(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Dempsey Road:

I went there to explore yesterday as someone told me abt an indoor air-con playground. Anyway, found the place. It's called Go Go Bambini next to Ben & Jerry's at Blk 8 when you turn in at Dempsey Road. Check out www.gogobambini.com for more details. That entire place was old Mindef & looks like a mini Holland V now. There are restaurants, cafes & bars coming up there & shd be the next in-thing when everything is up

denmy
Hee, should have bought more cherries. 900g is too little.. already popped so many into my mouth. They're so red, plump and juicy. Thanks for the lobang. BTW, you're looking good even after giving birth to 3. Pretty happy mummy. I saw that you're alittle busy yday so I didn't stay longer to talk more. Your hb must be so proud

Sysac
Hows the playground like? Is it clean? Is it big?

Hi mummies....sorry for not posting...been mad at work!

Ok...I've mailed the BP for the Ed Bks to the supplier le...you should be hearing from him in a week's or two's time.

Thanks for being ever so patient with me...this is the first time I'm organising a BP...so a bit slow lah...

ohh...I've finally signed up with Fitness First at Paragon for my weekly workout sessions...decided to start working out again cos lately feeling sluggish and not very productive at work...think exercise should be able to set my adrenaline pumping...

jshopper
Clare, I had that problem with Jshopper as well last time. Do u want me to take over the spree for u instead?

Mamapanda - Yes, looks clean. Adults & kids must wear socks to go in & play. Rem to bring socks if you are going. They are charging $3 a pair if u didn't bring. It's one big maze of balls, stairs, slides, etc...

Demny
haha ya lor... it's the reversed. I kept thinking I owe u :p
The peach release more fragrance today.. so hope tomorrow can try eating liao.

Re Dempsey Road

Yeah its a really up and coming place away from the ususal Orchard crowd... Whenever I put Ashley overnight at mum place HB & I like to go to the "PS Cafe" there at night for drinks/dessert. The "Go Go Bambini" is just next to Ben & Jerry's (must go too very comfy place) and cater to both bigger kids with a maze like playground similar to that in DownTown East and a separate play area for children below 2 with mini ball pool and mini playground. Great thing is the play area is just next to the tables and chairs for daddies n mummies n friends to chit chat over coffee and yet still keep an eye on the children. =)

Oh just to add, another great place for a relaxing hang out for couple would be "The Villa Bali" near Malan Road.

MamaPanda

Oh so i'm not alone with the problem with Jshoppers.... Just tried again still not much good.. blood boiling liao... hahaha. IF you dun mind can I send you the consolidated order and try to see if you can access it better? PM you liao. TIA!

sysac
i just read abt this go go bambini place. i was telling hb we shd check out dempsey road!

i m attending an indian wedding this week. what is the market rate?

denmy
thanks very much on the tips for cooking the macroni cheese...hmm i will try to do the white sauce maybe next weekend. tried to give JH some fried rice and he din wan it...

thanks for the fruits BP too! the peaches are relaly sweet....JH was fighting with me for it.

cheng
thanks very much for opening your place. can see that all the kids loved your place!! JH had fun and was knocked out when he reached home. he was in a fantastic mood the rest of the day.

SY

Me too attending an Indian colleague's wedding this Fri @ Tank Rd Temple... sama sama?? I was told the ang bao must end with $1 and $51 is considered very generous already. So i guess it depends on where is the wedding held, hotel vs temple.

Clare's Jshopper spree
I'm taking over the spree from Clare as she's having trouble with the website. Mummies, please transfer the money to me instead. I'll post the amount to pay shortly after I've placed the orders for u.

Flo/Sleepingdeer/Wenyl

Re Jshopper spree
All thanks to MamaPanda who has offered to take over the ordering... Have sent you all an email with her bank acount details. The orders will be shipped to my mum place instead and we shall arrange from there again. =)

Animal Resort @ Seletar Farmway

Some pictures to share on our trip there yesterday:

862795.jpg

"Look Dah-Dy... DUCK! DUCK!"

