(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sl
ya, that's what i did, too. same as you, no effect yet. but, i just let her be loh.
Me too worried about her being an autistic before. haha... but since she's quite sociable, i don't think she is lah.
y you said your gal is prevenar failure case?

mongs
I have given my gal prevenar already. PD charged $180 + $45 consultation fee. the last jab i let her have it at GP. around $160 with no consultation fee.... sigh.. should have brought her to GP initially.

Denmy,
Jus managed to contact Cannon Avent. It has now been taken over by Philips so they have shifted their showroom to Philips at:

620A Lorong 1 Toa Payoh, TP4 Building Level 1.
Mondays to Fridays 9am - 6pm
Saturdays 9am - 1pm

I wanted to get spare parts for my Avent pump too and they don't do mail order anymore, gotta go showroom to get. How inconvenient now.

MUMMIES
What is Prevenar? The bird flus jab or wat huh?
My son this monday going childcare liao. I thinking should i acc him for a day as u noe la he don noe them at all. The teacher ask me to put him there and leave but i thinking i should let him noe them first. Wonder should i take leave acc him on this monday at the childcare. Please advise me

RP lunch
See you at 12.30.

Linda,SY
I am so sorry today I forgot to bring all the stuff out as I was in a hurry.

SY, I will pass your book to SH ?
Linda, I will try to see how I can pass to you.

Sorry today I am in such a mad rush.

Denmy
Thanks see you later. I have just transferred money to you. Transaction Reference 1294859705

may
I can understd how you feel. I accompanied Ger to sch for only 3 half days this week and I miss him like mad. Not to mention, I wasnt in class with him the whole time. The thought of working part time keep coming into my mind. But, frankly, with 2 kids, it's not easy for me to work part time la, furthermore, the workload will not be reduced.

mongs
no la, my brother and i were also born at diff hosps. I really enjoyed my stay at Mt A. All the nurses were great and v caring and v supportive of bf.

SH
I think the CCs are mostly open on the day after National Day. They are only closed for a few days a year. But to be safe, think you shld call them before going to double check.

Erh, where is the Taka toy fair ah? Till when??

cookie
no probs.. lobangs must share mah.. I saw the advert in the lift in Mt. A, but didnt know how many % was the disc.. heehee cut and pasted the disc from the Oct 07 thread which I'll browse at.

sysac
heehee.. Ger also knows the same few words like FALL, ROCK, TOP, ALL. haha.. so funny.

RE: Speech
My gal is not making any progress too. I am still waiting for her to talk. She understand quite alot of our language already and is able to help me out with some household chores like throwing used diaper, putting dirty clothing into laundry bag.

RE: Stranger Anxiety
Jamie has no problem with it. Perhaps it is bcos she is out at the shopping centre every night bah. She will approach little kids, tap their shoulder and show them toys. She will wave bye and give flying kisses whenever we ask her too. She will shy off in the beginning when she meet new adults. But will start smiling to them after awhile. She is very scared of Old Man..haha.. everytime she is naughty, we will say "I will ask ah peh to come here." Then she will be good immediately.

Wendy

I thot the childcare centre will always ask you to leave the kid there from short period, then slowly extend. If you just leave him there and go, he may get wrong signal that you are not coming back.

For my 4 year old gal, I accompanied her half day then bring her back on first day. Check her reaction. Next day, I still goes in with her, then 2 hours later I ask her if I can go, she says ok then I disappear and appear half day over and bring her back. Third day, I left her there , told her I will be back, then half day, I ask her if she wants to continue , she says ok , so I left and return again.

For young kids, I think they will need your assurance that you are coming back. It is new environment for him so I feel should not leave and go

wendyheng,
I tot CC normally allow parents to be around during the first 3 days? Mentally prepare him to get ready for school a few days in advance. Tell him that tmr he will be going to school to meet his new friends and teacher. There are alot of fun things there. When u are there, he will bound to come to u as he knows that u are around. Encourage him to do things himself and ask him to approach his friends/teacher instead of u. Make him get used to not having u around.

