(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Mamapanda,

I latch Charmaine on in the mornings and evenings, sometimes at night (3am) if she doesn't have enough. During the day, she only drinks 2 x 120ml. If the amt that she drinks during latch-on is about the same as Ariene, then her total milk intake is 690 - 840ml? Isn't that lesser than Ariene? Doesn't seem to be much of a problem though.

I agree with Valerie that it seems like the older they are, the more difficult it is to wean her off. I tried twice but she cried till so pitifully and looked at me with such pleading eyes that I gave up and latch her on again. : (

Aileen
Ok noted. Will pass you at the Aquaduck class on Sun?

May
Did Tabbs manage to get for you? If not I can spare you one as well. I actually bot quite a few sets cos I figured that is prob cheaper than to buy the note pad itself.

Radiance,
Welcome to this big family! I agree with the rest of the mommies, just ignore your colleagues. Apart from work, just try to minimise your contact with them. I can understand how you feel, such colleagues can really cause a lot of negative energy. In any case, its your boss and not them that access your performance, so dont have to care what they think of you/.

Durianlover
RE: active girl
Mel is super active as well! She has been waking up in the middle of the nite last week as well. Then I realised that it was caused by the hot weather. She was able to sleep thru again after I on the aircon. She also has a tendency to stay awake if shes hungry. Sometimes she refuses to sleep until she drink another 1-2 more oz of milk. So maybe u can try as well?

SY/Queen/Sysac
Haha, me and hb will buy Toto when the prize snowball to a big amount like $4-5m cos even with $1m is still not enough to retire leh.

Cookie,
If I recall correctly, is recommended not to visit a dentist when in first trimester, should be ok for you to visit dentist now.

SL
RE: Aquaduck
Join us lah, will be fun for the bb to swim together.

CL
Glad to hear you are feeling better. How's Aden & Charmaine?

WEANING OFF BREASTMILK
I am still breastfeeding but thru' expressing out. I just started my boy on formula to replace one bottle of breast milk each day. But he really hated the formula milk so much that he kept shaking his head and spitting it out.....sigh! I also wanted to stop but I don't liike the pain and discomfort of having engorged breasts. I pump about 3 times a day now, each time about 400ml. Hope my boy can wean off soon.

Florence,

PD said to don't let her swim for the next 2 weeks to let her recover fully. But I have to say, the aquaducks trial is really good. Before the trial, my gal doesn't enjoy swimming. We have to coax her before she goes into the pool. During the trial, the instructor taught us some games to play with her in the pool to build up her water confidence. It worked so much so that whenever she sees a pool, she wants to jump in!

re: shopping
Today's my shopping day! Took half day leave to go isetan pte sale then went on to robinsons before picking charmaine up. Isetan pte sale, nothing fantastic except for Burberrys. Got some really good buys - I got a pair of long pants for Charmaine at $30, a top at $35, then still got 5% rebate. Wanted to buy the vtech laptop that's advertised for her since she wants to play with our laptops so much BUT all out of stock. : ) Then went to supermarket to buy lots of eating stuff for Charmaine and hubby.

re: crayola
I just bought the mini tefal kitchen set too! It's really worthwhile it at $39. Also bought 3 sets of the crayola mess free wonder markers - the $8.90 set. If any mummies want, just let me know. I can give up 2 sets.

Welcome Radiance!

Sharon
Maybe instead of replacing entirely one feed of FM to replace EBM, maybe you have to do the switch gradually via mixing? I.e. if your boy drink 180ml per feed, then you can mix 90ml EBM to 90ml FM one feed a day for 3 days, then increase the mixture to 2 feeds for again 3 days, then 1 full feed of FM after that. Hope this graduation process can help you. =)

Tefal mini Kitchen set
Sounds interesting. Haha, dunno if my hb is for the idea of getting one for D.

Aquaducks, oops. I meant SY, not SL in my earlier posting. SY, don't worry abt the trial ... SL, good to hear you gal loves the water now.

