(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF

Actually the epidural is a continuous infusion of medicine... you don't need to have an extra jab... if not working enough, than can just increase the infusion. When they top up its in the syringe on the side of your bed.

The other way to have a caesarian is to use a spinal anaesthesia.. that usually doesn't come with an infusion, and is a one off jab that lasts a few hours.

SY

i commiserate with you... hahaha... tabby likes to sleep in the center so mummy and daddy and baby are in a "H" configuration...

I don't think it will be easy for him to sleep in another room, but i think you must sin koo a bit, and go down and sleep on his mattress... until he's asleep. Then after he's stopped waking up, you can slowly move him to another room.

For me, what i did is that now all 3 of us sleep at the same level. I will put tabby to sleep at 9pm and when she's asleep, shift her to her own mattress (the shine mate one) and i will sleep next to her on my own mattress, if she wakes up, i just tell her mommies here, and sometimes, i don't even need to pat, she will automatically go back to sleep, if she needs me to pat, then i'll just reach over and pat her for a while or give her my arm to reassure and she'll be okie... dunno if this will work for JH, but i find that it works for me and tabby cos she seldom climbs onto my mattress now unless she had a really bad nightmare or is sick.

SSF,
Your gynae estimation is quite a big difference leh. Mine is about there. He say Jamie is about 3.5kg if I not going to control my diet, it will be more. Ended up Jamie is 3.6kg.

I can say c-sect dun have the kind of closeness lor. When they push Jamie in, I got a feeling of so near yet so far, abit stunned. Can't imagine this big baby is inside me for 9mths. Only when I carry her then I cry.

Cheng, Mamachan, CL,
Congrats on your new biz venture!!

Mongs,
I also just started a new job not so long agokekenowadays read posts suddenly hv to be tou tou mo mo.but there's really nothing much to do yet coz everyone is too busy with deadlines to brief me at all.so jia lat.sit here blur blur kindso tot I will sneak in to read some posts lah

Esther,
Hope everything turns out fine. Dun worry too much okie?

May,
Wah.23 hours labour! Glad that everything turn out fine though!

SY,
Recently we converted JW's cot to a toddler's bed and push our master bed against his bed so that we need not squeeze with him in one queen size bed anymore. Originally he refused to sleep therebut after a few nites, he is quite ok. Sometime he will climb into his bed himself from the master bed. Guess he doesn't like squeezing with us coz we dun leave him much space. But of course at times, he seems to enjoy the squeezing so we just wait for him to doze off before transferring him back again so that he doesn't whack us in his sleep! :)

CL,

since RP lunch postponed, I can join for our discussion on MBA.

re RP lunch
Postpone to next Tue 19th June
1. SY
2. CL
3. AK

Tabbiesus,
Think ur girl also similar to mine. She will wake up and make sure that I am beside her. As I raise the height of the shine mate mattress to be the same height as mine, I am able to just give her my arm. Sometime she will need pat and sometimes she will just hold on to my arm to sleep. At first will peep and see if I am beside. It is very cute to see them like that.

tabbiesus - oh i see...mine is the epi jab at my spine.
caleb sleeps with us on our new upgraded KING size bed and yeah its the "H" configuration. haha..

may - ya the estimation of caleb's wgt is so off. maybe its becos he is still using the old method of using a calculator. haha..this time shld be more accurate since i change to another gynae. he estimated my bb current wgt to be 1.2kg and is not using a calculator for sure. hee..

Tabbie,
Now that you mentioned spinal anaesthesia, I remembered my gynae recommending that to me instead of epi-c when megan was breeched. My gynae's confident she can get all done by the time the thing wears off. She's fast in c-sect, i didn't stay long in the opt theatre.

