(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sysac

before i buy a book, i'll try reading it. if i get tired by the 2nd sentence, i'll not buy that book. Hahha. So it's only 1-2 sentences per page.

mashy,
ya old boy confirm can get in. they got the first priority, followed by those staying within 1km. if i'm not wrong lah.

chillies,
thanks for the contact, but tampines abit far for me. any mummies got recommendation for west or central areas?

mashy,
ya old boy confirm can get in. they got the first priority, followed by those staying within 1km. if i'm not wrong lah.

chillies,
thanks for the contact, but tampines abit far for me. any mummies got recommendation for west or central areas?

chillies/Celine;
Maple Clinic have to wait very long..! unless you're the first few patients. I went to see her before but her products are not suitable for me. my cousin went to her and her skin cleared up.

i was breaking out very badly during my 1st pregnancy and saw Dr Tham Siew Nee at Gleneagles medical centre. She's pretty good but quite pricey.

CassCL,

Dr Tham is a good dematologist. Celine you can go try since at GEH. My doctor in office usually recommend patients to her. My niece oso seeing her.

Re: Reading

Now I only buy board book or cloth book for Clarisse. Cos she attempted to tear and bite the book before.

But from what I see she is quite enjoying to read, usually can sit in the play pen read for about half an hour, but she doesn't like me to read to her. I now slowly build up her mini library. Sometimes when she is reading, she will like "wah wah, yee yee" similar to Caeden, very funny.

I have read from a book before, there are ways to cultivate reading habits for baby, however I can only remember a few points.

1. Read to baby every night. Try to look out for those colorful and interesting books, with little words but lots of pictures to generate baby's interest. When read to baby try to sound as interesting as you can.

2. If baby doesn't like parents to read to them, usually their time span of concentration is short, can just let the baby flips the pages by their own. (Even magazines also can)

3. Fix a time per day for baby purely for reading only.

4. Place more books for their easy access... like placing a few more in her play pen instead of toys... so naturally baby will pick up to read.

5. Parents need to set up e.g. as in read in front of kids as frequent as possible. (Even read newspaper in front of baby also can).

6. Sometimes when parents are reading own books, can read out loud to baby.

Re: school...
wow so fast talk abt Primary school!
I was talking to my nephew the other day...
I think there are a few criterias but not sure abt the priority sequence tho:
- older siblings in the same school
- Primary and Sec are affliates (only for sec school)
- Old boys or girls
- Parent do volunteering work?
- then finally 1KM (no wonder all the 1KM cannot get in, must go thru balloting)

I was telling my HB... education planning start so early these days. If we wan bb to be in good sec school... we even have to plan to plant her into an affliates primary school so she can have priority in future. SO scary.

Reading school accept donation as much as 10K-50K.. make me think what happen to the education system? sound pretty corrupted to me eventhough in the name of donation.

Krissie
=) I started the "Just-be-there, say-a-little-prayer" night routine with Daren for about 3 months now. It's a way for me to spend some time with Daren even though it's for him to sleep. Even my hb enjoys doing the same with Daren. It only started when Daren had learnt to self-soothe himself to sleep and sleep thru the night (after using the cry-it-out method). So even when he wakes up in the night looking for his pacifier, he'll make abit of noise but I'lll give it awhile before attending to him, usually he'll do his own "Search and rescue", find the pacifier and pop it back into his own mouth and sleep again. Normally I'll check on him after I don't hear any more noise.

Reading
Now I guess our babies/young toddlers' attention span is still quite short. Daren also squirms about when we have some reading time. He's more keen in flipping the pages on his own or purposely drop the book on the floor or mop the floor with the book! *faintz*

ky
Glad to be of help. Hope things will just get better for you.

Playgroup
I think I won't be able to join in for the month of March and maybe April yet. But do keep me updated.

MamaPanda
oh dear, do take good care. Hope you'll have a speedy recovery.

celine77
If in future if you have a girl, maybe can ask your hb to write in to MGS, maybe can send there.

Hi moms,

If you remember me, I am Sharon. My son is also a Jan baby.Not been posting here for sometime alr but i have reading your posts. Wow, all your babies are doing so well.

