(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

In case anyone wants the Papaya Fish Soup Recipe (with courtesy from my MIL), here it goes:

$5 worth of Ngor He or Sai-Dou-Yu (in cantonese, used for fishballs type of fish) per preparation.
1 green papaya (skinned and seeds removed, cut into 3-4 portions)
Ginger (about 1-2 thumb pieces, sliced, dependent on how gingery you want the soup to be)

Directions:
If prefer to get rid of fishy smell, pan fry the fish bones with sesame oil only together with the sliced ginger pieces. Pan-fry till fragrant and then transfer to soup pot and pour in hot water and add in the papaya and boil for minimum 1 hour.

Soup will appear milky white and ready to serve.

Amount of water is by agaration, I used at least 1.5 litre of water or more.

Can I kaypo and add on the ingredients to Mamachan's recipe?

During confinement period, you might wanna add 1 tablespoon of DOM, as well as 1 tablespn juice of fresh ginger. My CL did it this way for me for 2 weeks until I ask for less ginger. Spicy or what...

Clare, my email to you on collection details of the fruits is bounced back. I sent it to your hotmail email, is it correct? Anyway, yours is at Hitachi Tower. So here's the address:

The Sandwich Shop
16 Collyer Quay
#02-07 Hitachi Tower
t: 65365 141
Contact Tommy/Azeerah

please collect on Fri 3 Aug, 12nn to 6pm. thanks!

cookie (and mummies delivering at Mt A)
MAH :
POSB Everyday Credit Card Cash Rebates for Maternity Packages
5% cash rebates for Maternity Packages - Valid for Single or Double Room packages only. Not valid for specialists' fees, other charges and other promotions.

Discount off Maternity Packages for SAFRA Members
5% (1st child born at MAH) or 10% (subsequent children born at MAH) off the selected maternity package. Not valid for specialists' fees, other discounts / promotions. Terms & conditions apply.

Maternity Package Privileges for UOB Lady's Card & UOB Lady's Platinum Card Members
5% (1st child born at MAH) or 10% (subsequent children born at MAH) off the selected maternity package. Not valid for specialists' fees, other discounts / promotions. Terms & conditions apply.

Maternity Package Privileges for UOB Credit Cardmembers on 0% Instalment Payment Plan
UOB Credit Cardmembers can now enjoy discount privileges on our published maternity packages. Just present your card at the point of Admission to enjoy 5% off the selected maternity package.

Not valid for specialists' fees, other discounts / promotions. Payment must be made via a six-month UOB 0% Instalment Payment Plan. Terms & conditions apply.

Promotion is valid until 31 Dec 2007

Morning Mummies,
So sad. When I saw Jamie last night, she was jumping from my dad's arm wanting me to carry her. Once she is over, she hugged me very tightly and kissed me all over my face. She did that for 3-4 times. I cried when she did that to me. It was very different from the 1mth break that I took in Jan. She is so attached to me now. This morning when she heard me opening my hubby's vehicle door, she wake up. Looked at me and start touching my face. When my mum take over, she give me the sad look. I wave at her and looked away as I am worried that I will cry again. Can't imagine if I were to go holiday without her. And how I wish I can be a SAHM. Hmm.. going to start work soon. Chat here when I am free. Bye!

re: breastfeeding pillow.
wow, from all the good comments about having a pillow, I really must go and buy one.

May,
I can understand how you feel but I guess sometimes we do have to be a bit more hard hearted and put up a false front. clariss used to cry when I bring her to my MIL place, she still do nowsdays but less. i always tell her cheerfully that mama going to zuo gong and she will enjoy her stay with my MIL. my MIL plays with her and treat her very well so she enjoys her day with her. Jamie definitely had enjoyed her days with you that's why she missed you. If her day with your mum can be as enjoyable, she may get over it soon. of course, no matter what, they tend to have this affinity with mothers.

re: reading
clariss recognised a few words already. words like "dog, bear, bee, cow..". we only realised it yesterday. we were so happy and she was very happy to see us so happy. really some ks parents we are. haha..flash cards are really useful.

cookie,
ya, don't be stressed about bf. I am sure we will do fine with our experience from our first child. have to keep ourselves motivated. I think support is really important. I didn't have as much support as I would like to have but I survived. this time round, I am just going to shut my ears and not to be influenced by the so call well meaning remarks.
I am not sure if payaya soup works for me. I was drinking it twice everyday and eating fernugreek but my milk is still barely sufficient. I think I wasn't relaxed enough. my sister swear by the papaya soup.

krissie,
thanks for the info, think I should go Mt A to give birth since it's nearer to my place.
However I have one consideration. my elder is born in gleneagles and if I give birth to my 2nd child in Mt A, will they compare? should be fair to both mah right. headache.

mamapanda,
you are not planning to have a 2nd child? I don't mind buying a 2nd hand one. maybe u can pm me the pic if you are interested to sell.