Re:polling - Age of maid
Just curious... what is the age of your maid working with you? I have heard older maid might have mind of their own and hard to handle...
Dun mind pls share your maid's age :
1)25
2)32
3)32
4)25
5)27 (she was 26 with a 5-yr old boy when I first hire her)

Cookie, thot I included other good info. I wanted someone who already have a kid and not in her 30s (so that she have the energy to play with my children)

Mamapanda, Weaning is not as difficult as you think. Ariene is already drinking EBM from bottle right? Get your maid to give her formula. If really really really can't, then give her fresh milk. I didn't plan to bf that long as well, but like you, I did it out of convenience and with a lot of mummies around me doing the same, I didn't feel there was a need to stop. I did have a concern once as my older one didn't take milk very much when I weaned him off at 2 yrs, but that eventually didn't bother me very much as he eats quite well. I weaned him off as I wanted to go thru a smooth pregnancy.

I didn't have much problems with engorgement though ... if I gave up on a feed, I do feel full but it'll clear after the next feed. The body do adjust itself, like mine will adjust after 1 day.... hm, I did have it once really bad when I stop the night feed and got my child to nurse ... You may wanna to slowly reduce the amt you pump and nurse shorter (not emptying it); that'll signal your body to produce lesser milk.

For Keith, I'll probably continue to bf him till he self-weaned since I don't plan to have anyone. I still have frens bfg their 4 yr olds and some have self-weaned already.

.ky.

May/Flo/tabbie/CL/sept03/ssf/sy/linda/mamachan/rena/sh/yuki/queen/cookie

your concern do make me feel better and thank you from the bottom of my heart.

for the past 1 week, i have been doing lots of thinking and frankly speaking, pressure and stress is building up within me.am frustrated with myself and really want to find ways to vent my anger. why am i so weak......?

im not a career minded person and i do enjoy my SAHM days. although dylan do drives me nuts but its truely a joy to be with him and watch his every little move and action. love to sit quietly behind him and watch his backview...... now im feeling guilty for putting him with my mum for the past few days and hb fetched him home in the evening alone. by the time i reached home, he was asleep.

sad to say, its not wise for me and hb to live on a single income. practically not much saving and this cant go on. it hit me too when i lost 5 relatives to illness within 1 and half year. we cant do without good health, but we even more cant survive without money...... i might be thinking too far or too much. might be being silly with all these thoughts racing through my mind... might be being too greedy to wish to be a SAHM yet having an income...... should i say i fear for rejection and the way people see me when i reveal my job (if i decided to take it up)......

might as well talk it out here and hope your advise could help me pull through and make a decision. a fren of mine decided to resign and be a SHAM and at the same time join a mlm company (a New york listed company). i think at this point, some of you might pause for a second when you see the word 'mlm'. aware that many people will assoicate hard selling and many other bad impression with it. many black sheep had spoiled the market and left -ve thoughts in many people. but i see for myself their products show result and successful people whom i met in person. i wish to stay healthy, earn decent money and have time with dylan. i see opportunity but things are holding me back.

sorry for this long post, some of you might think im making a big fuss over something so silly and meaningless. need to pour it out somewhere and i choose to do it here. without being face to face, i can bare my heart and might find some answer here.

mamachan/clare
sorry that i might have spoiled your day alittle with my dim mood. peiseh

tabbie
whatever decision you have made, im sure it will work out well. jia you.

linda
your tip really helps, it do sooths me after a cry.

krissie
do gerald looks very different from 1 YO and now? if yes, i will use the photo you sent me. no worries, just that gerald's photo will be abit outstanding from the rest =)

cookie
understand, no worries.

Rachel,
Thanks for sharing with us.
I have this prob when I am a SAHM for 3mths too. Dunno why, but -ve things keep appearing in my mind and I felt the emptiness. Perhaps it is bcos we do not have work to occupy our mind and need someone to pour out. Living on with single income is pretty stressful for hubby as well. (Unless he can support)

I had a talk with hubby and had decided to return to the workforce doing something that I don't like now. (I am in the Customer Service-Shipping related job now) Just bcos this current job allows me to knock off on time and spend precious time with Jamie. Not forgetting, it does pays better to get a job that I am experienced in. I dun really like desk bound job. But changing into sales (something that my hubby would like me to do) will mean a huge pay cut. So no matter what, I will still try to survive in the Cust Svc side for the sake of the family.

Do weighs the PROS and CONS of the plans and discuss with your hubby. At least there is someone to share with u. Or u can pour out here. We will be glad to listen and help u.

Cheer up!!

