(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL - Yes, BD soon. Mum & aunts will definitely go for the lovely food there. They enjoyed themselves when they went Tokyo the last round. Too bad can't go with them

Hope Aden gets well & energised by this week!

Anyway, my pals are giving me a Jap treat for my BD. Maybe go to your fren's place with my cousins or HB
I am the Queen this week

Diapers: Cephas used Pampers when I was on ML. Absolutely loved it. Then I decided to try Drypers aft seeing the adverts. Bought a pack & liked it too and have been using it since then. When he turned 10 mths, my mum wanted a change to pull ups pants. He'll use Drypers or Huggies pull up pants throughout when he's at her place on Sun-Tues whereas he still uses the normal diapers when he's at home. Will use the pull-up pants occasionally when we go out from my house. I have so many diff packs at home I get confused with what to use sometimes. Haha...

I have been quite busy and sick for the past few weeks cos a lot of deadlines to meet
... only until today slightly better.

Light Stroller
I need recommendations, my pil said that the current combi one is heavy, which is true la cos the combi one is the normal type, not those light weight type. So I am going to get a light stroller for them to use when bring Clarisse out. Any mummies have good recommendation? Good and cheap?? :p

Any mummies still have the contact no. of the shop at chinatown which sells lots of baby stuffs? Can give me?

Recipe to share
I have a very simple recipe to share, given by my friend who cooks for her son.

It is modified version to cook pasta, Clarisse likes it very much and it is easy to cook. But cos my friend gives me verbally, so I do not have a formal recipe... just the steps, so maybe mummies need to agar agar...

1) Cook the pasta (I use shell type) and put aside.

2) Steam the tomato and pumpkin (I normally cut them into cubes and steam) for about 10 mins. And mash them.

3) Heat up a saucepan. Put in butter (I use those salt-free) and fry minced pork in it.

4) Add in the mashed tomatoes and pumpkin.

5) Usually I will add in about 30ml formula milk to make it more watery for the sauce.

6) When cooked, just top the sauce over the pasta and serve.

Hope you all can understand what I am trying to say haha.

Cod Liver Oil
I roughly browse thru' archieve, and I think I saw something like we can give cod liver oil to baby?? Any brand will do?

ky
Ariene was 8.9kg 78cm 2 weeks ago when I took her for the chicken pox jab. Now should still be abt the same ba. M size is still good fit for her leh. So far, the velcro, I only use up to the number 1 mark. If I velcro it anywhere looser, the diaper will fall off or the urine will leak.

Keith is not taking in any milk at all? Hmm.. subsitute his diet with more full fat cheese, eggs, chicken drumstick, etc ba. I read in a book before that children should not be given fat-free or low fat foods as they need the fats for growth and synthesis of tissues. In fact, someone mentioned that its better to give children chicken thigh and drumstick meat rather than breast meat as the thigh and drumstick meats contain more nutrition.

aileen
Nepia stopped delivering diapers to homes already? I've bought from them for the past 1 year and they've been delivering it to my home FOC leh. The last time I bought from them was 2 months ago.

Re : Nepia
agree the NTUC promo very worth it! i bot 8packs for Celeste cos it doesn't take long to finish them either... she uses bout 6-7 diapers a day.. and i got the pull up to try, pretty comfy and not too tite to pull up as compared to MP. When HB and i were queueing up to pay, the aunties n uncles looked at us wf such big wide eyes and asked HB : wah, buy so many ar? HB then say: ya,but they oni last for 2mth plus oni. hee...

Sysac - i have managed to see a mini slow cooker i like, will try out that pasta wf chix tis weekend.

May - u are too kind! i wld have asked to see the mum and tell her wat her son did and give the boy the cold stares! hope Jamie's baluku is better now, must be painful...

