(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

To all Mushroom Lovers
Anyone interested in buying pesticide free mushrooms direct from a local farm? This is from Mycofarm (or more famously known as Everbloom). Recommended by my colleague who said that the mushrooms are so fresh that they don't have any slimy feel or smell on them. She find that the ones from China and Korea have a strange bitter aftertaste but not this. Her 4yr old son hates mushroom but surprisingly eats these. I'm asking for more info on the delivery & any bulk purchase discount. Maybe we can indicate who's interested first and I'll furnish more info when my colleague's friend get back to me. Per pack is 500g.

www.mycofarm.com.sg
807869.jpg

Mycofarm Mushroom - Name / No. of packs (1 pack = 500g)
1) Clare - 2pk

SSF,

I got a commercial cleaner to clean my place before we move in. Super-clean after that cos they use the commercial grade cleansing stuff.

Cookie,
you okay on Wed?

CL,
Would like to collect the biscuits from that so that Charmaine got her fav biscuits to eat when we go Shanghai. We are going to Shanghai on 1 June. Am so worried about eating for Charmaine there now.

Clare

My boy loves mushrooms! It's one of those ingredients that i'll always include in his diet.

I'm interested but I would want to know more details first before i commit. Thanks!

cookie,
oh now, that means i look fat!! :p i was asking my hb when i changed into my bikini at home, whether i look fat or preggy, he said preggy. but i myself oso think i look fat nia, ie, slim but got tummy! i'd rather look preggy!! :p anyways...

SL,
ya i oso think it's fine. well that's what my PD says anyways

SL,
Shanghai got a shop that sell imported stuff. You pay a bit more for confirm ok food then getting stuff from local market. Which hotel you staying ? Try to find out more for you.

Aileen
You look good the other day when I saw you leh. Where got fat

sl/chicken_little - the contractors already did a thorough cleaning for us but somehow new hse like very dusty. cannot dun wear a bedroom slippers. hopefully the part time cleaner can do a good job while i head out to buy a new magic clean stand soon. btw, somehow the stand has a rubber thingy and it always wear off easily. i have bought 2 so far and it disintegrate easily. chicken_little - how is yours? does it disintegrate easily?

re:mushroom
so far i havent let caleb try any mushrooms yet. only once the button mushroom in a soup when we dine outside. hmm..am i too strict for his diet? hee..

SSF
Fresh mushrooms should be quite safe for them to eat. Ariene loves pan fried shitake, white, brown and portpbello mushrooms with butter n garlic. You can try that out too.

New recipe
I've just created a new salt-free recipe for your darlings to try out. I've tried it on Ariene and she was literally beggin me for Mumm Mumm when she smelled me cooking it.

Baby Korean BBQ
================
1/4 tsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp sugar
4 large, thin slices of tenderloin pork/beef/chicken
1/2 large yellow onion, cut into med strips
small knob of butter (i dont use cooking oil to cook Ariene's foods)
1/2 clove garlic, sliced thinly

method:
1. Use the meat hammer and hammer the meat slices on both sides to tenderlise them.
2. add in soy sauce, sugar, 1/2 the sliced onions and some water to season the meat.
3. Leave meat to season for at least 30min.
4. Melt butter in non stick pan.
5. Sautee garlic and the remaining onions still 1/2 cooked.
6. Add in seasoned meat slices and onions. Open up the meat such that they lay flat on top of the onions. This will infuse the frangrance of the onions into the meat.
7. Turn the meat over to cook the other side. When the meat gets too dry, add in some water to keep the onions and meat moist.
8. Turn the meat slices over a few times to ensure even cooking on both sides but do not overcook it else it'll become tough. When meat is cooked, remove from the pan.
9. Add in small amount of water to make some BBQ gravy. Add in cooked rice into the pan and stir fry the rice in the gravy until the rice is evenly coated with the gravy.
10. Remove rice from pan. Onions and garlic can be eaten too if your baby eats them. If not, discard.

