(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wow... so nice that the "mums-only" gathering is coming up, but will not be available for june/july/august.. :-(
so if there's a next round will try to join u'al... :p

Esh mummy
why you cannot join ? Because you are SAHM with eshley during this period ? If really nobody to help then you can bring along eshley like mashy. If just a few babies then we can take turns to help a bit

CL,

nope, it's not dat, coz i may decide to bring eshley to Switzerland with my mil n hb, but not really confirm on the date yet... mil said shld be ard end May to Early June leh.... so i'm still keeping my fingers crossed.... n after that when we return, will need to prepare for my exams while taking care of eshley loh....

Re: Birthday Bash Memento

The following mummies , please submit your darlings' photo by this week 6 May.

1) Wenyl
2) Clare
3) Sleepingdeer
4) Linda
5) Krissie
6) Chicken Little
7) Esther - <font color="0000ff">recieved</font>
8) Sunny
9) Chillies
10) Sandra Chu
11) Sep03bride
12) SL
13) Wenny
14) Cookie

pls email to [email protected]
JPG file, size not less than 600kb
photo taken around your bb's 1YO

Celebrating Us Moms High-Tea Session
Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Place: Marriot Hotel Cafe
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
3) Chicken Little - ok at the moment hope no last min deadline
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
7) Linda tjhin( will let your know in advance if I can't make it )
8) mashybrainz (will be bringing caeden unless can find help)
9) ky + 1 boy
10) queen (should be ok...unless I found a job by then)
11) Flo (should be ok unless biz trip got extended)
12) cookie (TBC)
13) SY
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

cookie
noted. will wait for kae's photo =)

CL
noted your request! hopefully my man remember the things i told him to do. haha

re: allowance to parent

queen, its been 4 months of SAHM for me. initially i insisted to continue giving my parent the same amount of allowance as before when i was still working, although my mum told me not need. but recently, did a calculation of my own account... without much income(or should i say with zero income), i cant keep giving that amount much longer. cant depend fully on hb too, still have houseloan and car installment to settle monthly.

now i decreased the amount to my parent. want to give them some allowance so they can have extras to save or spend on buying things they like. bottom line, just how comfortable you are on this issue and whether your parent is able to do without your input for this period when you are SAHM.

KY
Thanks for making the arrangement.

Re: AquaDucks

Spoke to AquaDucks on availability.
Suntec :
- 2.30pm-3pm : 1 date in May (6 May). next will be 3 Jun
- 4pm - 4.30pm : 6 May / 13 May / 20 May

Buona Vista (on weekdays) - 2.30pm-3pm
--> it seems like only CL and I am keen for Buona Vista (we need 4 to start), so I'm proposing doing in Suntec (since it's a Sunday afternoon). In case if the mummy can't go into the water, the daddy can go. For the date, how abt 20 May (6 May is 3 days later and 13 May is mother's day which I assume you busy ladies would be full of activities). Pls put down the ok date against your name (need 4 to start, max is 6). I should probably get back to Aquaducks to "chop" the date soon ... thanks!

Suntec
1) SY (6/13/20 May)
2) Clare
3) Cheng (20 May)
4) Chicken Little
5) ky (20 May)
6) Ak (20 May)
7) Mashybrainz (20 May)
8) Esh Mummy - (20may)
9) Flo (20 May)

---
3) Cookie - Still keen
4) Denmy - Still Keen
6) Celine77- Still keen
9) sunny
10) Annie - keen

KY,
I think aquaducks max class size is 6. Anyway, I fly off to new york next friday and will be back on 18 May. So if u dun hear from me, pls know i am still keen and can make it for 20 May.

Queen,
Family allowance, i think to cut it off would be drastic so maybe just tell your parents nicely that you will only contribute 50% until u have a job and then you will reinstate to 100%. For me, after I got my baby, my mum actually told me no need to give them anymore allowance so my expenses will go up. But I still give.

