(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

durianlover, Ryan was overdue by a week. My EDD was 28 Dec actually...maybe I got my conception date wrong....hahaha

SY, what do you mean by "Bring a diaper sample"? What's a diaper sample?

Rachel / Tracy,
I can't seem to find the part on potty training readiness in the bumwear link... where is it?

wow...thread is really moving like a bullet train. hee..

re: screaming babies
oh my...Caleb also started to discover his shrieking voice and seems to always be shouting when things does not get into his ways. just last week, we went to Great World city and he went to a shop that is selling balls. grabbed one and was playing with it. then when i took the ball away and hold his hands out of the shop. he started screaming and even cry when i carried him out. just reminded me of times when i wasn;t with a kid and when i see a kid screaming ...i would always say spoil brat..if i am the parents, i would disclipine them. and now it;s my turn. haha...and i couldnt bear to scold him. then later when i was shopping without hb/caleb, i overheard a boy saying "just now got one baby shouting very very loud" and for a moment i thot.."oh no...dun tell me its caleb" and right enough hb told me he was shouting at a boy just now in the shoes shop. so pai seh mann! hahaa...

re: confinement
last yr, i didnt engage a CL thinking my mum can cope and easy to whack up confinement food for me. but i was wrong...she didnt have time or shld i say she also not very sure how to cook. so in the end i ended up eating non nutritious food. can be just rice, sardine and veg and a normal soup. i dun blame her coz she was quite tired after caring for baby and also my dad seems to be busy and not helping out too. so this time, i told hb, die die also must get a CL. haha...anyway its my last time being pregnant...so might as well get a good diet to pu pu shen. thanks to rena, i will be engaging her CL to help me this time. so looking fwd to some good food and rest tis time round. hee...

Tracy,
I am fine with 22 Apr as well. Thanks for arranging!

re: confinement
On the contrary, both my mum and my mil encouraged me very strongly to get a CL. My original CL broke her leg just 2 weeks before I was due and I got one very last min and it was a horrible experience. I am so glad when she left.

tracy
megan is such a good girl, she wants to save some money for papa and mama on diapers =) can slowly start training now.

denmy
its thick ah... hmm then i might have to consider carefully since dylan gets heat rash very easily. i find training pants will be good in teaching our toddlers to learn potty training much better. if there is any accident, can easily wash and reuse. in the long run can save some money and pass on to #2.

chickenlittle
do aden feels hot while wearing bumwear? i have not come across the physical product so cant guide for myself.

Re: Bumwear
I recently bought this for Daren to wear at the beginning of this year - I got 2 diapers and 2 training pants and 7 inserts. So far I've only let Daren wear it in the day, not at night. I would say it's working well for Daren. My maid has been helping to toilet train Daren i.e. she gets him to poo every morning when he wakes up and without fail, he will poo into the toilet bowl. So now each time he has the sensation of pooing, he'll run up to either me or my maid and give that strained look on his face.
As for the inserts, if we notice that he drinks lots of water that day i.e. 4r x 180ml, we'll put in 2 inserts for him to wear but 2 inserts will make the bumwear look really thick. So if we use 1 insert, we'll just change him more frequently. The inserts are washable, so inserts soaked with urine, I'll normally dump them into the pail to be soaked with Nappysan and end of the day, dump the inserts into washing machine to be washed. The inserts take a longer time to dry as compared to the Bumwear diaper.
For the training pants, it's the same as pull up pants, you can pull it down.

For Bumwear, It's not a miracle pants where we can expect it to hold in urine for like hours on end, still have to faithfully change our darlings' diapers once every 3 hours, depending on how much they drink also. But I'm happy with it as Daren does not get diaper rashes (which means I don't have to apply diaper cream) and like what Chicken Little mentioned, the Urine will be soaked into the inserts, leaving the surface of the diaper dry.

