(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sep03bride & God's_child - Wow, the kids look like they really enjoyed themselves!

Tremors: HB called me 12pm & told me his building shook for abt 10s. The furniture in his office were swaying & moving about. Called my mum & told her if anything happened, just carry Cephas & evacuate the building. No need to bring anything out of the house.

I slept through an earthquake in Turkey once. Everything was moving in the room & I slept through it. My room-mate thought the room was haunted. It was only the next morning when the others on the same floor in the hotel told us that we had a 3.5 earth quake the nite before :p We saw the damages of the roads & buildings when we left the hotel. I guess 6.6 is big!

tremors:
i felt it here at raffles place too. twice somemore. quite scary, took my external harddisk and went for early lunch! :p office didn't evacuate but i know some offices here did coz i saw lotsa pple downstairs.

sysac, u win liao lah, can sleep thru an earthquake! :p

Sept03Bride, god's child
Wow! That looks like fun! When Daren gets better, will try to bring him there too. Hahaha, think I'll end up the one cycling and ferrying him about. Not sure if my hb can ride bicycle or not. I teased him once, last time police patrol you don't ride bicycle meh? He funny lah, tell me in return last time police officers wear shorts. *faintz*

Zoo
Sysac, I just brought Daren to the zoo this morning. I claimed time off for half day morning and decided spontaneously to bring him to the zoo coz the last time I brought him there, it rained, and I have my BIL's car this week.

Wenyl
Can't join you ladies this week liaoz. Already took my time off. Didn't know earlier.

Playgroup
I can do 15 Mar if anyone wants since I am on leave to take care of Aden. Me at CCK.

Tremors
I thot I was dizzy. Sysac u are realli good and realli tired for that day.

My hb from aviva, the company released them early today. He is off from work

Mamachan - Today's weather is lovely! Hope it will be bright & sunny on Sat too! Was telling HB cephas goes in free while we've got to pay for our adult tixs. Lucky!

celine/Chicken Little - Yep, cld have died too if it had been stronger! I was tired that night because I was partying for 2 weeks & that was my last night so I put in all my soul & energy into sleeping! Roommate said I didn't even stir but then she wld have woken me up if things got worse!

mamachan - wow u so ON ..bring daren to zoo all by urself. cool mummy u are. david is so funny. tell him hor if he cannot cycle...ask the shop owner to add on the side wheels for him lor. hee..just kidding.

chicken_little - wow...ur hb off work liao. so good...we are still working our butts off despite experiencing the shake twice. i think ur hb must be praying for a shake at least once a day. haha...

sysac - ya u are ultimate. i bet ya didnt feel the shake just now. hee..

the impacts of the earthquake looks great!

JAKARTA, Indonesia - A powerful earthquake in western Indonesia killed at least nine people Tuesday, flattening hundreds of buildings and overwhelming hospitals on Sumatra island, officials and witnesses said.

ADVERTISEMENT

It was felt hundreds of miles away in Singapore, where some office buildings were evacuated, and in neighboring Malaysia.

The magnitude-6.3 quake killed at least two young children and a teacher when a two-story building crashed onto a playground in the Sumatran town of Solok, said police spokesman Supriadi, who goes by only one name. A woman in a market also died, he said.

District chief Samsu Rahim told el-Shinta radio that nine people had died, but did not give details.

Hundreds of buildings collapsed, including a crowded state bank, and hospitals were struggling to cope with a flood of patients, many suffering cuts and broken bones, Supriadi said.

At least one hospital was evacuated following the tremor, sending panicked doctors and nurses fleeing through the doors and startled patients limping behind, some aided by family members.

The U.S. Geological Survey said the tremor struck 20 miles below Solok, on Sumatra's western coast. It was followed by several strong aftershocks that sent residents pouring into the streets, shattered windows and toppled power lines.

"Everything in my house fell down ... a cabinet hit me," said Rahma Nurjana, a Padang resident. "My neighbor's house collapsed."