RP Lunch
It's my non-working day today. Can join you ladies for lunch? Meet where at 12.30ah? which escalator?

Denmy
Will do IB shortly to your acc for the fruits and vege.

Wenyl, CL, sl,
got your $$ liao. thanks!!

Tracy,
thanks for the Avent address. I'll try calling Philips showroom...maybe can get to the operator via them. Btw, hb will go collect the pens from you today. 5pm ok?

sl,
Why Charmaine is a Prevanar failure case leh? I think Prevanar will not prevent all strains of flu right? Just maybe most of the stains?

SY,
Thanks for the link. I'm sure Isaac will love it.

RE. stranger anxiety
Oh dear, looks like my Isaac is a timid one... yesterday, my MIL told me that he was wailing all the way during the car ride back to my place in my BIL's car. She said he refused to get into the car and when he was in, he started wailing and keep wanting to open the door. My MIL thought maybe he was scared that they will bring him dunno where or that he was afraid to get into unfamiliar cars. Sigh... I dunno how to help him get over tsuch anxiety. Dunno if he will outgrow it.

Chidcare centre : I think some teachers feel that with the parents around, the kid would tend to run to the parents more and not willign to participate in class so sometimes the parents would proof to be more of a nuisance. However, if you insist of staying around for the first few days, the CC shouldn't object. Some CC would feel that with a good and fast departure, it sets a routine immediately. You are prolonging the pain if you hang around for a few days and give a wrong impression to the child, coz after that, you are going to drop him/her off and disappear after 5 mins. CL's girl was 4 yrs old and I believe kids by then can understand easily. My 4-yr would ignore me when he sees his frens... he'll literally abandon me and go and play with his frens :<

SH, CC has 5 additional off days in addition to public holidays. They tend to extend during public holiday periods or CNY or Teachers Day for eg.

Taka Fair : I think it's until 12 Aug ... then it's followed by a baby fair. I was there yesterday and managed to get some stuff within 1/2 hr. Got a learning clock, a threading board, and a fishing game. Am wondering if anyone can help me get the ball/bat set ($3) that I see in the newspaper today ... I didn't see that at fair. That would be very useful to promote gross motor skill.... for Kitchen set, I saw one that's selling at $69. I have that one. It's 4 ft tall and the 2 stove would make noise when u switch it on. It has a fridge, oven, and a clock at the top. I thot that's better than the tefal set coz it's bigger ... price also better too :>

.ky.

Thanks for all kind advice.

May
I don noe le. This teacher funny le when i go register i told her my aunt acc her baby for three days. Then she told me is better not to as baby will not be independent wan to stick to me. haiz I'll call up her today inform her i joining them on monday then i see his rection then decide whether i should take more leave to acc him or not loh

chicken little
But my son is only 19mths only. I think your advice since like a good idea. As i said i'll call the teacher say i'm joining for first day c his rection encourage him to mix with them then c how loh. hee

Thanks for kind advice

wendyheng, mongs
Prevenar is the pneumoccocal jab. I've already given Ariene the full dosages. Took 4 jabs in all cuz she started at 3months old. My PD charged $176 per jab, no additional consultation cuz its already included in it.

Rachel,
Don't worry. We understand your good intentions. I just wanted to clear the air cuz there's too many scams going around. If all of them were really true, we'd all end up vegetarians. In fact, we'll all starve to death cuz even vegetables contain high amount of pesticides, esp those from China. There's simply not enough of organic vegetables around for all of us.

hi mummies, I received this from my friend and I'm sharing it with you as it doesn't seem like a chain letter. Besides, we're having sort of a Dengue crisis so you might want to know abt this.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Dear friends
You may have read the report on Pg 4 of today's Straits Times entitled "Sportsman, 26, may be 4th to die of dengue". This young man is my husband's nephew. From the info I've gathered, Ian's death is a tragedy that could have been prevented and I'm writing this email to warn you, my dear friends, to be more pro-active when dengue strikes a family member or loved one.

