(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

durianlover,
I jus bought Megan a Disney Cinderalla doll that's all soft material. But its not real looking thing. Only $19.90 at Robinsons. I too didn't wanna spend too much in case she doesn't like it and true enuf, she still prefers her cars and guns. Oh boy...

SY,
In your opinion, do you think your maid is really overworked or simply showing black face? My SIL's maid is constantly showing black face and she is definitely not overworked.

Mashy,Tabbiesus,Flo,Cookie,Cheng,Sep03bride

Sent you email on the payment details for the Innovativeland purchase.

Sigh
Aden has lost more than half kg liao. He is now nuai nuai walk a few steps must lie down and rest liao. Had refused food and milk for 2 days liao. Only want plain plain water. Went for 4th consultation this week at another clinic and was given a puff. I think this is easier than Neb. Hope it realli helps. Just surrender him to my nanny to see if she can make him eat.

tracy
i think it is both. even i get sian staying at home the whole day with JH. i find it really tiring to stay at home with him the whole day. so usually i wil bring him out for walks etc. but for my maid, i dun let her do that so she has to only entertain him within the 4 walls of my home. plus JH is easier outside.

so i feel that she feels stressed from taking care of him and having to do housework at the same time. and she ends up showing black face.

CL,
dun worry, he will put back the weight soon. how come he seems to be taking quite some time to recover?

ever since JH started taking cod liver, he has not been down with cold cough etc. so i think it really helps to strengthen his immunity.

SY
Are you worried that your maid might start interacting with the rest in the neighbourhood? For me, I do allow my helper to bring Daren down to the playground or to the playgym at the next door Delta Gym for an hour or so. It helps for the little energizer bunny of ours to exert all that energy and it gives your maid some breather which will do her some good. Like you said, it is tiring for yourself to entertain JH the whole day at home, it'll be much more for our helper to do so plus having to make sure the house is clean and cook dinner.

CL
Hang in there! Don't worry, I'm sure Aden will put on weight double once he recovers. Give Aden my love.

mamachan
yeah i m quite concerned abt letting her interact with the other maids in the neighbourhood. and sometimes she does get distracted when the tv is on and she's taking care of JH when i m having my dinner. so if i let her bring him downstairs, i will be quite worried abt her neglecting JH once she starts talking to other maids. even now, when she goes to wash the car, i know she will sometimes meet other maids cos she can take very long to wash the car but i just close one eye.

so in a way, in a bit of dilemna.

CL

thanks, will transfer the money soon.
hang in there! It's been quite some time since Aden started falling sick. Even with neb, he's still like that?

Re: cod liver oil
i also agree that since taking cod liver oil, my boy has fallen sick less often. In fact he has been clear from bronchi infection since Jan.
so happy for him.

Re: Aquaducks

My boy had a great time there yesterday with the other children.
Think it was so fun, he had nightmare last night leh. He started screaming at night and wanted me to hold him to sleep.

SY,

i Really dun know how to make him guai.. but maybe i was a sham then and i always make sure he do things my way and not his way.. i never give in to him at all..

RE: hand behind

yesterday elijah was so funny..i am not sure where he learn it from.. during our churh service.. he was walking a round putting his hands behind his back as if inspector and walking up and down and inspecting the rows.. so funny..

like an adult

COD LIVER OIL
Can i know what brand are you all give to your love one?

Fresh milk
All this while damien had been very fussy during milk time..last sat. i gave him fresh milk and was very suprised that he finsihed it without any fuss...not sure it is advisable to intro fresh milk at this age.

may
glad that jamie is not having chicken pox. must have really scareed you when you saw red spots right? whenever my gal got red spots on the body, my mil got very worried, too.

rena
elijah was so cute. my gal likes to swing her hand forward and backward when walking, like those old ppl strolling in the park. hehe....

re: milk supply
my supply drops to 20ml. so, decided to stop expressing already. meanwhile just let my gal to have oat milk and the EBM in the freezer. here ends my moo-moo life.

