(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Babylon
Aden is a milk monster. After food also must drink milk. At my place I only make morning and night feed plus weekend. 1 tin gone within 1 week. I still have the tin at nanny place leh.

Mamapanda
Yours I can understand because it is BM. But when Aden is on EBM he slept through. Now I think he is taking back 5 x what he has lost during the week he has bronchitis and refusing food and milk

Aileen
Ha ha, that day I heard a nursery boy tell his mummy on the bus. Can you buy sweet for me ? Mummy says ok. Boy says: You have to buy 3 sets, 1 for me, 1 for kai lin and 1 for Claudia. He has 2 gal frens at the age of 4. Ha ha. I think boys are brought up for other gals like our mil has to give up their son to us. Ha ha

Tracy,
I never ask my hb. Because the next line he says " Did you teach her that" Blow top liao, never ask.

babylon,
have u tried giving fresh milk to damien? i give those 200ml packaging kind of fresh milk to edgar and he is drinking better. but he only takes the flavored ones. like strawberry or choco. he drinks it from the straw. no more milk bottles already. usually he can finish the whole pack at one go, else he will drink in instalments. in a day he can drink about 2-3 bottles which means about 400-600ml. i'm quite happy with that liao. better than 0ml previous. althou it's quite costly to buy the 200ml kind compared to the 1ltr ones, i'm just glad that he drinks. so whatever goes...

Chicken little,

was telling you yesterday that elijah wake up and drink milk.. he did it again yesterday at 4am.. this time slightly more.. he drank 5 oz.. i tried not to give him but .. no luck coz he cried until very very chiam and long.. when the milk came he just gobble it....so i think he must be really hungry

aileen - i stocked up sealer diapers for my NB. she said can store for 3 yrs. bot 3 packs of NB and 3 packs of size S. hee..KS!

god's child - wow..celeste sure know how to help daddy save money at such young age. haha...really shld buy somethg for celeste as a memory.

may - nice meeting you yesterday. sorry was bz choosing the pyjamas designs for caleb. i find it cheap and material is good. i just bot one from isetan and it costs me $10.90 so this is like $8.30 for each if i buy 3 sets. moreover his pyjamas is getting shorter and tighter these days. so time for a chg.haha.. did u get anythg?

SY - i went down yesterday and dumex step 3 is selling at 19 per tin. i think ur medical hall 17 bucks is still a better bargain. i find the fair this yr better although i couldnt find nepia counter after walking twice. haha..

wat i bot:

1. 8 packs of EQ diapers Size L 48 pcs $10 each.
2. 3 packs of sealer NB 48pcs $9 and 3 packs of sealer S 46 pcs at $10
3. 1 new collection of einstein CD at 12 bucks.
4. 1 counting hardcover book at $3.90
5. sign up cord blood $300 off first time payment and subsequent $250 per yr.
(2 people who sign up together will get a further $50 off)
If you cannot get 2 people to sign up, you can also quote my account no and I also get some subsidy off my next annual payment

6. 6 bottles of bottle wash detergent from Pureen. Up: $7.90 now $5.50
7. 3 pairs of Espino pyjamas at $25.

mummies, made a boo boo with the timing!!! It's 4pm instead of 2.30pm with Coach Anne. If you don't mind Coach Michelle, it will be the original timing of 2.30pm. Please put 'ok w/ timing' next to your name to confirm the time slot. Otherwise put your name in the time slot that suits you.
Sorry again for my fuzzy brain!!

June 17; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Michelle

June 17; 4pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. wenyl (Ethan + hb swimming) - OK with revised timing
2. sleepingdeer (shannon + hb/me)
3. Cheng (aidan+hb swiming)
4. Flo (Mel & HB) - ok with revised timing
5. CL (Aden+hb swimming) - ok w/timing
6. SSF (Caleb+hb swimming) -ok with revised timing

June 24; 2.30pm Sunday; Coach Michelle

Group C
June 24; 4pm Sunday; Coach Annie
1. Denmy (Keenan & hb)- ok w/ timing
2. Val ( Kirsten + hb) - OK
3. MamaChan (Daren + hb) - ok w/timing
4. SH (Prob hb + JW) - ok w/ timing
5. Maywong (Me + Jamie)
6. Rena (Elijah + hb)- ok w/timing

RE: drinking from straw..