Last Wednesday, Ian came down with a fever. He went to see a GP who gave him a blood test which turned out to be normal. Being in the adventure sports business, he was not one to take a fever lying down, literally and figuratively speaking. So he was up working at his projects whenever the fever subsided. By Friday evening and early Saturday morning, he was so sick that he called an ambulance at 6.30am to take him to SGH. He waited at the A&E for more than 3 hours, in an observation ward, before he was warded at 10am. (Another friend of mine, who went to SGH on Tuesday night and was discharged on the morning that Ian was admitted, waited 9 hours for a bed. During this period, no one came to check on her or give her water. Fortunately, she recovered after her platelet count went to as low as 21K, ie, 21000).

Based on what I learnt from a neighbour and a relative who had dengue years ago, once the platelet count dropped below 25K, platelet transfusion was given. However, when the friend whose platelet count dropped to 21K asked the nurses, she was told that she would only be given a blood platelet transfusion when the count drops below 10K. The normal level is 140K.

Ian's mum and brother went to see him and found out that his platelet count was only 13K. Throughout Ian's stay in the general ward, he had severe abdominal pain and went to the toilet to pass motion so often that he became very weak. He was only given blood transfusion at about 12.30am . He was only sent to ICU at about 11.30pm because there was no bed in ICU earlier on when the doctor determined that he needed intensive care. He was on the drip but the amount of saline solution given him was insufficient for his severely dehydrated condition and his blood
pressure dropped to a below recordable level. When the rate of flow was doubled, his blood pressure went back up to normal. At 2am, he sat up in bed and siad he was fine but cold and wanted to sleep. At 3am, he suddenly woke up with chest pain and
almost immediately his heart stopped beating. The hospital staff tried to revive him over the next 90 mins but to no avail.

And that's how the family lost a grandson, son, brother, nephew, grand-nephew and cousin. Here are the lessons I have drawn from this tragic episode:

1. Listen to your body - when you have fever, drink plenty of fluids and have plenty of rest.

2. When the platelet count is so low as to be less than 10% of normal, insist on blood platelet transfusion. Have complete bed rest.

3. I don't understand how the blood pressure could have dropped so drastically. Did the staff take the bp regularly enough? Maybe we should invest in a blood pressure monitor to monitor the pressure of the patient ourselves.

4. Severe abdominal pain is a red flag in the management of dengue cases. The patient may be about to go into shock. Inform the doctor and do not use the toilet but stay in bed. Do everything in bed and drink lots of fluids. You can read more about this in the documents at "http://www.cfps.org.sg/pdfs/DengueAdvisory.pdf" and
"http://www.epid.gov.lk/pdf/Guidelines on clinical management of DFDHF.pdf" .

5. Buy medical insurance so that you can afford higher quality care.

DON"T TAKE DENGUE FEVER LIGHTLY. GET PLENTY OF REST AND DRINK PLENTY OF FLUIDS. IF YOU FALL WHEN YOU HAVE A LOW PLATELET COUNT, INTERNAL BLEEDING CAN HAPPEN. PLEASE DO ALL YOU CAN TO MAKE YOUR SURROUNDINGS MOSQUITO-FREE.

God Bless You
LiSa Ng-Tay Lee Siang
---- END OF MESSAGE ----

Mamapanda, would TTSH be a better hospital to go to as it seems the specialized effort is all stationed there? I believe SGH would have a lot of explaination to do as it seems they didn't react quick enough. It's a scary thot what kind of hands we put our lives into at the hospital

.ky.

ky

think if go ttsh also no diff lah. TTSH is well known to have shortages of beds. MOH should look into increasing the no of beds and hospitals!

