(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May,..

I agree to AK and ask them to send you the contract copy first than from that you can take action....As the most important is you must have the copy of your contract...

It's sound rediculous to me that your agent asking you to send the resignation letter rather than send you the contract

well,

may . you have the right to get the copy of contract. you jsut let them know that if the refuse then you will procee you case to the lawyer who will then liase with MOM..

just scare them lor.. but this works

Cheng, CL,
Sorry can't make it for the water play thing this sat. SIL is going to the zoo and hb would like to join them.

Pls keep me posted of the Memoiracts open house when Mamachan comes back. Thanks!

May
what a thing to happen! yeah agree with the rest of the mummies.ask her to send u the contract if not u go to MOM. some pple need these kind of scare tatics

hi may,

i contacted my frd who is working in an agency. she said if there is a contract signed between agency and you, there shld be a copy where one is kept by you and the other by the agency. if there is none kept by you, it could be the case where you actually fill up the application form and sign it and there is a disclaimer at the bottom of the form. can you remember? also she said if there is a contract signed...agency shld not stop you from getting a copy from them.

what she recommended for your case is that if you are on good terms with your boss and ur boss is willing to let you go. ask your boss to talk to the agent to let you go and not impose the penalty. normally agency will want to scare you and not really impose the penalty.

can i also ask if you are getting pay from agent or from the co directly? that will determine which contract you are bounded with.

maybe u can PM me the agency name coz my frd says there is an agency you need not be afraid of as they will not take action.

SSF,
My boss dun talk to me so I think it is difficult to ask her for help. Anyway I am still thinking of what to tell her when I resign. My reason to agency is the job scope and company culture does not suit me.

The agent told me that there is a disclaimer at the bottom of the application form that I had signed. But I dun remember seeing one as I am very careful in signing documents.

I will PM u the agency name.

I get pay directly from the company.

My friend's selling her True Yoga Membership. Details as follow:
- Only $95 per month x 32 months (Expires in March 2008
- UNLIMITED ACCESS to all 3 True Yoga clubs at convenient locations (Ocean Towers and OUB Centre @ Raffles Place & Pacific Plaza @ Orchard).
- True Yoga offers more than 350 classes covering over 25 types of Yoga, dance and Pilates classes each week.
Total price: $3,040 (Open to Negotiation)

Anyone interested can sms/PM me. =)

does any one has contact for taxi drivers who does private arrangements? i am looking for someone to ferry edgar and my dad thru and fro his classes. it's twice weekly in the afternoon. preferably newer taxis or the mercedez. thanks!

aileen - where is the loc? my dad is a taxi driver and he is driving the new silver cab. not sure which co but its hyundai or kia. maybe u can PM me the details. i can check with him if he is interested.

Dear mummies

since many of our tots will be going to CC soon. lets do two polls..

1) what question to ask when visiting the CC

2) What to look out for when you are there

Aileen - I also have contact. It's Silver Cab. PM details & I check for you if driver wants to take up arrangement

Hi Mommies
So many postings to catch up.

Had my 2nd lasik done yesterday and went for my eye checkup this morning...am happy to announce that my right eye is now a perfect 6/6 vision =) Is still quite dry tho and will prob take about a few weeks to be back to normal. The feeling is so shiok. Don't have to put on my lens in the morning anymore and spend time searching for it if I drop it. Dropped my lens twice when I was in Taipei last week and end up almost late for my meeting....arrgh.

JG sign-up list
1) CL
2) Krissie
3) Aileen
4) sunny (evans rd)
5) sleepingdeer
6) cheng
7) SH
8) Denmy
9) Flo

just came back from bintan.

this is my 3rd time there. 1st time went there as a single with many friends. Very enjoyable and fun trip.

2nd time went there after got married with hb. Just a time to chill out and relax. Quite enjoyable.

3rd time went with hb and bb. bored like siao. haha, maybe marginal utility went down already. It rained in the first morn when we were exploring the beach and my boy was going nuts in the sea (still scared). then spent twice in the bb pool. managed to go to the spa, but they're changed hands, so now not as good as asmara spa.

just feel so tired and sian.