KY

A BIG THANK you f or arranging the aquaducs... it was really good.. i really want to enrol my girl for it....

btw does anyone know if the swimming pool at suntech is free for all to go in or restricted?

Couldn't go in the water with tabby cos my swim suit didn't manage to arrive on time.. and didn't want to go in a bikini which my hubby recommended but i think its quite gross to expose my belly :p hahaha...

CL.. will try and transfer the money today..

Btw mommies popular at orchard Mrt is having moving out sale... just to let you know 20% storewide including stationary... if need any craft material i think its quite worth it... books a bit kiam chye like that... but if you want to buy paints, crayons... can be quite cheap..

Tabbiesus
No hurry, just do it when you are free.

Aiyo so many sales going on now. Kingkow got preview sale from 22 -24 May. I love to go but realli no strength to shop now.

Sunny
you have done well. I am sure YX will appreciate mummy's hardwork.

Babylon
Ya can give fresh milk liao. Some pd actually will encourage to give fresh milk. Dun buy the low fat one hor.

Aquaducks
Too bad missed the class. Hope to be able to join the one in Jun

Mashybrainz
I should go get the cod liver oil too liao.

Sunny
You BF YX all the way till now considered very good. Well done! I'm sure she will appreciate your determination to BF her for more than a year.

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

Kindly confirm your attendance if you have taken/able to take leave that day. If yes, kindly transfer $40 to Chicken Little.

1) MamaChan (Confirm)
2) Rachel
3) Chicken Little - ok at the moment hope no last min deadline
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
7) Linda tjhin( will let your know in advance if I can't make it )
8) mashybrainz (will be bringing caeden unless can find help)
9) ky + 1 boy (your boy is FOC as they don't charge for 4 year olds)
10) queen (should be ok...unless I found a job by then)
11) Flo (should be ok unless biz trip got extended)
12) cookie (confirm)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16) Esh_mummy (TBC)
17) bblon (TBC)
18) Yuki
19) Cindy (TBC)
20) Denmy (Confirm)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

tabbiesus
I think the Suntec pool is restricted for those having classes and to tenants and staff working in the companies in Suntec. Public not allowed to access I think.

Fresh Milk
I've been contemplating for awhile if it's alright to intro and let D try out fresh milk. But the PD I go to told me to hold on till he's around 3 years of age.

Hi Tabbie,.

Will you go to the Hi-Tea at Marrot Hotel on 8 June? If yes....I will pay you for the Crayola...

CL,..
Dont worry about the weight ,,,,give him a time after few more days sure he will eat more...
Good to hear that your are ok nowwww.

Rena,..
Your son so cute...

Babylon
The cod liver ..I give it to Gracie is EFAMOL.

Re : Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session,

I'll get back to CL and Mamachan soon ...

Re : Aquaducks
Nice to meet and re-meet some of the mothers yesterday, esp AK who was in the same class as me. The water is so lovely yesterday right? Those who are keen to go for the trial should really go... Sorry I had to rush off coz my older boy was "hungry" yesterday and the older male specimen in my family was 2 legs out the door even as I was talking *that's one big reason why I prefer him not to come for such events sometimes. hiaks!* ... didn't manage to talk to Flo coz she was trying to coax her girl to join the class... hope everyone had fun. Anyone got nice photos to share?

Tabbie, ya, the door needs an access card to enter. It was left open for us yesterday ... anyway, we got lost yesterday and we found an open playground and a sky garden (if you go up to Toys-R-Us on 3rd level and exit by the glass door on the right, it's there)

Re : Fresh Milk
Mamachan, can take from 1 yr old. I let mine at 1 and now Keith's on goat milk sweet. I think at 3 yrs old, it's nuts but practical everything can be from 3 yrs old

.ky.

May,
Eh, how come you suddenly ask me try for #3?? I haven't even have #2. hahaha...wrong person huh.