my elijah still do not know how to drink from straw leh.. any tips.. i tried using the tips that sleeping deer and wenyl mention but still can't work..

pampers:
anybody using the new active range? is the cutting smaller, bigger or same as the old range? i have only used the older range in M size, but the tape always cuts the flesh at the upper thigh. does any one experience this?

motherhood fair
I was there last nite too! Ya, like what some mummies say, there were sale and promotions of Nepia, eq & sealer diapers. I found a stall that sells lots of children chinese books at cheap cheap prices. So i bought about 5 books (tang si, san zi jin.....etc) and they comes with a cd for $20 ($5 each). I also bought the fridge to go cooler bags which I thot was a gd buy cos they are giving away free bags with purchases. I was searching for Pediasure promotions but they don't have it there, only Mamil & Friso. We finished our shopping rather fast so we popped over to the John Little mega sale after that.

CL
My son was also waking up these few days at about 1 am and only went back to sleep about 3 am after i gave him some milk. I had to lie on the floor and keep him company till he sleeps! I think he might be teething and needs some comfort. it could also be growth spurt!

SSF,

My fren is going to sign up today. Is it cordlife ? What is the balance you have to pay on top of $300 ? Last year I paid $1200.

aileen,
at first i gave Meiji fresh milk...i think he get sick liao...not sure should i give the the falvour one..like strawberry and choc..i m sure he definitely will drink it..but afriad what if he get sick of it again.....
we are the only 2 mummies here give fresh milk to our bb...

Sharon
Mine is easier, as long as he cries, just give him milk he will sleep after the milk. I can also clean and he continues to sleep. Now I feel like getting those espresso milk machine easier. But if I give him water, he cried louder and stand up and throw the bottle out. Previously he only fidget a bit then you know he wants milk, now he cries very loud and cham like i torture him. Good thing is my gal who is sleeping in the same room is not affected.

SY, my boys love goat milk sweet, and since both of them are not on formula milk, I give them readily. Goat milk is good for those who are lactose intolerant and closer to breastmilk, hence the popularity.

Cookie, if you dare, park at Goodwood park :> ... I dare not anymore since the security guard would scrutinize you ... used to park there a long time ago ...

Boys with gf ... oh, I'm telling my #1 to tell his gf that he can go and stay with the family and I can save the cost of supporting him, and btw, I think he gets more goodies from the girls than giving them .... hahaha

mamachan, think the enrichment centre is not a very *ahem* proper one. don't think that's a good benchmark against what's available in the market ... will reply your pm later ...

.ky.

Aileen/babylon
Actually about 2.5 weeks back, Daren suddenly also started rejecting his milk feeds at night and even afternoon. Suspected he was major teething. So I went to buy those packet milks for children, SMOO by Magnolia, vanilla flavour, He drank from the packet but it's by installments and finish in 1/2 hour rather than at one sitting. But thankfully, he's back to normal now, can finish his milk from bottle.

Singapore Motherhood Fair
Think I'll go by tonight since I'm sending my hb off at the airport in the early evening. Was hoping to see if any Wyeth booth.

CL - yes cordlife. after $300 off its $1400-$300=$1100(exl GST)
If your frd is signing up alone...can help to quote my acct no then i can subsidy off my next payment? hee.."9193" is my acct no
She can approach Janice..she is very knowledgeable and answers all my queries without hesitiation.

Ky

Yes the goat milk sweet very nice. Last time i bought 1 can $22.

Ok i shall cultivate that same logic with Aden but I think Ben is cute so gals all like.

RE: motherhood fair

Can someone check for me the Mamil Gold step 3 milk powder? lately they have jsut increase price by 2-3 dollars ..

SSF,

They use to have instalment plans, do they still have it this time ? I will give your number to my fren and ha ha I should go buy 4D too. Ha ha. If struck I buy a gift for your baby

re good wood park parking
now they charge leh. the last time hb was there, he said it's no longer free

CL, rena
after recovering, JH also start to wake up for milk at night. think he going thru growth spurt after his illness again

CL
charmaine so sweet! yeah, show her the diamond ad..haha

re motherhood fair
seems like not a lot of stuff except if i wan to buy diapers. still trying to convince hb to go down.

thanks a lot for all your advice. me and hb ok already. it was quite funny cos he said he angry with me cos i scratched him while we were fighting..and i din even know i scratched him...

Tracy
meg is a big gal!

ky
hmm, myabe i shd get the sweets to try...

