(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE : X-ray
I'm also not too sure why she asked for it. She has he has been coughing for a while so might as well get it checked. He's nose is runny with yellow mucus but she din wanna give any antibotic and said to wait for the results. Aiya...my hub lar, when i went two wks ago, was given antibiotics as doc said mucus a little yellow. He threw up the med and the next day nose ok so hub said dun give. He was fine till i got sick and I guess i passed the flu bug back to him.

His is not a phlemy cough. She said not much phlem. Its occassional. Its like 1 or 2 in a couple of hours. Morning when he wakes up, he will cough more. But it has been like that since b4 CNY. I thot better to get it check though mum said i too kan cheong.

I saw Dr Sim once, noy ok, then Dr Ho twice.

Tabb,
wat's a CXR?

Chicken Little,
Thanks! sl & cookie's lunch hour flexible?
Mine has to start at 1245pm. How about tomorrow or next Monday?

Mamachan,
Sorry, not sure if I have replied to you... but I have received your payment for the socks. Thanks!

Chillies
I work near cityhall, I can go Raffles place, bugis during lunch or I stay in CCK. Alternatively, can arrange with mummies whom I meeting and stays near you. Where you stay ?

Queen,
Tomorrow I am on leave. I am fine with 19 Mar, Monday. Can try Teahouse at basement, my fren says nice. Hmm I think Cookie may not because her lunch is fixed at 11.40 plus. Any RP mummies wants to travel to cityhall ha ha?

Hi Esh Mummy,..

Our child have same character too ..
Gracie also will only watch barney when they start singing but turn her body when barney start talking.

For Hi 5,..this mean our child here like singing...

I have got one new VCD from Fun Song Factory if I'm not wrong bcos the VCD is in Indonesia now.
I bought it for Gracie and she can watch it in Indonesia.
The show was fun and got a lot different story..and follow by singing. And similar like Hi 5 show. You may got it at Popular Bookshop.

Japanese Biscuit Time - With Salt hor. Got another 2 types without milk content. They are plain with no sugar. Can only order 1 carton each. Expiry in Jun 07.

2.45 per pack - 12 in a carton

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) COokie - 1
3) bblon - 1
5)
6)
7)
8)
Total = 6
==================

1.89 per pack - 10 packs per carton

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) Cookie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) Aileen - 1
5)
6)
7)

Total = 7

re: crayola finger print
there's a toy fair outside carrefour suntec. i saw the crayola finger paints. 6 color wonder paints + 30 page color wonder paper tablet. $10.35.

chillies
oops.. CXR is our medical short form for ChestXRay... actually can tell by listening to lungs if you there's evidence of bacterial pneumonia.. cos that's the only reason why you need a CXR unless you think it is an atypical pneumonia that doesn't give the sounds of fluid in the lungs. You can't pick up asthma on xray.

Actually a lot of the times after a bout of infection the upper airways become a bit sensitive and easily irritated and can give rise to chronic cough without much phlegm.

Aiyo Sunny
I din know about the suntec fair leh. Alamak, mummies I am so sorry I din go to the fair. I just go to the Toysrus and grab the packs I found on the rack leh. So near and I miss it man

Linda...
Sure sure, will try to locate it at popular..
Thanks... :)

I think most babies like shows with music n singing... but i really wonder y... :)

RE: isetan private sale

SOOOo tempted to go down tomorrow early in am... want to get combi shoes and toy rack... but just spend so much money at taka baby fair...

Japanese Biscuit Time - With Salt hor. Got another 2 types without milk content. They are plain with no sugar. Can only order 1 carton each. Expiry in Jun 07.

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) COokie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) xjysg - 1
5)
6)
7)
8)
Total = 7
==================

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) Cookie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) Aileen - 1
5) xjysg - 1
6)
7)

Total = 8

CL
paiseh paiseh, didn't follow this thread and just realised you all buying crayola finger paint. mayb yours is bigger pack? 'cos i saw that the original price is $12 sth. and they offerring $10.35 now.
they got sell the crayon and markers too. but the crayon is not thick thick type.

