(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Slinky
So sorry din read post ytd.. busy at work.
I want the 2 tubes of 4 oz ONLY
Pls change my order to 2 tubes of 4 oz ok...

good news on the nordic naturals. The parcel should reach us in 5-7 working days time

\table {
Nickname Items WT (oz) USD Total (USD) Total (SGD) =USD*1.60
6 36 $30.94 $30.94 $49.50
Slinky A+D Original Ointment 4oz 4 $4.29 $4.29 $6.86
Denmy A+D Original Ointment 1lb 16 $9.49 $9.49 $15.18
Cookie A+D Original Ointment 4oz 4 $4.29 $8.58 $13.73
Cookie A+D Original Ointment 4oz 4 $4.29 $- $-
SL A+D Original Ointment 4oz 4 $4.29 $4.29 $6.86
SSF A+D Original Ointment 4oz 4 $4.29 $4.29 $6.86
}

Anymore drugstore items? If not I'll open it up in marketplace cuz too little, waste the shipping.

Queen/AK/Tracy
my ILs also tend to say same things like u mention, when kae explore dark room will say "dark dark ah..." or when my gal approach the dog, she can say Dog dog bite you!! but goodness my dogs has never shown agression to anyone before and they are just very mild...
can be very frustrating sometimes.

Queen>> Dun worry abt issac's heart issue.. I'm sure the hole will close up in time. Probably take a bit of time..
Talking abt waiting in Govt hospital.. my galfriend gyane use to be in KKH and she is a very committed gynae becos she can see patient up till 12midnite or 1pm!!
Appt with gyane at 5pm would means seeing her only at 10pm earliest!! this is crazy rite?but when my GF get to see the gynae, she forget the frustration cos the gynae will be talking and explaining for the next 1/2 hour.
anyway I still think the waiting is crazy..

slinky
wow you very fastin updating..
I cannot acceess to Drug store website during off hr.. cos IT block it. Let me surf and let u know tonight if I need anything else.

Re:Soup stock recipe to share
Any Soup stock recipe to share? I'm running out of idea to brew stock - not many to start with.
So far I only cook:
1) Fish bone stock
2) ikan bilis + soya bean stock
3) Big Pork bone stock
4) "ABC" soup stock
can share what else?
I think some mum include Leek in their soup as well.. can share

cookie,
In fact you can give whatever soup stock we adults drink, just don't add in salt if you don't want to and can give the meat and vege in the soup to Kaelyn to eat:
1) Watercress soup - Pork ribs + watercress + red dates (+dried scallops for more taste)
2) "Lao Huang Gua (yellow cucumber)" soup - yellow cucumber + pork ribs + dried cuttlefish
3) Black chicken soup (occasional) - black chicken, chinese herbs, red date, pork meat

The soups nees at least 1.5hrs to 2 hrs of brewing for the taste to come out so I wouldn't recommend cooking just for the baby. Can make it a home cook meal for yourself and hubby and save some for kaelyn's porridge.

cookie,
me too. Meg is now drinking the same soup as us, and eating rice with the same food we are eating for dinner.

Re : Mozzie safeguard

I was looking for those similar kind to 'aroma theraphy' kinda incense sticks actuali... cos im more kiasu haha
on top of the patches,i thot can have more safeguards... hmm..mabbie i will look for those repellent oil and put few drops to vaporise in a container daily...

Cookie - i also give celeste watever soup tat we are having, and its salted. wat i do is i dilute wf abit of water if its too tasty/salty...

