(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re : Flashcards

Rachel, if you wish, I can lend you the GD books to read ...

Sharon has shared a good forum. sgparenting.com.sg ... it's started by this singaporean couple. The wife is my ex-colleague. She too started with having a lot of unhappiness with her MIL whom is taking care of her firstborn, esp on meals. Then she found the GD method and she devoted herself to it so that she has an area to focus n not have to fight it out with the MIL on other issue. Look at her daughter in the video.... the couple's quite devoted to this method and even organized a parenting sharing once on methodology and resources. You can find the similarities and differences between Shichida and GD... Shichida has a more comprehensive right brain program but there are certain components I like abt GD program.

Another good forum is http://www.childbrain.org/ This is an international forum ... all these forums have plenty of file sharings within which you can just print or flash online. http://www.palmchristy.net/ is another one ... from HK.

Rachel, just start writing words whenever you can. That's the advice from my fren when I was stumped once ... just write and flash. no need to print nicely via printer, etc.

SY, I'm fundamental more GD than Shichida. Have been making my own cards rather than off-the-shelf. I'll put Keith on a beanbag where he can't escape and flash the cards to him. Yes, he's losing interest in some cards esp the english words. The interest would come back as I recalled that being the case with my #1. I do it more to suit my boy though I try to intro/retire the cards per say in GD.

I think I'm not disciplined enough to adopt Shichida's methodology .... somehow I've adopt my fren's advice, just do as much as I can, even inadequately, just do my best.

Playgroup, I've acquired some Kindermusic CDs ... anyone has been to Kindermusic?? Like to know the actions associated with the songs .... the songs quite cute!

.ky.

mamachan,

yah lor seems like elijah this sumo has pang jake alreadly haha.. elijah slim down so much but some how he has grown taller.. but he still have his hamburger cheeks.haha

may,

wow jamie has lots of teeth like kristen.. elijah only have 6..

RE: sick

i am down with flu again.. so yesterday noon hb came back to bring elijah to my mil place.. but today i felt better so now i am still thinking if i should put elijah there. i am worried that i may spread to him coz he will be having his jab next week..

good response regarding My Gym! I will call them today and let them know and also ask them what info they need... probably the babies names and BD dates, will update you once I get info... any other mommies interested?

SY - my mum will be tagging along shld i go florida. so that we can explore ard when hb is working. hb says will discuss tonight. so see how lor. i checked that the journey sgp-los angeles is 16hrs(direct) and los angeles to orlando (4.5hrs direct). flight costs i estimated is 7k for 2 adults and 1 bb. *glup!*

Hi May,

Jamie has a lot of teeth! Megan has only 5 at the moment! I think she is one of the slowest.

Talking about babies height and weight, i heard this myth about recording the height of the baby at 18 months, multiply by 2 and that will be their growth up height.

I recorded Ashley's when she was 18 mths and she's about 85cm, which means she will be 170cm tall. That's about the average of my height and hubby's height. So just for fun, take note of your child's height at 18 mths.

SSF
Go for it (Florida!) I'm sure Caleb will enjoy the fireworks and parade :p I am deciding whether to bring Aidan to HK disney in June (after my business trip).

Molars Teething & Fever
Can I check with mummies here? For molars coming out, how many days of fever your baby has and what is the average temp? Aidan has fever for the last 2 days...but he is active and eating well as normal. But I understand teething fever supposed to be mild fever only, not anything above 38?

Babylon
I like your description of 'kampong chicken'. Aidan is like that too, can see his rib cage. Too active, only 10kg to date!

Flo
That's what my PD says abt the MMR jab too..... there's a risk of autisim so she tells us if we choose to post pone it till he is abt 2 or when he starts to talk, she is agreeable.

Sy,
Thks for the info.

Esh mummy
My son is like eshley...have not started to walk yet and weighs abt 9kg too.

baby's weight,
edgar's only around 9.5kg but he doesn't look skinny coz i think he's short, think around 75cm. infact he has a big tummy. walks like a preggy woman! :p

yuki, edgar oso only have 5 teeth and they are half out only, not even fully grown. that's y i still blend all his food.

