(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL,

Hotel not confirmed yet cos got no time to surf around now! Am looking for svc apartments. But I have a few shortlisted options - HongKong Plaza, Somerset, Panaroma(?). Have any ideas which is better?

re: Hi Tea
Can I transfer the amt for that to you closer the date? Cos just come back from leave - not sure if I can take another half day. : (

cityhall lunch on 23 may wed, 12 noon
1)chicken little
2)SL - timing-wise is pretty flexible.
3)cookie - Ok.. can it be 1150pm? if u guys having flexi timing for lunch? cos u know la, my co very strict with working hours. if at 12noon ok also except I have to leave very soon :p

Mong

The model is Tiger Food Jar - MCW-P090 This is the 0.9L , there is a 0.7L

Mamapanda
I oso great fan of your recipe. Some recipe of what you posted are in Yahoo Group ha ha .

SL
I will check with my colleague in Shanghai. How many pple going ?

cityhall lunch on 23 may wed, 1150
1)chicken little
3)cookie - Ok.. can it be 1150pm? if u guys having flexi timing for lunch? cos u know la, my co very strict with working hours. if at 12noon ok also except I have to leave very soon :p

Mamapanda,

I am going to try out your new recipe this weekend! Thks!

I second the mummies' opinions - you should write a baby recipe books and be the local version of annabel karmel!

In fact, I find that annabel karmel's recipes for the older babies are not very appealing to charmaine except for the cheesecake. The rest - she doesn't really like. Maybe it's too angmo for my cheena baby. Your recipe can be a combination of both western and oriental dishes. : )

Hi Ladies..

Been busy ytd wf boss in town, oni managed to come in now to post...

CL - Hope Aden is feeling better today... must be super siong on you, take care! *pat pat*

SY - mabbie can talk to ur maid and ask if she is happie working here, if there's anytin she wana bring to ur concern? i always ask my maid if she's happie working here when i give her salary... then try to encourage and 'appreciate' her by tellin her tat not bad, got improvement blah blah.. i do agree tat lookin aft toddler is very siong, esp nw that they are so super agile! thankfully during weekdays when i stay wf inlaws, there are altogether 3 pairs of eyes to help 'jaga' so that the 'lethargy' level is reduced abit. even then, celeste stil gets her falls at times... our toddlers gettin quite a handful now

mongs,

Can I check where did you get the baby instant porridge? I am even considering bringing frozen cubes of broccoli and carrots to Shanghai with me. My hubby says that I am mad!

CL,
Thanks! I am going with hubby and Charmaine. My parents are considering cos my dad's supposed to meet his biz partner in shanghai too but in end June. I am persuading him to push forward so that we can get ask them to help watch Charmaine. Otherwise, I am not sure how to survive with Charmaine alone when hubby goes for his official engagements.

victoria secrets sales
Anyone interested in buying bras from victoria's secrets? They're having summer sales now. If buying we can ship together so cheaper.

RE: food jar

Can anyone remember what the BP or the sale price was for the food jar? My friend was asking me about it... i remember i got mine at the taka sale with a free thermos..i think it was 50+ then...

mamapanda

I'm quite keen on getting some bra too.. i just got the email... maybe can join some of the sprees... i find organising these myself too confusing...dunno if vpost is still having the discount with UOB card for shipping...

SL
You can try pigeon brand of instant porridge or the nestle brand... pigeon u only need to soak packet for few minutes and then can pour out the porridge... usu flavour is fish ball... for nestle you have to boil and stir for 3 min like the adult instant porridge... pigeon can get from taka/ robinson, nestle.. can get from NTUC... 3+ for a box.. nestle comes in fish or vege flavours... i haven't tried but my friends brought it overseas says the pigeon one is very convenient.. just use the boiling kettle to soak the packets...

Mamapanda
RE: Brown rice porridge mix with normal porridge.

You are right that soaked the rice with water for 30 min but the water must be very very hot boiling water but soaked it more than 30 min.
Or either way is put the brown rice and hot water in a small bowl and cook it in a rice cooker for half an hrs. Than you take it out and mix with normal rice and put it in tiger food jar....
I try that method before but not using tiger food jar,,just using normal food jar.

