(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Thanks for your advice.

Hi Rachel,

Sorry to hear your loss, My condolences to you and your family. I believe she has went to a better place. Just remember that she still with you in your heart.

Rach
My condolences to you and your family. It was a good thing that you got to see your aunt when she got discharged from the hospital. No more pain and suffering, if not also quite heartbreaking for the family. Will see you tmr at the workshop then.

May
We're thinking most likely weekdays in June, haha unless you kheng MC. Mondays are double stamping Mondays =) Try to join us if possible to scrap, we usually gather together and exchange ideas =) It's not really a contest lah, more of a challenge =)

CL
Maybe I will go print out some of my Perth trip pics taken in 2005. Haha, start to motivate myself to start scrapping that as well. Heeee.

Rachael

Sorry to hear abt that. Like what others said, it's a release from all the sufferings...

Chicken Little
I want to leh. But my hb has to attend a wedding in the morning. Doubt can make it for the 12.30pm session.

Re: no of accompanying parents
U can both go but one of you will sit one side while the other will take part in the activities lor. What I did was to take photos when my hb did the activities with my boy.

durianlover & linda
thanks for your assurance. my hb like felt very heart pain for him. In the middle of the night, after my boy stopped crying, he went over to take a look at him. Last time I will still go and check on him. But realised that when he sees me, he'll scream louder. So now i don't even go in and let him cry until he's tired.

Photos from Joycelyn
Hey mummies, I will be going down to Joycelyn's place to collect Aidan's photos tonight. Since I will be meeting some mummies over this weekend and at East coast, anyone want me to collect on their behalf? Please PM, email or call me if keen ok?

cheng
you going to mygym trial this saturday 1230?
me trying to call joycelyn but no one pick up.
i almost forgot my orders liao. and she also nvr reply me leh.....
if i got her reply in time, i let you know can?

rachel
sorry to hear about your loss. my condolences to your family.

rachel - sorry to hear abt ur aunt. hope your mum can get over it soon. at least ur aunt is not suffering anymore.

SY - sorry to hear abt ur dog. pets are like tat...the feeling of departure is really torturing. my rabbit was also put down and i cannot bear to see him got injected. in the end, my sis was the one bringing it to the vet and got it done. i was sobbing so bad at one corner.

sunny
I withdrew from MY GYM. But will be seeing CL for the sb class - I pass to her and you can pick up from her on Sat. I PM u my mobile no for easy contact. Anyway, I am only going now tonight, so u have time to co-ordinate.

Mummies...the cream have arrived..let me know your collection method..if opt for postage, please pm me your address and tt to my account POSB SAVING 175059466.

Mummies that place ordered for the Calendula Cream from . Items have reached VPOST
cream + shipping charges..total will $12.40 per tubs. Please let me know the method of collection :

FOr those who have opt for postage, charges as follow:
1 tub = $0.80
2 tub = $1.20
3 tub = $$1.70

For registered mail will be additional of $2.20
Meeting Point : Bt Batok

Calendula Cream 2 oz @ $15.50
1)bblon (15 tubs)
2)Aileen (3tubs)
3)Esh_mummy (6 tubs) - (first time too- :p) = postage $3.30 for 6 tubs.
4)Clare (1 tub) -- first time trying.
5) durianlover (1 tub) - also 1st time trying!
----------------------
Total : 26 tubs

