(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy,
Yah, I test him loh...
I will write the alphabets on the magnetic board and ask him to point whichever letter that I say. I'll jumble up the alphabets, like i'll write B, G, W, Y, O and so on and ask him to point. I started with 5 letters a day and increase a letter a day. Last week, I wrote the entire alphabet and he could point the all the letters (in Capital) out accurately. My Isaac also same one lah... I only test him when I feel that he's in the mood to learn or when he is in a good mood. Else, he'll refuse to answer me or try to wrestle the pen out from my hand. I'll know he wants to learn the letters when he brings out the ABC book or the ABC toy (it's a simple wooden board where he can fit in wooden alphabets). Then I will teach him 1 or 2 letters and test him on what he had already learned.

tracy, mashy,
JH likes to imitate us reading newspapers. he only reads the big letters though.

nowadyas he will tell me to read my own book while he read his own book

actually GD method says dun test the kid. but i stlil do that with JH sometimes

Aileen
i think there is correlation with ohw much cup size increase during pregnancy and MS. mine din increase much so maybe that's why my MS also not great...

hee, sometimes JH will come and hug me from behind so hb very jealous of that one. he also doesn't lke to be cradled.

queen
JH got no stranger anxiety, he will say hi to pple he meets in the lift. but maybe depends on moods also.

was isaac sleepy at that time?

re RP lunch
so we meet 12.30pm at the TV at ex Caltex House right?

SY,
No... not sleepy. He just scared of strangers. When we bring him to crowded restaurants, he also cry and will keep pointing to the door and wants to get out.
Why GD method say don't test leh?

mashy brainz,
think some kids just don't like to be tested. infact in shichida class, since day 1, we have been told not to test our kids. we shld believe that they are absorbing. as kids can feel what we feel, it's important that we always have positive tots. and avoid testing them. rather, believe in them and give them the confidence. anyways, in this case we are talking about speech and reading skills. all these will come in time, some are faster and some are slower. it doesn't matter =)

Aileen - Yes, so endearing. I observed that C enjoys being cuddled more since I started classes.

At my mum's he will go "Mummy where?" They tell him "Mummy's at work." When HB picked him up twice from my mum's when I had classes, instead of calling him, he asked " Mummy where?" and looking behind him to see if I was around. So in my absence of being anywhere, it has become "Mummy's at work."

When I pick him up from my PIL's place, he will call me loudly along with a tight hug and asked to be carried immed.
When I am around, he will only want to hold my hands when we are walking. He will only hold HB's hands in my absence.

queen
i also test like that. write on magnetic board or as i m reading, i will ask him to point out some letters to me.

re FP Toy recall
i also saw and immediately went to check..a lot of sesame street toys

aileen

so sweet of edgar.

My boy doesn't like intimacy. Doesn't like to hug, cradle, kiss etc. If i try to cradle him, he'll struggle out. He'll only let me kiss his forehead. So whenever I say 'kiss', he'll give me his forehead for me to kiss. not he kiss me. Think he's so typical boy. sigh. He prefers to rough it out with my hb, like doing somersaults, being swung around etc.

After so many months of training, he'll at least show some affection for his stuff toys like sayang and hug his stuff toys. But he still dislikes hugging a person.

Aileen,
Edgar is going to Shichida? How do you find the lessons? I have a good friend who's enrolling her boy in the class and is trying to get me and Isaac to go too. It's quite expensive, so I'm a bit hesitant. Are there interactions between the children or just prent-child or child-teacher interaction?

Re. Test
Er... is asking our babies to point out things when we ask considered testing? It's not like we'll scold them if they don't know right?

re: test

think at one pt of another, we'll be testing them. If not how would we know if they've learning difficulties?