Hi CL
Thanks for your information about RP lunch
1)chicken little
4)Linda

Tabbie
Re: Crayole
No worry....you can let me know anytime

mongs - enjoy your time in Japan with clariss. i bet clariss will enjoy the weather!
oh and yummy those jap food. you had me drooling thinking of them.

mamapanda - ya its me who enquire abt the sunscreen for babies. thks for the link. I have pasted the impt points for everyone's reading:

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
The sun protection factor (SPF) should be at least 15, but you generally don't need to go above 30: Higher than that and you're getting smaller and smaller amounts of added protection which, in a chemical sunscreen, means a higher dose of unwanted chemicals. It's fine to use a "children's" sunscreen, but don't go out of your way to buy one of these since they're usually no different from the adult versions.

When putting sunscreen on your toddler, lay it on thick, making sure every part of her body gets a good coating. Pay special attention to burn-prone areas like the ears, nose, back of the neck, and shoulders. Some sunscreens are a bright tint when you apply them and then fade to clear in a few minutes, making it easier to tell if you're covering every inch of your child's vulnerable skin.

Reapply sunscreen often. Waterproof sunscreens may be slightly hardier than other products, but don't trust a label that promises to protect for eight hours. That's only if your child stays perfectly still for the rest of the day! In the real world she'll need more sunscreen every two hours or every time she gets wet or is dried off with a towel.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

tabbi
yes, uob is still having 12% off shipping for UOS card holders till 30th July. I have a UOB card so that's y I'm considering. Also, I need to get more desitin for Ariene. She still cant do without nappy cream or the urethra area will get red very quickly.

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

Kindly confirm your attendance if you have taken/able to take leave that day. If yes, kindly transfer $40 to Chicken Little POSB Current account at 757-03942-7

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Status</TD><TD>Payment </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>MamaChan </TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Chicken Little </TD><TD>Should be ok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Rena</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Cheng</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>SL </TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Linda tjhin</TD><TD>Infm in advance if cannot</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>mashybrainz </TD><TD>Caeden will join if no help</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>ky + 1 boy</TD><TD>FOC for kid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>queen </TD><TD>Subject to job hunt</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Flo </TD><TD>should be ok subject to biz trip</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>cookie</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>SY</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>wenyl </TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Esh_mummy</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD> bblon </TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Yuki</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Cindy </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>Confirm</TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

RE: Accident
These few days so unlucky, Jamie keeps falling down.
Jamie has got a cut at the back of her head. It was bleeding abit and had a big baluku last night.
We went to Jurong Points Kiddy Palace to shop. A little boy saw Jamie standing there playing with piano, he walked over and give her a push.
Jamie fall and hit on the back of the head. My mum was an arm length away and could catch her in time. I was at the other dept.

I was very angry with the boy! He did not even say sorry but just stood there. I asked where is his mummy and he say outside.
Scolded him for pushing Jamie whilst Jamie did not even do anything to him.
His siblings dare not come near him. I checked on Jamie and try to stop her from crying.

When I brought her out to show my dad, I saw the boy with his mum sitting at the same bench as my dad.
I purposely say until very loud telling my dad the incident and pointed to that boy. The mum heard the conversation and pretend to look away.
Then the little boy dashed back to the shop and pushing passing adults that is blocking his way. His mum didnt even stop him from doing that and just look at him.

Cant imagine what kind of mum she is! When Jamie push someone, I will make sure she apologise and sayang that person. Why cant this mum teach!!
Really very angry.

May,
I'll ask the boy to bring me to his mummy or daddy and tell them exactly what happened if I were you. Thanks to my previous occupation, I'm not afraid of speaking sternly to parents.

SSF,
I was at NTUC Tampines Mall ystrdy lunchtime. No promo for Nepia.

Oh you were referring to THAT type of mop. I have one too, kept in the storeroom but hardly used cos hb prefers the 3M one. But the 3M one needs to wash after use. I'm too lazy.

ccokie,mashy,
thanks for the compliments. btw i think kaelyn look so pretty, tot her hair was alright. even my hb said she's so pretty! mashy, so u are the one with the camcorder! i was oso wondering who is this mummy. didn't dare to intro myself coz afraid that u didn't belong to our "group" :p

CL,
I'm ok for the lunch. do you think u can show me ur vcd collection tmr as well?
Hi CL
Thanks for your information about RP lunch
1)chicken little
4)Linda
5)Aileen - my hours are flexi.

babylon,
hee.. i haven't forgotten. so paiseh to keep it at ur place for so long. will get to it soon.

re sunblock,
did some mummy say pigeon has sunblock for kids? is it easy to apply?

is anyone using nepia M size? i bot the L size but it is abit too big for Edgar. so i tot i can buy a few pieces of M to try. i didn't want to buy M coz for drypers brand, he's already wearing L. afraid the nepia M will be too small.

