(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

She has not delivered the books to me yet. Those who want to tompang me for their books can still do so. best is those who want to tompang, add your name to the list here so I can call Nancy in the moring and tell her to deliver your books all to my location. Then I'll consolidate all the invoices and internet transfer the monies to her. All you need to do is to transfer to me your invoice amount. I'll ask Nancy to give me all your individual invoices and I'll keep u advised on how much you need to pay. The $5 delivery fee I'll divide equally amongst all of us. Let me know by tomorrow 9am if u can so I can call Nancy early in the morning to arrange. What's her number to call?

1. Slinky
2. Chicken Little
3. KY
4. Aileen

clare
My k810i has a 3 mega pixel carlziss autofocus lens with auto flashlight and antishake. Dun expect sharp pics if the subject is moving around fast but if standing reasonably still with little or slight movement, the pic is still quite clear. Good thing abt this phone's camera is u can take 9 shots in succession per sec so u can choose the best shot amongst the 9 shots. Good function for capturing our darlings since they're always moving.

Tabbi
I took like >10 pic can only choose 2-3 good ones to show. The rest look ok when small but when expanded to full size, abit blur cuz Ariene also cant sit or stand still. Always on the move too.

mamapanda,
So u've decided to wait for Amazing Star. I agree lah, convenience is very important!
Ariene looks so cute! I like the last pic with her ponytails. I'm amazed that she'll actually let you take pics of her, and can pose somemore! I have great difficulty taking pics of Janelle coz she doesn't like to take photos.

Grace,
Well, don't worry. Your girl actually has more hair than my girl!! My girl is super botak still on the top of her head...i'm still waiting and waiting for her hair to grow. It seems to be taking AGES!

anyone interested in a drugstore spree? I need to top up Ariene's desitin supply and there isn't any convenient drugstore spree going on. If I can rally enough pple, I don't mind starting a drugstore spree.

aileen
N95 camera very good. my hb using one. it is 5 Megapixel and uses some special lenses. it has a focusing function also. i dun like nokia phone cameras but that one is pretty good.

i also tried motorola before and the camera was very fast. samsung is also quite good from what i can see from my fren's camera

re lady who died in labour
my fren told me abt that too! so sad! she was saying that the hb went to the blood bank and they told him can only come back to them at 8. if that is really the case then that is too much already

Mamapanda,

Can I tompang you for the noblehouse books pls?

CL,
Can I trouble you to collect those and the song activity from Mamapanda and I collect from you in town? Thanks!

1. Slinky
2. Chicken Little
3. KY
4. Aileen
5. SL

Queen,

Got your email - so sorry. I am on leave today and leave the token in office. Can add in 1 bottle of the cod liver oil for me? Transfer the monies to you tomorrow morning okay? Thks!

Mamapanda,

Are you looking for desitin creamy? I have got 1 new tube that I can let go to you. BUT have to tell you that the PD advises me not to use desitin. She said that the zinc oxide level is too high.

Mamapanda/Tabbi,

Charmaine moves around a lot too. I cannot get good pictures of her. But somemore, Joycelyn managed to get very nice shots of her during the studio shoot. Am wondering if it's because of the camera.

RE: Noblehouse books
I will be going down tomorrow afternoon to collect leh. Wondered if it will save delivery charges if I collect for u all?

SL/Mamapanda,
I have got stuff with both of u, need me to get it for u?

Denmy,
SL dropping off the Bumwear at ur shop? U got order the books? Need me to help u take also?

DEADLINE: THURS 11AM
I have 2 sets to collect myself, so post here or PM me if u need me to collect okie?
============================================

Mamapanda,
Ariene is so cute. She dun look like 9.1kg to me. Jamie look about the same size but this gal had got heavy bones like Mummy. That's why she is 11.2kg.

Tracy,
Meg is so funny. How come she knows the word ah-neh?

RE: Lady who died in labour
Happened to be my fren's cousin's fren..she had 2 daughters that is quite old already. Wanted to try a son for her hubby. Who knows it is a twin, furthermore is a boy and a girl. Poor thing, the hubby got to overcome the death of his wife and yet need to take care of the newborn twin.

sl,
So sorry, I placed orders liao. Anyway, I cannot add in the cod liver oil for you cos have reached the weight quota. Perhaps you want to join Mamapanda's spree #3?

Mamapanda,
Wah, I have to say your phone takes really good quality pics. And Ariene looks like you.

Re. lady who died in labour
Really sad... Can imagine how hard it is for her family. Actually, 44 year old is considered high risk liao. Sorry, I don't want to sound insensitive but what's the thing about trying to have a son? Somemore at 44 years old?

Re. Diaper Rash Cream
Actually I only use twice a day only now, morning and night or whenever I find redness on his bum. Do you all think Vaseline works just as well? I'm thinking of using Vaseline once I finish with the Desitin and A+D. Vaseline is pure petroleum jelly.

