(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: Big Decision
Erm..dunno how to start. I am not really very comfortable with this new job. The culture, work style, boss and colleagues makes me want to leave. I stayed on as I am tied down with agencys contract. I am here for about 3mths. Which means my contract with agency will end this mth end. If u ask what I am looking for in a career, I can say I pretty easy to satisfied now. Just want a friendly working environment to work in and bring home some income. I had told hubby if we intend to have #2, I will stay on and work till I give birth and look for job during my maternity leave. Which means I will have to endure for another 15mths. If we are not planning for #2 in 2008, I will be able to find a job and leave this place.

But hubby just told me this morning that he feel like starting up a small biz with a friend. And it makes me think twice of quitting the job again. Now I have these choices to make:

1) Delay #2 plan, quit and get new job.
2) Stay on till hubbys biz is stable.
3) Quit, be a sales person of hubbys new co. Once it is stable, hubby will quit and come over. (cos his fren is currently doing external work, admin, sales all alone)

If I were to help out with sales and admin side, his fren can spend more time with external work, once the biz pick up, hubby can quit (hubbys current local companys benefit is much better than my US MNC). On another hand, I am worried that if this biz doesn't pick up, means there will be financial problem for us.

Mummies, do u have any advises for me? Which choice will u choose if u were me? I realized that I am someone that cannot be controlled or desk bound. Must work on project cos I get easily bored. And now I am in the shipping line doing customer service.

Hi Mashy ... hm, perhaps have to start thinking in that area.... but I've no place for a toddler bed coz that means no playspace for the boys. Perhaps have to get a double-decker bed. My trouble is keeping the toys out of the bedroom coz Keith would bound to roam around to explore if he's left to sleep on an open bed. Mummies, can share how you get your kid to sleep? Do you pat them till they are almost asleep before you get out of the room or after the usual night routine, the child would lie in bed and you'll get out of the room?

CL, you wanna check out the 2003 mummies thread ... I'm asking the mummies about reading and writing situation there too

.ky.

Tabbiesus - Yes! *raise hand* i wana stock up too, running low in stock also. for Gain IQ, do they sell in tins of 1.8kg? will it be cheaper? i am asking Rachel if she wana order also, will rvert when she gets back to me k.thanks for sharing the lobang!

flo - yeah i engaged a designer for my hm and i must say they did quite a good job. i got neighbour coming down ..knock at my door to have a look at my design. coz they are also thinking of hiring my designer. haha..so it was strange to get a knock at the door from a stranger. ya i think they do take any project la as long as can bring in money. haha..u want u can PM me and i pass u the details. wat kind of reno are u thinking of doing? my neighbour was contemplating to do just the kitchen and bathrooms.

denmy - ya i am fine with 17 jun. thks!

aileen & wenyl - haha we can shake hands with having 2 boys + 1 ring leader (referring to our hbs) may we be the rose among the thorns. hahaha..oh and of coz not to mention our da jie 'Denmy' with 3 boys. are u all thinking of trying for no 2? hb and me cfm not trying again lor. did i miss out anymore mummies with all boys?:p

durianlover - ya i was also impressed with caleb being able to sit thru without fussing. a baby next to me abt the same age as caleb was wailing and eventually slept thru the show. hb was saying in future, we can bring him to other shows too and too bad we missed the bob the builder one which he really likes the characters. Ok, enjoy your aussie trip and take care! update us again when ya back.

tabbiesus - thks for checking the nepia diapers for me. in that case, thurs evening i will head down and order it in bulk. how many did u order for NB and L size? i also wanna start stocking up before the GST rises.

may - wat happen at work? didnt manage to find your last posting abt ur work.

May
Hmmmmm, I guess you must know that for initial start-up businesses, it would be tough financially for both your hb and his partner. It will really take at least 1-2 years to build up and establish the business. So perhaps it's really not a good time for you nor hb to just leave your current positions till when things do pick up, at least have a substantial amount of savings to last 6 months before you or hb move on.

I guess for now, just have to make the effort to know your colleagues, know what makes them have a common topic with you. It's really good for your own portfolio, in your resume if you stay on in a job for at least 2 years or more. Not to mention to help you enlarge your capacity so that you are in a better position to help your hb's biz in future. If after your 3 months is up and you are confirmed full-time status in the company, why not ask your boss or manager for more interesting and challenging projects? So this will keep your interest going and also expand your portfolio.