Sunny,

I dunno leh. I called ELC yday they say no stock. Then I called Toysrus- suntec they have so I went down to buy lor. Hopefully it is not the same otherwise I pai sei to get expensive one because I did not know got fair and they are selling cheaper lor. Just went straight to Toysrus, grab, pay and go. I did go to Growing Fun to check if they have since I have discount. I only found the marker one and bought it for Charmaine

hi mamapanda

Re : Amazing star montessori
I remember seeing a touch-screen computer screen there... there was a "selling" point. I believe this is not a pure-Monteossori cc but I've seen a very detailed programme and the timetable is very fine, every 20 mins for a segment of topic. Did you ask to see the room which the playgroup would be in? Ask to see the montessori items (which I believe would be displayed around the entire room) and if can, speak to the teacher and asst that would be handling this class to understand how they would help the children to settle in. Small things like they'd remove the clothing of the child and wrapped in bath towel, and seated along the chair while waiting for their turn to be bathe ... r u ok with that? (Coz it's an air-con environment). One thing I learn is to start your child when he/she's the only new kid. Then the teacher would pay more attn to him/her. HIH

oh, btw, Keith's running a slight fever. I think it's bcos his molars are coming out ... either that or he's caught a cold from Sunday evening's swim... hm, I may (MAY) just bring him along tomorrow just to say hi but wouldn't be joining in the play.

.ky.

chillies
hope your boy get better soon. do u wan to get a second opinion on whether it is nec for the x ray?

CL
thanks for helping to buy. dun worry lah. we can't catch all the sales.

let me know when are u and queen meeting. if cityhall or RP i can join. but i alreayd got appt on either 19th or 20th. doing farewell for colleague.

linda
wow gracie so sweet, kept calling for you guys. she must really miss u and hb....

mamapanda
where's amazing star monte?

CL
the packaging that i saw is same as the one in the web. is that the one you bought?

Mummies, I got lobang to buy Japanese food but this time for adults. My fren's supplier in Japan send them these new food but she cannot sell in Singapore. She is selling at cost per pack at $2.57. These are low calories instant food. Only need to heat up in microwave 3 mins then can eat liao. Let me know if you want I will help to get but must combine and buy per carton. 6 Packs in each carton. Expiry in Oct 07. Brand is S & B.

Arabiki Beef Risotto - 264Kcal
725166.jpg

1)

Chicken and Tomato Risotto - 255kcal
725167.jpg

1)

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) COokie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) xjysg - 1
5) ak-1
6)
7)
8)
Total = 8
==================

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) Cookie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) Aileen - 1
5) xjysg - 1
6) ak-1
7)

Total = 9

Wenyl,

Are the kits preggy ones or ovukit? If preggie ones, can I take whatever you dun want? If ovukits, nevermind...i dun really know how to use, especially when menses not back yet.

SSF, you still havent picked up the milk powder? Pls can you try to do so before this sunday? I'm packing to move. Thanks

Can i check, any mummies here planning to send child to childcare on full day basis?

RP mummies,
Anyone chose Modern Montessori @ Far East Finance Building?

chillies,
did PD try neubilizer for your boy? Jus brot Meg to PD this morning for follow-up after 5 days of neubilizing. Cough is settling so now only need to give her cough n runny nose syrup for next couple of days. All should be well soon.

Eh, by the way...antibiotics MUST complete. Meg also tends to throw up after antibiotics, but we still feed her.

One new trick we mastered. After syringing in the med, we immed pop her pacifier in. Then repeat again and again until the med in syringe finishes. This helps in preventing her from vomiting. Hope this helps.

tracy
that was how we fed JH too. use the pacifier trick. after that we used water trick also. we will quickly give him water to drink and then we will keep telling him, drink water after taking medicine and it won't taste bad....so it works too.

now he loves taking medicine cos we switch to using spoon and we dun struggle anymore. can try using spoon also cos it is something new. sometimes we feed him med when he is watching his vcd.

hi mommies

I'm so excited! Tabby's pics are finally up on the lumencreation website!! If you are free have a look!

Rachel
Will be sending u a close up pic soon.. i just emailed jocelyn for the photo..

CL
does the risotto have a lot of MSG? i'm interested to try but worry that it's got msg

CL,

Forgot to tell you that we are sending Charmaine for trial at delcare tomorrow. From 830am to 530pm since I have course tomorrow somewhere near to delcare. Jeannette was saying that her staff felt that the hours could be too long for the first time but she felt that it should be okay judging from charmaine's behaviour on sat. What do you think?