Re. Hole in the heart
Brought Isaac for his 3rd follow-up. His heart murmur is still there, though the doctor thinks it seems to be sound softer. The hole could be closing but the doc didn't want to do a scan to confirm cos he feels it's pointless since at 10kg, Isaac is too light to take medication or go for surgery, even if the scan shows that the hole is still not closing. Sigh... he said the same thing during the last follow-up 8 months ago. So both me and HB feels that the checkup seems pretty useless and had to wait 1 hour or so for a 5 minute check.

queen

re: trying for son
you'd be surprised about trying for son... my friend has 3 girls, and she's still considering more kids to try for a son... plus do you know when you have a girl, people's reaction to you are so different when you tell them you have a girl, they'll always say apologetically oh never mind can try again, when you say you are preggers with boy, they will smile and congratulate you... its quite amusing.

re: noble house books
I'm thinking of going to self collect this fri or sat, actually i can collect for those mommies who are going for the JG class on sunday, so no need to pay for delivery. If you want can let me know anytime before friday by sms or posting here.

mamapanda
I can actually collect the noble house book on your behalf and pass to you when i get my nordic oil/ books from you, if you don't mind waiting til then, then can save on delivery charges

RE: woman who died in labour
very sad right... esp when you see the heartfelt frustration of the hubby on TV... difficult case hers... she had a bleeding problem called DIC from too much blood loss, actuallly giving her more blood will make it worse... she needed clotting factors and went into shock from excessive blood loss... so sad... that's one of the major complications of excessive bleeding... that giving blood won't help... i think the family misunderstood the doctors/ staff, but i think it is still sad what happened... normally if blood supply is low, you have to call up the blood bank mo to get permission to release the blood which only takes a few min, usu not a problem to release blood for such situations, but routinely hosp staff may sometimes suggest to the family to help top up at the blood bank but does not mean the blood will automatically got to the patient... some more not all the family may have the same blood group right?

Tabbi, May
I don't mind you collecting it for me if you don't mind but I've got 4 other mummies tompang under me also, unless u dun mind collecting for them as well. Let me know so I can call Nancy asap ok?

Mummies who tompang me :
1. Chicken Little
2. KY
3. Aileen
4. SL

I'm bringing my maid to post office to remit money now so I might not answer postings. You can sms me if u need to contact me urgently ok? I'll probably be back in office by 11am

tabb
i dun qt understd why the hosp ask the family to gather family members to top up the blood bank, since the donated blood wont be going to the lady?? that was why I thot caused the misunderstanding and the family thot that she died coz there is insufficient blood.

and it's so sad loh.. I was telling hb that if anything happen to me during my labour, I only like like 2mths left with Ger and my hb now.
think preggie woman tend to think of nonsense. Coz I also had a lot of blood loss that time. In fact, I saw few packs of blood on the table which my gynae prep for me...

tabbiesus,
my experience has been the opposite leh. i have pple pitying me coz i'm having 2 boys. so ridiculous right?! the worst was the tea-lady in my office. when i told her #2 is a boy again, she went "oh no! jia lat lah! u better go try for a girl!!" i was so taken aback!!! she claims that daughters are more filial, she had 3 herself. so i rebuked her, "it doesn't mean girls will be filial! it's all in the upbringing! i know of some parents whose daughters are very rebellious. so what do say about those! and what can be worst when ur teen daughter comes home one day to tell u that she's pregnant!" what a crazy woman!! cannot stand her!!

Tabbi, May
I don't mind you collecting it for me if you don't mind but I've got 4 other mummies tompang under me also, unless u dun mind collecting for them as well. Let me know so I can call Nancy asap ok?

Mummies who tompang me :
1. Chicken Little
2. KY
3. Aileen
4. SL

If Tabbi is ok to collect for all, I can pass to KY, Mamapanda and SL. But Tabbi, I wont be going for JG class this sunday. Will be away for business trip. Can I collect from you on 22 Jul 07 ? The next class. Thanks.

May,Denmy,
It's my FIL who taught her to call ah-nehs..classic lor.

Flo,
:p I rushed her into the bathroom to bathe when the MP came by last night.

Last night at the petrol kiosk, both cashiers are Indians, so while paying I was very fearful of Meg calling them. She kept staring at them and when she open her mouth only (i think not to call them lah), i quickly turn her around. Who knows, behind also an Indian customer waiting to pay! I told my hubby we go out first, he pay. This is bad lor, I gotta correct this ah-neh thing!

Mamapanda,
hahaha, the first photo surely cannot pass for passport photo! But its cute!

Tabbie,
Now that you explain it from the medical point of view, I guess there's nothing more the hospital could have helped if more blood also can't save her. Sad case..

