(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi sunny, I only hear abt the closure via email. I'm going down to check if it's true ... it opens from 1.30pm on weekdays till 9pm I think. on weekends, it closes at 6pm. And the books are very new. they've just changed to ikea chairs and tables and the librarians are very nice ... the entire place is carpetted and no shoes are allowed, so it's really nice and cosy. A pity if it's to close down.

.ky.

ky,
How about lowering the cot to the lowest level and lifting up the barrier once he's inside? He can still climb out?? Shifting from co-sleeping on bed to cot is tough i think!!

CassRL,
Janelle drools less nowadays compared to when she was a baby. But she does still drool off and on!

Rena,
U must be so excited to see Elijah walk! NOw it'll be busier days ahead of yoU

Thank you for your concern and advice. JW is better now. I followed all your advice and use water to wash his bottom instead of using the wipes. He protest slightly less.

Strangely I don't know what caused it. I am beginning to suspect a tin of Gain IQ that I opened on Fri nite for him. His diarrhea started first thing on Sat morning and in between all he had was that new tin of FM. Although his diarrhea got better on Sunday, his poo was still watery and he is still poo-ing 4 to 5 times. Then on monday when I brought him to my MIL place, he miraculously recovered and my MIL said his poo was solid and hard (though we stopped the medication already).

Yesterday nite, I brought him home, he took 2 feeds of the FM . Then suddenly this morning watery poo again?? Do you all think the FM could be the culprit? But I just opened that tin that nite....so now lost as to what is causing the problem

CassRL,
Really? Mamapanda also stays just across the rd from me. Quite a few mummies here also stay in Bt Panjang. I'm at Jelapang Rd. Yourself? If u're free maybe we can meet up one of these days! I've been thinking of how to 'entertain' Janelle nowadays. SHe's no longer interested in her toys so thought it'd be good for her to meet other pple!

RE: Activities for baby
How do you all 'entertain' your babies? I find that Janelle keeps following me round the house and it's quite unproductive for her to do so. I mean, all she does is to burn off energy! Not really learning anything new...And i don't have the time or energy to keep playing with her. ANd she's no longer interested in her toys. Hmm...any suggestions? That's why i'm keen for the playgroup!! Janelle's getting bored of staying at home!

SSF, no prob, I pass to you when we meet for RP lunch on thur? By the way, I hope you dun mind the expiry is June 2007. So must use quickly.

Backside: Yah, all along I use water and cotton wool to wipe Ryan's backside so maybe that's why no need diaper cream (or any cream). Now he is older, I do use wet wipes.

RP lunch on thur
Shall we meet at 12 p.m. at burger king at OUB centre basement? Sorry, I'm out of ideas where to eat and am sick of Asia Kitchen. Any other suggestions would also be welcomed.

RE: Drooling "Solution"
well, my mum believes in it and works for my nephew. use a table cloth (not too sure must use our own or someone else's. choose a clean one) and wipe the baby's chin. Wipe and go. Not to mention to anyone else until u realise that the drooling has stopped. My nephew was drooling big time and surprisingly stopped after she did it. To work, must be a hush hush thing.

Anyone else heard of it?

RE: Gymboree Trial
Hi ladies, I will call up the person in charge by Thursday to confirm our attendance. Can you kindly PM me with your hp number and child's name for me to register on everyone's behalf?

Gymboree trial (Serangoon Gardens)

Saturday, Mar 10 (3:15 - 4:00pm) - 6 slots avail.
1. Cheng (Mar 10)
2. SSF (Mar 10)

Sunday, Mar 11 (4:00 - 4:45) - 2 slots avail.
1. SY (Mar11) - Can you make it on Mar 10, so we can all go as a group?

Ladies, please let me know which day you prefer?
1. Cindy (both dates ok)
2. Zhimin (both dates ok)

durianlover,
caleb also likes to follow me around the house..
When i go to the kitchen, he will start pulling out my stuff from the drawers. He seems happie doing it. But i make sure that dangerous items are out of reach.

RE: Drooling "Solution"
Chillies, must use the table cloth at Gu Gu's place. Just like Gu Gu has to buy a pair of shoes if the baby does not have hair grown at the back.

durianlover
i let my gal play with bells, keys, stackers, puzzle cards (2 cards and right side is pix, left side is alphabet type), and put her story books on the floor for her to choose what she wanna do with those. so far, puzzle cards can keep her for about 15 mins. like janelle, my gal will follow me wherever i go after she lost interest in exploring around. then, i just have to sit down and play with her or read to her.

durianlover - caleb loves ball. so we bought a few for him to play. tats keep him busy and he also like cars and lego.

ak - i am not meeting u guys for lunch in RP. i works in ulu commonwealth. hee...if there are other mummies who is meeting u for lunch and bb is on mamil gold, u can give to them. no worries...else i am ok with the expiry date. sorry where u live then i will have to plan how to collect from you.