<font color="ff0000"> <font size="+1"> PLAYGROUP @ MAY's house is still ON "3-5pm on Sat" </font></font>
Hooray!! Jamie has recovered from her fever. Found out that she is having her right top molar teeth. Has got a bit swollen cheek though. Sorry got to keep it red so that mummies will notice.

Flo,
Stupid me go and PM you whereby I cannot access PM in office. Shall post here then.
Think tabby missed the msg of the mess free crayons cos no reply from her. Can I have one pack? I will be going SengKang this sun. Probably drop by at ur house or Aquaduck class to collect from you. Where do you stay and where is the class held?

Rachel
Good to open up and talk then things will work it out for you. Once you have taken the first step out, I am sure everything will just fall in place nicely.

May
Customer Service is what I have done for almost half of my working experience. Since you have taken up CS, think positive and I am sure you will find fun in it. Ha ha last time I feel satisfied making a angry customer happy in the end.

Sorry I cannot join the playgroup. Aden's fever subsided this morning but I think he has virus which is contagious so better not go and pass on the virus. It is something not to be shared. better to keep to himself. Ha ha

Pai seh, mummies
I could be talking nonsenses now, I lost 3 nights of sleep. Aden's fever has subsided because it is the 5th day today liao. Charmaine is into her 4th day, so probably I need to tahan another night. One got bronchitis and the other got throat infection. Sigh

slinky/KY/sl/sharon sum - salute to you all for still breastfeeding your babies. cannot imagine the amount of money you guys can save on FM and the nutrients your babies are getting. Jia You! I hope to bf my second one as long as I can too.

slinky - i am feeding caleb 210ml for 2 feed and 240ml for the morning feed. total milk intake is about 3 times with 2 servings of porridge.

re: tefal kitchen set
i saw it yesterday in Istetan and it is selling like $49.90. Usual price $69.90. So i think RObinson is still having better promotion. The kitchen set is really impressive and nice. like very high end kind. haha...too bad i already got one for caleb.if not this one will definitely suit him better coz not pink mah! hee..

rachel - thks for sharing with us. i agree with May to have a discussion with your hb since it will involve both of you for the future. maybe you want to find a job that you like and not too stressful and on the other hand still have some little income. how abt giving tuition or help out in a child care ctr where working hrs are flexible. that will help to occupy your mind and not think so much. i had the same trouble as you when i was retrenched last Nov. although i was given a package, i worry abt finance too as my parents need my contribution and sad to say, i gave them lesser during those 3 mths i was unemployed. like u, i was also stressed out...i put caleb at my mum hse and can just stare at the tv worrying abt not being called for an interview. it doesnt help tat i realise i was preggy during that time too. so no matter wat, everythg will be sorted out soon. do have a discussion with hb and see wats the best way. keep us updated...and dun let negative thoughts run into your mind. wat could be worst when you have a good hb, healthy son and a supportive mum to help you.

Race C
added u already on MSN

Rachel
mlm is not a bad thing. that day on sunday times, they featured this ex lawyer who went into MLM. she says her income is as good as when she was working as lawyer and the best part is the flexible hours. just make sure u choose a reputable company. i remember her company name is axel or something like that.

one income is really hard to save money. that's why my hb keeps rejecting my proposal to go part time or be SAHM!

sl
u make the aquaducks trial sound fun! but hb says recently got chicken pox going ard so no trial classes...

Re: aquaducks

how to get up to the swimming pool? been there before but can't remember which lift. TIA

rachel
before you decide to take the plunge and join an mlm, here's some things that you might wish to take note of. My hb was from insurance and i was doing real estate for a while. Just want to share what will be in the future to prepare you:
1) be prepared to go without an income for a few months while you build up your 'business'
2) Be prepared to do cold calling. It's the biggest hurdle for my hb and me. It's tough calling pp that you don't know and having them slam the phones/doors on you.
3) Be prepared to lose some 'friends'. Yup, some pp will start to avoid you like a plaque once you tell them you joined an mlm. They'll be suspicious of any lunch/dinner dates initiated by you.
4) you have to be very thick-skinned, even with rejections, you carry on and bang their doors until they say yes.
5) YOu have to be disciplined to work independently.

Of course the plus point of this is that you get to plan your own time. But then again, coz a lot of your friends/future clients will be available only during lunch, night and weekends, you might find yourself sacrificing time with your hb. This is unlike a normal sales job in a corporation where you meet people during office hours.