If your babies are not accustomed to chewing, you might want to cut the meat into small bite size before serving it. Hope your babies like this recipe.

BTW, forgot to mention.. use low heat. Don't use high heat or the butter and gravy will dry up and blacken very fast and they'll get burnt.

may
i also feed direct for the cod liver oil. 3 small teaspoons 15 ml.

mamachan
hmm, when my mum spoke to her, she say she likes to take care of kids. so i also dunno whether my MIL hear wrongly. nowadays my MIL words not coherent at times. she will tell different stories to different pple. not that she's doing it on purpose i think. so i told hb better monitor and see whetehr she's getting senile.

i did consider putting in those 2 -3 times playgroup but transport is a problem. then i have to let my maid bring him for the classes and usually there's a lot of maids there. not that i dun wan her to ahve frens but i will not be able to know who she mixes with.

may
yeah the best way is to reduce the visits. or else sounds like jamie will pick up bad habits.

aileen
my maid is not married so no kids yet. i feel that she will sayang my boy cos she takes care of him since he was a bb. i dun blame her for feeling sian but just dun show me the black face lor. see already also worried

sysac, SSF
yeah my maid knows that she has to look after bb prior to hiring. my mum just spoke to her and she says if i still wan to take her, she is willing. but then she wants a day off every week. i m not too keen on that so got to discuss with hb

is it true that from next year onwards all Indo maid entitled to day off?

mamapanda - thks for the suggestion. i guess i have to be more open to letting him try new food. ok, will definitely try that out one day.

chicken_little - wah 2 yrs liao? hmm...how come mine so lousy. where did you keep your stand? i kept in a room that has not much ventilation. does it matter? anyway now i will try to put it somewhere more airy for the new stand coz not cheap also.

SY - i thot it has started that all maid need a day off or else you have to compensate them? then i also read that indo maid's pay gg to increase soon as well but not sure when.

i can understand your worry of giving them freedom and yet worry that they will abuse it by getting hanky panky outside and mixing with the wrong ppl. i guess i will have my fair share of worries and headache when mine come in oct.

SSF
do you expose the magic clean to sunlight? i change 3 within 5 years! and the 3rd one i am using now is with me for 2 yr + liao. and i don't let it expose to direct sunlight as what i did for the 1st 2.

Re : mushroom

Clare, this is the farm that my family went visiting 2 months ago and we got addicted to it.... bought another round recently. What's the BP price like? Coz hubby said can get at NTUC at promo price (not sure if still on) though...

May, I think ok for children to fall down, but yes, I do agree your FIL is too much. I wonder if he has ever used a knife before ... coz some older generation men are very MCP.... so he might be really ignorant about such stuff. Ask you hubby and he should know... but now u know better than to leave your girl alone with him. My FIL has never carried any children volunteerily nor play with them. When we visit my ILs, my FIL would be sitting there the whole day and my MIL would be busy cooking ... so whether we go or not, it doesn't matter very much to my children coz the grandparents hardly interact with them. Perhaps you have to plan ahead to occupy your weekends so as to avoid going down that often.

SY, if your maid got no heart to work, send her back. If you do intend to get another maid, then may as well do it now. My maid is having 2nd thot abt continue to work so now I'm negotiating with her to work another year for me, and then I'll not have anymore.

Aileen, were you pregnant? Sorry never see properly ... btw I saw you in your bikini, you were already submerged in the waters

.ky.

sunny
oh ya.. haha. not so salt free then. forgot abt the soy sauce part but its so little, I guess its fine. I used like 2 drops only so I estimated it to be about 1/4 teaspoons of soy sauce or less.

CL,
hee... i mean not literally fat fat lah. just a tummy which makes me look pear-shaped. keke.... not nice mah...