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) COokie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) xjysg - 1
5) ak-1
6) sl - 1
7)
8)
Total = 9
==================

1) Chicken Little - 4
2) Cookie - 1
3) bblon - 1
4) Aileen - 1
5) xjysg - 1
6) ak-1
7) sl - 1

Total = 10

SL,

Even for my Charmaine her first week is only half day and the first 2 days I was there. Will your mum be around ? So Charmaine like the place ? You going to leave her all alone ?

You saw the menu ?

chicken little
does this del care have a website? I visited babies inc last sat.. and felt that altho its quite ok, i still want to compare with other places before i send her there..

Is 750/ month expensive for 3 half day session per week. Only thing this includes the charges for gymboree and kindermusik sessions by the corresponding teachers who are invited to come and teach at the center.

Not sure if the DBS Woman's card promotion is still on , the fee i paid as follows for Del-Care

January 2007 Fee $850.00
Less : Childcare Subsidy $(150.00)
Less : 30% 1st month DBS Woman's $(210.00)
Net Fee $490.00

From February 2007 Fee $850.00
Less : Childcare Subsidy $(150.00)
Less : 10% DBS Woman's $(70.00)
Net Fee $630.00

I now pay $500 plus because hb's company got corp program with them. I think for a town childcare they are quite reasonable. Not sure for the younger one is how much.

Tabbi
After subsidy they are really exp. So much more exp than the one I sign Charmaine up. For this Del-care, they offered a optional program from Gym Kids too. I think if you want you can oso propose to them. If response is good from other mummies can oso bring in lor

Tabbi

I cannot advise you on the MSG because from website I cannot see the ingredients. I go get my share first. Will list the ingredients for you

Hi Es Mummies.

Hb told me this might be because when the show got singing , they have a lovely sound and color full of the show.. that might be attract our children eye....

Hi SY
And she called MAMA as well but too bad I wasnt there if not I can hear the first time Gracie call me MAMAMA. My mum and sis hear that...

Babies and cream, postive babes
The lady just called me and said the sat class cannot meet the min size and she may have to cancel....

CL,

Got your sms - thks!

I think generally charmaine has no problems with strangers in the daytime. Actually I thought of sending her there together for trial was also partly because my mum hurt her arm and can't really take care of her. In 2 minds now. How?

tabbi/esh mummy,

I got the package price at home. Let me know if you would like more info. I can forward the package to you.

Tabby,
Assuming that the half day sessions are 6 hours each, 3 half day sessions would be 18 hours/week. For delcare, the charges would be $620.

crayola crayon
I bought the fattest one I can find already. Its not very thick but ok la. Ariene is only interested in holding it and banging it on the floor so I stopped letting her play with it. Maybe wait till she's older.

amazing star montess
Its at Greenridge Shopping Centre, just next to my block. I only asked to go in have a brief look. Didn't really ask the details like u said. Maybe I'll go down n bug them again and ask how they bathe the children like u mentioned. I saw the maths room. Was quite impressed with the way they let the children explore. Their belief is "learning through exploration with 5 senses".

esh mummy
I'll be sending Ariene for the full day playgroup. Actually CL, we can work things out if u're really interested in putting ur boy in amazing star. On days u cant make it there by 7pm, I can always bring him to my home first then u can fetch ur boy from my place.

delcare
Wow.. delcare is really expensive and I thought Amazing star @530/month was expensive.. *whistle*

pizza takeaway
Mummies coming for the playgroup tomorrow, we have a choice of ordering 4 personal pan pizzas @4.95 each with a KFC bucket, or 2 regular pan pizza @21.90 or 2 large pizza @$33.90. I'm not sure how much you gals eat cuz I'm an unusually big eater so cant judge for u gals. Also, pls state ur preference of flavour (eg, no beef? no seafood? vegetarian?). I'll start the ball rolling

Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Date: 15 March (Tomorrow!)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - 2xLarge, s.supreme/s.hawaiian/hawaiian/pepperoni/cheese/veggie
2. Durianlover -
3. Rachel -
4. CassCL -
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -

I'll need to buy the plastic table cloth for sitting down right? Will get them together with the pizza takeaway tomorrow. Wad else do I need to buy?

lump in uterus area?
Just now I could feel a small hard lump on my left adomen. When I press on it, it could "move" elsewhere.. sounds scary hor? I let my maid feel it she also got freaked out and asked if I'm pregnant but I did the test yday and got -ve leh.. better test again tomorrow. Still spotting away and no period.. maybe its a cyst or something.. don't think its another etopic cuz no pain.

wenyl
Do u still have the extra preggie kits from SSF? I only haf 1 left. Don't mind having another 2 or 3 more if u still have extra to give away.

barney
Ariene only stays for as long as the Barney theme song. She'll "sing" and dance to the theme song, then when the song is over and they start talking, she'll walk away..