CL, thanks for remembering me. Yes, i am still keen on MBA. Let's discuss during RP lunch?

Suntec :

--> it seems like only CL and I am keen for Buona Vista (we need 4 to start), so I'm proposing doing in Suntec (since it's a Sunday afternoon). In case if the mummy can't go into the water, the daddy can go. For the date, how abt 20 May (6 May is 3 days later and 13 May is mother's day which I assume you busy ladies would be full of activities). Pls put down the ok date against your name (need 4 to start, max is 6). I should probably get back to Aquaducks to "chop" the date soon ... thanks!

Suntec
1) SY (6/13/20 May)
2) Clare (20 May)
3) Cheng (20 May)
4) Chicken Little
5) ky (20 May)
6) Ak (20 May)
7) Mashybrainz (20 May)
8) Esh Mummy - (20may)
9) Flo (20 May)

---
3) Cookie - Still keen
4) Denmy - Still Keen
6) Celine77- Still keen
9) sunny
10) Annie - keen

Date: 8th June, Friday afternoon (So that our dear Denmy can join in and before any other moms give birth)
Price: $40(We are planning a little take home, made-by-yourself-in-simple-steps-in-half-hour layout for you to frame)

Cost breakdown: Original price of High-tea at Marriot $38.46 nett, with HSBC card get 15% off on Fridays only (CL has got HSBC card), therefore, $32.70. Remaining of the money will go into the little something special for each individual that Rachel and I have planned to put together as a celebration of our woman/motherhood, as individuals.

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13) SY
14) Clare
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Re: Birthday Bash Memento

The following mummies , please submit your darlings' photo by this week 6 May. ~~CL

1) Wenyl
2) Clare
3) Sleepingdeer
4) Linda
5) Krissie
6) Chicken Little
7) Esther - <font color="0000ff">recieved</font>
8) Sunny
9) Chillies - <font color="0000ff">recieved</font>
10) Sandra Chu
11) Sep03bride
12) SL
13) Wenny
14) Cookie

pls email to [email protected]
JPG file, size not less than 600kb
photo taken around your bb's 1YO

Esh_mummy
Maybe you just KIV the hi-tea for the time being? If in the event you can still come, there's always space =)

ky
Blur me, I was backtracking on the posts and read what you wrote on bringing your elder boy. I'll check with Marriott to see what are their charges (if any) for children under 6 years.

cookie
what's your email address? Can PM me? =)

RE: Jurong West Playgroup

I have finalised the date for the event.

Here's the details. Please confirm your attendance.

Date: 19 May
Time: 12noon to 2pm / 3pm to 5pm

*Please indicate ur time preference as I am not sure what time is your baby's nap time. We will decide on the majority okie?

Name/No. of pax
=============
1) Aden / 1 adult at this point
2) Caleb + SSF n HB
3) God's child + bb + hb
4) Sept03 + bb + hb
5) mamachan + bb + helper
6) rachel + bb + hb (12noon-2pm)
7) ky + bb (TBC)
8) sunny n hb + bb

Waiting List
=============
9) Tabbissus
10) Queen (I put down yours cos I know u are interested)

Please indicate according to this format
Name/no of pax/time

** Very sorry, I am FTWM so I do not cook at home. If needed, I will go buy and cook for the babies. Or if you are able to bring your own? Please let me know.~~May

*Please indicate ur time preference as I am not sure what time is your baby's nap time. We will decide on the majority okie?

Name/No. of pax
=============
1) Aden / 1 adult at this point
2) Caleb + SSF n HB
3) God's child + bb + hb
4) Sept03 + bb + hb
5) mamachan + bb + helper (3pm to 5pm)
7) ky + bb (TBC)
8) sunny n hb + bb

Waiting List
=============
9) Tabbissus

Name/no of pax/time

** Very sorry, I am FTWM so I do not cook at home. If needed, I will go buy and cook for the babies. Or if you are able to bring your own? Please let me know.~~May

Have added my name in.

