(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
u ever discussed with your hb abt being SAHM? his pay review must be quite good for him to stay on.

CL
i heard the learning vision near my place not very good but the one at tampines quite good.

SH
u want to try carpe diem at alexandra? my fren sends her duaghter there and she is quite happy with the cc

ky : amazing star montessori, new life, kinderland @CCK center
I went back to New Life CC for a 2nd look at the place and I decided that I don't really like that place cuz there were mozzies flying about when I was there at 5.02pm. I was actually intending to sign up Ariene that day but fortunately (or unfortunately) the lady just walked off and I saw her at the main entrance (cuz she knocks off at 5pm). I told her I wanna sign up Ariene but she say she knock off already, come back another time (I wasn't very happy with that attitude). Anyway, I decided to go in to take a 2nd look and I saw the mozzies and the walls were black and dusty. Then, I walked over to the playground to do an "inspection" and decided that its not to my standards, so New Life is out.

Saturday, I brought my hb down to Kinderland to take a look and hb also likes that place but our main concern is distance. BTW, you haven't told me what you heard abt that place?

So, after all the merry-go-round, I've decided on 2 final places : either Amazing Star Montessori (cuz its so near, reasonably priced and cleaniness up to my standards) or Kinderland. KY, u heard anything abt Amazing star so far? I've heard 1-2 mixed feedback but from my own observation, that place seems a pretty good choice. my neighbour's 3 kids are all in there and she seems rather pleased with that place.

Weekend Playgroup - Water! Water!
Date : 30 Jun (Sat)
Time : 11 am
Venue: Serangoon North
Theme : Water Play
Dress Code for Kids: Swim Wear and bring along a bath toy and towel(optional)

11 - 11.15 am Free play (getting familiarise)
11.15 - 11.30 am Making of Tamborine - Chicken Little
11.30 - 11.45 am Music and Movement - Any Volunteer to host this ? Any suggestion on any songs relating to water ?
11.45 am Water play in portable pool - Cheng

Wash up, clean up and Makan time! I can bring Amosco Eclair and Swiss Rolls

1) Cheng / Aidan
2) Chicken Little / Aden
3) Cookie / Kaelyn(I put down my name 1st but it's nap time!!)
4) SY/JH (need to confirm with HB)
5) Slinky/Ariene (need confirm with hb first)

I'm usually in hougang for lunch on saturdays so might be able to pop by for the activity since its so near. Lemme check my activity book at home for suitable water MMP for toddlers.

mamapanda,
Don't go to Newlife CC!!! I didn't know you were intending to send Ariene there. I haven't heard good feedback about Newlife CC so far. Glad you chose not to send Ariene there. Can PM me if you want more info!

CL,
I am not going for the playgroup. But you can try these song.

1) Row, Row, Row your boat
2) Once I caught a fish alive
Lyrics goes:
1,2,3,4,5, once I caught a fish alive.
6,7,8,9,10 then I let it go again.
Why did you let it go?
Bcos it bite my finger so.
Which finger did it bite?
The little finger on my right.

May
Your jshopper training pants is still with me. Do u want to collect it first, or wait for the education books then collect together?

Education books
I've not heard any news from the bookshop yet. LAter I'll walk down during lunch to check it out. They last called me on friday saying they've indented the books from US as the supplier has no more stock but I remembered them saying the had enough stock for the first book. Let me clarify it with them. If its indented, it'll only arrive in 6-8weeks time.

Hi Mamapanda, brand is Mirth.

Abt kinderland @CCK, I can't remember the details. Some months ago, a mother (whom I can't even recall who) spoke of some issues and I can't recall what it's exactly about but it's abt the teachings. Here's what a fren wrote in a forum "Anyway, for Kinderland at CCK Centre, it is in a multi-storey commerical building and airconditioned. About 2-3 yrs ago, some m4m moms had bad experience with high teacher turnover and also with the principal. I think the principal left the school already but I am not sure how's the situation there now." that's what she said in Mar last yr. Another fren who send her dd there couple of yrs ago also said the std has dropped esp with relation to the principal. Her dd is now 7 yrs old (ie left there last yr). Situation might be different or acceptable to some parents coz the owner of the SGParenting sends her 5-yr old there since last yr and she's really happy with his progress.