Weekend Playgroup - Water! Water!
Date : 30 Jun (Sat)
Time : 11 am
Venue: Serangoon North
Theme : Water Play
Dress Code for Kids: Swim Wear and bring along a bath toy and towel(optional)

11 - 11.15 am Free play (getting familiarise)
11.15 - 11.30 am Making of Tamborine - Chicken Little
11.30 - 11.45 am Music and Movement - Any Volunteer to host this ? Any suggestion on any songs relating to water ?
11.45 am Water play in portable pool - Cheng

Wash up, clean up and Makan time! I can bring Amosco Eclair and Swiss Rolls

1) Cheng / Aidan
2) Chicken Little / Aden
3) Cookie / Kaelyn(I put down my name 1st but it's nap time!!)
4) SY/JH (need to confirm with HB)
5) Denmy/Keenan/Declan/helper

I think I better remove my name first and put down only after I've confirmed. Even if I go, I won't be staying long cuz its Ariene's nap time.

====================

what question to ask when visiting the CC
------------------------------------------
1. what kind of food do they serve? catered or self cooked? Low salt? Ask them to show you their menu.
2. How do they bathe the toddlers?
3. What's their teacher:toddler ratio?
4. Ask them to show u their time table and how they conduct the classes.
5. How do they discipline the kids?
6. How often do they check toddler's temperature? what do they do with the sick or suspected sick kids?
7. Have they had any outbreak of HFM? If so, how long ago?
8. How often do they clean the place, disinfect the mattress, etc.

What to look out for when you are there
========================================
1. cleaniness of the place. walls dirty? floors dusty? tables clean? Does the place smell?
2. Any mozzies or flies?
3. Overall look and feel of place (is it neat and organised?)
4. Playground dirty? (Your kid will be playing in the playground alot so, I feel its important that the playground is of an acceptable cleaniness)
5. do the kids look happy there?
6. What is the teacher's attitudes towards the kids?
7. How did they conduct the lesson? (Try to goto the center to look when they're having lessons)
8. Is the toilet and bath area clean?
9. Ask them to show you their time tables and how they promote their kids. Is it by year or by ability ?

Mashybrainz,
I'm headed to Chiangmai tomorrow. Was deciding between Bintan or CM but decided to go somewhere new. I must have been to Bintan at least 8 times. There was once we went 4 times in one year, and 2 times in one mth! My HB and I really love the place and keep going back. But you are right, the recent trips there have been less fun...things look older and our expectations are higher...so MU is lower...

Rena

I'll add on to Mamapanda's list. Hers is already v comprehensive.

what question to ask when visiting the CC
------------------------------------------
1. what kind of food do they serve? catered or self cooked? Low salt? Ask them to show you their menu.
2. How do they bathe the toddlers?
3. What's their teacher:toddler ratio?
4. Ask them to show u their time table and how they conduct the classes.
5. How do they discipline the kids?
6. How often do they check toddler's temperature? what do they do with the sick or suspected sick kids?
7. Have they had any outbreak of HFM? If so, how long ago?
8. How often do they clean the place, disinfect the mattress, etc.
9. max. number of kids per class.

What to look out for when you are there
========================================
1. cleaniness of the place. walls dirty? floors dusty? tables clean? Does the place smell?
2. Any mozzies or flies?
3. Overall look and feel of place (is it neat and organised?)
4. Playground dirty? (Your kid will be playing in the playground alot so, I feel its important that the playground is of an acceptable cleaniness)
5. do the kids look happy there?
6. What is the teacher's attitudes towards the kids?
7. How did they conduct the lesson? (Try to goto the center to look when they're having lessons)
8. Is the toilet and bath area clean?
9. Ask them to show you their time tables and how they promote their kids. Is it by year or by ability ?
10. I'll also see the Kindergarden curriculum coz the playgrp's timetable are mostly playing. Also observe the work done and pasted on the wall to see the standard of the work.

Cheng,
Yes, I might bring Ethan also cos hb will be working on sat morning so I cannot leave him alone at home. Hope we do not over-crowd your place. heehee

Cookie,
Yalor, can't wait to let the couple meet up.. Kae-Kee...hahaha

RE: RP Mommies Lunch
Should we have it on Thur then?

1)`Flo
2) SY
3) SL

CL, Aileen, God's child, Rena - can you gal make it? Anyone else I've missed?

RE: RP Mommies Lunch
Should we have it on Thur then?

