(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

clare

so glad that ashley is ok! i cried when i read your post. it must be so scary for you esp during the journey to TMC. Take care!

Tabbiesus
Tabby is so smart! My boy is still goo goo gaa gaa only. sigh.

durianlover
wow, that's great! which part of australia are u going to? Going to miss u...

SL
Thanks for your email... I replied you...again.

Baby Signing: What is the sign for sorry? Cephas has been rubbing the back of his head whenever we ask him to say sorry :p Dun know where he learnt that from?

Tabbie - I can only catch that video at home but I m impressed with Tabby!

cookie
hb will also slap JH at times which always makes me so angry with him. i told him many times not to do that but he will still do it..sigh

SH
JH also cannot speak so maybe like what tab say abt boys being slower is true. anyway i realised bb who talk later always end up very talkative next time..haha.

sysac
hee cephas so funny. think they make up their own signs...

JH is 'trained' to say sorry by sayanging me...

Cookie, Flo
I was wondering why Aden so attracted to Cookie's hb too. When Kaelyn walked over and blocked his view, he even tilted his head to look at him and I think he also attempted to climb over him.

Mashy Brainz,
Let me know if your hb wants to walk over to raffles city on Wed to collect the biscuit when I meet other mummies for lunch.

sysac,
I teach Janelle to sign sorry by putting ur right hand on ur forehead in a 'saluting' manner. Hmm know what i mean? But not sure if that's the proper sign or not!

Tabbie,
Wow ur girl can speak really well! Am super impressed!
My girl still goes 'ah-ah' or 'oh-oh' if she wants something. Can only say simple stuff like ball, bear, duck, etc.

cookie,sysac,mashy,
Thanks for ur congrats!

SY,
I prob won't be finding a job yet. My hb will look for a job before we officially move over there. But for myself, i wanna go there settle down first before deciding what to do. Anyway childcare there is really ex so i may just end up being SAHM!

Mamapanda,
Don't worry, i won't be moving so soon. Earliest earliest is next March 2008, if not later. I will also miss all my friends here!

mongs - good to see you at airport yesterday. hee..sorry me so blur..couldnt recognise u and ur bb. i was there to have dinner and thought of bringing caleb to take the skytrain to t1 but it was so disapointing. the viewing mall is so dimly lighted and not many restaurants there. i still remember when i was young, my dad used to bring me to t1 swensen for dinner and we would walk down the brightly lit viewing mall. sigh! in the end we went back to t2 for dinner. and i think the air con broke down in the skytrain. it was as hot as sauna. lucky it was a short ride.

flo - were u at the airport too? i was there at 7.30p.m in T2.

clare - sorry to hear abt ashley. hope she gets well soon. caleb also just recovered from stomach flu.

krissie - oh no another boy? haha...

SY - thot of getting a name starting with 'C' and so far, not many boys' name with C lei....manage to find Caeden which hb dislike coz that is his boss's son name. so was thinking...something that is before alphabet 'L' coz in his cert, christian names comes first. so must be before the character L for hb's surname is Lee. so next time report card time, no need to wait too long before my son;s turn. My surname is S and everytime have to wait patiently till S. so sianz. so i want to be in front and not wasting my time next time when i see the teacher. hahaa...sorry am i confusing everyone?

durianlover - i checked in web that it means thankful in hebrew. answered prayer = thankful i guess
oh no...in that case, Jadon is not my answered prayer. haha...i want a gal badly. sob sob. ya there are some who spell as jaydon. but i found Jadon in the web and also 5 chars as caleb. hee..

tabbiesus - wow u so romantic. haha...

wendyheng - i used palmers brand from pharmacy.

