1 day before discharge cos he was yellowish also.
he was 8.3 @ dischrage on Friday, if above 10 then cannot discahrge. when we bring him back on Monday he was 14.9 already. Thank God we decide to bring him in earlier, else dunno how high it will be.

I dunno if Dr Sim do J test but my friend who is KKH PD also told me to go Poly for blood test and poly suppose to have a special q for test NB juandice so will be very fast.

CL
Oh talking about blood type.. no wonder they were asking me qn like what blood gp am I.
I'm A and Kyler is O, and HB is B ley.. strange to me.. all 3 of us are different

Ya I too felt very emotional, must be hard on you during charmine time..

mamapanda
if I owe u any $. pls email me ok. I will not be reading the full thread. Thanks

Queen
thanks alot for sharing.
ya have been pumping since ytd..
I was still thinking what if bb has his feed when I'm there.. and you answer my question

Ok will latch him even he is not hungry.
Cant wait to see my bb Kyler..sob sob..

Flo
I remember u mention Mel also haven't had her MMR, and PD say can delay till 2 yrs.
MMR has 2 jab rite, the 2nd one is booster.
I sound silly but if we had the 1st jab say at 2 yr, then the booster will have to wait like 3 more mths then take??

tabbi
Err I received your payment via internet transfer already. BTW, I'm also hoping the CDs will be here before thursday. If they're here by then, I'll pass ur CD to you.

Celwong,
I need your Hp num and email. I don't seem to have your records.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>slinky</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.46 </TD><TD> $- </TD></TR><TR><TD>bblon</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $34.46 </TD><TD> $0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>clare</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>aileen</TD><TD>Songs from the station</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $20.03 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>celwong</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>Elmo's World</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbi</TD><TD>Lets go! Travel, camp & car</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $26.46 </TD><TD> $0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

cookie - *pat* pat* must be strong ya...it could also be the post natal blues that is kicking in esp after you just delivered. dun make ur hb worry...anyway Kyler will be home soon. go read some magazines or play with Kaelyn. may help to put your worries behind. ya polyclinic is good enough cos they need to do some lab test, extract blood from baby's heel and test on the jaudice level. very fast one ..just register then go lab then see doc. no medicine required also. so we did it in less than half hr and we are out of the polyclinic.

aiyo.. thursday's playgroup sounds like fun leh.. feel like bringing Ariene there myself.. but she never eat chocoloate before leh.. only vanilla ice-cream. She's so used to low salt low sugar foods she rejects foods that are too sweet or too salty. Sunday night we went out for dinner at a restaurant, I gave her some steam fish to nibble nibble. I even washed out the soy sauce gravy with plain water but she doesn't like it and spit it out. She was quite happy eating the plain rice.

Mongs, congrats on a girl! I'll be going for 15th week check this fri so may be able to see if boy or girl by then. I'm also half hoping for a girl so can wear Kirsten's clothes. hehee...

Queen, you were asking why I chose Purple Train right? I think it's mainly because it encompasses Montessori and Kindermusik, so I feel they have a good spread of learning and activities. So far, there haven't been any cases of HFMD there too. But it's more pricey, $500 for a month, daily 3hr playgroup, Mon to Fri. I think can send to a normal full day cc for this amount of money liao. Somemore got subsidy for cc.

Oh, and congrats on landing your new job! I remember I always loves to pretend play as a librarian when I was a kid. So much fun I had then!

cookie,
When we visited Isaac in KK, he was the only baby lying in the crib without cushion. Dunno why. My HB felt heartpain, immediately ask how come Isaac is lying on the hard crib. Sigh... then there are also babies crying for attention but I think there are only 2 nurses in the ward, can hardly tend to all the crying babies. So no choice loh...
I didn't know it's possible to have different blood group from parents...
But it's true that if your blood group and Kyler's are different, the likelihood of Kyler getting jaundice is much higher. That's what the doc in KK told me too. I'm O+ and Isaac is A, same as my HB.

Flo / Tabbiesus / sl,
Orders placed with Gap! Only 4 of us in the spree.

Cookie, be strong ok? It must be very emotional to see Kyler handled not so gently and then lie exposed in the crib. Is Kaelyn better already?

Cookie
It's ok if Kyler turns out to be blood type O even if your hb is B or you are A =) In fact, maybe kyler will have each of your small and distinct features =) Take Care and do rest well!

Cookie,

Don't worry. My Charmaine also discharged only 2 days after I discharged. When she discharged that time, the jaundice level still high - actually not supposed to be discharged one but the PD said that no signs of going down so might as well discharged. But we brought her to SGH A&E for jaundice test the next day (cos it's the third day CNY - public hols) and to polyclinic the third day she's home then 1 wk later still 1 more jaundice test. Should be quite all right cos it keeps going down. I remembered the PD at SGH said that it's better to go polyclinic for the jaundice test cos they can do it on the spot and give you the results very fast wherease the private PDs would have to send it for lab test. When I took Charmaine to the polyclinic for the test, it's super fast. I was in and out of the polyclinic in 30 mins including waiting for the test result. I think they give priority to newborns.