While you may believe in your product (that's a great start), you have to convince others of the same.

Not that i want to discourage you from doing this, you have to understand what may happen when you take up mlm. I've a family friend who 'begged' my FIL to buy a very expensive gadget (a few thousand dollars) to help him meet his sales target. My FIL helped him. But they are still struggling every month. Think abt it carefully and discuss with your hb.

I've noticed that many pp (including my hb and I) at one pt in time will suddenly feel meaningless to continue working. Many of them changed their career paths to take up real estate, insurance, mlm or start a biz. I guess it's a phase in life. But not many succeed. It is really not easy. It actually takes up more time than you think.

Sales is the easiest job with the lowest pay and the hardest job with the most pay.

flo,
ok, will get if from ur during our aquaduck trial class.

rachel,
life just isn't a bed of roses sometimes. and unfortunately most of us are not born with a silver spoon. so sacrifices are inevitable. when we can't have the best of both worlds, we just have to make a choice. and this process is always the toughest. try to find a balance that will put you at ease. go with ur heart. if u think going into mlm may help supplementing the household income, go ahead to try it. i guess we are all mature adults and are capable of making tough decisions like this. afterall we all survive motherhood didn't we! what can be more tough than being a mum ya! =D

CL, hang in there ya. i feel for u. it will all be over soon...

SY - ya i think chicken pox is on a rise now. i passed my medela pump to a frd who delivered in Apr and now her son contracted chicken pox.

i will be getting from her in aug when i am due. do you think its safe to use even after sterilising? i dun think i kena chicken pox yet lei.

Yesterday a freak lightening bolt hit my wireless modem.. my mom says that the lightening just passed through the window and hit the box... so scary cos my girl and my mom were in the room.. lucky no fire or anything.. but got really worried... be careful everyone cos this rainy season is causing a lot of weird accidents...

Now got no connection at home, so can only check post at work..

SSF
if the chicken pox virus can survive sterilising and the 4 months of use... i will be very scared of this strain of virus...

If you are worried, maybe u can ask your friend to use her own set of funnels and tubings.. that way u only lend her the pump system... should not be a problem..

RE: crayola markers from robinsons

I got an extra set of the 8.90 pack if anyone wants...

I gian to get the tefal kitchen set so rushed down yest to buy it... looks quite hi tech... gots sounds and lights...

Rachel
I have not much experience in this area... its scary to take the plunge into something new... hope you can make the right decision with as little problems as possible... sometimes its not what other people think, its what really matter to you in your heart.. altho people can always say things ... its what you know inside you and your own happiness that is important..

Chicken little
get well soon.. u sound so tired and exhausted... take care!!!

Hi Race C,.

Welcome to our big family here....
Just ignore those KAY PO Ladies at your work place...and REN till you give birth and during the maternity leave...you may find other job opportunity....

Our here is KAY PO Mummies Forum but is different type of KAY PO from your Colleaque.. We are here are sharing our experience of our child, career, make up, fashion ...etc
By the way I will add you in MSN and mine is [email protected] ( KAY PO AUNTY )

Rachel
whoaaaa such a good news for me on this morning..that you are ok now.I know how you feel. As working mum..I went out in the morning and came back at 7++pm after washing and bath...by the time Gracie has sleep or sometimes even earlier...
Just try your best and if you are not working on weekend...than you can make use saturday and sunday . Spend your weekend with Deylan more ....

Remember no matter what happen...tell to your hb or our mummy here or cry out....dont keep for yourself.

May
Good to hear Jamie is ok nowww....

CL..
Oh dearrrr...you must be very tired. Take care

breastmilk vs formula milk
I was wondering if its possible to wean off Ariene by feeding her pure EBM only and stop latching her on. My problem is to get her to drink from a bottle whenever I'm at home. When I'm out, she knows she has no choice so she'll drink from the bottle (remember the problems I faced 1 year ago trying to get her to drink EBM from bottle when I went back to work after maternity leave?) She is really stubborn and would rather starve than to be forced into doing what she doesn't want to do. Now that she's mobile and has a mind of her own, its even more challenging. I tried feeding her EBM from bottle before, she'll drink at most 50ml to make me happy, then ask to latch on, tearing my shirt, pulling my bra, hugging my leg, etc. She'll cry so pitifully I find it hard to reject her..