MamaPanda

Sorry for the late payment. Have just transferred the amt for Jshopper:
Amount S$42.93
Transaction Reference 1262918651

Thanks! =)

HI Mummies
thanks for sharing..actually on weekday we are also giving kae what we are drinking or what MIL cook.
it's just that when come weekend.. I dun brew soup to drink again on our own n k can be quite fussy.
But on weekend I do bake macrononi chesse or something special..Looks like I have to venture more

Just came across the following recipe.. sound good to serve with bread or pasta. Will try this weekend

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II
Submitted by: Anna H
Rated: 5 out of 5 by 161 members Prep Time: 20 Minutes
Cook Time: 40 Minutes Ready In: 1 Hour
Yields: 6 servings

"Really easy, satisfying soup. Can be prepared in less than an hour. Serve hot and garnish with grated cheese."
INGREDIENTS:
8 potatoes, peeled and cubed
4 cups chicken broth
1 pound bacon, cut into 1 inch pieces
3 leeks, sliced
1 cup heavy cream

DIRECTIONS:
1. In a large saucepan or stockpot, bring potatoes and chicken broth to a boil. Cook until potatoes are tender. Meanwhile, place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Drain, reserving 3 tablespoons of grease and set aside. Sautee the leeks in the frying pan with the reserved bacon grease 8 to 10 minutes.
2. When the potatoes are tender, stir in the fried leeks, heavy cream and bacon. Stir to blend and remove from heat. Serve hot.

flo,
okie i will see how many mummies interested to get.

septbride 03,
the other thread got very good reviews. i saw that one mummy said her kids learnt phonics from it so fast...faster than going classes...

did u buy in sg? how much is it?

re mozzie
hmm, those vaproiser dangerous? i haven try yet.

god's child
i told my maid cannot put salt in the soup. cos in case we want to give to JH. anyway in my cooking i use very little salt. got one day i saw my maid adding salt to the egg before cooking. so i told her not to add. she say she find no taste if add. so i asked her whether she cook for me or cook for herself. i realise maids like to add salt to a lot of things...not very healthy

SSF
the leapfrog DVD is to play on recorder one. not on the leapfrog system. if u interested let me know.

Noble house books

I suppose this is the set of 6 books we ordered through Joanna? Me lost now... are we supposed to collect it from someone/somewhere?? Dun remember paying for it also... can someone enlighten me?

I Can Read Chinese Books

No one else interested? Maybe I should open up in mkt place? =(

Update:
<table border=1><tr><td>Wo Hui Du</TD><TD>L1 (Bk)</TD><TD>L1 (FC)</TD><TD>L2</TD><TD>L3</TD><TD>L4</TD><TD>L5</TD><TD>Total </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grace</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Florence</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD>6</TD><TD></TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>9</td></tr></table>

oops.. din realise got something wrong with the table. I'll repost it again tonight. Going off to MOE for meeting already. Anything just sms or email me. PM very slow.

god's child
i dun know abt the incense. but i bot those electric insect repellent before. Not bad. you can gv it a try.

SSF
my boy is also super glue to his dad now. haha..i console myself that it's good that they're close then, hopefully, he wont be jealous when i bf mei mei when she's born.

re eating rice
Gerald cant seem to take our rice. my mums says it's too hard. How do you all feed your todds rice. We'll also put some gravy or soup to soften it. I'm hoping that he'll take to rice soon, so that he can eat more solids when he starts his CC next mth. Else, surely will lose wt.
help..

krissie,
We just feed normal rice with fish and veg. Add abit of gravy to taste, not soften it. Meg will chew them before swallowing. Now she prefers rice over porridge. You mean Gerald rejects it totally as in spit it out?

krissie

is it coz the rice u fed him is too hard, not enough water? Maybe u can try mashing up the rice first, then once he's accustomed to it, u can switch to rice again?

My boy started spitting out his rice too. Then when we fed him with outside food + rice, he ate it. Then we realised it's not the rice that he doesn't like. It's the food not to his taste.

My boy likes porridge or rather anything that doesn't require chewing. If it requires him to chew, he would prefer it to be tasty, else he can't be bothered to chew. He loves ketchup, once we gave him sardines fried with onions, he finished his entire bowl of rice.

krissie
think most mummies got it thru BP from Amazon like Sept Bride.

for the rice, i usually add more water if JH is eating rice that day. then i will add some hot soup to soften it. most of the time he will take.

Re: Noblehouse books
wah, you gals are so fast, am picking up the books for some of the mommies too tomorrow.

