(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wow the forum moves so fast!

CL,
u getting the finger painting set? can help me get one? can collect from u on sun.

SH
the positive babies class is at great world city.

hey, no worries abt that. actually JH behaves very mildly in front of other babies. and he gets scared easily. so actually me and hb wan him to be a bit tougher. he also cried when my fren's daughter kissed him...haha.

actually i think must make sure your IL will interact and teach him. now i tell my maid to go thru some numbers and letters with him using books. very basic ones which she can pronounce.

also, i try to make sure that in my activities with him, or even when i talk to him, i will create chances for learning. ha, even when scolding him, i will do counting of 1-10 so that he learns at the same time. there's this thing that JH likes to do which my hb dislike. he likes to open cupboard but i will let him do it only if he does a few things for me. i will tell him he can only open one time (and show him the sign for one so now he can do one) and then i will teach him what is meant by open and close. and when he wants to open something, i will tell him he must say open. so he goes 'o'. so when he says that i know what he wnats.

every baby is different. JH likes to show off so in front of pple he will gladly show off his eyes, ear mouth etc....

Flo
JH loves to lift flaps but he also ended up tearing some of them..of cos i feel heart pain but i try to watch him closely.

i also tried to smack him when he pulls plugs but he will still try it. so far not much success...

i still wan to go bottle tree village but the weather is so hot!!!

re aquaduck
i m still keen!

Re: Aquaduck
I'm keen. count me in! missed the last one!

1. Flo
2. Aileen
3. sy

re weekend playgroup
hmm, besides going to each other's house, we can organise activities to nearby places like bottle tree village etc...

i shall start the ball rolling for weekend playgroup. can use my place for a start. hb wd sure prefer that so he doesn't need to hear me nag at him abt going out!

i dun mind being overall coordinator for this cos i really wan to start JH on a playgroup. he is really timid in front of other babies...

weekend playgroup
1. SY

ChickenLittle
My Little Gym is the one at forum? Saw some kids having lesson inside before, looks interesting but ex!

CL,
Can u help me to get the finger painting set if it's not too much a trouble. Thanks **muack**

SY
Heehee, then maybe u can tell hb JH needs to attend classes so that he "learns" how to interact with other kids and won't be so shy. Mel doesn't really like to mix with tots around her age previously, only likes to play with kids that are at least 5 years old. Maybe cos her sister cousin who's 6 months older always "bully" her. But I realised that she begins to "take interest" in other bb in her +ve bb class lately.

BottleTree, maybe we can go in the late afternoon/early evening? or maybe go east coast to cycle?

weekend playgroup
1. SY
2. Flo

Flo,
yup, should plan for one weekend to go to bottle tree. but this sun will be attending the gymboree trial so this sun is out.

CL
i faxed to u already.
let me know if u din get it

MamaPanda
Haha, just try and test 1st! Never know when you might really hit the jackpot. If you suspect that your baby dance coincide with your possible ovulation (which you don't know yet) 2 weeks back, it's possible to test +ve now. So, good luck!

SSF
Yes, Daren sometimes to roll around in his sleep, but not as much as in the past, coz maybe I keep him in a space contraint. I can't imagine if I let him sleep on the mattress on the floor, he'll just have more space to roll! And he'll not go to sleep lor.

Iwatsuka baby biscuit
Angie, I don't mind one pack for Daren to try.

mamapanda - u got all of us so excited. go and test it out and update us again. hee...i understand how you felt esp when u just started working. i was in the same shoes too. i was preggy and got a job offer. so decided to tell them abt my pregnancy so that it will not be a surprise to anyone. in the end, they are OK with it and first day of work, boss told everyone that she is pregnant ah..dun give her too much stress. haha...so in a way, everyone is prepare of the workload they suppose to give me.

SY - count me in for the playgrp. You live in Pasir Ris right? any dates on mind? maybe we can use some of the ideas that is held in mamapanda's hse.

mamapanda - do share with us on the outcome of your playgrp this thurs. any pics to show will be appreciated too!

weekend playgroup
1. SY
2. Flo
3. SSF

re: gymboree classes -socks a must
just to add on to chicken_little's reminder, it's compulsory for accompanying parent to wear a sock or your have to pay 2 bucks for a pair. cheng/zhimin and me blur blur..so in the end paid for those

cheng
I have not been attending any sb class since the last time we met! I want to go for more classes, if not when I start my course, no time liaoz! There are some that's after work, u ok with that? Or weekends? I have no more time off to take for this month, unless come April?

my hb has been waiting for this class :p

1. Flo
2. Aileen
3. sy
4. cheng

weekend playgroup
1. SY
2. Flo
3. SSF
4. Cheng

Bottle tree park
Actually I am quite keen to check it out but never got round to doing it. We can organize a lunch/dinner gathering there...our babies can play together too :>

My gym (Marine Parade)
I tried out 'my gym' when Aidan was 9 months old. Think he was a bit too young to appreciate the class then. The class structure is quite similar to Gymboree - some music and play sessions. I personally prefer the set up at Gymboree but I think the charges at my gym is more reasonable. Hope this helps!