Hi Cheng

temp by ear therm is 38 before considered as as fever. Mine has temp above 38 but below 39. there was once he had fever till 40 (remember we were getting SB stuff at Clare's)? That was for a few days and we don't know why. Feel if the molars are coming out ... the whitish part would show. Keith has 6 teeth coming out at last time he has 38+

esh_mummy .. give me some time to take the photos. I use the blank flashcards that people usually do BP on. save the trouble to cut and it's the cheapest.

Re : MMR. there is suspicion that the mercury level is too high that may lead to autism. Some of the more cautious mothers have only gone for single jabs (for Measles) just to be safe ... I'm not quite sure but only 1 of the components is a must-take when the kid gets admitted to school and the mothers who are cautious would only take the compulsory and delay the jabs

.ky.

cheng - my boy has fever on Sun and just recovered yesterday(Tues). His temperature is on and off. highest is 38.7. Caleb is also very active like normal days..he will walk ard ...play his toys, smile and laugh, dance. but he will reject milk after 6p.m and not wanting it till the next morning. also have difficulty getting to good sleep. will wake up in the night and cry wanting to be hug and not put down on the bed. i noticed yesterday he started having dark circles liao.

RE: MY GYM TRIAL
Cost of trial: normal trial costs $35, but if we can get a minimum class of 10 babies, they will charge $29.50 per baby.
Class size: 25
Class ratio: 6 babies to one instructor

What the program is about.
Waddlers ? Crawlers and new walkers, 10 ? 18 months

Discover your infant?s natural movement abilities in this delightful program for parent and child. Share the excitement as your baby crawls, climbs, hangs, swings and tumbles for the first time. With an emphasis on development of social skills, this program is geared towards the exploration of movement. Toddlers are elated as they are introduced to a vast array of fantastic and stimulating new experiences.

I got the lady to recite a eg of how a day's program may be like...
1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
5) Practise skills - activity skill of the week using a certain equipment
6) Exploring the gym to try out the equipment
7) Separation anxiety exercise
8) Puppet show - where babies sit separate form parents
9) good bye song

Venue: Great World City
Costs: $29.50 for trial (usual is $35)
Day: Saturday (we can select a sat in April or early May and I will let the lady know )
Proposed Date: I'm proposing 28th April?
Time : 2:30pm
Duration : 45 min

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
2) chicken little ( at the moment ok but if Charmaine starts her Chinese class then I will need to pull out)
3) sl
4) May Wong
5) Tabbiesus
6) Rena
7) durianlover
8) Sysac
9) Flo
10) wenyl
11) Clare
12) sunny
13) mashybrainz
14)
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

Aileen,

Although damien is 10.4kg.but he looks really skinny..maybe the weight come from his head..coz he got big head...hahahahaha...

Cheng,
Damien is born in the year of rooster..that why we name him as kampong chicken...but he really look like one. can see his ribs when he is naked.

Had a terrible week. My boy caught stomach virus and had diarrhoea since sun. poor boy. It was so bad he was farting watery poo. Been refusing to eat. His milk intake had decreased drastically to only 200ml yesterday. sigh.

My hb and I also caught the virus from him yesterday and we vomitted and had diarrhoea. I think i vomitted at least 7 - 8 times yesterday. Felt awful and miserable. In fact, my boy seemed better than us.

My hb and I are better now, hope that my boy will also recover quickly.

Seems that this virus is going everywhere coz my nieces also caught the virus although we didn't see them since CNY. So u gals be extra careful with your bbs.

The vomitting reminded me of my preggy days and it made me don't want a 2nd kid.

mashy - oh no what did you all eat? tats bad.. caleb just recovered actually and u must dilute his milk intake or do u want the tin of isomil that i bot for him to drink. tats lactose free and PD recommended that. if u drink lactose free milk, can give full dose of FM. PM me and i will pass to u else very wasted. i just open like less than 2 weeks ago.