As for Amazing Star, I don't know anyone whose kid is there unfortunately. What I do know is that not all the teachers are Montessori-certified. They have inhouse training for these teachers. Only 3 are Montessori-trained. Are you concerned abt how they bath the child? Do ask them abt the details if you are ... I was told they'll line the child outside the bathing area seated on the chair, wrapped in towel... guess they've no choice coz they got to do each one quickly. I was very concerned abt air-con environment and mixing around the various classes, hence I would strike out if it's an open-concept environment. Amazing Star is not, just some mingling at the same level. So, actually if not for the inconvenience, I would consider that. I visited them mid last yr btw and hence info only accurate as of then.

As for LV, some are franchised ... so stds would defer. Those in educational institutes are better, eg I hear Nanyang Poly's good and even staff have problems getting in. If anyone know how the one at Republic Poly is, do let me know....

.ky.

SY - yes we did discuss briefly before. he doesnt mind actually but then its not really gg to work as i give my parents 1k every month and it will not be fair for him to give them this much from his hard earn money. seriously, i think he doesnt know i am giving them this much every mth. he can be quite blur when it comes to my finance. haha..which is also good la. haha.

ky
Amazing star is really difficult to get in. I've been #1 on the queue for so long, still no placing. Let me ask my neighbour next door who sends all her 3 boys to Amazing star for her comments on that place and I'll post it here. I just thought, if its no good, she wouldn't send all 3 boys there right? They used to be in another CC if I didn't remem wrongly but since mid last year, she transferred all 3 to Amazing Star.

sysac - just saw cephas' blog and realised ur went to the zoo yesterday? i was there too! HB's company was one of the 3 tat was having their family day hee... so qiao!

Sentosa Getaway for SAHM, PTWM, FTWM on leave!
Date: 28th June, Thursday
Time: 10am

After hearing so many babies having fun at Underwater World, we are heading to Sentosa on this thursday morning! Planning to go Underwater World and maybe the beach for the babies to play with water and sand! The plan goes like this:

10am Meet at Sentosa Underwater world
11am to 12pm Lunch or nap for babies who need to sleep
1pm beach....

Anyone who is free on thursday is welcome to join!

1) sleepingdeer
2) Wenyl
3) Rena

education books
I've checked with the bookshop already. They've confirmed that both books were out of stock and have been indented. Currently, being shipped here from US. Both books will be here in abt 6-8 weeks time. I'll keep u informed on how much to pay as I'm not sure if the book prices will be affected by the new GST rate or not. If its affected, the difference will be less than $1 each.

SSF
yeah hb not too clear bat my finances either. i dun think your hb wd know that u give so much right..or if u become SAHM, u ask him to give some and u top up?

re zoo
wow so many pple went to zoo yesterday...

sleepingdeer
can't join your sentosa outing. been taking leave quite often. today also on MC cos JH passed his flu bug to me...

God's_Child/Sleepingdeer - Sat rite? It was Mother of all Family Days! Wow, so coincidental & we didn't see one another! I was there for HP Family Day! It was super packed & hot! Was there at 9am & left at abt 1.30pm.

Think a lot pf pple will be complaining to the Zoo's Management. Those who came after us didn't have parking lots. Saw many cars parked along the road that leads to the Zoo from the main road.

I was there with God-dau & her family. I didn't take many photos becos my eyes were just focussed on Cephas! He was either in my arms or in the stroller. The only time he came down to walk was when we were in one of the aircon shelter.Didn't dare to let him out of my sight!

mamapanda, only 1 class for playgroup in amazing star? how many kids?

sleepingdeer, i'm keen but timing not very right ... 1pm at beach would be very very hot.

sysac, u from HP?

.ky.

ky
I remem Joanne told me she already has 2 teachers for playgroups, so I think they have 2 groups. Their current ratio is 1:6 if I'm not wrong cuz I asked her before and I remem telling her y cannot take 1 more (Ariene) in since their limit is 1:8, but they said they want to keep it 1:6.

Nursing bra
U used the brand before? Is it good? I tried using the brand kiddy Palace sells and it sucks. Currently, I'm using Thyme Maternity's Nursing Bra. Still the most comfortable and supportive.