RE: Vaccination Certificate

For those who took their Jabs at the Polyclinic, they will only be receiving their Certificate at 3 Years Old (Default).

If however, the parents would like to obtain the cert earlier, for enrolling into Childcare, they can call up the respsctive Polyclinic to request for an early release.

queen
So far, I've been getting the correct orders from LV. NO problems.

Denmy,
I'll deduct the amount I owe u from your spree amount and let u know the final amount.

ON spree
Orders made last night. Hope no problems.

mongs
I think it'll either be a long time before I have a #2 or we won't be having at all. I'll post u the pic of the pillow tonight.

mashy
u tempting me to shop again.

re taka toy fair
is it really good? my boss actually asked me whether i went...haha and he told me he bought a lot of toys for his kids.

denmy
will transfer to u by tmr.

may
dun be too sad. i know how u feel. each morning when i leave the house, JH always keep calling me and wan me. i always leave the house feeling sad. but kids are adaptable and they will soon adjust.

mongs
think thye are learning very fast. JH also start to recog a few words and letters. think the reading to him everyday helped and he recog stuff without even me knowing. and he learns so fast. the day before when i was reading a story to him, i told him the dog is tired and yawned. the next day when i read to him, he kept yawning when i was at the same page and it took me a while to realise what action he was doing.

he started saying 'bear' and 'ball' these few days. quite funny cos can see that he is proud of himself when he got it correct

Mashy,
Thanks for the reply on childcare!

SY,
My boy dropped his milk feeds for a while and now he is back to becoming a milk monster. Barely an hour into his solids he will be asking for me & if we don't give him, he will cry and fuss like we starved him.

May,
So saddid u tell Jamie before you went to work? Now JW ok with me going for work when I leave him with my MIL though sometime on Monday after the weekend, he will be more sticky. But I think I will have to face the same problem when I transfer him to childcare :-(

mongs, SY,
ya, our kids are picking up fast. After being able to say '1 to 10', Meg can now read '1 to 10'. although No. 7 is still 'flower'.

We were surprised yesterday when MIL ask her in mandarin 'yao bu yao' (want or dun want), she can reply 'yao' and nod her head or 'bu yao' while shaking her head.

May,
We still get Megan crying when we go to work, but it happens only when she has lack of sleep. They will get used to it eventually. Try to look positive and put on a brave front when you leave her, otherwise she will also feel sad.

SY,
U can find cheap toys in taka fair. Was there yday. Bot some stuffs for E. The Tefal kitchen set is selling at $49. Saw a big Tools set for boys, only $19 but din get cos too bulky. Bot a remote control car for $5.90. Big & cheap. E is so into the movie CARS now.

hi denmy,
i have transferred $127.71 to you already.Thanks for your lobang and efforT! :D

mongs,
i also have the my brestfren pillow but i hardly use it. i found it easier to just use a pillow to prop. but i do agree with the mummies that it provides very good back support. i think with #2, i won't be using much of it either coz esp now, our arms are so toned from carrying our #1. so i suppose holding our #2 with 1 hand should be a breeze.

SY

hehe, I bought 3 sets of sleeveless clothes for C. It's just so cheap. Only $8 per set leh.

I spent >$100 at the toy fair. Bought an animal safari set, a swing, some remote control cars (seems more for my hb), a funny face playdoh set, a neurosmith music toy. Spent so much.... I wanted to get the kitchen set or a bbq set but my hb refused. He said it's a gal's toy. I find the boy's tool sets have a lot of small parts, not very suitable for my boy who's still putting everything into his mouth.

re taka toy fair
tempting me to go...when does it end?

SH
how long did the milk rejection phase last? i m thinking of just cutting the last feed out...haha

tracy
megan so smart.
JH a bit slow. only at No 1...he is not very focus on words and numbers when we read. he just looks at the pics mainly so i have to devise interesting ways to get him to look at the numbers and words. in fact he learnt all his ABC from newspapers and none from the books i buy...hee that's why he knows mainly the alphabets from THE STRAITS TIMES....