Think one of the milestone is to be able to identify body parts leh. That's also part of testing mah.

sysac, mashy brainz,
wowowoo.. so sweet of Cephas...
edgar oso doesnt like cuddling, kissing or hugging. he only likes to lie on my shoulder in bed. other times, when i try to hug him, or kiss him, he will shun away. but he will sometimes take his rubber toys and put their mouths together and say "kiss". so funnie...

queen,
ya edgar has been going there since he was 8 mths. almost a year already. and yes, it's quite exp compared to the other schools. it's very intensive and most of the materials are handmade,i suppose that's y it's exp. it's very classroom based. they sit on the chairs in a row with the teacher opposite them. then we are just suppose to assist them in the games and activities. it's still pretty much parent-child. the teacher just faciliate the class.

re test:
i guess for me i have it easier. coz edgar can speak fairly well, he will point and tell me himself what he saw. that's how i know what he knows. and i certainly believe he knows more than he can speak.

aileen

wah, edgar can sit still for this kind of lessons? C will definitely wriggle out and run about. That day brought him to zoophonics, when the teacher was teaching, he was happily circling the tables.

mashybrainz,
no lah, edgar oso wouldn't sit still. he always struggle to get down and run about. i just try to coax him to sit down but if he still doesn't, i just let him be loh. that's y sometimes i feel it's a waste of $. and i tot of stopping him after 1 year. but my hb said he don't mind letting edgar carry on so think we will still let him carry on.

re: test
ya, we are not suppose to test like what aileen mentioned in whichever method we use. coz indirectly we are stressing them and it's not good. you know how we adults behave, we will clap and cheer when they get it correctly and when they are not correct, we may shake our head and show disappointment. if they can't get it consistently, they will be very stressed and after a while, they will not be interested to learn anymore. learning should be fun.

queen,
I think it's time for you to start on words. the GD method doesn't believe in learning alphabets because it has no meaning. what i mean is that your boy won't know what exactly is A. Unless you are teaching him phonics, then there is some educational value. if you show him the word "apple" and you show him a real apple, he will know that the word "apple" is the apple. it's something real and he can relate to it.

re: boys vs girls
I feel that boys tend to be slower in speech development but asides being frustrated because they can't expressed themselves, it maybe better because they are listening and watching. I have a friend and his son is about 2 mths older than clariss. He still can't say a lot of things but he can read the whole pack of vege cards. when his parents say "corn", he will pick up the right card. Instead of looking at his mother's mouth to see how she pronounce the word, he actually look at the card and listen to the pronounciation. I think he is a "listener". so mummies of boys, nothing to worry about if you boy is not saying a lot of things. clariss is blahing away forming 3 words sentences readily but she is not a good at recognising words and she only recognise red and pink. they all have different speeds at absorbing stuff. of course, some boys maybe able to speak very early. it all depends on the exposure as well.

re: shichida,
my neighbour whose 3 year old son attended shichida since 18 mths and is very smart. of course I think he is smart at birth but I think shichida with his parents belief in the method actually helped him a lot. parents has to be very committed. aileen right? we have to practice everyday, right? we prefer to take things at our own speed. too lazy. heehee.

mongs,
erm, sad to say, i'm the laziest mum around. i never practice with edgar. coz it's not fun for me. i think learning has to be fun both ways, so i just do what i like with edgar. even if it means doing nothing! hahaha! :p i don't practice at all. i'm guilty of having alot of materials but not utilizing them. i only enjoy buying! haha!maybe partly becos i'm preggy now. i really don't have the energy after work. rather slouch on my couch or bed and rest. keke...

SH,
Was just browsing JW's blog and saw a pic of you and him at a swimming pool. Is that where you're staying? Cos I recognise the place and I used to go there when preggy for a swim. My fren used to have a place there. :p

mongs,
Yah, I agree with you. I also think there's not much meaning to the alphabet unless it is associated with words. That's why I'm thinking of teaching words now. But I thought at least have a feel of alphabets first cos words are made up of alphabets. I mean, apple is made up of a-p-p-l-e. If we don't teach alphabets first and go straight to words, won't they see words like pictures? As in they know the word is 'apple' as a whole, but wouldn't understand that it is made up of letters? I dunno leh... anyway, I think I will move on to words. I'm not too sure what phonics is actually.