As for meals, I was wondering if she's drinking too much milk. Just found out from my maid this is what she is really drinking & eating :

7am latch on
8am breakfast (usually cereal with EBM or 1/2 avocado)
10am 150ml - 200ml EBM (morning nap)
12.30pm lunch (1 bowl porridge/pasta/mashed potato etc)
1.30-2pm 150ml-00ml EBM (afternoon nap)
3-4pm afternoon snack (teddy puff, cheese, fruits, vege etc)
5.30pm dinner (1 bowl food)
7.30pm latch
12am latch

Do u think she's eating and drinking too much? I read that if they drink too much milk, they'll have less appetite for solid foods. As milk is more easily digestible, it does not provide enough energy for them to last through the night, thus, the midnight feed. However, she's so used to having milk before her nap, its hard to drop the 10am milk feed.

On the other hand, I'm also getting quite tired of all the blocked ducts n engorgement and "explosive" feeling in the chest if I do not express in time (sometimes need to go down to schools to do research so, had to delay pump). I really cant make up my mind about it.. Just feeling frustrated sometimes..

Sorry for the long post.. just needed an outlet. When I try to tell my hb this, he just cant seem to emphatise with me.

rachel & SAHMs & SAHMs-to-be
My hb and I also went thru very difficult times when I told him I want to go on part-time teaching (working 3 days a week with half my pay) so that I can spend more time with Ariene last year. He wasn't very supportive of it cuz that meant sacrificing alot on our lifestyle and a significant reduction in our household income. In my 8 months of part-time teaching, half my pay was hardly enough and thru this period, my savings were being depleted to none. That's y I've gone back to working full time. At the same time, I didn't want to continue teaching anymore as I still wanted to spend quality time with Ariene, which was why I switched jobs and took a slightly lower paying job.

I agree with u that we cant do without savings. The last 3 months of my part-time teaching before I went back to working full time was difficult. My hb and I quarelled almost all the time because of the financial stress. Even my year-end bonus was halved and it was not even enough to pay for my insurance and I had to borrow money from my dad to pay for it. On top of that, my husband took out a few thousand to give to his dad (most prolly he'll use it to buy 4D which can cost like hundreds every week) because he does that every year (which was why I needed to borrow from my dad cuz hb took out the money without first asking me). I really din like the idea of giving his dad money to support his gambling habit but he told me what his dad do with the money is none of my concern. I guess all these quarelling over money and his father did affect our relationship.

It is very important that your hb supports ur decision if u want to continue being a SAHM cuz he has to shoulder a very big responsibility of bring the dough home. My hb was not supportive of it because he felt it is very dangerous to depend on only 1 person to support the family. If he should lose his job, we can all go jump the building cuz we still had car loans, renov loans, housing loans, household furni n appliance instalments, maid to pay.

Do think it over deeply and discussed it with your husband. No matter what your decision is, it has to be unaminous, not compromising, else the stress and unhappiness on one side can well up and eventually explode like a volcano.

Good Luck.
ps: I really envy all SAHM who have the support of their husbands.

Hi Mummies...

I just talk to Race C Mummy..and we found that Gracie and her son's Edison are look alike

Here is Gracie Pict......Any Comment from your mummies.....

804423.jpg

tabbiesus - oh my...lightning hit your modem? its really scary. better advise ur mum to not go near the window when it rains next time. so u need to chg modem or the internet provider will fix it?

i passed her all the pump equipment when she was due ..so she dun have another spare set. anyway, will make sure i sterilise many many times before i get contact with it.

chicken_little - hang on there ya. try to get some quick nap when both of them are sleeping.

Ky,
Wow! 4 yrs is a long time! My plan, at most, is 2 yrs. I am really hoping that she would sort of self wean but looking at the situation maybe not. I guess the difficulty could be that I also enjoys bfing her.

rachel,
Glad that you can get things that have been bothering you off your chest here.

I guess for mothers who have been working, adjusting to life as a single-income family with kids is really a big adjustment. Especially with kids, has anyone noticed that we really splurge on our kids? Or at least I do. I am not a spendthift but when I see things that I feel are nice or good for Charmaine, I would just buy. That's why I need the additional income. Perhaps exploring MLM or part-time work would be good? Would it be possible for you to explore an "adjustment plan" from double-income to single-income? I don't have the -ve thots that a lot of pple have with regards to MLM. A few of my frens are in it but they are not selling or generating downstream actively. They are in it cos they have been using the products and loved it so much that they wanted the members' price and the opportunity to intro other pple to it.