Queen, I also thot the same when #1 was abt this old ... whether it's worth it. So I got a 2nd-hand one. It did keep him entertained, on-and-off, like other toys. After a while, when he''s not keen, it goes into storage and when it's out, he would be happily playing. I actually got the 2nd-one (another 2nd-hand) that I mentioned earlier to replace this one. But now the boys would play with them everyday.... so I feel it's worth buying (2nd-hand at least). So if cost is a concern, wait around, someone would let go eventually somewhere. And pretend play is impt in kids' play. You notice a lot of play corners in CC/kindy have cooking corner. It teaches food concept, maths, fine motor skills (stirring, closing the cover, pouring) and imagination.

On being Autistic, my nephew is and from what I know, autistism is a spectrum, ie one can be mild or severely autistic. For autistic kids, they can't imitate or pretend play... so that's one thing to look out for.

.ky.

IMHO whether u go SGH or TTSH or NUH, they're all the same. Even if u do get a bed, you're still being "taken care" of by interns and newbie doctors and inexperienced nurses. The senior doctors there only come to see you once in the morning. Sometimes, you don't even get to see them at all. If u specify which senior doctor you want to see, they'll remove u from subsidy and charge u as a private patient (ie, full price). I'd rather pay more and go to a private hospital for professional health care. Maybe I'm biased, but I have too many relatives who have died in these hospitals due to negligence and insufficient health care at these hospitals to support my views. In addition, I myself have experienced the horrors of such hospitals before.

mamapanda

hehe, that's why my hb upgraded our insurance policy to as-charged in restructured hospitals. There're good drs there too, just that they're mostly out of reach to common people like us unless it's some rare disease. We can at least choose our own drs and be given prof care with this plan. Too bad my hb can't upgrade coz of pre-exisiting med condition. sigh

ky
Is using the handphone pretend play? Hehe, he hasn't progressed much. Haven't seen him doing a lot of pretend play or imitation.

ya, it's quite sad that our public hospital is like that? maybe we are not paying taxes as high as UK and australia, that's why we get this kind of health benefits. but then again the ministers can have pay increment but we don't see improvement in public services. sigh!
insurance is impt esp for those poor people. that's what my friend who is a insurance agent says. sometimes just buy a bit is ok. u never know when u need it. yaya, listen to your body. death is unavoidable for everyone but we should heed the body's advice.

hi mummies, wah! so many postings. is it becos its friday? hee..weekend is approaching. Yippy! Hurray.

sleepingdeer - speaking of hospital...wat a pure coincidence to meet you and lil shannon in TTSH. hee...I recognise her immediately from afar. she got this innocent and sweet look. I hope your uncle is doing fine.

mamachan - get well soon ya! drink lotsa water.

may - how is your new job? still getting use to it?

rachel/mamapanda - thks for sharing with us any news...its good to keep us busy mummies updated just like May who sent the toy r us toys recall. else i also wouldnt know it till i watched the news last night.

ON update
ON is asking me to call them in US to verify my credit card. Is it necessary to call them? I don't want to make IDD call, and in the middle of the night too, due to time difference. Email also very slow cuz when I reply them, they're sleeping. When they reply me, I'm sleeping, so there may be some delays but I'll get this sorted out. If I really need to make IDD call, can I add it to the shipping costs and split it amongst all of you? It'll probably be just a couple dollars, split amongst you, maybe it'll be just a few cents to since there's so many of you.

Elmo/Amazon spree
Amazon has shipped out our DVDs already. Expected to reach CGW on 7AUg.

LV spree#4 and spree #5
Still waiting for LV to ship out the 2 LV orders.

Drugstore spree#1
Arrived at CGW on 1Aug, so we should receive the package before next week National Day.

LV spree #3 Nordic Naturals
Expecting this to arrive today or next Monday. Was shipped out on Monday 30th July.

I've yet to receive the shipping bill from CGW so I don't know if need to top up or refund yet but, the shipping charges for the LV sprees should be correct cuz I had the exact package weight from UPS. Now, I'm only waiting for the shipping weight of the Amazon package.