Queen,

They are having photographic memory from now till about 6. So now it is good to make good use of this skill to teach words. Sounds, phonics can be introduce when they learn to speak. It will be very much easier for them to piece it together.

Just sharing my experience. I may be wrong. Ha ha my son can only say "mei you" everything oso say " mei you" in a ang moh accent

SL
Can I have yen peng number?? mummies here has pass me a lac consultant no.. but I'm stand by more info..
To be frank I was really stress with bf last time.
But my friend only manage to BF her 3rd kidz successfully so I suppose it's take practice.

Queen
On the contrary.. kae is good with most pple.. except for some men(and they are not scary looking). kae can be carried by most of my friend as long as they carry her around and play. Hahah sometimes I find her over friendly.
Last weekend, we left her with our friends at Taka when my Hb and I went to do some shopping, she din cry at all even we are not around.
I dunno what to say!

so many postings in one day.

Am down with a raw and sore throat and feeling bodyache all over. Had to sleep in and see doctor.

Mashy/ky
so sianz, each time i look forward to bringing Daren to Kindyroo, either he's recovering or I'm bogged down by work or not feeling well.

sysac
C is so sweet! So affectionate! Haha, we get quite alot of affection from D too at home. He likes to be cuddled and snuggle up with us. He enjoys kissing us alot, sometimes even hold our face with both of his hands and look us in the eye before planting a few wet kisses on our lips. He also like to rub (actually more of knock) against our forehead with his.

queen
From my brief understanding of phonics, it's associating the pronounciation of each alphabet. i.e. P has the "Per" sound and what words start with P and emphasizing on the initial pronounciation i.e Pa-Pa-ya. Perhaps MamaPanda can shed some light on this? I might be wrong =P

mamachan
Thanks for your confidence in me but I'm also not quite sure abt this. However, I kinda feel its useless teaching just alphabets as the concept is too abstract for the little minds. They need to connect the letters with something they're familiar with before they can grasp the complexity of it. Easy as it may seem to us, letters of the alphabets are actually quite a complex and abstract concept to toddlers and they constantly feel a need to connect it to something concrete to understand what it really means. Of course they can simply memorise what each letter looks like and what it sounds like, but, in actual fact, I doubt they truly understand what each letter means. They're just associating the "picture" with the sound. That's y they are taught letters of the alphabets with phoenics and words instead of just letters.

Hi MamaChan, relax and rest well first. You can go on a Sat (10.30) instead. there's Mon (9.30), Wed (9.30), Thu (10.30) too. Brenda said she's still not decided if she'll have a lesson next Thu as it's National Day and it depends if there are parents who are keen.

SY, were u the one asking if there's another branch? I don't think so. Brenda seems like a one-lady show.

On what else is covered, I'll write later when I've time to jot down for my blog. Just read some of the materials she handed me last night on how we can extend the activities to home.

Learning : I don't think we should continuously test our kids and be stressed if we don't get the results we want, but like someone said, if we don't test, we don't know. Shichida if I'm not wrong does test a kid... After flashing a set of cards, u put 2 cards in front and ask which card is xxx. I know BJG does that too. GD doesn't do this step. I do know a 4-yr old girl who can read quite well. She's in Shichida for a yr when she's much younger, but I believe her mother plays a very impt role as she speaks well and has very good manners. We as mothers though anxious for our children's well-being and progress in learning should continue to praise and encourage them for the effort. When the child does something incorrect, we shouldn't frown but praise the child for the effort. My #2 is still not speaking though most people said that #2 should speak faster but I do notice he's a quick learner in many ways and I know he does understand. I brought my #1 to see a speech therapist before as he was not speaking much at 2 yrs old - not even papa, mama. The speech therapist's main concern was if he can communicate with us and he could. He ended up being so chatty and inquisitive nowadays that we wondered why we worried so much back then. So, like some of u said, I also believe just share and give, they'll just absorb and u'll be surprised by what they can do one day... this's just my opinion.