SY - actually i mentioned to hb before abt the amt i am giving but he didnt say anythg. haha..i guess he very blur and i also act super blur..coz he gave his mum very little compared to me. no la, how to top up? my savings almost wipe out with us moving to our new nest. so cannot la. still have hm loan to clear within our targetted 10 yrs. u read sun papers toking abt interest rates and home loan. they were saying that if you loan like 300k for more than 25 yrs, you are actually paying over 170k for just interest alone on a avg of 4% per annum. scary right? so tats why i advise all to clear ur loans asap esp if you are on the sucker bank loan. dun drag your loans....else u will suffer when you are old.

SSF, I agree with the housing loan part ... but if the rates get too high, try to get re-finance, and try to get one that has no penalty on early payment or partial lum-sump payment.

mamapanda, r all the kids already in the class or they've just reserved a place waiting for them to be 18 months. So kids may drop out if find not suitable, so u just have to wait for that to happen, and esp if the places are reserved, so everyone's just waiting for 2008 perhaps. I remember quite a number of vacancies when I visited the N1 class last yr

have pm u details on the nursing bras.

.ky.

KY
I've replied your email. We're combining purchase so that its cheaper? I would like to get 2, size 34C, whichever colour is available.

Krissie,
Thanks for the website link.

Cookie,

Thanks for the information on Learning Vision. How old is your colleague's nephew?

KY,

Thanks for the Pm. I can't get to the link though (lelong?). Need to register first is it? But I can't register leh. How?

Esther,
Leroy is a beautiful boy.

SSF,
Actually, I'm quite used to staying at home liao. THe impetus to get a job is really growing weaker by the day. The things holding me back from really being a SAHM is the fact that I can no longer give my parents allowance (I think for now, it's too much to ask of my HB to give my parents allowances as well), have to pay for my personal insurances and also cannot afford to spend as freely on myself and my boy. My HB is now trying hard to save and invest both his and our joint account money so that we can afford to retire early. He's saying that if I quit my job during my prime years, it's very difficult for him to achieve our long term goal. Sigh...
Anyway, till now, I have been to a few interviews and will be going to another one soon. No good news yet...

Re. Underwater World
I brought Isaac there last week, took a bus and mrt all the way from Sembawang to Harbourfront, and my HB joined us there (cos he works around that area). Isaac enjoyed it for the first round. He's not so interested anymore when me and HB went round a few more times. We were there for less than an hour! I think I wouldn't go if there is no promotion cos it's not really worth it paying the the normal price of $19. Didn't go to the Dolphin Lagoon cos we just missed the lagoon opening time and had to wait another 2 hours for teh next opening time.

sysac - HP has family day? which dept? not in my 5 yrs of service there did i know they do have family day. haha...

queen - hang on there and be postive. i believe the right job will come by at the right time. just dun stop believing ya. which line are you looking for? cos if IT, my frd who work in recruitment can help u source. it took me almost 3 mths to get a new job after i was retrenched. so hang on ya!

re: underwater world
ya its abit costly if there is no discount. we also left within an hr as cranky caleb doesnt want to walk and hb is getting too tired form carrying him.

How's everyone? HAve been so stressed at work that all my food are tasteless.... wonder if it's time to quit.... you know, since we all work for a living yet so stressed up that i can't even enjoy food....

amazing star
I think they have 2 classes for playgroup but its full already and the waiting list is quite long. Currently, I'm still #1 on the waiting list so just have to wait for someone to be promoted or drop out. Just spoke to Joanne earlier and she said there shouldn't be any problem for Jan08 class as some will be promoted. However, they give preference to siblings of current students first before opening up places to the public.

I also spoke to my neighbour who sends all her 3 boys to Amazing Star. She's very satisfied and happy with them, so I think Amazing Star should be quite a good choice for Ariene, especially when its so near.

krissie
Yes, the ratio given by MCYS for toddler groups is 1:8 but this is the max ratio a centre should have. Centres with a lower ratio of 1:6 or even 1:5 would be better.

Esther,
Well done! Leroy is just as good-looing as Renee.

=====================================

JG sign-up list
1) CL
2) Krissie
3) Aileen
4) sunny (evans rd)
5) sleepingdeer
6) cheng
7) SH
8) Denmy

I signed up Ethan too and his Mandarin EduDrama is starting tmr... too bad they didn't give me any sibling discount nor did they waive the registration fee... haizz

re: Sentosa getaway
Sleepingdeer, wenyl, rena,
When is the promo until? Really keen in going cos E has been asking to go few weeks back liao but his school just re-opened so cannot make it on Thursday.

