(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Aileen
Your bikinis from VS has arrived. Now waiting for the book to arrive then u can collect both together

aileen - wow more bikinis? hee..u are really one sexy mama!

rena/mamapanda - actually i put ikan bilis powder that my MIL grind and boil with the porridge. frankly, its tasty esp with the juicy chicken breast meat. i dun think its becos its bland...he just want to refuse it.

mummies w fussy eaters,
u may want to try giving white rice mixed with brown rice. they sell it pre-packed in the supermarket. think the brand is golden something. edgar loves that much more compared to normal white or brown rice. it more "xiang" compared to the usual ones. and it's very nuah after u cook it. only thing is that u gotta pre-soak it for ilke 30min.

salty food,
for edgar, he is still alright eating his bland porridge even though we feed him with all sorts of rubbish. so i guess it's up to individual babies.

mamapanda,
thanks! will pick up from u together. thanks! =D

SSF
What do u normally do when he rejects food? Do u feed him anything else or give him snacks? It sounds like he's rejecting food habitually, which is a bigger problem, if its not the taste.

SSF / Mamapanda,
Those beef stews and butternut squash are also tasty without addition or salt and sugars. Or pasta with tomato and cheese is also tasty. I actually feel butternut squash can be even sweeter than some foods with added sugar. I dunno, I think most of our babies being choosy is just a phase. Isaac usually such phase once in a while and will be back to his normal diet. I don't think it has anything to do with how tasty the food is actually... Like yesterday, I gave Weetbix with milk and he was happily eating away. He doesn't want the tastier mee sua with chicken stock that is brewed without adding salt. Perhaps they just want some variety every now and then.

Morning Mummies!
Wow! Just away for the weekend and so many posts to catch up on!

Yuen Yuen
Welcome back to the forum. Hmmmm,actually at their age now hor, they should be having 3 main meals a day and 3 milk feeds in between. My boy is eating near 2 bowls of porridge (Ikea bowl)! Breakfast can be from bread to quaker oats. Time to include more main meals. Hope that by doing so, will improve your ds sleep thru the night and everything at home will start to be smoothened out.

SSF
Oh dear, hope caleb is alright. Perhaps the best time to mop the floors is when they are asleep taking their naps? In this way, it will totally minimize their slip and fall. In terms of food wise, must be quite hard for you that Caleb is not very into finishing his food. I used to have that problem with Daren before my helper came. I observed how my helper do it and she was very patient to distract him with a little toys and feed him. Initially, when the spoon comes near him, he will turn his head to the opposite direction and clam his mouth but while eyes on the toy, but the spoon will still go to his mouth and he just opens it like on auto mode. This happened many times that now, he's ok in feeding except when he's teething, etc. Have to be patient with him.

ky
Sorry didn't reply u any earlier. The play gym is at Delta Sports Complex, called The Atlantic City. I will need to go look for the card and pass you the number. THey are opened from Tuesday to Sunday, 10am to 7pm. Weekends it's best to call them to see if they had any prior bookings for functions/parties. When CL and cheng meets up at my place for discussions, I would get my helper to bring the boys down (of course their daddies will accompany them) to the play gym.

queen
How is Issac now? Hope he's alright. Seems like you always kena unpleasant experience with KKH.

AquaDucks
We're all geared up and looking forward to AquaDucks. Brought Daren for a swim myself over the weekend and he very much prefers the arm floats than having the car float. Busy chasing the beach ball in the pool. Of course he drank lots of water initially but susequently, he kept sticking out this tongue to prevent anymore water going in his mouth.

queen/SSF
u are not alone.. I have been constantly feeling sad over putting so much effort in kae meal and yet she refuse after like 5 mouth.
also end up give her bread+cheese spread and she eat happily.
1 of the evening.. MIL cook porridge/ rice with soup/ yu ren shen brown rice.. all kae refused, end up she ate bread with cheese spread.
recently I realise kae like mee tai mug... so lunch time now if outside I just feed mee tai mug soup... at least she eat.
Hang in there...

mamapanda - no then we stopped feeding him and when the time comes for milk, we feed him milk. milk is still OK, he will still drink it.

mamachan - i can force it into his mouth but he will not munch it. he will keep his mouth open till his mouth is full of salvia and waiting for me to dig the food out. real headache! as for the mopping incident, ya next time i make sure i lock the 2 of them in a room. well wat i can i say...i cannot depend on my hb. hee...

cookie - thks for comforting me that caleb is not alone! mee tai bak..hmm...will try that too. ok ok ,..will try noodles for the week ahead.

yuen
the mei mei is my neighbour's gal.