SSF,
Can ask your gynae about spinal thing. And yes, epi can easily adjust, no need to jab again. Anyway, my legs were so numb, when the nurses ask me to help lift abit to move from bed to opt table, i told them no way, can't feel legs at all, you gotta carry me.

esther
Dun worry so much abt weight of the baby. Ariene was born 2.6kg and she's now only abt 9kg (maybe 9.2kg or at most 9.5kg) but PD says she's normal and healthy. Birth weight is kinda genetic. If mummy and daddy are slim, the chances are high that baby will be slim too and vice versa.

ssf,
No need to jab again even if epidural runs out. They just change the packet of anaesthesia to a new packet dats all. If u don't want the epidural to run out so fast, adjust the drip slower so you'll still feel alittle pain and your legs can still move. That's what I did and I could feel contractions with minimal pain. This helps with the delivery too cuz you know exactly when to push and when to rest.

tracy - my case was such that i was 0.5cm dilated and gan cheong me told gynae..admit me la...i hate the waiting game. so ended up he broke my water bag, insert pills into my V, was on drip to increase dilation but after a whopping 8 hrs....only 2 cm dilation. then gynae then said that Caleb's heart beat was weak so gave me oxygen mask to inhale but still not good. so in the end asked me for a emergency c sect. then i signed the form to have epidural where i be fully conscious and hb can be by my side. so when i went in, i got jabbed on my spine for my epi and then when i panicked and told gynae i can feel the pain which is actually not pain la...but just a cut feeling. the anaesthetist gave me a mask to inhale and then next i know my head was spinning round and round. i think the anaesthetist did increase the dosage. so does that mean i was on another kind of epi as well? hee...so confusing.

oh yes abt the leg thingy..so scary..couldnt feel anythg at all and my legs just weigh like tonnes. haha..

SSF
Epidural is never inhaled. I was not given any gas nor did my head spin when doing the epidural leh. There is a brief ache of few seconds above the pelvic region during insertion of the cathether but once the anaesthesia sets in, the pain goes away. I guess they had to give u additional anaesthesia cuz u're doing a C-sect and they don't want u to panic if u start feeling pain.

SSF,

Dun worry 2nd delivery will be easy. I was only 1/2hr in the labour ward..cannot have epi..too late. Tot that i cannot make it..coz the laughing gas make me very drowsy...started to see stars..

SSF,
hmmm..then it probably depended on the anaesthetist liao. When I was wheeled into the theatre, the same anaesthestist came and poke me around to ask if i can feel anything, then he adjust the dosage till he's satisfied with my answer to his pokes. Then we commenced the surgery. You are good! Can tahan without epi for 8hrs and it was induced some more. I was induced too and couldn't bear the pain after 2hrs, surrender to epi.

Babylon,
if first delivery is c-sect, then i think second delivery will still not be easy, cos the #2 will be like our first natural birth and pelvic bones etc opening for 'first' time. Sooo..may still be long labour for #2 if we had c-sect for #1.

tracy - ya wat u says is true. tats why i opt for GA c sect. save me from all the trouble and wait end up same case like caleb. haha

wow today's topic is about delivery...
make me nevous again...I have heard from 2nd time mummies during hightea that second delivery is going to be easier..
tho I cannot imagine now cos I have 19 hr of labour for K and I still remember telling my gynae I dun wan to go thru it again after K is out. The pushing is so difficult.
My gynae was still laughing abt it.

Esther
I believe it is very important to Stay positive right now. Yes like other mummies say think abt Renee and Leroy, all the happy thoughts.
Like tabby explain .. why not just go for GA C-section where by it could possibly be the safest choice in your case.
As long as both mum and bb arrive safety, I guess it doesnt matter via what method.
Dun worry ok.. I'm sure you will be fine

SY
My energy comes from all the adrenaline rush I got. It helps that Daren sleeps through the night in a seperate room and my hb helps out with him when I have to be in some form of discussions lor. But I find it a real juggling act for myself given that I'm doing my night classes now and we have a practical exam after every module which is like every 4 weeks!

Our products are from USA, the land of scrapbooking. heh heh

mamapanda

i'm fine with it in a ring folder. Thanks!

chillies

hope everything's fine and shun shun li li for you. Take care!

Ai yoh, today talk abt delivery. scared scared. Hated the thought of delivery. So painful & uncomfortable even with epidural.