Flo,
I dreamt of Melody last night. Dunno why I had to babysit both Mel and Meg and oh boy...I went crazy cos both of them like energizer bunny and climbing everywhere! Nightmare...haha

RE:Cod Liver Oil
Hmm...very keen to start Meg on this too.

fresh milk
If u read Annabel Karmel's books or Dr Miriam Stoppard's books or any other child dietician books, you'll find that Europeans all feed their 1 yr old children fresh milk. They're not supporters of formula milk.

Fresh milk,
Edgar is now on Fresh milk. I get the Meiji brand one for him coz it looks like Yakult. Yakult was his fav drink but since we can't let him have too much of it, we "tricked" him into thinking that the Meiji one is yakult. Fortunately he got tricked so finally he's back to drinking milk again. But he only takes the strawberry flavour.

aquaducks,
Thanks KY for organising the class! However we won't be signing up for the class coz my hb cut his feet while in the pool. think there's a sharp edge for one of the uneven tiles. silly reason ya!! anyways, if anyone of u are signing up for the class juz becareful of the tiles in the pool. unfortunately my hb doesn't know which tile in particular coz he only notice the cut after he left the vacinity.

oh ya, can the mummies who took photos at aquaducks share the pics coz I didn't bring along my camera? thanks!

tabby,
i'm one gross mummy who will wear bikini during preggy days, coz i don't want to waste $$ buying maternity swimsuit only to wear it a few times! keke...

Aileen,

You mean Edgar is totally on Fresh Milk? No more FM?

I also gave damien the Meiji brand..but the white one...did not let him try the other flavour milk". Btw, did you give him warm milk or chill milk?

I m afraid if i give him total fresh milk, he did not get enuf extra nutrient from FM.

rena
yeah maybe easier when u r at home most of the time with elijah. i can't really control how my maid teaches him and prob she will give in to him most of the time.

babylon
i give the scotts original flavour. in fact JH loves that

re aquaducks
sounds like the class is very good. maybe i shall join the one in june. JH is a bit afraid of the water so maybe i can pick up some techniques from the class.

tracy
think cod liver oil really works for JH lor. remember last time i always share he kept having cough and cold? he hasn't got that for quite a few months already. even if pple ard him got slight cold or cough, he also din catch it. so i m quite happy that i let him try though hb wasnt keen.

SH,
I will contact you this evening to see if I can pass you the biscuit.

Krissie and SL
I brought your biscuits to office so anytime you want to meet for lunch we can arrange and hand over

Cookie
Dun forget your "loot" in my office hor

re: Cod liver oil
I also give the Scotts original one. Ethan loves it. But recently i so forgetful & stopped giving him for a few weeks, that's when he caught the cough bug last sun. Now i diligently give. Hopefully can build up his immunity again.

Re: Aquaducks
May I know how much is the trial?

aileen , re: bikini
You're not the only one. I was swimming in my bikini while carrying Ariene all the way till 7.5 months when I cant fit into my bikini anymore cuz the top and bottom was too small and cant fit anymore. Best thing is some people didn't even know I was preggie and tot I've grown round.

CL/mamachan
thanks! don't know when will my another moo-moo life starts. haha....

mamachan
did you doc tell you his/her concern to start fresh milk only when you boy is 3?

tabbie
if i am not wrong, suntec swimming pool is restricted to tenants only.

RE: MIL
Mummies, I am here to lament again. I hate Sundays! My FIL and MIL is driving me nuts. How to "get rid" of them!! Every sunday is like either I die or u die kind. Or perhaps I am too over-protective over Jamie.

1) MIL bring Jamie out to the corridor and let her cycle on their neighbour bicycle. She was busy gossiping about someone which I cannot hear clearly from the living room. Suddenly I heard a loud bang. Jamie fall onto the floor together with the bicycle while playing on how to turn around. I stared hard at hubby and he rushed out to carry Jamie and gave MIL a scolding for neglecting Jamie. MIL still date to talk back and say "How I know she will turn ah."