SSF
ha, ya lor, everyday wake up first thing is call mei mei...

queen
i know what u mean...last time when i used to cook new stuff for JH to try and he reject, i feel so frustrated and like waste my effort. in the end hb say just feed porridge enough

mamapanda
actually i dun think it is whether JH has tasted our food or not. in fact, i feel that JH prefers bland food to salty food. it was only during when he was sick that he needed more flavors to entice him to eat. once he is alright, he still take his bland food.

is it too salty to use dried scallop to cook porridge? i feel that it is very salty but will cook for him abt once every 2 weeks with dried scallop

cookie
nowadays i also start giving cheese spread. i give JH crackers + cheese spread as snack.

hi mummies..
just came back from a short trip from Bintan yesterday.
Went with a few families here, Mamachan, God's Child, Tracy and Rachel. We stayed at Indra Maya villa cos we were enticed by the private pool facilities. All our children had fun hanging out together.. We will post some pics of our trip soon..

Bintan Weekend Trip
I just came back from my trip with Tracy, Rachel, god's child and sept03bride. We had lots of fun! Watching the toddlers play with each other. Really an interesting eye-opener for me. Was my 1st time to Bintan and with Daren somemore. Thanks to Sept03 Bride for her email lobang got villa deal, so we took it up on last minute notice.

Hope our experience can help pave the way for the bintan trip that rena proposed to organize earlier on.

queen/ssf/cookie/SY

I used to feel frustrated when he rejected the food that i painstakingly cooked for him. Now I try to 'kan kai'. Once he spit out, I'll throw the food away. No longer think of the amount of time spent cooking anymore. No pt getting upset over it. It's wasteful, but I guess life is like that right? Our kids will not appreciate our efforts until they're old enough to understand. Next time we'll probably be giving them advice which they can't be bothered with, rather hang out with their friends than you anyway. So just have to think of the relationship as give and give... :p

mamachan/septbride - wow...wat a nice getaway! i remember seeing the villa when i went bintan the last time round and it looks good with their own private pool and kitchen. it must be fun having 5 babies altogether. can;t wait to see the pics
buzz me when its loaded.

Since many mummies have gone / plan / is going to bintan.. so we shall not organise the trip.. since it is very diffcult to come to a concenus date.. futher more i think most mummies will be more comfortable going with their own cliques over here...
Cheers....

rena

Going this weekend to celebrate my hb's birthday la. It's cheaper than staying in Sentosa!

Didn't know u organising a trip to bintan leh...

mashy,

i see.. we have been talking for a while.. thus lately too busy.. so did not really post any thing on it..well i think it will be better and esaier if mummies orgainse in small groups lor.. there and then they feel comfortable lor..

no worries lar...since i dun come into the forum often liao.. so better call off..

About JG, I am asking for more information. They are saying to start from Term 3 which is in Jul. Let me confirm the timing again. Will upload information again. Sorry busy at work so cannot answer you promptly

Wenyl, Sleepingdeer
I have problem loading photos to yahoo group. Will pick up those with close up of your darlings and email you.

Too many post and I cannot follow up. And just got a big shit after conference call just now. So bear with me if you need information from me regarding JG.

Cookie,
I know what you mean man! After spending so much time on S's meal, in the end she dun eat and only want Mantou, wah, my blood can boil!

Queen,
if Issac's rashes are out, then maybe it's good news, coz it means it's nearly over

Clare,
am keen to sign S up for music related classes coz we realise that she really digs music... she kept dancing at JG class when she hear the CD playing before class start, so paiseh! But still scouting around, I'm hoping to let her join baby ballet class when she turns two, the bukit timah CC offers it to toddlers age 2 and above, and it's only $85 for ten lesson i heard! But that is only for fun, dun intend to let her continue coz ballet is not very good for the legs...

Satrted off with a bad morning. Lost my wedding ring........
Very upset over it.....

Ashely was very sweet thou. She went to the carpark to look for my ring with me and she hug me, kiss me and say things like " when you are not working, we go and buy a new one, with big diamonds and power puff girl, ok?" She is really trying to comfort me and i am touched that at such young age, she's so sensitive to feelings........ That's my consolation...

Yuki
Ashley is soooooo sweet hor... wow hope my little Kae will be sweet like her. For now she is a little chilli padi who yell when she dun get her way. haizz

Wow really so many post can hardly catch up.. just manage to read 1 or 2...

Hi Rena and Cookie,

Thanks. Yes it is Ashley's nature. Hence she does not like to see violent show whereby the adult hit the child etc, she will frown and on the verge of crying.....