Wenyl

I've stopped using lipstick. For some reason, after my preg, i developed an allergy to lipsticks. Will get very bad eczema on the lips like cold sore. THought i had cold sore until i had it tested out and found that it's eczema. Now the eczema is still rather persistent, very sian. Sometimes my mouth end up looking really swollen.

Esther - will help u to pray that everythin goes smoothly! Do stay positive,its the best way to overcome anything!

SSF - talking bout ur delivery now makes me tink back of last year when we were bout to be induced on the same day... haha rem we even said to look out for each other based on our toes' nail polish color?
though we din manage to meet each other, tink our babies should have managed to day Hi to each other in the nursery

chillies - hope everythin is well for you and your family!

tabbiesus - i got the milk ytd liao, whew! thanks again ar!

god's child, SSF
ya ya, our babies born on same day at TMC, most probably they were 'room mates'. keke, but i was at level 3. I remember SSF was on level 5 so different nursery. I remember it was sooooo crowded at TMC during that period!

Mamachan,CL and Cheng
Congrats to yourrr..new business and wishing your earn more $$$$$

Esther,.
Dont worry and stay positive,,,,,we will pray for you

Chillies
Take care,,,

Wenyl
Alamak...I guess wrongly paisehhh...

Tracy
note...will pass by there to support your sis

god's child - hahaha u got me tickling thinking abt the nail polish colours on our toes. muhahhaa...i almost forgot abt it. but anyway the nurses wipe away my nail polish when i was admitted.

tracy - hee..yes it was so packed during that time. i think i will seriously miss TMC, Mrs Wong and those nice nurses and oh their famous soup! hopefully KK will not disappoint me.

Linda,
Thank you! This is her first time so please excuse her if she seems rather messy. Oh ya, if you have seen me before, and now you see my sis, you will wonder how come we look soooo different. :p (One is angel, one is eh...not) hahaha, make a guess who's the angel.

Hi ladies...went to the pottery factory with my son today...very fun! The kids had a chance to try moulding the clay on the spinning machine...(didn't catch the name of that machine)...then got some really good bargains for ceramic teapots...

SY, CL and all other mummies interested...
Ohh....I checked with my son's CC Principal...she'll check and get back to me....
Then I'll call the supplier and see if we can do a bulk purchase here...k? Keep you gals informed...

Ooh...I've gotten a resort at Desaru...haha...last minute holiday planning! Leaving on Thurs morning...will only be back on Sat...
So...I'll probably only log in on Sun...meanwhile, you gals enjoy your week and the coming weekend, ya?

Early childhood education books
================================
1. Sing me a story! Tell me a song! Creative Thematic Activities for Teachers of Young Children by Hilda L. Jackman

2. Moving & Learning Series by Rae Pica

1. chickenlittle - 1 & 2
2. KY - 2
3. aileen - 1 & 2
4. tabbi -
5. mashy - 1 & 2
6. Aileen - 1 & 2
7. sl - 1 & 2
8. SY - 1 & 2

I've checked with the bookshop. I can order the books for u. Currently, they only have 2 books left for the first title. I cant exactly remember what each of you want so, I've starting this list for your inputs. I'm cant confirm if I can order so many yet but, I'll try to see if I can ask them to deliver them to my house instead else, I cant order too many cuz my office is very far from the bookshop and I'll have problems carrying so many books to my car. If I can get them to deliver to my place, I can probably order more, if not, this is about the limit for me and my colleague's skinny hands to carry.

aiya...i think hor...I'm the most "jialat" mum leh...let me share why...

1st Pregnancy...
went to hospital with contractions coming regularly....so hubby panicked and rushed me to the hospital...guess what...the moment got to hospital...the contractions sort of just stopped...gynae laffed and said my baby had cold feet...refuse to come out...but I was already 1-cm dilated....put me on the monitoring machine....then the contractions started coming back...but cervix remained at 1-cm dilation 6 hours later even after a few hours...(the contractions were regular and getting stronger...) then my gynae decided to induce me...

