(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: small sized babies

Thanks for the consolations on Celeste's size
so often when colics or pple say she is petite, and ask if she is under eating... i get all stressed cos some of them (esp a colic) talk as if i 'abuse' Celeste by not lettin her eat!!! and she says my bb looks soooooo skinny
i gota machiam self defend tat i give her tis n tat to eat.. hmp! anyway, lately got some comments tat Celeste has put on some weight so im a happy mum
hope she can promote to the 'average' club soon... HB is pleased tat im implementing the little extra snacks like potato wf cheese, hotcakes, scrambled eggs,much to MIL's displeasure.. from the glare and the 'yan sheng', can tell she finds me very 'kiasu' and 'kua zhang'..bu ti dun give a hoot now, its my bb im concerned about!

Tracy - Meg is good size, i cant say enuf how my HB adores her chubby look,even i myself cant help looking at her more! heehee
kao_embarrassed.gif
very cute and pretty lor... bai bai pang pang...

god's child
I think Celeste looks good when I saw her on Sat, like abit more bah-bah =) Don't worry too much yah? You're doing a good job! Small-size is good in a way, can make the best use of their clothes. Nowadays, I have to keep buying bigger sized clothings for Daren, he no longer can wear his 12 - 18 pants! Look like ah-pek with the shorter hems of the long pants and he has a protruding tummy liaoz! Look just like daddy man! kekekeke. Right now, letting the 2 yr old clothings hang on him for now. haha.

god's child

haha, if celeste is skinny, my boy even skinnier. and he;s a boy and a big brother here. I weighed him today and he's 9.9kg. Last month was 9.6kg. I;m not worried, just think he's a little short.

I think it's better to be slim than overweight. Don't overfeed celeste until she becomes a fatty hor. My hb was skinny as a toddler, ballooned by the time he reached pri sch (can join the TAF club type) and diagnosed with high blood pressure during his teenage years, so now have to be on meds. Better slim and healthy than fat and unhealthy.

am new to this thread, think of enrolling my bb boy who is turning 17mths on the 5 june to a playgroup class. Any good recommendation? Really need your opinion.

Was away at KL & Genting over weekend...
So many posts to read already, doing a quick scan over most of them...

Re. small baby
Isaac is also very small, last weighed he was only 9.5kg and 78.5cm about 1 month ago. He just turned 17 mths and is still wearing 6-12 mth size clothes from Old Navy and Gap.

babylon,
Hahah! Isaac also has got a big head!

Re. Tiger Food Jar
Used it when I was in KL, stayed in a service apartment so could boil the water and rice together first for a few mins before putting into the jar at 9am. When I opened it at almost 7pm, the porridge was nicely cooked and still quite warm! But when I was in Genting, stayed in a normal hotel room, so had to pour in boiling water from the kettle directly into the jar with the raw rice instead. After 6 hours, I find that part of the rice are semi-cooked, though the chicken meat is cooked. End up throwing the porridge away. I think it's better to boil the rice with water in a pot first for a few mins until the water is really bubbling boiling hot and then pour into the jar quickly and cap it immediately.

Re. Victoria's Secret Spree
Ever the spree queen, I can organise. Thinking of getting some sleepwear. If interested, PM me your orders!

I'm going for an interview with a German MNC tomorrow. It's an engineering job in Proj. Management. Job scope is different from what I was doing previously, though in the same industry. Sigh... not very enthusiastic about it cos I didn't want to go back to semicon field. But now, I guess beggars can't be choosers. Shall see how...

God's_child/Mamachan - Yes, when the kids stood tog, they were more or less the same size & height. I never thot Cephas is small except at birth :p He has a big head, long body & short legs.I always see him as BIG until he stands with other children then he looks small. Haha...

CL,
Are u meeting Flo or Tabbisus for lunch? Can help me collect the Mess Free Crayons? I will collect all my loots at once from u.

Queen,
Will surf VS tonight and see if I have any order for u. GOOD LUCK FOR UR INTERVIEW tmr!

RE: Baby Size
Jamie has got a big bum. She is wearing XL Dryper and Mamypoko Pull Up XL. L size is tight for her. Was thinking of getting the training pants and toilet train her asap.

She is skinny with big head, hahaha... But abit tall as a girl. Was hoping she is smaller size, cuter. People still comments that she is a boy. =(

Queen,
All the best for your interview! German MNC sounds good leh!