SSF
haven any dates in mind but it will be a sun.

maybe we have a group of about 5-6 babies?

mamapanda,
share with us how the playgroup went so we know what to do. i m not too sure what to be done for playgroups.

mamachan
I am flexible :> Prefer evening sessions rather than weekends (weekends are precious time with the family :p) or weekdays. But we can try to find time that works for both of us. I think I completed my card at Made with Love too, so entitled to 1 free class at Laine's and 1 free class at MWL. Either venue also ok. Let me know what class u are interested in?

cheng
dont leave me out!! i prefer weekdays. have stopped sbing since we last met! so tied up with dylan, housework and freelance job. =/ you are now on homebased work system liao?

SY - ya 5-6 babies sounds OK! over at mamapanda, each mummy is cooking their speciality and have a buffet for the bb. we can also do the same. as for activities, hee...quite clueless coz i am not creative enough. any experts to lead on this?

re:bottle tree park
is this place for bb to hang out? hee..sorry never heard of this place lei. can someone share more abt it.

Queen
Issac's photo recieved.

re: **Bday Bash Memento**

here's the details again:

the committee was nice to come out with the idea of doing up a memento for all the mummies who attended the bash. therefore photo of your little darling is needed.

here's the requirement:
- 1 close-up photo of your baby
- photo taken during their 1YO
- the photo file size to be 300kb and above. best is 800kb to 1MB.
- email to [email protected]

the rest will be my duty to put everything together =)

Scrapbooking
Cheng, Rachel
I decided I should have some time for myself. So maybe once two months I want to take leave to join you all too. Keep me updated if you going.

SY,
Can put the list in the yahoo group file ha ha then dun hve to keep pm.
1. Flo
2. Aileen
3. sy
4. cheng
5. Chicken Little ( need to ask hb first because me not swimming person)

weekend playgroup
1. SY
2. Flo
3. SSF
4. Cheng
5. Chicken Little ( I can do from Apr sat or sunday from end Mar because I stopping Aden BJG class)

Crayola Finger Paint
SY, Flo you both referring to the one I posted yday ? Ok will go suntec and get it tomorrow at Early Learning Centre I think. Anyone else ?

Hi Cl,

I would like to get a packet and try too. Thks!
Iwatsuka - Baby Biscuit (10 packs in a carton)

1) Chicken Little - 2
2) Aileen - 1
3) mamachan - 1
4)sept03bride - 1
4) SL - 1

TRacy,
I like the "get the cane" activity. : )

re: bottletree village
I heard that there's a new bottletree village along the main road to yishun. It's supposed to be more interactive, i.e. got streams for kids to catch little fishes. Keen to organise a gathering there?

re: aquaduck trial.
I went before. It's really quite gd for charmaine. As in after attending the trial, we would bring her swimming using the activities and techniques that the instructor shared. It really built up her water confidence. Now when she sees pool, she would "run" to it and want to go in immediately.

rachel
The more the merrier! So I am not the only one, I did a grand total of 1 piece since we last met, and it's because I had my friend come over yesterday for a scrap session at my place. Realised I am running out of ideas and needed motivation from scrapping together :> I also completed a mini album (the shortcut 1hr album:p). I have the flexibility of working from home a few days a week, so as long as it does not clash with my meetings etc, I should be able to take time out :p

CL,
You may want to check out Toys R Us for the finger paint. I remembered it was cheaper :> I got it at $12? and Toys R Us selling at $9.90. Not sure if we are refering to the same product though :p

SSF
think we can think of some activities and also from the activities that the mummies share. will think of something and share

CL
yup can help me get the finger paint? thanks a lot! looks good cos won't dirty the place...

re bottle tree village
it's a place where we can just relax and bring bb outdoors. a bit like botanic gardens i think. yup got streams to catchfish one.

i m keen for a gathering there! was thinking of using it as a playgroup activity if we wan. then other mummies who can't make it for playgroup can join in also.

weekend playgroup
shall we start in april? i can offer my place for the first session.