Talk to your hubby and discuss? It would invovled definitely heated arguments - I have jsut been thru this "review exercise" with my hubby. But I am really glad that we have talked and worked through this.

Radiance
Nice name. Very unique but nice
Your babies do look alive with the big round eyes and chubby cheeks.

wow! didn't realise that my post is so long! Have I broken my own record for posting long posts?

Oh yes, just to add - a lot of pple might think that MLM/Real Estate/Insurance/Start biz are good exit plans to full time working. But my frens who have taken the plunge told me that the initial stage is even harder than working fulltime cos you need more time and need to work harder to build up your biz.

So rachel, weigh all the cons and pros with your hubby before deciding?

CL,

Are you feeling better now? How's Charmaine?

Mamapanda,
I faced exactly the same problem with regards to weaning her off so I just gave up and let her latch on. Plus Charmaine's an extremely impatient and demanding baby - when she wants to nurse now means now, cannot wait. What I am trying to do now is to teach her to wait until it's convenient to nurse her, esp when we are outside.

it always good to save aside some money. just like for caleb's freak accident, we paid in all $720 for the tooth extraction and consultation for the specialist in Mt E. the AIA insurance can only claim a max of $400 bucks. But we are thankful we bought an insurance for him. now hb is trying to see if he can claim from co or not we will just claim it off from insurance.

finance wise..hb and me have been saving diligently for the past yrs. we save aside a fix amt of money each mth and on top of that our bonus all go to our shared acct. but now with the moving of hse and renovation work we have done, its almost wipe out! and everythg have to start from scratch. although heart pain, we know its for good cause to built up our retirement hm and bigger space for the kids.

not sure why i am sharing this..but i guess i am trying to bring a point that even if 2 ppl are working..finance worries still come abt at different stage in life. so hang on there and soon it be over!

Hi Babylon

Hope my son in law Damien...dont mind if Gracie look alike with Edison....haa,,haa,,,

SL
I'm the one that almost going for Insurance job, only attend their cost for 2 days and didnt go for their exam ...just because want to spend more time with Gracie..

CL

hang in there! ai yoh, it must be hard on you. Take care!

tabby
that's so scary. R u staying in a hse or apt?

mamapanda
my hb actually didn't start out supporting my decision to be SAHM. it took a while of convincing. He kept showing me his chart of downward trend for our cashflow. At that time, i asked my dad out of desperation whether he would employ me and he said yes. Then my hb agreed to let me quit. But hor, haha, till now i haven't started working for my dad. And our cashflow is still good. He was just overly pesimistic. And of course, God's blessings kept flowing. My boy's health has improved tremendously as well.

I think sometimes we just think we that needed that extra money. Maybe we don't. When I was working, I had to pay extra for working clothes, childcare, medical bills, meals outside. It seems that after these 3mths, it's more worth it to stay at home than to work.

Linda, May
re: Crayola
Okie i keep one set of the 8.90 for you and one set of the 6.90 for May

Mashy
what you wrote is so true... i was even toying of starting my own business... sourcing for baby stuff/ toys from china/ HK cos i got some contacts from there... but then i realised that i really have NO business sense and i didn't want to commit to something i didn't really understand just because i had one hard challange to face at work... like jumping from the frying pan into the fire kinda thing...

I think having our spousal support is really important... cos they have to really commit to being the main financial support during the initial period and some men are not fully up to it...

tabby,
Oh my, i didn't know that such freak accidents could happen! I thought it was one in a million chance type!

rachel,
Thanks for sharing. Feel better after sharing right?

There is nothing wrong at all with MLM, so no need to feel paiseh or what about it! In fact, I myself have considered MLM several times in the past few years, and have 2 good friends who went into MLM. But, like what mashy and sl have mentioned, it does take alot of time & effort in the initial stage. And when i say initial stage, it could last for up to 2 years or even more. Which would mean much less time with Dylan. Whatever the case, trust your heart to guide you with the decision and most importantly, discuss with your hubby and see if you both can come to a collective decision!