RE: Window Grills
Let's have BP for the window grills and We see no. of family that need the window grill.
So that the expert can give us a good quotation.

1. Linda
2. Tabbiesus
3. wenyl (only at balcony & masterbed room window)

So tempting! To confirm nearer to date cos need to arrange babysitting la. Been ages since I went out on a all-girls outing man!

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Mamachan,
No prob.. hehe... Will of course try to be there if i can make it... hmmm....

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16) Esh_mummy (TBC)
17)
18)
19)
20)

Name/No. of pax
=============
1) Aden + chicken little ( fine with both timing if 12 - 2 = 1 bb + 1 adult if 3-5 then 1 bb + 1 kid + 2 adults)
2) Caleb + SSF n HB
3) God's child + bb + hb
4) Sept03 + bb + hb
7) ky + bb (TBC)
8) sunny n hb + bb

Waiting List
=============
9) Tabbissus

Name/no of pax/time

Mamachan,

Will put my name down first coz 8 Jun, my boss' boss is in Singapore..and worst of all he is staying in Marriot...not sure if he will approve my leave or not.

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16) Esh_mummy (TBC)
17) bblon (TBC)
18)
19)
20)

Suntec :

Suntec
1) SY (6/13/20 May)
2) Clare (20 May)
3) Cheng (20 May)
4) Chicken Little (20 May)
5) ky (20 May)
6) Ak (20 May)
7) Mashybrainz (20 May)
8) Esh Mummy - (20may)
9) Flo (20 May)

---
3) Cookie - Still keen
4) Denmy - Still Keen
6) Celine77- Still keen
9) sunny
10) Annie - keen

Can I take a poll to check if Daddy or Mummies is going in ? Ha ha if majority mummies then I doubt my hb will do it

Hello Mummies!

This must be the most 'happening' thread on this forum!

Have been following this thread for a while, but always felt like no good time to post, cos it was like intruding into this big, happy family.

Anyway..a big HELLo to all...my daughter was also born in Jan 06

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
4) Rena (?)
5) Cheng
6) SL (TBC)
9) ky + 1 boy
12) cookie (TBC)
13) SY
14) Clare
15) wenyl (TBC)
16) Esh_mummy (TBC)
17) bblon (TBC)
18) Yuki
19)
20)

Looking forward to seeing all mummies! All girls/ladies outing will be fun!

RE: Ah Soh

Ha Ha, basically we ladies tend to scrutinised ourselves and be very stringent about ourselves. Me too, thou think i am like ah soh yet lazy to work out to get back the figure! ;p

CL

likely my hb will do it. He's more confident in handling my boy in the water. i'm a highly strung mother who will freak out when my boy dives into the water. That day brought him swimming and he took a dive into the water (he squats when he's trying to balance himself while walking. But when u squat in the pool, u'll end up in the water) My hb handled it rather well and my boy was laughing away. If it's me, i'll definitely freak out and dish him out quickly.

crashbandit,
Welcome! Not intruding at all... How about introducing yourself? My boy Isaac's EDD was Jan 06, but borned in Dec 05 instead. Most of the mummies have been on this thread since the days of early pregnancy! But there are several mummies, who joined this thread after their babies are born as well... We always welcome new mummies to join us.

Mashy,
Ha ha I am trying to ensure my hb mostly will be done by hb because he is a bamboo stick and pai say to show his upper body. Told him no time to see him at all, all will be busy snapping on the camera for their darling

Morning Mummies

Helping my colleague to sell her SPIDERMAN TICKETS (3 Tickets for $21) for tomorrow 5 May, SAT 11.20am show at GREAT WORLD CITY.

Anyone interested?

Hee, I am going to see spidey tonight. looking forward to it.

queen, just ppm you the contacts.

florence, sorry for the delay for the bday bash gifts. I just pm you as well.

Hi Mashy,

I understand what you mean by highly strung.... Me too till several incidents make me change my perspective.