KY,
ya i'm expecting. 3.5mths now. i quickly jump into the waters coz ashamed of my "neither here nor there" figure. keke... i won't be so shy if i look very pregnant! :p sorry, didn't even get a chance to say hi to you.

sunny - the first one i placed behind a refrigerator...and i think thats why it wear out so soon due to heat and moisture.

second one i placed in an empty room where the windows are not open but door is kept open. but that one also didnt last long.

now the one i gg to buy soon...frankly I dun know where i shld place lei. haha...

sunny - the first one i placed behind a refrigerator...and i think thats why it wear out so soon due to heat and moisture.

second one i placed in an empty room where the windows are not open but door is kept open. but that one also didnt last long.

now the one i gg to buy soon...frankly I dun know where i shld place lei. haha...

mamapanda
mayb just use those light soy sauce bah. i don't know when i will be giving my gal salt/soy sauce leh. 'cos she's still ok with bland food loh.

SSF
i put mine near dustbin in my kitchen. don't know where CL put hers.

aileen

Don't worry you are not gross.. u still look like hot babe even tho preggy... i so envious... all the more dun dare wear bikini.. hahah.. no lah.. my tummy really exploded these 2 weeks and somemore got the PUPPS rash all over so look really gross... actually i was inspired by u to go look for a tankini at suntech after the trial but couldn't find one my size...so depressing...i dare not even look to see if got stretch marks now.. i'm praying not... in denial ya... i'm quite lucky this time round my linea nigra very faint.. and my belly button is normal but stretched but not popped out

Clayre
I'd like some mushrooms! Can count me in? which ones are you ordering?

Linda
I haven't confirmed if i will join but i'm hoping too be able to go on fri 8 ... dun pay me yet.. i sms if confirmed going...

If anyone taking leave that day and want to go to the baby fair at expo before that.. let me know.. i feel like going for the babyfair and then joining the high tea

mamapanda
you should compile a baby cook book.. and sell it.. i'm sure a lot of mommies would buy.. so yummy all your recipes...

RE: tefal kitchen set
my girl loves it but like SL's charmaine.. my girl will step on the oven door.. sigh.. i hope it last more than 1 month but it seems quite study actually...

KY
i know about the skygarden and the playground already... i think my girl likes the water more... do you have the no. to call for aquaducks.. i'm quite keen on starting her on it..

SSF - Yes, new houses have a dusty feel to it. I rem mine was despite all the mopping. Took abt 2 months b4 we lost the sandy feel on our feet.

When we 1st moved in, I told HB all my bright ideas. Let's renovate the house every 5 yrs. Now that 5 yrs is coming up soon. Haha, I don't think so! Everything was new then so not much shifting as they were all delivered direct to the house. Ask me to pack/unpack now will give me a headache. Anyway, we may shift in 2-3 yrs time. Downgrade to a smaller place. Hopefully, it will materialise

Mamapanda - sounds yummy!

My new recipe over the wkend:

Boil Chicken breast with dried scallop, mushrooms,wolfberries,pumpkin in the slow-cooker for abt 1.5 hrs.Throw in marcaroni when time to feed. It was delicious & Cephas enjoyed it on Sat.

tabbi,
Maybe when I have more free time, I shall do that then maybe, I'll become Singapore's very own Annabel Karmel! Haha! That would be nice

SSF,
I keep my magic mop hanging in the bathroom, away from direct sunlight. So far okie, also last almost 5yrs liao. Just need to soak it in water for awhile before using cos the sponge harden.

RE:Cod Liver Oil
Haha, went to get one bottle during lunchtime. Scotts Orange. But pharmacist says wait till she completely recover from cough then start on it. Geez...was hoping to start soon.

tabb,
thanks for the compliments. i won't say i'm a hot babe, esp w/o makeup and unruly hair!! but i was sure feeling HOT HOT HOT that sunny day!! that's y decided to plunge in as well. And silly me tot it was indoor! :p btw do u have any pics of the babies in the water? forgot to bring my camera.

mamapanda,
i 2nd tabb's idea, u really shld write a cookbook!! *impressed*!!!!

tabbi, aileen,
Thanks for the compliments
I've really no confidence if anyone will want to buy my book cuz I'm a nobody who doesn't even work in a restaurant or have any certificates in cookery or track records.