SLEEP:
Read about some sleeping problems here. So just want to share my own experiences with my son.
He has colic for the first 3 months and we had to carry him all the time. he can cry up to 3 hrs continuously! By the end of the 3 months, we had brought him to many specialists and they are say he is fine, just colic.....haiz. But by the 5th month, he stops crying that long tho' still doesn't sleep thru the nite. we had to feed him with milk when he woke up in the nite or else all hell will break loose! Now that he is 13 months old, he can nap on his own in the day but when it comes to nite, we have to feed him milk and carry him till he sleep or else he will be crying badly...... don't know why he can sleep on his own in the day but not at nite????. Hope he will outgrew this phase soon. But he doesn't wake up in the nite anymore and he sleeps abt 12 hrs straight. When he was young, many people gave us lots of advices abt getting him to sleep but they don't seem to work for us. My son was on the baby whisperer suggested routine and i found it quite useful. Just that the sleep part was really tough for us. I lost abt 13 kg in the first month....haha! So right now, we are more relaxed abt his sleeping habits and he seems to be doing better each day. So moms, hang in there........ they will grow up one day!

WATER:
My son hates water! he will play with it in his mouth and spit it out. Cos he is still on EBM, I am not so gan cheong abt it but hope he will drink more water cos his lips looks crack.....sad! He likes to suck on straws but will spit out the water....haha! I also fed him with spoon and gave him a cup to try. So far he enjoy the experiences but definitely not the H2O!He only likes his probiotics and mutitvits.

CELINE77:
My complexion also getting bad especially when my menses returned 2 months ago. I think could be hormonal....haiz! I also got pimples on my foreheads..... I don't used to have them! Btw, I read yr blog quite regularly together with the rest of the mom's blogs as well. Edgar is so cute and you're so pretty. I like the video you took of him playing catch with yr hubby..... he is so adorable! My son still not walking on his own. He needs to hold on to something to balance. Really awaiting for that day to came. My son has a blog as well but it's under my hubby's blog. It is at www.tomsum.blogspot.com

Wenyl,
Thanks for the info. Hb and I actually went down to Kidzloft last weekend and saw that they have quite a few tandem strollers by Safety 1st. Prices are quite ok but they are gigantic! Hb commented that you'll have to be driving a van to use them.

update on the M&B fair:

hb went down during his lunch hrs. he said nothing much. quite bare....maybe we have to wait for later the day or tmr to have more stuffs?

RE: elite Schools

I have a friend from Myanmar. Her gal has done very well in schhol and was to be in the gifted program from P4 onwards.MOE asked her to chose raffles girls, nanyang, singapore chinese gals etc. They even get their PR/ citizen ship because of that. Think she is among the top 5 of the gifted program. She chose singapore girls but hated it. The gals there are well to do and go for branded stuff even at a young age. When my freind's gal don't carry all these, they laugh at her and make comments like " You so poor? wear the same jacket everytime?). Nevertheless she excel in the studies there and again the comments from the students are " God is fair. He made you smart and ugly." cos she's dark skin.......... Anyway, she did very well for her PSLE, again the few top scorers in Singapore. But she choose to go for neighbourhood sec school instead.

She's now in US doing a triple degree at age of 18. In Sec school, she took part in many of the english writing competition and won scholorship to study in australia then. But she prefer US and went there for a year, prove her worth, got the scholarship and doing the triple degree now.

i was truly shock when my friend share all these cos, at age 10, i don't even know what's branded and what's not... well maybe a little. Yet these are the comments from students this generation! Telling people straight in the face that they are ugly. I wonder if they are proud of it and refer to it as being "straight forward"?

re: M&B fair
saw CL on my way back. :D
nothing special, it's usual stuff like NUK, babysafe, mums&babe, mamil, dumex, wyeth, momsinmind, les ephant, growing fun, GD, some beauty salon booths and insurance co.
saw tai sing is one of the exhibitors, selling combi pram and shoes there.
saw safety 1st car seat.

i bought babysafe mattress and they threw in the comforter, then a small cooler bag from mums&babe and sign up for the magazine subscription.

elite school
Not everyone is like that wor. My hb was from Nanyang Pri, Chinese High and RJC but he's not like those people you've described. In fact, he didn't like those snobs in RJC so he chose to go JJC instead after the first 3 months. I was also from NJC and most of the people in NJC are not like what you described. Only the minor few who spoil the good name of others ba.

Brought Lucas to another ped yesterday, Dr Chan from Singapore Baby & Child for his runny nose and slight fever. Turned out she finds Lucas having inflamed middle ear again and put him on another week's course of antibiotics (Augmentin). I was quite brash when I asked if it is necessary cos he was just on it 3 weeks ago and when we brought him to the ENT, he says nothing to worry about? She kinda got offended or something and said if I decide not to take the medication, it is my own risk but I should bring him to ENT again if I so trust ENT. Got threathened in a way and I am giving him antibiotics + rhinodiol (??). *sigh... so heartache yesterday to see him eating medicine again within 1 mth. Have made appt with an ENT ped, Prof Henry Tan, from KKCH for next week.... we'll see what he says.