But hers was really high-risk case, low-placenta, twins, 44YO etc.

re boys vs girls
think actually quite a lot of old folks still like to have boys. my fren who is preggie now was asking me whether i felt the pressure to have a boy. she says she feels that her IL wants a boy but of cos they never say...guess it's this unspoken feeling that it is good to have a boy first.

krissie
dun think too much! i agree with u that we will think of such nonsense though. i was also thinking that childbirth actually can be quite dangerous but fortunately all of us here are safe and sound. dun worry too much. we will keep u in our prayers when u go deliver.

krissie,
you'll be fine, don't think silly tots. BUT i was thinking alot also when we talk about planning for #2. Previously with #1, we are ignorant and dunno about complications, risks etc. Now that we know, we start worrying unduly..guess ignorance is bliss sometimes.

hi tabbiesus,
can CL, myself and mamapanda tongbang you to collect the books? as well as others who wants to collect from mamapanda (namely, KY and SL). CL will meet mamapanda to pass her the books.

Babyfleur quoted my friend the following prices for bulk purchase and delivery to Singapore Power building only. Any idea if the prices are better than ordering from the US?

1) California baby Calendula Cream - $15.50, min 10 tubs
2) Califonia baby Moisturising Cream- $15, min 6 tubs
3) California baby 17.5oz bodywash- $28, min 5 bottles
5) First Teeth Tooth Paste (with Finger Brush)-
$10.50, min 6pcs

NO MIN QTY!!!
5) CB citronella bugblend lotion or everyday lotion $18
6) CB calming massage oil $ 18
7) CB Everyday Year round Sunblock Stick (0.5oz)
$14.50
8) Badger Bug Balm $13/-

feel so sorrie and sad for the family. It should have been double happiness for them. Really hope the HB will have the strength to carry on with life as well as care for the twins.

mamapanda/ chicken little/ babylon/ aileen

I can collect for all of you, but please confirm by today 5 pm. I will check here for the post on who to collect for. Can pick up from me in town area/ juliagabrial/ holland/ via mamapanda. I am having some problem with my handphone sms, can receive but can't send and i have no internet at home so i will check at 5 pm today for total no. to collect for then cos at my mom's place today.

noblehouse books collection on friday/sat
1.babylon (are you attending the JG? how you want to pick up)
2. chickenlittle (pick up at JG)
3. aileen (will get from mamapanda via CL)
4. mamapanda (will pick up from CL/ me)
5. ky (will get from mamapanda via CL)
6 SL (will get from mamapanda via CL)

So i pay for you first, you can do transfers to me later.

1.babylon (are you attending the JG? how you want to pick up) - will get from mamapanda via CL
5. ky (will get from mamapanda via CL)

So i pay for you first, you can do transfers to me later.

Good morning. I'm back in office. If ur maids wan tpo remit money, this month's the time to do it cuz western union is having a promotion. They dun haf to pay the 10% commission service charge.

tabbi
Thank you so much *muaks*
BTW, I took all 6 books and my total is $16.80 (as told by Nancy). If u give me your bank account number, I can transfer to you anytime.

krissie

sometimes, the blood given to 1 patient is enough to wipe out the stock of that blood type, and staff have been known to suggest that they help top up the blood bank and also hopefully replace the stock. Since, the patient used so much blood, usu. the family members are more understanding on how crucial it is to give blood so they will donate, otherwise sometimes, hard to get blood donors. I guess in this situation, emotions are very high cos no one expected the lady to die and from such a joyous occasion, it became a sad occasion, its very tragic. In this day and age, maternal mortality should really be non existent. i guess we all don't have the exact details of what really happened, but i think our prayers will be with the husb and family... esp when you see the hub so sad on tv... really makes your heart ache.

hey, you ladies are wonderful!! .... updated mine ....

1.babylon (are you attending the JG? how you want to pick up) - will get from mamapanda via CL
5. ky (will pick up CL) ... CL, thanks!

.ky.

Mamachan, r u going to KindyRoo? I might be. The term starts next week ... think I need to have a once-a-week routine with #2 now. Can find any other more suitable programme around CCK... Been giving too much attn to #1.

.ky.

tabbiesus,
i will pick up from u during JG. but like angie, i won't be attending this sun's class. see u the following week. thanks!

RE: Noblehouse
Sorry was busy with Jamie just now. I managed to online now. Going to Noblehouse soon.

Tabbiesus,
I sms u. So u going to collect for them? Or I take first? I will wait for ur reply via SMS.