RE: size & weight
Hmm I have totally no idea how heavy nor how tall Janelle is. Stopped measuring her weight/height since she was 8 months or something like that? Coz i stopped bringing her to PD, and the GP doesn't take her measurements. Anyway, i think she looks big for her age. She has recently grown taller too. And like many of the babies here, she has got a HUGE head in proportion to her body. Not to forget, she's got a really huge milk tummy too! And she loves to stand with her tummy protruding out. Looks really funny at times!

god's child,
haha, tell your hb your Celeste is so much more active than Megan that's why the difference in size. Megan is 'ice queen', only stand still and stare.

Queen,
All the best for your interview! Yes, German MNC sounds attractive!

Re:Diaper
talking about Diaper.. I'm now using EQ Dry for kae...
I think it's very good or rather as good as Nepia if not better and it's very cheap also. Recent Giant has promotion and even cheaper then medical hall.
I find it good after I tried the sample.
Cloth like and very absobent.
Oh for night time.. I'm still using mamy poko
Strangely I dun like Pampers, I find kae bum always wet even if it's not soak seems to me it's not taking in wetness very well.

Just wondering any mummy also using EQ dry too?

Queen
good luck for your interview...

RE: small babies..
hmm... it seems like the ave weight here is 9.5-10kg.. so maybe our babies aren't so small after all? My girl is barely 10 kg also... and short some more 75cm.. but i don't think she looks particulary smaller than the other babies when we go for the play group... u can see tabby got a pretty big head... she wears M or L size depending on the cut for diapers and still wearing some 3-6 months rompers.. dunno its becos they become stretched after so long...

God's child..
don't worry about other people's comments.. celeste looks okie what.. not skinny.. aiyor u should see a pic of my cousin's baby girl.. so chubby that people's first comment is wah SO FAT.. which i don't think is nice lor.. as long as she's healthy its okie

CL
i'm sorry i'm having trouble with my computer... can't log onto my internet backing I'll try and transfer the money to you by atm tomorrow.. sorry for the delay..

Queen,

All the best for the interview...btw..your kits are still with me
so sorry .. have not been going back to my mum's place becoz she's been outstaion for past few weeks.

Will you be meeting Chicken Little or Denmy anytime soon? Then maybe I can pass to either one of them.

Tabbs,

How have you been feeling? I've been tired most of the time.. cant sleep well at night at all..and get cramps so many times in a night...and worse..no hb to help me massage
I've only put on 3 kg so far i hope bb will be at least 2.8kg .. wat about yours?

cookie, I've been using EQ Dry for Kirsten for a long time. Yah it's really absorbent and cheap. Good for day use. I also stocked up on the M size during the Giant sale. So much cheaper. But I think Kirsten is outgrowing M size liao so only bought 4 packs.

Re: Small babies
So there are still many babies that haven't reached 10kg yet. Mine too, 9.5kg during last month's check. But at 81cm, so seems quite tall. She, on the other hand, has a small head. Even PD commented on that. I think her waistline is wider than her head circumference. So she's a girl with skinny arms, small head and big waist. She's a bottom heavy girl. haha...

Queen, all the best!

May, I feel so angry for you about Jamie's fall.

queen
I don't mind organising this time round as I need to get desitin from drugstore too. Also i've got a UOB card and can get 12% off shipping for vpost.

small size
I'm immune to pple saying Ariene is skinny, Ariene is small sized, etc. She's barely hit the 9kg mark. She's just long. Has been so since birth. As long as PD says she's normal cuz she has my genes, I don't really bother myself with what others say.

Hi Mummies;
Been ages since I logged onto the forum. So much to catch up!

Durianlover & Aileen;
Congrats on being a 2nd time mummy

Esther;
3kg is very little...did your gynae express any concern about your minimal weight gain? I remember your EDD is before mine. I'm 28 weeks pregnant and have already gained 7.5kg (eeks!!). At my checkup last week, baby weighs around 1.1+kg

Hi Mommies
Finally finished catching up with all the postings. Didnt login yesterday as I had difficulties trying to read. Went for my pre-lasik test and my pupils were dilated.

Tracy,
Re: Dream
Haha, Ill also have nightmare trying to babysit the 2 active gals at the same time! Now I can't even "lock" her inside her cot if she refuses to sleep cos she can climb out even when the latch is fully up!

KY
Re: Aquaduck
Thanks for organising the trial. Too bad Mel was too terrified to get into the water. Looks like have to bring her to swimming more often first so that shes comfortable with the water. Any mommy going in June? Maybe will try the trail again, looks fun.

SL,
No worries, managed to get the direction from KY in the end.