Rachel
If you want, I can bring one clean Bumwear and insert down to the SB meet-up. Generally, we rotate 2-3 BUmwear to wear in a day, since the bumwear diaper itself dries very fast. They are so much more user friendly as compared to the traditional cloth diapers which I gave up using after Daren turns 3 months. I started using BUmwear recently as the Nepia L size diaper gave Daren some nasty rashes. I would think that I'll use BUmwear when I have #2. kekekekeke.

May, SL,
thanks for your responses. I've put in your names to babiesncream.

Positive Trial
Subsequent classes we gotta negotiate for timing depending on number signing up for package.

8th April Sunday, 11.45am **Confirmed!**
1) Sept03
2) Mamachan
3) God's Child
4) SH
5) Chicken Little
6) Tracy
7) May
8) Rachel

22nd April Sunday, 4pm **Confirmed!**
1) SY
2) Sysac
3) Cookie
4) Flo
5) sleepingdeer
6) Tabbiesus
7) Rena
8) SL

please dress prepared for a workout. The gal says alot of movements involved!

post here so all mummies can easily take a look at this =)

re: Signs of Readiness for Toilet Training

Like learning to sit up, crawl and walk, potty training is a skill that your child must learn. Experts suggest that parents look for signs of physical, emotional, and cognitive readiness before attempting to toilet train. Children are generally around two years of age before they can recognise and respond to toileting signals such as a full bladder, so premature toilet training may only frustrate you and upset your toddler because they can't do what you're asking of them.

Although it feels impossible sometimes, your toddler WILL sooner or later, learn how to use the toilet. Starting toilet training when your toddlers are ready makes it easier for all the parties involved.

The "ready-to-start-toilet-training" signs to look out for:

?Can follow simple instructions, such as a request to sit down or undress himself/herself.
?Can stay dry for a stretch of 2 to 3 hours
?Is aware of the "need to go" and can understand such words as "potty", "poo", "pee", etc
?Dislikes wet or soiled diapers
?They like being clean and dry
?Shows interest in wearing training pants or underwear
?Can pull elastic-waists pants up and down
?Notices the potty or toilet and wants to sit on it

DON'T
?Don't reprimand or punish in events of "accidents". It will take them some time to master this whole toilet-training business.

?Don't start toilet training when there are big changes happening in the family such as new arrival or move to a new house.

?Don't get stressed. Keep a relaxed attitude. Toileting is not a reflection on your parenting but a maturing process of your toddler. If you treat toileting as a matter of discipline, and punish your toddler for any accidents, you are starting a fight you can't win.

?Don't force them to sit too long on the potty. It'll just feel like a punishment.

?Don't turn your toilet into a battleground. If your toddler is not ready to be toilet trained, he's just not ready. Try again a couple of weeks later. Just don't give up hope. Your toddler will NOT want to be in diapers forever ;-)

DO
?Do praise success. You might want to try rewards like an animal stamp on their hands

?Do invite them to sit on the potty when you're using the toilet

?Do switch from diapers to pull-up training pants they can pull up and down by themselves

?Do buy training pants in their favourite colours to make the whole toilet training process more fun for them

?Do teach them to wash their hands after going to toilet. Buy a special handsoap in their favourite scent for this purpose

?Do expect accidents ! Be patient with accidents and relapses

?Do remind them to go to the potty when they are too engrossed in their activities

You will need lots of patience and a good sense of humour and plenty of time to spend in bathroom. You might want to keep something to read in toilet (for you, not your toddler :) Give your toilet trainee lots of kisses and cuddles - they need to know that you still love them whether or not they perform on the potty !

tracy
heehee, i will get hb to get prepare instead. must let hb do some exercising!

mamachan
thank you! *mua* am sure will ask you lots of questions since i know nuts on bumwear =p

Confinement
Wow, all this talk abt confinement food is making me drool! I don't really like the pig trotters but my hb loves it! I think having a CL is good. MY confinement is done by my mom. She only helps to cook so I had to take care of baby myself. It can be tiring esp my delivery is thru c-section. The wound still quite fresh from the surgery. But it also depends on whether you "heng" to get a good CL. My friend had a CL that doesn't show much initiative plus the CL fell sick on the 2nd day of her stay. So in the end, she had to do everything herself. I also have got reports from friends who enjoyed their CL so much that when the CL leaves, they cry...haha! Back to food, I thinking I am craving for ginger chicken......btw, i am not pregnant...hee!