SSF

It's not food poisoning lor. It's virus. Good thing is that he's already on soy milk coz he's allergic to cow's milk. But he also refused to drink leh. sigh

RE: MY GYM TRIAL
Cost of trial: normal trial costs $35, but if we can get a minimum class of 10 babies, they will charge $29.50 per baby.
Class size: 25
Class ratio: 6 babies to one instructor

What the program is about.
Waddlers ? Crawlers and new walkers, 10 ? 18 months

Discover your infant?s natural movement abilities in this delightful program for parent and child. Share the excitement as your baby crawls, climbs, hangs, swings and tumbles for the first time. With an emphasis on development of social skills, this program is geared towards the exploration of movement. Toddlers are elated as they are introduced to a vast array of fantastic and stimulating new experiences.

I got the lady to recite a eg of how a day's program may be like...
1) Intro song
2) Warm up excerise
3) Song and Dance
4) Swings
5) Practise skills - activity skill of the week using a certain equipment
6) Exploring the gym to try out the equipment
7) Separation anxiety exercise
8) Puppet show - where babies sit separate form parents
9) good bye song

Venue: Great World City
Costs: $29.50 for trial (usual is $35)
Day: Saturday (we can select a sat in April or early May and I will let the lady know )
Proposed Date: I'm proposing 28th April?
Time : 2:30pm
Duration : 45 min

ANy one interested?
1) sleepingdeer
2) chicken little ( at the moment ok but if Charmaine starts her Chinese class then I will need to pull out)
3) sl
4) May Wong
5) Tabbiesus
6) Rena
7) durianlover
8) Sysac
9) Flo
10) wenyl
11) Clare
12) sunny
13) mashybrainz
14) Cookie
15)
16)
17)
18)
19)
20)
21)
22)
23)
24)
25)

baby's weight
Don't worry about your baby's weight. I think nobody beats Ariene @ 8.8kg only. She's 78cm.

MMR
Ariene had her jab on the thigh.

ky
i used to visit the websites u listed but since i start working i dun have so much time already

hmm, maybe i shall start to flashcards again. right now he is more interested in his books!

mashy, rena
hope u get well soon!

Cindy
It's ok no problem. I wanted to thank you for sending the list to me but I'm simply too busy with my work.
I will trouble you in the next round

Re:nipple puller...
Was using the nipple puller from pigeon last nite to test out... my goodness.. just pulling out already painful, remind me of the painful breastfeeding. so fearful now. Guess I have to "pull out" more before bb arrive and hope by the time my nipple will be toughen up!

Re: Weight of bb
Looks like the gals are on the lighter side...
Kae also not reach 10kg yet. She was only 9.55kg 2 weeks ago. I think she will maintain for a while looking at all the walking she is doing now and no increase of appetite.

Re: Zoo visit
Last week visit the zoo... the sun is sooooo hot...by the end of the trip, myself, HB and probably kae all have headache and had an very early nite

I asked HB if he still wanna visit the Australia Zoo when we go gold coast... he still interested!...

RE: My gym
I foresee I wun be responding well to this thread for next 1-2 weeks. If need any respond from me, pls sms or PM me ok...
thanks a million

No time to read through the postings. Only scanning through now. Am hurrying to finish stuff at work so that I can go back and bring charmaine to see doc.

Flo,
Can sms or pm me Dr Khor's add and tel no. please? I might make an appt to go there on fri if there's still no improvement tomorrow. Thks!

Can I

SSF,
wow, Florida! Though the flight will be challenging, I think if you take SQ, the air stewardess will help entertain Caleb?

Re: Weight
Haha, I think Shannon is the only baby who is still 8 plus kg! She is only 8.6kg right now, though she doesn't look skinny actually, still have a little lian-o arms, and fat thighs... both my hubby and I conclude that she got her grand parents genes in terms of height, coz she is only 73cm! If yuki's prediction about height is correct, she will only be about 150 - 160cm when she is adult, oh gosh!