Hi SY,
Understand how you might feel. HAve many dogs my self and when each dog passed away it is really sad. ONe of my dogs gave birth two days ago in the middle of the night to 5 puppies and 2 didn't make it. Aiyo so sad....can even see my dog sitting next to the body and licking the two puppies.
Preschool--> You considering accompanied or non-accompanied type.
Accompanied type: not many to choose from. I am interested in the accompanied ones so did some research but they are not specific to the east. My intention was to let my girl attend accompanied program until she is old enough to attend her bro current school.
+ Julia Gabriel--> playnest is good esp mandarin. english ones lots of my fren complaining. Playclub too many ppl (teacher child ratio high) and all accompanied by maids so at the end of the day all maids chatting there which can be realli frustrating.
+ GUG --> Teacher not as passionate and lively as JG but they are more academic which I think more beneficial for older toddler.
+ Zoophonics school --> Not been there myself but heard from fren that not too bad....going for a trial soon so maybe can let you know. They have school bus available.
+Genevieve where kids love to learn--> montessori style with zoophonics and unique chinese program. small class but u have to stay on till nutsery for independent program if not will have 300 bucks penalty.
+kidsloft--> heard their kindermusik is veri good. the teacher LAVINA used to be from Pats school.
+Kinderland --> Chinese and eng class. Might go for a trial to see. The best thing is that can pay thru the CDAC fund!
+WHitelodge--> Expats community. Uses Jolly PHonics to teach so quite interesting.lots of art and craft.
+PAt's school--> they have a accompanied program I tink 3 x a week at certain location (I tink nearest to east would be the one at Lim Ah Pin road...the one at siglap is onli one weekends). Teacher quality not too bad. Singing, story telling, playground and snack time.

For non-accompanied, some schools provide flexi hour like 3x a week or 2x a week. A few things you might want to note when you visit a childcare are --> cleanliness, english standard, teacher child ratio and as well as teacher turn over rate(my boy's first childcare changed 3 teachers in less than 6mths! this is a common phenonmenon in childcare so do make it a point to ask).
Some schools I visited.
+ Brighton montessori-- childcare. Super academic hahah which means that if your child stays on till K2 no problem with school.
+Chiltern--> The cleanest school I have seen so far. BUT they onli enrol at 3yrs old. prenursery is bilingual immersion but not higher level (which means that onli 30mins chinese per day).Chiltern also not veri academic and several of my frens say not veri well prepared for p1.
+ Pat's school. Bilingual immersion. Better teacher quality then most schools. But not fantastic in terms of curricumlum.
+Montekidz -> a montessori school. have 1 hr playgroup. not sure whether are u keen. no food provided just montessori work and music and movement.
+ schoolhouse by the bay --> a canadian style preschool with affordable rate. the most interesting thin is that they have tis viewing room like those in the police interogation room with one way mirror. So if you are free u can sit in the room the whole day to see what you kids are doing. Bilingual immersion program. But ratio not fantastic.
...aiyo...I tink i share too much. Let me know if you are keen to know info for other school

HI scrapbook mommies,
A fren of mine own a scrapbook store at wheellock place told me that they have a package that is super easy to use with everything inside. I am not a scrapbook person so not too sure. YOu might want to check it out. ANyone into digital scrapbook? Tot of using it. Anyone good at it? Maybe can share.

Mygym trial,
Is it the same as the one at parkway? Parkway is closer for me coz I stay in the east. I am going for a trial the week after next. anyone want to join me?

Rach,
My condolences to you and your family. Take care.

Denmy,
wah...sounds so easy your delivery. I can still remember me pushing and pushing. By the time they show me the bb, I'm already half dead... :p

Jamom,
Very comprehensive info on the various schools. Huh...I din think so far for my kid thou. Prob start going one when he's 2.

Mashy,
I'm tempted to try the cry it out. My boy will "whine" alot in the middle of the night. Dunno bcos hot? tummy uncomfortable? or ??? Sometimes after change diaper, he will stop sometimes still whine. It gets really loud that we cant sleep., He wld "slam" his legs too. We co-sleep hence no quality sleep when he's into "action". He also takes very long to fall asleep at times. 30-45 mins. He wld play, crawl, talk...try to climb down to walk....Hub was wondering how long it wld take him if we juz leave him alone. Sometimes, he v farni, laughing one moment and knock out the next!

Jamom,
Wow, ur research is good. Any ideas of accompanied one in the west side? Or any in town where there is shopping centres or MRT station?