SSF
My son also screams loudly when he wants things his ways...... and sometimes in a restaurant. Can be very pai seh! But I also did not scold him, just try to distract him with biscuits or toys......if not last resort...got to carry him!

Rachel,
I dun find the bumwear hot leh. Anyway pai seh I have not collect the GAIN IQ from you. I will bring a set and show you. Will do the transfer tonight from home too. Pai seh.

chickenlittle
no problem la =) you let me know when you can come over to collect. get your hb to help, quite heavy wor.

Rachel
Not a problem to bring along, not that heavy. On some very warm days or going to the zoo, I actually let Daren wear BUmwear and I brought along spare inserts and one bumwear diaper. JUst got to bring a spare big zip-lock bag to keep the soiled inserts in it. That ziplock bag can be placed in the stroller basket (tat's what I do coz the stroller basket is quite under-utilized). One good thing is that I only need to buy 1 jumbo pack of Mamypoko diapers a month for Daren's night use and when we're outside.

RE: Jab

yesterday brought elijah for his jab.. he was ok during the day but at night he was alittle feverish.. then suddenly he started to cough.. at 5 am he woke up for milk and seconds after he finish his milk he vomited all onto my bed.. and he was coughing badly.. i am wondering if the jab has trigger his allergy..

RE: screaming

i tot i was the only one.. but realise that this is jus a passing phase.. hopefully the babies will all stop the screaming coz very pai seh..

Sharon,

i am one of those who teared when the CL was leaving .. so sad coz during the day she was my company and during the night she was my helper.. i remembered when i was trying to breast feed elijah and he refuse to drink from breast and keep banging his head on me that i was brusied.. so she advise me to pump out.. but somehow she knew that i was so affeected and she comforted me.. i was glad that during the painful times she can give me comfort.. but the most important is that you must find a good one.. if not sure die coz 1 month leh not play play..

tracy
thanks for organising..
wow cham.. then I have to ask my HB to go since a lot of workout :p

Rena
Could it be Elijah wake up not becos he wants milk but he was uncomfortable?
Personally When kae was older even when she wake up in the nite I will not feed becos I dun wan her to make a habit.
I know how frustrating/scary when kae vomit her milk..
hang in there.

CL
dun have playyard but we sleep in aircon room.. so I suppose kae can go far anyway just within the room and not much space..hee

Rena
What jab did you bring Elijah for? Maybe your want to check with PD? Usually PD would give paracetomol to administer one dose after their jab regardless whether they have fever or not.

my plan was to bring him for mmr but the PD feels that he should that the prevanr as my niece is always sick .. so we decided to give him the preveanr and the hep A jab.... i did give him the fever medication but it is his cough that i am worried...

cookie,

i think he feels uncomfortable and also hungry .. coz after he vomit then he refuse to sleep .. played for a while that he wanted milk again.. after the milk he slept

ak
just bring one diaper to change for the huggies. i brought one pet pet diaper to the paya lebar branch today. got 3 packs of samples.

re toliet training
somehow i think JH not ready. nowadays he won't tell us when he poo. in fact, he's ok to run ard in his soiled diaper. the only thing my maid does is to get him to urine at the toilet bowl once in the morning and once at night.

rena
will jabs trigger allergy? if u go to the same PD who is aware of his allergy yoru PD shd be able to advise right? poor thing, hope he gets well soon

rena - oh no...how is Elijah now? still taking his milk? i also hate to bring him for jabs...coz always have to worry about the side effect of it.

rena,
did elijah choke on his milk and that's why he coughed badly all of a sudden?
Wow Elijah's neck was very strong hor even as a newborn.. strong enough to cause u to have bruises.. must lightly smack his bum

Mommies

RE: confinement food
all this talk make me crave for the pigs trotters! I like the sour vinegary taste now... maybe cos of the stress my appetite isn't so good at night. Unfortunately still put on quite a bit of weight..