2) MIL cooking in kitchen. FIL carry Jamie in to see how she cook. I stare at hubby and ask him to call FIL come out. When we turn around, so shocked to see FIL is teaching Jamie how to hold a REAL knife!! I quickly hit hubby's lap. Hubby immediately scream at FIL. "Don't teach her give her sharp things!" FIL put it down and tell Jamie," Not I dun let u play, ur daddy say cannot. We go out to living room ok?"

Walau.. I really dunno what to say. There are 3 more episodes this week but not that serious. So I dun want to mention in details. Every week also got high blood pressure. This week, my hubby even shake his head. Really dunno what to say.

wenyl
aquaducks trial is free.

may
your IL are really too much. they dun seem to know how to take care of kids. at their age, they tend to imitate us. how can your FIL show her how to hold knife?

I ban JH from going into the kitchen at all times and even at my IL place, i will tell them not to bring him into the kitchen. they like to do that but now they know that i mean it and they dun bring him anymore.

your hb also can't do anything abt his parents? if they wan to behave so iresponsibly, maybe cut down the visits?

sunny
The reason given to me is that their stomach and intestines are still developing their "immunity" for all sorts of food. And while they are still growing and exploring the various food options, FM is able to provide the necessary nutrients they need. But full cream milk is quite nutritious on it's own too.

babylon
Maybe check with PD bout the fresh milk? IF Damien prefers fresh milk, it's ok, coz it's also very nutritious, maybe can supplement with vitamins if you are worried.

SY
For me, after monitoring my helper for 2 months or so, then I gave her the house key and gate key and told her if weather is lovely, can bring Daren down for a walk. But during that 2 months, I kinda gave her lots of pep talk about choosing your friends wisely, etc etc.

babylon,
ya Edgar is totally on fresh milk. except in the morning when my maid will add abit of formula milk into this breakfast cereal. i give him fresh milk cold from the fridge. i grew up drinking cold stuff myself, and i can say i'm pretty healthy. so i'm not very paranoid about giving cold things. as for the nutrients part, i'm not sure if there's a significant difference between formula milk and FM. maybe some of the mummies here knows better. for me, i don't have much of a choice, my fussy eater will only take the meiji strawberry flavor milk. my friend was teasing me, saying i shld write a book about fussy eater, coz i've practically tried all sorts of food and drinks in the market suitable for a baby!

mamapanda,
hehe glad i'm not alone. i could wear my bikini all the way to my last trimester coz mine is those tie string kind, so can adjust abit. but i look obviously pregnant coz my tummy is the pointed kind. from behind can't tell but once u see my side view, i'm BIG! :p

wenyl,
aquaducks trial is free.

may,
what can i say. i'm totally disgusted by ur pil. once again, i truly salute ur patience and tolerance

SY,
regarding maid, i can totally understand what ur maid is going thru. it's really very tiring taking care of a toddler the whole day. i can't do it myself, that's y i never fail to tell my maid how much i appreciate her. it is impossible for her to clean my house everyday coz she won't have the time and energy. so now, she only cleans the toilets once a week and cleans the floor when she can find the time. vacumming in my living room is a must daily thou coz i have got 2 dogs. ironing is only done on the weekends. sometimes when i see that she has alot of unfinished chores, i'll let try not to bring her out with us during the weekends so that she can finish her work. what i'm trying to say is that, we just have to manage our expectations and they are also human beings with emotions. it's inevitable that she shows her feelings. maybe u can try to cut down on her chores. and if u don't want her to go downstairs with JH, maybe just limit to playing at the corridor? anyways, just my 2cents worth.