Glad to know that you getting together to form a playgrp. I wanted to do that when my son turns 18 mths. Anyway, I am a trained early childhood teacher before I had a baby. I've been thinking abt setting up a mini playgrp for sometimes so that Joash can have some interaction with children of his age. Seems like it's available here! May I know when & where are you conducting the playgrp? And is it open to all mummies here? Thks.

FORMULA MILK:
I am thinking of letting my boy try some formula milk before I completely wean him off EBM. I am quite afraid that he might be allergic to it. Btw, my son hates water and I heard that formula milk give constipation so i am really apprehensive abt giving it him. Mummies who have been thru' this phase, can you give me some advices? Thks.

re: nappy rash
i think all the talk about nappy rash is 'infectious'. heee...Aidan has never gotten nappy rash since birth, not even when he got a bout of gastric flu some time back. But on Sunday, as we were out for dinner, did not notice he pooed. Yesterday, realised he has a bad rash! :p I am using destin now. hope it clears up soon.

Activities for baby:
Some activities to share - Aidan enjoys going to the playground, blowing bubbles outside the corrider, helping to water the plants.

Playgroup
I can offer my house if lack of volunteers..not very big but think can accomodate a few babies if not fussy. But need someone to help guide the activities the first few times - I have no creative ideas :p

Cycling,
we met up with God's child to go cycling at East Coast on sun morning.This is a really good activity, so mummies who are out of ideas to entertain their child can try this out.
We had breakfast at Mac and both Caleb and Celeste had fun playing on the slides. Snapped a few pics of them enjoying themselves too.

As for the charges for rental of bicycle, its pretty reasonable. It is $6 + 1 free mineral water.

We cycled for some distance, then took a break and let Caleb and Celeste roam about. Celeste is really adventurous and kept walking about..Caleb is more careful.Does not really dare to make big moves haha..

713496.jpg
713497.jpg

Our babies on the bikes with Daddies

713498.jpg
713499.jpg

Enjoying on the slides

sept03bride,
wow the bicycle looks great! i didn't know there are bikes with bb seat for rental! now i know where i can spend my sun morning! thanks for the info! :D btw which bicycle rental shop did u get it from? not the one near mac's right?

SH,

i dun think it is the milk.. for elijah i realise that he ususally crawls on the floor then he will put his fingers in his mouth.. the dirt will also cause liao sai too..

sept03- wow, the pics turn out pretty well,thanks for being the photographer! *muacks*

celine - we rented from the one near Mac... why leh? they no good ar? the last time i went i rented fr another shop,bout the same... think most shops shld have the bb seat,shld not be a prob... just rem the wipes to clen the seats and handle heehehehee

sept03bride, god's child,
thanks for the info. no la, nothing wrong with the one near mac's. i just tot that one is very small, so may not have that kind of bike. let me go this sun and post the pics here! oh, but let me need to pump the tyres of my own bike first. hopefully the rental shop allow me to do that! :p

haha celine..
if not, u can rent from there. Normal bike will be $5 + 1 free mineral water
the price is based on 2hours (cos its a package 1 hour+next hour free)

sept03bride/god's child - wow! a date for Celeste and Caleb har? hee... so cute and i can see they have alot of fun on the slide.

re: pony feeding/riding @ Pasir Ris (near interchg)
Just found out this place frm my frd who always cycle with his son from his home. we met up with him and had breakfast there and feed pony. Caleb was amused with the little pony and when we made him feed the pony, he was very unhappy with the roughness of the pony's mouth. haha...it a nice place to hang out in the morning for a breakfast and a jog. was telling hb to jog the next time while caleb and me have breaky at the cafe. haha...

earthquake?
my office shook for a sec. first time experiencing....scary mann! anyone in the west experience it too?

sept03 , god's child,

it seems like both the babies enjoy the date.. so envy.. coz my hb is not those for outdoors.. that is why we never even go to east coast for date..so sian

ChickenLittle,
Huh, my mom used my aunt's one not gugu though. Eh...my boy's hair at the back still not well grown, maybe shld ask the gugu to buy shoes for him...heehee

Durianlover;
I'm at Bangkit Road. Great idea, Rory also gets bored with his toys easily and we try to take him out even if its to BP Plaza cos he will get very restless staying at home the whole day.