Tracy,
your encounter with the indians are so funny. I think they will forgive her if she did say ah neh, kids are really very innocent.

re: boys vs girls
It's really very sad to hear that such a thing is happening in the current society. actually no matter how advance we are and how educated the society is, I feel that such discrimination is really inherent and I don't think it's going to change very much in the very near future.
my PIL don't mind any gender as long as they are healthy but my parents are very worried for me because they are afraid that my PIL won't like it if I have a girl again. I think they are the ones who like boys. anyway, girl or boy, I am going to stop at two. no matter what gender, they are all our darlings and girls have their cute and adorable side and boys have their cheeky and amusing side so no point worrying about that.

tabbi
Sometimes, I wonder if the situation could have been better if the doctors were more experienced and more skilled? I have quite a few relatives who died from incompetent, inexperienced doctors who misdiagnosed them. That's y I'm a firm believer that no matter the cost, should get a good doctor.

I have been under subsidy from KK before and I roll my eyes at the inexperienced doctors that attend to me. Will u believe that I was actually diagnosed with infertility (they wanted me to do IVF with them), possible breast cancer and possible uterus cancer by KK before? I was told to do a breast surgery that will disable me from breastfeeding in future and left with 17 surgical scars on two deformed breasts. What's scarier is the doctor who misdiagnosed me is a famous "breast specialist"! Luckily, I had help from my dad and went to Susan Lim for a 2nd opinion. I still did the breast surgery cuz I was diagnosed with "possible cancer" but it turned out the tumors were benign and I only had 2 invisible scars around the aroela and I still can enjoy breastfeeding.

After this episode, I still went back to KK for a follow-up, to give them a last chance, and this time, they diagnosed me with "possible uterus cancer" and wanted me to do a surgery ASAP (they even booked the surgical dates for me). This time, I asked Susan Lim to recommend me a good gynae and that's how Prof Ng became my gynae and after some checks with did not require any surgery, he told me I am perfectly healthy (except for some small polyps and cysts that will not affect fertility) and no problems at all.

That's y, if anyone ask me abt KK, I'd usually tell them if they can afford it, don't go KK. BTW, throughout my history with KK (I was under them for quite a few years), I have also been under their "specialists" before. My conclusion is still the same.. Maybe I'm just unlucky to be under the "not so special specialists".

Updates on Noble house books

Tabbiesus,
I will collect Babylon's books as per sms.

1. chickenlittle (pick up at JG)
2. aileen (will get from mamapanda via CL)
3. mamapanda (will pick up from CL/ me)
4. ky (will pick up CL) ... CL, thanks!
5. SL (will get from mamapanda via CL)

mamapanda

wah, this is serious. how can they misdiagnose? think we should always go for second opinions. It must have been very scary for you when they said you've cancer. So horrible, made pp go thru the emotion rollercoaster.

Hi Mamapanda ... I guess each one has her own story to tell. My SIL was under a famous fertility gynae in Gleneagles.... she had twins via IVF through him. She went into labour at 25 weeks and delivered both prematurely. One twin died as the size has shrank.... and all these while, the gynae never know. How can that be right? And they spend tons of money pre-pregnancy and post-delivery and for IVF cases, they've to buy insurance. The clinic messed up and the application was not submitted. My brother ended up chalking 5-figure just for my nephew's NICU fees. And this is a highly respected top fertility gynae in private practise... so, yes, I don't trust doctors at all... on the other hand, I've heard of frens who have difficulty in conceiving who went to KKH and just took medication and simple procedure and delivery twins or triplets. They don't just recommend IVF. I feel that my SIL was just given the option IVF ... btw, she had another daughter naturally.

So mamapanda, if anyone ask me, I'll say know what you want, do your homework, and u must question your doctor (and not just rely on your doctor). I too once never questioned my doctor much and I paid a very dear price for that. Going to KK is not so bad, going to private doesn't mean it's that good either

.ky.

mamapanda,
wow, I really saluate you in your determination to provide for ariene. to pump at your cubicle. to have that courage and determination not to be affected by other people. have you thought about weaning her?
I put clariss at my MIL place at night for 1 week and she is weaned off my breast after that. ocassionally she still tried her luck and ask to suckle but I always tell her no more and she will just go away. nowsaday, she doesn't ask anymore. I stopped slightly more than 1 month ago.

RE : KKH
i m very anti KKH from my past 2 experiences.
1 miscarraige and the other was damien's was admitted. So matter how serious, KKH will be our last choice of going.

actually I was also half hearted in weaning her off.. I didn't really mind breastfeeding her as I enjoyed the experience. Very ironic.. half my mind says wean, half says she's still young, can still breastfeed until she self wean (which I don't think is gonna happen). Anyway, Europe recommends BF for 2 years, so see how in December. When my EBM runs out in the freezer, then its signalling to me ITS TIME but for now, still maintaining.. I'm kinda used to all that pumping and midnight wakings already (though sometimes when I'm really tired in the middle of the night, I'd feel very pek chek).

babylon,
I second your opinion, esp after seeing how my niece suffered in KKH. Even the time when Ariene was vomitting non-stop for hours, we drove to Mt A's A&E instead of KK's A&E even when I could have 85% subsidy if we drove Ariene to KK instead.