Jenny,
I think as to what brand of cheese, it's kind of up to you leh
Most cheese contain sodium (ie. salt), so it's up to you to decide which you are comfortable with. I used to give Laughing Cow brand, and also used Kraft cheddar cheese for cooking. Both taste nice

SSF,
Haha u're so funny! Well, but even though Jadon is not an answered prayer, at least you're still thankful for him!

re: sentosa musical fountain
read in the papers that it's offically closing at the end of this mth to prepare for the IR project. you may want to bring ur babies to view it before they close for good. i think the little ones will be fascinated by the colours, music and images.

durianlover - oh yes...thankful for him :D btw, where are u migrating to in aussie? let me guess..is it melbourne? so far i have frds all migrating to melb. hee..

Clare
How's Ashley? Thank God for watching over her.

sy
haha....ya my son also want to run before learning to walk ....... yes he is also like a drunkard!

Jenny
I gave my boy Kraft cheese stick for snack when he was 10 mths old. But like what durian lover says, it contains salt. I think he finds it a bit too salty so normally he only takes abt 3 to 4 bites and his face will crinkle up each time he takes them. It's better to cook with something like pasta or vege puree.

Tabbiesus
Tabby is so smart and cute.

Hi SY and mommies,

Re: My Gym
called up Great World, the trial is $35. The are 2 - 3 instructors per class and they will have physical activities such as swing ropes, tumbling, dancing etc... all these activities are to improve balance and mobility. For younger babies like ours, there will be things such as puppets and music activities as well. I think it is more physical based so for babies who are walking around, they may be more interested. I'm trying to see whether can get group disc and more info... will post once I hear something.

Chicken Little,
is it really true about the SQ air fares? My MIL is planning trip to Vancouver, when I told her, she got all excited and now talking about booking in March for flight in Sep!

Durianlover,
wah, so good! Hb and I keep talking about applying, but we are so tu that until now, we have not done anything, haha! How long was the whole process, may I ask? Was it tough to apply?

just to share that there is this place in Pasir Ris Downtown east where u can pay $8 per hr. one child can be accompanied by 1 parent. there are those ball pools and other activities similiar to the equipment used in my gym. there will be no lesson. mainly is for u to play with ur kids. those with posb everyday card pays only $6.

i was telling hb not a bad idea esp for caleb's case where he is not really participating in the classes but prefer to wander on his own. its cheaper too. just note that both parent and baby must wear socks at all time. we didnt bring our socks else hb will be trying it out last weekend.

Durianlover
yeah which part u moving to? feel so sad to hear this but guess it is a good experience overall.

u plan to stay there for a few years and come back or just stay there?

if i m there, i think i will want to be SAHM. cos so much more to do with kids over there! since u have family and frens there i guess it will be easier to be SAHM also.

hee maybe u can have #2 before u move over?? :p

SSF
maybe can go airport together next time. me and hb also like to go with JH cos there's so much space....

your hb so funny. must get a name before "L"..haha..my surname is C so last time i always in front one...

sharon
yeah, dunno how to tell my boy to slow down..becos he can't slow down, we can't let him walk by himself..

sleepingdeer
thanks for checking it out. great if can get group discount.

SSF
i notice downtown east got quite a few places for kids and they seem to have childcare?

will u be putting caleb in childcare when number 2 comes?

SY - not my hb who suggest getting a name before L. it;s me! haha.. ya can...we also like to go airport..coz caleb likes to walk alot and also there are nice resturant to dine there too. the last time we went...caleb was wearing his squeaky shoes so each step he takes...his shoes will squeak. so pai seh coz u know airport very quiet. so yesterday, we make sure he is wearing his soft sole shoes to avoid stares. haha..

when no 2 comes along...i will be hiring a maid to watch over caleb while my mum and in law (who are on rotation shift) to watch over the baby. i dun really trust childcare lei...coz my mum used to work in one and when i went over and watch ...i really think twice. funny thg is my mum is also against putting him in child care. haha...

Hi cookie,

No probs - i am just coughing quite badly that's all. : )

Thanks all mummies for the well wishes.