Mamapanda,
Yes you shd compile a recipe book!! We'd all support you! Haha

May,
I think it was you who asked me about the bumwear right? Sorry i forgot to reply you. No, it's not training pants. It's more like a substitute for diapers.

mongs,
Yes it's the Tiger Food Jar. Are you referring to the Nestle rice porridge that requires 3 mins cooking? I also put that into the Tiger Food jar, pour boiling hot water in and cover. Keep covered for 1-2hrs and it's done.
The Nestle rice porridge cooks faster than normal rice grains. And Janelle loves the Nestle porridge

God's_child,

May Celeste enjoy the dish
Now I've got to think of the diff dishes I want to whip up for Cephas for the 9 days starting from Sat when I'm home with him. Maybe can come up with more new concoctions. My mum stocked up my freezer with food liao

RE: Diapers
I have tried many brands on Janelle and she's ok with most of them. Strangely, Nepia seems to give her rashes. So i've stopped buying that. I still like Huggies the best. Huggies Ultra is very good too! But so ex!

RE: food
Yesterday I just started Janelle on 'adult food' when we went out. Ordered rice plus some egg/tofu dish with fish & spinach for her. And she LOVED it! Oh my. I think she doesn't like her unsalted baby food anymore

It doesn't help that I feel really disgusted with cooking nowadays and can't bring myself to sniff the 'aromas' of food...i wonder how all you other preggie mums manage to continue cooking for your darlings during your 1st trimester??

Went to see gynae yesterday and got the EDD for my no.2. It's 8 Jan 2008, almost exactly 2-year age gap from Janelle. Hopefully will be born in Dec coz i like the month of Dec!! Haha

re: Nepia
I also bought 10 packs during the NTUC promo. I was like so paiseh but it's really cheaper. hopefully they will have the promo soon.

SL,
I bought the instant baby porridge from NTUC, it's by Nestle. Clariss tried it during the promo when they cook and let people try. it's alright, not very salty but she only took a spoonful so now I bought a box for her to try. There are 3 satchets in a box. I will check with my MIL the reaction from her after she try it.

Nestle Rice Porridge
I thought it as a really good product when D was about 9-10 months, but the serving per sachet is really small, it wasn't enough for him and we had to cook twice! So after that I didn't buy anymore to standby at home, I tasted it and found it too tasty for my liking and was worried if it's too salty for D too.

durianlover
Think dun have to worry too much about Janelle not wanting her unsalted porridge. I do let D try out food at times (not too saltish) but he'll still eat his own food after that.

sysac
I'll try your recipe this coming Sat for D to try. I saw Cephas portion and I was like, wow looks good. The most if D don't eat the shell macaroni, I'll eat it up myself and give him quaker oats instead. hahaha

Re : Cord blood storing
just flipped thru the papers and saw this article of Spore's first baby saved by cord blood... so heart warming... he managed to get a match fr the SCBB, thank God for that...

Durianlover - i also gave Celeste jap rice wf chawamushi while at Sakae the other day. she likes it alot, and it seems pretty ' alrite' to me. i guess so long as not too salty and tasty , should be ok bah. cos i also wont hope to spoil my own market and end up having a fussy eater wf her bb porrige ...

zhimin

i just got one light stroller from Carrefour (It's by Lucky Baby under another brand). It's only $28.90 on offer (not sure whether still on offer). Fixed position, can't lie down. Wheels not great, so have to be careful where u push it to. But it's really handy when going shopping.

Durianlover
I also let my boy try the poached salmon at Ikea over the weekend. He loves it, and it's the first time i see him eating something not mashed up. He usually likes his porridge very soft coz he doesn't like to chew. But for this, he was alright chewing it. Guess it must be tasty for him. Thank GOd he didn't dev any allergies from it. But he got some rashes after eating the cheese cake for my SIL's birthday. So, still can't take cheese.

Mummies - pai seh reposting on my fren's shop. Update on the operating hours

My good fren openining a Ramen shop with chef flown in from Hokkaido. Please support her. The pricing is reasonable , not those very high class restaurant.