Yes, bugs are all around. Sometimes I can't help but get annoyed by colleagues who come to work when they are obviously very sick and coughing profusely... very scared that I'll bring the bug home.

Celine,
You may also try Dr Joyce Lim (she is more on cosmetic dermatology) at Paragon MC, Dr Cheong Wai Kwong (ex president of derm association). Dr Cheong has cheaper consultation fees I think.

BTW........ I'm expecting another BOY. Seems like the mommies on this thread having mostly boys huh?

Cindy

Congrats! looks like a lot of boys hor? :p

If it's middle ear infection, gotta take it seriously coz can lead to meningitis coz the ears are very near the brains. If I'm u, i would rather take the antibiotics. What if he's correct? After all your appt with the ENT dr is next week. If it's ear infection, cannot wait till next week.

If not, go and see another PD now for 2nd opinion.

Usually children who had previous ear infections are more prone to getting it again.

cindy - did u give ur boy the puenococcal jab? i heard its to prevent from middle ear infections. congrats for having a boy...gee i heard of many pig babies gender as boy. last scan, i suspect mine is a boy too. hopefully i can have a final answer in my next visit. hopefully its a gal lei...sob sob...but hb still insists of having the last one as boy.

Congrats Cindy on having another boy!

Finally, signed the papers with NIE and tendered my resignation to my Principal already. Been wanting this big break from teaching for many years and I finally get it now. Will start work at NIE on 2 April. Cant wait for April to come. Yay!

seems like quite a no of babies are sick, hope all of them get well soon!

Re: School
My neighbour goes around schools teaching some science program to the kids, and she said that there are some schools that you really cannot consider sending your kid to. She mentioned that once, a group of primary school girls at a all girls school suan her colleague for speaking in 'singlish', and said that they cnanot understand unless she speaks in proper english to them... oh Boy! After doing a few rounds in a few schools myself, I get a little paranoid coz it is really true, the kids nowadays are scary! I always wonder whether Shannon will turn out like that next time when I see the trouble makers!

celine77,
my facila lady did mention that hormonal changes especially for women with young babies, and breastfeeding are very common. It's a little tricky to treat our skin nowadays, so I always make it a point to do facial once a month, to maintain whatever lousy skin I have now before it gets worse... haha

RE : Playgroup
Added my name in as well...

1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Wenyl
6. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
7. SL - weekend
8. SSF
9. Mamachan
10. Denmy
11. sleepingdeer

Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

mashy/SSF,

Yup, i gave him the antibiotics. i am worried too cos Lucas has not starting speaking at all though he is happily ah-ing away. Hearing test doesn't show any problem leh, so I just take it that he is late.

Oh... din know the link to meningitis, now i've even more concerned.

It's a good suggestion, I'll ask the ENt about pneumoccocal jab. I gave the rotavirus one but not pneumo cos I heard very painful and thought since I'm not putting him on cildcare yet.

thanks mummies for the contact on dermatologist! since i'm going to gleneagles tmr for edgar's appt, i'll pop by Dr Tham's clinic. Tried to book but it's full so only can walkin. If not, I will try the one at paragon.

Sharon,
gee, thanks for visiting edgar's blog and thanks for the compliments. now that u mentioned, i think u'r right. my sudden bad skin could be due to hormonal changes. coz i realised it's after i got my menses back that my skin become bad. oh no, then how? cannot cure?? sharks lah! shldn't have stopped breastfeeding!! :p

Cindy,
congrats on having a boy! :D

pregnancy/ovulation strips,
i have just received the strips which i got from tabbiesus, but i have no idea how to use it. which end do i "wet"? do i have to peel off the plastic part? sorry i'm not very sure how to describe the strips. one end even have the word "max" on it. can anyone advise?

sleepingdeer,
i still go for my facials leh. but still.... oh no, don't tell me i'm going to have this bad skin permanently. i'm going to cry and faint!!!!! *sob sob*!!!!