Flo,
Yes i think you are right about feeding milk when they wake up in the middle of the night. For me, i use it as a 'last resort' and it works most of the time (except that night when she was up for 2 hrs!).
Actually i think that Janelle's not hungry when she can't go back to sleep at night, but the milk does help her. Think she's just too active.

RE: SAHM
I'm also seriously considering that option...sigh...in fact, if you all remember, i've been seriously considering ever since Janelle was born!! Which means i've been considering for 1 year plus already. Hahaha! But now i'm supposed to work till end June before informing my boss whether or not i'd still like to continue working full-time, part-time or to resign. Might switch to part-time instead

I think surviving on one person's income is challenging because there'll be literally no savings at all. But i still feel it's do-able if we scrimp and cut down. In the first place, we have no loans to repay, except housing loan (which is negligible because uses CPF) and car loan (which is also a small amt $300/mth). Just that there won't be the luxury of having my own income to buy stuff for Janelle or myself! That aside, another consideration I have is my in-laws who are out of job, in debt, and depend on us to provide them with money each month. Yet, i cannot help but feel that it is really unfair if i have to continue working just so that i can supplement them with money. So i'm ruling them out of the equation for now...but i know that at the back of my mind, the money my in-laws need from us will continue to 'haunt' me.

So if anything...i would say to all of you here to manage your finances well, be financially independent, and don't go into debt!! And most importantly, don't put the financial burden onto your children, because they suffer for life. - Not just them, but their spouses and children will suffer as well.

Sorry for long-windedness, but cannot help but feel that life would be so much easier if only my in-laws had better managed their finances!

Queen/SSF - Haha, yes, it's a dream! We also dun buy, just loads of talk esp during CNY when the draw amt is huge

Chances of winning is so low. Of cse can tell him 3 more kids if we strike cos it's so unlikely to happen!

Welcome Radiance & Race C (diff pple rite?)

CL - Wow wee, take care hor! Get well & loats of sleep soon

Rachel - Hope you are feeling better

tabby

haha, actually starting a biz is more expensive than being a SAHM. And it takes up more time. If you want more time with your bb, forget about starting a biz.

I've considered many biz in the past. But realised that i'm not determined to stay in the biz. And too lazy. hahaa.

Mummies , more sales coming up. Loreal Private Sale

Date : 23 & 24 May 07
Time : 12 - 6 pm (23 may)
10 - 6 pm( 24 may)
Venue : Winsland House 1 # 06-02

804627.jpg

Hi Tabbies

If I'm not wrong that your house is not HDB right.
And if is private house....do you have lightning arrestor that prevent from lightning hit?
For those enterpreneur is using lightnig arrestor to prevent hit by lightning. But for only private estate...I'm not sure the collect name for the item...You may look for star hub if you are using star hub wireless modem.

That is very dangerous....and you may ask you mum to stay away from the window when raining day...

Hi Mashy

I bought mine from Metro sales at Causeway Point last 2 mth. About less than SGD 60. Not too bad so far.

CL
Thanks for your information....from what I know SIA girl will get their cosmetic product from Loreal there and with a special cheapest rate and not for outsider.
But this time is for outsider,,,not bad leeee

But too bad is I have spent 150 buck for my skin care product this month so only can see and can not buy ...sign...

durianlover - yeah i totally agree with u of not having our kids to be burden with any debts. my ILs on the other hand has no debt as FIL is working and MIL is loaded with money from her kids's pocket money. as for my side, its only my parents housing loan that requires 1k to pay off each mth and my dad drives taxi while my mum tend to my baby.

so my contribution will be a great relief to my dad. true that finances has to be manage well. ur sitution looks very much in ctrl with car loan so low and manage to get hdb loan too. for my case, car loan is 500+ per mth and we gotten a bank loan for our new hse. but the good thing is that we manage to earn from selling our current hse on top of the grant we gotten. so both hse and car loan got to be clear in the next 10 yrs which are are targetting. siong but we know it be a relief once all is cleared. reno loan, its a blessing we manage to get all frm savings. and seriously, i dun want my sons to have the burden of paying of my housing loan in future just like what i am doing now for my parents.

durianlover

i also agree that we shouldn't burden our children with debts. My situation is oppo from yours. My financial burden is my parents. My dad couldn't afford a flat himself, which was why i was helping him to pay the previous flat. But as you know, HDB's regulations, i can't pay for 2 flats. So end up when i moved, he gotta stay with me too. I'm thankful that my hb is so understanding. My hb and I invest heavily in insurance and other investments so that we'll hopefully have some money when we're old. My boy's education fund is under my name, so that in case he is not filial to us, we'll just keep the money for ourselves. Of course, hopefully not lah.

