(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Babylon,
I will choose childcare. Cos I am not comfortable with a maid around at home. Putting into childcare, he can learn more things. But also prone to have sickness lor. Many pple tell me it is good to build up their body resistance when they get sick.

SY

I'm also looking for a playgroup at 18mths. Have u shortlisted any yet?

I'm looking at either little skoolhse (AMK hub) daily 3hrs or those 2x a week enrichment classes. Still hoping that i can get a few more like little skoolhse coz it's non parent accompanied.

JH came home with me yesterday. his blisters drying up already and can see that his behavior is back to normal.

just wan to vent my frustration a bit. yesterday me and hb had an argument cos he always throw away my stuff without asking me. i was quite pissed cos that happened a few times already and each time it happened he will say that he will not do it again. he din even apologise for doing it again and i was so angry with him. he just went to do his own work and ignore me. i was so pissed and told him to at least say sorry and after a long time then he say. and he even locked the study room door so that i can't go in. so pissed that i went to sleep and purposely put JH on the bed and take up most of the bed. so when he came in he not very happy and we started arguing. he even talked loudly and woke JH up. i really hated it cos each time we argue he will say let's divorce and he can't stand me etc these kind of words. and he even use JH to threaten me. what shd i do? i told him divorce is not something he shd say so easily and whether he meant it when he said he can't stand me. he din wan to answer me and just continue to sleep.

just so pissed that i feel like bringing JH back to my mum's place.

mashy
i haven found any yet. that time when i went to a kindergarten open house and i asked the VP abt playgroups nearby, she mentioned one Tot's house but i haven gone to see.

Mashy,

your son is not slow..renee doesnt say anything at all..till today only random spurts of papapapapa..mamamama...tats all!!!

my sis explains that she may be listening more now..so they are now absorbing..

Krissie,

try not to think too much now ok..just discuss and work out with hbthe best solution. when are u due again? if my confinement lady turns out to be good..will give u her contact ok!

Denmy,

Aiyo...your sil is really one of a kind...when we go for class on fri...( if u are going ) i let u vent more ok!

Hi hi mummies....

esther....hehe...I made a boo boo...the scholastic ones are reproducible alphabet books....the entire set one is the Longman Pearson ones...my hubby took the camera....will take a pic of it once I get hold of the camera. My books progresses in series....it starts off with one word with very vivid cartoon illustration....then it progresses on to a series of books with the titles, "My (something"
)....then moves on to "The (Something)" all repetitive in nature....so the kids learn not just vocab but also the articles like "A, the, etc" or pronouns like "I and My...etc"

Today I feel alittle more relaxed....at least not at school....gonna bring my younger boy to Vivo City later...hehe....FUN! Taking the MRT with him....it's been a while since we last went out via MRT...I'm sure he will enjoy it.

RE: Slow Speech
Jamie is slow too.
She only know ma ma, pa pa, ah ma, dog, cat. Latest one is gong. And favourite is mum mum.

babylon - i think ur mum is too tired with the new addition. since its ur own mum and not MIL, maybe have a heart to heart talk with her and see how u can help her lessen her workload. of coz the last thg u would want is poor health for her. see which option is she more comfy with and i believe she will see your good intentions and not misunderstood you.

cindy - i have been thru the whole hse moving thingy and no way am i gg to shift again mann! so tiring and i had an argument with hb on the mover who is sooooo lousy at moving my stuffs(basically used vulgarities freely and drop/scratch my furnitures. my chairs/cabinet wheels are gone after shifting. scratches my sis's parquet flooring) that i stormed out of the hse in tears. hee..maybe its my pre natal blues tat is kicking in. hee.. hb was so biased keep siding those guys saying u pay peanuts u get monkey lor. i called the mover co and complaint abt those guys. and those guys still have the cheek to ask for kopi money. can u imagine tat. i am not afraid to say the co name here. it's Advance Mover Pte Ltd. please stay away from this co. wow..speaking of them, i am boiling mad again.

btw, cindy u better dun carry or move stuffs around coz i got backache from those packing and unpacking.

denmy - shocked to read that ur SIL actually did that in front of her kids. if i were you, i will bring my kid one side and tell him straight that it;s not the right way.

krissie - i actually engaged rena's CL in mid Aug and she sounded very bz for the mths ahead too.

rena
yours is not the slowest lah. mine is. she only know mama, papa, bear, bird, car and bus. only can say mama, papa accurately. then bus is pronounced without S, bear without E. :p

mashybrainz,
ur boy so cute! know how to remove his own diapers! keke...

