(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

could i check with you what brand of safety gate did you buy for your kid? and how much? and your comments?

Babylon,

Just to share with you what one of the mummy posted the following 3 CC in CCK and Jurong East

1) MMI @ Phoenix Walk
As this center is not a fully air condition centre so it will be good to put my gal there but a bit out of the way if hb cannot fetch her. Really like the activities over there as they teach based on your child learning speed. They teach you the concept before going into the details. Child will get a lots of hand on too.

2) Kinderland @ CCK Central
This will be my next option as convenience for me to fetch my gal if hb is not free. Quite like the activities there as there is music lesson which I think my gal will like it.
For this CC, it seem like there is a lot of craft work which it is good when can prepare the child for future sch projects.

3) Columbia @ Akira Centre
Heard good comments about this school. It is really academic focus and it really prepare your child to Primary School. Got to enrol them during nursery class as they do not take in student after that as they are worried that your child might not be able to catch up with their learning phase.

Another option I was considering for Charmaine previously was Carpe Diem. Check out the web http://www.carpediem.com.sg/
Address near your place should be :
Carpe Diem Childcare Pte Ltd
Address: Blk 318 Bukit Batok Street 32
#01-169 Singapore 650318
Tel : 6564 3913 Fax : 6566 7920

Hi Babylong, Carpe Diem is a good cc. They've got one at Jalan Jurong Kechil, but their schoolbus is pretty limited. Which area are you looking at and do you need schoolbus? For eg, cc in Woodlands got no schoolbus that comes to CCK ... oh, Woodlands is north hor.

Motherhood Fair, think I'll only go down on Sunday if got news of good buy. I'm around the area then ... if anyone is going, can pls help check out price of (1)Pampers L60 ActiveBaby and (2)Karahome Goat Milk sweet. Thanks!

.ky.

sleepingdeer

no problem, you can call anytime.. part of my vocation...
hope shannon is ok

SY

Hope you things with you and your husband have cooled down.. its not easy when hubby says hurtful things like that. Sometimes, me and my hb also have bad fights cos things have changed so fast for us.. like get married, have kids and job changes.. very hard for us to cope sometimes...

in the end, altho sometimes, i really "hate" him... i think so couple time alone without the kids really help, cos then can remember what it used to be like when first dating and why we fell in love in the first place...

linda
hi, how shall i pass u your crayola marker set? Do you want me to pass to anyone who stays closer to you?

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June
Time: 2.30pm - meet at the hotel lobby
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

See you tomorrow mummies

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Status</TD><TD>Payment </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>MamaChan</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Chicken Little</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>SL</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>queen</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Flo</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>cookie</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>To pay on 8 Jun </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Yuki</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>To pay on 8 Jun </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Tabbiesus</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>To pay on 8 Jun </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Sleepingdeer</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Queen, Flo
Don't forget to bring stuff for me tomorrow. Doing collection for Babylon on ON stuff from Queen and for May on Crayola Marker from Flo.

Linda,
If you want , Tabbiesus can pass your markers to me too then we can arrange to meet for lunch or Sunday I going Bishan Park then you want to swing by to collect ?

thanks for all the advice and comfort...i guess it is true that i neglect him. sometimes i just think that he is so busy with work that i m better off spending my time with JH. my hb is the kind once he reach home, he will switch off and relax and even when watching tv, he will not talk to u one. so over time i think my time is better used on JH and this becomes the vicious cycle.

this morn on the train i was thinking abt our past and though i m not ready to give up yet, i dunno what he thinks. but really dun feel like talking to him...

re little skoolhouse
is it still at OCC? i thought they stop already...

re RP lunch
any day is fine for me except wed cos i telecommute! can't wait to eat the nice ramen.

Hi CL,..

Can..no problem....by the way Bishan park just opposite of my house..
We can meet as well for Bak Kuk Teh breakfast

And How to join PAW WALK 07 for Babies & Toddlers ? I interested with that.

SY
Oh Little Skool House no longer in OCC? What a pity, I really like the enviroment. It's about 1 1/2 years since my nephew left the school. He's turing 8 this year. But their website doesn't seems updated cos OCC is still there and there's no mention of AMK.

http://www.littleskoolhouse.com/

Hi God's Child...congratz....I was previously doing my Open U at SIM as well...took 4 years....really heaved a big sigh of relief when I attended my convo last year...haha....i nearly cried when I collected my scroll...
Will be starting on my Masters next year tho...hehe...been enjoying myself so far...dunno if I'll have the stamina next year...hehe

SH...ya...mine also very limited vocab....at least now he calls me "marmi" and food he calls, "mum mum" ehehe....once in a while, he utters a few new words....I think my boy is juz too lazy to talk...