The tremor and at least one of the aftershocks was felt in Singapore, 265 miles from the epicenter, forcing the evacuation of several older office buildings, TV station Channel NewsAsia reported.

In Malaysia's southern coastal city of Johor, citizens fled offices, buildings and shopping centers, eyewitnesses said.

Indonesia, the world's largest archipelago, is prone to seismic upheaval due to its location on the so-called Pacific "Ring of Fire," an arc of volcanos and fault lines encircling the Pacific Basin.

In December 2004, a massive earthquake struck off Indonesia's Sumatra island and triggered a tsunami that killed more than 230,000 people, including 131,000 people in Indonesia's Aceh province alone. A tsunami off Java island last year killed nearly 5,000.

Tracy/Wenyl,
Thanks for the feedback. It's been 6 days now so I dunno if to still give him the Rhinathiol that was prescribed. Maybe the bug just has to run its course... worse part is I myself caught the cough bug from office since yesterday and am feeling really bad now. Hope Lucas doesn't catch it from me.

Wenyl,
Which Tuina did you go, think I saw some postings on it a few weeks ago but din pay attention. Is it Yu Guo? Does Ethan enjoy his sessions or will scream and cry?

SSF - I am not so "cha tao" lah...haha...I was out having a farewll lunch at Int'l Biz Park when HB called me. None of us felt the shake...haha...

Sep03Bride/God's_child - I just rem. I was at Sentosa on Sun morning! So on, u 2 at ECP & I was at Sentosa! This time round, Cephas played topless at the beach while. It was rather hot but he enjoyed himself. Kept wanting to go into the volleyball area where HB was playing with his group. I was thoroughly baked even standing in the shade

Busy day today.

Cookie,
i didn't find the voucher leh. Search for it in my mum's place when i go tomorrow.

god's child/septbride,
the cycling looks exciting!

ak,
I am okay for 12 lunch at BK. Could you pls pm me your hp no.? Thks!

SSF,
If you more names for buying the FM, I can help.

Speaking of money saving, I really felt like an auntie now cos for the nepia promotion, I actually bought all the L-size from the Clementi NTUC.

re: earthquake
My office's at cityhall - didn't feel anything. CL, you felt the shake too?

Sl,
Yup felt the shake. Second time I did not. My sil at Purvis st oso felt the shake. Hee Hee met your hb at my office this morning. Pai seh, will bring Tabbi's GAIA stuff to trouble you on thur.

AK,
I will call you to check where u guys will be. Wont be there ontime at 12.

Re. Earthquake
Felt it too once at my office at 22nd floor at City Hall. Lasted maybe 5 secs. I was sitting at my desk readinf files and felt myself swaying slightly. But funny thing, nobody around me seemed to have felt it cos no reactions from my colleagues. At first, I thought maybe it's due to some major renovation works going upstairs... either that I thought I was dizzy from reading of all the files!

Sysac,
wah, you can actually sleep through an earthquake! But you must have felt really fortunate to come through it unscathed right?

May,
I have to say you are really disciplined in planning activities for Jamie! I do not have a structured time-table... during weekends if we are home most of the time, Isaac's typical day would be:
8am - Wake up & Bathe
8.30am - Breakfast
9.00 - 10am - walking around the house, pulling out drawers, flipping his books, self-play / Read
10.30am - nap
11.30am - Lunch & DVD (either Brainy Baby or Sesame Street)
12.30pm - 2pm - Usually out as me & HB eat out for lunch
2.30 pm - Milk feed
3.00 - 4.00 pm - Play toys with him or basically just follow him around the house / Read to him
4.00 pm - Nap
5.30 pm - Dinner & DVD
6.30 pm - Self-play or out with us for dinner
8.30 pm - Wipe-down, brush teeth, milk feed & Off to bed!
Haven't done any outdoor activities with Isaac yet... mostly to shopping centres. But after seeing the pics of Jamie, Caleb & Celeste enjoying themselves in ECP, I'll bring Isaac there very soon!

sl - thks for your offer on the milk powder. maybe step 3 will use urs and cookie, at least can standby. hee..

esther - no not buying. got 1 from the spree the last time. at first i thot it was big but then ok and i find it comfy. i can walk the whole day at orchard without my feet aching.