Sorry for my long-windedness, just my 2 cents worth.

Ky,

Once I tell Aden it is milk milk time. He will walk to the kitchen where the milk tin is, look on when I prepare his milk. Then he will wave good night to dad and sis, and walk to the kids bedroom. He will reach out for the top of the playpen where I will carry him and put him in. So he will lie down, grab his hanky and wait for his milk bottle to pass to him. I dim the lights, on his slumber music and I am out.

After a while I will go back to retrieve the bottle and clean his teeth. Then move on to make Charmaine sleep in the same room on one of the deck for the double deck bed.

ok will check out your 2003 mummies thread.

may - ok saw ur posting already. hmm..tough decision. i think we are not in the best position to advise u. more for u and ur hb to sit down and talk thru. its indeed a tough decision. my hb also started his biz before i met him and he said it wasn't easy not getting a stable income and working round the clock. in the end he left the co and work under ppl instead. but if i am in ur shoes, i will choose to delay no 2 until thgs are more firm up. then u can choose either 2 or 3 whichever u both decide. at least there is not much of a burden of no 2 popping up.

just wanna share a video clip of renee and her books..she loves reading..this is a set of sunshine books from my sis..she can identify all the titles..so recently invested in a set of joy series as well..

oh ya..i'm wondering if i violated any licensee issues..coz i used this online software to edit my video...and it says unregistered..anyone knows if i will get into trouble?? hehe..dun wan to be sued for ignorance man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckwh5Ep9BQQ

esther - wow wee!renee is so smart! she actuali knows all the titles! where do u get these books? are they very easy for the babies to understand? i always go to the bookshop but the books always fail to appeal to me...

Tabbiesus - Rachel and i will share a carton can? deliver to the same billing address in Chua Chu Kang... let us know the amt and i will tsf to u k. thanks alot! muacks!

KY
I'm sure Keith will somehow figure how to climb out of the cot even if you change to a lower cot. I'm experiencing the same thing with Mel now. I used to be able to put her in her cot and then left leave to room to let her sleep on her own. But lately she's able to climb out of the cot on her own if she doesn't want to sleep. I've lowered the cot to the lowest level with the barrier up (around her shoulder height) and she's still able to climb out with persistent practice over the weeks. So now I've to stay in the room with her in case she falls when attempting to climb out of the cot. It's a real struggle if she doesn't want to sleep, shell keep climbing out and I'll keep putting her back in and sometime this can go on for 2 hours! Was just telling my hb to convert the cot to tot bed last nite (my is those that can be converted to tot bed)

god's child,

these sunshine series books are apparently very good for them..my sis used to be an educator so she passed her sets to me. you can get 2nd hands one from bras basah ..if brand new ones you can get them from edventure.. you can refer to their website www.edventure.com.sg

SSF
Can you PM me your designer contact. We haven't quite decided yet, at first am thinking of our bedroom and kitchen, then hb said maybe study and living room too...then end up is like whole house...haha. Basically my current pl is not very kid frenly, also just trying to make more efficient use of the space...seems to be running out of storage space since Mel's arrival.

SSF,
Dunno what wrong with my boss. She doesn't like to interact with us. Once she talk to u, mean u are in deep shit. She will hide inside her cubicle or either attend meetings. Only a lady will go in every morning to curry flavour her. She didn't talk to me ever since first day of work till now. And yesterday she called my peer and ask her to convey the message to me saying," Please let her know about the culture here. I dun like talking, unneccessary walking around."

She will not notice others as clearly as me cos I am just sitting outside her cubicle. If there is anything wrong, I feel that she can talk to me directly instead of going through others.

If there is anything wrong, she will cover herself first rather than protecting her own staff. She tends to demand pple to do this and that cos she has been in the company for 30 over yrs. I was told that the turnover here are quite high becos of her and there was once 4 person quit together and she was being questioned by HR. So I think working with her is not very easy.

esther,
I'm super impressed. Renee is so smart! I tell you..Aidan has this giant picture book and he is very un-cooperative. I will ask him where is the car, and he will literally look at the car, but refuse to point it to me :p

Wow Esther, Renee is so clever.