Mamapanda,

Yes, it's necessary to call. When I order previously, I had to call 3 times to get it right. Is this your first time ordering from ON? If not, you want me to help order instead?

Re: Prevenar
I think it's becos despite completing the 2 doses of prevenar, she still caught bronchintis a few times? I peeped at Charmaine's medical record card at the PD's clinic before and she wrote on the cover that she's a prevenar failure.

Re: Restructured Hospitals
Hmmm... my own experience with restructured hospitals so far so good leh. I really enjoyed my delivery experience at SGH. Err.. except for the so-called lactation consultant who really cannot make it.

When I removed my cycst at KKH, the nurses were great too....

Actually when I asked the PD, she said that the A&E at restructed hospitals are very good - it's just that the system is built in such a way that they will assess your "critical" level then the most senior doctors will be assigned to attend to these cases. Perhaps, they should improve on the system so that the first gatekeeper - the one who determines if it's a critical case must be a good one?

Mamapanda, thanks for sharing the email about the dengue victim. It's so sad to know that his death could actually be avoided. I have learnt a lot more about dengue from your post.

On a similar topic of healthcare, I heard of a mother of 2 who went through an operation to repair a tear in her lower body. The tear happened when she was giving birth naturally to her #2. She was on epi so can't really feel the contractions and it took a long time for her cervix to dilate from 8cm-10cm. Her gynae (I dunno who) gave her the go-ahead to start pushing when she was still 8cm dilated only. As she's on epi, she pushed using the wrong muscles. This resulted in 2 tears, one external and one internal. The internal one caused to lose her bowel control. Quite scary...

Mongs,
The milkbands looked cute! I think one of the local etailers has something like this as well. Personally, I won't spend money on this cos during the first month, I latch her on every hour, after 10 mins, she fell asleep and an hour later, the whole cycle starts again so no time to forget which side... : )

Mamapanda,
I'm ok with building in the cost of your calls to US for the ON spree. Thanks for the trouble!

Mongs,
I happen to chance upon the milkbands too and found it cute, but same sentiments as SL, I won't spend money on it.

sl
If its necessary to call, I'll make the call cuz I'll still want to do future ON sprees. What time is an appropriate time to call them? I'm not very sure about their timing.

I'll make the call tonight if necessary since tomorrow is weekend. Phew.

mashy : Midnight wakes & nap refusal
Ariene has been waking up at nights nowadays. Despite feeding her quite alot food during the day, she's still waking up at 3am in the morning crying for Mumm Mumm even though she latched on at 8pm when she sleeps and again at 12midnight. Also, she refuses to sleep on her bed and has been sleeping between us this whole week.

Monday night, she woke up crying at 3am in the morning asking for food, so I brought her down for some food. I offered her teddy puffs and she said Noooo so I asked if she wants bread, she nodded her head so fervently and said "Cheese Bread" while nodding her head. After eating the whole slice of bread with cheese, she still want milk! *Fainted* by time I finished brushing her teeth again and latching her on, it was already 4+am.

Last night, she tossed and turned for about 1 hour after her midnight feed at 1+am, then starting crying and slowly cresendoed into a scream for milk at 3am. I went down to warm up 60ml EBM for her to drink and after drinking, she asked for Mumm mumm.. *faint* I was really tired flat out so I refused to take her down for food then she changed her mind back to milk but refused the bottle so I had to latch her again. By time she was done, it was again 4+am.

I'm also having trouble getting to nap in the afternoon. My maid says if I'm not around, she's quite cooperative, but when I'm home, she'll refuse to nap. Arghh!! *pull hair*

Any of you experiencing difficulties also? I wonder if she's having another growth spurt. She's also been EXTRA sticky to me. Not that I don't like it, I enjoy and appreciate the love she showers on me, but, it can be quite frustrating at times too, esp when u need to leave home for work, or go toilet, etc.. she even refuses to let me goto the toilet and I have to bring her to the toilet with me! sigh..

thanks for sharing about prevnar. I think I will check with my PD clinic again if she charges consultation. if she does, I will go to a GP. I intend to let her take only after 2 years old. need only 1 jab. lesser pain. she was crying so pitifully when the PD administered the DDPT.

