(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
hee, u were planning to ask Dr Sim? Then save the trouble....i asked liao..haha...i even asked him whether it is ok to jsut feed JH only porridge since he dun wan anything else...he says it's ok. he says terrible 2 stage approaching so they will refuse stuff to feel independent.

maybe can try noodles like what rena suggest? JH pretty much refuse anything except porridge for now.

SSF,
yah, dun worry about them rejecting their food unless they have other symtoms, toddlers are known to be very finicky eaters. S is going thru this now, she eats at most half a bowl and needs lots of coaxing. If we offer her other food, she will just gulp it down... as long they dun reject EVERYTHING, think it's a phase...

CL,
wow, 10% is good deal! hmmm, am keen about the JG class, let me check with HB see whether it's a good timing.... thanks for the good lobang!

Mashy and SY,
yup same here, I tend to be quite relaxed with S if she falls, hits her head or throws up... my IL will be rushing to her side all the time, but I think kids need a few knocks to grow up, if they dun fall, they won't learn... till now, S can't really climb up and down the sofa coz everytime she tries on her own, my IL will help her, so she just can't learn!
kao_frustrated.gif

Tabs,
hearing about your block ducts and crying baby brings back memories, though abit scary memories too, haha...

SY - ya i asked hb to called Dr Sim yesterday but he said he may not have time to entertain us. so i said nvr mind...i ask my forum frd tmr.hahaha....ok ok..i really feel much better now. hopefully he will get over this phase soon.

rena - i didnt really try noodles lei..but i know he like udon. maybe i will try udon on him and see if he still likes it. wah elijah really know the good stuffs. only eat japanese rice. must be the japan trip la.

sleepingdeer - half a bowl not so bad already. mine only a mouthful. if caleb can eat half a bowl, i be glad already coz he hasnt reach the 10kg mark yet.

ssf..

haha.. maybe.. but i give elijah so many kinds of noodle it seems like he dun like mee sua only.. he likes bee hoon( thick type), pa mee, udon, luo shu fen..and porridge ..

sleepingdeer - wow sexy shannon! thks for the pic. will show hb tonight to spite him. haha..seems like the papas are all very slim. if my hb joined last week, he shld be the biggest of the lot. kekeke..

Aileen - Replied your PM

SSF - Then cld be a phase he is going thru
Don't worry too much as long as he is still eating

SSF,
don't worry about caleb's eating. i believe it's only a phase. edgar went thru that phase too. and that phase lasted for months. now he's eating fine. about 1.5 bowl. but also still below 10kg mark la! hehe...

hi aileen, swimsuit's from jshopper. K's got one too ... u mean u didn't notice him the last time har at aquaducks ... *so sad*

.ky.

Julia Gabriel

Mummies, I just read my mail and realise I miss out this one. We have secured a slot

Day: Sunday
Time: 2.00 - 4.00 pm

They will give us 1 time discount of 10%. A full class is 20 students, but lesson is 10 by 10 then at the end it will be a music and movement for all 20. The remaining slots which we are not taking up, they will offer to other kids.

Please confirm if you joining the above group
1)Chicken Little
2)SL (confirmed)
3)Sunny
4)Aileen (Confirmed, depending on date)
5)Flo (confirmed)
6)Tabbiesus
7)SY
8) AK (Confirmed, depending on date)
9) Krissie
10) cheng
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

sorry mummies,
been a long time since I last came in. for the Julia Gabriel post, is it a trial or it's a term of lesson?
anyone of you sending your toddler to kindermusik?

Clare
Re: Chicken Pox Jab
I took Mel to Dr Khor for her jab about 2 weeks back, she jabbed on her bum.

Krissie/Sharon
The nurse told me wont get fever immediately after the jab, but didnt ask if fever will come 2 weeks laterhumm maybe Mels fever on Sat was caused by CP jab then.

Queen
I think KK didnt give suppository cos Isaac just took Nurofen 4 hours ago. Both are NSAID and cant be given together. Most of the time if Mel is having high fever above 39 I will give suppository immediately cos I find paracetamol is ineffective in controlling high fever. Anyway can only give 1/2 every 12 hours.

SSF
Me working not on hol trip, so no fun time
Got to wake up earlier and stay up late to clear my email and work! I agree with SY, Caleb is probably going through the stage of exerting his independent.

May
RE: Dengue Fever
I think better keep Jamie from your ILs place, dengue fever is no joke

Florence
Oh Bum good!! How much she charge for the Jab?? Maybe i go to her instead...

Mongs
I am sending Ashley to Kindermusik. This week is her last week for the term. She was only 16mths when i started her so no choice she got to join the baby class, and though some already can walk, she was still the che che of the class. I may continue signing her for the next term which is for 18mths and above.