Yah... mamapanda,

if you publish a book.. frankly i will be the first one to buy coz you have tried them on your girl already and confirm nice one.. however if you can compile .. and sell me me i will be willing to buy too but not too ex.. how about giving me you qing price... coz we exclassmates mah.haha

rena
haha. Let me see if I have the time to compile the book first ba. If I really want to write one, will need to make the book more comprehensive by putting in general info on baby's diet too. then, there's also copyright issues etc. As for book design and publisher, I've got no problems cuz my uncle is a printer and my cousin is a designer. haha. my only obstacle is limited time.

SSF
i compensate my maid for not giving day off

ky
yeah my mum did talk to her. somehow i think she still wants to work but maybe the stress of cleaning and looking after JH got to her for a while.

mamapanda
the recipe sounds nice but dun think JH will accept anything now other than porridge...if i give him anything other than porridge, he only takes a few mouthfuls ad that's it...

he even rejects cereal now.

Clare
wat's the BP price like? i do put mushrooms in porridge for my boy and i love mushrooms too

mamapanda
we will retrieve all your recipes you have shared so far. Can check out yahoo group already have a few of your recipe ha ha

i need more of your recipe to make my boy eat man. Running out of food for him to try liao. Now must find the best to present to him

cityhall lunch on 23 may, 12 noon
1)chicken little
2)SL ?
3)cookie?

anyone ? Flo, tabbi, rena want to join i will bring along the innovativeland toys.

SY,
It's possible that most maids would rather not take care of toddlers. I suspect that's why my first maid bail out on me after 14 mths - she did say before that babies are much easier to care for and I suspect playing with Lucas reminds her of her son (he was 2 yrs old when she left him for Spore).

Denmy,
Don't fret, I'm sure Keenan has you as #1 eventually. Like what SY says, maids are afterall 'outsider' and will leave eventually. I know it's hard, I do get jealous when Lucas doesn't want to give me a hug but run to my mom, hug her and give me the cheeky look. With my new maid he is starting to play and laugh with her (converted in just 1 mth after snarling at her during first 3 weeks). I'm at my 7th month now and feel energy level totally dropping, carrying Lucas less often and can't keep up with his play (I think he feels mommy is like a boring old fart now, can't run with him etc.)

queen,
I think there are many other fields that value engineering background. My company was recruiting supply chain personnels and a few that were recruited came from engineering (semi-con for their pdn planning experience). In fact, the opening are all regional positions.

May,
I just bought from bumwear website 3 weeks ago! 2 diapers and 2 training pants. The training pants are MUCH better in terms of fit and ease of walking.

Aileen
No lar you dun look fat.. please!
ANyway I din catch your front view..heehee.. I saw your back view and cannot tell pregnant lor.
I was thinking to myself.. I thought Aileen was 1 of the 2nd time pregger mum...hmmm...hee

CL
I transfer $$ for my loot and innovative toy now to you. On wed, I will pay for the biscuit ok? cos I dunno the exact amt yet from you.

I updated :
cityhall lunch on 23 may wed, 12 noon
1)chicken little
2)SL ?
3)cookie - Ok.. can it be 1150pm? if u guys having flexi timing for lunch? cos u know la, my co very strict with working hours. if at 12noon ok also except I have to leave very soon :p

CL, I've just transferred $40 into your account. Ref: 1185569968

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

Kindly confirm your attendance if you have taken/able to take leave that day. If yes, kindly transfer $40 to Chicken Little.