862796.jpg

"Mumm Mumm"
(Ashley feeding the rabbits & Guinea Pigs)

862797.jpg

Mummy feeding the goats. Ashley was too afraid of them cos they were leaning tooo close when she was trying to feed them.

It is not a BIG farm but we did see quite a no. of animals such as Goat, Peacock, Goose, Chicken, Dogs/Puppies (aircon), Stork, Rabbits, Guinea Pigs, Parrots, etc. Its Free admission and you can buy feeds for almost all animals. Quite fun. =)

Jshopper
Mummies, I've placed the orders for you already. The items will be delivered to the address Clare has specified (Toa Payoh). Here's the payment details :

<table border=1><tr><td> Nick</TD><TD>ItemsTotal (yen)</TD><TD>Shipping (yen)</TD><TD>Total (Yen)</TD><TD>Total (SGD)</TD><TD>Paid? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lisa</TD><TD>7,310</TD><TD>353.57</TD><TD>7,663.57</TD><TD> $103.46 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>6,450</TD><TD>311.97</TD><TD>6,761.97</TD><TD> $91.29 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>4,260</TD><TD>206.05</TD><TD>4,466.05</TD><TD> $60.29 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>6,790</TD><TD>328.42</TD><TD>7,118.42</TD><TD> $96.10 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total</TD><TD>24,810</TD><TD>1,200</TD><TD>26,010</TD><TD> $351.14 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Playgroup
Thanks for coming by - hope everyone had as much fun as we did :> CL, thanks for bring the eclairs and swiss rolls for snacks and all the tambourine materials too. Will upload some photos in our Yahoo account.

Clare
I brought Aidan to the animal resort last Sat too :> very near my place, he loves feeding the rabbits, did not like the goat as much. I think this is a nice short trip for the kids!

Toddler bed
Just to share, since we have converted the cot to a toddler bed, Aidan has started to sleep on his own bed (as opposed to co-sleeping). 2 nights in a row now..fingers crossed that he will continue :>

Animal Resort
This looks like a nice place to bring kids.

Stopping BM
I also have the greenish-blue vein and hard lumps. But all these have like kind of gone down when my breasts got adjusted to the changes. Right now i can only pump about 200 ml a day. joash is slowly taking to FM tho' he still doesn't drink as much of it.

Clare,
No worries! Thanks for trying! Will tt the payment to mamapanda.

Mamapanda,
Thanks for taking over! I tink the names are not in order. Shld be ....

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>ItemsTotal (yen)</TD><TD>Shipping (yen)</TD><TD>Total (Yen)</TD><TD>Total (SGD)</TD><TD>Paid? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD>7,310</TD><TD>353.57</TD><TD>7,663.57</TD><TD>$103.46 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>6,450</TD><TD>311.97</TD><TD>6,761.97</TD><TD>$91.29 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sleepingdeer</TD><TD>4,260</TD><TD>206.05</TD><TD>4,466.05</TD><TD>$60.29 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>6,790</TD><TD>328.42</TD><TD>7,118.42</TD><TD>$96.10 </TD><TD>IB on 2Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total</TD><TD>24,810</TD><TD>1,200</TD><TD>26,010</TD><TD>$351.14 </TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Btw, I have just transferred $96.10 to u. Pls kindly check. Thanks v much!

Cheng,
Got any pic of the todd's bed to share? I was thinking of getting one for Jamie. The matress that I have gotten for her seems to be very soft and I am quite concern of her spine development if it is too soft.

Clare,
Very easy to find the animal resort? Feel like bringing Jamie there.

cheng
all the best.. do update us on Aidan's sleeping success in the Todd bed.
and let us know when the playgrp pics are uploaded, pls. then, I can download them. heehee.. I've also taken a few shots (really only a few) at the JG class yest. Will download into the yahoo grp soon.

Thanks Krissie and Cheng,

Will look forward to both pics. Me totally forgotten about taking pics on both event. But we are totally zonked out after the JG class since we had a hectic weekend. Sat Cheng's place, evening went to Botanical garden for the movie screening, sunday JG. Aiyo. All slept early last night.