I'm always free so just let me know when you want to meet.

SSF,
Yes, there was an earthquake from sumatra. Some colleagues felt it but I didn't. My maid said she didn't although AMK suppose to feel it too...

Re: Cold
Can I know what's the typical lifecycle of a cold (duration. type of mucous etc.)? Lucas is having it since last Thu and still not recovering. Am thinking of bringing him to a GP tomorrow... very broke from going to PDs man... \

Sept03,
The rides look so cool! Thanks for sharing. Now there can be one more activity to do on weekends... otherwise always end up at malls and supermkts.

Durianlover,
I have a simple timetable for Jamie. You might be interested.

<table border=1><tr><td>10AM</TD><TD>Breakfast </TD></TR><TR><TD>1030AM</TD><TD>Self Play </TD></TR><TR><TD>1045AM</TD><TD>Bath </TD></TR><TR><TD>11PM</TD><TD>ENGLISH </TD></TR><TR><TD>1130PM</TD><TD>Music and Movement </TD></TR><TR><TD>12PM</TD><TD>Lunch and Clean up </TD></TR><TR><TD>1230PM</TD><TD>Self Play </TD></TR><TR><TD>1PM - 3PM</TD><TD>Nap </TD></TR><TR><TD>3PM</TD><TD>Self Play </TD></TR><TR><TD>4PM</TD><TD>CHINESE </TD></TR><TR><TD>430PM</TD><TD>Music and Movement </TD></TR><TR><TD>5PM</TD><TD>Self Play </TD></TR><TR><TD>6PM</TD><TD>Dinner </TD></TR><TR><TD>630PM</TD><TD>Bath </TD></TR><TR><TD>7PM</TD><TD>TV Time </TD></TR><TR><TD>8PM</TD><TD>Play Time with Daddy </TD></TR><TR><TD>9PM</TD><TD>Warm Down.. Rest on bed getting ready to sleep </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

1) Jamie wake up quite late nowadays. So activities start at 10am.
2) She will play with her own toys while I prepare the bath stuff.
3) ENGLISH - I will have a theme each week, this week is THINGS. So during this 30mins, I will teach her from flash cards and speak to her in english only. Their concentration is only 20-30mins so cannot plan too long.
4) Music and Movement - I will turn on DVD or TV and sing some songs and dance with her. One way is to use up her energy. Haha..
5) After Lunch will let her self play to calm her down and get ready for nap.
6) CHINESE - For those that I teach in the morning using English, I will use it to teach in Mandarin.

Hope it helps !

Hi May,

Wow, i am very impressioned by your discipline!

RE:EArth Quake

I was out for meeting so didn;t feel it. Am asking around if my head office was affected. In my heart i was like "i should have stay in the head office!" Mad right?
Ha Ha

Just a little side track...I was the one who started the post on closure of CCLs..CCL are young children's community libraries that started off as a community project. It was handled over to NLB a couple of years back and now they are closing all the remining 9 in singapore by end of the month. I am staying at Bukit Timah and we at our estate are trying to work on keeping our CCL. Personally, as a librarian myself, CCLs are the best place for your little ones to browse without any worries of being run over by big kids and the shelf and books are all just tright for the younger ones. Pls if u are one of the user, kindly do something abt it with your neighbours before it's too late. Our estate had posted a letter to the forum in the Straits Times and Today which we should be readig it maybe today or over the next couple of days. Pls look out for it. A united group with all other estate might be a stronger fighting force to keep all 9 CCLs..Thanks!!

vivian

Hi CL,Wenyl, Rena, esther..

Thank you for your advise tru our MSN conversation.

Gracie was take care by MIL for weekd day only.
Weekday night time and weekend was by me..
As MIL is Super busy with her program and weekend is her GOLDEN DAYS.
I and hb also didnot want her to take Gracie on weekend as we need to have family day with Gracie too.

But this time Gracie really show us how her reaction for MIL...

I know why she likes MIL as MIL will always go out shopping with her,...watch those children with her and also Hongkong drama with her.

I though I was YONG KAN and can let her stay in indonesia for 2 weeks..but now I know I will really miss her..and cry when I return to singapore from indonesia on this sunday.

Anyway,...Gracie also need to understand that she need to stay in Indonesia or go child care for future..as MIL always travell a lot.

Before I have Gracie...MIL travel a lot ....Holiday but not for business trip. As she likes travelling. She has been to certain country,,,China,korea, australia....tibet, Ha er bin ( China ). This time is NEPAL. Hb told me that MIL has travelling since he was 13 yrs old.