Tabby,
Little tabby is really smart! My charmaine still can't talk. : (

Sleepingdeer
Yes it is true because it is sent by our travel agent who booked all our flights for us. But not sure if Sep ticket fare are released. Better check it out.

SSF
That is call the explorer. That is the favourite hangout that my gal and hb goes each time my hb takes leave to bond with his gal. Really fun.

Names Ha ha my surname O also way way back. But Aden and Charmaine are Chuas plus their name are the first 3 Alphabets. Go for Oral test also can quickly go and get it over and done with.

SSF, SY,
Not confirmed which part of Aussie yet. But most likely outskirts of Sydney, as my aunt and friends are staying there. We actually like Melbourne better than Sydney, but since our relatives and friends are in Syd, then better to go Syd!

sleepingdeer,
From the time we submitted our application to the time that we got our visa, it took us 8 months. Considered quite fast!
BUT, the application process is really tedious and tough, and not to mention, expensive (about S$4K+ we spent in total). So i suggest you find out more first before deciding whether or not to apply! Can check out www.immi.gov.au for more info. Feel free to let me know if u'd like more info too

SSF, CL,
i m a chua so always in front..
hmm, my hb is a lee....

Sl
hope u get better soon.

durianlover
did u consider moving there cos u have relatives and frens there? wow the application very ex. your IL ok with you guys moving there? my dad is considering moving to china to work and i already very bu she de.

ystrdy, my neighbour walked pass and Meg was standing at the gate. She asked me why i dress her like this?! (Meg was in a dress) i was confused then i realised she tot Meg is a boy! After one year of seeing her...So i told her Meg is a gal, and she was quite shocked. Oh geez...

cheng/zhimin - pics sent!

tracy - haha ur neighbour so blur. i mean we won't purposely cross dress our babies also mah.

chicken_little - ya tats wat i mean by wanting to be the first few and chop chop leave the sch. my mum has been wasting so much time waiting for my index no. haha...i make sure history does not repeat esp when i am the gg to be the one waiting.

WendyHeng,
I'm not sure if my suggestion will help cos I got my stretchmark oil from outside Singapore. If you have frens in London, can ask them to get it for you at Liberty. Otherwise you can also get it from The Spa at The Peninsula, Hong Kong. The oil I'm using is called Espa Nourishing Body Oil. http://www.espaonline.com/products/browse/body/body-and-bath-oils.cfm
It is damn good. I've not gotten any stretchmark at all in all my pregnancies.

Tabbs,
Tabby is really good! Think she is naturally a fast talker. Ppl say that usually girls are faster than boys but not that true cos Ethan also could start talking at 12 months liao. So didn't need to teach so many signs to him. But Keenan is still on his B's only. We have to teach him more signs to avoid frustrations. I'm not that worried if Keenan's milestones are later than Ethan as all babies are different. They'll get to where they are by 3-4 years old.

Cityhall Lunch - 21 Mar , Wed 12.45
I am fine with Wed.
1) Queen
2) SL - ok
3) SY
4) Chicken Little - ok

Where do you guys meet normally? Any RP lunch coming up soon?

Thanks for all the concern for Ashley. She just slept... finally, after crying for more than 2 hours. Her fever is gone though i feel she sometimes still feel abit hot, maybe i am just paranoid. But seems like she is coming down with cough... i suspect she is having a sore throat that's why she is still very moody, refuses her milk, and very very cranky. I even think she is probably hungry. Apparently everyone been telling my mum cannot feed her porriage/rice due to her fever. And she doesn;t drink her milk, end up giving her bread and ribena and only i can make her drink some water as well. She was crying non stop and seems like saying "mum mum".... I ask her if she wants to eat she nodded her head, but when we scrap apple and scope kiwi for her she dun wan. I told my HB to give some of the Bao without the fillings and she was willing to hold and eat herself. We didn't have any more bread or anything for her to eat in the house. I pride myself in having tremendous patience with her crying and whiny all night. Never losing my temper and always toking to her in a calm gentle voice. But I am really quite angry... not with her of coz...but with those who say cannot eat porriage. I mean what is wrong with feeding a bit of porriage? She doesn't want to drink milk, and cannot eat biscuits cos too heaty (this i agree), too much bread also no good cos its from yeasts... then what else??? MIL ask what did she eat today and I told her she only ate bread and cake (those yellow colour what we call "Ji Dan Gao"). MIL say its heaty. I ask why cannot eat porriage and i can't remember what reason she gave. Its not as if she is eating tons of rice... For goodness sake the poor child is hungry!