Seletar Farmway
Wow the outing looks fun leh. So who is organising the next trip there ?

haha, yes Meg really looks like me now.

Mamachan,
No such feeling of blocked ducts. In fact, before preggy, when my period is coming, the breasts will be sore. Now after breastfeeding, no such feelings anymore when period is coming. Eh...good news from you????? Cos having sore breasts is one of the symptoms!

Clare
yup same wedding.
i won't be staying long cos JH is along at home with maid.

Seletar Farmway
i saw that on TV and wanted to bring JH. hmm, since so many mummies interested, when shall we go?

cheng
wow, sounds good that Aidan sleeping on the toddler bed, how do u make sure he won't fall off? is the barrier enough? what if he tries to climb down?

spend around $400 for a total change on my hair on last sat..end up damien had a choke while sleeping and puked on my hair...

may
why don't u buy the latex mattress (cant remem brand.. err.. safety first?). I bought that for Ariene and it fits nicely into a standard cot. Very firm and washable. When Ariene was sick and puked on the bed, we only had to take it out and wash with water. No stains, no bacteria. Very firm too.

seletar farmway ... the mushroom farm is along the same road. can stop by to visit too. tour is on the dot on weekends ...

SY, we didn't know the charges for indian wedding at temple. got invited to one with hotel and temple and we paid quite a bit coz it's our good fren. can find out for u ...

.ky.

Mamapanda,
Jamie is sleeping on the Shinemate Bumper Mattress now. She dun sleep in cot leh. So was thinking getting a todd bed for her since nowadays I noticed she dun toss 360 degree when she sleep already.

RE: Seletar Farmway
Will getting a mini bus be cheap? Then we can organise a mini excusion? I will be resigning tomorrow. Was thinking for a half day or 1 day tour then start to look for a job.

SL
re: Moving & Learning by Rae Pica
Have u transferred the $45.40 to my account for the 2nd book? Its sitting in the bookshop waiting for collection already.

Animal resort
I've been there. Thought that place quite sucky.. nothing much to see and lots of mozzies leh...

babylon,
wow...wat change did you do to your hair? $400! Heehee, Damien choked and puked on your hair??

queen,
yes, the brown ON dress is the one with cute pockets.

SSF,
know what u mean...my boss sits right behind me as well. Feel like i have a pair of eyes staring at me all the time like dat....keke guess wat, i went to get a mirror to put on my desk so that she doesn't scare me all the time by walking up behind me suddenly :)

Denmy,
Hmm...sounds yummy. I should try it coz think JW has decided that mummy porridge and food taste horrible. He went on a food/solid strike yesterday. Did open his mouth lunch/dinner. All he wanted was milk. Until we brought him over to SY house and showed him how JH guai guai eat...then he open his mouth for his dinner.

At first worried that he was sick/teething...but this morning at macdonald, he was eating the egg and bread heartily...so i guess it must be a strike against my cooking skills :-(

Oh.. forgot to mention the farm at seletar farmway is called Animal Resort. I know cuz I bought my puppy from there.. However, there's one place just before Animal resort along Seletar farmway track 5 thats worth going though.. Alamak... forgot the mushroom farm name.. yeah.. its the place where u can buy fresh mushrooms at wholesale price.

seletar farmway

went there a couple of weeks back to find the myco mushroom farm. Got there but only got a few wild dogs there and the place looked deserted! End up didn't get out of the car.

Then we went over to animal resort. Also like nobody. So end up also didn't go in.

Tracy,

i had digital permed..and color not done yet..going back this friday...as well as treatment.

HB question how much i spend on my hair...dun dare to tell him the truth..hee~

Damien was coughing inside his sarong so i carried him out..and he was choked by his saliva and puked on my hair..My hb and elder boy were laughing at me..wat a day..