SY,
Wow...The Straits Times?? That's good! I find reading the papers will really help improve one's English. I love reading the papers since young and that helped me with my English. But of course, not trashy papers like the erhem...some chinese papers lah, with all the funny photos and gossip. hahaha.

final confirmation for LV sprees - pls check 1 last time
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>qty</TD><TD> USD </TD><TD> Total (USD) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>Cali BB calendular cream</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> $7.90 </TD><TD> $23.70 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Calming Hair Conditioner - 8.5 oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $7.07 </TD><TD> $14.14 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $3.46 </TD><TD> $6.92 </TD></TR><TR><TD>God's Child</TD><TD>Cali BB calendular cream</TD><TD>2 $7.90 </TD><TD> $15.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Shampoo & Bodywash - 17.5 oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $12.50 </TD><TD> $12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Non-Talc Powder - 2.5 oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $7.00 </TD><TD> $14.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> $3.46 </TD><TD> $10.38 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>California Baby - Aloe Vera Cream - 2 oz</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> $7.90 </TD><TD> $23.70 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>Cali BB calendular cream</TD><TD>3</TD><TD> $7.90 </TD><TD> $23.70 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tracy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Shampoo & Bodywash - 17.5 oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $12.50 </TD><TD> $12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamachan</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $3.46 </TD><TD> $6.92 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>California Baby Calming Aromatherapy Spritzer - 6 oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $12.50 </TD><TD> $12.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD>Burt's Bees - Res-Q Ointment - 0.6 oz</TD><TD>6</TD><TD> $3.46 </TD><TD> $20.76 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ziann</TD><TD>Earth's Best Organic Baby Sunblock Chemical Free SPF 30+</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $9.00 </TD><TD> $9.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bernicelph</TD><TD>Nordic Natural Children's DHA 8oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $16.44 </TD><TD> $16.44 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jucat</TD><TD>Nordic Natural Children's DHA 8oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $16.44 </TD><TD> $16.44 </TD></TR><TR><TD>babelious</TD><TD>Nordic Natural Children's DHA 8oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $16.44 </TD><TD> $16.44 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>Nordic Natural Children's DHA 8oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $16.44 </TD><TD> $32.88 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chanpy88</TD><TD>Nordic Natural Children's DHA 180 softgel</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $16.44 </TD><TD> $32.88 </TD></TR><TR><TD>seagal</TD><TD>Nordic Natural Children's DHA 180 softgel</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $16.44 </TD><TD> $16.44 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Shampoo & Bodywash - 17.5 oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $12.50 </TD><TD> $25.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>fen9983</TD><TD>Cali BB calendular cream</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $7.90 </TD><TD> $7.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Cali BB Calming Botanical Moisturizing Cream - 2 oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $6.15 </TD><TD> $6.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pcs</TD><TD>Nature's Way-Sambucol For Kids 4 Oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $7.18 </TD><TD> $14.36 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>Cali BB calendular cream</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $7.90 </TD><TD> $7.90 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

aileen,
wow she is very good. her voice is so sorrowful that you just feel like crying after hearing her sing.

May,
I had wanted to pose the link about the fisherprice toys recall as well. I wonder if singapore toys are affected as well. seems quite substantial. clariss doesn't has much fisherprice toys.

aileen,
wow she is very good. her voice is so sorrowful that you just feel like crying after hearing her sing.

May,
I had wanted to pose the link about the fisherprice toys recall as well. I wonder if singapore toys are affected as well. seems quite substantial. clariss doesn't has much fisherprice toys.

Mongs,
Ya.. Jamie does not have much fisherprice toys also.

RE: Ovulation Kits
I had bought the leftover from Denmy the other time. Any ideas where can I get it again? Helping one of my friend to get cos she had been TTC for months.

Mong
Thanks for the encouragement.. I was telling myself if I can get thru the 1st month latch this time.. will go get that pillow :p
ya I really hope this round will do better.
I drank papaya souop last round too but was not on daily basis. I will try MIL to prepare every day this time.

may - thks for the fisherprice recall. i have the elmo boom box but different model. dun know if i shld keep the toy away. i think we bot quite a no of FP toys from the last warehse sale. i also have fisherprice activity table and kick and play piano. any risk although not listed? so scary. have to boycott fisherprice toys for now mann!

SY,
I think it lasted a week or two. I just cut it out after fighting with him. Coz always waste the milk. Make already he dun want to drink.cry and push away. Then suddenly one day, he just changed his mind like datdecided that milk is a luxurykept asking for milk!

Something to share:

On tues nite, I was carrying C like when he was a bb to sleep while sitting on the bed. I was singing rock-a-bye baby. I was surprised when he said some of the words in the song.

Rock-a-bye baby on the tree TOP
When the wind BLOWS, the cradle will ROCK.
When the bough BREAKS, the cradle will FALL.
Down will come C, cradle & ALL.