.ky.

re teaching
i agree with most of the mommies that we shd not just teach alphabets cos they have no meaning by themselves.

instead i try to teach phonics. i learnt the zoophonics and the sound and i have been doing A to E with JH. he knows how to recog the sounds and actions and in fact i find that after i taught him that, he started to use that to try to pronounce words.

i do flashcards as well and i do ask him to pick out but i only do it if he is in a willing mood. usually the way i 'test' him is to tell him to show papa that he knows. so not so direct.

today realised he knows one more letter. i dunno whether he cna read words or not but as long as he likes to read, he will soon recog more words so not too worried abt that.

ky
hmm, no second branch? if not i tot can try to find one nearby me and try.

can share your blog?

queen
go to www.starfall.com to learn phonics sound. it is a good website. i show it to JH as well and he loves going to the website. whenever he sees me with the laptop, he wants to go there...

Teaching and testing babies
I also test Ryan but I guess it is just a fun thing...for instance, when we are out, if there is a number or a letter, i will just ask him what it is...i think this makes the whole experience interactive for him and going out is fun. It is only stressful if you scold him for not knowing and then he will not want to learn anymore.

SY,
Thanks for the starfall link. Very useful. I'm sure Keenan will have a new addiction now besides Boohbah.com.

sl,
sorry, Sleepingdeer is taking the last box of strawberries. So you only need to pay 13.91.

RP Lunch,
Kk, onz.. I see you guys there at the escalator at 12.30. Drinks on me.

BP for spianch-strawberry-peach
Latest update:
<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Amt. $</TD><TD>Amt Total $</TD><TD>PAID</TD><TD>OWE</TD><TD>Refund status</TD><TD>Collection Point </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$46.24</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Marine Parade </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$5.20</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD></TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD></TD><TD>Marine Parade (JG via Dem) </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>cheng</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD>$20.41</TD><TD></TD><TD>$20.41</TD><TD></TD><TD>Marine Parade (JG via Dem) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>chillies</TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD>$20.41</TD><TD></TD><TD>$20.41</TD><TD></TD><TD>Marine Parade </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Mamachan</TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$32.33</TD><TD>$2.10</TD><TD>$30.23</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$5.20</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>clare</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD>$20.41</TD><TD></TD><TD>$20.41</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>SY</TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$19.72</TD><TD></TD><TD>$19.72</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>CL</TD><TD>Spinach (1/2)</TD><TD>317.68</TD><TD>$6.61</TD><TD>$27.02</TD><TD></TD><TD>$27.02</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Mamapanda</TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$52.74</TD><TD></TD><TD>$52.74</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower (via Chicken Little) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$5.20</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Flo</TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$60.15</TD><TD>$60.15</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$5.20</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Queen</TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$33.63</TD><TD>$33.63</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower (via Flo) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Aileen </TD><TD>Spinach</TD><TD>635.29</TD><TD>$13.22</TD><TD>$127.71</TD><TD>$127.71</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach (1 carton)</TD><TD>56</TD><TD>$72.76</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>SL</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD>$55.64</TD><TD></TD><TD>$55.64</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower (via Rena) </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD>$34.32</TD><TD></TD><TD>$34.32</TD><TD></TD><TD>Hitachi Tower (via Rena) </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.91</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Peach</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.50</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

CANCEROUS FOOD/PRODUCTS

<font color="ff0000">SATAY LOVERS</font>

If you all eat satay, don't ever forget to eat the cucumber, because eating satay together with carbon after barbequing can cause cancer.

But we have a cure for that... Cucumber should be eaten after we eat the satay because satay has carsinogen (a cancer causing element) but cucumber is anti-carsinogenic.

So don't forget to eat the cucumber the next time you have satays.

<font color="ff0000">PRAWNS & VIT C</font>

DO NOT eat shrimp/Prawn if you have just taken VITAMIN C pills!!