I think most of the scrappers know which shop ur fren owe in wheelock place. Got discount or not? hehe.

Hi Mummies,.

RE: Window Grill

I read on last week regarding the window grill.
I need it to as I'm stay at 14 floor......

Any mummy here got good recommendation?
Need your help....S.O.S

Hi Mummies,.

RE: Window Grill

I read on last week regarding the window grill.
I need it to as I'm stay at 14 floor......

Any mummy here got good recommendation?
Need your help....S.O.S

Mummies , bad news and good news. Bad news , strawberry flavour no more liao. Good news, she booked 2 cartons each for the remaining 2 flavour. So need help to fill up the order for the Kameda-Plain. But I told her to chop the strawberry flavour for next shipment. Will keep this list for strawberry for next shipment use.

Iwatsuka - Vege - 10 packs , each $2.73
1) Wenny
2) Wenny
3) Chicken Little
4) Chicken Little
5) SL
6) Flo
7) Flo
8) rena
9) Sep03bride
10)Mamachan
============================
11) SSF
12) Clare
13) Krissie
14) Krissie
15) Precious Moment
16) Precious Moment
17) SH
18) sysac
19) tabbiesus
20) Cookie

Kameda - Plain - 12 packs $2.57
1) Chicken little
2) SL
3) Flo
4) Flo
5) AK
6) AK
7) rena
8) God's child
9) Mama chan
10) Mama chan
11) Rachel
12) SSF
=======================
13) Precious Moment
14) Precious Moment
15) sysac
16) sysac
17) tabbiesus
18) Chicken little
19) sysac (again!)
20) Chicken little
21)
22)
23)
24)

Adding my orders
Thanks CL!

1) Wenny
2) Wenny
3) Chicken Little
4) Chicken Little
5) SL
6) Flo
7) Flo
8) rena
9) Sep03bride
10)Mamachan
11) SSF
12) Clare
13) Krissie
14) Krissie
15) Precious Moment
16) Precious Moment
17) SH
18) sysac
19) tabbiesus
20) Cookie

1) Chicken little
2) SL
3) Flo
4) Flo
5) AK
6) AK
7) rena
8) God's child
9) Mama chan
10) Mama chan
11) Rachel
12) SSF
=======================
13) Precious Moment
14) Precious Moment
15) sysac
16) sysac
17) tabbiesus
18) Chicken little
19) sysac (again!)
20) Chicken little
21) SSF
22) SSF
23)
24)

thanks for the consolation. We suspect our dog is having fainting episodes. the vet suggest trying to capture a video and then bring the video to her. I m going to take leave tmr to go see him.

Rachel
sorry to hear abt your aunt. u sound close to her. i can imagine your mum must be really crying buckets now...i already cried so many times when my dog is not doing well.

jamom
hee, thanks for your recommendations! i think i will take a few days leave to go check them out. i did read good reviews abt Brighton after u told me abt them a few weeks back but they are so ex! my hb faint when i tell him how ex it is...haha

i have seen schoolhouse by the bay ad before. looks interesting. and i like the name of the place.

do try to join us on May Day. I think your boy and gal will have fun.

did u sign up for the hol prog at JG as well?

rachel, take care.

Chicken Little, I'll take the balance:
1) Wenny
2) Wenny
3) Chicken Little
4) Chicken Little
5) SL
6) Flo
7) Flo
8) rena
9) Sep03bride
10)Mamachan
11) SSF
12) Clare
13) Krissie
14) Krissie
15) Precious Moment
16) Precious Moment
17) SH
18) sysac
19) tabbiesus
20) Cookie

1) Chicken little
2) SL
3) Flo
4) Flo
5) AK
6) AK
7) rena
8) God's child
9) Mama chan
10) Mama chan
11) Rachel
12) SSF
=======================
13) Precious Moment
14) Precious Moment
15) sysac
16) sysac
17) tabbiesus
18) Chicken little
19) sysac (again!)
20) Chicken little
21) SSF
22) SSF
23) AK
24)AK

Hi SY,

Din sign my gal up for holiday program coz I am keen onli on the mandarin nest class and the lead teacher is not her current teacher so hmmmm......no point driving there so early in morning. My boy also having his holiday so no where to dispose him...hahaha....JG holiday program timing for him also clash with playnest.