just wondering does any babies here hate to lie down to wear diaper or change? edgar has been refusing to lie down since young and it's getting worst lately. he will turn around and attempt to stand on his change table. so it's really a struggle to change his diaper. i have been using pull-ups if i change him myself. just wondering if this is a phase or it will go on. he oso loves taking his shower so much, he will whine and cry everytime we bring him out of the shower. we bath him in our adult bathtub and play with his bath toys. but he's most interested in turning on the tab and feeling the water trickling down his hands. any babies like that as well??
i can't help but feel that my boy is an extremely difficult baby. have problem eating, drinking, sleeping, bathing, changing diaper and what not! but of coz he's great fun coz he's very fun loving and cheeky. only thing is that he totally tires out his care-givers!!

Sy - oh no..ur hb shldnt say the D word so easily. so heart pain. is ur hb very stressed out at work? maybe if so, the last thg men want is for woman to whine and nag. dun take it to heart...have a chat with him when he cool down. actually i am like ur hb ...when i am mad, i prefer to cool down first before trashing thru but hb always like to talk thru and get over it. so maybe wait till ur hb cool down first then talk again? moreover its a small issue...shldnt blow up. gg to ur mum's hse will not resolve thgs also. ask him if there is anythg there is bothering him? and also ur concern abt him not clearing ur stuffs. kiss and patch up ya!

SSF,

i try to have a heart to heart talk..but it seem to be abit difficult coz a few times we end up having aurgment.

Hb did told me tat MIL is willing to help me to take care of them but i was not tat comfortable..coz everytime i brought the kids back to her house..she will showered them with sweet, candies, toys..she will give in to them watever the kids requested.

Received this news from my fren. Hope it is useful to mummies who can only use pampers

Do visit the Pampers Booth (D19 & D20),Motherhood Fair at Expo Hall 5A from 7th to 10th June, for our exclusive deals below!Only valid at the Motherhood Fair, while stocks last.

Buy 2 packs of Pampers Stages New Baby N36s - Redeem a Newborn Teething Towel worth
S$12.90

Buy 2 packs of Pampers Stages New Baby S58s - Redeem a Sesame Streets Light Up Pet Pals worth S$19.90

Buy 1 pack of Pampers Stages Active Baby M68s -
Redeem a Roll a Rounds Sensory & Discovery worth S$19.90

Buy 3 packs of Pampers Stages Active Baby L60s - Redeem a Buildagator worth $39.90

Buy 3 packs of Pampers Stages Active Baby XL34s - Redeem a Toe-riffic Tunes worth $29.90!

denmy,
think it's inevitable to feel the competition when u have a competitive sil. even if u are not the kind to begin w, u may be thrown into the game becos of her. i doubt there's much u can do about it nor is there a need to. just believe in urself and remind urself not to be influenced by her. perhaps it helps to just vent it out here! u get heaps of listening ears and advisers! keke...

re speech,
some babies are just slower and some faster. no need to worry about it. coz one thing is for sure, they are absorbing whatever they hear, see, feel and sense. i tot edgar would be a slow talker coz since baby, he's been very quiet. no oohings and ahhings from him at all. but surprising at 1yo, the moment he opened his "golden" mouth, he started talking. that's how i know he's been absorbing all this while.

aileen
sometimes my gal will refuse to get out from the bath tub. we will tell her to wave bye-bye to the bath tub and will visit the tub the next day. then, she will wave and cooperate with us. same things goes to toys or whatever things that she doesn't wanna let go, will just ask her to wave, then she's willing to let go.

Re: nail cutting
mummies, how do you cut your kid's nails? my gal just simply doesn't wanna sit still to let me cut her finger/toe nail. so frustrated.

aileen - both hands and legs ups!!! caleb dislikes to change diapers or get change. always fuss ard and i have to give him somethg to play ard with (remote ctrls, book, cotton buds, wet tissue, anythg i can get hold of) to keep him still and quiet. as for showers, he will always cry without fail when i bring him out from bath. so dun worry, ya not alone!

Aileen,
Ethan can hi5 with Edgar. He hates lying down. We need to do all sorts of monkey tricks to get him to stay still for even few secs. Sometimes a book or an object can help distract him but doesnt always work. If u seen us at the bb bash, u will know why he din win the diaper changing contest. Haahaa! E also loves shower, mainly cos he likes playing with the water & the bubbles. Whenever i put him next to the sink to brush his teeth, he will play with the tap & wash his feet. Same same. He is so cheeky tat even my grandma gets entertained by him. And he is ever so energetic, never keep still except in zzzz land.

sunny - yes i have prob cutting nails esp toe nails. i can only cut his fingernails when he sleeps and can u imagine somehow he seems to know i am cutting his toe nails and will always move his feet abt when i try cutting even when he is sleeping! really give up mann!

haha seems like we are beginning to see the naughty side of our baby already.

babylon - oh really...after chat still argue. like tat, u and hb may have to make the decision here then. its tough but someone has to make it.