Name : Baikohken - Chinese character ( Mei Kuang Xuan , Mei - Plum, Kuang - bright and Xuan as in Xiao Ya Xuan)

Location : 7 North Canal Road ( next to Horse Brand Bird's nest)

Tel: 65343808

Operating hours : Daily 11:00 to 15:00 and 17:00 to 22:00, last order 21:30

Opening on 25 May , please give your support. Nearest car park should be at UOB plaza or OCBC

Durianlover

My best fren same EDD as you. Everyday I eat with her I feel like I am preggy and more excited than her. Told her I hope she delay 1 day then exactly same birthday as my aden ha ha .

ky - caleb can join arienne and keith. weighs a mere 9.2kg esp now with the dramatic fall. maybe for boys, their bum is bigger? caleb is also on nepia size L and seems so diff to pass the 10kg mark too.

zhimin - i bought my combi light weight stroller for $126 at ubi hypermart. its very light and i use it when I travel overseas and for my mum to bring him out. u know now that i have that, i hardly open my peg pegro if my hb is not ard coz tats weighs a whopping 7.5kg. we are planning to sell it after my second one is out and much older.

durianlover - so its a jan baby again for you. ya during my first mth that i was preggy which i didnt know....i felt nauseous when i prepare fish for caleb's porridge. other food still OK.

Re Mycofarm Mushroom
809389.jpg

Let me know if you're interested to get an enlarged version of the above brochure. The price reflected is as follows:
- Oyster Mushroom(Grey) $7/500g
- Oyster Mushroom(White/Hiratake) $8/500g
- Willow Mushroom $9/500g
- Emperor Shiitake $9/500g
- Royal Abalone $7/500g
- Swiss Brown $8/500g
- Portobello $8.50/500g

Just sent an email to Mycofarm to get more details on buying direct. Alternatively mummies who are interested can actually got to their farm in Lim Chu Kang to try the mushrooms.They also have guided tour every hour according to my friend, sounds interesting.

Re: Mushroom
Hmm...didn't know our bb can eat mushrooms liao. Hee hee...mummy like, maybe should let JW try too! :)

MamaPanda,
Wah, Ariene really you kou fu leh....you make her all the stuff that sounds so yummy!

May,
Hope Jamie is ok. I will be really angry at that boy. Think I would have gone over to tell the mum off.

Re: Nepia
Haha...i should tell my hb. He always say i kiasu...just buy and buy when JW hasn't even finished using those at home.

Mamapanda

Is there a 12% OUB promo for shipping from US? I can't find it at their website leh. Can provide more details. Like that maybe I'd also like to order some stuff from US. =P

aileen,

sorry will be coming home late tonite but i m going on leave on this friday....pm me your add..get my hb to send the thing over to you this friday..

SH

My hb used to say that too. But later he realised that it's better to stock up then no need to keep going to the supermarket to buy. We used to buy milk powder 1 tin at a time. We still laughed at a mommy who took 4 tins at one shot for being KS. Then we started buying them in half dozens and realised her wisdom in it. Haha! We now buy 6 tins each time and get the supermarket to deliver. easier and don't need to go so often. We also started stocking up diapers so that we don't always have to make trips to the supermarket or face the prob of running out of diapers. We were caught in a fix once when we ran out of milk powder. so jia lut. Now my hse is a mini baby store. haha!

Anyone interested to take over this pair of clark shoes ? Bought for Aden but too small for him because he got ba ba feet. If no one I will post in market place. Size 6 (22.5) Bought at $55. Can let go at $50. Brand New

809429.jpg

RE: food
Yeah true, actually i find that i also can't be too bothered about whether what Janelle eats is really salt-free already. To me, as long as she eats i'm happy
Haha!

RE: mushrooms
i've tried mushrooms but Janelle doesn't seem to like them. Maybe my method of cooking not too exciting that's why not so nice! Must try frying with garlic! Sounds cooL

CL,
Oh such a coincidence to have same EDD as your fren. I know what you mean...i also can't wait for my girlfriends to be preggie. Think if anyone of them actually gets pregnant i'll be super excited for them lor!! Till now, i'm still the first amongst my gfs to have a child.

mongs,
Yes hot water is also workable for the Tiger food jar. Must make sure it has just reached boiling point.