SSF
I think the promo ended quite long ago...
I'm waiting for nepia office to have promotion again, cos i want to get the newborn and small sizes... so thinking of going to the baby fair in June 7th to see if got...

tabbs,
i tot all along if we buy direct from nepia it's $15/pack and if we buy 1carton, ie 4packs, they will deliver? u mean this promo no longer applies?

aileen

haha, yup, that's me.

SL
Re: Pigeon porridge
I've tried that before but find that 1 packet is too little. And also if you're not the type to add salt to the porridge, this will seem rather saltish. And it's also very expensive.

Why don't you let charmaine take outside food? I'm slowly introducing outside food to my boy. It could be a little troublesome considering that that they're still eating mushy food. maybe noodles or with soup?

Aileen
Ok will bring my collection.

SL
If Charmaine is sick of the disc, you can oso bring my album for exchange of other disc

May
poor jamie leh. I will bring the boy to his parent and confront them too.

My good fren openining a Ramen shop with chef flown in from Hokkaido. Please support her. The pricing is reasonable , not those very high class restaurant.

Name : Baikohken - Chinese character ( Mei Kuang Xuan , Mei - Plum, Kuang - bright and Xuan as in Xiao Ya Xuan)

Location : 7 North Canal Road ( next to Horse Brand Bird's nest)

Tel: 65343808

Operating hours from 11 am daily.

Opening on 25 May , please give your support. Nearest car park should be at UOB plaza or OCBC

may - wah if its me, i be hopping mad too. I think i will approach the mum and show her my wounded son's head and make sure she feel apologetic. at least also warn her to watch out for her son. so is Jamie ok now? better check on the wound. *sayang sayang*

tabbiesus - jun fair? is it motherhood fair or baby fair ? oh u reminded me to stock up for my second bb too. hee...ok will wait till then to stock up. but for caleb, no choice got to get some first.

aileen - ya the promo is still on with the nepia office. but i thot recently they jack up the price to $16? or am i mistaken? and recently someone mentioned buying it from ntuc promo is slightly cheaper than $15.

Aileen,

Damien is still using M size..if you want i can spare a few to you to try...coz i also bought L size for damien before and was too big for him..end up i sell it to CL....

chicken_little - first it was mongs who reminded me of Japan and now your turn to tempt me with ramen. gosh! i am so hungry now. can't wait for lunch. ok taken note of the shop...but its in the city. see how i can make time to go down one day with hb. wow...hokkaido flown down chef! impressive...

chicken_little - wow so cheap! its less than 14 bucks per pack. too bad during that time i was packing to move hse else i would have stock it up for sure. so far i think for night diapers...nepia is good and reasonable than MP and pampers. mummies..any other recommendation for night wear?

Aileen

the nepia office is selling for 15 but there was once a promotion for 14 dollars... i am hoping at the motherhood fair.. in June they'll have a good price like the ntuc discount which is about the same.. only diff is that ntuc only stock medium size and above...

SSF
Eh.. i think its the motherhood fair?! i'm not sure who the organisers are.. just know its baby related
... prob. the same as last year.. usu.. not much stuff but can get baby wipes/cheap diapers/ FM but i think mostly all those slimming and massage sale setting up booths...

CL
Ramen
Sounds yummy but dunno if i'll get lost finding it... where is north canal road? is it near riverwalk? I'm quite blur about that part of CBD.. when are you going down? if you go down I don't mind going down together to try...

Hi Mamapanda

Thx for the useful link to sunblock. I've just got one for babies and it does have Titanium Dioxide. I got it from Leng Leng in Yahoo Auction and it's quite a big tube at $21 (postage included).

Tabbies, the aquaduck website is http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/. Number is within; look for Marie. I think the fees is $100 per month, but if you have the SouthWest card (can't remember card name), you get 10% off. I think I'll not join ... I'm actually putting Keith underwater already and travelling to Suntec is kind of a whole-day affair for the family ... but some of the tips learnt is really useful.