JH very funny. last night, i wanted to go bathe, and he kept shaking his head no. then when we ask whether daddy can go and bathe he said yes. but mummy cannot go.

then this morning, he purposely sat on my lap when i was going to go to work and when i told him i m going to work, he shook his head no again. when we ask whether daddy cna go to work, he said yes...

rena
wat is the new version and the old version difference?

if elijah doesnt wan to use straw, it is ok. maybe can cup feed?

the funny thing abt JH's HFMD episode is that he learnt to drink from cup during that time cos he can't suck. now he can hold his own cup to drink from it.

ky
hmmmmm, well for a centre to advertise in that particular forum, you would think they are somewhat ok. But I guess the draw factor to visit the place is that it's so near to my place! walking distance! But that's about all. I'm not so much for the brain stimulating programme, just a playgroup where he can have some fun with other kids. Even for a sunday school, it's so much better runned than this "enrichment" centre.

mashy
I can't remember what other days are available. Think Mon and Wed mornings? But I'm working full-days on these days.

CL - hahaa u so funny. thinking of buying 4D :p ya if strike, buy my NB baby a big gift ya! muhahaha... yes they have this 21 yrs one lump sum payment. and it comes to abt $202 per annum for 21 yrs. if u choose the yearly one, you can opt for 6/12 mths interest free with DBS/UOB/OCBC credit card bill. ok thks so much for recommending to ur frd...hee i think i will have some rebates off the next annual payment

rena - the current one is already selling 24.90 in ntuc. i not sure abt the new version lei. they didnt say anythg during the expo.

SY - if u buy diapers....got free delivery if you buy more. so no worries abt lugging it back home.

crabtree
anyone interested in their stuff? i got a $30 voucher but can only use if buy $100. so it's a 30% discount. anyone wants to get anything? if cannot hit the minimum then i won't get already

SY,

the new version has immunisation or something...

RE: goats milk sweets..
are they nice.. can buy for me any one...who are going? 2 pcks please.. how many is 1 pack?

mamachan,
for ur daren it's just a phase. but i think for both damien and edgar, it's a permanent thingy.

babylon,
edgar oso gets sick of it if i keep giving him the same flavor. so i buy different kinds of flavor. or sometimes i give him soya bean milk. ultimately, i just want to make sure he drinks milk! desperate mama!! :p magnolia oso have fresh milk in those small carton kind. u may want to try those. does damien drink from the package itself or he use bottle? for edgar he would only drink from the package.

SY,
good to hear the things are fine now. JH is definitely very sticky to u. well but u may want to make sure ur hb doesn't get jealous of it.

SY - their hand cream is highly recommended. i think its abt 30-35 bucks. too bad i already got a big tube from my sis who went to taiwan recently. she paid like only 20 bucks and bot 3 tubes somemore!

rena
ok let me go and check whether the one at my medical hall got this immunisation thing.

if i m going tonight i can help u get the sweets. i m thinking of getting them to try too!

aileen
yeah JH is very sticky to me at night but at my mum's place he completely doesn't wan me!

my hb is jealous that JH doesn't wan him the same way he wants me..so sometimes at night when i ask him to stay in the room while JH falls asleep he says he feels like a third party

SSF, CL
yeah i like their hand cream esp the La Source range. i also use their facial mask but recently they always do packaging and dun sell separately.

CL, which one u wan to get? let me know the exact range and size.

Aileen,
maybe i will try giving him the flavor...just another desperate mummy like to get our boy to drink. For the past few week, i been giving the meiji white milk (cold). Btw, did you give edgar cold milk or did you warm it up?

SY,
ic...for ur hb to say that he feels like a 3rd party really seems like he's bothered by the fact that JH is very close to u. think u guys will need to address this issue. not very healthy if the hb keeps feeling that way. maybe can try educating JH that daddy and mummy comes in a package.

babylon,
we are on the same boat! :p i give edgar cold as well. but i think edgar don't like it too cold. so he will sip slowly initially. only when it gets abit more room temperature, then he will drink faster.

Aileen, Mamachan, Chickenlittle
I thought those flavoured milks and Moo milks are sweet? Thought its not so advisable to give those to them, esp bedtime cuz of the sugar.