Cookie, Megan is also a chilli padi. She has recently learn to put both her hands behind her back after some mischief so that we wouldn't hit her hand. Don't know who teach her that. She also loves challenges. When playing catching with grandpa, she will stop to wait for GP to come nearer to catching her and then start running away again. Ha Ha

Hi all ,

i m looking for this doctor , Dr Lee Seow Lang , from CHYE CHILDREN CLINIC ... previous add of her clinic is at Toa payoh Blk 54 , but she moved already ... any one know where is she now ? pls email / PM me : [email protected]

thank

Bintan
The place is quite safe to go to actually. The villa we stayed is alright, all mosquito repellents are provided for which surprised me. We requested for baby cots and high chairs per villa, the cots are rather small but it's ok lah, Daren managed to sleep in the cot, so long got his stuffed toy seal and doggy which we brought along. Kitchen wise, they have kettle for boiling water, microwave oven, coffee maker, all pots and pans, domestic fridge. So can prepare their meals, for me, my helper chop chop boil the porridge ingredients over the stove and transfer to the tiger food jar. The entire villa is air-conditioned, there's the life-saving TV and DVD player so we could play our toddler's favourite VCDs (Barney, Vegetales, Elmo).

Basically, if want to go in big groups, key thing must be lots of R n R time, perhaps only gather together for dinner time, etc etc. Coz our toddler's nap time will stagger at times. Haha, Tracy and Rachel are the early birds of the group, 1st morning they early eat breakfast and early bring Megan and Dylan for a swim!

I think at the end of it, we decided that villa not quite worth it, even though each room has their own toilet, next time will opt for individual units =)

Yuki
Oh dear...hope your wedding ring will be miraculously found. Sometimes, it may appear in the places where we don't remember being there at that point in time at home! Hope the Lord will help you find it back. Ashley is really sweet! So heartwarming to hear how she encourages you.

Julia Gabriel, need confirmation by 22 Jun Friday

Registration fee: $36.75 (inclusive of 5% GST)
(waived for children who were with us during the Jun holiday programme)
Refundable Deposit: $50
Fee per term: $453.60 (after 10% discount - inclusive of 5% GST)
Bookroom/Resource Fee per term: $9.98 (inclusive of 5% GST)

For your info too,Term 3 starts on Monday, 25 Jun 2007 and ends on Sunday,
02 Sep 2007.

Day: Sunday (First lesson on 1 Jul)
Time: 2.00 - 4.00 pm

A full class is 20 students, but lesson is 10 by 10 then at the end it will be a music and movement for all 20. The remaining slots which we are not taking up, they will offer to other kids.

Please confirm if you joining the above group
1)Chicken Little (confirmed)
2)SL (confirmed)
3)Sunny
4)Aileen (Confirmed, depending on date)
5)Flo (confirmed)
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
8)AK (Confirmed, depending on date)
9)Krissie
10)cheng
11)Rena
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

yuki - awwwww! ur girl is soooo sweet. how i wish i have a girl too. sob sob. anyway no chance liao la. maybe you try finding it again. u sure u lost it in the car park? my hb also dropped it in the car park in the night somemore. was quite fustrated with him when he seems bo chap..say buy another one to replace. but my FIL very ONz...took torch and somehow managed to find it. haha..

re bintan trip
wow the trip sounds fun with five families going! can't wait to see your pics.

i was plannign to go bali but realised all the SQ flights are full! sigh, there goes my hol plan.

maybe can ask whether hb interested to go bintan instead.

sleepingdeer
i m going for a trial at mandeville music sch. my boss recommended to me. u interested? i had a hard time convincing hb to let me go. the trial is on Oct 6 4pm - 4.45pm

CL
i dun think i can manage to convince Hb to let me sign JH up for JG. i already had a hard time getting him to agree to a trial class.... i will try again and let u know.

yuki
hope u find your ring soon. ashley is such a sweet gal

anyone got those sarong motor to sell? my fren looking for one

I'm pretty new here...

Megan is 17mths now (born on 7 Jan 06), I assume this is the rite place where I can meet up with mummies with darlings the same age as Megan.

I know tat most of you mummies are here for a long time already...I hope I'm welcome....heee~~

Can mummies here share wat's the development milestone of your darlings as at 17mths?

hear from you soon.....

hi Grace - welcome welcome! Ok! let me start the ball rolling. my son, Caleb is born on 11 jan in TMC. he is now beginning to reject porridge which is my main complaint now. watever we cook, he rejects which is getting on my MIL, my mum and my nerves. haha.. does Megan gets fussy with her food? which explains why my son have not reach the 10kg mark and seems to be on the short side. last taken was 78cm only. hee...

we do have some outings or even trial classes gg on. feel free to join in. also there are abt 11 preggy mummies here where 2 already popped out. I, myself is also preggy with my second boy and due in Aug. Btw, are you preggy as well? haha...then we can update the preggy list.