Pls indicate response:
2. Durianlover -
3. Rachel -
4. CassCL - ok with anything other than seafood.
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -

Mamapanda;
My appetite has been very good since the end of my 1st tri.

I think for your own peace of mind, it's best to get the lump checked by your gynae. I found lumps in both my breasts before and got them all surgically removed even though doctor said they're 99% non-cancerous.

CassCL,
I had lumps. In fact, I had removed 14 lumps from both my breasts before because KKH checked the lumps, took samples (fine needle aspiration WITHOUT local anaesthesia to save costs just because I'm a referred subsidy case? Try poking a thick x-stich needle in and out of your breast and nipples 15-20 times!) and the biopsy says it contains abnormal cells, possibly cancerous. I didn't trust KK so I went to Susan Lim at Gleneagles for a 2nd opinion and she removed the lumps for me. In the end, the lumps are benign and the only explanation KK could give is the samples the so called Breast Specialist Dr Ho took got contaminated. Talk abt horror stories from KKH, I got loads to tell.

Anyway, the lump was on my lower abdomen, not breast. I'm not sure if my breast lumps are still around or the lumps I can still feel are caused by blocked ducts since I'm still breastfeeding. But, luckily i decided not to saVE money ($600@KK vs $9000@GEH). If I had done it at KK, I would be without a complete breast with scars at every point where a lump exists (= 17 cuts cuz I got 17 lumps) and I'll not be able to breastfeed anymore as advised by Dr Ho. With $9k, Susan Lim promised only 1 cut on both breasts and she'll be extra careful with the milk ducts so that I still can breastfeed in future. For that, I take my hat off her surgical skills. She's delivered what she promised and I'm very grateful to her for it. She was also the one who referred me to Prof Ng Soon Chye, my current gynae. I have absolute trust in her and the doctors she recommend.

KKH
Sorry mummies if I sound very biased towards KKH. The fact is, I've "suffered" so much under KKH, you have no idea what I have gone through the last few years before I found Prof Ng. Really, IMHO, KKH is the last hospital I'll ever send Ariene or myself or anyone related to me to. NEVER.

SY,
tried the spoon method jus now and failed. She didn't believe us...so its the pacifier trick for now.

Re: Crayons for toddlers
Since you mummies are so excited about crayons for toddlers, there's this 'Gel Marker' but its on the higher price side.

It's non-toxic and refillable, transfers onto the paper like oil pastel so very smooth. Washable too. It comes with a holder so won't dirty the kids' hands.

As I mentioned, pricey. A box of 12 basic colors = S$21.60 and box of 6 colors (pastel or primary or glitter or metallic) = S$11.60. Refills S$0.80 per pc.

For those who wish to try it, its available at Kinokuniya Ngee Ann City.
725404.jpg

Maybe abit ex for toddlers but those with older kids can consider this.

Mamapanda
Susan Lim indeed is good because we always refer our surgical cases to her. Last time when my fren's cousin's did the appendix surgery at NUH, she got fever and infection after that. Then we refer her to Susan Lim, Susan Lim did such a clean job for her. So now everything i guai guai ask my office dr. Aiyo, I regret the last time when my hb insisted on going to NUH for Aden's bronchitis admission, lucky for the finger surgery I make the GP wrote to the prof who is very good at surgery otherwise I die die oso wont go there.

Pls indicate response:
2. Durianlover -
3. Rachel -
4. CassCL - ok with anything other than seafood.
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little - No pref. anything is fine
7. xjysg -

I cannot get the right size of bells so I cannot make the bells shaker. But will contribute one pack of the fingerpaint as activity.

Mamapanda;
OMG!! That sounds terrible. i had 5 lumps and i already thought i'm a damn jia lat case. My mum had her breastlump removed by Susan Lim as well.

I had 4 removed at SGH in 1998, had to go thru' invasive surgery, under GA and all, and ended up with 3 scars though not too big but still....

I had one removed in early 2005 using the Mammotome and scar left behind by incision is only the size of a red bean. Regret not learning about this technology earlier, or maybe it wasn't available back in the late 90s.