Hi CHillies,
Seriously I tink not too early to look around for school. COz popular school have super long waiting list....some as long as 2 yrs. e,g Little oaks montessori and Nanyang Kindy! A fren of mine put her girl on wait list for nanyang kindy as soon as she was born!

Hi May,
In the west there is this school call mysmartbaby (i tink www.mysmartbaby.com). It is a brain based school like Shichida but it provides daily playgroup. The founder is the founder of sgparenting (a forum into shichida and glenn doman). So far have not heard any feedback but I tink their fees quite ok.
zoophonics have a branch at beauty world.
I have a fren who sends her boy to a homebased playgroup. Let me check the details and get back to you.

School in town: most of the school i mentioned are intown except for monte kidz
school near MRT:
www.weecare.com.sg --> near orchard MRT. Veri good. good curriculum. the principoal is highly qualified. low ratio. went for trial once like it better than JG playnest english. but can't send my girl coz onli on weekends.

Actphabets--> at esplanade. started by ex JG teacher. frens who attended dun like it. But can arrange for trial....never know...but get a good teacher.

Playworkz --> millenia walk. Focus on alot of gross motor skills and interesting coz move from room to room for actvities unlike GUG "stuck" in a room. But it is not realli a gym class like gymboree or the little gym which realli focuses on gym stuff. BUt heard the quality of teacher has dropped.

Eton school: HAving open house i tink this weekend. So for moms who are keen can go take a look.

Discount huh....heehee....I can try asking.

Mashybrainz,

You are welcome!

Rachel
np, u shld spend time with your mum :> we have plently of chances to 'hang out'. See u tom at class. My condolences to you and your family.

Rachel, sorry to hear about your loss...

CL, the risotto ... anymore? I can take some if there is.

Jamom, I thot Playworkz has closed down quite sometime ago?? Is it still around? Do you know the number to call? www.mysmartbaby.com is not by the founder of SGParenting. I believe the founder sends her son there ... btw, the founder's my fren ... she has tried to start her own school but recently closed it due to personal reason. Which school do you send your 4-yr old boy to? I've a 4-yr old boy and he's with The Learning Ladder which is affiliated to The Schoolhouse by the Bay (yes, I use the viewing room a lot and it's really useful to me) ... where's Montekidz btw? I'm interested in that one.

.ky.

babylon
I ordered 3 tubs of calendular cream too.. u missed out my order.. can I buy from u instead since u ordered 15? My last tub of calendular cream is running low already..

Posted on Thursday, March 22, 2007 - 12:57 pm: Edit Post Print Post
will place my order on 23 Mar...
Any more order?

Calendula Cream 2 oz @ $15.50
1)bblon (15 tubs)
2)Aileen (3tubs)
3)Esh_mummy (6 tubs) - (first time too- :p)
4)Clare (1 tub) -- first time trying.
5) durianlover (1 tub) - also 1st time trying!
6) Mamapanda (2 tubs)
----------------------
Total : 28 tubs

Sorry... just found the old post.. I ordered 2 tubs instead. But if u don't mind selling 3 to me, I'll take it too!

HI Ky

I tink my info on playworkz must be dated. I visited the place abt a year or so ago so din know that they have closed down. Wat a pity. They have quite interesting concept. Did millenia walk revamp that area? coz I know berries is closed also at millenia walk.