Sy
I do agree with flo that cold war cannot be used for a prolonged period, it may have adverse effect. I'm using cold war once in a while becos my HB "hear" me better as in he knows I'm really angry whereas when I try to reasoning with him, he thinks I'm nagging.
A short period of "cold war" helps to cool us down and I usually use this period to reflect if I could have handle it a better way etc... in addition, it also much easier to make my HB apologise :p which will usually patch things up.

perhaps like the other mum suggest, make a point to spend quality time together once or fortnightly/month to do things together before JH come along.
For myself, we took leave on weekdays to catch a movie,have a good meal and be back by evening just like we are working to relief my MIL.
With the changes.. I'm sure your Hb will appreciate and change

SY,
I remembered 5 years ago when my PIL wanna to divorce..i can see that my HB was very upset. Even when i got heated arguement with my HB..i will tried not to mention D..coz i ever once mention it and hb eventually told me not to mention D anymore regardlesss how angry i m...coz it upset the children...he being thru it..so he know how hurtful it was...

motherhood fair got good promo for friso3 at $1. must bring birth cert and health booklet

mashy
is it stil there? i thought i read someewhere that it is not there anymore. maybe see wrongly. cos my co always have workshops there. the first time i went i saw the little kids at the playground. the most recent time when i went, din see them there

cookie
unless we take leave to go out, we dun really go out. weekends hb wants to do his own stuff and weekday evening quite hard cos maid alone with JH. and evening time, JH will look for us

CL,
I tink we can try to meet each other around 8.30 to 9am. Cos later will be too hot for the todds.

Linda,
The walk is FREE. Dun need to sign up. We call each other when we reach there okie?

PAW WALK 07 for Babies & Toddlers

Put on ur walking shoes, push out your prams & strollers, And join us for the 1st ever PAW WALK for kids in Singapore!

Date: Sunday, 10 June 07
Time: 8.30am - 12noon
Venue: Bishan Park -THE GREEN
( The Green is along AMK Ave 1, opp Caltex Petrol Stn)

Babies, toddlers & parents are invited to this mini walk filled with fun activities - a ToyBox Edutainment drama skit, a bouncy castle, balloon sculpting & face painting - to help raise pneumococcal disease awareness and pledge their support to fight this devastating infection tat causes pneumonia & meningitis.

THE CUTEST PAW BABY COMPETITION
Babies & toddlers below 2 yrs old are welcome to participate in the PAW WALK too. Simply have ur child take a photo with Pneumo, our cubbly bear mascot, and he or she could become the CUTEST PAW BABY!

ATTRACTIVE LUCKY DRAW PRIZES TO BE WON AND GOODIE BAGS WILL BE GIVEN OUT ON A 1ST-COME-1ST-SERVED BASIS!

1)Wenyl
2)Flo
3)Sleepingdeer
4)Chicken Little
5)Linda
6)

Any others keen to go?

sy,
sometimes we really tend to ignore our HB and just spend time with our young ones.
Like wat cookie mentioned, should apply leave and plan for some couple activities.
Me and HB will make effort to spend some time without Caleb. Some1 told me b4, its our HB who will be with u till we grow old and pass away, not our children. So we must make sure we do not neglect our HB.

Sept 03 bride,
Agree with u....its our HB who will be with u till we grow old and pass away, not our children. I remembered my marriage counsellors emphasizing to all the couples that it is very important to have couple time alone without the kids. Like once a week dinner out alone or just a stroll in the park, etc. It will help strengthen the bond betw couples & also use the time to update each other of their thoughts.

SH
Yah, Daren also like JW, the bottom molars are out before his canine. He only has bottom: 2 central incisors + 2 molars sprouting out now. Upper: 2 central, 2 lateral incisors, 2 canine and 2 molars. I thought he is weird to teeth like that. His upper teeth is now "complete" set, the bottom missing 2 sets.

SY
Hmmm, why not just spend one of the weekends and accompany your hb to do his stuff. Just you and him only. I'm sure he will see that you still do love and treasure him. =)

Sept03Bride/Wenyl
Yah agree wholeheartedly with you both. I will always remember what was said before. "Husband and Wife are Freehold...Children are Leasehold" Our spouses are with us for life...our children will one day have their own families.

babylon
is there any CC facility where you work? If there is, you can consider bringing Damein to "work" with you and place at the nearby CC. WIll be quite convenient for you I think

god's child - congrats for clearing ur papers. now can take a breather and spend some time with celeste.