Since studying for exams, i've been drinking coffee everyday, if not cannot stay awake!

RE:jabs
Rena, maybe he just sensitive to the jab, either that or he could have picked up a flu bug at the PD clinic.. the last time my girl went for jab, she caught rota virus from the clinic... so nowadays, i get v. paranoid when i bring her for jabs. Will wash her from head to toe and not let her touch anything in the clinic. But actually thinking about it, such immediate reaction unlikely to be flu or anything else cos no incubation time. Hope elijah gets better soon!

RE: potty training
i don't know if tabby is ready, but my mom will just plonk her on the potty at certain times of the day and she will do it there.. sometimes if she needs to go she willtry and sit on the potty after she farts.. then we will know.. otherwise she makes no indication of wanting to go to the loo..

RE: baby tantrums
haha.. now i have my own girl, i'm way more tolerant of other screaming kids.. usu. end up giving the parent sympathetic looks.. however, once when i went out, i saw a daddy suddenly whip out a cane from the stroller and threaten his kid having a tantrum... wah.. so scary.. i don't think i will ever do that leh... so fierce!

Rachel,
Do you have apply anything for Dylan heat rash? JW seems to be getting those pretty frequently recently and then he will scratch and scratch. So wondering if there is anything that I can apply to make it go away coz it's always at the same spot

sept 03,

yah at new born elijah 's neck very strong .. that is why at 2 months we already carry him facing front..

his crying also super loud can hear him cry at the door step even when the room door is close

Pig Trotters
Hmm realli dun understand why you all crave for it. Ha ha when the catering came with this dish, i pass to my dad to finish it. I only like ginger chicken.

May, Rachel
I will bring along the bumwear for sunday class.

CL,

hoho you dun know what you are missing out.. i can finish i med pot all by myslef in two days..
i really love it so much

Rena,

whenever i brought damien to PD i make sure that to bath him(if he is not sick) and changed his clothes in when we reached home. I forbidded him to play with other kids in the clinic and of coz to touch the things in the clinic. I will usually wait outside as clinic is alway crowded.

Saw this...any mummies interested..

Branded Toys Warehouse Sales
6,7,8,14 & 15 april, 10am - 6pm
1, kakit bukit rd 2 #03-05 Eunos Warehouse Complex
(opp Ubi Comfort Driving Centre)
Free Parking
Nearest MRT: Eunos
Bus no: 25,45,51,55,87,93,94,854

Brand: Bandai, Disney, Sanrio, Tomy, Thomas, Hello Kitty, Tomica, Baby Toys, trains and many more.

Cash & NETS only.

CL,

hoho you dun know what you are missing out.. i can finish i med pot all by myslef in two days..
i really love it so much

Rena
Oh no, hope Elijah's cough is not due to allergy.

Tabbiesus/Babylon
I'm also very paranoid when I bring Mel to see doc esp GP. Fortunately her PD only sees patient by appointment. If it's emergency, the nurse will keep the patient outside the clinic esp if it's hand foot and mouth disease. She'll also disinfect her room before the next patient goes in if its serious.

RE: Potty training
Humm, Mel is showing some signs. These days she only want to poo poo after I change a new diaper! But I find it's kind of difficult to train her leh. Firstly she refuses to sit on the potty and she her poo poo timing is not fix and she still can poo poo up to 3 times a day!

ChickenLittle
RE: Pig trotter
I think the way it's cook will affect the taste. I didn't really like the one that my SIL's CL cooked (too much ginger I find), prefer my CL's one.

Ha Ha Flo
Your Mel is like my Charmaine last time. She just suddenly decided to go to the potty for urine and poo within the same day at age 3.