1)`Flo
2) SY
3) SL
4) CL ( tentative)

CL, Aileen, God's child, Rena - can you gal make it? Anyone else I've missed?

Re: <font color="119911">Spinach</font>/ <font color="ff0000">cherry</font>/ <font color="ff6000">Peach</font>

I've got lobang for cherries. $16.50/kg and it's a 8.2kg carton. The fruit stall below my place is selling cherries for $22/kg. So this is a good buy.

So far we have the following interested mummies for the cherries and peaches. I'll start to test response in our thread to see if we can get enough mummies to share. Let's do this chop-chop and close the order by Thursday noon, so I can add these items to our spinach.

Cherry USA 8.2kg/ctn $16.50/kg
Peach Aust 3.5kg/ctn $10.00/kg

Collection points: Marine Parade, Hitachi Tower

1. Denmy - Cherry, Peach
2. Mamapanda - Cherry
3. Aileen - Peach
4. Queen - Peach

AK,
I am compiling the list of the "lesson" that I did for Jamie, still owe Wenyl also. Opps..

MUMMIES,
I have uploaded the lesson plan and timetable that I have done for Jamie during my time from Jan - Mar while being SAHM. It is in our yahoo group, FILE section. I named it as Home Teaching. You may download if you like. There are alot of research that you need to do before doing lesson plan.

For starter, as it is more difficult for you to find songs that is related to the theme, it would be better to get a nursery songs CD and plan from there. Eg. Old MacDonald song, then u can plan to have Animal theme that week, do some pasting of animals, etc.

Any questions, feel free to ask.

RE: SAHM
I am going back to be SAHM again after I quit this. Not sure when I can get a job. But was hoping to be SAHM longer as I can teach Jamie. But on the other hand, if I am SAHM, I will not be able to spend freely on Jamie.

Denmy
I love cherries, but not v convenient for me to pick from you, so will gv it a miss.
Thanks for your tips last nite.

Flo
congrats on your perfect eyesight!!

AK
wow u have been to bintan so many times! i haven been there a single time

mashy
my hb is concerned abt mozzies there. is it very bad?

re RP lunch
where shall we meet?

Denmy
i m interested!

Re: Spinach/ cherry/ Peach

I've got lobang for cherries. $16.50/kg and it's a 8.2kg carton. The fruit stall below my place is selling cherries for $22/kg. So this is a good buy.

So far we have the following interested mummies for the cherries and peaches. I'll start to test response in our thread to see if we can get enough mummies to share. Let's do this chop-chop and close the order by Thursday noon, so I can add these items to our spinach.

1. Denmy - Cherry, Peach
2. Mamapanda - Cherry
3. Aileen - Peach
4. Queen - Peach
5. SY - Cherry, Peach

For the peach, is it those normal ones or donut peach? JH loves donut peach

Oooh.....Count me in! I got cravings for cherries. Bot a few times from NTUC, all so ex!

SY,
In case I couldn't arrange a pickup from Denmy direct, can I tompang u? Since I always pass by ur plc???? TIA!

Re: Spinach/ cherry/ Peach BP from Denmy

1. Denmy - Cherry, Peach
2. Mamapanda - Cherry
3. Aileen - Peach
4. Queen - Peach
5. SY - Cherry, Peach
6. wenyl - Cherry

1. Denmy - Cherry, Peach
2. Mamapanda - Cherry
3. Aileen - Peach
4. Queen - Peach
5. SY - Cherry, Peach
6. Sept03 (sharing with God's child)-Cherry, Peach

Thanks Denmy!

May,
Its ok. Thanks 4 remembering! I forgot all abt it. Normally I dun plan any theme for E. Its mostly free play & depends purely on his mood. **lazy mummy here**

oops! Got overwritten.

1. Denmy - Cherry, Peach
2. Mamapanda - Cherry
3. Aileen - Peach
4. Queen - Peach
5. SY - Cherry, Peach
7. wenyl - cherry

Thanks Denmy!

flo,
congrats on ur perfect eyesight. can totally understand your exhilaration! been there, done there! haha! welcome to the "lasik-ED club"! :D

Re : RP Mommies Lunch
Would like to join the next time as well as this week lunch appointment is pack already. remember me the next time ok.....BTW how often do you girls meet up?