May,
Nvm, next time (fingers crossed that there's no next time though!!) if anything like that happens you know how to respond. I would also show black face and confront the parent if i were yoU!

mashybrain - sama sama...i buy 15 tins of milk powder at one go from dumex supplier which is already the max. i also stock up diapers/toiletries when its cheap so that it can save me trips down to buy the neccessities too. haha so we are in the same boat. the KIASU boat. and recently, thanks to CIndy, i stock up bottles of body wash and baby wipes too!

babylon - Damien still size M. hmm..maybe my boy has a big bum. haha..

re: nepia promo in ntuc
wasted i didnt stock up. seems like mummy here really do their homework. pls let me know when the next promo is up

Hi May,.
Oh dear...must be very pain for Jamie..
If this happen to me...I will go to look for her mother with 1 to 1 and give her a good lesson and I will also say this to her...You are really a good mother and with good teaching style ...sigh..

RE: HP Screen protector
I was angry during lunch time on today..
Got from hb new phone DOPOD 818 Pro and bring it to a hp shop for the screen protector.
A pretty lady did paste the screen protector on my hp and I check was really well done. But when reach office and find out is actually got a lot dust inside the screen protector....
..really angry and somemore heavy rain and I could not go back to the shop.

SSF,

Damine is consider small build coz some of the 12mth clothes is still big enuf for him to wear....As for bottom, he still able to wear 6-12mth from Old Navy.

But i think he got "DA TOU" aka big head....think his head is heavy..

mamapanda,
yaya nepia still does delivery.

babylon,
aiyo, so paiseh for u to bring it over to my place leh. actually my place is very near to ur place. i will pm u my address. let me know if u want me to pass u the clothes from CL, since we are meeting for lunch tmr.

Re : Small sized babies

my Celeste can join the 'small baby' club! she last weigh bit bit short of 10kg a mth ago... hope the next time i put her on the scale, she can creep past it
she is still on Nepia M size and she actuali is still wearin her 3-6mth Osh Kosh rompers!!! my cupboard is so full of clothes cos she doesnt seem to outgrow them..sigh

btw does anyone know where i can buy straws that are like those used for yakult but abit longer. i need that for edgar's meiji milk. he only like to drink from that kind of thin straw. faintz!!

re: small sized babies,
so is my edgar. oso can wear his 3-6mths clothes. only now he's beginning to outgrow some of them coz of his pertruding tummy. but i've stopped letting him wear rompers coz i feel kind of weird for a 16mth old to wear romper! and also i want him to wear new clothes which i bot so long ago, awaiting for him to fit into them! keke...

Ha ha 3-6 months does not last aden very long leh. He started wearing 1 year old clothes very young and also now wearing what his 3 years old cousin pass down

god's child - celeste is a girl..so its ok to be small built. i think for boy..i abit worry abt it esp the hgt. caleb does not seem to be tall even though we both are not that short lor. yesterday my mum's neighbour brought her 9 mths old son down to play with caleb and gosh! he is much bigger size and taller. i think one push my caleb sure fall. hahaa...

aileen/babylon - i think those US clothings are really big and for asian babies, we tend to be able to wear them longer which is good. caleb is also still wearing clothings meant for 6-12 mths. so same gang...beanie size babies. kekeke...

Small babies

Found it funny coz when i order ON stuff from queen..i still order 12-18mth and damien is going to be 17mth soon.

Aileen,

can help me to take the clothes from CL...thanks..i will send your stuff to your house on this friday...

me going on leave...need to have some couple time before the school holiday...

Babylon,
Hmm..would think that Damien be wearing Nepia L cos already 10kg plus. Megan is 10.6kg and has been wearing Nepia L for a long time liao..:p probably big butt like Daddy!

god's child,
so good, can keep wearing the clothes. Megan is wearing 18mths clothes already...

God's_child,

Celeste is fine. She looks alright for her age
I think some US/Euro sizes are different. Cephas is also wearing some of the 6-12 month lot from those brands. Oshkosh & Hush Puppies fit him according to his age better.

babylon - Oops...I ordered 18-24 mths for Cephas in anticipation that by the time the order comes, he's 18 mths. Haha, may end up too big for him too.

Tracy,

he can still fit in the 6-12 bottom...Using Napia he can still tape at 1 - 2.

He got small butt but big head...the weight come from his head.

Babylon,
Megan's L size Nepia tape at position no.2. She also got big head like me. haha, so maybe her weight also from the big head.

Sysac,

Big is better than small...at keep first.
HB went US last year and stock up the clothes till 3 yrs old. Some already use..and some are still too big for him....damien is really like chicken little.