Krissie,
The lady said she can't get hold of you, so I volunteered to collected the books for you tomorrow then I pass to you on Sun, ok? Anyone else need me to collect for them?

re: noblehouse books

hi sleeping deer,
is this the one organized by joanna? If yes, can help me to collect my books too :p

SY/Krissie,

You can't get leapfrog DVD in singapore. have to get from Amazon. Many folks are doing BP. Interesting but like most other DVDs, some children would love them, some can't be bothered.

"I Can Read" - I'm just wondering if you ladies have seen the contents of Level 1 books? a list of 10 simple words in red interfaced with pictures. to me that's pretty expensive to pay for for just 20 pages of simple materials ... just my opinion. I would think the higher level are worth a buy but from a teacher's comment, she feels the contents is not worth a read ... hm, quite true actually. This set of books is written locally by a grandmother btw.

.ky.

re: A+D
I have been using the 16oz tub size one on Keenan for more than a year liao and it has never cracked or hardened b4. It's just like Vaseline lor, the gel remains a gel. Or maybe becos I always finished it b4 its expiry date?

Slinky,
My order is 3 tubs of A+D please.

re: Mozzie repellant
Can try burning citronella candles? I got them from Guardian b4. Otherwise if you have an aromatherapy burner, try using Citronella or Lemongrass essential oil. O, my mum also suggested putting pandan leaves (in a vase) in the corners of the house. Or growing fresh lemongrass in the house.

krissie
my IL will steam rice with more water for k.. the grain is in rice form but is softer. I dun think k will like to eat rice we eat now as well unless it's soak in the soup.

ky
thanks for the info. did u try the leapfrog DVDs before? dunno whether JH will like but since like review is not bad

i have seen the books for I Can Read before. u r right in saying that it is pretty ex. there was another cheaper brand Fei Ying but the shop at Parkway close down already....

u have other chinese books to recommend? i find it quite hard to get nice chinese books in sg or maybe i dunno where to buy

denmy
i know pandan leaves can scare off cockroach, din know abt mosquito. shall try that out

Ky,
So bad.If the clinic messed up the application and failed to submit it, shouldn't the clinic pay for the mistake by taking up the NICU charges?

Mamachan,
Daren still having fever?

Cookie,
I stopped cooking porridge when I bring JW out liao esp now with JG classes on Sunday. He gets really cranky from lack of sleep and it is a battle to feed him his porridge. So I just order fish soup and give him rice and fish (minus the soupkekecoz I don't trust the MSG outside). Tried it once last weeknot too bad. Didn't need to "fight" with him. He sat pretty quietly through the food till he is full then he started fussing again coz he was tired.

RE: Noblehouse book
I collected yday. Find it is too chim for our kids now. Will keep it first bah. cos I think Jamie will tear the book if I were to read to her. Haven't pay for it yet. It is $16.80 per set of 6 books. Unless u want them to deliver then it will be additional $5. If u are collecting, take lift C or D to reach level 4 and u will see it.

SY ... I make my own set of cards with words, and then I can tailor make what I think is useful. I focus more on reciting rhymes like tang poem and san zi jin and get the kid to be interested in chinese as a language rather than stressing myself over reading books. I've a few sets of chinese books but still at exploring stage with my #1 (coz he doesn't fancy chinese), so can't really comment which is good yet.

SH, u think any doctor would take $$ out of his pocket ... the sky would fall if so....

Mamachan, hope Daren's fever is down already... been a few days

.ky.

Hi SY,

Thanks for offerning to ask your friends on the benefit cosmetics!

As i may not be able to drop by the thread often, i may response faster by email. So PM me if you need to, Thanks!

SH/ky/god's child
thanks for asking. Daren's fever seems to be down already for now. Temperature back to normal since afternoon, hope it's already over, this episode. No sign of rashes nor anything like that. Siong for both me and the maid the past few nights, especially when Daren wants to be held to sleep (hugged) and when he starts to cry uncontrollably once he's placed down, have to rock him to sleep. Not easy task when he weighs close to 14kg. Now am feeling zonked out.

SY - i am keen to get Leapfrog Letter Factory for a start. Can let me know how much it will cost(estimation will do) after the shipping and conversion? thks!