Tabbs, SL
Re: Kitchen Set
Our gals are so alike, Mel immediately stood on the tabletop the moment I assembled the set! She would open and step on the oven door too! But kept telling her she cant do both, so she has kinda stop that now. Hopefully she really understands. Anyway, that has been her fav toy for the past week, wont play with anything else except the kitchen set.

SSF
Re: Magic clean mop
Mine also melted. Like Tracy, now I use the 3M one too. More economical in the long run cos can wash the cloth

ChickenLittle
Re: Cityhall lunch on 23 may, 1150 noon
Ive a meeting at 11am, most likely wont finish in time for the lunch. Will sms you if meeting ends early.

Re: High tea on 8 Jun
Am trying to postpone my business trip, will let you know if my trip is pushed back.

Queen
All the best for your interview

May
Your ILs are terribly. Jamie might get the wrong idea that its ok to play with knife!

Esther
How are you? Actually baby weight is more impt. My girlfren put on only about 8kg thruout her entire pregancy and her baby is almost 4kg!

hehe, looks like 9-10kg for our toddlers at this time is normal.

It's probably becoz they're toddlers now and burn up more energy than before so now slim and trim.

RE: Lasik
Flo, u doing it? What is the estimated cost ah? I feel like doing it also.

RE: Jamie's Accident
Thanks mummies for ur concern over Jamie's accident. Her baluku subside already. But I can still see the cut. Luckily it is head and not on the face!! Else I will definitely "KILL" the boy!!

RE: lasik

haha, i've been wanting to do that for ages, but always find no money. i think by the time i can do it, i'll be having lao hua yan already, no need to do it anymore. hahaha.

re: small size bb
my gal also hasn't reached 10kg yet. on nepia M size and drypers L size.

babylon
my gal also got big head. hehe..

queen
good luck!

may
glad that jamie's baluku subsided. try to massage it still to make sure that the bruise is fully gone.

i asked my hb what he will do if our gal encounters the incident like jamie. he said he will bit the boy back and 'teach' the mum a lesson. violent daddy. :p

May
Got your email, I'll prob pass the crayon to Queen cos I need to collect ON stuff from her.

Re: Lasik
Yes, am doing my first eye this Friday. Estim cost is around $7550 including all the consultation (pre and post op) but before GST. Is on the high side cos my degree is very high - 1500 for my left eye! Am as blind as a bat!

Tracy
I think Mel and Meg are the only 2 heavy weight gal that is above 10kg.

Lasik
me too...wanna to do it..but no courage. Flo, please share your experince after you have done it. My degree is only 400 each eye.

Babylon
Will tell you more after Fri. Cos of my high power, am going for my "practice" session tomorrow late afternoon cos I need to keep my eye still for more than 40 sec

estherlee - when are you due? so far i am ok...occasionally will have the cramp feeling in my leg but before it start happening...i quickly massage it before it worsen. i put on 8kg so far and edd is 20 aug. do take care and eat well ya!

queen - all the best for your interview! keep us posted on any good news.

flo - wow! your lasik costs is pretty on the high end. where are u doing yours? my hb took my staff rate and did his in apr this yr in NUH. so far the doc says his eye is oily so he has to keep putting eye drop in his eyes like 6 times per day. not sure when will can he stopped teh eye drop thingy. he did it for less than 3k. i am planning to do mine after my breast feeding is over but now that i see the trouble he has to do..i am having cold feet. still undecided if i shld go or not coz mine will be even cheaper maybe less than 2.5k and i find it a pity to let go this opportunity.

Flo,
wah...not cheap. I made an appointment when was abroad but backout the last min. No courage. A number of my colics had it done. Do they do 1 eye at a time or both?

RE : Weight Gain during preg
Yah man...I gained 17kg and Xav is only 6 pounds. Haiz....

I still hv a big tummy that yesterday a colic came by and asked me what do i hv ard my waist? (She thot I'm carrying a pouch between Tee and pants!) I pulled up my tee and patted "Tummy lah!!!!"

Tracy/ Flo
My Kyra can join Mel and Meg in the above-10kg category. She was 11kg last month! eeks! She doesn't look 'bak bak' but feels solid..like a lump of ham..

Queen
Good luck for the interview

chillies
I can hi-5 w u!..Still hv trouble getting rid of the spare tyre. Anyone got any ideas?

Me getting the jitters. Keep having dreams these nites. Woke up feeling very tired. Going for amniocentesis tomorrow am. More worried for the results then the poking. Please pray for me & bb. TIA!

