(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Julia Gabriel

Mummies, I just read my mail and realise I miss out this one. We have secured a slot

Day: Sunday
Time: 2.00 - 4.00 pm

They will give us 1 time discount of 10%. A full class is 20 students, but lesson is 10 by 10 then at the end it will be a music and movement for all 20. The remaining slots which we are not taking up, they will offer to other kids.

Please confirm if you joining the above group
1)Chicken Little
2)SL
3)Sunny
4)Aileen
5)Flo
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Julia Gabriel

Mummies, I just read my mail and realise I miss out this one. We have secured a slot

They will give us 1 time discount of 10%. A full class is 20 students, but lesson is 10 by 10 then at the end it will be a music and movement for all 20. The remaining slots which we are not taking up, they will offer to other kids.

1)Chicken Little
2)SL
3)Sunny
4)Aileen
5)Flo (confirmed)
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

CL
Ya lor, was telling my hb his daughter is very anti-social, somehow will miss all the gatherings...haiz. Am in Seoul now, will be flying off to Taipei tonite. BTW, when is the class starting? So is conducted by the very popular Adrain? Thanks for helping to coordinate. Oh one more thing, what kit are you guys ordering? Itz the one to slot in the photos?

Joanna
Thanks. Humm, then maybe Mel is teething cos she kept using her fingers to rub her gum.

Queen,
Actually I was quite surprise why KK didn't insert suppository to Isaac immediately, is the most effect way of getting the temp down. Like May, I always have extra at home for emergency.

Linda/Yuki
Hope you gals are feeling better

Julia Gabriel

1)Chicken Little
2)SL
3)Sunny
4)Aileen
5)Flo (confirmed)
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
8) AK (Confirmed, depending on date)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Re: Chicken Pox Jab
I'm thinking of bring Ashley for her Chicken Pox jab this Thursday at the polyclinic. Any idea will the jab be at the arm or thigh?? I prefer it to be at the thigh leh... Will it make a difference if i go PD vs Polyclinic?

clare,
i will be bring ds for jab too next week.. he is due for his pervenar and hep a jab.. really keeping fingers cross...

Tab and esther,

congrats on your new born..

Tab,
so sorry .. i was so tided up with my own things that i forgot to let you know that the guy has left the compnay but the prices from his company is quite reasonable..

oh, talking abt chicken pox jab. Can any mummies share their exp? will bb hv fever the same day after taking the jab or few days later? we're supposed to bring Gerald for his CP jab, but these few weekends are so filled with activities. Thinking of bringing him on a weekday night.

Julia Gabriel

1)Chicken Little
2)SL
3)Sunny
4)Aileen
5)Flo (confirmed)
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
9) Krissie
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Krissie,

I brought my elder boy and damien for CP jab together....so far they did not have any fever. Dun think CP jab will cause any fever.

congrats Esther!! so excited to hear mummies popping!! =D

Julia Gabriel

1)Chicken Little
2)SL
3)Sunny
4)Aileen (Confirmed, depending on date)
5)Flo (confirmed)
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
9) Krissie
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Cl
when is the class starting? i m not sure i can bring JH since his HFMD incident. hb will sure oppose to it. so if it's not so soon, then i can try again to talk to him

yuen
how is your talk with hb?

mamapanda
yeah i still wan the books. forgot to transfer to u. will do it tonight

May
I thought I was the only one with the feeding problem as most of my colleague don't have such and sometimes it is so depressing hearing my is the difficult one. Thanks for sharing. I have never try to feed him while he is sleeping, will try that this weekend.

Yesterday, had a discussion with my hb, guess he cool down already and give in to me again. i.e. he will just not talk to my mum but will not insist that she move out. Feel so bad as this is the 4th or 5th times this year that he give in to me.

Sometimes felt so useless as I wonder why I can't take care of my boy myself where the rest of the people can like many of you in this thread and my colleague. I wonder it is because I am selfish, want to work and so can't takecare of the night feeds as I will be too tired the next day which is why needs my mum and cause all the unhappiness.

Jabs - Cephas will be going for his DPT & Prevar booter next Thu. Will wait till he is older before I give him CP jab.

Yuen Yuen - U r not useless. You just want to do your duty as a mum. Maybe try a diff method where u'll not feel so tired the next day. Can try to talk to your mum as well since HB is compromising
Take care & don't be too stressed out.

JG class - Tempting but don't know whether can make it for 2 hrs per week

Julia Gabriel

1)Chicken Little
2)SL (confirmed)
3)Sunny
4)Aileen (Confirmed, depending on date)
5)Flo (confirmed)
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
9) Krissie
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

YuenYuen,

Don't think about it this way.