MAMAPANDA
Prevenar is the pneumoccocal jab
I don really understand. My son already taken his last jab for the 18mth one. Last time he took 6 in 1.
Please advise me

wendyheng,
The 6-in-1 has nothing to do with the prevenar jab. Its a seperate jab altogether. Prevenar is the vaccination for the pneumoccocal diesease which can cause penumonia, brain damage, spinal damage, ear damage and blood infection. Its very expensive but its definitely worth taking. In fact, my PD told me this jab is a compulsory jab in the States and Japan. Europe is also going to make it compulsory. Only our gov here cheepo, don't want to sponsor us.

Mamapanda
oic. understood.
I think i should jab my son this since he's joining childcare this monday. Total how many jab? per jab around one hundred plus?

mamapanda - my maid also says the same! celeste is very co-operative when im not ard, but when mummie is home she becomes very 'deh' and 'sticky' to me!even the teacher at the weekend playgrp im bringing her noticed and said tat she was totali fine wf my maid accompanying her but when it was me, she kept wanting me to carry and whining away... bully mummie!!! anyway i read fr the book and it said tat its perfectly norm for them to behave like tis with us cause of the attention needed... like you , i also gota bring her in to the toilet at times cos she just wldnt let me put her outside!!!

Re : RP lunch
Denmy - thanks for the smoothie! reali yummi and nice...
Mummies - Nice meetin up wf your!

mamapanda,
do you know roughly how much she is taking when she latched on? when I latched clariss before I weaned her off, she also wake up a couple of times. she slept at 930pm after latching on, then she will wake up at around 1am and again at 4am. maybe ariene is genuinely hungry.
nowsdays, clariss drinks 150ml of FM at 10pm and she doesn't wake up till 7am and my MIL will give her 150ml before her breakfast at 9am.
another reason is a bit absurd but you may want to check if you are pregnant again coz kids tend to be stickier to mum when they are pregnant, haha! I don't really believe in it but clariss is a lot stickier to me after my pregnancy. she also wanted to latch on more often after my pregnancy. it can be becoz my milk supply dropped but maybe it's other reason. haha..

mamapanda

my boy also sama sama as ariene. He's been waking up at night and wanting to drink milk. Then today also refused his nap. He finally slept at 3pm. Which is pretty late coz his usual nap time is abt 1pm. sigh.

mamapanda,
mine hardly ask but sometimes toss alot through the night. recently i gotta let him sleep on my bolster and rest his two legs on my thigh and he wld sleep soundly. But its an odd position for me. Pek Chek! Can take very long to sleep oso. Now I just hv him beside me alone and he wld talk and talk till tired....gave up patting liao

jshopper spree #3
Items has been shipped. Maybe we can get it by next week too.

chilli, mashy, god's child
ya.. I can hardly have a good night's sleep these few nights. Really becoming a panda liao. Then when she sleep with us, I keep getting kicked by her or she likes to snuggle her head against my armpits.. so hot.. and I have to sleep at the edge of the bed already, very kang kor..

mamapanda
SO sad to read about the case...
I remembered sometime last year, my Brother also kenan DENGUE FEVER and he too waited for many many hours at SGH A&E to be attended and finally admited to SGH.
I remember he was actually sent back home once before the 2nd time he was again with high fever then he was admitted.
I really Thank God that he is fine now.
And till the end of his stay at SGH, hospital still NEVER confrim he's got DENGUE FEVER , all they comment was he has the trial of DENGUE FEVER . Probably just to cover themself incase if mis-diagnose.
it's really sad case why our public health facilities can be like this.