Aileen,

Think damien is as fussy as edgar...me too..being try all sort of food and drink that suitable for him...as long as he eat..dun mind of spending the money..i even tried adding milo into his FM milk to give him the choc taste. But he still refuse to drink. I guess he drink the fresh milk is becoz it is cold.

babylon,
haha *hi 5*!! ya we'll buy and do whatever as long as they eat ya. nevermind if it's sweet or salty. as long as not too extreme. i've oso given Edgar milo. but he doesn't exactly fancy it. alot of times it depends on his mood as well. like this morning, he wanted to drink my maid's milo. doesn't want his meiji milk. so bo bian, we just gave him the milo loh! *faintz*!

morning mummies...had a hectic weekend moving to my new nest and unpacking. slept at wee hrs over the weekend and finally everythg is completed. phew! but then hb is in reservist this whole week. so cannot enjoy my new hse yet. sigh.

tabbiesus - yes suntec pool is only for tenants. need card access to enter.

May - thank GOD it's a false alarm. i also have not got chicken pox and now that i am preggy. i think i better be extra cautious since its on a rise now.

SY - i thot ur maid is leaving soon? she can't bear to leave or can't wait to leave? better have a chat with her and know more...just afraid maid these days just go into depression mode.

mamachan, aileen
my maid will bring him to the corridor to walk walk sometimes. nowadays my mum and mil will be at my place once a week each and i m going to start to work from home once a week so she will only have 2 days alone with JH. hopefully it helps.

we don't expect much cleaning from her during weekdays. she knows that also and weekends she will spend sat with us outside at my mum's and my IL. so she gets to rest then sun i will be the one taking care of JH most of the time.

the best part is my MIL said my maid says she doesn't like to take care of children....i dunno whether that is true or not but i find that a funny statement to make when your main job is to take care of kids.

sigh,...feel quite vexed over this cos i can see her attitude changing.

SSF
her contract is up end of the year. my hb feels that she can't wait to leave. i m leaving it to my mum to talk to her in case we get miscom cos of language problem.

RE: Cod Liver Oil
How to feed the Scotts one? One spoon with plain water? Or mix into milk? I am interested in feeding Jamie also. Will get one this evening.

Aileen,
I can't vent anger at her so used hubby.

SY,
I will talk to hubby to reduce the number of visits. Perhaps once every fortnight.

May,
I feed direct cod liver oil. Then feed water. I give 3 spoonsful (15ml) as directed. Dunno if too much but tats wats written on the box. I can emphatise with u cos every sun I have to tahan my inlaws, esp mil. My hb ear will ache after every sun visit. But I tink ur inlaws are more jialat. If its me, I will blow up liao. Now still can endure their nonsense. But dunno when volcano will erupt lah. Haha

Rena,
hehe...my boy also likes to do that. Both hands behind right? Must be so cute walking in church like that.

May,
Your IL are too much. No wonder u cant tahan. I guess grandparents usually love the grandchildren so much that they forgot the safety issue. Knife is a NO NO.

RE : Cod Liver Oil
I gave Scotts too. Agree that my boy now has fewer incidents of cough and cold. He is also heavier. Err...my hub said he wasnt fat as a child until he started Cod. So dunno if its bcos the "fat" in it made him bigger.

RE : Bikini
Haiz...my bikini days are over. Now still working hard to shed those extra kilos. Its so hard as i eat when I'm stress. I'm ALWAYS stress...heehee

RE : Payroll Clerk
My sister's company employing long term part time payroll staff. Work half day and accordingly to her, pay pretty well. Must hv payroll experience.

Location, Tampines

SY
Maybe what your MIL said bout your maid mentioned that she doesn't like to take care of children could be true. As our toddlers grow older, they will push more "buttons", test more boundaries with us adults. Their 2nd year of age I think will be quite testing for us moms, haha, must ask the 2nd time moms if this is true. Then again, since her contrac is up soon even though it's year end, I suspect she's in ORD mood.

Maybe can consider putting JH in those playgroups 2 - 3 times a week for 3 hours per session or half day? Would that help?