Re: Lasik
I wanted to do Lasik too, although my degree per eye is abt 375deg. But before I can go ahead & do it, I got #1. After delivering to E, I thot to myself, must get it done after I stop breastfeeding. But again, before I can go ahead, I got #2 now. Hiaz. Procrastination is the word to describe me.

mongs,

i brought the porridge from pigeon too.. when i went to japan.. i will mix it with some of the plain congee.. it is easy coz jst need hot water..

RE: freckles

i was thinking of going for deep peeling to remove my freckles... coz lately i realize after pregnancy it all surface...

RE: jamie's fall

may, if i were you .. i will pull the boy to the mom and scream at her...

haha.. me very extreme

wow a lot of postings to catch up!

re reciepes
nowadays when i see all the recipes being shared, i m so envious. JH not giving me a chance to show off my cooking skills to him..haha..only just porridge for now.

today is my first day telecommuting.

re size
JH can also fit into his 9-12 months clothes now that he slimed down. on sun when we weighed him, he was 10.7kg and 84 cm. sounds ok to me though i wish he can be taller.

JH wears Xl size for all his diapers. using petpet and nepia.

queen
good luck for your interview! german firms have good benefits.

esther
your weight gain seems very little. baby size ok?

flo
u doing lasik? been wanting to do it but been so lazy. and din wan to wear specs to office for a week..haha

wow the op sounds really ex

Chilies - your'tummy joke' brought the first smile to my face this morning! haha... me also cant rid off tat stupid spare tyre.. will just work twds it after #2 which is stil some time away...

Re: small sized babies
so it seems our babies all weigh bout the same..whew... i shall start worrying bout it then,else more white hairs popping out haha..

Flo,
wow, expensive lasik. But its good for you to do it, cos your degree is really very high! BTW, where you going to have it done?

crashbandit,
haha, 11kg?? That's good!

Wenyl,
Good luck for your amnio test later! We'll be praying hard for you. I'm sure all will be fine. Relax...

Esther,
Do take care too, your weight gain sounds little. But if all goes to the baby then good for you! Easy to lose the weight after delivery.

Chillies, SSF, Wenyl, SY
I'm going to Dr Jerry Tan. He's on the expensive side cos he uses more advance technology. Finally decided to go back to him cos my case is a bit complicated plus he has all my records. Fortunately or unfortunately, I can pay partially with medisave (cos of my eye problem, is not consider an elective surgery). Dr Tan doesnt believe in doing 2 eyes in one op although he has been doing lasik for 11 years. He said chances are if one eye has problem, the other will likely to have the same problem if done simultaneously.

Actually I went for my first pre-test in 2004 but he recommended that I treat my lazy eye first. Half way thru the treatment I got pregnant. Think better do it fast in case I plan to have #2.

SY
Haha, Ive been on specs for the past 2 weeks! Cant wait to get it off, so troublesome!

Flo,
Hmm.. quite ex hor. And ur degree is super high. Mine is about 700+ per eye so will be as blind as a bat if I dun wear spects too. Will go find out more abt the op. Meanwhile, share your experience of the op with us okie?

Wenyl,
Will pray for you. Dun worry so much..everything will be fine.

Flo
I oso want to do Lasik. waiting for kaki to go together then not so scare. Have been on specs for years since my last eye infection.

Wenyl
Good luck and will pray everything to be fine

Tracy
Ask your colic on Dr Gerard Chuah, ha ha i want to go to him because both my frens goes to him for lasik and my mum for cataract. Ha ha plus he got instalment free plan woh.

RE: Lasik

many pp do it in thailand.. my two sil did it there.. cheap and good coz many foreigners go there just for that..
they do have a 3 day 2 night lasik package.. my hb tempted to go but no time leh

they do it in very reputable hospital own by americans

wnat to organise one..

RE. Interview
It's later at 1 pm... Thanks for the well wishes!

Wenyl,
Don't worry too much! Stay positive!

Flo,
Wow, $7.4k for lasik? Very expensive... I'm also thinking of doing it before I became jobless... But I'm thinking once I get a job again, I'll want to do it before planning for #2. My friend and her HB did it 2 years ago at a reputable clinic in KL for around ~S$1.5K. Quite cheap hor.

Esther,
Yah, I keep thinking to myself that I have to contact you for arrange for the collection of the kits but somehow always procrastinate. Paisei that you have to hold for me for so long... Don't think I'm meeting CL and Denmy anytime soon.

SY,
telecommunicating? Meaning work from home?