May,
Is never easy to start a biz and you must be prepared to have no income at least from the first year (or even negative income). If hb and u are comfortable with just one income, then I guess is ok for you to quit your job and help him first, while he continues working until his biz stabilise then he quit. If not, you can just stay put at your current job while looking for another one. Job market is good now, so it shouldn't be difficult.

Hi chicken little...i don't do much....the childcare does the bulk of the work....he surprises us with little improvements weekly....

We make an effort over the weekends at least, to make him do some form of writing...I'll draw out square boxes for him and make him print his writing neatly into the boxes...took alot of effort initially, but he is now writing rather well, except for the mirror imaging though....we intend to start him at Lhorna Whiston School next year when he progresses on to K2....that would give him a good start to prepare for primary school.

Hope I've been able to help.

Esther,

Renee so clever! I'm also hunting for some books lately... most of her books are colors and nos. I only recently ordered a set of Eric Carle's books on amazon but she doesn't seem to like...

do u know if edventure is still having a sale?

flo - PM u the contacts already.

may - aiyo why ur boss so wierd..so surprise she can survive for 30 yrs. just ignore her and dun put to heart. as long as u work and done ur job, she cannot say anythg. the most ask u to leave lor which is wat u wishes too right?

esther
i wanted to get the sunshine books but it's so ex to get the whole set...

re paw walk
i m quite interested but duno whether JH will be well enough so will have to give it a miss

JH behaves like a little emperor now at my mum's place. so naughty. he doesn't even wan me now. last night when i was putting him to bed, he refused and kept calling out for my mum. cried and call her until she came in. did this a few times and he only slept at 11pm. so much energy for somene who is sick

may
hope u can work out the right decision. must really discuss with hb.

esther, I'm impressed with renee ....

re : edventure books, can try asking from this shop, evernew (9817 0327 Jennifer). They sell 2nd-hand books at BBC ground floor. Usually they'll setup a mobile bookstore around northern/western part of sgp, and u find edventure books at $1/$0.50 each. I got them to source for brand new rigby books at $1 each, but these all depends on luck. Maybe can try getting a few first and see if your kid likes it.

May, I think your boss is someone who will not leave nor change her way of working ... and if you are really unhappy working under her, is it possible to get a switch (if the company is a good one to stay with)? If not, then I'd think you should look for another job. I've left a job because a boss had blacklisted me and I was without a new job; that was a decision I never regretted... and I've stayed on a job for 5 years (my longest) before I became a SAHM, so a good working environment with good colleagues/supervisor is very impt to me. If you and your hubby have worked out the math of how much work needs to be put in to setup the new biz, give yourself a target. I'd say choose 3) Quit, be a sales person of hubbys new co. Once it is stable, hubby will quit and come over. (cos his fren is currently doing external work, admin, sales all alone) - why? (a)still have 1 source of stable income from your hubby. (b)a chance of a lifetime to strike out on your own and it does not look so bad on your resume in future (as in you leave to start a new biz at the end of your contract)

Also sorry for being longwinded...

.ky.

ssf & wenyl,
think we'll go for #3. but we'll see how things go after we have #2. may not have the time and energy left!! how about u wenyl, will u go for #3?

esther & ak,
wowowo!! i'm impressed with the progress of ur kids! well done! :D

rena,
i'm interested to get the books too. just briefly browsed thru the website, seems like there are alot of books under the sunshine series. don't know which ones to get leh!!

May
I just saw your agar agar and I must say it's a very nice pc but I guess your FIL probably din know how to express nicely- common in old folk but good that your HB defend u aloud
I'm sure your FIL are touched within.

Wendy
Congrats for the #2 boy.. yes yes save lotsa $$ on clothes

Tabbie
Thanks for replying..basically I'm thas minor and after blood test last round, kae was still ok to store cord blood.
I havent decide on the cord blood banking on #2 yet... still thinking abt it.

CL
I have not forgotten my loot are with you...
I have been really busy with work during closing period. Will try to arrange to meet again.
Oh Yes I still owe u the biscuit money and High tea transfer. I try to do it later
How much I owe u for biscuit again?