Re Animal Resort @ Seletar Farmway

Mummies I found the website:
http://www.rictedkennels.com/

MamaPanda/Mashy
Did you go on a weekend? I went on Sat and initially did not see the goats but as more families came I think more animals were "released" to walk around. Even so, the place was not crowded so still got own space to interact with and feed the animals.

seletar farmway : the farms look generally quite quiet. For the mushroom farm, it's like a 15-min visit, but if you LOVE mushroom, then it's good to visit. The tour is just a less than 5 min one, but the lady does give some very good info on mushroom. For animal resort, you see few animals like what Clare has stated above, but it's definitely not as well run as Hay Diaries, but Hay Diaries probably is the most commercial setup in sgp.

May, since you stay in the west, maybe it's better for u to visit the LCK farms ... Hay diaries is a good start, then pop over to the dragon fruit farm next door, and then end up at Bollywood for lunch plus visit of the veg farm. Seletar farmway is easily a 25 min drive and might not be cheap on mini-bus

.ky.

babylon
$400? what change did u do to your hair?

hee, it's quite normal that i dun tell my hb the full price of anything..haha

SH
hmm, sometimes when JH doesn't wan to eat anything, i also think he doesn't like my cooking but after a while he will eat it. i was thikning of trying the macoroni cheese thing too! but my hb doesn't eat that so that means doing a small portion which is such a waste. if i do, i will do one for JW also.

Hi babylon
so how after Damien puked on your hair? can't wash yet right?

Where you went for your perm? I had one done in November last year and it was not very good as it was uneven, so one side not curl and one side more curl, went for redo and after that felt my hair spoil.

SY - ya, also never tell hb full price. Normally he ask only if he feel it is expensive, then I got defensive...hehe....

I also don't tell him the full price for toys I buy or will reply that wow got good discount and see the children enjoy it sooooooo much....

clare

yah, i went on a sat so i was rather surprised to see the place deserted. So not sure whether i had to make appt to go there or not.

Clare
Yes, we went on a weekend. Only see more human than anything animals and 2 miserable ducks in the pond.

Today my boy started on his 1.5hr playgroup.

There's only 1 other boy there but gosh, the teachers even with a 1 to 1 ratio also can't seem to be able to attract the attn of the 2 boys. The singing was out of tune, the story telling was boring (same monotonous tone throughout and pointing at the words and blocking the pictures), some of the toys were very old.

good thing he's on a 1 week trial. So see how for the next few days, if still cannot make it, i'll just have to look elsewhere again. The teachers said it's the first day and they needed to adapt, but i went for so many trials also not so impromptu. Even though they had the lessons mapped out, they couldn't follow thru coz the 2 kids were simply not interested.

mashy
hmm, the teachers don't sound very engaging. lucky u on trial!

yuen
ha, i also tell hb the prices slashed by half. if not he sure say i spend too much

Feeling super lousy today... my gal is sick
got the cough/phegm/runny nose during weekends. was so super sticky tat she requires me to carry her in my arms almost 24/7. zombified now... and cos of the phelgmy cough,she has been throwing up at least one meal each day since sat... am bringing her to PD tonite... i am feeling so lousy, grumpy and cranky!!!

Fish oil for our darlings?

Anyone interested in these? I'm researching on a good and reasonably priced one. BTW, anyone tried Scotts Emulsion Orange flavour? Is it good? Or anyone tried 7-seas? These are the only 2 brands I can find in our pharmacies here. The rest are softgels which I'm quite hesistant to give Ariene as I'm not sure if she'll choke on it or not.

<font color="ff0000">Nordic Naturals Children's DHA 100% Arctic Cod Liver Oil - 8 oz. $16.44</font>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/768990027239.html
Nordic Naturals Arctic Cod Liver Oil for kids! Our award winning flavored cod liver oil has been taste tested by children and contains healthy levels of naturally occurring vitamins A and D. Molecularly distilled for purity, Children's DHA Liquid has the highest Omega-3 level of any cod liver oil. Enhanced with strawberry essence for a great taste kids love. DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) is a polyunsaturated fatty acid found in deep-sea ...

Suggested Use: 1/2 to 1 teaspoon daily, with food, or as directed by your health care professional or pharmacist.