SY,
just saw your post on My Gym... so sad, cant see handsome JH! They dun have class on Sunday coz it is reserved for birthday parties.

Re: Shicida
Actually, I'm not very sure what are the activities they will be doing coz class starts april. I only know that it is suipposed to help right brain development so that kids will find it much easier to focus and remember stuff. Gonna let Shannon try it and see whether it will help her stay focused.

Re: night Safari VS Zoo
haha, being a avid zoo goer, I do love both the zoo and Night Safari. I would say the experience at both places are very different. For the zoo, best to go in the morning about 8am when it's not so hot... that's when the animals are most active. I hardly bring Shannon to the zoo coz my duty is about 2pm when the sun is the hottest!

Night Safari is actually one of my favourite. But you really need time and patience if you wanna enjoy yourself there, coz the lighting is dim and you need to take your time at each exhibit to look for the animals and enjoy them at their natural habitat. Alot of time when I go, I see visitors walk away dissappointed coz they expect to see the animal right in front of them, but the concept of the Night safari is not like the zoo, where they are in plain view. The tram ride is always the highlight of the evening coz if you are lucky, the deers will come super close to you...
Oh ho, I sound like a crazy animal lover advertising for Night Safari huh? haha.... that said, I think very few babies their age will enjoy Night safari unless they can see the animals right in front... must say Edgar is a exception... heehee...

Molar teething & fever
I can already see a few molar teeth sprouting out before the fever. So maybe not :p Puzzling fever. PD said his guess is fake measles, which is characterised by fever and then rash outbreak on the 4th or 5th day. Will see.

Mashy
I remembered Aidan had the stomach virus a few months back. Hubby and me got it within the next 2 days, one after another. It was terrible! My mum had to come by to help look after my boy. The good thing is that recovery was quite fast for adults. Hope you get well soon!

Sleepingdeer,
Good description of the zoo and night safari! I've always wanted to bring Meg to the zoo too, but something always crops up and most often than not its the rain. But i've not given up! Will definitely bring her there and see if she really identifies ALL animals as 'Cat'. :p

Weight of bb:
oh...then Meg muz be the heaviest gal here?? She's 10.11kg after her fever. Before fever was 10.45kg, i think she has gain some weight back cos she looks bigger now.

Mashy,
Do take care! Stomach virus is terrible! Hope all of you get well soon.

mashy
take care and hope your boy get well soon.

re: teeth
my gal only has 5 teeth. so few leh.

re: clearblue pregnancy test kit
saw watson got sale on this, digital one $19.90 for 2 tests (guardian selling $29.90); non-digital $19 for 2 tests (guardian selling $19.95).

Re : RP lunch
hi mummies, im meetin up wf CL tmr for lunch cos she be passing the biscuits to me. if any mum wana join in, pls come along!
time shld be ard 12.15 bah... shall confirm venue again tmr!

Tracy - i tink Meg is the best weight gal liao la! my Celeste also katik katik at oni 76.5cm and weighing 9.73kg last week when i brot her for booster jab. next mth taking her for her MMR,hope she can cross the 10kg mark! HB been waitin neck long long to see the digit jump to a 4 digit!!!!!!

Mashy - take care! stomach virus is horrible! did u have the replacement fluids ( flavored ones ) fr the PD? i rem the other time when celeste had diarrhoea,it was also madness wf ALL of us falling sick wf her... hang on there!

sleepingdeer - ya will definitely choose SQ if I were to go. flight fare for direct is more costly like 2.5k pax. the stewardess better entertain him if i decided to go. hahaa...

mashy - tats gd to hear he is already on soy milk. take care of yourself too.

Oh yah, i still have not collect the jap biscuits from CL...
Cl, could u pls advise time n date n venue that i can collect from you?

Thks...

Esh_mummy, AK

Want to join us tomorrow then I can also pass you the biscuits.

Esh_mummy
I decided not to go MMI, told my hb my gal already settled down at Del Care so I would prefer to continue where she is familiar then have to let her re-orientate again.