SSF, Cindy,
We felt the tremors quite strongly over here at kaki bukit too. We evacuated our office building. :p Went for early lunch. Ours swayed for about 4-5 secs. Was talking to my colleague when i felt it then i told her 'stop'. Then my mgr came in and we asked 'evacuate?' Then we all ran down by steps. My fren n I took our handbags along. :p

Cindy,
Meg's 'cough/flu' adventure was like thias:

25Feb- started sneezing n slight runny nose
26Feb- dry cough started
27Feb- high fever
28Feb- no more fever but cough with phlegm started n runny nose still on
3Mar-Fever returned
5Mar-Fever came down
Today-still coughing with phlegm but less often. Runny nose better.

So it takes a rather long time for Meg this time round.

yes, my supplier at kaki bukit also exclaimed earthquake while i was on the line with him.
even my HB also msn me to 'inform' me of the earthquake tat he is experiencing

SSF
where's your office?
my office at suntec, we felt the shake, too. scary. i thought i have giddy spell.

Cass,
I used to swear by Sudocrem too. It worked wonders on Ethan but not on Keenan.

Flo,
I being kaypo here. What does your ex-boss's 16 yr old use it for?

re: Kidzloft Vouchers from bb bash
Fyi, the vouchers are expired liao in Feb.

Weekday
1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. Rena
4. Wenyl
5. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
6. SSF
7. Mamachan
8. Denmy
9. sleepingdeer
10. durianlover (any day but depends on work schedule. Can open house at Bt Panjang)

Weekend

1)SL - weekend
2)Cheng
3)Chicken Little - Sunday as Aden has class on Sat
4) Flo Prefer Sunday too
5) SY - prefer Sun

Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

So for the first session:

Make it more informal

Topic/Theme: MUSIC
Time: 1.30pm onwards
Date: to be confirmed with mommies

Timetable
1.30pm : gathering and mixing of mommies and babies
2pm : MUSIC time (circle and songs): intro to music instruments
2.30pm : GYM time (slide, ball pool, garden play)
3pm : Snack/ nap time for mommies/babies

I am free to do it on weekends too... so how? I can do the first one if no mommy objects.. weekday or weekend also can...

Was also thinking of a small project for babies.. like making a tamborine out of paper plate and bells or rattle with rice and empty bottle... but this would need materials and supplies.. dunno how babies will respond to it cos they may be too young... what do you mommies think?

re earthquake
also felt it too! first time really experience the shake.

re cycling at east coast
seems like caleb and celeste had fun! dunno whether hb can wake up so early for such activity. though i stay pasir ris, JH hasn't even been to pasir ris park!!

cheng
pls go ahead with the trial if most mummies can make it on the 10th. sat is hard for me so i dun think i can join in.

wow i just felt the building move again....

RE:Earthquake
Yes, I felt that too. I am in Jurong West area.

Yuki,
no lar.. just a guideline but not really strict to it. Just want to teach her something since I am SAHM now. If I work liao, she will be under my mum's care then cannot teach her already. Really hope I can stay at home but financially cannot leh.

Re:Tremors
I felt it too! So scary! Suddenly thot I have fainting spells when the chair I sat on started swaying. The motions felt like I m on a ferry.

Re: Botanic Gardens Outing
Any SAHM / New SAHM / Working mummies on leave.... wanna go tommorrow? Tat is if weather permits lah.

Date: 7 Mar (Wed)
Time: 3.30 to 4pm.
Venue: Botanic Gardens (Meet at foodcourt)

1. wenyl
2. sandra
3. sleepingdeer
4. val
5. rena

denmy - thks .. wenyl also told me its expired. pai seh still go ard asking if anyone wants. haha..

tracy - so funny u still bother to take ur bag. haha...my hb in suntec too felt it and everyone also evacuate via lifts!!! terrible right but then he is based on 28 flr. by the time he takes the stairs...i think its too late also. there seem to be yet another tremor just secs ago. hb also sms me again "feel it?" haha...oh no, i seem to be enjoying all the tremors. i called my mum and she said tampines OK. didnt felt anythg.

Cindy / Tracy,
Ethan's on & off cough/runny nose took more than 1 month to go away. Today is the last day of his antibiotics. I started to bring him to tuina on sat & i tink it did help him recover faster. Yday din hear him cough & today gonna bring him again for tuina for the 4th consecutive day. It also help him "kai wei" cos his appetite is back with a vengence. Drank 14oz milk just this am. (2oz at 6.30am, 8oz at 7.30am & he asked for milk b4 nap. Gulped down another 4oz at 11am) and finished his mashed potato for bfast & all his porridge for lunch.