Weekend Playgroup - Water! Water!
Date : 30 Jun (Sat)
Time : 11 am
Venue: Serangoon North
Theme : Water Play
Dress Code for Kids: Swim Wear and bring along a bath toy and towel(optional)

11 - 11.15 am Free play (getting familiarise)
11.15 - 11.30 am Making of Tamborine - Chicken Little
11.30 - 11.45 am Music and Movement - Any Volunteer to host this ? Any suggestion on any songs relating to water ?
11.45 am Water play in portable pool - Cheng

Wash up, clean up and Makan time! I can bring Amosco Eclair and Swiss Rolls

1) Cheng / Aidan
2) Chicken Little / Aden
3) Cookie / Kaelyn(I put down my name 1st but it's nap time!!)
4) SY/JH (need to confirm with HB)
5) Slinky/Ariene (need confirm with hb first)
6) Denmy/Keenan/Declan/helper

Slinky,
I'll bring the spinach to you on Sat then.

An article to share. It came out in TODAY some time last week as well.

Pureed baby food is 'unnatural'

Spoon-feeding babies pureed food is unnatural and unnecessary, a childcare expert has warned.
Gill Rapley, deputy director of Unicef's UK Baby Friendly Initiative said feeding babies in this way could cause health problems later in life.

She said children should be fed only with breast or formula milk for six months, then weaned onto solids to improve control over how much they ate.

This could prevent babies becoming picky about food.

There is no longer any window of a baby's development in which they need something more than milk and less than solids

Mrs Rapley has spent 25 years as a health visitor, and she said: "I found so many parents were coming to me with the same problems - 'my child is constipated, my child is really picky' - and they couldn't get them on to second stage baby food."

<font color="0000ff">Milk only</font>

From these observations and her own studies she developed her feeding programme, called Baby-Led Weaning.

According to this programme, during the first six months babies should receive milk only.

She said: "In 2002 the World Health Organisation backed research that found breast or formula milk provided all the nutrition a baby needs up to the age of six months.

"That research said feeding a baby any other food during the first six months would dilute the nutritional value of the milk and might even be harmful to the baby's health."

These findings have been incorporated into government recommendations on baby feeding.

<font color="0000ff">Solids best</font>

After six months, Mrs Rapley said babies were capable of taking food into their mouths and chewing it.

Therefore, feeding them pureed food at this time could delay the development of chewing skills.

Instead, she said, they should be given milk and solid pieces of food which they could chew.

Mrs Rapley argued that babies fed pureed food had little control over how much food they ate, thus rendering them vulnerable to constipation, and running a risk that they would react by becoming fussy eaters later in life.

She blamed the food industry for convincing parents that they should give children pureed food.

She said: "Sound scientific research and government advice now agree that there is no longer any window of a baby's development in which they need something more than milk and less than solids."

<font color="0000ff">Difficulties</font>

Professor David Candy, a paediatric gastroenterologist with the Royal West Sussex NHS Trust, said this programme could be a good idea.

But he warned that it was difficult to set an exact age at which babies should be given solids, as individuals develop eating skills at different rates.

Purees could help some babies make the transition between liquid and solid foods more easily.

He said: "Some babies could manage this, but others may not have the oromotor skills necessary to chew the food - they would just push it out of their mouths."

A 'one size fits all' policy is not appropriate

Roger Clarke, director-general of the Infant and Dietetic Foods Association which represents members of the food industry, said the research needed to be looked at carefully.

But he agreed a "one size fits all" policy on baby-feeding was not appropriate.

He added generations of parents had relied on baby foods to provide a "safe, sound nutrition" for their babies.

A Unicef spokesperson said that Gill Rapley was speaking in a personal capacity, not on behalf of the charity.

so nice for the playgroup on saturday, can i join the next time round, mummies?
eshley is always playing by herself with two adults, dat's me n hb... :-(
But this time round, 11am hits her nap time, so hv to give it a miss..

yuki- is ur boss giving you alot of work? wat are u working as btw?
maybe can have a talk with your boss and raise white flag? if things dun get any better, maybe can try looking for another job. at the end of the day, work is the last priority. remember health and family comes first ya! take care...

Morning.....