SY,
sorry about i can't help but feel that ur hb behaves like a woman! throw things away and threaten to use the D word. i tot only women does that. well, joke aside, i think it's a habitual thing. once a person starts to use the D word, there will be a tendency to use it again. but that party usually doesn't mean it. he's just so used to using that word. coz sometimes, during an argument, u just want to use the strongest word possible to put ur point across and upset the other party. to me, it sounds like ur hubby just said it in a heat of an argument but the fact that he has said it more than once, suggests that there is some fundamental issue between u guys bothering him. have a talk w him when he's feeling better. see if things can be worked out. oh if u are worried that it might set a good example on JH to let him witness the argument, it's ok. i read in a book that by doing so, the child will learn what emotions are. but of coz, not violent arguments lah!

sunny, wenyl, ssf,
i guess boys are just not as easily pacified like gals ya! but great to hear that i'm not alone. hehe... so i know it's normal for them to behave this way. i hope our #2 boys (excl. sunny) will be easier!! =)

re nail cutting:
we have not attempted to cut his nail while he's awake. don't even need to think about it. it will definitely be impossible. it's always done when he's asleep.

babylon
y not try to maid method 1st? and your mum can help to watch over the maid. i think your mum is too stressed out in taking care of so many kids/bb at her age. not easy to catch up with the speed of the kids.

Hi Denmy,

I would like to order too. Doesn't matter if i'm too late. But if it's ok, can i collect from your hitachi tower shop?

Spinach BP
Collection 8 June Friday. anyone else?
Collection points:
1. Robinson Centre
2. Marine Parade
For mummies ordering for the 1st time, please PM me your email & hp. Thanks.

1. Denmy
2. Queen
3. Mamapanda
4. MamaChan
5. Aileen

SY,
Just a suggestion, maybe u shld arrange to see a marriage counsellor with ur hb, before things get out of hand. Else, have some couple time & talk things out alone. Let him know that his insensitivity hurts u badly. I wouldnt be able to take it if I were u. I sure hui niang jie with E and leave my hb alone to reflect.

SY
someone told me that when a person is at angry mode, his intelligence is just equiv to a 5 yo kid only. so, i think when he's at angry mode, you just ignore him and stay quiet though you might be boiling inside already. talk to him after that bah. quarrelling between parents could really bring -ve effect to kids. so, if he's not able to think rationally when he said D word, you just have to be more rationale than him to iron things out.

SY - i agree with wat Wenyl says, why not arrange to see a counsellor before things get out of hand? i rem the other time u mention that you will be looking into it, have your gone for it yet? why not take a short break away from JH and go somewhere as a couple to rebuild relationship? Its best to get things resolved soon before it snowballs... Hope things will turn out fine for you.

Re : cutting nails
same! i also trim her nails when she is asleep... cutting her nails during wakey time is MISSION IMPOSSIBLE nowadays... sigh...

tabbeisus - thanks for the assistance in gettin the milk powder! WE decided to order a carton each in the end before the GST hike... xie xie ni!
kao_kiss.gif

SY

agree that you should sit down with your hb and talk calmly. Looks like there's some issues that needed to be addressed. Agree that D word shouldn't never be used in an argument. Perhaps that's something that his parents did when they argue? If it's not, then you've to find out what makes him want to say that.

SY

I agree with some mummies. In a angry mode, I suggest you all to stop talking. Because too emotional to talk and things which comes out of the mouth usually hurts.

After a while when both are cool down then it will be better to have a heart to heart chat. I see that in my mil. My fil will always complain and make noise but my mil will keep quiet. Then talk it out later. My parents are the one who goes "D" for years but still together. Ha ha. My mum is going crazy after menopause. It has a lot of impact on the kids, now JH may not tell you. But at Charmaine's age when me and hb just talk a bit louder, she will say " guys guys cool it , dun fight ok" So I think she is affected when my parents fight last time when she is being taken care of by my mum. As I said before, woman are coping with kids and many things during marriage which expectation changes , while man is coping with their new identity as father and husband, they are just boys and need time. Dun compare with others as you made the choice to marry your husband. Just concentrate on working out things with your hb. If 2 person cant do it, then seek help from counsellor. Did you guys went through any pre marital course ? Look back at it again. Always reflect on yourself to see if you have changed before you blame your hb

re: cutting nails
hmmm... other than weekends, i only have time to cut her nail at night which she's wide awake! can't let my mil to do it. 'cos she always cut till very short, and she got lau hua.... a bit dangerous. :p

SSF, Cindy
I just moved home and I also know that logistically it is quite tough. Men really have this funny idea like tonite sleep in this home and tomorrow wake up in a new home miraculously everything is in place and we neednt do much.