After the inducement, another 6 hours later, I was STILL 1-cm dilated...Gynae says cannot wait liao...so after 12 hours of pain, (I refused gas and epidural despite the pain and chased hubby away cos I looked freaking ugly...haahaa)...I was wheeled into operating theatre for C-Section...so much for enduring 12 hours of pain...arrgghh

2nd pregnancy...
checked with gynae if it was possible to have normal delivery...she was supportive and encouraged me to go for it! (However, she did tell me that she cannot induce me since I had an earlier C-Section.

Also, the most likely reason why I hadn't dilated was due to a stubborn cervix...(Runs in the family...my mum went thru similar suffering...)

So...at 10pm on the 3rd of Jan 2006...I had show...Since there wasn't any contractions, I decided to stay home till the contractions came on...couldn't sleep the whole nite...second show...bloodier than first round, came at 12MN...I persisted and waited cos contraction not in yet....then at 8am on 4th Jan, I called the midwives...they advised me to check in cos I had been bleeding since 10pm the previous night...waited and waited...even with contractions, I was 0cm dilated....arrgghhh....So we waited for around 3-4 hours...by mid afternoon, gynae said I was bleeding too much and baby also a little in distress, so had to do a C-section...hai....

Now you know why I say I feel like a "failure"!!! I have never experienced the taste of PUSHING! Guess I'll not have any more chances cos my factory is gonna be closed!

Mamapanda,
I also want to order

1. Sing me a story! Tell me a song! Creative Thematic Activities for Teachers of Young Children by Hilda L. Jackman

1. chickenlittle - 1 & 2
2. KY - 2
3. aileen - 1 & 2
4. tabbi -
5. mashy - 1 & 2
6. Aileen - 1 & 2
7. sl - 1 & 2
8. SY - 1 & 2
9. Maywong - 1 & 2

RE: TMC Labour ward
I remembered I was on the same bed as Rena if I am not wrong. Bed 329B. But Rena was there before me.

the problem with JH is that sometimes when we put him back on the mattress, he knows and will wake up and keep calling for me...so in the end i just leave him beside me so that i cna sleep

mamachan
thanks for the info on the scrapebooks. maybe like what CL suggest i shd do one and show hb..nowadays scrapebook very different from his standard one...

mamapanda,joanna,

Hi Esther...juz read your post...dun worry...stay positive and all will be well...juz think of how lovely it will be to have 2 kids running around you instead of focusing your energy on the negatives...like what Tabbieus mentioned, it is a controlled environment....

For my second pregnancy...I lost a lot of blood and baby too...so we were both slightly anaemic...so...I was given Iron tabs...was initially also worried about baby...but when the PD told me that they will make up their blood cells with the milk and food that they take, it should not be a prob...my second boy is now healthy and weighing a hefty 12.5kg at 17 mths...hehe...
So...focus on the positive ya? We'll be here to give you support emotionally!

Mamapanda,
thanks for helping! i just re-numbered the list coz my name was repeated.

1. chickenlittle - 1 & 2
2. KY - 2
3. aileen - 1 & 2
4. tabbi -
5. mashy - 1 & 2
6. sl - 1 & 2
7. SY - 1 & 2
8. Maywong - 1 & 2

SSF - it was funni rite.. i always like to 'reopen' the archives and look back the posts when i was near delivery and when celeste was newborn.. never fail to make me feel touched all over again! hee...

Tracy - i was on level 3 as well, Meg and Celeste cfm room mates la

May - i was also in Ward 329B at TMC

joanna - haha u make me even cfm to go for c sect and not try natural. my gynae also commented that if first one ..c sect..chances of bb not able to come out and ended up c sect higher too. i same case with u la...refuse any pain killer but for 8 hrs only and wanna be a gung ho person. haha...dun worry let least u try to have natural. u or maybe i shld say we tried our best. haha... ya still young..can try for no 3!

god's child - wow i couldnt remember which rm i am in except tat i was on 5th flr.

i really like this brand of toys plantoys. besides the better toy store, any other place in sg selling? i saw that they havce online shop in thailand but not sure whether thats the cheapest option

SY,

How does it look like ? Then can check for you.