1. Denmy - Cherry, Peach
2. Mamapanda - Cherry, peach
3. Aileen - Peach
4. Queen - Peach
5. SY - Cherry, Peach
7. wenyl - cherry

Got this from my mum. Better be safe than sorry..
-----
The real thing!
Attached is pic of a China monk trying to garner for donation by selling a name card with image of a Buddha to 'selected' by passerbys. It was shot by me with a mobile phone on 8 May 2007 in front of the Orchard Tower.

Beware, don't talk to strangers specially China men. My female friend encountered
this incident in Orchard. That time she was waiting for me at Orchard Tower .

She was approached by a 30 to 40yrs old Chinese man. I saw the man talking to her while I am walking toward her.

I was puzzled when she suddenly walked off with the man and even stunned when she walked pass me without looking at me... but I am standing in front of her!!

Thinking something amiss, I called her hand phone instead. She answered the phone and was shocked to realise she is no longer outside Orchard Tower .
The man must have saw his charm being broken, immediately talked to her again.....

This time I told my friend don't listen to what he said and not to look at his eyes.....just RUN!
She quickly ran off ......She called me again after 15mins..... and meet me at Takashimaya.
She was shivering all over when I met her. She told me she really don't know what was going on..... I told her I heard of this kind of things before, but never expected to see it myself too...... Well that day, she took almost half a day to calm herself down.

While waiting for my husband at Tangs side entrance facing Lucky Plaza, a Chinese man suddenly approached me, disregarding my personal
space, stood so close to me that I need to back off. Then he asked me where was a place, which I didn't comprehend. After repeating 2 times or so, he said the place was where they sell chicken rice, duck rice, making some innocent hand gestures like counting, so I thought he meant foodcourt, told him that he could go down the flight of stairs next to Mac to basement. He appeared lost and asked me again if it was on left hand side or right hand side. I was little irritated as we were facing the stairs,such a big stairway and u are asking me right or left!

Luckily my husband arrived at that time. The taxi behind him sounded the horn, so I hurriedly pointed again to the stairway and asked him
to Go down. Later I was suddenly awaken with an uneasy feeling. Realized that he might be a hypnotiser. As I remembered that he was loitering near me for some time, but I just took it that he was another passerby at that moment.

He spoke in a deliberate and slower manner, his hand gestures when mentioning chicken rice; duck rice, etc and his deliberate attempt in asking me if left or right. These people try to get us to conjure up images in our mind, that's how they hypnotise us.

The reason why I thought of a hypnotiser was because my KL friend shared with me 3 mths back that her friend had fallen victim when she
woke up naked, not remembering what happened." This also happened to an ex-colleague of mine.
Her story was that she was at busy shopping center exit, saw flustered Chinese man speaking very loudly on HP, then the man approached her
for help, told her that his girlfriend from overseas came to look for him but was lost,so wanted to borrow money him.

Fortunately her HP rang, she said she suddenly became more aware of what was happening, before that, she just wanted to follow him to help
him.

Immediately she told the man she didn't have money and left. So beware of all foreign Chinese man! I can't describe his accent but he is definitely not S'porean. He is very decently dressed, normal guy on the street maybe late 30s, carrying a rather big shoulder sling bag.

Mamapanda,
My bro's friend has similar experience too!!
Here's his encounter:

He is a police officer returning home from shift work (not wearing uniform). Parked his car at the multi storey car park. When he was walking down, two monks in brown robes approached him. One of them handed him a charm and say it will bless the guy. The guy took over the charm and wanted to walk off. However, he was stopped by the other monk and was asked to make some donation. The guy asked if $2 be enough? The monk showed him a notebook and say, most of them donated $10 or $50. Then the guy returned the charm to them and say, it is ok then, I dun want this charm. They keep persuading, and this time round, they are preventing my bro from walking away. The guy took out his pass and showed them. Told them, do you want to come to the police station with me? They started running away and they were not caught.

Mamapanda,.

Thanks for your information and will take note on that..

This mean he only attach those lady below ages of 40 ....am I right to say that.

wenyl
no prob. i can collect for u.

i used to think abt planning theme for JH but it's a bit hard cos i have to explain to my maid. so nowadays no theme already. depends on what his mood allows him to do

ky
thanks for the websites!