Queen - Yes, it was very fortunate to have slept through it & come out unscathed. Although, nothing much happened to the hotel we stayed in, we saw damaged roads & lower buildings along the way.

SSF - So can order Gain IQ from your contact?

RE: Earthquake
Felt both the tremors in my office in RP. We were evacuated from the building twice and had to climb down the stairs! After the 2nd tremor, we were told by mgt to go home if we dont have anything urgent work to finish. So am at home now.

sysac - yes sure i can pass u my details. let me know what info u need.

flo - u are another blessed one. so good to be home now. i am leaving soon and it seems that it;s gonna rain big time soon and have to beat those jam!

wenyl,
So the tuina works for Ethan? Good! Last time when i brought Janelle at 5+ months she didn't enjoy it...maybe coz she was either sleepy or hungry. Screamed the whole place down!

May,
Thanks for the schedule! U're really disciplined! Still got English and Chinese lesson! Ha
Maybe i shd try out a proper schedule and see how. Right now Janelle just enjoys walking round the house passing me stuff that she picks up along the way!

RE: Earthquake
Sounds like a big one but i didn't feel anything back home here in Bt Panjang.

RE: Playgroup!
Yes! Shall we start a playgroup soon? At Mamapanda's place also can.

CassRL,
I'll PM you my contact number so we can contact each other in case we go BP Plaza or have any playgroup

CassRL,
Oops you don't accept PM. Perhaps you could PM me your contact number instead??

Sharon,
Sure the playgroup is open to anyone who'd wanna join. Oh you're trained in early childhood? Great! Hee can help lead / plan sessions!
Where do you stay?
As for FM, my girl also hated water but surprisingly, she didn't have any constipation when i switched her from BM to FM at 1 year old. Maybe coz she was quite 'old' already by the time i switched to FM so less susceptible to constipation?

Durianlover,
You not working now. Ha ha it seems likes like we have so many of us residing in Bukit Panjang and CCK. We can start the ball rolling and get the other mummies to join us.

I will go pack my stuff and put down a list of the things I have.

CL,
i'm still working but working from home most of the time. Actually depends also, sometimes gotta go out. BUT, i'm gonna quit by end of May latest!!! Heehee
Then i'll join the SAHM Club

Not too sure how to start the ball rolling leh. Where shall we meet in the first place?

Sept03 Bride,
Wah...Do they actually rent the baby seats for the bicycle...can really consider. me going to show hb the photos and then ask him to fetch JW coz I am not a good rider...worried abt carrying JW. ;p

KY,
Sorry.. I will have difficulties bringing Jamie along myself and intend to start work soon. So will only be free weekend.

RE: Primary School Teacher
My mum just give me this idea this afternoon. I think someone is a Pri Sch Teacher here right? Can let me know how to go thru applying it? What kind of sacrifice u need to give? The working hours?

What I worry is I will miss out Jamie's growing up stage. As there will be time where school will need parents to on leave and join Sports Day and other activities.

Sysac
Oh, 9-9.30am is too early for me

Celine77
Mel is currently taking Enfagrow. I normally ask my fren working in a clinic to help me to buy in bulk. I'm probably going to order again, let me know if you are keen, I can check for you. Any mommy giving Mamil Gold step 3 now? How is it? It seems much cheaper than Enfagrow and GainIQ

ChickenLittle, CassCL, Rena
Mel oso has 4 teeth on the top and 4 at the bottom. Recently she refuses to let me clean her teeth and can really bite me hard

SH
Has JW tried GainIQ before? Unlikely that the milk will be contaminated

Denmy,
Heehee, I meant to say that A+D cream has been around for a long time liao. My ex boss used to apply on her gals bum when shes was baby and shes 16 years old now :p Actually I do apply A+D cream on my cracked heels and when I burn myself when cooking.