You mean mysmartbaby is closed down? my fren was still suggesting sending her gal there coz she say it is cheaper compared to SM. hmm...I better let her know. tot the founder of sgparenting started that school coz rec an email where she explains that the school will not affect the forum or something.

My boy is 4 tis year too. So great! we can compare notes. My boy went for trial at school house at the bay briefly but I pulled him out. Tried so many enrichments and schools (have tried almost all schools I have stated in my earlier postings) and finally decided most schools do not have all the "qualities" that I want.....one school can be good in eng but not strong in chinese....good teacher to child ratio but worried that he might not get used to P1.hahaha So I sent him to two schools. A montessori school (for all the montessori aspect like phonics and maths)and chinese based kindy (for the chinese)..
Monte kidz might be too far for you if your boy is attending Learning Ladder. Monte kidz is at pasir ris. You keen in montessori school? My fren realli swears by buttercups montessori, might be nearer to your place.

thank you for your consolation and concern. thanks. will use dylan as the tool to cheer everyone up. he did a good job on me today =)

jamom
wow you sure know lots of information on preschools! abit tough for me to absord all on what you posted =p now we have one more mummy to ask for advise.

chillies
you might want to get prepare on your boy in putting up a big battle when you perform the cry out method on him. the older they gets, the tougher it is to train them. i was (now still is) a cruel mother who trained dylan since he was 3 mths plus. nowadays when he cry in the middle of the night, i will not attend to him too. of coz, it depends on his cries whether is he just fussing or in distress/discomfort. we mummies have the ability to identify our bbs cries. unlike for our hbs, all sound the same to them haha.

Rachel,

sorry for your loss.. but i think you should be happy coz she is with the lord...

jamom,

you did your home work well.. i am impressed...

Tabbie/CL/Rachel,
Thanks. I will be looking forward to hearing JW call mama. As for couple time....it's hard...coz though i am here in London, there's so many deadlines to meet on top of the meetings in the morning. Still working now. My poor hb has been roaming London on his own.

RE: Sick baby
Jamie is having fever again. I think her top molars is coming out. She has been biting her fingers last night and had a swollen left cheek. Wonder when these will end. She even vomited in the middle of the night. Now I am zombie at work as I have been attending to her the whole night. Once her fever medicine goes off, her temp shoot high again. She refuses to let me sponge her and stick the cool strip. Any other ways to keep her temp down?

Jamom
Wowo I'm really impress too! Thanks for the info... at least now I have some background info when i start look for a playschool for my girl... am interested in the Weecare cos its near my office and also not too far from Toa Payoh where my mum stay. But i notice the weekday classes costs more than $1k for a term! Is this the normal price? What is the average price or a playschool and what is the difference like comparing a neighbourhood playschool vs those popular ones you have listed?

SH
You will be rewarded with JW's smile and who knows a "mama",bet you will be overjoyed with tears. Task hb to get JW a present since he is roaming around now.

Jamom
You are very resourceful on the classes leh. Hmm now I am sourcing for one around CCK. Where is www.mysmartbaby.com located at? Click on the webby but does not bring to that page leh ?

Ky,
Have you heard anything about learning hub at Yew Tee CC ? They have intake from 22 months.
Risotto, of course you can still put in the order. As long as the final order is in multiples of 6 packs since 1 carton = 6 packs.

Since the biscuit order is filled up for 2 carton. I will keep the last list by AK and do distribution for both biscuits and risotto after collecting the cartons.

Oh Jamom,
Forgot to thank you for the list. You are really very hardworking doing all these "homework". I shall visit the website tonight.

May
Maybe you can get the Aqua Pillow from KK hosp pharmacy for Jamie to lie on at night? I was told by my collegue and PD that this pillow will help to keep temp down and that KK hosp is using this for all children having fever. Its not ex... only $7 for a small size and $11 for a bigger size. I very Kiasu after Ashley was discharged from hosp from her fever/fits the last time I immediately went to KK to buy 3 (1 for mum place, 1 my place and 1 for Ashley's 3day younger "Aunty").