May
I read about your PIL, really can vomit blood...really sympathize with you. Good thing your hb is aware and will tell them to stop it. Think maybe should just ask them direct if they will be happy to see their grandchild get hurt with blood and all then they are happy? And when Jaime starts to play with knifes on her own, you will know who to blame liaoz.

SY,
ya, maybe get ur mum to speak to her again. I mean if she's really in ROD mood liao then maybe just let her go? does ur maid have a kid herself? my maid has a 4yo and she helps to take care of her nephews. maybe that's why she can handle edgar quite well. been there, done that! my maid is totally opposite of ur maid. i can tell she prefers to take care of edgar, thou he's so difficult, then to do household chores or cook. she's really sloppy and slow with chores but i close 1 eye lah. as long as she takes good care of my son, i'm happy. unfortunately my maid have expressed that she will not extend her contract with me once it ends next mar. i will need to go thru the hassle of getting a new maid next year. sianz!!

phew...finally finish reading all the post

Re:Aqua Duck!
Thank you KY for organising.. and it's really a fun experience for Kae and my HB. This is one of the clasees that my HB actually asked how much if we are signing up! kae enjoy it very much.
Oh the BEST thing... it's FREE..heehee

CL
Ok thanks for reminder..today I'm on leave, going dentist later. when back off I arrange to meet you.

SL
sometimes this week I will meet CL for lunch to pick up things. YOu wanna join us? so I can pick up the mess free marker too.

May
I couldn't help thinking.. "What's WRONG with the FIL"??? how could he ever thought holding a knife is PLAY? I think I will complaint non-stop to HB if such things happen.
I dunno what to say but guess just ahve to keep an eye on Jamie where ever she is at your ILs place knowing that she is not in good hands.

Aileen
U dun look pregnant ytd!!! even in bikinis

SY
I agree with mamachan, I suspect your maid has no "heart" or not keen to work in the family anymore. and Frankly when maid "lost interest" it/s better to let them go.
But I thought u also mentioned your maid will feel sad that contract up and she wun see JH anymor?

Hi SSF - Wow, nice feeling to have a new home

May - Wow wee...speechless where yr ILs are concerned. Do take care. Don't let the blood boil.

SY - Maybe u shd sit yr maid down & have a good chat with her. It clears your doubts & you have the chance to find out what's bothering her too. From there, can make adjustment to suit both of your working relationship again.

Rena - Haha, Elijah the Inspector

CL,
I am going to meet cookie to pass her the mess-free stuff. Shall we all meet for lunch on Wed? I can pay you plus collect the biscuit!

Flo,
So sorry, I only saw your msg this morning. Was too busy chasing after charmaine at the airport yesterday.

re: kitchen set
I bought it at $39. It's member's price. Have my reservations after buying it. Charmaine loves it -she loves to press all the buttons and hear the sounds, sees the oven light it. She can put the "cakes" inside, then press the oven button. When the oven goes "ding" she will take out the cake and put on a plate then give us. : ) Why I have my reservations? Because my monkey gal will also want to climb onto the kitchen set!

Aileen,
I think it should be fine to give fresh milk. In fact I am also thinking of giving her fresh milk when my BM goes down cos she doesn't drink FM. Speaking of which, I have 1 small tin of Gain IQ which I bought to standby. I think no need for it since she doesn't drink it. Any mummies want?

sysac - ya simply lurve my new nest! only thing is the floor...despite mopping, still feel dusty. calling the part time cleaner to come down this weekend for a thorough clean coz hb's mopping cannot make it mann! haha..

SY - hmm..dun ur maid knows prior to hiring that she has to look after baby? if so, then expectation is correct mah...why she so funny. i think you better talk to her soon...if she still has concern, better to change her than letting her vent her fustration elsewhere.

SL, Cookie
I am fine to meet on Wednesday. Just let me know where and what time.

SSF
Can try mopping and magic clean a few times sure can clean up one. I do it even now