Mamapanda
Mel can shake hand with Ariene. She likes to dig and take things out of my wallet and handbag, CD tower, bookshelves, kitchen drawers too. And shell leave them as they are if the books and CDs are all over the place. The moment you pack up, shell come and mess it up again. So I only pack up after shes asleep.

Rena
A+D cream is only available in the US so either have to ask fren travelling there to buy or thru drugstore spree. How many tubes do you need?

May
Easy what, if you are a teacher, Jamie will be attending the school you are going to teach rite?

SH
yup, they hv those bikes with bb seat with safety belts. Quite ok, just need to clean them with wet wipes 1st b4 putting JW onto it.

Celine,
nope not using livejournal. U thinking to use it for Edgar's blog?

May
Joanne is a primary school teacher. I remem another mum here is also a primary school teacher. However, although I'm a secondary school teacher, all I can advise as a teacher on the whole is, if you're looking for a 9-5 job that's easy and relaxing, teaching is not the job for you. It requires 24x7 committment. There's no annual leave. School holidays are a privilage, not a must for you, ie, the school has the right to require your presense in school during the holidays. By usual prac, we're given 2 weeks of "off days" during the holidays. Other days of the holidays, we're still required to report back to school, either for meetings, workshops, remedials, etc. Also, not forgetting loads of marking to complete, ie, alot of your weekends are burnt marking, esp during common test period and exam period. Last but not least, you don't get to choose which school you want to teach in and whichever school you're teaching in, doesn't give u any advantage or privilage at all when it comes to registration. We still go through the same system as everyone else.

teaching
Forgot to mention working hours.. typically schools start at 7.15am and end at 2pm but most teachers stay in school till 5-6pm everyday cuz there meetings to attend, remedial classes, CCA, other activities, test papers to set, lessons to prepare, not to mention loads of marking to clear. Before I had Ariene, I used to have to stay in school till 7pm everyday to clear my work. Now, I'm kinda laid back cuz I went on part-time teaching. However, I get the feeling that schools are not very supportive of the scheme and they keep pestering me to convert back to full time. Anyway, I decided to quit teaching because I want to have more time to commit to Ariene. I also want to be able to see spring and autumn again, which I have missed for the past 6 years. While you're teaching, you can only go for holidays during June or December. Not only is it alot more expensive, the season suck and its always very crowded and hard to make a booking cuz the school will only let u know when you can officially go for a holiday pretty late (meaning, you cant book early during a NATAS fair. Can only book for a tour quite last minute). Really, if u look at things for an angle, teaching is an over-worked, under paid job and of the 365 days in a year, you'll probably be glad you're in teaching for only 1-2 days (teacher's day and graduation day).

Flo,
Ya. Ariene also likes to leave her legend behind everywhere but I make it a point for her to see me packing no matter how tiring it is cuz I want her to have the impression that mess is a no-no at home. Sometimes, she'll even help me pack cuz she thinks its fun. I'll ask her to bring me stuff (cuz I"m also lazy to walk) and she'll gladly fetch me the things for me to keep. Well, most of the time, right after I keep or after she put the things back into the box, she'll dig them out again shortly, and I'll just pack them with her again in 15min time. However, when I'm not at home, my maid doesn't pack up and her toys are always all over the place when I get home. Sigh.. must ask my maid to teach Ariene to pack up. Consistency is very important part of a child's learning!

Cindy/durianlover,
I brot him to Yuguo for tuina. Need a bit of effort to make him sit thru. But yday & today, he fell asleep halfway thru the massage.

Mamachan,
Sorry din announce the botanic gdns outing earlier cos it was a last min tingy. Last week Ethan still hv phlegmy coughs at nite so din dare to plan any outing this week. Only yday when I noticed he stopped coughing that I thot of bringing him outdoors for a breather.

Re: bt panjang/cck playgroup

Mamapanda;
I'll be flying back to london 20th this month
must arrange to meet soon

ky;
Yep, i'm a SAHM

durianlover;
Have sent u a PM.

Flo,

i wish to get 3 tubes..