Denmy,
Feel so angry for you! Your SIL really one kind. Actually, made me think of an incident that make my blood boil too. I think it is common for SILs to feel competitive towards each other. My SIL has a son 9 mths older than Ryan and a bit slower than him in terms of learning. So my MIL and FIL always comment that Ryan is v smart and that her son is slow as no one wants to teach him. One day, I mentioned that Ryan knows how to call "mummy", and SIL asked me "Yah, he knows how to call mummy, but does he really understand what it means". I just smiled and didnt reply. I mean, what kind of question is that!!! It's just like I wouldnt be so rude as to ask her, Oh, your son knows how to call daddy but does he know what it means! Anyway, last week she did something that completely pissed me off. She actually asked Ryan to call her "mummy"...she turned towards him and said "call me mummy". Thankfully my son so smart just stare at her and then stare at me. What is she trying to prove!

ak
can't believe that your SIL did that! very childish leh.
think just have to ignore her, no point talk to the person.

RE: Sesame Street - Elmo's Colouring Book

I am booking before the tickets are sold out.
Anyone interested?

Closing: 07 June (Tomorrow Noon)
Transfer Money: 08 June (Friday Night)
Book: 09 June (Sat Morning)

Date: 22/6 (Fri)
Time: 3pm

Name - No. of pax - Ticket Price
=================================
1) Maywong, 1 adult (Jamie-FOC), $65

Mashy, Aileen,
Same here! Meg likes to remove her tape diapers or pull down her pull-ups halfway, looking like the 'kung fu' movie guy! aiyo...I've resorted to pull-ups for her, using tape types only when she's asleep. Oh yes, and must make her wear undies over it so the tendency of her removing it is lesser.

SY,
Sorry to say this, but if your hb is mine, i cannot take it liao. I will sit him down and ask him seriously whether he wants a divorce. Try consulting a marriage counsellor if he refuses to talk, but then again, some people will not open up to anyone. But its worth a try to improve relationships in the marriage.

AK,
that's so rude of your SIL! You've got great patience. If that happens to me, i'll flare up at her liao.

Sunny,
Thankfully my gal will sit and watch us cut her nails. Well-trained by my MIL. Must give credit to my MIL for training her well in such stuff.

AK - ur SIL is so #$%^&&* luckily Ryan is smart to understand that she is NOT his mummy...hee you shld have told her : Ryan understands. tink she wld have been dumb founded hahahaha

Denmy - horrible stingy SIL u have! teaching her son the wrong value of cheating... eeks!how much does that extra bottle cost to teach her son proper manners?!??! omigod!

Babylon, how abt get a maid and put her at your mother's place first for a couple of months to get trained and be observed? One old lady + one maid to take care of 3 young children. Yes, it'll lead to frustration in the caregiver. I personally got blamed for putting my less than 1.5 yr together with another 1.5 yr & 4 yr old for just 5 days out of a 2-week period at my MIL's and a maid. My son went to a 1/2 day childcare since 2 yrs old. He was sick practically every other month ... that's how we learnt how to self-medicate. He only starts to not fall sick that often when he's over 3 yrs old. But like maid, a lot of it depends on individual ... do think about your options carefully.

CL, how much the Pampers? you going? I may just go to get this : Buy 3 packs of Pampers Stages Active Baby L60s - Redeem a Buildagator worth $39.90

Flo, so how's Mel sleeping arrangement now since she's into climbing out of the cot? I found Keith standing stuck between my bed and the cot (I moved it out a little so that he cannot use my mattress for leverage and I was out of the room thinking that he'll go back to sleep on his own) ...

.ky.

aileen
JH refuse to get out of his bath too. he will cry when my maid say needs to get out of the bath tub. he also loves to wash hands and will play with the tap.

he used to be difficult to change but now he's ok. just need to be fast.

sunny
i will be playin with JH and hb will cut his nails. if not just wait for YX to be asleep then cut?

ak
your SIL so childish! my goodness....

that time when we wanted to go for counselling our r/s improved so we din go. one thing is hb just got promoted so he has been quite busy. but apparently not busy enough to keep throwing my stuff away. what made me so pissed with him is that he only just threw away something that i wanted 3 weeks ago when i specifically told him not to touch. and now it happened again.

maybe also his envt, my IL argue quite loud one and they have no patience with each other. even at their age, they still argue like mad.