This will cause you to DIE in ARSENIC (As) toxication within HOURS!!

<font color="ff0000">PORK AWARENESS</font>

Try this and see whether the pork you bought has worms. There goes with your "Bak Kut Teh" for those who love it. Most men love to eat this so watch out before it's too late.

If you pours Coke (yes, the soda) on a slab of pork, wait a little while, you will SEE WORMS crawl out of it.

A message from the Health Corporation of Singapore about the Bad effects of pork consumption. Pig's bodies contain MANY TOXINS, WORMS and LATENT DISEASES.

Although some of these infestations are harboured in other animals, modern veterinarians say that pigs are far MORE PREDISPOSED to these illnesses than other animals. This could be because PIGS like to SCAVENGE and will eat ANY kind of food, INCLUDING dead insects, worms, rotting carcasses, excreta including their own, garbage, and other pigs. INFLUENZA (flu) is one of the MOST famous illnesses which pigs share with humans. This illness is haboured in the LUNGS of pigs during the summer months and tends to affect pigs and human in the cooler months.

Sausage contains bits of pigs' lungs, so those who EAT pork sausage tend to SUFFER MORE during EPIDEMICS of INFLUENZA. Pig meat contains EXCESSIVE quantities of HISTAMINE and IMIDAZOLE compounds, which can lead to ITCHING and INFLAMMATION; GROWTH HORMONE which PROMOTES INFLAMMATION and growth; sulphur containing mesenchymal mucus which leads to SWELLING and deposits of MUCUS in tendons and cartilage, resulting in ATHRITIS, RHEUMATISM, etc.

Sulphur helps cause FIRM human tendons and ligaments to be replaced by the pig's soft mesenchymal tissues, and degeneration of human cartilage.

Eating pork can also lead to GALLSTONES and OBESITY, probably due to its HIGH CHOLESTEROL and SATURATED FAT content. The pig is the MAIN CARRIER of the TAENIE SOLIUM WORM, which is found in its flesh. These tapeworms are found in human intestines with greater frequency in nations where pigs are eaten. This type of tapeworm can pass through the intestines and affect many other organs, and is incurable once it reaches beyond a certain stage. One in six people in the US and Canada has RICHINOSIS from eating trichina worms, which are found in pork.

Many people have NO SYMPTOMS to war n them of this, and when they do, they resemble symptoms of many other illnesses. These worms are NOT noticed during meat inspections.

<font color="ff0000">SHAMPOO</font>

Cancer-causing substance in Shampoo. Go home and check your shampoo.

Change before it's too late... Check the ingredients listed on your shampoo bottle, and see they have a substance by the name of Sodium Laureth Sulfate, or simply SLS. This substance is found in most shampoos; manufacturers use it because it produces a lot of foam and it is cheap.

BUT the fact is, SLS is used to scrub garage floors, and it is very strong!!! It is also proven that it can cause cancer in the long run, and this is no joke. Shampoos that contains SLS : Vo5, Palmolive, Paul Mitchell, L'Oreal, the new Hemp Shampoo from Body Shop etc contain this substance.

The first ingredient listed (which means it is the single most prevalent ingredient) in Clairol's Herbal Essences is Sodium Laureth Sulfate.

Therefore, I called one company, and I told them their product contains a substance that will cause people to have cancer. They said, Yeah we knew about it but there is nothing we can do about it because we need that substance to produce foam.

By the way Colgate toothpaste also contains the same substance to produce the "bubbles". They said they are going to send me some information.

Research has shown that in the 1980s, the chance of getting cancer is 1 out of 8000 and now, in the 1990s, the chances of getting cancer is 1 out of 3, which is very serious. Therefore, I hope that you will take this seriously and pass this on to all the people you know, and hopefully, we can stop "giving" ourselves cancer-causing agents.

<font color="ff0000">INSTANT NOODLES</font>

Dear instant noodle lovers,

Make sure you break for at least 3 days after one session of instant noodles before you eat your next packet!