I think my gal wakes up for feeds at night too. As I am still bfing my gal, I just carry her out of her cot and nurse her and sleep at the same time. When she's done, just put her back in and sleep. Sometimes I can't even remember the next morning if she had waken up for feeds.

yuen yuen,

my son also wakes up for feed even till now and it is quite terrible coz he will wake up at 2am and 4 am.. every night.. so me and hb will take turns to feed him.. very tiring for us especially hb but now we got use to it so when ds did not wake up for milk then it is a bonus for us to sleep longer..

yuen yuen,

how about both of you try to take turns or maybe pump you child up in the day with solids and milk before he sleeps?

coz i tried again this method yesterday and it works.. so i am tring it again today.. coz this method failed me when he was sick or when he is teething..

RE. Fever
Isaac's fever has subsided overnight. This morning, as some of you have predicted, there are some rashes on his face and body. But it's not much, just a scattering of faint red spots, more obvious on his face, none on his legs. Is this consistent with fake measles?

Flo / May,
Not sure why the KK doc didn't give him the suppository. His temperature at that time was 40deg. My HB thinks it's may be because we gave him Nurofen only about 4 hours before going to KK, so maybe too soon to give the suppository? Anyway, the KK doc told us that paracetamol is always the first line of defence, nurofen and suppository are always discouraged unless the temperature is very very high cos both medications are strong and can casue stomach bleeding if not administered properly. She told us to give paracetamol every 4 hours instead of 6 hours to control the temperature and prescribed paracetamol only. We asked her, when then can we give Nurofen, she says when temperatures hits like 39 deg. My HB thinks she's BS cos Isaac's temperature is consistently around 39 deg and paracetamol is obviously not controlling it very well. In the end, we still gave him Nurofen at night and switched to paracetamol when temperature was lower in the day.

thanks all mummies for sharing and the encouragement. Now I don't feel so alone anymore.

Rena - will try to pump him up in the day. Normally, how much should they be eating at this age? I give him one chinese bowl of porridge at lunch and one for dinner and he finish them. Sometimes I want to try to give him more but worry that he will throw-up.

sl / CL,
Thanks for the offer to lend the cool pillow once again. Thinking of getting one myself. I saw some at the KK pharmacy... not sure if it's the same?

Yuen Yuen,
Do you give full feed of milk just before he sleeps? When he wakes up in the middle of the night, how much milk does he take? Do you think it is just habitual rather than being hungry?

Yuen Yuen,
Don't think about it this way.
Perhaps u can "reward" ur hubby once in awhile, a small surprise or what. I will suddenly get him a T-shirt or food that he like and thank him for maybe standing in for me at night to feed Jamie.

I also had prob with my hb and mum. Cos he is very straightforward sometime. So I make a pact with him, if he got anything that disagree with my mum, talk to me and I will talk to my mum. For his parents, it will be vice versa. So it will cut down unnecessary quarrels.

Another thing, u can try to put a bit of cereal, I use Frisocreme to mix into the midnight feed. That will last longer and they will not feel hungry that easily.

Mamachan,

you mention tat it is time to take the back seat.. reminded me tat i use to organise gathering too.. then i was too busy.. so too the backseat and let you and CL too over.. maybe hee hee we should give others a chance to organise too..

Queen,
Damien get such fever before..up till 40.4degree..i did not bring him to PD or KKH but i brought him to a very reliable GP at bt timah..was given Nurofen and paracetamol. We feed him alternate on the medicine.every 4 hours. At the same time we also give him 1/2 of suppository...spouge him regularly. Let him wear something..singlet and diaper only...fever last also almost 5days.

babylon,
care to share which GP you go to? i went to the PD at railmall and find her medication so-so. doesn't really work for edgar. last time i remember someone mentioned that there's a very good GP at beautyworld or somewhere there.

yuen
if u afraid that he cannot eat so much porridge, try small and frequent meals? actually their intake will increase. sometimes JH can eat more than one bowl and still drink his milk after that. if we dun try we won'tk now that he can take more. i used to give him only 150ml-180ml before he sleeps but recently i noticed that it doesn't seem enough so i tried 200ml and he finished.

in the day i will give him some snacks like bread/yoghurt/biscuits on top of the usual feeds so that he takes more solids.

queen
glad to hear that the fever subsided.

hi mummies...caleb is refusing his porridge nowsaday. my mum is asking me to bring him to see PD. should I? now caleb just eat like 3 mouthful and will not want to eat anymore. but if u give him biscuits or yohgurt, he will not hesitate. how? is caleb the only one behaving this way? is this normal? i need some opinions here.

mamapanda/denmy - thks for updating the preggy list and yes my details is right. 11th Aug is THE day
decided to csect on that day since its a sat and hb need not take leave the day after. Cindy and cookie...ya next in the list to pop! hee...