Thanks mummies for all the praises...i'm lucky that she loves to read...she will take out her books all the time and pester us to read for her. and also maybe coz from young we used to flip books wuth her all time...however, she's still not talking

Sunshine books

We should be looking at the New Sunshine Books..tats more suitable for our babies.

Actually new sunshine and the joy series are similar versions..joy series are slightly cheaper. Like KY mentioned, there are some places that sells 2nd hand ones..so can find them at $1 per book. but may not be the complete series.

Tabbs,

You can try calling edventure and ask if you can still buy them at the sale price..i think they are quite ok..and they do free delivery as well for purchases above $200.

Rena,

you can check out www.edventure.com.sg..the sunshine books were from my sis..i bought the joy series...70 books for $176. so average is about $2.50 per book.

So now i'm getting her started on joy series 10 books by 10 books till she knows all..

Next step is Rigby..which is rather expensive.. so wait till she knows all her joy 1st.

Aileen,

Look into New Sunshine..total 40 books

my goodnes.. there arejust too many post.. and I really wanted to read them all.. ahha.got to catch up tonight.

Wendy..
my HB opp of yours ley.. we are passing all old clothing of kae to #2.. those daily wear la.. even the pink ones..kekek...but I still couldnt resist and bought some new ones for #2 already.

Tabbie
same here.. I wanted to fix up the ceiling fan before #2 arrive else I will really melt too.
I plan to check out Amasco fan too.. the one I got for hall is less than 300 include installation seems reasonable.

krissie
COngrat for girl girl comming.. take care!

Hi ALL
Been REALLY busy too and LOTS of catching up to do here...

Ashley is sick with Fever/Cough/Flu since the weekend. So I didn't bring her to her JG class this week. Sigh, been waiting for it and she has to fall sick now so sad. Should be able to get 50% refund so better than nothing i guess. Hopefull she will be well and can attend the last day on Fri.

Btw is the Hi-Tea this Fri confirmed?

Got to rush off now to tend my pushcart at United Square. We're selling Scrapbooking/Cardmaking supplies at the basement till Sunday so if you're there do drop by okie??

See ya!!! =)

Tabbs and Cookie,

i wont be able to have ceiling fan in time..so i will just have my air con turned on during confinement!!! Hurray!!!!

esther,
Wow Renee is so smart! I'm impressed she can remember the titles of soooo many books!
Btw aircon during confinement is a good idea

mashy,
Ya agree with you...there're so many geniuses in this thread!

RE: Books
My girl also loves books but she doesn't like us to read to her leh!! She prefers flipping them on her own and pointing out stuff she knows and naming them. Is this normal?? She can't sit through 1 whole story. She'd rather flip the book herself!

May,
Do discuss with your hb about this job thingy....i guess it has to be a collective decision!

ky,
I agree, why don't put Keith on toddler bed? I've switched Janelle to a bed since she turned 1 because she rejected the cot. It's ok so far. Except for 1 occasion, she doesn't climb down her bed without our permission. But at night when i put her to sleep, either me or my hb will have to lie down beside her till she falls asleep.

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June
Time: 2.30pm - meet at the hotel lobby
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD> Name</TD><TD> Status</TD><TD> Payment</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD> MamaChan</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD> Chicken Little</TD><TD> Should be ok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD> Cheng</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD> SL</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD> Linda tjhin</TD><TD> Infm in advance if cannot</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD> queen</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD> Flo</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD> cookie</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD> SY</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD> Clare</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD> wenyl</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD> Yuki</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD> Cindy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD> Denmy</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD> Tabbiesus</TD><TD> TBC by 6 Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD> Sleepingdeer</TD><TD> Confirm</TD><TD> Paid</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

linda tjhin, Cindy, and Clare
Kindly confirm by today as I need to call and make the final reservations with the cafe. TIA

esther - i took a quick look at the catalogue and sunshines books look appealing. caleb likes to read and will always bug ppl even stranger to read to him. he will even sit on your lap as long as u read to him. but then he likes to flip the pages so fast that all u need to do is utter one word and he will start flipping already. haha...

so far he can say ball, ta ta, flower, meow, growl like a dog and can point to nose, eyes, cheeks, nappy, pacifier etc. but best of all is when he recently start saying daddy, mummy and mama..aiyoh can melt one's heart esp my mum. keep asking him to say that everyday until sometimes i get annoyed when he call me mama. haha..

ok back to the books...i be interested to get some second hand ones if someone is really selling lei. Ky, where u say it's selling? from this forum?