Actually, KK hosp is very near my place if u need me to help you buy let me know k? =)

Janmom,
Actphabets just closed down this year as well.
My niece was attending the sat class but they have to close it because the attendance is getting bad.

Rachel,
take care. so sorry about your aunt.

Jamom
hee, thanks for all the info. seems like all the mummies very impressed!

i tot actphabets sounds not bad. a few of my colleagues used to send their kids there

for me i will need on that has a sch bus

i thought your boy attending some Act 3 class during his hols?

CL
i saw my smart baby before on mumcentre's website i think. seems quite nice.

re eton house
i saw their open house flyer. but they are realyl qutie ex as well... which eton house branch is better?

today on leave going to visit my dog. hopefully he is better already.

babylon
Thank you so much. Just PM me how much I should transfer to you along with your bank details ok? BTW, where did u buy the creams from? The pricing seems alot cheaper than drugstore.com

Went to watch Phantom last night! The Phantom's voice is really beautiful, full of expression, dynamic! Impressed with the props too, but I still prefer Les Miserables. Those who are going, they start real punctually. We had to gobble down our dinner in 15minutes cos we could only reach esplanade at 7pm and food only arrive at 730, show starts at 8pm!

Clare,
Good idea about the Aqua Pillow!

May,
Meg is the same when she has fever, refusing to be sponged and the fever pad. I could only give her medicine (mostly suppository) and wait it out.

RE: Porridge
My gal refused porridge for the past 3 days and only wanted milk or cereal. Think teething. Last evening, MIL made plain porridge, steam the fish separately and mix in when ready to eat. And Meg finished 1.5bowls! So plain porridge also can now.

RE: Aqua Pillow
Only KK have it? If that's the case, I will rush down later to get one. Any other place sells this cos I am working near Tuas. I worried that tonight will be another sleepless night for me again. Need to get it fast.

SY,
Your dog sounds quite sick. Please be strong when you see him, he would be happy to see you happy. Please be prepared that you may need to let him go.

TGIF!

Rachel / CL,
Sorry about your aunts. I know how you must have felt. 3 years ago, I lost my grandma. Was very close to her when I was younger when she used to come down very often from Ipoh. But in recent years, I only saw her once or twice a year when I go up to Ipoh to visit. At her wake, one older cousin told me that, as we grow, there will be stages where we have to say goodbye to our loved ones as they aged or get too sick. When we were young, it could be our grandparents, now it could older relatives, maybe 20 years down the road, it will be our own parents. These are natural events which we cannot avoid but will just have to believe that in death, they have found a release and a new life beyond. I think it's very true.

SY,
Sorry about your dog too..

Re. childcare and classes
I feel a bit guilty here cos up till now, except for the babies n cream trial which I brought Isaac to last year, he hasn't attended any classes or trial. I see so many mummies here bringing babies to trials and lessons and I'm wondering whether Isaac is missing out. To be honest, I'm not ery hardworking in teaching him things when I'm at home. Normally, I'll read him books (those 123 and abc kind), draw with the crayola (which he cannot concentrate for long) and watch vcds (he's crazy about the sesame street ones). My HB willl play with him which involves mainly kicking and playing with balls and 'catching' (weekdays he'll play with mini cars and the shape-sorter at my ILs) and bring him to the playground. My MIL commented that he seems anti-social, doesn't want to play with other kids who wanted to play with him at the playground. I'm a bit concerned liao... Think must really send him to playgroup soon.

jamom,
Your info on whereas childcares is really extensive! Though they are mostly in the east (I stay north), still very helpful info cos now I know what to look out for when I source for one later.

May,
Any more slots for the playgroup at your place?

Tracy,
I take it that you play the piano? Do you intend to let Meg have piano lessons? I play the piano, but I'm wondering whether to enrol Isaac in violin lessons instead though he loves to bang on the piano.