Hi Hi...thanks for the warm (can feel it lah) welcome.....

Megan is not fussy BUT BUT BUT..if we cant get the 1st spoonful into her mouth, we'll hv a hard time getting started...hee~~ if tat 1st mouthful is in, she'll finish her porridge or softer rice in 15mins......She eats anything BUT She's still so light, oni 9.2kg & 78cm long......

Think Megan is getting tired of porridge so I asked MIL to cook rice + soup for her instead...

Yup..realised tat you guys hv a long of interesting outings/trial classes tatz y I signed up immediately to get to know more of u..hee~~

Nope, not preggy now but planning...haa~ Will keep all posted....!!!!

Back from Bintan and all sun-kissed! heehee.. Celeste is so tanned now HB says she shall be named Fatimah Celeste haha
overall, it was a fun trip to Bintan wf the kids. Celeste had so much fun swimming and when we ask her if she is happy, she goes : hapie! awwww... worth it!!! HB is rather impressed wf how Celeste can behave too,short of those whining fr her lethargy... so, i gues tat signals more trips for her!!! yipee!!!

Grace -
kao_welcome.gif
to our thread! Do join us for our next outing and let us get to know you more
My gal of 17 months is just past the 10kg mark oni and very active! As for development, she is learning to speak words and repeating after us... gettin more talkative nowadays. she eats almost everything and is hungry all the time!!!

Esther - CONGRATS! Leroy's weight is good! Waiting for you n tabbiesus to share pics of your #2

Need your prayers.

My SIL has just discovered that she has brain tumor. My brother is devastated by it. They've 2 young daughters.

Pls pray for miracle healing and strength for the family. Thanks!

hi grace! welcome!!
haha i tot my son, edgar and another mummy's baby, tabby, were the only ones with problem with the 1st spoonful. so megan is oso like that! hehe... but fortunately edgar has passed that phase and is accepting his food willingly. BUT must got toy or TV to entertain him lah! =D oh btw, i'm 1 of the 11 preggers that ssf mentioned! also having a boy due in nov! =D

Hi hi....

I tried TV BUT it was even worse...she's so glued to it tat even I tried standing in front of her, she'll shift herself to an angle where she can see the tv so from then on, NO more tv..heee~~

Wow god's child, your gal is talking liao *admire*..Megan hasn't started talking but she knows alot of things (ie by action)..really dunno if she's slow...sigh...

Congrats to all new Mummies-to-be.....=P

grace - oh no i think 3 mummies have pop not 2. denmy, tabbiesus and esther. so ya planning .... do keep us updated.

god's child - hahaa fatimah celeste. hee...so she is all bronzed and pretty ya. glad to hear u guys had fun. any pics of her new tanned look?

mashybrain - oh dear..how old is ur SIL? must be devastating for ur bro. will keep her in my prayer. so wat did the doc says? is she at the intial stage?

mashybrain,
sorry to hear about your sil...

SY,
so young can join mandeville meh? i tot has to be at least 2.5yo. my colleague sends her daughter there. said it's very fun and her daughter loves it. so i tot of trying too. but i can't join the oct 6 trial. edgar has shichida b4 that.

SSF

She's only 33 this yr. Her youngest daughter is same age as our kids. Seems quite bad. Need to pray for a miracle. I always tell my bro that she's the best thing that ever happen to him. She's a very nice person and I'm so sad that they have to go thru this.

i remembered some time back someone posted on childcare centres around the bukit panjang - choa chu kang region right? I'm looking around at playgroups for Ariene since she'll be 18 next month. Amazing star is full and I'm still #1 on the waiting list so I thought maybe I'll take the chance to look around at others. So far, visited some of those below HDB block ones. I didn't like those. However, the Del-Grow inside cashew heights condo looks ok but no aircon. Anyone has anything to share on that one or any others to recommend around this region?

mashy

very sad to hear abt your SIL ... wishing her all the best in her op ..

mamapanda, u try the stretch of houses along cashew road? I went there before couple of years to look at some. someone withdrew her girl from TLL (where my #1 is at) and was thinking of THE CHILDREN'S CAMPUS. CARPE DIEM got a new branch at Teck Whye but it's under HDB. Or TLL (The Learning Ladder)? But I think it's full.

here's the list of cc... go down the list to find each possible one

http://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_disability_main.asp?Services_Id=4&szMod=serv&szSubMod=child

.ky.