Log in and post or read when you are feeling down. I remembered surfing and reading all kinds of rubbish then cos I was also feeling very down. I discharged on eve of CNY then hubby went to my pil's place for reunion dinner and I was all alone at home. Luckily got a lot of TVB canto drama to keep me accompany. : ) Finished watching the entire serial in 2 days.... That's also when I gave up all pretences of modesty and just pump in the living room where there's dvd player... I can lend you some - I still have the "pirated versions" at home.

Cookie,

Mel's PD also told me not to worry about the MMR and the DTP booster. Charmaine hasn't taken any of these yet. I also checked with the clinic where she has her jabs. Confirmed that as long as you finished all jabs before they enter pri 1 - it's fine. But the nurse said that if by a certain time, the clinic hasn't "report" to MOH that the child has completed all the jabs, MOH will send a reminder letter.

Flo,
I remember you mentioned that Dr Khor said that only the measles in MMR is compulsory? But the nurse at Charmaine's previous PD clinic said that all three are compulsory leh.

Re; Eating
Ya, it's much harder to feed her now. Sigh. Have resorted to switching on Hi-5 for her sometimes. Maybe my culinary skills suck... : (

Queen,
Thks!

Queen,
I remembered that you bought the fridge-to-go too? How's it now? Mine not cold already. Can only last for 5 hours max. Wondering if I should get a new cooler bag....

valerie,
Hmm, Purple Train sounds pretty good. But $500 a month is really very expensive. Dunno whether my HB will agree. I'll go check it out later.

sl,
Not sure how's my fridge-to-go is now. But it was still ok after about 15 months of use. But I always put ice packs inside as well so that it can last up to 14 hours. Did you try putting in ice packs? Anyway, it could be that the coolant liquid in the bag has 'degraded'? I think no harm buying a new one lah. Your this one use everyday for almost 2 years liao. Well worth the money spent already.

RE: PLAYGROUP
Pls indicate whether you can make it! Others can feel free to join us

Date: 16 Aug, Thursday
Proposed time: 10:00 - 11:30am
Venue: Bukit Panjang, Jelapang Rd

1. durianlover - thurs ok
2. Rachel - thurs ok
3. mamapanda - ok
4. tabbiesus : ok
5. ky - Thu ok
6. sleepingdeer - ok

Cookie,
hugs hugs, dun be sad, it's very common for newborns to get jaundice, and BFing doesn't make it better, but dun worry, Kyler will be home soon. The nurses at Mt A really look rough when they are handling the babies, but they are very knowledgeable and experienced.
Shannon was placed under the light on the day we were supposed to be discharged. Dr. Tan told us that her reading was 9 and we could still go home if we wanted to, but knowing jaundice will hit its peak at day 7 - 10, we also knew chances S would have to come back to hospital would also be high, so we opted not to discharge and stay a extra day... the light made a whole lot of difference, and S's level went down to 7 the next day. They look really poor thing under the light coz only wearing a diaper, and no pillow or cushion, just a hard bed to lie on, worse is when they sun their back, S was trying hard to push up her head, and she nearly succeeded, in the end landed on her face, aiyoh! But it makes them better very fast, hang in there!

Queen,
I stopped using my Fridge to go since I stopped working... hmmm, actually i prefer the medela ice pack and bag, find the milk will be icy cold...

cookie
can just bring kyler to polyclinic for the blood test. i used to go to the one at pasir ris for JH's test. they have separate q for babies so it's faster. the only thing is payment time is very slow.

re blood group
i din know that different blood group makes it more possible ot have jaundice. come to think of it, i dunno JH's blood group... me and hb both B+. so he shd be B+?

mamapanda
like ariene, JH rejects food that are too sweet or too salty. he doesn't like very tasty food. maybe i shd start exposing him to more adult food.

re jabs
if MMR not completed by 2 years old, MOH will send reminder...i intend to delay till JH is close to 2...

SY

re: blood group
not necc. JH could be O. Actually they would have done a test on JH when he's born on his blood group. Maybe u go and check his health book. Should be recorded inside.

cookie

take care! kyler will be back home safely in no time.
I remembered when my boy was hospitalised for jaundice and i was worried sick too. Try to rest well so that by the time kyler is home, you'll be all ready for him.

congrats mongs on having another princess!! =D

ssf and cookie,
ur princes photos are so cute! makes me wonder how mine will look like! :D

cookie,
don't worry about the jaundice and u feeling down. it's normal. edgar was also admitted for a day of phototherapy after being discharged. it's very common for boys to have jaundice. and i, of coz, being a first time mum, also cried. silly but normal lah! the concierge at the lobby of GEH even had to console me. how embarrassing!!

hi cookie ... don't have much to share, except that yes, bloodgroup does play a part for bb to have jaundice ... the Bumwear owner, Rita, who have 5 kids, have gone thru' this each time ... she's been sharing all these experience in AsiaParents... u might wanna check it out to know more ...

.ky.

Re: Blood Group
hmm..Meg is B+, so maybe that's why her jaundice took so long to go away? Hubby is O+, I'm AB+. Gynae already predicted she will be either A+ or B+...