Ingredients: Purified arctic cod liver oil, vitamin E (mixed tocopherols), strawberry essence

Each 1 teaspoon provides:
DHA: 626 mg Vitamin A: 10002000 IU
EPA: 410 mg Vitamin D: 220 IU
Other Omega-3s: 226 mg Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols): 5.0 IU

<font color="0000ff">Res-Q Me Too! DHA Liquid - 6.8 Oz. ($19USD if buy 6 or more)</font>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/012345000041.html
Res-Q Me Too!* Res-Q Me Too!, lemon-flavored EPA and high-DHA liquid, is especially formulated for children ages 1 through 12. Early childhood is a critical period for brain ... communication between the brain and nervous system literally depend on DHA, as does healthy vision. Studies have identified a link between DHA deficiency and learning disorders amongst schoolchildren. Parents can prevent DHA deficiency and lay the foundation of ...

Suggested serving: Children ages 1-12 take 1 tsp. daily.

Ingredients : Highly refined Omega-3 marine oil, natural lemon flavor, proprietary antioxidant blend consisting of rosmary extract, absorbyl palmitate, natural tocopherols)

Servings per container : 40
Each 1(5ml) teaspoon provides:
DHA: 740-850 mg
EPA: 425 - 600 mg
Omega-3s : 1400 to 1700 mg
Other Omega-3s: 200-325 mg

<font color="119911">Source Naturals DHA Liquid Lemon Flavor - 200 ml/6.76 oz. (3>: $11.75, 6>:$11.63, 12>: $11.40)</font>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/021078019824.html
The Omega-3 fatty acid DHA protects the neurons and neurological functions of the brain, supporting cognition, memory, and mood. DHA is the most prevalent fatty acid in the brain, which is 60% fat by dry weight. ArcticPure uses fish oil from the cleanest sources on Earth. A series of advanced distillation processes extracts and concentrates the beneficial fatty acids from the raw oil, resulting in a product of outstanding purity. The state-of-the-art bottling process is done in an oxygen-free environment, insuring an oil that is not oxidized and is as pure as any oil available worldwide. The Lemon Flavor gives ArcticPure DHA a taste pleasing to both adults and children.

Servings: 1 teaspoon daily at mealtime or bedtime.
Amount per Serving:

Total Fat 5 g
Saturated Fat 1 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 15 mg
ArticPure Fish Oil Concentrate 5 ml
Yielding:
EPA (Eicosapentaenoic Acid) 740 mg
DHA (Docosahexaenoic Acid) 460 mg
Other omega-3 Essential Fatty Acids 200 mg

Other IngredientsLemon oil, rosemary leaf extract, ascorbyl palmitate, and natural tocopherols. Contains fish and soy.

<font color="ff6000">Jarrow Formulas - Max DHA Liquid - 6.67 oz - 3>: $11.85, 6>: $11.73, 12>: $11.49, 48>: $11.25</font> http://www.luckyvitamin.com/790011160342.html
Max DHA Liquid contains pharmaceutical grade, highly concentrated omega-3 fatty acids from ultra clean fish oil purified by molecular distillation.
Max DHA Liquid omega-3 fatty acids are in naturally occurring glyceride form, allowing better absorption than free fatty acids and ethyl ester forms.
Max DHA Liquid meets stringent CRN and USP Monograph as well as European Pharmaceutical standards for purity. Free from heavy metals and toxins.
DHA and EPA support brain, cardiovascular, immune and metabolic pathways involved in prostaglandin synthesis and response

Servings: Adults and children over age 4, take 1 teaspoon daily; for children age 1-4, take 1/2 teaspoon; for pregnancy and lactation, take 1 teaspoon

Each serving = 5ml, total 40 servings. Each 5ml contains
Omega3 fatty acids: 1400-1700mg
EPA: 425 - 600mg
DHA: 740 - 850mg
Other Omega-3: 200-325mg

Ingredients : Highly refined omega-3 fish oil, natural lemon flavor, proprietary antioxidant blend (consisting of rosemary extract, ascorbyl palmitate and natural tocopherols)