Brought Ashley for her first swim when she was about a year old. By then she can walk on her own. I tend to follow her very very closely in the pool till hubby took over and he relaxed one side, about 2m away!!!! I can't take my eyes off ashley thou i was out of the pool. Then ashley trip and fall into the pool. The pool is about 0.5, deep. Her face dang inside and i was about to scream at hubby for letting it happen. To my surprised ashley just stood up, shook her head and continue playing. I realise if i am there i won't be ablt to discover this side of ashely by being the protective mother. Many instances like that makes me letting it go and being a laid back mum. Ha Ha. It is also then i truly appreciate a male prescence in our children's lives as male provide a different perspective.

any nice place to recommend for chinese food?
I heard peach garden is nice. my boss is asking me to choose a place for my farewell. budget wise, think between $300-$400 for a table should be fine. haha, so nice of him.

Clare
Aiyah, if it's tonight, I dun mind buying over the tickets. Can't wait to see SpiderMan 3.

Yuki/Mashy
Haha, I think my hb is rather high-strung over such matters, not that I'm not watchful enough over Daren, just that I think it's an occupational hazard for my hb to be high strung over possible accidents (last time police for 13 yrs mah). So far, have not seen Daren attempt to put his own head underwater. But he does sure splash the water around him silly that he opens his mouth to breathe when the water is splashed unto his face.

took out my name on aqua duck

Suntec :

Suntec
1) SY (6/13/20 May)
2) Clare (20 May)
3) Cheng (20 May)
4) Chicken Little (20 May)
5) ky (20 May)
6) Ak (20 May)
7) Mashybrainz (20 May)
8) Esh Mummy - (20may)
9) Flo (20 May)

---
3) Cookie - Still keen
4) Denmy - Still Keen
6) Celine77- Still keen
10) Annie - keen

Can I take a poll to check if Daddy or Mummies is going in ? Ha ha if majority mummies then I doubt my hb will do it

Clare,
I asking my hb now. Giving him 1 day off so that ha ha he will agree to bring Aden for aquaducks. But how to pick up from your colleague ?

sob sob, got another program on that day, can't make it for the playgroup, too.

had move tabbie to replace mine. have fun!

Name/No. of pax
=============
1) Aden + chicken little ( fine with both timing if 12 - 2 = 1 bb + 1 adult if 3-5 then 1 bb + 1 kid + 2 adults)
2) Caleb + SSF n HB
3) God's child + bb + hb
4) Sept03 + bb + hb
7) ky + bb (TBC)
8) Tabbissus

Waiting List
=============
9) Queen (I put down yours cos I know u are interested)

Name/no of pax/time

Mamachan ... thanks for checking out for me with Marriot!

Queen, we've stopped giving both sides of the parents allowance years ago, even when I was working. So "bu xiao" hor? But both sides of the parents do not need the finances and for my mum, she's becoming very money-faced but all I know it's all the money she's saved up is kept in saving accts and she's done foolish things to lose big sums of money. I feel that if money is needed to be spend, I'll give, but not for hoarding. Like how we are to our kids, I believe our parents shouldn't expect money from us esp in difficult times but we are children should do it if we see there's a need.

Name/No. of pax
=============
2) Caleb + SSF n HB
3) God's child + bb + hb
4) Sept03 + bb + hb
7) ky + bb (TBC : need to seek "permission" from hubby first) (3pm to 5pm)
8) Tabbissus

Waiting List
=============
9) Queen (I put down yours cos I know u are interested)

Name/no of pax/time

Re : Aquaducks

AK, no prob. PM me your mobile # can so I can keep u informed just the day before?

Note : I'll have 2 groups of back-to-back sessions (4-4.30 and 4.30-5). So far, we have 8 in the list with timings already. If I get 8-12 babies-parents, I'll just tikam-tikam to slot into the timings ok? Anyone has special timeslot request, pm me can?