SL
Can I have your email address pls? BTW, please transfer $32.09 to my POSB account. I'll email my bank accounts to you when I have your email.

Drugstore spree #1

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Items</TD><TD>qty</TD><TD>WT (oz)</TD><TD>Total WT (oz)</TD><TD> USD </TD><TD> Total (USD) </TD><TD> Total (SGD) =USD*1.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD></TD><TD>9</TD><TD></TD><TD>72</TD><TD> $26.65 </TD><TD> $54.21 </TD><TD> $86.74 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>8</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $8.58 </TD><TD> $13.73 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 1lb</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>48</TD><TD> $9.49 </TD><TD> $28.47 </TD><TD> $45.55 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>8</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $8.58 </TD><TD> $13.73 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SL</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $6.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $4.29 </TD><TD> $6.86 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mamachan
glad to hear that Darren is better. wow 14kg..must be really tough for you and maid to have to hug him to sleep esp for u...

any reason for the fever persisting for so many days?

SSF,
let me consolidate the orders and let u know.

sleepingdeer
thanks so much for offering to help me to pick up the books. Oh, i had some missed calls when i was in meetings. Then, dunno who it is so, didnt call back. :p

thanks for the feedback on the rice. Ger takes the rice sometimes and sometimes he doesnt take.
even if he takes, it's v little, like 2 table spoonfuls. v little right? as compared to bowl of porridge. How much rice does your todd take now? is it enough to replace the whole meal? I find Ger qt fussy eater. But, I shall try to feed him more solids so he can get used to the food at CC. btw, any todds like Ger who prefers porr over rice?

SY,
There's a Chinese bookshop/library at Parkway Centre level 4 if you are interested in getting more Chinese books. I've recently joined member there as well as signed up for their borrowing facility. Its $15 for 3 mths with a max of 3 books each time you borrow. The lady will help you choose books that are suitable for our kids level. They have more books for 3 yo +. I find their selection of Chinese books there are quite good. In fact they supply to some schools too.

Denmy
thanks for the info. i will check out level 4. I never really explore level 4. what is the name of the shop?

SSF,
i did a quick estimate. The cost of each DVD is about $21, depending on how many DVDs we get.

re leapfrog,
any more mummies interested?

1. SY - 3 DVDs
2. Flo - 3 DVDs
3. Clare - DVD Set
4. SSF - 1 DVD

hi preggy mummies,

I am going to get a personalised bean sprout pillow for my second bb. hb says caleb has one...second one also must make one else it be funny for the second one to use Caleb's pillow with his name on it. haha..

anyone interested to get it? i am trying to see if there is any special price for BP. just emailed them...meanwhile, let me know if any of you are interested.

http://www.beansprout-pillow.com/rc_call.htm

Mamachan
Hope Daren is better now! Must be real tired for you.....you rest well too.

Krissie
My son takes rice but very little compared to a whole bowl of porridge. He still prefers his "nau nau" porridge.

SY,
Its called Xue2 Zi1 Le4.

SSF,
re: Beansprout pillow
If you can get cheaper, I'd like one for Declan. He lost his pillow #2. I have previously ordered from Siok Chin b4 too. 3 pillows w/ casings plus 5 extra pillow cases. I've tried asking b4 also no discount.

denmy - oh so sad no discount har? anyway will see wat she replies. if no, i think i will still go ahead and order coz i bot one for caleb with 2 casings *:p

Logging in from Japan, Tokyo.

Hee hee many things to catch up man.

Mamapanda
Pai seh gotta to pay you the additional after I return to Singapore

13 Jul, very very black friday for me
Left my handphone in my Gucci Wristlet in the taxi in Japan. Spent 2 hours trying to call the taxi company to get it back from the taxi driver. It is a taxi hotline so very very difficult to get thru. In the end, I fed up went to the police post and he managed to get through within 1 ring. Lucky thing is within 45 mins, the taxi company located the driver and he happened to be nearby. He returned it to me at the police post. So glad to have my handphone back man. Good thing all taxis issued receipt here in Japan man.