Last nite, I asked him what song tonite.
He went back to the same position as I held him on Tues nite. So I started on the song again. Realised he picked up from my mum & aunt who have been teaching him

Quite entertaining

RE: Recall of toys
I owned the Sesame Street Shape Sorter. Will ask my mum to put away the toy tonight.

RE: Ovulation Kit
Sorry, Denmy gave it to me. So I am not sure how much is it too. Anyone knows where can I get it?

it's the zzz monster attack. after lunch, so sleepy, zzz...they should make naptime after lunch official like the japanese.

SY

So good the JH will learn from the newspapers. C just crumple up or sweep the newspapers across the floor. Think he's not the studying type. sigh. Next time will have headache in school.

So glad that he finally called me mama. hahaha.
And today i gave him a toy banana and he said bamamamama. hahahahah

He has so few words. Wonder if he will become a typical man of few words. Pity his future wife.

Am back to work today.

Denmy,
If no one wants, can I have the last box off strawberries too? Thks! Will leave $13.91 x 2 at Sandwich Shop?

May,
I can understand how you feel. After spending 3 MC days at home with Charmaine, she's so sticky....

Re: BF Pillow
Hmm... I haven't tried one before so not sure how good it is but I do recall it's so difficult to latch her.

Cookie,
Don't stress over BF. It's important to get support from your hubby. Can seek advice from Yen Peng even if you didn't deliver at KK. I didn't deliver at KK but I must say, Yen Peng is such a great help and has been so encouraging to the extent that when I send her SOS smses after her working hours, she actually used her house phone to call me back.

Re: Papaya Fish Soup
I loved it too! Even though I don't think it helped my MS much. My mum actually bought Salmon fish head for the soup before during my confinement and the taste is fantastic! Once in a while now, I still crave for it. Isn't it strange that I don't have cravings during pregnancy and has cravings now?

Queen,

I can't open the attachment you sent me. Can PM the amount that I need to transfer to you? See you tomorrow at Cityhall? Thks!

re papaya fish soup:
for me, i drank it even b4 giving birth and during edgar's time, i had excess supply. but i didn't drink alot lah. maybe 5-6 times b4 giving birth and a few more times after. so maybe can start drinking now. no need to wait till delivering. and i think size does matter. as in if during preggy, cup size increase alot, means will have alot of milk and vice versa. this is based on my poll with some friends and colleagues. seems 100% accurate.

sysac,
C is so sweet. i have never cradled Edgar for the longest time already. he doesn't like it. he prefers to sleep in my arms, with me lying down and he sleep on my shoulders. sometimes he will turn to face me and touch my face and just stare into my eyes and smile at me after that. During such moments, i feel as if he's telling me "mummy, i love u"... very heart warming...

cookie,
don't worry about your milk supply. just do the best u can =)

mongs,
her voice is just so... i don't know how to put it... innocently sorrowful ya... if i have a daughter who can sing like her. i think i will drown in my own tears!!! :p

Aileen,
I read about this Connie girl a few motnhs ago on 8 days ... but didn't get to see any video clip. Thanks for posting. Her singing was just beautiful, she had the whole audience rapt in silence.

sl,
Sure, see you at 2pm at City Hall mrt?
I'll email you again.

Re. papaya soup
I only drank in during the stay in TMC and one more time in the first week after birth. Dunno if it helps with the MS cos drank it only like 4 times? Anyway, my MS was pretty good. I attribute it more to the regular latching rather than the soup. I mean, I was obsessed about not giving Isaac the bottle at all and would make sure that I latch him on every 3 hours.

Re. speech
I'm amazed at how much some of your babies can say already. Some can even sing! Isaac is still so slow... He recently seemed to trying to pronounce some words like 'ball', 'keys', 'blue' but not doesn't sound very accurate. Only thing he can say very clearly is 'Daddy'. It's crystal clear and sounds very sweet. I'm so jealous of my HB. But I'm pretty glad that he absorbs things very fast, he has mastered the entire alphabet in capital letters and can now identify some small letters liao. For numbers, it's 1 to 11. He also knows quite a lot of shapes and can understand some opposites like big and small. I'm wondering whether to start him on words.

re. stranger anxiety
Isaac has a very bad case of stranger anxiety. He cries whenever he see someone unfamiliar and will latch on to me and bury his face in my shoulders. I had dinner with my friends last sat and when he saw them, he refused to look at them and just held on to me tightly. Lasted almost throughout the dinner... any of your babies are like that? I'm quite concerned. Maybe I should enrol him to classes to get him to develop social skills?

queen

how do u know that issac knows all the alphabets? Do u test him? sigh, my boy hates me to test him. So dunno whether he knows or not....