Tabb, Buona Vista is the public swimming pool. hm, your place is just round the corner hor? But now the group is doing at Suntec leh ... come join us there lah... swimming pool is at tower 2 4/F (tower 2 is where Nike is). There should have shower facilities (I'm assuming).

CL, my hubby would only go into the pool if I can't go in .. think my whole family would be there anyway. I'd preferred to do it than my hubby. He's kinda switched-off when it comes to such things (u see how he like before right?) ... I'm contemplating removing the arm-floats from Keith now, think I've depended too much on the floaties already.

.ky.

Interview
I went for my second interview and was being offered..but now i m not sure to take up the offer or not...coz recently i had a pay increment ..was pretty suprised with the increment that i tot i was not entitled as joined them less then 6mth..currently company got very good welfare and the best of all is that we finished work at 430. If i join the other company..i m expected to do alot of overtime...so "FAN" now

Aiyo babylon
What is the push factor which make you go for the interview ? Weigh it and see if you want to move on or not. Write down your push factors and pull factors and see which one is more important to you. By the way any good news from you ?

Hi Mummies just got this through an email:

Subject: Vicks Vaporub - Good info

To stop night time coughing in a child (or adult as we found out personally), put Vicks Vaporub generously on the bottom of the feet at bedtime then cover with socks.

Even persistent, heavy, deep coughing will stop in about 5 minutes and stay stopped for many, many hours of relief.

Works 100% of the time and is more effective in children than even very strong prescriptions cough medicines. In addition it is extremely soothing and comforting and they will sleep soundly.

I heard the head of the Canada Research Council describe these findings on behalf of their scientists when they were investigating the effectiveness and usage of prescription cough medicines in children as compared to alternative therapies like accupressure. I Just happened to
tune in A.M. Radio and picked up this guy talking about why cough medicines in kids often do more harm than good due to the chemical makeup of these strong drugs so, I listened.

It was a surprising finding and found to be more effective than prescribed medicines for children at bedtime, and in addition, it has a soothing and calming effect on sick children who then went on to sleep soundly .

babylon,
I remember you worked on jurong island. mind sharing what company you are working at and which company you plan to go? I think the work culture is very important so maybe I know something about these companies.
of course, I may know nothing about them.

Mongs,
U can try Lei Garden either at CHIJMES or Orchard, opposite UOB bank, with a California Fitness below.
Food there's not bad... :)

Spider Man 3 is nice... :) Very nice... in my opinion lah... watched during the Labourday holiday....

Esh and CL,
ya, took lei garden a couple of times because it's near my town office. the food is nice but want to try something new. maybe we will go peach garden.

wow all the talk abt food making me hungry

for dim sum, i like the following places
hwa ting - orchard hotel
crystal jade golden palace - paragon
lei garden - chijmes
wan hao - marriott

i never tried peach garden before for dim sum. only their ala carte

ak
wow u seem to be flying often for your job.

re RP lunch
is it on next mon?

crashbandit
welcome to our big family!!

mongs
can PM me the contact as well?

Hi mummies.

There is another swimming trial which is located at the <font color="0000ff">NTU ALumni Clubhouse</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1"><u>Waterfun Babies & Tots Promotion</u></font></font>
(for babies 5 to 36 months old)
Treat your baby to a complimentary Waterfun Babies & Tots session!! Here's how:

1. Email the link (http://www.waterfun.com.sg/promo.php) to 3 of your friends with this subject title:
<font color="0000ff">Check this out - Waterfun Times!!</font>
You can write your own message to them.

2. At the end of your message to your friends, please include these particulars for us:
<ul>[*]Your name, <LI> Your baby's name & age, <LI> Contact number[/list]

3. Remember to CC the same email to "[email protected]".

4. We will contact you within 5 working days once we receive your email to arrange the complimentary session for you.

** All entries have to be submitted before 29 May 07. Anyone interested, maybe we can form our own group.