Any mummies got any contacts can pls PM me your name and handphone number. My sis owns a market research company and looking for the following:
looking for M1 broadband users. Aged 16 45 yr old. As in their house need to be subscribing to M1 broadband. We will give them some dates and time to choose from. They will be required to attend a 2 hour survey and will they get S$70 cash. It will be held near Tanjong Pagar MRT.

tabbiesus,
Can help me buy GAIN IQ? Dun mind getting 1 carton. How much per tin? I also want to stock up b4 GST.

esther,
so impressed with Renee! So clever. She can remember so many titles.

Aileen,
For now, I dun even know if I can handle 2 monkies running ard the hse. Maybe will rest for another 2-3 yrs b4 I retink abt #3. And wat if #3 is also a boy? Cos my inlaws have 3 all boys leh. Very scared history repeats itself. Sure faintz! Waahaahaa!

Re: Edventure series
I dun mind getting 1 set too.

ak - aiya too bad mine is starhub.

wenyl - yeah i can faint too with 3 monkeys. but hey can pick some pointers frm denmy on how she managed to cope. my hb's side the genes are also all male. so i cannot afford to take the risk. hee...

Durianlover / mummies whose baby is sleeping on bed -

Will ur baby roll off the bed? i am also tinking of removing the rail on the cot cos Celeste has been attempting to climb out of the cot and it reali scared the hell out of me! but then am worried bout her rolling off cos its her style to roll all ard in the cot even when she sleeps... most likely my matress will be placed beside hers,but i also wont want her to come rolling off onto me lei :p

Hi Esther,

I bought something similar for my elder boy some years back. Mine's from Scholastic. Also about $175 for the whole set. I bought the entire set. 2 years back I think.

Now my boy's childcare also has literacy programmes for them. He has books similar to the rigby and scholastic ones also. When he comes home, he is able to read the books to us and his younger brother.

Whenever our English/Chinese Heads of Department organise for publishers to bring their resources in, I'll buy sets after sets for my own child...haha....they give pretty good staff rates too. So now, I kinda have a mini library in my boys' room.
Reading and starting them early is a good habit.
I believe in reading myself too!
Can never sleep without having read something...

Thanks to Ky for the contact

I actually got some Rigby books at $1 each which my gal simply loves them. My hb also think they are good. She actually got me some sunshine books which I am not interestedd. I am getting her to source for more rigby and replace those sunshine I got from her.

Anyone interested in the sunshine before I return to her ?

Cookie
YOu want me to bring your loot to the high tea? I am leaving from office though.

Clare
You got a pushcart ah ? You selling what you have in the list you emailed to us ?

May,
The leappad lady says her supplier has gone overseas. So, she no longer selling leappads now.
Maybe u wanna consider looking ard for new positions elsewhere 1st b4 quitting. It is quite risky for both u & ur hb to be working in a newly setup biz. Family income is very unstable for the 1st 1-2 yrs.

AK
Are you referring to M1 wireless broadband? My hb subscribes to it.

Clare
Oh hope Ashley's flu is not too serious. In fact, Dr Khor was just asking me how's Ashley when I brought Mel for her jab on Sat.

Any one of you checking out child care centres in Seng Kang? Can you share any findings? I'm looking for one for my child to enrol this Nov. He'll be 18 months then. Thanks.

Jenny

God's child

They are not in a set. I dun remember what I have need to check at home. Ha ha you are on waiting list after Rena ok. she MSN me first ha ha

SSF, Rena and God's child
These are second hand books. so condition is not fantastic leh. And the lady give me some repeated titles ha ha and I stupidly took it. Maybe can get 1 or 2 books of the repeated title to confirm your kid like it

its not hard cover? alamak like tat caleb may tear those pages. anyway, let us know the titles and of coz rena and god;s child get to choose first. i can take the leftovers la. haha..

SSF

It is not hardcover, it is quite thin. I will compile the list then will upload the pics too. I think got joy reader too