Sorry for venting my frustrations here. I just dun see the logic.

Clare,
I wld prob freak out! Glad that she's better now. Huh...porridge why cant? My MIL said so my mum said fine. I gave him anyway when he's down wif fever the last time. He's ok with it. The child wld be so hungry. Or u try feeding milk using spoon? How abt Pediasure?

Tabb,
Wah..your darling is so good. My boy fav is "Papa". My hub calls him "Ah Di" and he will reply "Papa". The latest is calling himself "Ah Di" but it sounds so much like "Auntie", hahaha. And also "Ah bu"...hopefully he wldnt be screaming at me "AH Bu...." in the public...so paiseh....

Clare,
Hope Ashley get well soon..
I think I will cry in shock if I were u.
Porridge will cause fever, this is what I heard from my mum.

Durianlover,
Sad to hear that u are leaving.. but it will be a brand new experience over there. Hope Janelle enjoys there as well!

Sleepingdeer,
THanks for the help for looking out the Friso. We bought 4 small tins already.

Aileen,
Can PM me the email address again? I try again.
Sorry about that.

Cass,
Did you receive the invitation? Cos I invite Aileen and you together. If not, can PM me your email again?

Tabby,
saw u posted regarding easter eggs. Maybe u can buy this from Toy R Us.. it has all the materials and can enjoy sticking it with ur gal.
Took a pic for u to see.. it is less than $10. There is other design that I have seen before using paint and ready made egg, but no stock leh.

730789.jpg

RE: Teaching ABC
Jamie has got one ABC book. She only know how to recognise the pic. Only taught her A,B,C and T. So now if u ask where is tiger? She is able to flip and point to u. Actually I did not put much pressure on her. She simply like the book, every night she will bring me the book and want me to read to her so that she can point. She dun pronounce it clearly though.

A- Apple, Ambulance, Abacus, Aeroplane
she will say Per, lance, ker, ann
B - Bear, Baby, Book, Banana
she will say Bear, Bee, oh, nana
C- Cat, Comb, Cake
she only know how to touch her hair and show she is combing
T - Tiger, Telephone, Tortoise
She say Grr.., pretend to listen to phone, ter (cos sometimes I say turtle to her)

Guess that's her few first words bah.. she still mumbles baby language that I dun understand.

RE : Airport
Seems that alot of us brought bb to airport. I went on last Friday too. The big space is so much fun for them to walk.

Queen,
Heehee.. thanks for adding my name in. I'm not sure if I can make it or not, depending on whether I can finish all my business in the morning at the shop. Will sms you or CL if I cannot make in time.

1) Queen - ok
2) SL - ok
3) SY
4) Chicken Little - ok
5) Denmy - ok

May, Clare,
How will porridge cause fever?!?! I remember giving porridge to Ethan when he was sick. Rice was a no-no, only plain porridge as it's easy to digest. Feel so angry for you, Clare. These aunties and their funny 'logics' can really make things soooo difficult for us mummies. Just go by your heart, if Ashley is hungry just feed her plain porridge lor. I'm sure if you ask your PD, he will definitely say porridge is ok. Better than what Bao skin or Ji Dan Gao that is loaded with colouring, sugar and salt!! That;s the last thing to feed a hungry and sick baby. Poor Ashley...