Tracy
Now that the RP lunch is 19 , ha ha we can pop by to all visit your sis's push cart

SY, *shake hand*, hubby and my sleep quality are lousy too. I'm back to frequent night wake-ups eversince keith learnt how to climb out of the cot, and the hubby has been sleeping on the mattress with #1 since 1.5 yrs ago. We tried to change the sleeping patterns but so far have not succeed :<

U really keen to get books and toys yah? Try popular coz there's 20% this month. i'll stock up art n craft stuff like construction paper, drawing blocks, glue, etc. I also buy a A4-size drawing block and date each scribbling page ... at least I can see what each attempt is like and not search through pieces of paper.

Plantoys is cheaper in Thailand but for a good big set, it's still more than S$100, and would be a challenge to carry back. I was eyeing one airport set that weigh 15kg so gave up coz it's too heavy

.ky.

CL
it is mainly wooden toys. i found a website in UK selling some of their toys. my bro is in UK now so if it is cheaper in UK, may ask him to get some for me.

attached is a pic of their toys

u can go to this website to see more toys. also got haba and pin toys.

http://www.littlefishtoys.co.uk
837024.jpg

CL
it is mainly wooden toys. i found a website in UK selling some of their toys. my bro is in UK now so if it is cheaper in UK, may ask him to get some for me.

attached is a pic of their toys

u can go to this website to see more toys. also got haba and pin toys.

http://www.littlefishtoys.co.uk
837026.jpg

oops sorry for the double post

ky
is there 20% this month at popular? tot u need the coupon?
yup i love buying books and toys. dunno whether it is more for me or for my boy! when i see something nice, i really feel like buying it for him..haha

plantoys cheaper in thailand? i saw some on the website that i like. but still not cheap i feel. the monterssori website that u showed me also recommend their toys.

SY, yap. need coupon to buy ... I've got it leh. hm, u need I can get for you... let me know :>

I'm also into buying toys and books :> ... there's too many in the market. I've got one similar to the picture (teaching halves, thirds and quarters) ... I think I got from http://www.toyshop.com.sg/. if u don't mind poorer quality, can check out acalliz.com (stuff generally from china) ... generally sale offers are in June and Dec. in the montessori website, believe it's bcoz the folks are in US and the variety is more and yes, I see the families there have plenty more toys which are generally more affordable

.ky.

ky
thanks for your offer. i recently just bought more stuff so unless i clear out the old stuff i dun have space to put more stuff. unless i put at my office...

ok i will check out the website u gave me.

i m just looking at the uk website. the city airport that u wanted to buy cost nearly 38 pounds.

Hi mamapanda

The list for books, updated

1. chickenlittle - 1 & 2
2. KY - 2
3. aileen - 1 & 2
4. tabbi - 1&2
5. mashy - 1 & 2
6. sl - 1 & 2
7. SY - 1 & 2
8. Maywong - 1 & 2

RE: popular discount

The orchard mrt popular is having a closing down sale, storewide 20% off no need coupon... i stocked up a lot of crayons and paint sets and craft scissors and construction and colored paper.

RE: Hi-Tea
Yes, yes, though this is a little late, I'm been rather 'zi-tun' lately, thanks for all the people who helped organise the great and fun hi-tea! It was really good to sit around with other ladies and chat, though the topic still evolves around babies! And we still 'fang-bu-sia', still think about our little darlings at home when we see other babies, haha!

Esther,
hugs hugs! Dun worry, am very sure your gynae will do a good job and you will be fine! Dun worry, everything will be fine!

SY,
thanks for your contact for window grilles, after all the sourcing for quotes, and ding-donging with MIL ( Can you gals imagine? She DIDN"T want to do window grilles, cos she didn't want the trouble of opening it to clean windows and says it will spoil the view!!? I really bang head on this one!) we are gonna do it with Yen... she's coming tomorrow to do the measurements...

Re: Epidural c-section
I was glad I choose epidural c-section, coz I was awake to hear S cry for the first time , and see S for the first time, with her big eyes wide open and looking at me... ohhh, so sweet just thinking of the memories!

JOanna,
oh, so shiok, going Desaru, my parents trying hard to book but it's full till july! We may go in July for some R & R...