Please read the info shared to me by a doctor. My family stopped eating instant noodles more than 5 years ago after hearing about the wax coating the noodles - the wax is not just in the Styrofoam containers but it coats the noodles. This is why the instant noodles do not stick to each other when cooking.

If one were to examine the ordinary Chinese yellow noodles in the market, one will notice that, in their uncooked state the noodles are oily. This layer of oil prevents the noodles from sticking together.

Wantan noodles in their uncooked state have been dusted with flour to prevent them sticking together. When the hawker cooks the noodles, notice he cooks them in hot water and then rinses them in cold water before cooking them in hot water again. This process is

Repeated several times before the noodles are ready to be served. The cooking and rinsing process prevents noodles from sticking together.

The hawker then "lowers the noodles in oil and sauce to prevent the noodles from sticking if they are to be served dry.

Cooking instructions for spaghetti require oil or butter to be added in the water when boiling the spaghetti to prevent the pasta from sticking together. Otherwise, one gets a big clump of spaghetti!

There was an SBC (now TCS) actor some years ago, who at a busy time of his career had no time to cook, resorted to eating instant noodles everyday. He got cancer later on. His doctor told him about the wax in instant noodles. The doctor told him that our body will need up to 2 days to clear the wax.

There was also an SIA steward who after moving out from his mother's house into his own house, did not cook but ate instant noodles almost every meal. He had cancer, and has since died from it.

Nowadays the instant noodles are referred as " cancer noodles ".

*** Pass the info. on, please.

re: Avent Showroom/ Customer Service Centre
Anyone knows where they've moved to? I kept calling their supposedly new number 6882 4570 and it keeps diverting to the answering machine!! Very irritating. I need to fix my steriliser....

denmy
the website is good right? i love it and there's a lot of info on it.

i got another one but i need to go and check the link. think it's www.familyfun.com

got a lot of activities.

think the avent no always dun work one. last time i call and always canot find them.

Rachel,
eeeks!!! The worms jumping out of pork!! Put me off pork meat now. What about bones? Like big bones used in making soup stock? Do those have worms? o no, I'm gonna start pouring Coke onto all the pig-related food that comes my way now...

Rachel,
Kinda scary after reading it...

RE : Toys Sale at Taka
Went down today and bought some stuff. Vtech phonics thingy at $25 regular $89. Lotsa cooking set and I bought him a "portable" barbecue set ard $15. Supposedly to hv sound, yet to try. Almost bought the tefal cooking set which has toaster inside....look so cute...

Denmy
i was like OMG!!!! when i read on the pork too. imagine i had some pork for lunch......makes me thinking of staying off pork for as much as i can. not sure of bones though, but think worms wont stay in bones bah... *faint*

good thing i switched dylan's body wash and shampoo to epoch brand. previously used johnson johnson which has SLS in their products......

Food scare or Food scam?
ehhh I think the above are just scams. Read abt them few years ago. Lemme check and get back to you

rachel
i read that thing abt the pork thing before.

are all of them true? i remember some of these can be false claims circulated by emails....

All of them are just scams. Pls do not recirculate the mail. They're nonsense chain mails without any scientific origins or knowledge.
http://search.atomz.com/search/?sp-q=satay&sp-a=sp1001aaa2

pork + coke = worms?
http://www.breakthechain.org/exclusives/porkcoke.html

Satay + cucumber?
http://www.breakthechain.org/exclusives/satay.html

Shampoo causes cancer?
http://www.breakthechain.org/exclusives/shampoo.html

Wax on instant noodles?
http://www.breakthechain.org/exclusives/noodles.html

Prawns + vitamin C
http://www.breakthechain.org/exclusives/prawns.html

Oh, while we're on the subject.. here's another famous chain mail abt how we can see Mars up close and personal on August 27th that's being circulated around.. I received it 4 times in 2 years..
http://www.breakthechain.org/exclusives/marsclose.html