Re : Tremors
wow, very scary wor... i thot i was gona faint when i felt myself shaking while on the phone wf HB... then it stopped. saw that many buildings in Raffles Place were evacuated... the earthquake in indon oni 6.6 on scale but so strong wor,mabbie its nearer to us??? hmmm....

May - if you had gone on a sunday, we cld have bumped into each other

Re : cycling
i think the babies are gettin to enjoy the breeze and cycling more cos this time when i brot celeste,she was so super smiley as compared to the first time when i brot her at bout 9mths... she was going eh! ah! as we cycle along...must make it a habit to bring her there and also its a good form of exercise for HB and myself! hahahhaa

Tracy

Rena
My gf said she saw in an organic shop in Centrepoint that the J&J bath wash has certain harmful additives, so she advised me against using them. So, so far, I've been using California bb or those wash from pharmacy. Plus Ger has sensitive skin.

car
Ya lor.. they say the orders are tremendous and they may have stock issues from Hiroshima so, earliest projected delivery if I get the COE tomorrow is May. Cant wait for the car to arrive *rub hands* Finally have my own car, not daddy's car or hb's car.

cindy
Yes, please do check and let me know ok? I'm down to my last tube of 4oz desitin, was thinking of ordering from the drug store BP again already but vpost seems to be very "smelly" now and the shipping charges are nolonger cheap but its still cheaper than buying off the shelf here. In fact, I was considering getting the 16oz tub!

CassCL,
You staying in Bt Panjang area too? LEts do a meetup in March together with Rachel before I start work on 2nd April!

Rachel : Amazing Star
I liked that place but it seems super popular. Fully booked for June 07 batch, so I signed up for the queue for Jan 08 instead. U can ask the supervisor to give u a tour around the place to have a look inside. That's what I did and I liked what they do and the methods they used, esp the Maths room. Unlike traditional pre-school teaching, they believe in teaching through their senses. Ask for a look around inside and see for yourself.

SSF, CassCL,
Ariene is teething again and she's also drooling puddles but she hates wearing bibs cuz its hot. She'll pull them off. I tried sweing buttons behind the bib but she'll still manage to undo the buttons and pull them off.

Ky
When we bought my hb's car, we weren't thinking of having any kids cuz back then, KK claimed its hard for me to conceive and suggested IVF, which, we did not want to try. SO we thought since low chance, no need contraception and WALA! Here's comes Ariene. Haha. Don't trust KK. tsk tsk tsk. My mazda 3 instalments will work out to 690/month for 8 yrs, which is more normal. kekeke.

SSF,
Yup, still working PT now but will be working FT from 2/4. Cannot tahan already. Can really feel the financial stress. Hb's white hair sprouting everywhere and no holidays, no fancy restaurant meals, no movies, no facial, no cosmetics, etc.

toys
Ariene has grown bored of her toys already. Now, she likes digging and taking things out of my wallet, my handbag, my CD tower, my book shelf, my kitchen drawers, etc. She particularly likes to take the CDs out from the CD tower and pass them to me. After awhile, she'll take them back to the CD tower and stack them on the floor and once, I caught her stepping on the CDs to climb higher so she can reach the higher shelves.. faint..

airport trip
My maid and I took Ariene on a trip to the airport from Jelapang LRT to Changi airport before sometime in Dec cuz my hb was coming back from an overseas business trip. Brought her there to surprise him. The trip was general quite enjoyable. She was all excited seeing the "moving" buildings, flirting with the people standing around us, stepping between my maid and I to see things. When she was hungry, we settled her down on her stroller to feed her her snack, then she lied down to have a 30min nap on the train. We went from Jelapang LRT -> CCK MRT -> Jurong East MRT -> Singapore Expo (Tanah Merah?) -> Changi Airport. The whole trip took us close to 1h45min!

since there are a few mummies at Bkt panjang, it shouldn't be difficult getting a weekday playgroup going at this area right? i think mashy is at CCK, like me. CassCL, r u a SAHM?

May, want to lead the playgroup session? :>

botanic gardens... oh, sounds good but we've been out 2 afternoons and will be again on Thu so I'm afraid I've to skip this one.

.ky.

bt panjang playgroup
I can volunteer my place for the playgroup if its held this month. My place is reasonably sized. Hoping to spend as much quality time with Ariene as possible b4 I start work.