Weaning
Actually, the beginning stages of weaning Ryan was tough, mainly becos he was allergic to a lot of FM. But when I found the one that worked (NanHA), it was a breeze and it was just overnite and he stopped latching and never indicated he wanted it anymore. Mainly becos i got my maid to give him bottle feeds for one whole week and didnt go near him durin milk time. After one week, I bottle fed him and he was ok.

SAHM
I'm not brave enough to do that cos I can't imagine spending all my time at home. Maybe I'm just not that maternal to want to spend 24/7 with my kid.

SSF
shd be safe to use the pump once u sterlise. i dun think the virus can survive so long in outside air also

tabby
so scary on the lightening! lucky u guys are ok and no fire or anything... how did such a thing happen...

mamapanda
why dun u just do cold turkey with ariene? i guess at this age, that wd be the most effective way. hb usually dun understand or emphatise much abt bf.

re finances
i guess i m quite lucky cos my parents dun need the money from me and in fact they have been buying a lot of stuff for me. but of cos i try not to depend on them cos i have my own family. but my hb is quite terrified of not having enough money cos his family was very poor when they are young so he refused to let me stop work. i think we can be comfortable enough but he is not convinced...sigh

re debt
i always tell hb next time we depend on ourselves and not on our children.

my fren has 20% at kino this weekend. anyone wants to buy books? i can help ask her to buy. PM me if interetsed.

Rachel,
Good to pour out ur thots here. Its a phase that most SAHM will go thru sometimes. I remember I was sharing with hb b4 I found out I m pregnant with #2, tat I feel very directionless & lack of self-worth. Although I get to be with my son 24hrs a day, sometimes tiredness & boredom sets in & I feel so constrained at the same time. Very pek chek lor. No more splurging, no cheonging (dinner outings) with frens on fri nites, etc. So nowadays, I will tell hb I need to set aside some time-out to meet frens occasionally or go jalan jalan without my son. Or pak-tor with my hb. It helps to refresh my mind & body. Agree that living on single-income is tough but can be workable. Just cut down on frequent outside meals (we go parents plc to eat cos we still hv to give them $ every mth), dun buy unnecessary stuffs & even toys, dun need to be brand new. I learnt to accept old hand-me-down toys as long as my son enjoys playing with them. Clothes too, the hand-me-downs are more comfy to wear at home.

Re: Insurance for bb
We started one for E when he was about 3 mths old. We see it as a kind of forced savings for his future. Another important insurance to consider is purely for hospitalisation. Cost abt $200-$300 per year. Not tat ex but I find it useful. We were lucky cos last yr just 1 mth after I signed him up for hospitalisation coverage, E has a bad fall at 4mths & was admitted to KK for observation. It covers the whole amount for the 2day stay. So in a way, we had free coverage for the rest of the year lor.

RE: Sales
Wow wow!! So many sales!! I'm going shopping later! But actually also have nothing really much in mind to shop for...maybe i'll buy a hot flask that stores rice/pasta, because Tiger food jar is better suited for storing porridge/soups.

RE: finances
Yes it's really something that me and my hb have decided we will never impose upon our children, because having suffered (and still suffering) under it, we decided it's really unfair for children to bear financial burden.
My PILs are both bankrupts and in debt and still refuse to and are unable to clear their debts. Doesn't help that FIL went out of job in March, and MIL is losing her job really soon and doesn't intend to find another job!!!! I almost fainted when i heard that. Means what?? They expect their children (ie. us) to give more money to them? Already we give a minimum of $600 per month,sometimes up to $1K, and they depend on us because my hb's the oldest in family and the rest are not working yet. Now his younger bro is coming out to work and i really pity him, because the financial burden would now be on this younger bro as well because the parents would expect him to give his salary to them too. SO we decided that we shall NEVER burden our kids financially.

On the other hand, my parents are the ones who manage their finances well and are independent. They do not require any money from me (thank God!). So maybe that's why i've always felt it's unfair of my ILs to depend on their children for money, since my parents have set such a good example.