Clare
like what denmy said, i continued giving porridge when my gal was sick. as long as she wanna eat, i would give to her loh. 'cos regaining the energy is important. for fever, you can boil some barley water for her to drink.
hope she gets well soon.

Hi Clare,

Thank God Ashley is better. I really cannot imagine how i will react if given the situation.

I almost freak out when i saw your message. It doesn't help whan my ashley also fell sick and had fever last week and megan also fell sick over the weekend. I kept on waking up last night to check on her as she still have a little fever.

May God heal Ashley and strengthen her body!

Yes, i heard cannot give porridge. What about cereal? Would it be ok?

RE:Talking

Wow, seems like the babies here are all so smart! Able to say so many words, even recognise alphabets! Wow, so impressive!!!

Megan can only speak a few words: Duck, cat, dog, bag, pen, bear, and her favourite word? EAT! She will point to the things that she wants to eat and say "EAT, EAT EAT".......

Hi Chillies,

Are you Hainanese?

Hi Clare
Sorry to hear about Ashley...hope she recovers soon! and thanks to you and CL for sharing your experiences. Although scary, at least, the sharing taught some of us what to do in such situations.

SSF,
got the pictures! Thanks! Did not have good shots of the kids together, so I did not send out in the end.

Porridge during fever
Ya I also heard that but what else can they eat. I just give more watery one.If she does not want porridge, then at least give soup and bread if she likes. We sick also eat porridge and soupy stuff what. I think cereal will be heaty.

Tabbi
I showed my hb the video clip. He so kan cheong now. He saw Renee pointing to head, blinking her eyes and dance. Then he saw Tabbi talk. And Aden only knows bye bye, blow kiss, Water he said "ter", Milk he says "mik", can call ball. then call mama, papa, da-di, che che, mum mum and always go da da da da. The only comfort he has ha ha he thinks Aden will be a basketball player. Regardless the size of the ball even a big beach ball, he is able to grip well with just 1 hand.

1) Queen - ok
2) SL - ok
3) SY - has training at Orchard Hotel
4) Chicken Little - ok
5) Denmy - ok

I think SY mentioned she has training. Any RP mummies coming ?

Hey Clare
what a shock for you.. Hope Ashley will recover soon.
I did hear that cannot give porridge when having fever. But actually we still give lar, if not how? Or maybe can give mee sua? Can also let her have some barley water.

Talking
Caleb not talking that much..Probably he just take after his dad. My HB started talking very late ard 3 years old.

Tracy
ur neighbour is very farnie wor. After 1 year, still dun realise that Meg's a ger? Aiyo..Meg dun look like boy lar.

Tabbie,
Wow, you are really romantic! HB also suggested booking a room at our wedding hotel, which is Beaufort Sentosa, but I'm a bit put off by the room rates. It's expensive though I'm dying to for their Spa Botanica, which in itself is another few hundreds dollars. So last night I told HB that we'll do a day trip to Sentosa with Isaac instead.
And I'm impressed with little Tabbi's speech development and how clever she is! Isaac is still eh-eh, ah-ah-ing away. And when I ask him to call Mummy, he says 'teh-teh'. When I ask him to call Daddy, it's also 'teh-teh'. When my MIL ask him to call her, it's also 'teh-teh'! Faintzzz... He does know how to point to things when I ask him, but hasn't been able to pronounce stuff meaningfully yet.

SY,
Hee, I actually thought of sending flowers to my HB too! Heehee... dunno whether he will feel embarassed? I think I'll most probably get him a pair of Ecco shoes which he has been eyeing instead. Not so romantic lah.

Clare,
Yah, I can't understand the older folks' belief on not feeding porridge when our babies are sick. My MIL and my mom also tell me to just feed milk when Isaac has fever. I don't actually follow... but when Isaac has fever, I'll only feed him porridge once a day and make the porridge more watery and reduce the amount of meat and vege. Poor Ashley, must be so tough for her and you as well. Hang in there! She'll recover eventually!