joanna - sorry to hear abt ur trip...but in the good side, at least ya out of sgp. maybe next time round...can try gg somewhere for a break again. dec la...sch hols mah for u.

may/SH - thks for asking. caleb is fine...no bump. i did told my mum abt the fall and she was very upset with us. cos she always told me repeatedly..ur new hse floor ah...better be careful when u mop coz its very slippery. and then caleb fell down on sat. she shook her head and very heart pain. keep massaging caleb's head. hmm sometimes i wonder are we lousy parents or we just like to take chances. sigh. i find the older ppl are more careful.

flo/durianlover - great to hear from you in aussie and seoul/taipei....hope u are enjoying ur time there.

CL - regarding JG class...is it a trial class?

queen - great to hear that isaac fever has gone down. you take care too!

yuen yuen - happy to hear that things are working out between u and ur hb. communications are just so impt. hopefully the war period will be over soon. dun be too stress out as its never easy living under one roof. just have to take things one at a time and get it sorted out.

yuen,

It depends on your boy's appetite. Charmaine has very good appetite. She basically eats non-stop at home - only at the infantcare, they didn't keep feeding her. Her eating schedule for the day looks like this:
730am - latch on
830am - breakfast with my parents (i bowl porridge or 1 piece of bread + 1/2 bowl yogurt + a bit of whatever my parents are eating)
12 noon - 1 - 1.5 bowls porridge at infantcare
1pm - apple
3pm - 150 - 170ml EBM
5pm - 1 - 1.5 bowls porridge (dinner)
630pm onwards - biscuits, apple snacks, fruits, rice, fish, basically whatever that we are eating.
9pm - latch on

a lot? but her weight hasn't crossed the 10kg mark....

Hi Queen

were u seeing an MO at KKH? I don't have personal experience but I do hear stories abt KKH. Sometimes you have to ASK for the medication you want. Nurofen and the suppository are interchangeable. Perhaps the KKH doc is too cautious but taking too much paracetamol is no good too. I always take a max of 4 times in 24 hrs and if the fever is too high, I'll alternate between paracetamol and nurofen. She's partially right though; take nurofen when temp is above 39

Yuen Yuen, I think baby waking up after 1 year old is habitual; well, that's my own opinion for my own children coz I see how the habits are formed and moulded overtime. For me, I've co-slept with both boys since birth and they naturally want to continue that habit of snuggling up whenever they can and when we break that habit, it's a drastic change to them and sometimes they may not want to change. But as they grow older, it gets more difficult so that's why I always feel that we should try to cultivate good habits since young. My #1 is easier to change whereas my #2 has a stronger character.

ya, my #2 is 17 mths and about same age as the toddlers here

.ky.

Queen - Glad to know that Isaac has recovered. Very stressful when the fever plays yoyo with us.

SSF - Hey, not lousy parents. Just not as seasoned & experienced as our parents
Anyway, it has already happened...just be more careful the next time round
As for Caleb's meals, can intro soft rice with soup. Now that they can chew, may not really like the texture of porridge & would prefer to venture into hardier stuff.

JG is not trial class. The mummies are signing up for 2-hr classes on sundays for 10 weeks (I think).

SSF,
Could it be teething? Any drooling or biting of fingers etc?
My mum also ask me to make sure Jamie is not walking around when my PT helper is mopping the floor. She once slip and fall too. But not too serious. Ya..normally the caregiver will be heartpain to see that.

If for my MIL/FIL, when I rush over to carry Jamie after she knock onto something (which happens every week under MIL/FIL supervision), they will scold me for being too protective and say no need to bother one, just a knock, cry awhile ok already. Can't imagine if I am not around.

RE: Dengue Fever
I am pretty worried to bring Jamie to my in-law place now. On Sat, heard that their neighbour of the same block died of Dengue Fever. And it is already the 3rd CASE around there.

Being in the pest control company, my hubby immediately say that NEA would spot check every flat. And asked FIL to overturn the unused fish tank that is in the toilet. FIL faster grab a can of Bygone (also dunno why it is in his bedroom floor, now must take note if Jamie goes in) and he started spraying into the empty tank. Hubby immediately scream and say Jamie is around, cannot spray.

Then hubby asked FIL how often he wash and change the water in the 3 vases that he had in the living room. Guess what? FIL say.."Erm..depends lor. Can remember and free then change." Hubby goes "HUH! Cannot, must change every 2-3days!" Then ask FIL how he wash the vases. He say, "Flash the vase with water till the old water overflow, then pour away till it is half full." Hubby say again "Huh!! Cannot, must pour away, wash the vase and the stem of the plant, then fill with water again. FIL reply," Sigh..so troublesome. Anything can liao." Then hubby say "U sure kena fine when NEA come ur house."