KY
Does goat milk "smell"? How much is it? I always drive past the sign board pointing to the goat farm in the morning when I drive to work on Sungei Tengah Road but I never went over to take a look before. Nowadays, esp after my menses is back, my milk supply has dipped alot and I can only produce at most 600ml a day, sometimes only abt 450ml or maybe less. Think its time I supplement some of her milk with other kinds of milk but I've not decided if I should give her formula milk or other kinds of fresh milk.

Teething
Ariene also very cranky these few days due to her molars coming out. 3 weeks back was her 2 lower molars coming out at the same time. This week is her 2 top molars. She'll keep pointing at her cheek and tell us pain pain and will want to suck BM for comfort else she has difficult sleeping unless I give her panadol to relief the pain. Her appetite is also affected and refuses to eat meat if we do not shred it small enough to swallow without chewing.

MamaPanda
I tried the packet Smoo milk when daren could not finished, it tasted alright to me, not sweet as the milk was supposedly vanilla flavoured similar to the Progress milk that he's on. It makes the milk smell nice, the smell comparable to HL milk but not sweet like HL. Usually after his milk, he'll want some water which helps to rinse off any milk deposits in his mouth. Besides, our EBM is sweet also =) It's the natural sugar content found in our milk... I personally didn't choose the chocolate or strawberry ones.

teething
damien is facing also serious teething problem. all 4 come out together(2 tops and 2 bottom) and he drools alot. I need to change his bibs almost every 2 hrs...Told my hb, how nice the damien was wearing he still need to wear a bibs..haiz..must well i shop for nicer bibs..

aileen
sometimes i dunno whether he say it cos he really bothered or he is just saying it for fun.... but i guess it does sound quite sad hor

only just got time to post online

went to the motherhood fair..

its better than prev cos less pushy weight loss stalls..

Diapers
CHeapest is nepia, sealer/ eq, drypers and pureen

Other stalls are the same:
For preggy moms:
MIM - good for me cos i bought 3 nursing bras and can get further 10% discount or 20dollar off if u have motherhood magazine cut out
Mom's r us : not very nice
Moms en vogue: good discount cos they are usu ex. mostly nursing wear

There's baby supplies
they have the disney/ pooh foam mats $12/ 6mats or $22/9 mats

Kari goat milk sweets
plain/ yoghurt/ fruit flavours 150s $12 per tin buy 2 get one small tin free (75s)
mixed flavour is 16 per tin, above offer still holds
they are v. generous with free gifts, i got a bag, camera, toy and FM dispenser & a bunch of free samples for buying 4 tins.

MMI
I got free childcare for 1 week coupon

Some cakes shops i got this coupon for man yue cakes...

Formula : only have mamil, nestle and friso
Nestle
Some discounts for the new products.. eg. oatmeal cereal with prune is only $2, fish porridge is $2/ pack.. i didn't check out the FM costs

managed to get a tin of frisomum for sample from friso

Toys, there are a few toy stores, not so cheap, maybe 20% discount, some are quite giam chye looking... like box is all dirty and old, i got a wooden noah's ark and jungle play set for 10 each..usual price 20+

If u have a son, they have those wooden train sets that are 70 pieces for 30 plus dollars.

for books.. grolier, scholastics and this chinese book store that sells chinese children books.. but too cheem for me so i didn't buy..

Munchkin also having a booth, about 20% off.. so its the same as in the dept stores having 20% off now..

Farlin also around..

I think if u want to get good buys you have to check out the newspaper, like yest. got cheap ear thermometer up for grabs.

Thanks all mum on the car parking..
I will try out the URA car park, if fail then use Shaw Center.. wanted to save cost by not driving today but got a stuff to carry.. haizzz so dun be so xin ku :p

Re: Motherhood fair..
Nothing much for me.. went down yesterday.
Happy to see EQ and Sealer are there too.. but disappoint to see the price is not cheaper than medical hall.
But my medical hall never sell S size.. so I bought 3 pack to stock up for #2

SSF
if u like EQ, medical hall at West plaza-Pasir ris is selling EQ L 48pc for 9.50.
And recently Giant has offer for EQ L 68pc selling 12++ if buy 2 pack or more additional 5% which make per pack 11.54 or something.. very good price lor.

Oh .. and Nepia is at the extremem right side of the Hall if you face the Expo Hall from entrance.
They selling $14/pack + 4 pc free sample.

SO sad no offer for mamy poko.