Hi Cindy

Rhinatol (i prob didn't get the spelling right) is for running nose. Antibotics is for protecting the child from further infection so best to take it. I see SBCC but not Dr Chan (Sharon Chan is it?). If you are worried abt spreading germs back to your baby from work, change your clothes and wash your hands with soap when you step into the house before carrying him. My neighbour do that dutifully and her son's hardly ever sick.

.ky.

There are two types of Rhinathiol. One is red for phlegm and the other is Rhinathiol Promethezine for phelgm and runny nose.

I was given Rhinathiol for the ear infection before too. I asked the pd then, and he said that it also helps to clear the infection in the ear.

babycare festival
any mummies went down? got good deals?

celine77
hee, your hb so funny. next time dun ask him already when u wan to buy something.

denmy/Sl/flo
the 1K is just to join the alumni. for joining alumni that is a lot. the donations u r referring to is probably when the parent has no connections with the sch?

my fren joined SCGS alumni and she say only 200 or 300

flo,
i thought he looks really blur in the pics. my fren also say so...

JH is scared of gals...haha...when my fren's gal kissed him, he cried...

re playgroup
i m still intersted. when are we starting?

cindy
congrats on your boy!

celine77
i find my complexion not so good just before my menses. i used to go to royal health at sixth ave. u can try there. some GPs also got some stuff for complexion. u can try my cousin's clinic at pandan valley

SY,
yaloh, silly me, y did i even bother to ask him! *duh me*!! :p

my complexion is bad thru'out after i started having my menses back. no only just b4 menses leh... *panic*!!! let me try if i can get to see Dr Tham at GEH tomorrow since i'll be there. else i'll seek other alternatives. thanks for the contact! :D

hi celine

sorry forgot to tell you how to use:

what i normally use is a container to collect some urine.. and then u open the pack and dip the strip inside up to the max line... dip the side with the spongy bit in up to the max line... this is most accurate. i have the actual instructions from the company online .. i go home and email to you.. for pregnancy test u have to wait five min then see the result.. sorry hor...

celine

my complexion was horrid when i was preg, it only got better after i delivered. but then it went from 1 spectrum to another. it was very oily when i was preg and after that, it was superdry. Now my oily face is back again. sian.

Anyway, i went to National Skin Centre. Went polyclinic to get a referral letter. It got better. Went Maple clinic, not many pp but wait very very long. Prods not effective for me.

Actually now that we're not preg, we can take Vit a.
It will help in our complexion right?

Re : Slide

yipee!!! i managed to get a slide wor! the lady e-mailed me to say got one lady back out so i can take her place... celeste is gona have a slide for usage at her own timing! i thot my HB gona kill me if i dare to suggest such a bulky item,but surprisingly, he say buy la! somemore today call me twice to ask if i manage to get the slide or not... HBs are weird creatures... i guess anythin for baby is OK ... i cant say the same for myself though :p

Cindy - Congrats on your baby boi!

Durianlover,
Ya, I sulk to JW. He will actually look at me curiously like he is trying to figure out what is happening.

Actually, I found out accidentally that they do understand when I was home alone with JW once. He was being exceptionally naughty and was fussing & crying away. Won't even let me walk away to add some hot water into porridge as it was too thick. I pick him up and was carrying him to pacify him while he was screaming away in my arms. I kept telling him that he must be a good boy coz mummy very sad already (I was upset over hb that day and I was all alone with bb). He actually stopped screaming but he didn't totally quiet down coz he was still whimpering and struggling away in my arms

I don't know why, but at that point when he stopped screaming, I suddenly broke down into tears. I think he heard me sobbing and then he suddenly turned and look at me. When he saw me crying, he completely stopped all motion and just stare at me with his eyes big big for like a full half minute. Then the next moment, he suddenly started crying too! Aiyoh, I felt so bad. I tried to explain to him that it's not his fault but he must be a good boy coz mummy already very sad coz no one sayang mummy liao.

Surprising, he stopped after a while of crying and really behaved himself the rest of the nite. Guai guai finish his porridge, play a while and then go to bed without fussing!

Of course....good things don't last...he turned back to his little impish ways again the next day! ;p

hi tabby, thanks for the info! but need more info like how do i know if it's positive or negative. btw, u haven't give me ur bank account number yet! thanks ya! :D

mashy,
i was like u, during preggy, skin was horrible. got better after giving birth but now that menses is back, my skin is at it's worst. very sad leh!

god's child,
that's great! let's hope our little ones love it as well. i think i'll need to put those foam mat under it to cushion any knocks from falls.

celine

maybe it's due to hormonal imbalance from too much sex. hehehee.... i realise that it happens leh. like the body is preparing to get preg or something. hahaha.