SY - my hb's training venue changed to melbourne but seems like SQ no tixs and have to be on waiting list. sigh... i think u and ur hb need some quality time without JH. last time u mention abt gg to some resort...maybe u can start planning for one. it be a good time to catch up those old good days.

flo - thks for the advice abt travelling preggy. now also seems difficult to get tixs so will see how first. i think if travel by then i will be in my 30 weeks.

queen - no worries ...slowly find a suitable job. maybe u can mark those off that requires extensive travel this time round of search.

god's child - congrats for clearing ur papers. now can take a breather and spend some time with celeste.

SY - my hb's training venue changed to melbourne but seems like SQ no tixs and have to be on waiting list. sigh... i think u and ur hb need some quality time without JH. last time u mention abt gg to some resort...maybe u can start planning for one. it be a good time to catch up those old good days.

flo - thks for the advice abt travelling preggy. now also seems difficult to get tixs so will see how first. i think if travel by then i will be in my 30 weeks.

queen - no worries ...slowly find a suitable job. maybe u can mark those off that requires extensive travel this time round of search.

sept03bride
I also wish to take leave and spend time with HB but HB is too busy with work and cant take leave. So sad.

cut nails
Ariene used to fidget when cutting nails. Now she's ok with cutting nails already and when she see me holding the nail cutter, she'll hold up her hand for me to cut and look at her hand to "inspect" the job done when I've finished.

Mummies - Thanks for all the congrats notes on my exams! i was reali so kan cheong ytd when it was nearing 2pm, couldnt take lunch and cldnt sleep the nite before, my heart has never raced this fast for ages!! was almost in tears when i saw that i scored better than a pass for my papers even ..haha... so am reali thankful tat i am moving on... gota truly enjoy tis one mth before i hit the books again

Joanna - you so 'sak'! still wana continue ar.. i tink i will stop once and for all after next year... hee

Sysac - 3years is reali long wor, but then its a good chance to add value to your resume! wats more, cant let your coy down
jia you too! lets jia you tog!

thanks for the concern. Discussed with my mum and she has agreed to try to help me look after Ger in the interim. will let him go to playgrp in the AM and she'll look after him in the PM. Pls let me know if there are good play schools / CC to recommend for Serangoon. Thanks!

Esther
I'm due in Oct. When are you due? I think I need to book soon. The good ones are usually booked v fast.

SSF
ya loh.. Rena's CL said she's boooked liao. Re nanny, my gf's mum is a nanny, but she stays at Bedok. Too far, hor?

Hi, mummies

sorry to disturb u all.... I'm a August mum... been looking around for baby 1st birthday cake...just want to check whether any of u order from Pine Garden & Ecreative or Cake Avenue? Can give me some feedback on their services & cake? Thank!

Rena,
What line are you in? I am interested to go back to marketing. Missed the time of doing projects. I hate the current desk bounded Customer Service Job. Had PM you.

CL
Are you going down to hightea from Office??
if I'm driving, I can come pick you up then u can drop my loot altogether.
in case I not driving , perhaps we can take MRT down together.

SL
Can you pass me the magic marker also at high tea tomorrow?

Queen
I will collect my ON stuff from you too tomorrow ok.

WOw so much to collect, think I better drive...

Mummies..
Any suggestion where I can get cheap parking at Orchard area near to C K Tang har??
I think park at CK Tang will cost me a bomb

God's child
WOnderful! and COngrats for passing exam. I know it's a wonderful feeling

Hang in there just 1 more yr...
I have 1 more project to complete.. and I'm still delaying.. I really should buck up like you.

Playgroup
I brought Daren along with me to visit a playgroup this morning that I found on the SGparenting forum, which is payable if I'm keen to enrol. It's not exactly a child care centre. The experience was so-so and somewhat alarming.
When we got there, they were having their breaktime with the children of a vast age group, majority are 2.5 yrs, 2 of them 3 yrs, 1 is 4 yrs and another 5 yrs. YOungest being 19 months.
We sat in for the music and movement session and Daren was estatic, having a ball of a time moving and dancing with the older children, at least I know he is responsive and he is able to pay attention to the teacher when she speaks.