SY/SH
Last time I also very buay tahan when my HB keep quiet when we quarrel.. he can keep quiet until doze off!!! and yes that irk me more..
So now I know the trick.. I dun quarrel with him, I keep quiet also and dun talk to him and he know I'm relaly angry.
After the 2-3 days of cold war.. I will xiao qi and he also calm down, then I "accidentally" have to talk to him or vice versa( cos cannot forever dun talk rite) then I ask him to apologise lor..

CL
I ever wrote complaint/summon to my HB before too.. haha maybe too lenghty.. I think he fall alseep.. faint!!

Regarding Cordlife.. they still have instalement interest free with Bank.

SY
so Happy to know things are alright now

I think it is still important to tell your HB at approriate time that when he say D word.. he hurt u very deeply, must let him know so he dun do it again.
Oh.. I think in order not to let HB feel like 3rd party in the room.. he probably has to particpate more with JH... the other nite my HB was in the room with K, suppose to make her sleep I found K squeal and laugh soooo loud.. playing with my HB until MIL must go in and say " Siao ah??... play until so crazy?" what time already...
I'm sure if you HB play more wtih JH, he will be close to him too

babylon
K has been drooling for the longest time, those mum met her will know.. it's like fountain drooling.
She had abt 5-6 teeth coming out that the same time.. the k-9, the molars both above and bottom.
Hang in there!

EQ : Is the absorbent quality agar-agar like PetPet?
Nepia : Is the absorbent quality agar-agar like mamapoko?

Tabb, the wooden train sets that are 70 pieces for 30 plus dollars is a good buy. I have one of those ...

Mamapanda, I'm not really a milk person... goat milk don't "smell" as "bad" as cow milk, in my opinion. Try a small bottle with Hay, since it's so near our place. Just bring Ariene on a sat morning to see the milking and grab a bottle. The 250ml sells for $2 or $2.50 ... My older son's not into formula milk but he takes goat milk ... huh, but he's into eating.

.ky.

SY

glad that both u and your hb had made up. For me it's the opposite. My boy very sticky to my hb. When he's home, he'll stick to him like glue, follow him everywhere and so happy to see him like that. My boy is totally not like that with me. sigh. But it's a lot better than his infant care days already. He will sometimes squeeze in between me and my hb and sit next to me, like saying 'mummy's mine'. hehe.

My hb plays with my boy alot and reads story books to him. He'll swing him ard, and let him piggy back on his shoulders and go swimming with him. Oh, he also takes showers with him at times. I guess your hb needs to participate more in spending time with him, then he will be closer to him.

tabby

i saw the noah's ark and jungle play sets too. But after seeing the quality, i changed my mind abt buying them. Not so good lor.

My hb wanted to get the train set. He's a train fanatic. Think he's deprived when he's young. Already have a Tomy train set and a Thomas train set at home still wanna buy. So i forbade him to buy it. hehe.

ky,
To me, Drypers is agar agar. Nepia is really good, comparable to Pampers newborn quality. But as they grow older, Nepia is more ex compared to EQ. EQ's L pack has more pieces.

When newborn, I tried EQ can't really hold soft poo cos the back will leak out. Now that our kids are bigger and stools harder, EQ works well. It can tahan Meg throughout 12hr from 8pm to 8am without leaks.

Mamypoko and Nepia pricing almost the same. Between the two, I prefer Nepia for its wider cuttting so more protection. Mamypoko is good but cutting rather small.

Pull-ups, Nepia still best value to me. Tried other brands like Huggies, cutting not good. Too narrow.

Aileen,
re: Pampers
Yes, I remember the old pampers tape will cut into the thighs. The new one dun anymore. Not sure if its becos Keenan is less chubby now or what. The cutting is also still the same. He's wearing L and it's a bit on the small size for him...will probably switch him to XL soon.

CL, Saron,
Keenan was like that weeks back. Will wake up screaming and inconsolable, not even my maid can calm him down. It was so bad that my hb had to take him out of the house at 4am for a car ride. In the end he dozed off during the ride. He was ill then. So we don't know what was bothering him. PD said it was a bit of everything: arrival of new baby, teething, flu. Nowadays he's better with the occasional crying at night but can fall asleep after patting him for a while. I gave instruction to my helper not to give milk if he wakes up b4 6am. Scared it will make a bad habit out of him. HIs last milk feed is at 8.30 -9pm and it should last the night.