1) MamaChan (Confirm)
2) Rachel
3) Chicken Little - ok at the moment hope no last min deadline
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
7) Linda tjhin( will let your know in advance if I can't make it )
8) mashybrainz (will be bringing caeden unless can find help)
9) ky + 1 boy (your boy is FOC as they don't charge for 4 year olds)
10) queen (should be ok...unless I found a job by then)
11) Flo (should be ok unless biz trip got extended)
12) cookie (confirm)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16) Esh_mummy (TBC)
17) bblon (TBC)
18) Yuki
19) Cindy (TBC)
20) Denmy (Confirm) PAID; ref: 1185569968
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

CL
Wanted to send u email on my payment details but seem like yahoo mail hang
so just post here before I forget.

To Account POSB Current
757-03942-7
Amount S$48.62
Transaction Reference 1185581917

Biscuit I pay you when meet
The High-tea... I will transfer once I confirmed nearer to date. Tho I took leave but still subject to my mth end closing shcedule.

see ya on wed.

ky,
Thanks for organising the aquaducks. Ryan really enjoys it altho he has separation anxiety everytime the instructor takes him away from me...i think it is a phase he is going thru as he is generally happy in the waters.

Tabbie,
You keen to sign up? Me too. Any idea on the costs etc?

SY,
My maid and yours can shake hands. She is showing me black face nowadays also. Am actually quite sick of her and thinking of sending her back. But ryan is very attached to her. Even with no off days, these maids will find a way to make frens. My maid is already frens with the other maids in my devt. Lending each other books, VCDs, CDs etc....

Aileen,
You still look v good, think you maybe having a boy since you mentioned "pointed tummy" which the old folks believe means u are expecting a boy...

CL,
How's Aden?

Rest of mummies at aquaducks, I only recognise Clare, Flo and Aileen. Didn't have time to talk to the rest as never met you gals before. But I did recognise Cookie as I spotted Kaelyn and thot, what a beautiful babe!

Clare,
By the way, can i get the shot you took of me and Ryan? I ddint bring a camera and thank u very much for taking our pics!

AK
haha thanks for the compliment. Actually she has a "terrible" hair cut that morning. ILs brought her to cut hair without informing us and I was really really mad when I saw her "new" hair style.

I was thinking finally manage to keep a girly hair and next moment it was cut away, now abit Bu nan Bu niu...haizz
Sorry for the complaint..heehee... thanks again for your compliment.

CL
won't be able to make it for the lunch on 23, but i'm going to try and make it for the buffet on the 8th ... can't confirm.. just hope i don't have any special duties on that day...

I remember there was a time when a few mummies here were talking about a tiger food jar that is supposed to be able to cook porridge without any cooking. may I know the exact name of the good jar and the functions? am bringing clariss to japan this friday and I bought some instant baby porridge but that still require 3 mins cooking. I was thinking if I buy the food jar, it should work if I put it in for longer period of time. was thinking of bringing the slow cooker there but I voltage is not correct. don 't think it will work. please let me know. thanks.

mongs
Its just called the Tiger Food Jar I think. There's a picture of soup and porridge on the outside and it writes that it is suitable for porridge and soup on the box. Anyway, I'll confirm again tonight at home if nobody else answers your question.

One thing to note about the Tiger food jar though. Its not suitable for brown rice porridge. I tried it out by putting in 3 tsp of white rice and 2 tsp of brown rice. It turned out that the brown rice was not cooked enough even though I had soaked the rice for 30min before boiling them together with a suitable amount of water over heat in a small pot before pouring into the jar. The consistency of the porridge is good. Not too watery. The meat was just cooked but the brown rice tasted alittle sandy (not cooked). Ariene had diahrrea from indigestion the next day after eating the half cooked brown rice. The white rice was just nice. Just like the mushy porridge Ariene likes.

Recipe book
Maybe I should just get started and see how it goes
Start typing out few recipes a day, starting from weaning foods for babies at 4 months.

aileen

so you're the hot mummy in bikini! Didn't even realise you were preg! haha, there wasn't any introduction so i didn't know some of you gals. hehe.