Re Mushroom
I was at NTUC and saw the Mycofarm mushrooms there. White Oyster Mushroom at $2.25 for 150g and Hitarake Mushroom at $2.20 for 150g. Cheaper than what's in the website.... but if you buy from the farm, they sometimes give u a little bit more.

SY, my maid has been here 1.5 yrs too and I think last month, I was not happy coz she's in a ROD mood... after some thot and talking with her, she improved. In fact, I've just asked her what she's learnt in Singapore and one of those she said is how to better take care of kids (which I did see she did improve). I've had problems with her time after time bcos she couldn't manage housework and Keith at the same time and yet don't say. Eventually, I had to re-adjust her workload and priorities. Some housework can wait and u can't be watching over the kid all the time (which I feel some maids tend to do) ... if you can, talk to her and sometimes it may be after a few times and probings before you realize where her problem is. Sometimes, I'll bring the kids down during evening or after dinner for a walk so at least she can have some peace at home. It's like us, yes, we love our kids but sometimes we need personal time, and it's good to sneak in short period of rest time on a daily basis.

May, it really depends how much you want to teach that boy... ya, sometimes we just don't understand how another female mother thinks. 2 days ago, I lend a small plastic fishtank to my neighbour, a Korean P3 girl coz she just came back with some fishes which she got from Kids Kampung. the next morning, I was shocked to see that her 6-yr old brother had taken the plastic container downstairs and was scooping soil into it. The tank had cracked. I was not happy with how the loan item is being handled and tried telling the mother but she understands so little english that I wonder if she does know what mischief her boy is up to and it's not the right behaviour ... in fact, her son's been playing quite mischieviously and dangerously around my place and all these time, you don't see the mother. What can you say to such a mother? I didn't wanna try. All I can do is to ensure that my kids do not learn these bad behaviours.

.ky.

SSF

I went to buy 8 packs and pple staying at me. Because I was buying for my frens. Then my cousin oso laugh at me as I met him there.

Will update you because I going to the reception on 24 May evening.

SL,
Reply from my Shanghai colleague

I know Hong Kong Plaza and Somerset that your friend listed but not clear about Panaroma.
Both apartments have good condition and service, I think Hong Kong Plaza is better as it is near the shopping center, it will be easy for your friend to shopping.

As for the specialty shop you mentioned, maybe it is Carrefour which is a big supermarket but specialty shop for imported meat, many foreigners would like to buy things from there.
The address of the two branches as below,
B1&B2, No.1018, ChangNing Road, ChangNing District, Shanghai

No. 268 North Shuicheng Road, Shanghai

Too bad we dun have corporate rate cannot help you book. If you need the location in Chinese character, let me know

Aileen
I owe you itinerary for Japan. Are you still going ? When are you going ? I might go for business trip for first 2 weeks of Jul.

SSF

huggies quite good too... my maid accidently let tabby wear the pull up pants overnight and she had no leaks or rashes...

The ultra dry is also very good.. i dunno if the cost is the same as nepia..

May
Oh dear, hope Jaime is alright now, that mom is so terrible! I would have asked the boy where is his mother and demand he lead me to her.

Motherhood Fair
Think it's organized by Motherhood Magazine this year. Am waiting for it to come, hopefully can get good pricing for their Progress Gold. D now likes that milk and it's evident as he finishes to the very last drop without the need of coaxing him.

CL
Ramen sounds good. Will bring hb to try =) I'll transfer the money for high-tea to you later.

SSF
I stopped using Nepia L size as it gives D the rashes at the groin area. He's now using MP for night use and for going out and bumwear for the rest of the time.

MamaPanda
The high tea is from 3pm onwards, care to join us?

Diapers:

Cephas wears Huggies pull ups to sleep when he's at my mum's. So far no leaks. But can tell it's abt to leak when he wakes up from his 10-hr slumber. This boy can really sleep! At home, he wears M size Dypers during the day & L during the nite. M cos it fits nicely & L to hold his wee wee overnite.

