aiya...i think hor...I'm the most "jialat" mum leh...let me share why...
1st Pregnancy...
went to hospital with contractions coming regularly....so hubby panicked and rushed me to the hospital...guess what...the moment got to hospital...the contractions sort of just stopped...gynae laffed and said my baby had cold feet...refuse to come out...but I was already 1-cm dilated....put me on the monitoring machine....then the contractions started coming back...but cervix remained at 1-cm dilation 6 hours later even after a few hours...(the contractions were regular and getting stronger...) then my gynae decided to induce me...
After the inducement, another 6 hours later, I was STILL 1-cm dilated...Gynae says cannot wait liao...so after 12 hours of pain, (I refused gas and epidural despite the pain and chased hubby away cos I looked freaking ugly...haahaa)...I was wheeled into operating theatre for C-Section...so much for enduring 12 hours of pain...arrgghh
2nd pregnancy...
checked with gynae if it was possible to have normal delivery...she was supportive and encouraged me to go for it! (However, she did tell me that she cannot induce me since I had an earlier C-Section.
Also, the most likely reason why I hadn't dilated was due to a stubborn cervix...(Runs in the family...my mum went thru similar suffering...)
So...at 10pm on the 3rd of Jan 2006...I had show...Since there wasn't any contractions, I decided to stay home till the contractions came on...couldn't sleep the whole nite...second show...bloodier than first round, came at 12MN...I persisted and waited cos contraction not in yet....then at 8am on 4th Jan, I called the midwives...they advised me to check in cos I had been bleeding since 10pm the previous night...waited and waited...even with contractions, I was 0cm dilated....arrgghhh....So we waited for around 3-4 hours...by mid afternoon, gynae said I was bleeding too much and baby also a little in distress, so had to do a C-section...hai....
Now you know why I say I feel like a "failure"!!! I have never experienced the taste of PUSHING! Guess I'll not have any more chances cos my factory is gonna be closed!