GD cards
I am letting go a basic reading set if anyone is interested. Mine is quite new. I am using another set from my fren.

sleepingdeer
i see, so can't join the trial class then. sat always very hard and the day that u choose is my bday as well

re zoo and night safari
i like going to both too! i used to go there for dates last time haha....

will be bringing JH to zoo next month cos i managed to get the zoo pass from my company. any SAHM interested to tong pang, let me know. can admit 4 adults.

re RP lunch
will give this a miss cos tmr on leave....

re weight
i always think gals are lighter but meg seems to be proving me wrong.. hee maybe she got heavier bones?

re shichida
sleepingdeer, share with us how it goes after u start.

SY,
haha, Meg is the heavyweight for the girls here. i was a heavyweight when i was a baby. I choose to believe my hubby is the heavyweight between the 2 of us now. :D

Hi Cheng,

I can related to Kampong chicken cos i was very skinny when i was young and i run fast, has long limps, hence the kampong chicken name. Ha Ha. I think looking at me now, no one can believe i was a kampong chicken. Ha Ha.

Hi Sleeping Deer,

Don't worry, there are a few more months to 18 months, there may be a growth sprut.

Hi Mashy and Rena,

Do take care!

Hi Sunny,

Megan also has 5 teeth only. The fifth one was jsut out two weeks ago.... ha ha

She's 9.1kg and 77cm tall three weeks ago.

sleepingdeer,
oh dear, seems like Edgar is really wierd! :p well in a good way at least to me! I guess he can associate the animals to those he sees in the books and tv. and i suppose the anticipation in sporting an animal makes him excited. think it's like playing peek-a-boo to him! :p
hope u have a good time at shichida with shannon. where and what time are u going? mine is sat 2.30pm at springleaf tower.

Hi Babylon,

I can related to Kampong chicken cos i was very skinny when i was young and i run fast, has long limps, hence the kampong chicken name. Ha Ha. I think looking at me now, no one can believe i was a kampong chicken. Ha Ha.

Hi Sleeping Deer,

Don't worry, there are a few more months to 18 months, there may be a growth sprut.

Hi Mashy and Rena,

Do take care!

Hi Sunny,

Megan also has 5 teeth only. The fifth one was jsut out two weeks ago.... ha ha

She's 9.1kg and 77cm tall three weeks ago.

Aileen,

my damien can sit down and talk to my dog...duno wat he talking abt..but my dear seems to understand him... . When he see animals on TV...he get excited too....but when i brought him to the zoo..that was abt 2weeks ago...he enjoyed watching the ppl more than the animals..maybe due to school holiday..too many ppl.

Esh_mummy

I pm you liao

Babylon
I realise aden's class end at Baby Jumper gym liao so I no longer going there this sat liao woh. So how to pass you the biscuit and shoes.

babylon,
I brought Edgar to the zoo once before but he didn't seem to enjoy it as much as the night safari. Or maybe it's too hot and he can't walk at that time yet. i don't know. Will definitely bring him to the zoo again. I guess my philosophy is about giving him the exposure. Whether he enjoys or not, it will still broaden his exposure. He learns to know what he likes and dislikes. I'm one who believes in giving kids the different exposures. my parents brought me up that way. Can't comment whether it's good or not, or right or wrong. It's just a method of upbringing...

Aileen
not yet bah. my cycle is all messed up. don't know when's the O period, and when's the good time to test leh. just that these few days quite tired and kept having dreams. are these the symptoms? me forgot all potential pregnancy symptoms liao.... so jialat. haha...

tracy
u certainly dun look like heavyweight to me!!

u r making me excited abt bringing JH to zoo! will be bringing him next month on hb's birthday. i was just telling hb for his birthday i plan family outing whereas for mine, he plan only for couple time so we balance each other out.

esh_mummy
which part of kallang u stay?

re: zoo
since my gal is 1 yo, i brought her monthly to the zoo. can see that she's getting more and more excited when she is there. before 1 yo, i brought her there once only when she's 6 mth old. totally no response to all our animals introduction. haha...