Music Class
Am also considering doing a trial at www.seimpi-music.com.sg at Funan Digital Mall. One of my customer whom i met during my pushcart week strongly recommended this music school at Forum. She said the school has a very fun way of introducing the children to music including theory (eg reading scores, etc) For babies up to 23mths old will attend their "MIM Jump Start" class every Sat either 9am or 10.45am. Trial is at $35/-

Clare
heee.. not so soon i think for hope will be according to EDD. I haven't hand over my work to my colleague and lotsa things to prepare :p

SO busy today... catch up tonight.

Queen - for his last feed, he is taking 200ml of milk which I add a teaspoon of cereal. Not sure whether it is habitual, I tried a few times to pat him to sleep and once I put him down, he started crying as if to tell me that milk is not coming?

When I give him the bottle, there were a few times that his drank so fast that I thought I used his sis's teat instead but it was correct so I guess he is hungry.

May/sl/Rena
Thanks for sharing your bb diet. my boy is also forever eating.
7.30pm 180ml milk
8.30pm 1/3 slice of bread with cheese
10.30pm 150ml milk
12.30pm porridge 1 bowl finish off with 90ml milk
3.00pm 180ml milk with 2 teaspoon cereal
4.30pm fruits- apple, banana, payaya, strawberry, peach, orange juice
6.00pm porridge 1 bowl finish off with 120ml milk
8.00pm 120 or 150 ml milk
10.00pm 200ml milk with 1teaspoon cereal
1.30am 150ml milk
4.30am 150ml milk
is he over-eating? he is about 11.3kg now.

Yuen

Wah, your boy can really eat! Possible to give more solid food? Like soft rice, half pc of bread instead of 1/3? Or more porridge? Maybe could add more protein to the porridge?

Hi Aileen,
no problem ... just pullin' your leg
. the suit is quite nice esp the zipper is well-hidden but the prints are coming out after a number of washes. I'll choose to buy thermal wear type next time esp with BP going on quite regularly nowadays.

Clare, seimpi is quite good but I do hear some mixed reviews. But it's good to expose the kid to some music courses. don't rush into reading scores ... there are various music schools that teach children "real" music in various methods and it depends what you think works better.

.ky.

Yuenyuen
If u want to reduce the amount of milk he drinks, maybe u can try giving him 1 whole slice of bread instead of 1/3 slice, 2 tablespoons of cereal instead of 1 teaspoon and 1.5bowls of thick porridge instead of 1 bowl? It seems ur boy is not eating enough of solids but drinking too much milk. Even Ariene who is only 9kg can finish 1 whole avocado and 1 whole slice of bread with cheese and 3 tablespoons of cereal with milk, so I guess it shouldn't be a problem for your boy.

rena
Sounds quite familiar but I don't recall how she look already. I just attended my sec3 - sec4 marymount partner's wedding on sat. I felt so behind. Most of them have already popped 2 or have #2 on the way while #1 is already 3+ years old. BTW, have u received your jshopper stuff? I passed them to wenyl on sat.

SSF
Have u tried giving caleb other kinds of food like pasta or mashed potatoes mixed with minced meat, sweet potato and butternut squash? If he likes cheese, you can also sprinkle some finely shredded cheese (I use the pre-shredded perfect italiano parmesean cheese) on top. If not, u can try giving him a 4 course meal - grilled pork/beef + mashed potatoes + boiled/steamed brocolli/carrots + fruit/yogurt/low sugar ice-cream dessert?

MamaPanda
Is it easy to do BP for Jshopper? I wan to buy somethings from there but keep missing the BPs... so if its not too difficult i may start one.

mamapanda
just realise that he is drink lot of milk too when I note down his intake here..

maybe I worry he over-eat which is why never increase the quantity. Will try to increase to maybe 1/2 slice first and see how.

Mashy - add more protein like what? he eats any 2 or 3 of the below with his porridge.
egg - stream, hard boil
minced pork / chick - stream
fish - stream
baked beans
tofu - stream
Vegetable - stream
mostly stream as I lazy, so I stream all his food include porridge in the streamer together.

yuenyuen
The only way to reduce his milk intake is to increase the solid food intake as milk is digested much quicker than solid food so he'll feel hungry faster. As for proteins, why not try beef? On days when his appetite is not so good, why not try out the grilled pork/beef/chicken recipe I posted some time back? If he's teething then the grilled recipe may not be so good as he'll refuse to chew unless u tear the meat up into tiny bits for him.

clare
It does take some time to get used to organising sprees but once u get the hang of it, its quite easy. The most difficult part of organising a spree is getting people to confirm their orders, waiting for payment and organising the collection points and times. I did come across some mummies who ordered but did not pay or made ambiguous orders but did not reply your email or sms or posting, etc, causing delay to everybody. The sad part is, unless u know everybody who ordered from you, its hard to avoid these people.