Durianlover,
Wow, Australia! That sounds really good! I have also thought of working in Australia for a few years and have actually brought this subject up with my HB not long ago, before I got my new job. There was an Australian Consultancy recruiting Singapore engineers some time back and I asked HB to apply for the job together with me. Tried to convince HB but he is apprehensive cos Isaac is so young and all that. Sigh... If it's possible, I would like to work in Melbourne!

chickenlittle
ya, i agree, but isetan a bit out of the way, unless we go town, then can go buy. hmm.. i wonder where else wld sell such finely minced beef. And yes, we would prefer a gal.. heehee.. but boy also can, as long as they are healthy.

queen
What abt surprising hb with a romatic getway, e.g. a 1/2 night stay at Banyan Tree Bintan? heehee... can create no. 2 there.

Gym classes
I'm interested in the gym classes, but I need to know the dates. Need to check with hb if he's working that day.

Tabb
Tabby is so smart and fast. Baby einstein is a v difficult word to say.. am so impressed. Think the only 2 syllable word which Ger can say is Baby and that's after watching the bumble bee VCD which Flo recommended (thanks Flo!!). I'm going to buy Vol 2 soon.

Queen,

Since you like spa. Does your hb likes it too ? Then go a couple spa together without little Issac then pick him up for dinner after the spa. I think my fren went to the one at orchid country club not bad.

Clare,
Oh poor Ashley. Yes i also heard about not feeding rice/porridge when they have fever but i also didn't follow religiously when Janelle had fever. I mean, isn't porridge the best thing to feed when they have fever?! Go with your heart lah! Hope she recovers sooN!

Queen, SY,
Sending flowers to hb? Hee. I think my hb wld think i'm mad if i were to do that!!
Yeah me & my hb wld like to experience life overseas for a couple of years that's why we applied for Aussie. It's always been our DREAM and i guess if we don't do it and grow old all our years in S'pore, we'd look back and regret!! But we're also not sure yet when we're leaving. Won't be so soon anyway!

Tracy,
After 14 months of seeing Meg your neighbour can still think she's a boy?!?

RE: Talking
All the babies here are so smart! Can talk so well!

RE: Nodding head
Other than Ashley, can ur babies nod their heads?? My girl still can't nod her head leh. Can only shake her head!

durianlover
think syd is more racist than Mel, coz Mel has more asians. Rem I was complaining abt how they threw things at me during at Syndey trip. just for your info la, but it's easier for you if there's your relatives over there. : p Yup, think over there, you wld hv to be SAHM. My Aunt and her family migrated there and she's SAHM taking care of her 2 boys.

krissie - hopefully you will get a gal and make some surprises in the gender list. hee... i went to sydney before and i dun like the city life. there are so many and in fact majority are asian brats...from korea, indo, china driving luxury cars and speeding in the city. i prefer the outskirts like the areas in blue mountains, port stephen and hunter's valley. u mean the locals threw thgs at you? were you with tour? why would they do that? horrible mann! aussie by nature is very racist even in diff states. Melb and perth also the same...depends on the area i guess.

tabby - wow ur gal is really smart...can start talking. i think gal tends to be faster in their development skills than boys.

queen - ya beaufort is so ex. abt 300 plus for 1 night! i also consider spending one day with hb and caleb too but the price is just not right and its a waste of money. too ex already. with tat amt, you can spend one night in bintan liao and have leftover still. hee.. if u do not want to stay overnight, u can try st gregory spa for couple. they have package that includes 1 day membership where u can use their gym or pool. they also have an oxygen room for you to chill out and read mag. procide beverages and fruits too. the only thg is u must ask for couple;s room or else ladies/men are separated.

RP or Cityhall mummies
There is a MMI in Raffles Place. Their fees has been revised now from 775 before susidy to 599. After approval of subsidy is 449. Looks very attractive. Just called to enquire and the principal Ms Tan sounds friendly. It is located at Far East Finance Building. I will be going down to take a look.