I went to inspect the toilet and realised there are a full bucket when abit water. Really dunno how to warn them. Feel like reporting to NEA and make sure they fine and warn my PIL. I very bad hor.

May

actually i agree with your ILs on not being too protective. When my boy falls down or knocks onto something, I'll normally just glance at him to see if it's anything serious. If not, I'll just tell him it's alright. Sometimes it's becoz the parents worry, then the kids cry louder or get scared. So u won't really see me or my hb rushing to his side unless it's a very hard knock.

Maybe u should report your ILs else they will continue to be bochap abt it.

Just something tat touches the heart this morning.

F A M I L Y

I ran into a stranger as he passed by,
"Oh excuse me please" was my reply.

He said, "Please excuse me too;
I wasn't watching for you."

We were very polite, this stranger and I.
We went on our way and we said goodbye.

But at home a different story is told,
How we treat our loved ones, young and old.

Later that day, cooking the evening meal,
My son stood beside me very still.

When I turned, I nearly knocked him down.
"Move out of the way," I said with a frown.

He walked away, his little heart broken.
I didn't realize how harshly I'd spoken.

While I lay awake in bed,
God's still small voice came to me and said,

"While dealing with a stranger,
common courtesy you use,
but the family you love, you seem to abuse.

Go and look on the kitchen floor,
You'll find some flowers there by the door.

Those are the flowers he brought for you.
He picked them himself: pink, yellow and blue.

He stood very quietly not to spoil the surprise,
you never saw the tears that filled his little eyes."

By this time, I felt very small,
And now my tears began to fall.

I quietly went and knelt by his bed;
"Wake up, little one, wake up," I said.

"Are these the flowers you picked for me?"
He smiled, "I found 'em, out by the tree.

I picked 'em because they're pretty like you.
I knew you'd like 'em, especially the blue."

I said, "Son, I'm very sorry for the way I acted today;
I shouldn't have yelled at you that way."
He said, "Oh, Mom, that's okay.
I love you anyway."

I said, "Son, I love you too,
and I do like the flowers, especially the blue."

FAMILY
Are you aware that if we died tomorrow, the company
that we are working for could easily replace us in a matter of days.
But the family we left behind will feel the loss
for the rest of their lives.

And come to think of it, we pour ourselves more
into work than into our own family,
an unwise investment indeed,
don't you think?
So what is behind the story?

Do you know what the word FAMILY means?
FAMILY = (F)ATHER (A)ND (M)OTHER (I) (L)OVE (Y)OU

Hi Rena,

That's really so sweet... n it truly serves as a good reminder to ourselves on how we'd treated our family at one point or another...
thanks... :)

sysac - tried rice and soup too but same case, he will eat a couple of mouthful and then spit out if u give him more. thks for the updates on JG class. abit difficult for me then..since hb will be travelling alot and me popping soon. will give it a miss.

may - no lei i dun think he is teething. his teeth and molar are all out. he still drools but not alot and he doesn't bite his fingers.

crashbandit, May, durianlover
Your jshopper spree items are still with me. Durianlover, sms me when you're back tomorrow, ok? May, you want to collect your jshopper stuff together with the book right?

Queen
Good to hear that Isaac is well again! It sounds alot like the fake measles. THe same thing happens to my boy when he was 6 months old.

SSF
Could it be teething? That's what happen to JOash when he is teething. Only takes a few mouthfuls but ejoys all his other snacks....esp cold ones...I think it numb the gums! Just monitor his temperature to make sure it's not anything else. Cos throat infection can also dampen appetite.

Krissie
Joash had his CP Jab on the thigh. PD told ud that there will not be any side effects until 2 weeks later.... some kids will have low grade fever but she emntioned that most kids exhibit no side effects at all! Joash was fine after the jab but I think the jab site will be quite sore for a few days.

SSF
the last time i asked PD, he said it is common for them to be choosy at this age. they want to assert their independence so no need to worry too much. if caleb is stlil his active self and doesn't seem to be in distress, it shd not be anything for concern.

mashy
i m like u. sometimes my mum will keep telling me to be careful but i will tell her a bit of knock as long as not serious is ok...

may
your IL really so careless. dengue is no joke...if NEA come and check, they sure get fine one

SY- oh u save me the trouble of asking Dr Sim. hee.. Caleb is still at his usual active self. in tat case, i am more relief now. will monitor for the weeks to come and see how it goes. just that my mum and MIL is complaining of the porridge being uneaten and wasted.

Sharon- no dun think its teething. i think his teeth are almost all out except for the one that was extracted :p