RE : Bumwear
I only use when my boy has rash or when I'm too lazy to bring him to the toilet to pee him regularly. It pretty good when he has nappy rash. It clears very quickly.

RE : Toy Sale
My friend sent me together with a $5 coupon with $50 purchase. Wld post it in the yahoo group tonight k?

RE : Book Sale
There's a book fair at Expo starting from tmr. Preview today for TIMES member. Going later with friend and update mummies on it.

Hi mummies,..

Seems like all our baby in our forum are the same..like cry,, screaming..My Gracie also one of them.

Yesterday night I got some ideal for her...as she was drink milk before sleep. But this time she still got left over 20 ml of milk. So she start scream again bcos I dont allowed her to touch the phone. And I carry the CAREBEAR ( Christmas gift from SIL ) and told her.."you dont want milk milk horrrrr...if like that ..I give to our little CAREBEAR horr" Whoaa she quite fast and take away the milk bottle from my hand and finish the milk
.. and I told her that Carebear will tell mummy what she want and will not like you..cry and scream for nothing. She just look at me and see me PAU PAU the carebear. And I think she understand what I mean. Hope my idea still can work for her tonight

RE: baby monitor
dear mummies,
Wonder if any of you can help?
I'm going to Malacca for staff retreat next Mon and bringing Janelle along. Our retreat sessions are held in the function room of the hotel. I was thinking how to let Janelle take her naps...and think it might be wise to bring a baby monitor so i can put her in the hotel room for naps and monitor her from the function room downstairs.
Anyone who has a baby monitor and doesn't mind lending to me for 4 days? Then again, i'm also not sure whether the monitor is powerful enough to detect considering i'm not sure which floor of the hotel my room will be!
If that's the case, then perhaps i might just let her nap in her pram so she'll always be with me...just that she can't sleep long in the pram.
*headache*
Many thanks in advance!

RE: Pig trotters
All this talk abt pig trotters makes me drool to think of eating it! hehee

RE: Scolding when screaming
I can fully understand how embarrassing it is when ur kid screams in public and doesn't stop! Janelle always does that! And scolding her doesn't work. Also dunno what to do. So sometimes i just ignore her...maybe that's the reason why sometimes we see other parents who don't reprimand their kids when they scream - coz it doesn't work!

Flo,
Yes Janelle also same as Mel. She hates sitting on her potty. Absolutely refuses to sit, even though she likes the bear picture on her potty! And she poos up to 3 or 4 times a day and no fixed timing, so a bit difficult. But whenever she poos, she'll go take a new diaper and bring it to me, or lead me to the toilet. Then i'll know she has pooed
I guess just wait till they're really ready then potty-train will be easier

Positive Tots Trial
Good news! Check out babiesncream's reply:

Each member in the group will get to enjoy 50% discount off $26.25. After which you will get to enjoy 15% discount on Positive Series Course Package if you sign up as a group.

Pls note that for sessions with 8 or less people, the minimum fee of $105 (for 8pax) will still be charged

If you like some time for group photo taking, you may do so after the class.

Hi durain lover,

anyone following you? You intend to let her alone in the hotel room when she nap?

If that's it, is there another option for others to look after her in Singapore while you go for the retreat? I don;t feel safe for her to be alone in the room.

RE: Screaming children

Only after we become parents, we don't give other parents the kind of look when their kids are screaming, struggling etc. Ha hA

durian lover,

i do have a monitor but are you sure?? coz the room is so faraway.i can help you if you dun mind to look after your gal..

durianlover - which hotel is that in malacca? anyone else gg along with u? or is it just janelle and u? if so, i would suggest you put her in a pram beside u instead of her alone in the hotel rm. i think its safer that way since housekeeper may pop in anytime.

re: pig trotters
aiyoh...u all har..make me so gian that i had that for dinner but too bad its not with cooked vinegar else it be even better. ahhh..now i am satisfied. hahaa...

tracy - wow...wat a good deal for the postive class. anymore vacancies? :p