Re: Playgroup

Shall we start the playgroup the week after? Anyone wanna volunteer your hse? I'll go and look for some nice children's CD to play. Oh yah, I'm officially SAHM from next Tues.

Hmmm, how should we arrange our duties leh? Maybe we can discuss more when we meet at the playgroup. Perhaps the first round, we get the children to be aquainted first, let them play some toys/ musical instruments? We can also read a storybook to them and do action songs. :p

Suggested Programme:
1) Circle time: Music & Movement
2) Gym time
3) Read a Storybook
4) Tea break
5) End

Anyone has a better suggestion? Would it be too tiring for the children?

phew, took me 2 hours to speed read all the postings!!! eye nearly pop out.

cindy
congrats! your boy gonna have a brother to play boy's games with le =)

casscl
congrats on your #2!

re: #2
asked my supplier whether he want to have our #2 to be a Jan baby too like dylan. he stare at me for a few seconds and said "you sure or not?". meaning we got to try in April and whether will bingo =p his reply sound like he is not prepare for #2...

Play group

Think we split into 2 groups. One for weekend, one weekday, so that we can make separate arrangements for each group. I've put everyone on default weekday unless you indicated that you wanted a weekend.

Weekday
1. Mashy
2. Tabbies
3. SY
4. Rena
5. Wenyl
6. KY - weekday AM (Mon/Wed/Thu) preferred. house at Yew Tee. can open on weekday AM
7. SSF
8. Mamachan
9. Denmy
10. sleepingdeer

Weekend

1)SL - weekend
2)Cheng

Those who wanna join the playgroup gotta do these (we'll rotate the duties):
1) hse as venue - clean toys etc
2) programme planning & teaching the children
3) snack ic
or whatever duties...

Will need to collect a small fund for the snacks & art materials if any.

Maybe can meet about 2-3hrs each week? Prog wise we can do
1) Music & Movement - circle time/ art & craft, 2) play & mingle (F&E),
3) snack time
4) cleaning up (all to help).

cookie
i understand what you are going through now. i myself had the darkest days when i am having dylan. had detected CPC's (choroid plexus cysts)in dylan brain when he was in his 18 weeks. had even arranged for an amniocentesis appointment date. a few days before the day, decided not to do it after weighing all the risks i could get(e.g miscarriage). thus had a heavy heart till i had another detail scan at my 24 weeks to confirm whether the cysts in dylan's brain had disappear by themselves or not. thank god all turn all well.

like what the other mummies said, most of the tests are giving us false alarm. hang in there and take care!!

chickenlittle
so far these are the mummies i recieved the photos of their little ones:
1) SY
2) rena
3) denmy
4) mongs

could you help reminding the rest of the mummies to send the photos to me at their soonest? not sure how many more i need to recieve. thanks =)

cindy
i think pneumococcal is a pretty serious illness when it hits. Perhaps, you can consider it? just for info, it's a compulsory vaccination in Europe, just like MMR. It's not compulsory in Sg, not coz it's no good, but coz the Govt has yet decided whether it's impt enough for them to fund as it's v exp.

rachel / cookie
my gf also had such a false alarm case in which there was some clots in the bb's brain during the scan. But bb turned out fine too.

chickenlittle/mummies who went to the Bday Bash

oops, left out sysac =p
so far these are the mummies i recieved the photos of their little ones:
1) SY
2) rena
3) denmy
4) mongs
5) sysac

could you help reminding the rest of the mummies to send the photos to me at their soonest? not sure how many more i need to recieve. thanks =)

Hi MAshy Brainz and MamaPanda,

Yes i agree not all from elite schools are snobbish. I have friends fromRJS and ACS who are quite nice and humble too.

I am just shocked that the students these days are more 'complicated' than before. I guess with all the internet exposure etc........ well......

Hi Sleeping deer,

Ha Ha, like you, when i see the teenages misbehaving themselves outside, i drag to imagine when my gals are grown up, whether they will become like that. Last time when i was preggy, hubby will comment like "wow, next time my children like that, i sure whack them." when he sees them misbehaving, especially those youngster who go pat toring and touchy all over in the public.

krissie
am also thinking whether to let dylan take the pneumococcal jab... since now we are bringing him out more often, meaning more exposural to the virus and disease outside.

Rachel,
Sorry were we supposed to send you some pictures relating to the birthday bash? I didn't know...what were we supposed to send?