May - Poor Jamie. I wld likely stare at the boy until he looks uncomfy and then the mum if that happened to Cephas. I apologise at the slightest thing that Cephas does to anyone so i wld expect other parents to do so

tabbiesus - ya for day we use huggies comfort/pet pet but for night, pet pet dun seem to have good absorbent and huggies slightly better but still leak at times. i do have a few pcs of huggies pull up pants and so far so good too.

may - when is pull up pants suppose to be use for? day or night har? is it a waste to wear it in the night since its more ex than normal diaper? sorry pardon my ignorance

CL,
thanks! hope ur kids are feeling better now. and so that it's easier on you.

will definitely support ur friend. is her shop open already?

may,
poor jamie! like other mummies, i will definitely demand my apology from the little boy and let his mummy know what her little rascal did!

SSF,
oic. i'm not sure about the price either.

babylon,
thanks for offering. i will take a few pieces from u to try then. what time will u be home tonight? maybe i pick up from u this evening, together with the jarfood and calibb cream.

tabb,
ic, so it's $15. i think it's very worthwhile to buy for small sizes. i'll also stock up nepia for #2. PP is too exp!!

MUMMIES
I'm back. Nowaday quite bz with work. as my col left the company only left me alone to handle all accounts. Btw i have some question to ask. Hai my baby boy have been waking up in the middle of nite cry for carry him to sleep. Hai been a week plus he wan to carry to sleep. in the past he alway toss around on the bed to slp de. but now change his pattern. even afternoon nap need baby sitter to carry him sleep. Hai

JG Prog:

I can't believe it but it's next week already. Figured out the bus routes to get me there
Lazy me will end up taking the cab as the walk in is quite a distance. Shall lament until HB lets me have the car. Haha...

CL - U r making me lose my head over the ramen now :p My mum & aunts are leaving for Hokkaido on Thu nite. They are going to the Ramen street some more! Told them must try all the shops there & they all said they'll eat on my behalf. Wow piang!

diapers
Wow.. I've never let Ariene try any other brands of diapers except Pampers, Mamy poko and nepia before. She's quite comfy with these 3 so I don't think I'm switching. I've given some other diaper samples the touch test before and they feel kinda rough and hard to me. Ariene's skin is quite sensitive and my hb and I agree that we'll pamper her bum for her comfort and our peace of mind.

sysac
looking forward to the JG prog and hope Aden gets the energy this week then can play next week.

Ha ha you can still have the ramen from Hokkaido now. You birthday soon right ?

But cannot save you on the sushi and sashimi because got another street there in Hokkaido. kekeke

nepia
When there's offer of <$15, do let us know. Ariene's down to her last 2 packs of nepia M so I'll need to stock up again. Yup.. she's still wearing M size.. small frame. Hee hee.

ak
i think my maid knows some of the maids in the devt cos sometimes she takes very long to wash car....

Sl
u going hol again? when r u going?

ky
i guess the prob is my maid is alone with JH most of the time so i dun really have much expectations towards housework. but my hb feels that we cannot be too lax on the expectations also so i guess she does feel stress abt this.

i usually take over taking care of JH once i m home and finished my meals.

i think she will be alright finishing her contract. i can close one eye to black face easily as long as she takes good care of JH. the only thing i need to consider is whether to extend her. i want to have my second kid next year so thought it will be good if JH doesn't need to go thru too much adjustments

what would be your advice?

SSF
nepia promo at NTUC more worth it if there is. i usally will wait for the promo to buy.

may
poor jamie. what a spoilt brat the boy is. how come the parents can sit and do nothing?

Re RP lunch
mummies can next round be on day other than wed?
going to start telecommute this week on wed.

mamapanda
last time my Charmaine oso golden bum one. Only can use Pampers Premium and Mamy poko. My pocket bled very badly then.

Lucky Aden can take drypers and I using Nepia pull up since they have that Big size ( XL) but too bad no XL for tape. Would like to try huggies ultra the latest one looks good though so far no good experience with huggies tape since always leak

nepia

I'll let to stock up on nepia too when the promo is on ... Mamapanda, how heavy is Arienne? I remember she and Keith were the smaller build amongst the todds here. Keith's only 9.5kg but we are giving him L size leh ... he's been hovering round this weight for a few months. Can't break the 10kg mark lei

btw, how to let him put on weight? aiyo, that fellow eats a proper meal but no formula milk (is that why?) ... and he can't sit down a second. How???

.ky.