Mamapanda,
I had transfer the money to you already. Sorry for the delay. Transaction reference: 1225649580.
Yes..u are right. I will be collecting the jshopper loot and book together. When will we get the book ah? If too late, then I might pick up the jshopper loot first.

Clare
I can't remember, I think is $170+ if I'm not wrong. If you are not in a hurry, will sms you when I'm back on Fri, if not maybe u can call up the clinic to check.

Aileen,
I bot the wetsuit from a mummy last yr cos she ordered the wrong size. Yes, she got from jshopper. Ethan is outgrowing tat suit liao. Tink of it, the suit lasted him for abt 9mths liao.

Rena,
So sad! U din recognise Ethan & his daddy. Boo hoo hoo!

Good Morning everyone!

MamaPanda
Thanks for the info. I organised only 1 BP for the bumpermat from SSW but that's local and they do delivery so not too bad. Have not tried overseas sites yet. Maybe will start one once i complete my current 2 difficult & long overdue reports. Urghh... just the though of these 2 reports make me dred coming to work. =(

wenyl,

dun be sad lar.. the pic too small to recongnise..

Mamapanda.
wendy has let me know already..thank you so mych for your help...

i think JH also starting to reject food. not sure whether it is cos he's teething. during dinner times he doesn't want to eat. only wants to go and look for mei mei.....sigh..my boy is so buaya..haha

mamapanda, i will transfer to u later during lunch time.

yuen
your boy drinks a lot of milk! JH only takes milk 3 times a day each 200ml.

yuenyuen,
ur boy still looks so babyish! love his big round eyes!! =D
agree with the rest that you may want to consider increasing his solids

RE. fake measles
May I know how long does the rashes last? Isaac has the rash breakout yesterday morning, but not so bad throughout the day. But today it seems worse...

Re. food
Isaac also has episodes of rejecting food. Like yesterday, he totally refused to eat his mee sua during lunch and porridge for dinner. He would take cereals. I actually resorted to hiding pieces of meat in the cereal. He could tell that the cereal tastes a bit funny and kept looking at the cereal bowl, but still ate it anyway. When he has such episodes, I get so frustrated that I would really scold him cos he will shut his mouth tight and push my hand away when I try to feed him. I'll feel that my efforts in cooking his lunch and dinner go to waste.

mamapanda - he used to like mashed potatoes with cheese and eggs but the last 2 weekends that i made, he will refuse it. but u give him KFC mashed potatoes, he will eat it. tried adding those ABC pasta but i think quite bland..he doesnt like it.

thks for your ideas..hmm..maybe i try somethg different this weekend.

yuen yuen - wow..envy ur boy can eat so much. your boy is also like caleb ...seems to have very few hair. since birth till now, we only cut his hair thrice. haha...once is shave then one cut and the other trim by my mum. really help mummy saves money.

SY - haha JH joining caleb ? wow JH really starts young to look out for mei mei. could be too distracted la...

sy - wow JH have mei mei already? that was quick. ya when bryant was teething, he also reject food, eat only 3 mouth and keeps sticking his fingers into his mouth. He loves his milk just like his sister, she is 6 years old and drinks 5 bottles of 8 oz (240ml) each day on top of her normal meal and snack.

queen - ya i can understand wat ya feeling. its tiring right..making food for them and they dun even want to eat a mouthful. this happens to me for the past weekends already! i can make so many different types of porridge and he refuse to eat it. very sad. in the end, hb ended up eating it but of coz after adding pepper and soya sauce. i totally give up that i will sometimes buy bun or bread for him to eat instead. my MIL and mum is also complaining that their efforts are gone to waste. but no choice...i hope they will get out of this fussy phase soon.

SSF - ya, with little hair, save time in washing hair too, super easy, so far, I only trim his hair twice. Sometimes, he also don't like his solids and cry for milk and even refuse cereal, so I add more cereal to his milk so it is not so solid. I think he is lazy to chew on some days, that happen to my girl at some stage as she think that drink milk is faster. I try to feed him when he is not so hungry.

Aileen - ya, he still look very babyish not that I am complaining, haven't change much in his looks since birth.

ssf
Ya, once they tasted food with flavours, salt and sugar, they won't want to eat bland foods again. That's why I'm holding back letting her eat what I eat for as long as I can. I've also been fed salty foods since young so it took me almost 3 years to get used to eating foods with little salt as my hb is used to taking low salt foods.