CL,
If it's not too much trouble, can get the finger paint for me as well? I would also like to get some crayons. If you see can you buy for me as well? Thanks heaps!! :D

cheng/chickenlittle/mamachan
great! shall organise our next meetup, say april? will monitor on MWL free timeslot and hopefully all of us can meetup again soon! missed the time we spent togther, sitting around chit chatting and roll "sugar cane"! wahahahah

all are welcome to join in, the more the merrier! just let us know.

re: aquaduck trial
can i check, is the pool very deep. err, me and hb not into swimming so kind of concern of the pool depth. normally we bring dylan to baby pool only =p

CL,

Can get the finger paint for me too? Thks!
Actually, I am keen on getting the aqua doodle that tabbiesus posted that day. Any idea where can I get one in Singapore?

SY,
1. Flo
2. Aileen
3. sy
4. cheng
6. SSF (need to ask hb too coz he be the one in the water :p)

re: bottletree village
sl - fish catching sounds interesting.... i think Caleb will definitely like it. he has been eyeing on my dad's pond and aquarium for some time.

CL/cheng/rachel
yes, we should meet up for a scrapping session one of these days!! I haven't done one LO since we last met, only that one where I used lace which I got from spotlight. And then that's tat. Will look through their website and propose a few classes see which one to attend.

SY - beginning to mid apr is OK with me but not from 21st Apr onwards as hb will be enjoying himself in Florida's theme park, soaking under the sunny weather and leaving both of us behind. Arghhh!

rachel - i think aqua duck is held in suntec pool. if so, the pool is not deep. its a small pool and you will be able to stand. last time when i went there, there is a class being held and the babies are having lots of fun playing in the water. but mostly are ang mo babies. haha..

Thanks Cheng. I will call Toyrus up first. Trying to call ELC , realised they only at Forum and Paragon woh. If I can find tomorrow I will get for you.

Crayola Fingerpaint
1) SY
2) Flo
3) Aileen
4) SL

Aileen, you getting the crayola crayons too ? or just want non toxic ? I went to Popular yday, those stated non toxic lyra is not bold enough. Those like Sakura and Coleen is good but never stated non toxic or not.

SL, I saw it selling at robinsons when it first launch. Crayola oso have something like that but got colours. I trying to find where I can find the most range of crayola products.

CL
The nice thing about crayola crayons is that they are washable (believe me, they like to doodle everywhere!) I got both the finger paint and crayons from a store at United Square. Subsuquently, saw them selling at Toys R Us at vivo city.

one book that I'm using is Slow and Steady, Get Me Ready (A Parents' Handbook for children from Birth to Age 5)... it lists activities that you can do on a weekly basis. I find it useful as it provides reason for doing certain activities.

Hi Durianlover, reason I explore various classes is to learn from others ... for eg, in the Positive Babies, the facilitator which is the directress herself shared with us to use a high-pitch (& cheerful) voice when we talk to our young ones.... and various classes use action songs that rhymes.

Hi CL, thanks for the Today online link. Didn't realize got that... and blur me, it's actually Straits Times that has the homeschooling article ... hm, but nothing much is mentioned. To successfully hschool pri school needs certain level of investment (on materials) as these are mainly from US. I'll explore further and it'll be good if I can just focue on preschool.

Bookcase : Denmy, I've made this from cardboard (bought from Popular)... underneath, I've layered with stereofoam boards (those which comes packaged with your electrical appliance). In that way, the bottom wouldn't break thru'. I've wanted to display books by front facing, but the ones I see are pretty expensive. Another option is to get ikea shelves (the small ones) and nail onto the wall. A fren also got her hubby to nail onto a table top and it's pretty cool too.

.ky.

SY,
1. Flo
2. Aileen
3. sy
4. cheng
7. xjysg

rachel,
ya, i miss the sugar cane machine :p haha...i also never used any of the letters I so painstakingly punched out that day.

SSF,
Florida got disneyworld - so fun...join your hubby there lah!

Weekend playgroup
April is ok for me :> I can 'queue' my house for playgroup venue too, but dunno how to lead the session ;p

SY,
1. Flo
2. Aileen
3. sy
4. cheng
7. xjysg
8. tabbiesus

Called ELC only their Paragon outlet has the fingerpaint and it is a pooh theme at $16. I will try Toysrus and update you all accordingly.