Alarming: The teachers (One is the director, the other us a staff), actually smack the more active/difficult who don't listen to instructions! I'm like thinking to myself ," Ok, so is this what I'll be expecting to happen to D when he goes there?" Since D is very active and gets excited easily, not to mention distracted. One of the 2.5 yr old pooed in his pants, he somehow stuck his index finger in his underpants/diaper and came up to me to show me, probably asking for help to clean him up. The teacher who was conducting the music and movement was totally oblivious to the evident smell! There was a maid there who quickly whisk him away to the back to help clean him up and the maid is there to accompany her little girl!
I personally find the session conducted by the teacher abit disruptive because she got distracted by having to pull that one boy who was distracted and doing his own thing rather than following what she does. And she'll walk to him and yank him to the "naughty corner" while the rest of the class watched. The director all these while was with another batch of students upstairs for the special class which is of course more ex as it involves brain stimulation with the GD and/or SM methods.
They also don't do the regular temperature monitoring checks as well as checking their hands/feet/mouth for ulcer like blisters in the light of possible HFMD.

After I left the place with Daren, I just know in my heart that it is not a good place for him to be even though it's walking distance from my home! Guess back to the drawing block.

SY,

Sometime my husband and I will dislike each other, simply cant stand each other. Then we will just focus on our son. My husband will keep on scolding, and I choose to keep quiet. While I trying to cool down, I will think what cause it, the reason behind it. I will write letter to my husband talking about the matter, and how hurt I feel, THEN we have a talk.

I agreed with other mummies, must spend some time alone with your hubby without our precious one. Our love one is the one who really company us till the end.

Don't avoid the problems, it will only get worse. Try to work out your relationship with him, I believe he will sense your effort.

mashy
Last time CKtang used to have cap I think 3.60 or something... but after the recent reno I think they revise the car park charge.
I remember my last parking charges was over $10++ for a couple of hours... fortunatly cash car has enough money:p
I will check out the website.. thanks!

krissie - if she doesn;t mind coming to Pasir Ris, then let me know. PM me her rates too and i will inform my colleague. Thanks ya!

jesline - i ordered bob the builder for my boy's 1st mth. I ordered choc sensation from cake ave and many commented it was nice. service i experienced was good too.

cookie - when and wat time are u heading down to orchard? if after 5p.m, u can park at the mall beside borders. it charges 3 bucks per entry...if not u can place coupon at the open car park beside borders. 50c per half hr but have to hunt for a lot. if weekend, u can try valet parking at hyatt hotel or marriot. its like 5 bucks per day.

mamachan - whoa...wat a bad experience. my mum used to work in a childcare and i know la..haha so i never recommend to put kids in childcare unless really necessary and bo bian. even she herself ask me not to put caleb in one. hee...

owl - hee so funny..like writting love letter but this time is complaint letter. but as long as it works..any method is better than remaining silence.

Mamachan,
Did you do a surprise visit? I had learnt it when I studied pre-school teaching that time. I think it is good that u brought D there and see it yourself. I also won't choose this school if I were you.

1) Visit the school with the child

2) Give surprise visit. Do not allow the principal or the teacher to know that you are coming at this date this time.
Reason: They will make everything looks good and will not be the same as the usual.

3) Ask for lesson plan, art & crafts and other curriculuums that the students had done.
Reason: You will be expected to see what ur child will be learning there.

4) DO NOT go during Open House (my experience).
Reason: The teachers will be told by the principal to choose all the good handwriting worksheets, best art & craft etc to put on show for Open House. So this is not their usual "art piece"

Mamachan
Oh that CC sounds really bad.

SSF
My SIL's aunite used to work in a CC too, she said the teachers there would lock the kids in a dark room if they misbehave...goodness. But I guess there are good ones around as well.

SSF/May
Well, it was a planned visit which I set an appointment with the director last week. Apparently, the director herself forgot that I'm coming by at the appointed timing. So much for brain stimulation for kids when the teacher herself forgot. =P the irony of it all. It's not a MCYS accreditted CC. It's not considered a CC...enrichment centre for young kids maybe? The playgroup is meant to be 2hrs daily, Mon-Fri.

Tabbieus sms me ... she was there earlier. Said was better than the past, pampers, nepia, sealer, friso. The pampers is $24, so not much cheaper than outside except for the free toy. For Karihome got milk sweet which she's checked for me, it's $12 for 100 (think so) and $16 for 200 (multi-flavoured) - buy 2 bottles get 1 with 70 tablets free. I'm probably going to swing by to stock these up on Sunday.

Mamachan, which enrichment centre is this? Is that the one in the advert banner is it? pm can if not convenient.

.ky.