CL
charmaine so cute, will ask u guys to cool it...

KY,

I dunno how much is the pampers leh. Usually at the motherhood it is cheap lor. Every year except last year, I will go. Hb just drop me off , I grab diaper and leave liao. This year I may not go

SY

Charmaine is old enuff to express her thots. I can see Aden also will sit down and quietly listen to me scolding Charmaine. So I believe they understand now when things are not right because Aden can wave and go arh like telling his sis not to cry.

Re: Speech
mommies, dun get too stressed about our babies not being able to talk yet, I always go back to my bro's case whenever I feel pressured that S can't really say stuff. My bro only started talking after he reached 2 years old, and then he could only say. 'Bua' as in spread butter on bread, when he wants to eat bread. My mum got worried, thought he probably had some problems, but nope, he became a first class honours, and dean's list uni student, now earning big bucks.. so dunworry, all kids grow at their own pace...

SY,
big hugs to you, I know it is very very hurting if the 'D' word is said, my hubby and I avoid it, coz we know if it leaves our lips, it means big agrument man! But I think what the other mommies say is true, in the moment of anger, los of things can come out without thinking, so dun get too sad...

Mashy and Aileen,
S can pull the tapes out, so now, I always make sure i let her wear pants over her diapers.

Sunny,
I let S watcn TV or let her play with some toys, and when she's distracted, will just go ahead and cut... sometimes, she will be very interested to see what I'm doing, so I just make funny noises when I cut her nails, and she's ok... been cutting when she is awake since birth, so I guess she is quite used to it now...

ky,
there is already one maid at home at the moment..

duno why whenever changed damien, he got the habit of pull his little penis...wonder any bb here also do the same thing?

babylon
JH will laugh when we clean his penis....there was once he was falling asleep while i was changing him and as i clean him there, he woke up and kept laughing.

dun mind me asking, is there any reason why your mum seems to favor your SIL's bb?

or how abt your MIL help u for 2 days and u ask your mum to help for 3 days?

sleepingdeer
u seldom log in nowadays.

yeah even though i know he said it in a fit of anger, i wan to know whether he means it. but i guess today i won't really wan to talk to him.

u know what i can't stand, he will say things like he will hit JH if i continue to argue with him. he will say this just to make me stop saying anything. and hten just blame everything on me.

SY - how old is ur hb har? he seems very immature lei..pardon me. u look more of the mature and sensible one. oh no hitting JH??! wat is he thinking of. i think he really talk everythg out when he is mad. like u said, maybe adopted from his parents. my hb also sometimes like to talk very loud just like his parents when we argue...and i told him i dun appreciate it and we compromise that we can only talk loudy when the hse is on fire. hehee...

but i think its better u talk to him when he cool down and maybe go for counselling soon,. u last mentioned that he doesnt like to go out with u and spend time with JH right? maybe its a good time to go for a session to find out his thoughts and straighten thgs out before thgs worsen. i have a frd who also cannot get along during their first yr in marriage and nearly on verge of engaging lawyer to settle but then his wife suggest counselling and they are now with 2 kids and both have mature alot. so its worth a try...for JH;s sake too.

re: looking for nanny in Pasir Ris

hi helping my colleague to source for a day time nanny. She lives near Elias Mall and need someone to work from 8am to 8p.m(mon-fri) to care for her bb who is less than 1 yr old.

since its long hrs, preferably someone who lives ard that area.

Anyone has any contacts, please let me know. TIA!

SY,
i think its time to go for some counselling session. I think it will be good to understand what is going on in your HB's head.
Personally i do not agree to fights/quarrels in front of the kid. It will leave an impact in their head and god knows hw the kiddo will process this scene in the mind.
And for your HB to make such a statement abt hitting JH just to make you shut up, its totally immature and also illogical. It shows how bad things are between u and him.

sunny, tracy, god's child,Sy,
Yah lor...even now that I am writing this, make my blood boil liao.....

SY,
just ignore your hubby for a while...cold war....until u cool down and then have good talk with him...

SY - was ur pregnancy unplanned? ur HB is stil not ready to be a father is it? its certainly not advisable to continue being caught in the current situation. do ur have common close frens? mabbie they could help to talk to him and see wats botherin him,he sounds reali stressed up to me...