Esther..
YOur boy is little handsome prince,,,,

Yuki,.
Relax...you need to cool down..this is really bad...I can understand your feeling,,,
my current job was stress me for almost 1 yr but now I use to it. I lose 4 kg for my first 2 mth in my current job that was in 2004. During my 4 weeks pregnancy , I got advise by my boss and that is the first time I cried in front of him as he has guide me and understand me since I joined the company..
I believe you must have a lot multitasking job...
take your time and try your best ,,dont over stress if not you will get sick. Try to talk to your boss and let him know your problem if you really cant take it anymore.
You can go spa or facial to cheer up yourself or have your days with your lovely child and your love one ( hb ).

RE: Pregnancy Kit
Do your think expired pregnancy kit still can be use??

wow, linda, are we expecting good news from you soon? I suppose expired still can use, just test 1-2 more times just to be sure unless u keep getting different results. Products usually have a much longer life than the expiry date. As long as its not expired for too long, its usually still ok to use it.

Hi Mamapanda,..

I dont think I got good news
but mine one is expired since from june 2006 :p..
I tried it and is not pregnant ....hb laugh at me with the long expired testing kits

I felt like to vomit and dizzy but dont think is pregnant....so might be do the test after this week as my menses is from 28-30 end of mth...
I got no experience for morning sickness and dont know the feeling as when I have Gracie...I was like a pig and no morning sickness at all.

Esh mummy
Sure, join us next time :>

Demny
Looking forward to seeing handsome Declan :> Hey..Ethan can come too - I have the xbox to entertain him..but not much games:p

Hi SSF and Linda,

Thanks. Yes it has been very stressful. My boss idea is to give me assistant but still want me to oversee the project. Spoken to him that i cannot afford to oversee any more project despite giving me assistant. I don't even have time to finish my work, how to oversee other projects?

To me is if i can't spend time on the project, how to do well? If i can;t do well, why spend time on it? I will only harm the project...

He is really nice and trust me so i feel bad when i can;t live up to his expectation. I have push myself over the limits several time, over seeing two depts.... and now he wants a thrid. I think i cannot take it anymore.

Linda
good news coming?

SSF
as long as your hb got no comments abt how much u give your parents, then it's ok lor. i guess the bottom rule is that as long as u can still save then it's alright

queen
sounds likeu r used to being SAHM already!

yeah my one consideration wd be that istill need to pay my insurance etc and if i dun work, i have to reply on savings...

Yuki

Oh dearrrr..you must be really sad...and you must be very good in your job that is the reason your boss trust you and know you are good in multitask job. I agree with you that it only harm the project if you feel that you cant do well. You understand yourself more that other understand you..
You might need to talk to him nicely and let him know more ..I think he might understand you...
Cheer uppppp.......anything you can always talk to us here...my email is [email protected]

SY
If got good news...will update your mummies here

Linda,
Hope to hear good news from you soon!

Mamapanda,
I will collect the training pants with the books.

RE: Resignation
I had a quarrel with my agent over my resignation yesterday. Now am pending for the approval of my resignation. Can stand the boss and the company culture already so decided that I should leave.

Anyone know about MOM law that can help me?

Company Letter of Appointment:
Within 6mths of probation, I can quit within 24hrs notice.

Agent's contract:
Cannot leave the job (within probation period), else have to pay 1mth salary. (This is what she claimed)

During the meetup in March, I didn't know that I had signed a contract with her. Until I accepted the job offer, she told me it is at the bottom of the application form and there is this disclaimer. Stupid me, did not ask a copy of the contract. Right now, when I say I want to have a copy so that I will know it is really 6mths. I vividly remember that she only tell me it is 3mths. And today is the end of 3mths.

Now she refused to send me a copy of the so-called contract. She ask me to email her my resignation and she will try to appeal for me to see if her boss allow to waive off the penalty charges of 1 mth salary. I am very suspicious of her. As I think she is not honest.

Mummies, anyone can help?

May,

sounds like ur agent dun wan to forgo the commission and hence is asking u to stay 6 mths. You have the right to ask for a copy of the contract u signed. If they refuse to release, tell them u will go to MOM.

These agencies get commission from placing u but only if u serve a minimum of 6 mths. I dun think ur company will penalise u.

SH
My colleague's nephew was placed at the CC since 18 mths old and he is coming 3yrs now maybe abt 2.5yr old now.

Demny
Hi... finally kae and meet kee again... since such a long they met each other.
Hope we can meet on the water play.. I haven't inform my hb yet :p