Actually, what little bit we can do when we receive such chain mails is to first check the validity of it by searching for it on the internet. If its a chain mail, you'll almost certainly find something on it.

rachel
Just want to let you know I'm not directing it at you, but just want to share the info cuz forwarding scam emails to the wrong person can be rather embarrassing at times, so in case you feel offended, please forgive me. No offense meant ok?

ooops, seem like i posted nonsense here. first time came across these info and wanted to share with you girls. got to be very careful in the future. sorry about this.

so many posts!

re: stranger anxieties
my gal is quite alright when there are strangers around, and most of the time she would wave hello and bye-bye to them. probably it's because since she was small, we always told her to say 'hello' and 'bye' to the ppl she saw in the lift.

re: teaching
looks like lots of the mummies here has a systemic way to teach the kids. i am a lazy mum. i don't have a systemic way to do it. i just teach her those things whenever we see, meet, and some morals that every polite kid should have e.g. 'thank you', 'you are welcome', 'please', etc.
mayb that's y my gal's speech development is the slowest among all kids here. haha....

rachel,
no problem about it. we as mothers are always very concern about issues related to health and it's good that you shared it and mamapanda took the intiative to check on the validity. now everyone is cleared that the information is not correct.

mamapanda,
that is some good website about chain breaking.

SY - We love the starfall webbie too! Celeste been on it since few mths old and she absolutely loves the snowmen song! we used to ON the PC to just play tat song to get her to drink milk... haha,thank God tat is over now...nowadys if i ask her if she wants to hear snowmen, she will go to my laptop and ask for me to play it...

Re : Teaching our kids
eh, i also dunno which is a gd way of teaching cos my girl cant sit very still wf me... on the contrary, she sits and listens to my maid when im at work...wat i do is oni reading of those single word block books before bedtime and short stories...

re: RP lunch
i be joining u girls
will meet ur at 12.30 ' bu jian bu shan'!

anyone planning to let your child take prevnar or have started the first dose already? I planned to let clariss take it after 2 years old. PD charged $185 for the 1 injection. how much is your PD or GP charging? was thinking of bringing her a GP for the administration. PD is so expensive. It's $45 for consultation everytime we see her.

mongs - i have given the prevenar jabs to celeste aldy... i tink mine was bout $165-$175 each, cant rem exactly how much it is.. mabbie got slight increase due to the 2% GST??? but wat i do know is tat the PD doesnt charge consultation when its appt for jab. plus i get to ask him questions and chk on her development 'FOC' hee...

Hi Cookie,

just Pm-ed you Yen Peng's number. Sms her instead of calling cos she might be with some other clients, she will definitely call you back.

Don't be so stressed about bfing. Just relax and I think it's important to have a support group too. Have fun!

Denmy,

No problems. I will transfer you the money later.

Sunny,
My gal's speech development's real slow too. As in she can parrot us but she doesn't use speech to communicate. She uses her hands. I just let her be lor cos she is communicating - that means that she's not autistic?!!. What I do to encourage her speech. Like if she points to the cup on the table signalling that she wants to drink water, then I will purposely pass her the tissue, the other stuff on the table to her, saying that "Do you want the tissue?" "Is it the box you want?" etc Then finally pass her the cup saying "Oh I see you want to drink water is it? Then next time tell mummy you want to drink water okay?" Sad to say, no effect yet.

re: Pork
Just to share that actually Charmaine's PD said that pork is better than chicken cos there are too much hormones in chicken?

mongs,
I paid $168 per jab for Prevenar (b4 GST increased). Taken after E turned 1. So its 2 jabs in total. My PD doesnt charge consultation during those jabs. For our #2, I was told we can use the Baby Bonus Bank Account (the bb bonus which govt will match dollar for dollar) to pay for Prevenar & those compulsory jabs.

sunny,
we also dun realli teach according to watever methods. Like u, i just teach caleb the things that come along..
Like how to sayang my sis's daughter, mus say thanks you when ppl give you things.
He is not talking much either but every child develops at their pace...