I am currently giving elijah Mamil gold stage 3.. i change from enfapro coz elijah seems to be talking less and less of milk so we decided to change to mamil as it is not so foamy as gain IQ.. somehow after the change elijah seems to be drinking more therefore we decided to stick to it..

Mamapanda
At least Ariene is still so guai to help you to pack up. When I try to "teach" Mel how to pack up, she will purposely mess up the stack that I've packed....arrgh. When I tell her no, she can't do that, she just smile sweetly at me...faintz!

Re: bt panjang/cck playgroup
let me know when it will be conducted, dylan has strict napping time so hopefully we can make it for the playgroup. he nap twice @ 10am-11am and 345pm-515pm. my house small leh, so not ideal to hold activities for our babies. but if there is any material to prepare, do let me know =)

mamapanda
you signed up for full day or half day at amazing star?

Rena,
Keenan can join Elijah liao. He also took a few independent steps today.

Sept03bride, godschild,
Caleb and Celeste have the same smile. Got fu1 qi1 xiang4 leh!!

Rena,
I just ordered 3 tubs (454g). Not tubes, they are smaller. Cos I use a lot, so 1 tub will last me abt 1 mth. If you like i can always pass you one.

Flo, you have an extra zinc oxice one?

sl, I PM u already.

SSF, I stay at river valley. Are u meeting any rp mummies at any other gathering? I can pass to any one else?

Cheng

Thanks for coordinating the Gyboree Trial... I would prefer saturday (10/3)

Will PM you my details.

Gain IQ

Can anyone give me the contact to buy Gain IQ? Or share?

Denmy
Wow, that means you apply alot! I tube can last me for almost 2 months I think. Don't have the zinc oxide one, never bot that one before.

Congrats to Rena and Denmy. Heehee, they 2 really buddies, must walk at the same time too

playgroup
How about a latemorning-lunch playgroup? Somthing like 11am to 2pm? We mummies can also have lunch together. I don't mind volunteering my house for it. Its not enormously big but should be enough for us. Don't think there's many mummies who can join us during the weekday. Since CassCL is returning to London on the 20th, I suggest doing it during the march hols. What activities shall we do? Allow me to start the ball rolling :

BP/CCK playgroup (Not limited to BP/CCK mummies. All are welcomed!)
1. Mamapanda
2. Durianlover
3. Rachel
4. CassCL

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet [sharing of baby recipes)

I just thought there's so much talking abt baby recipes. Why not share our baby's favourite recipe with everyone. After that, our darlings (and perhaps mummies too) can have buffet lunch too. What do u think?

RE: Bt P / CCK playgroup
Shall we fix a venue and date for this? I don't mind opening my place. Living room is reasonably-sized, prob can hold up to 8 mummies + 8 babies? Only thing is that it's not air-conditioned if you all don't mind. Mamapanda's place also can be used and it's prob slightly nearer the LRT & bus stops as compared to mine so may be more convenient to get there.

Proposed date: 12 March Monday
Proposed time: 1:00-3:00pm
I think 2 hours is more than sufficient for a playgroup actually. Not too sure what to do though!

Can have circle time where we sing some songs with actions. I've got a CD that my church uses for circle time for the kids. Can use that.

Other than that, i don't quite know what to do. Am a boring mummy! :p

Mamapanda,
Haha we posted within 1 min of each other! Ok the 11am-2pm timing sounds ok too.

Buffet lunch sounds cool!! Are we ALL going to cook??

RE: Playgroup
Sorry for unable to host the Bt P /CCK playgroup. Let me know if u all need help in the lesson planning. I can help to plan and source for some themes related and email to one of u all to print it out and teach.

RE: Teaching
Thanks Mamapanda and Durianlover for your tips! I had showed hubby and now he is not supportive to it already. I would really want to attend Jamie's FIRST cooking lesson in childcare, Sports Day in Kindergarden and etc. If taking leave can be a prob, I will not take up teaching. Hubby will have prob taking leave so I want to be there for her so as not to disappoint her. Think all the mummies will feel the same too!