Crayola Fingerpaint
1) SY
2) Flo
3) Aileen
4) SL

Aileen, you getting the crayola crayons too ? or just want non toxic ? I went to Popular yday, those stated non toxic lyra is not bold enough. Those like Sakura and Coleen is good but never stated non toxic

CL,
I think I prefer crayola crayons coz non toxic. edgar is still into putting things into this mouth. if you see them, can u help me buy? else no worries. thanks heaps!

SSF
wow how come your hb is going to florida without u and caleb??

okie i will put the list in yahoo groups.

i will put 2 lists in yahoo group. one for aquaducks and one for weekend playgroup.

CL
if u need help to get from paragon, let me know, i can walk over to get. near my office mah.

Aileen,
After Cheng's recommendation, I oso getting the crayons from Crayola. I will help you get a pack too. He said about $4 plus but I will go check it out first.

Crayola Fingerpaint - Toysrus says it is $19.90 dunno if it is the same or not.
Question
a) for the same thing at $19.90 you still want ?
b) If it is not the same pack but similar things at $19.90 ok ?
1) SY
2) Flo
3) Aileen
4) SL

SY, I will let you know

For aquaducks, i think there is a cap of number of babies. i uploaded the file already. at 8, i think that is like the max they will take.

MamaChan,
Thanks. Will try that. Guess it is inevitable that we as parents will start to compare and get worried ;p

Flo,
Thanks for your concern. I hope JW gets well soon too.

Re: London
My boss just sent me a email that said that I probably needs to travel to London for business end of Apr. So short notice...a bit pissed. Well anyway, now wondering if I should bring bb along (coz hb mentioned that he wants to tag along). Any mummy has been to London with bb....any advice?

cheng/SY
my hb is gg to florida again for sales conference. i joined him 2 yrs ago before i got caleb. so not gg again this time la coz flight journey is terrible and moreover i been there already. though i must say disney world is really big and uncomparable to disneyland. last time i still remember, he went first then i joined him after his sales conference. took a flight from sgp->japan->LA->chicago->orlando. nearly fainted ...and i was all alone through the journey. so blur and didnt know LA got so many terminals. missed the early flight and end up reaching orlando at midnight. when i reached orlando airport. it was empty and isolated...so scary and i walked very fast to head outside to board the airport taxi. freezing cold and that stupid driver dropped me last although my hotel is the nearest. the best part was staying at disneyland hotel....so nice and only managed to sneak to his room and stay for a night before we check out to stay at a motel for the rest of the stay. haha...aiyo to think of it now..its so memorable. i would love to go back but when my kids are bigger la.

SSF
Likewise, I went to Florida a couple of years back when hubby was on a business trip. I took the long 20+ hr flight there myself too. As I just started my job then, could not take too many days of leave, so did not fully explore Florida. But I really fell in love with Disney World - hee, and Downtown Disney. Can't wait to have the oppt to go there again!

Still available? How to collect? Payment mode? Pls advise... thks.

1) Chicken Little - 2
2) Aileen - 1
3) mamachan - 1
4)sept03bride - 1
5) Esh_mummy - 2

Esh Mummy
Which part of RP you work ? I can either go RP or if I passing to some mummies who are working in RP over the weekend, you can get from them ? Or I will meet you at RP oso can

cheng - oh yeah i also love florida! its so much like an island for tourist. everywhere ppl is smiling coz almost all tourists and its very safe! did u go to the premium outlet? we stayed near the tram line and took the tram to the outlet. i totally lost my senses when i was there. haha...back then i do not have Caleb yet but i was already shopping for some kids' stuff for my frds and ended up in the kid's section of polo ralph, tommy hilfiger,gap for so long. hb was like grabbing me asking me to go. he said u spent so much money to shop for others. go shop for yourself la. haha..how i wish i can revisit those shops...i sure have lots more to shop now. haha..

disneyworld itself have like 5 worlds in it. we only manage to visit one of them. universal studio on the other hand has 2 worlds...we also visited one only. yeah downtown disney is very nice. i remember i took a boat ride directly from my hotel to there. nice place, nice ppl and nice weather! sighhh...fond memories..

CL
Can't resist to buy...heehee

1) Chicken Little - 2
2) Aileen - 1
3) mamachan - 1
4)sept03bride - 1
5) Esh_mummy - 2
6) Flo - 2

Crayon,
I got Fabel Castle non toxic crayon from Carrefour, is only $2.95 I think for 12 sticks